New Porsche Panamera Promo Footage: exterior, interior, retractable spoiler, etc

Porsche Panamera

Here’s a new set of promotional footage and beauty shots for the upcoming 4-door Porsche Panamera. You can check out the exterior and interior (I think it’s got the most wood in a modern Porsche that I’ve ever seen!) in detail and even watch the car in motion. There’s also footage of how stuff like the retractable rear spoiler works.

Check the video out after the jump!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lovely machine!.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 21, 2009 at 3:05 am

I;m not a big fan of Panamera but the expanding spoiler is really really cool.

Btw, how they achieve the zero-rev/rpm when the car stop at the red light? Is it new or it has been implemented somewhere before?

• Thomas on Jun 21, 2009 at 3:11 am

I like the Aston Martin, not this. It's like a station wagon with 4 seaters and smaller space.

• Paul Tan on Jun 21, 2009 at 3:16 am

@Calvin The car has an auto start-stop system. The engine shuts off at traffic lights. Alot of cars have this now, but usually on manual transmission. Panamera has it with an auto, which is one of the first if not first on a non-hybrid vehicle.

• hmm..can only look at it… owning it is another story…those ppl look so damn happppyy…

• Salamander on Jun 21, 2009 at 4:08 am

So basicly the engine is off while idle. Does that mean the Air Conditioning System is off too? Wont be practical in a hot country as Malaysia.

• arcana on Jun 21, 2009 at 4:16 am

is it the same system that the mazda 3 employs?

which is the i-stop in japan?

• dcwhz83 on Jun 21, 2009 at 4:29 am

@salamander

engine is switched off when u stopped fully… but electronics and air-cond is still run by the battery… when u lift ur foot off the brake, the engine will auto-start again (just in time for ur foot to reach the accelerator)… well tis is based on my experience in the civic hybrid…

• iceman on Jun 21, 2009 at 4:33 am

great name panamera, but a 4-door porsche?..it is so not cool..

• ago87 on Jun 21, 2009 at 4:51 am

How if it's in traffic jam situation?

Stop,start,stop,start,stop,start….

tak cepat rosak kah???

• cool adv. but not the car i am afraid. And the rear wing is darn cool man ! Macam transformer !

• sadin on Jun 21, 2009 at 6:55 am

so this start stop system can also be done manually using the ignition key la?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 21, 2009 at 7:05 am

do i spy a ford mondeo here?

• dk999 on Jun 21, 2009 at 8:23 am

lol manual start stop system..

• Paul Tan on Jun 21, 2009 at 8:25 am

@sadin I suppose so, but you won't be able to restart immediately when you have to go though. start-stop systems have a special quick starter.

• mediocre_genius on Jun 21, 2009 at 9:14 am

where is that video shot? its a very nice location

• kazai on Jun 21, 2009 at 9:50 am

Paul, will you post a topic about this start/stop system? :)

• narrowband on Jun 21, 2009 at 11:15 am

wah damn nice video i must say.

• joseph on Jun 21, 2009 at 11:24 am

BMW and Toyota/Lexus are doing pretty well in this 'start-stop' technology…Toyota/Lexus use it in their Hybrid Drive vehicles but didn't exaggerate the technology..BMW,on the other hand is making loud noise of this technology and they claimed that they have already sold at least 100000 cars with this start-stop tech and the 116d (if i'm not mistaken) is the 1st BMW to have this technology…Merc and Audi/Volkswagen Group haven't owned this technology yet~

• CocoBear on Jun 21, 2009 at 12:05 pm

Good pro video. Before this i have doubt, but now i am convinced, by the amount of wood. Haha.

Btw, start-stop works only in direct injection.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 21, 2009 at 4:36 pm

going OT, but a full electric htbrid works better in traffic jams, since u can run on battery power for short distances like the Prius – unlike Honda IMA.

I don't think an engine needs to be direct injected for start-stop to work. I don't remember the Honda IMAs to be direct injected. They don't even have a starter motor, the IMA motor starts the car.

• turboKev on Jun 21, 2009 at 7:01 pm

Get a life…

• arcryliss on Jun 21, 2009 at 8:35 pm

the auto-expending rear spoiler is automatic right based on the speed of the car? the faster u drive, it will open automatically?

is it?

• both manual and automatic…thr's a switch in the car which enables u to open it even at low speed, to show off of cuz…haha…n if i'm nt wrong,the rear spoiler also expand on its own at 120kmph…cheers~

• mr_3m on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:33 am

it's not pretty, but it looks like it will be as popular as the the Cayenne… (not pretty also, but quite a few running around… )

the Panamera will probably be a good alternative to the 7-series, S-Class etc, for those few bosses who still prefers to drive rather than be driven around…

• kronke on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:57 am

iceman said,

June 20, 2009 @ 8:33 pm

great name panamera, but a 4-door porsche?..it is so not cool..

==============

so not cool? wait till you see one right next to you.. .then only say whether it's cool or not… hahahah

• mel (Member) on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:05 am

it is in barcelona…been there ^_^…btw..the car design seems a bit wrong in but people who likes and bought cayenne will surely go for it ^_^..

• onda onda on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:55 pm

waa…cool kepak weh…can fix to saga ke?

• how sad that Porsche have to agree that the car was indeed ugly, with the help of nice architecture and hiding the car ugly side throughout the clip. This model with go into history as the ugliest Porsche ever built. All those good feature in the car was offset by its look.

The start-stop activate and deactivate via brake and throttle pedal angle. There should be another switch to disable that feature for daily use.

I wonder when the car stop, the air-cond load lessen and less cold air for passengers, not really convenient for tropical country like Malaysia especially KL with humid and city traffic jammed will surely baked passengers, don't you think?