Honda CR-V to get mid-life facelift in September

Honda CR-V Facelift

Honda is set to unveil a minor model change for the Honda CR-V SUV in Japan on the 17th of September 2009. One lone teaser image which basically reveals the whole front end of the car has been posted on the CR-V product page of Honda Japan’s website.

It shows us the CR-V’s new front grille (a much slimmer chrome bar going across it) and bumper (more body colour, less of the bumper guard kind of look). The gaping lower grille that gave the CR-V a two-mouthed look also seems to have been minimized. The changes give the CR-V a more urban runabout look as it removes some typically offroader styling from the vehicle.

Look after the jump for a photo of the pre-facelift CR-V so you can compare easily.

Honda CR-V Old

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hopefully with the new face lift, the price will be much cheaper..

• Christock on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:08 am

Damn it looks waaaay better than my 11-year old Honda CRV, Jap built… but then again, to last for so many years, no wonder I'd go for Honda anytime :)

• wah… nice!!

• msian on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:23 am

never really liked the styling of the new crv…:-S

• kaskuser on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:38 am

pertamax gan!

• The facelift model definitely looks better to me.

• Ahmad Sufian on Aug 24, 2009 at 12:14 pm

Looking good… much nicer than the previous version… any interior changes?

• AutoAlert on Aug 24, 2009 at 6:21 pm

The narrowing of the gap beneath the grille makes the front look better. It took me sometime to accept the big gap when the current generation CR-V first debut.

• some how front bumper still not impressive enough

• Kington on Aug 24, 2009 at 8:47 pm

Well, some cars look better in flesh.

In this case, the front of the CRV looks pretty aggresive, but i just don't like the downward sloping design on the rear quarter window.

• azrai on Aug 24, 2009 at 8:48 pm

The face change from 'tersengih' to 'tersenyum' instead. :-)

• Power on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:29 pm

CR-V Malaysia MMC on Jan 2010.

• waters on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:56 pm

Yawn.

• babyboy on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:01 pm

like gemuk suv..

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:32 pm

I was cross shopping the Wish and the Stream and came across something I dont understand.

Why is the Stream more expensive than the CRV?

Car for car, itsn't the CRV more expensive to make? Its larger, has a bigger engine, has the added complexity and cost of AWD….

And then to run salt in, Mitsu can do its Grandis for just a little more…. talk about overpriced Hondas.

• milanRed (Member) on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:41 pm

the new stream is CBU whilst CRV is CKD fr Pagoh… and add to the tax import, excise bla bla bla…. you get more dearer Stream.

Rumour has it that Mitsu get better tax/excise scheme bcos of their passed/current involvement with P1.

• MycarMylife on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:52 pm

Honda san , still have the Mobydick looks at the front , please change it to the Acura shape and it will surely sell better! dont forget the back too please improve or else you will lose out . Take it from me as i've owned 2 previous RD5s with the K20 engines before , great SUVs without complains for 4 years each except for changing Bridgestones every year.

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:21 am

Hmm facelift but still be made by HM. Will the bolt looses before engine get started?

• Black Dog on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:26 am

Way better and smoother. Now it won't bite!

• Caddilac Wong on Aug 25, 2009 at 3:19 am

It seems tat Honda CRV is faceling the CRV in Frankfurt Motorshow while Hyundai will launch a completely new ix35… Wonder how they compare… Hope to see both of them soon..

• roti naan1 on Aug 25, 2009 at 4:58 am

hardly see any visible changes.

Is the prices still the same or dropped? after recycling this CRV?

• TopGear on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:15 am

hopefully can upgrade the look of our existing CRV with kits..

• MycarMylife on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:16 am

Wannabe CRV owners wait for the the ACURA ( MDX) , only CND$48,000 for a 3.0 or 3.5 litres engine. You won't be disappointed as Honda will surely downsize it to 2.4 litres for MY market. This current CRV is on the way out waiting to be replaced. Facelift my foot.,clearing stock more likely.

• brutus on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:13 am

wonder when can we get a taste of the 2.2L TDi since Malaysian government is implementing the Euro2 diesel come 1st September? the 2.0L is way under-power for this version of the CR-V.

• helmi on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:25 am

Any change or facelift means price increase. Damn you Honda Malaysia and UMWToyota.

• Looks funny..

• adlanb20 on Aug 25, 2009 at 10:22 am

I hope they use the rims as in the old picture (the grey crv). Its used on UK crvs and in real life they make the car look way better…

• muharifz on Aug 26, 2009 at 1:56 am

Honda no doubt is a good car maker but then again, anything assembled in Malaysia, be it Mercs or whatever premium brand, do expect some QC issue. As usual boleh laa attitude…..ok laa attitude. Buat lawa2 bukan kereta aku pun kind of attitude..

• Don't know why the rims provided by Honda are always very narrow(my previous accord had 5 J rims only).agree that the rims in the picture are nicer than the ones provided here.unfortunately honda malaysia will consider changing non standard rims as a breach in warranty agreement

• lowprofile on Aug 27, 2009 at 12:22 am

how does this new crv facelift compare to the peugeot 3008? which one looks better?

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 27, 2009 at 1:29 am

muharifz said,

August 25, 2009 @ 5:56 pm

—————————

Not all have that attitude but HM is particularly due to autocratic management. Strecthing their workers beyond the limit that why their subordinate work "cincai". As the result, you know lah.

• I can't see the significant different with this called new facelift thing. But still same with the current one, ugly!!

• hondaslover on Sep 13, 2009 at 6:21 am

much better than the dugong head…

• hondaslover on Sep 13, 2009 at 6:22 am

seem to me way better than previous one ..Can't wait to see

• David on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:07 am

Attention to Car Buyer

I agree Honda car is good in terms of look. Other than that, a car buyer must also pay close attention to service and warranty policy. I had shock of my life when I was told Honda cars must be serviced every 3 months or else the 3 years warranty will be void no matter you are using mineral or synthetic oil. Meaning to say, you have got to send your car for service every 3 months even though your car has traveled a short distance since the previous service.

For those who already bought a new Honda car, make sure that you get all the 3 free services promised done within 6 months no matter what your car mileage is or else it will be void.

Recently, I sent my car for the 3rd free service and was denied the privilege. My car at that time was only 8 months old, mileage at 10 100. The problem is that, I was unaware of this policy when I got the car. The sales person did not highlight this policy when delivering the car. To make things worse, it is not mentioned clearly in the service booklet. I called up to the Customer Relationship Department (CRD) but to no avail. They strictly hold on to their policy. They are not helpful at all. No leniency practiced. Customer is not given priority.

As I also own a Toyota, I can say that Toyota is way much better in the area of customer service. Customers are treated with care and concern. For Toyota, customers do not have to follow the service schedule strictly as long as they send their cars for service after the recommended distance. (10 000 Km for full synthetic oil and 5000 Km for mineral oil)

In summary, Toyota cars are cheaper to maintain even though Honda may claim that their charges per car service is lower. My next car would definitely be a TOYOTA, for sure. I regretted buying a Honda indeed. Think twice before buying a Honda!

Sincerely,

Malaysian

• lee kah keng on Feb 13, 2010 at 9:11 pm

i really hope honda malaysia will introduce in the facelife crv with 2.4l engine as an suv with 2L engine is way too underpowered for its size.

honda has to add in more gadgets in the crv to entice more buyers!

Lokk at the new Kia sorento with v6 engine and 6 speeds transmission, albeit at lower pricing!!

Honda can't take its customers for granted anymore with the koreans cars come attacking aggressively!

• Hölzl Johann on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Ich fahre jetzt den 7ten Honda einen CR – V RE5 Bj. 2008 aber so eine mieserable Qualität was Honda da abliefert ist eine Frechheit. Das war mein letzter Honda, mir tut nur mein Honda Händler leid den der Macht seine Arbeit super.