Kia teases 3 shots of the new VG sedan

Kia VG

These are the initial batch of 3 images of the new Kia large sedan codenamed “VG”, which will replace the Opirus/Amanti. I’ve actually seen the Amanti around KL before, probably driven by some Korean expatriates. It’s somewhat like Kia’s take on the now discontinued Jaguar S-Type, meant to look large and stately. Before you argue that these kind of cars don’t fit well in Kia’s image, they are all over the roads in South Korea. The people there tend to buy Korean cars exclusively from the low end to the higher ends of the model segments.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=405]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jcws_87 on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:00 am

look like Audi A6 from side angle and rim like Honda civic 2.0

• Ranger on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:00 am

This baby look fierce !

• 8th Prime on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:10 am

wow

• looks like new benz c-class to me, side profile esp

• Mathgrind on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:14 am

Audi wannabe

• farghmee on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:29 am

tu lampu belakang audi q5?

• wish it will be here, proton wake up la.

• danak on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:40 am

more great design from the constantly improving kia……by the way, when will the forte reach here?

• bmpower on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:40 am

audi wannabe too!..

it's kia btw.. always lacks of support in malaysia and…expensive parts and….

very low resale value.

• Dr.RaceR on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:01 am

Love the front look!!!…some kind of "x" theme …cool

• mystvearn on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:36 am

I thought it was the VW Passat just by looking at the image

• Mathgrind on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:45 am

pat said,

July 30, 2009 @ 4:34 pm

wish it will be here, proton wake up la

you should wake up bro..

• Phelix on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:48 am

i more feel like camry front and audi back.. haha

• Hariee on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:49 am

IF only the Upcoming Perdana will look sumthing like this…(huh In my dream!) ;(

• MycarMylife on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:52 am

US cars are getting smaller ( to be fuel efficient) and Asian ones are getting

larger !!! Crazy

• turboKEV on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:57 am

ya..proton wake up la!!!!

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:24 am

P1 is dying, it'll never wake up anymore!

Sad…

Sad?!

Hooray!

• front like camry@lexus ..back like audi a4@a5..

• tikus on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:55 am

Proton do something lar….Look at KIA.Hope something new for incoming WAJA

• superb on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:11 am

New Wajalution = Mitsubishi Lancer

dont want 2 buy P1 & P2

u make your own product "P3" perhaps

or u go & buy other product..

shit la..u all comment about P1 & P2

P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

July 30, 2009 @ 6:24 pm

P1 is dying, it’ll never wake up anymore!

Sad…

Sad?!

Hooray!

**LOL..hope u die in car accident & i'm not sad at all..hooray!!

turboKEV said,

July 30, 2009 @ 5:57 pm

ya..proton wake up la!!!!

**Then u go to sleep..RIP ^_^

• the design look good to me. aesthetically pleasing to the eye… not too bold.. I think kia really push their design department and it seems that they are in a correct path

• kiaVG on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:15 am

nice design…hopefully

affordable

• HyundaiLove on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:26 am

Looks Like

Audi?

Camry?

Benzzz?

yea yea!!

The best is PROTON

Looks Like SHIT

• woo..bash more..bash more…tank god i tot no wan to bashing proton n gov…..thats malaysian maa….no one want to include tax, p.window, engine, malaysia, tun mahatir, ap etc so much maa…..bash la some more bash..hooray

hahahaha…,hehehe..hohohoho

my no cent

• is true what, proton should wake up and shake up, current ceo still sleeping, nothing is done after mahaleel is out, copy or jv with any other carmaker also so slow, apala malaysia boleh?? kaaaaaaaa

• superb, u also better wake up la or join proton…or maybe u are proton worker hahahaha. to survive, proton must do something…and fast come out with more new nice models, be it look like audi, kia. mercs…with all the government also cant do, apa laaaaaa

• nabil on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:55 am

definatly c-class side profile….not original

• the lights look like they belong on the audi. however instead of led, it seems to be a tube with halogen gas withnin.

interesting take on daytime running lights.

• My gosh.. Audi back design 80%

• Basherslayouall on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:39 am

haha, look like Civic la look like Audi la, mercs la bla bla bla, its a damn car, how design also sure will look like some other design wan la, tiu … wht kinda comment are u all giving. But at least the "first !! wee !! im a kid" comment are missing from this thread.

Okay my comment about this car, NICE !! Kia really improving. Hah see ? nice constructive comment.

• windtunnelcar on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:40 am

thumbs up! KIA has shown its capability in car design. eventhough tail lamp looks like audi a5 sportback, but front looks futuristic. wonder what price tag is this babe!

• normal_user on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:56 pm

Its just a CGI rendering of a model, which likely to be toned down for production.

I'm eager to look at the real production ready version of the car.

• LightningMcQueen on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:28 pm

Well Paul,

U r rite, korean loves their country very much… they buy everything koreans made, from top to toe … that's why they have virtually everything…

Well fellow Malaysians…. lets buy our products as well, but on the other end P1 and P2 needs to improve as well.

I bet Malaysian will buy Malaysian product if the quality is as same as international standards… such as better equipment level etc…

I know the more features u put in the car the more expensive it becomes, but please remember if every feature is compulsory for each car produce the lower the part price is due to ammortization leverage factor.

So P1 and P2 pls stop producing suicidal cars e.g. bare cars… equipped all cars with ABS, EBD and Air bag.

And the RTD must enforce all cars coming to Malaysia in 2011 must have ABS, EBD and airbag.

It doesnt make sense one car fully equipped with everything being hit by bare car from behind simply because of slippery road condition. It still doesnt bring down the accident statistic.

• stephenstreets on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:04 pm

Drooool…….

I feel KIA is totally out of our league already if not surely better design than european marquees and even the rising sun.

Don't compare man this to honda ,mercedes , toyota and etc, definitely this car wins in the looks department. ENuff said.

I am also curious as how the real production model would look like. Just when I thought the designs ala current camry and accord has already reached the new sedan design threshold, KIA comes up with theirs that totally beats their jap counterparts out of the water.

• salute to the korean!!

what a beautiful piece of work!!

P shld at least learn how to be as ambitious as the korean

• i thought it was a merc seeing the 1st pic

• number6 on Aug 01, 2009 at 1:53 am

my 97 kia sportage is a piece of shit, but im liking this

• altimate on Aug 01, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Sigh.. i'm tired of ppl condemning proton in every other blardy post..!

hello ppl, this post about kia.. let's just talk abt kia.. can we ?.. or if you want to compare, compare with something that is equivalent of this particular car segment.

Proton DOES NOT make cars of this segment. PERIOD.

Back to this, i see too much of Audi-ness in this car.. but it looks really good, bold and masculine.. perhaps something that's required in this segment for it to sell i guess

• Cyberkayu on Aug 01, 2009 at 11:07 pm

audi bac light