It’s official: Honda Accord CrossTour here soon!

Honda Accord CrossTour

Honda posted up a press release today on its media newsroom website announcing the availability of a new crossover bodytype for the Accord range, called the Honda Accord CrossTour. It will go on sale in the US in fall 2009 as a 2010 model. This is very likely the new model that American Honda teased on their website a few days ago. The CrossTour’s concept looks quite similiar to its sibling the Acura ZDX, and the BMW 5-Series GT, so it would make sense to assume that the ZDX and the CrossTour would be based on the same mechanicals, but some sites are claiming the two cars will ride on different platforms. We’ll find out more later I’m sure, so for now look after the jump to have a look at some previously released spyshots of the Honda Accord CrossTour.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=309]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• theanswer on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:57 am

cool! is the car going to use awd system?

• mozaks (Member) on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:09 am

bat mobile only for batman…

• looks like a sclass at the back. and the plastered front, the new merc prototype.

• niaseng on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:27 am

Here is not U.S!!!

• can't wait…so can trade my CRV with this..19" deep dish rim should be nice..

• Ariff on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:56 am

told you it's not gonna be CR-Z..

• sadin on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:02 am

what about rear passenger head clearence? Got same problem with gen2 or not?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:12 am

lol, when you meant here, I thought in Malaysia

• Paul, do you really mean its coming to Msia?

• zaff1984 on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:24 am

I like it…..

• Paul Tan on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:25 am

no lah, as in launched soon. not in malaysia.

• cool looking car weh.

• Good day Sam,

You use a crv right? Any comments on the crv as an overall…? Cause i do very interested to have one…need extra opinion before grabbing…tq..

• endangered species on Nov 15, 2011 at 7:39 pm

crv…ok…been driving it fr more than 4 yrs now…don’t see any problem..don’t feel tired anymore after long drive…engine always sound as good as new…offcourse,don’t be stingy on the servicing…

• greyie on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:52 am

the rear lights look like those of a Nissan Teana's…

• Caddilac Wong on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:33 am

Copycat of X6???

• ginto on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:46 am

cool,outstanding design too bad malaysia not avaiable (sign)

• Gajen on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:16 am

looks weird…

• fearsome on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:36 am

can't believe this car will come to MYS. Got market meh??

• mitlanevo on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:37 am

damn ugly, cant believe it is from Honda…….

• Waiting to see this wagon on our road soon…

• n,my wife uses a CRV,had it for 1 year. Initially I didn't quite like the design but have gotten used to it.so far it has been a very good family car.lots of space(boot and passenger compartment)and we have no regrets whatsoever.sound insulation is better than my toyota wish and comparable to my S60 when it was new.it lives up to it's name, being a comfortable runabout vehicle.I don't go off roading so don't need a "real 4WD".have never spinned the wheels even on rainy weather or sandy patches unlike the other 2 cars which the traction control keeps on kicking in whenever I accelerate hard at the traffic lights.overall one of the best cars I have ever bought.go for it….

• jolly_idiot on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:22 am

Looks like a gen2 to me. Beef up gen2 again?

• Mofaz on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:42 pm

"Copycat of X6???"

Have your ever heard that Japs can design something by themself ?

Namely BMW they like to copy: Look at the back of a Camry or Accord and you know what I mean. And the backlights of the new Honda City of course…

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:37 pm

jolly_idiot said,

July 9, 2009 @ 12:22 am

Looks like a gen2 to me. Beef up gen2 again?

—-

Trying to live up to your name?

Please do tell which part looks like a Gen2 that hasn't been already done before?

I don't like how this looks. It looks bloated. Seems to me this was designed by a commitee instead of a designer. I think the hatch version of the Mazda6 and most of the European D segment sedans (C5, Mondeo, Insignia) look much better executed.

• lowprofile on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:35 pm

is this coming to malaysia?

• adlanb20 on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Looks like these cross-tourers are becoming more and more of a trend. Honda is also jumping on the band-wagon…

• stephenstreets on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:01 pm

FUGLY!! I mean whats wrong with these guys. They made the beautiful S2000 , the NSX , the civc and so on , why in the world would they want to make this!. I seriously feel its because they want to target the bmw X1,,X6 ,X3 audis Q5 ,Q3 market segment. Honda please make great beautiful machines, not trying to make a buck out of a small market.

• Honda car never get a nice butt since y2k…

• Kamyongkai on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:44 pm

What is this odd looking baboon doing here? The accord is like trying to outshine its more 'sports-oriented' predecessors. Bad move. Typical hondas. Money grabbing suckers.

• Not good looking.

Everyone jump into the same thing as what Toyota and Porsche started. European and American don't really care about the look of car, the specs list are more important in their purchase decision.

• initial R on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Paul, i not mistaken honda don't have lot wagon line in they production. Maybe NAZA will bring in if Honda don't do it. Maybe Honda have plan for this model in future like Hybrid, Electric or Hidrogen since the size suite to do that.

• Caldina for me many times over this ugly honda.

• Black Dog on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:50 pm

Yeah, the butt is real ugly, I won't F it!

Europeans love station-wagons so cross-tourers are great for them. I wish to have too (not Honda)…but can only wish…

• redwings on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:56 pm

aiyah… just another wagon. Nothing to shout about.

• Esther on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:59 pm

It looks like one of the ugliest looking CROSSOVER I have ever seen !!

The back portion of the car especially the C pillar area looks terrible

European uneuropean, Japanese unjapanese design .

Seems like a lack of Design language and profile direction .

Q5 and XC60 looks more appealing ,pleasing and better than this ACCORD

• setan on Jul 09, 2009 at 7:14 pm

HODOHHHHHHHH giler. OMG if this what future cars will look like, i dunt wanna buy cars in da future. hodoh gila……sedan hatchback.

• lowprofile on Jul 09, 2009 at 7:27 pm

i like the shape though

• mohsin on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:01 pm

Why can't they just name it a hatchback?

• Maserati on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:38 pm

HERE means Malaysia or coming to the WORLD?

• kodok on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:44 pm

ewwwww…the rear looks untidy

• yellowcar on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:55 pm

not sure about honda's market strategy… better they stick to their unique identity instead simply follow the trend. i personally don't like this type of funny design, a mix of car, estate wagon, suv….further more the accord model changing/facelift too fast until there are disconnection from the previous models, a brand needs some legacy….

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 09, 2009 at 9:33 pm

Cross-tourers != Wagons.

To me they come up no where close to a real wagon. Try to fit a labrador in the boot. At least Honda still had the Euro Accord Wagon. For north america, the last Accord wagon was based on the CD chassis.

However, if (big IF) they actually did a wagon body on the current Accord sedan, it would be quite the looker. Part japanese Dodge Magnum.

• Thanx s60t, I did fall in love with crv since day one i saw it on the road. Waiting for the right time to grab it. But sometimes, my eyes couldn't resist to stare at the new stream rsz. Any comments on that?

• Michael Ammot on Jul 10, 2009 at 3:58 am

Fuh… everyone here surely have a very good sight…the important design of the car was wrap with tape and camo..still most of you can comment the design… or maybe u wearing transparent glasses..

• roti naan1 on Jul 10, 2009 at 6:37 am

if the car does come to malaysia, i'm sure the price will be sooooooooo expensive due to tax

Thank you, Malaysia Govt.

• Mohd Zaim on Jul 10, 2009 at 12:44 pm

Wow !! Sure hit in Malaysia..

• clement on Jul 10, 2009 at 8:36 pm

replacing CRV?

• initial R on Jul 11, 2009 at 4:22 am

n. said,

July 9, 2009 @ 5:55 pm

Thanx s60t, I did fall in love with crv since day one i saw it on the road. Waiting for the right time to grab it. But sometimes, my eyes couldn’t resist to stare at the new stream rsz. Any comments on that?

——————————————————————-

Both are good if u like some sporty style. Stream RSZ have more respond than normal stream. Mantap atas jalan & my opinion if u have kids, this sure fits u but CRV have big boot space for you to put extra luggage. Kena biasakan dengan paddle shif, rasa cam bawa F1 car.

• initial R on Jul 11, 2009 at 4:34 am

Michael Ammot said,

July 9, 2009 @ 7:58 pm

Fuh… everyone here surely have a very good sight…the important design of the car was wrap with tape and camo..still most of you can comment the design… or maybe u wearing transparent glasses..

——————————————————————-

Malaysian ppl have superman power that can see beyond the camo. Hehehe…. no offence. :)

• prefer than current accord

• the 2011 version is super hot.. 3.5 v6. really a nice ride….