13 year old boy pilots Prodrive Impreza to victory

Subaru

This 13 year old Indonesian boy is being called the “next Lewis Hamilton of the WRC”. Sean Galael won the first two rounds of the KFC Junior Rally Sprint in Indonesia in a Prodrive Impreza Group N rally car with the same specifications as one used in the Production World Rally Championship.

Subaru

Sean was also in the co-driver’s seat last year in the Indonesian Rally Championship with Prodrive’s own works test driver, Dave Maslen, and former Australian rally champion, Cody Crocker. This year, he will once again be the co-driver for the Serge Motorsport Prodrive Impreza N14 in the Indonesian series.

That’s quite impressive really. What were you doing when you were 13? But Sean’s involvement is not that huge a surprise really as he has it in his blood – his father Ricardo is also a rally driver and won the Indonesian Championship in 2006.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• JULIAN_LEE on May 18, 2009 at 10:36 am

KFC!

• cyberkayu on May 18, 2009 at 10:38 am

his leg long enuf 2 reach the clutch?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 18, 2009 at 3:23 pm

[quote comment=”239331″][quote comment=”239318″][quote comment=”239285″]Malaysian rally scene needs more enthuistic parents that wants to groom their kids into the future rally champions. We dont need million dollar works-spec cars to fo that. Just a turbo kancil or a 1.6 satria with rollcages will do.[/quote]

malaysians all want their kids in an F1 car, not rally cars or any other racing formula for that matter.. which is why the people with the financial capability all buy their kids go-karts.[/quote]

not really..generally malaysian only wants their kids to excel in studies..from the first day the child was born…”u are going to be a doctor..u’r going to be an engineer” without giving some space and opportunity for their children to show their true potential in various aspect..plus they know that we malaysian dont really think that sports can be a good career prospect. the only sports tht they know can gives some salary is football(but then only few teams tht consistently pay their player on monthly basis). unfortunately, football in msiai..not really perform well..so the player wont get much opportunity to play in foreign country tht can gives them more salary….too bad. we have some bright young stars in motorsport..but only a few.[/quote]

i’m talking only about the parents who want their kids to do motorsports.. the first choice is always karting. coz karting is the first path towards single seater racing.

• mkrafz on May 18, 2009 at 5:06 pm

13?

for real….?

cool….

1st…!

• well when i was 13 years old

car was considered only as a mode of transportation =)

cheers!

• lchan on May 18, 2009 at 5:22 pm

Dad…my bmx needs air….

• donno on May 18, 2009 at 5:55 pm

Malaysian rally scene needs more enthuistic parents that wants to groom their kids into the future rally champions. We dont need million dollar works-spec cars to fo that. Just a turbo kancil or a 1.6 satria with rollcages will do.

• [quote comment="239285"]Malaysian rally scene needs more enthuistic parents that wants to groom their kids into the future rally champions. We dont need million dollar works-spec cars to fo that. Just a turbo kancil or a 1.6 satria with rollcages will do.[/quote]

point well taken.

cheers!

• Woooweee on May 18, 2009 at 6:34 pm

I know…HE PLAYS NEED FOR SPEED TOO MUCH!!

he got..

WRC simulator game.

PsOne, PS2 and PS3..

complete steering and pedal.

Lets buy and practice WRC in PS3 hehe.. maybe next person is you..

Good job..

• cyberkayu on May 18, 2009 at 6:38 pm

kfc cup

1st time heard

• mohdjiman on May 18, 2009 at 6:45 pm

13 years old already drive Impreza!!! If I can drive Impreza at 13 years old, i can talk loud in my school…talk loud until SPM…

• _xXx_ on May 18, 2009 at 6:48 pm

while this boy having fun with his WRC, many are worried if they could have their next meal. See the gap?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 18, 2009 at 7:19 pm

[quote comment="239285"]Malaysian rally scene needs more enthuistic parents that wants to groom their kids into the future rally champions. We dont need million dollar works-spec cars to fo that. Just a turbo kancil or a 1.6 satria with rollcages will do.[/quote]

malaysians all want their kids in an F1 car, not rally cars or any other racing formula for that matter.. which is why the people with the financial capability all buy their kids go-karts.

• theanswer on May 18, 2009 at 8:13 pm

[quote comment="239318"][quote comment="239285"]Malaysian rally scene needs more enthuistic parents that wants to groom their kids into the future rally champions. We dont need million dollar works-spec cars to fo that. Just a turbo kancil or a 1.6 satria with rollcages will do.[/quote]

malaysians all want their kids in an F1 car, not rally cars or any other racing formula for that matter.. which is why the people with the financial capability all buy their kids go-karts.[/quote]

not really..generally malaysian only wants their kids to excel in studies..from the first day the child was born…"u are going to be a doctor..u'r going to be an engineer" without giving some space and opportunity for their children to show their true potential in various aspect..plus they know that we malaysian dont really think that sports can be a good career prospect. the only sports tht they know can gives some salary is football(but then only few teams tht consistently pay their player on monthly basis). unfortunately, football in msiai..not really perform well..so the player wont get much opportunity to play in foreign country tht can gives them more salary….too bad. we have some bright young stars in motorsport..but only a few.

• To me, Malaysian motorsport is the most expensive in the world, only for rich politician kids and grandchildren and theirs cronies. Tats cause the rising of mat rempit and illegal race, sewa track mahal pak. Where is another race track other than sepang. Low cost one…

• bobdbilder on May 18, 2009 at 8:41 pm

Have you guys heard of Pasir Gudang track? Got to be the cheapest track day around. Cheapest motorsports in Malaysia is the running the Classics Sports Car race. You could build a locost 7 replica and try it out. Or you could ask your kid to run a kart race.

• Black Dog on May 18, 2009 at 8:45 pm

When I was 13, I wish to drive too, but that means breaking all the rules, right? So this kid also have to break rules to drive. I guess same for a lot of european kids too.

If not how, Paul?

(I drove at age 17 for 1 year without licence!)

• gey2718 on May 18, 2009 at 9:04 pm

wahh, 13 i just learnt how to ride 2 wheel bicycle lei…

• Haji Bakhil on May 18, 2009 at 9:15 pm

Hm.. when I was 13, my parents were struggling to even buy me a bicycle for me to ride to school. Such is life huh. Anyway, good for this guy but I believe the Malaysian Boleh spirit will spur a rich dad to buy his 12yo kid a Audi R1 and enter him in the 24hr Le Mans..kekeke. Who wanna bet a teh tarik that this would not happen ?

• bmpower on May 18, 2009 at 9:23 pm

when I was 13…. when I was 13…. when I was 13….

Oh!.. I can't remember that well.. but if only…

That's was a teacher in Form 1 asking me about Math homework book that I didn't bring it to school (and i not even do the homework)… hehehe

• 4G63T DSM on May 18, 2009 at 10:11 pm

Kid in motorsports in Malaysia? Even adults have trouble financing thier hobbies with decent jobs.

Tyre costs alone are killing me.

As per tracks, while they are rare, there are several smaller tracks around. if you are from the North/Perak, search for Dato Sagor circuit. We hold regular track days there.

Not everyone can afford to start thier kids with even go-karts, last checked a passable used kart cost at least 10k++. Karts are still the best way to learn car control…then you send them to somewhere cold. :p

But motorsports can be cheap if it was meant to spur the interest, any junker you buy can be raced for very little money and be just as fun…all you need is a race seat, helmet and a roll cage, it gets expensive when you get into sanctioned events (ie. when you want to win).

I remember the endless hours of fun driving an old beater around an ice track…that is until we broke the chassis.

• Young S on May 18, 2009 at 10:22 pm

when i was 13, i just learn & know how to ride motorbike.. haha

my dad's c70 Honda Cub always in my mind on that time..haha

never think to drive a car…

i just can say WOW for this kids..

• kei9 (Member) on May 18, 2009 at 10:27 pm

What the?

This is tasty. DX

• donno on May 18, 2009 at 11:15 pm

[quote comment="239364"]

I remember the endless hours of fun driving an old beater around an ice track…that is until we broke the chassis.[/quote]

4G63T DSM? Diamond Stars? Are you from the states?

• kaya boleh la…

• pixie_wawan on May 19, 2009 at 1:06 am

I think he' playing a lot of car games!

no wonder~ lol XD

• Takumi fujiwara….

• mystvearn on May 19, 2009 at 2:53 am

sebastian loeb is wetting his pants now:P

hahaha

• i saw 13 year old driving the proton satria neo s2000 in youtube

• turboKEV on May 19, 2009 at 4:14 am

when i was 13…mm…still virgin :)

• damn this boy can drive.

when i was 13, i was still playing games.

this talent can be nurtured!

• henry on May 19, 2009 at 5:41 am

[quote comment="239333"]To me, Malaysian motorsport is the most expensive in the world, only for rich politician kids and grandchildren and theirs cronies. Tats cause the rising of mat rempit and illegal race, sewa track mahal pak. Where is another race track other than sepang. Low cost one…[/quote]

again, talking without facts.. just say you don't know anything, easy.

• mitlanevo on May 19, 2009 at 6:51 am

[quote comment="239331"][quote comment="239318"][quote comment="239285"]Malaysian rally scene needs more enthuistic parents that wants to groom their kids into the future rally champions. We dont need million dollar works-spec cars to fo that. Just a turbo kancil or a 1.6 satria with rollcages will do.[/quote]

not really..generally malaysian only wants their kids to excel in studies..from the first day the child was born…"u are going to be a doctor..u'r going to be an engineer" without giving some space and opportunity for their children to show their true potential in various aspect..plus they know that we malaysian dont really think that sports can be a good career prospect. the only sports tht they know can gives some salary is football(but then only few teams tht consistently pay their player on monthly basis). unfortunately, football in msiai..not really perform well..so the player wont get much opportunity to play in foreign country tht can gives them more salary….too bad. we have some bright young stars in motorsport..but only a few.[/quote]

EXACTLY !!!!!

• 13years old…..where am i a??

• when i was 13, my parent put me into boarding school. the seniors made me drive 'helicopter', 'scrambler', 'tank'…and many more..

• when my friends and i were 12, we curi curi drove around and even smoke proton sagas and old cars….. that car we were in is a ford….. we even went to empty parking lots at sukan komplex and did donuts…..we were really bodoh then…..it was lifetime memory that i will always remember……

coming to that, i think our goverment should do more promos to dig out TALENT from our youngsters…… maybe organize more UNDER 18 cup. whether on or off road….2 or 4 wheels……it wont really hurt right…..

we may not realize it, but maybe your son( or even daughter) sitting next to you maybe our future KAMARANJIT, or ALEX YOONG…..hey, who knows until you put their talents on the track!!!!! indo boleh, MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!

• leonardo on May 19, 2009 at 7:11 pm

I was also learning to drive at 13…my grand dad's Austin! The difference here is this kid's dad has tons of cash for him to play in a WRC spec rally car. How on earth can he get a rally driving at 13? Go karts i can understand, but i guess you can do lots of things when you have tons of money. As someone pointed out, there are million of other kids in Indonesia who are struggling to find something to eat everyday and only ride bicycles at the same age.

Back in Malaysia, karting is more popular and 'affordable'. The rally scene is not consistant in terms of events. Karting has more regular events. Yes, and a one in a million chance to be in F1 like Alex Yoong.

• _xXx_ on May 19, 2009 at 8:40 pm

if I got a filthy rich dad like the kid, I could be flying a fighter jet at 9 yo hehehehe….

• amirzaim on May 19, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Budak 13 tahun boleh jurupandu rali, lebih hebat daripada budak 13 tahun yang suka merempit!!! Dahlah tu pulak, budak Indon sanggup jadi jurupandu rali berbanding ramai belia kita sanggup jadi mat rempit. Malulah kat negara seberang!!!!!

• _xXx_ on May 20, 2009 at 1:12 am

dipengaruhi wayang 'Remp-it'

• stephenstreets on May 20, 2009 at 1:47 am

In Malaysia everything cost more than its actually is.

I mean imagine we spend the money for the car, then stripping it, then putting in the roll cage and etc then get your son or daughter to learn to drive then safety equipment then spending money to participate races all over malaysia, all in all by the time finish you could have send the boy or girls to study medicine.

In Malaysia this not something for the working class people like you or me, only for cronies.Other wise all the mat rempits can afford to race professionally an be come the next capirossi instead of just cukup makan "roti"

Anyway its great that a 13 year old can be a rally champion

• xenith (Member) on May 20, 2009 at 5:13 am

This kid was in my school last time. He was my sister's classmate. His family owns KFC Indonesia, that's why his car has the KFC logo. He was also the world's youngest co-pilot as he co-piloted when his dad raced. Last time he goes to school with a version 8 Scooby. His family had three and his driver had to drive one for him. Before he used the scooby he had a Mitsubishi Evo 6 T.M.E. His Evo's plate no was S 3 AN.

• Nieto on May 20, 2009 at 5:24 am

depend on daddy money 1, depend on daddy job (rally), of course can do anything in such a age. if his dad not wealth and rally driver, i dont think he can rally. hehehe

like formula 1, last time pilot join F1 age is around 26 to 30. now 18 already can join, all because of wealth, not talent.

• Ralliace on May 20, 2009 at 6:24 am

[quote comment="239615"]The rally scene is not consistant in terms of events. Karting has more regular events. Yes, and a one in a million chance to be in F1 like Alex Yoong.[/quote]

Dude, we have the Malaysian Rally Championship (www.malaysianrally.com) which also host one of the APRC rounds. Now we even have Rally-X events for smaller budgets enthusiasts. Not forgetting GRA (closes thing to rally). Every other month there is an rally event in Malaysia.

• 4G63T DSM on May 20, 2009 at 10:44 pm

[quote comment="239385"][quote comment="239364"]

I remember the endless hours of fun driving an old beater around an ice track…that is until we broke the chassis.[/quote]

4G63T DSM? Diamond Stars? Are you from the states?[/quote]

Yes, you got that correct. I had several turbo AWD Diamond Stars. They were as close to an Evo that you can get at that time. We didn't get the Evos until Evo9.

I spent a good deal of my life in North America.

• rex79gt on May 20, 2009 at 11:49 pm

maybe a clip of his performance would impress us in him driving skill?

• rex79gt on May 21, 2009 at 7:49 am

maybe a clip of his performance would impress us in him driving skill?

• kay777 on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:09 pm

seriuzz…malu….shame….owh…

where r we standing rite now xcely….?