Production SEAT Ibiza Bocanegra unveiled in both 150 PS and 180 PS guise!

Advertisement

SEAT Ibiza Bocanegra

The hottest and probably the best looking production version of the SEAT Ibiza was unveiled in Barcelona at the 2009 Barcelona International Motor Show this week. The new Ibiza Bocanegra (FYI, the word Bocanegra means Black Mouth) is a tribute to the styling of the SEAT 1200 Sport back from the 1970s.

The Ibiza range already has a 150 PS Ibiza FR and a 180 PS Ibiza Cupra, but the new SEAT Ibiza Bocanegra offers both 150 PS and 180 PS tune versions of the 1.4 litre TSI engine, and adds a unique Bocanegra bodykit which looks way more aggressive and fitting of the 180 PS than the sedate-looking-in-comparison Ibiza Cupra.

The engine is mated to a 7-speed twin clutch transmission with paddle shifters, and an XDS electronic LSD. It’s small, light, has 180 PS and most importantly plenty of torque thanks to the twin-turbocharging. A nice alternative to other good-looking hot hatches like the MiTo and the Cooper S.

Look after the jump for more shots!

seat-ibiza-bocanegra-041
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-006
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-011
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-018
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-029
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-004
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-012
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-032
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-039
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-002
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-030
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-034
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-023
digital manipulation: Ole Bunger
www.pixoleb.com
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-005
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-009
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-043
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-052
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-055
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-003
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-053
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-025
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-007
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-040
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-022
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-021
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-028
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-016
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-026
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-049
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-017
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-047
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-050
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-036
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-031
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-008
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-010
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-019
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-01
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-045
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-037
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-042
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-015
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-024
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-035
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-046
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-044
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-051
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-020
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-048
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-04
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-03
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-057
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-033
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-027
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-013
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-014
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-056
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-02
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-054
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-038
seat-ibiza-bocanegra-001

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

About the Author

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history. An avid electronic gadget aficionado as well as big-time coffee lover, he's also the executive producer of the Driven motoring TV programme.

1. csv says:

very nice!(borat accent)

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. ahmad says:

i think it is an error

the photos are vios's

3. najib razak says:

i think those picture have been wrongly posted in these article.

4. imran says:

Paul, why there are Toyota Vios photos here..

5. protonboyz says:

Y THE FACK GOT VIOS PICS

6. hvannees says:

sohai car want to versus ibiza.. haha..

7. Cross Polo says:

pergh…. same level of VW Golf GTi. nice.

8. droll says:

wah nice! this is the probably the same tune of engines that'll make it to the polo gti. i'm hoping it's at least 180ps in the polo gti!

9. mystvearn says:

Cheaper alternative to the golf GTi correct. In fact seat is just a cheaper vw.

10. Bodow says:

I want the seats the seat ! Sumptous …. like it !

11. kei9 says:

love it. :D

12. Gajen says:

this is awesome….

13. theanswer says:

never seen this brand on our road yet…

14. Alfa Juliet says:

A bit over-styled for my taste but 180 PS from a 1.4 sounds seriously good! =D

15. LAmborghini666 says:

Is this a production car or a concept? I must say, I love those seats, but the rims, they look good, just that in the pictures they look distorted. Still, lovely car

16. Ben says:

Very nice. Yet still prefer Golf GTI.

17. LAmborghini666 says:

[quote comment="237046"]Very nice. Yet still prefer Golf GTI.[/quote]

yes but golf gti much more expensive

18. knight_templar says:

handsome thing. Ill take this over the alfa since some hairdressers might actually find the Alfa nice. In my imaginary world I assume itll be sold here at Altis prices (it is a cheapo Volks after all) but look at what u get, twin clutch, modern engine and it look cool.

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: Volkswagen to assemble Touran in Indonesia
Next Story: New 170 PS Volkswagen Scirocco GT TDI