New Volkswagen Polo gets 3-door variant

Volkswagen Polo

As it turns out, the 3-door Volkswagen Polo is just as handsome looking at the 5-door Volkswagen Polo. Volkswagen has definitely got its baby B-segment hatchback’s styling sorted out nicely. Most importantly to me, the Polo now looks unisex, while its predecessor looked a little feminine to me.

6 engines will be available with the car, with the most fuel efficient being a 75 PS turbodiesel that uses only 3.3 litres per 100km and puts out only 87g/km of CO2. The most powerful engine so far is the 1.2 litre TSI, putting out 105 PS thanks to its direct injection and forced induction. Of course, that’ll only be until the Polo GTI hot hatch is unveiled, which could feature either a 150 PS or 180 PS engine, assuming it mimics what’s offered with the hot version of the Ibiza.

Look after the jump for a full hi-res gallery of the 3-door Polo.

Volkswagen Polo: 5-door version.
Volkswagen Polo GTI 1.8T Test Drive Review
Volkswagen CrossPolo 1.6 Test Drive Review

[zenphotopress number=99 album=453]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Elvis on Aug 27, 2009 at 9:03 am

Looks dated to me….

• 3 doors hatch always looks cooler than its 5 doors sibling..perhaps its just me. But malaysia really lacks of 3 doors options

• remote on Aug 27, 2009 at 9:22 am

Nice interior & the engine variants available.

More turbo diesel models should be introduced here

when we start selling the Euro2 !!!

And come Sept when our new auto policy is reveiled

hopefully3x it will be affordable!!!?

• oricon666 on Aug 27, 2009 at 9:23 am

Elvis….

Ya, me too…. mostly the interior…

either dated or will be look outdated very soon…

hahahah

• selekohboi on Aug 27, 2009 at 10:48 am

this is why ppl complaint bout P1 so much. we're already numb with the quality of performance & material used, atlis give the best possible look on the outside = atlis mades it look classy.

This Polo is so smooth, that even fall in love at 1st sight. I would get it as an weekend car, if got100+k to spare, which is why i would op fo rNeo, if it's as good looking as this baby.

• 'Elvis said,

August 27, 2009 @ 1:03 am

Looks dated to me….'

Yes, that's part of their strategy. A ten year old VW looks similiary to a recent one and is therefore still quite expensive on the secondhand market in Europe.

• jimbet on Aug 27, 2009 at 1:31 pm

VW cars are intended to be like that. You want modern contemporary look, get vauxhalls or any modern Frenchies.

• The front design is more stylish compare to the back, overall is just soso for me, not my taste one. But the built quality is no doubt, best in class i can say.

• initial R on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:44 pm

Always, VW came with the pesonality. Every product came with own attitude. This polo i can say " You can look at me, see inside me but hey… can you catch me on the road ?."… its kind that attitude i see on this 3 door Polo. I like it. :)

Elvis, u want look more dated interior please get your own IBIZA.

• firdausasri on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:51 pm

It looks better proportioned than current Mk4 Polo with wider tracks. It hinting that upcoming Polo GTI will be a cracking car!

• pulge on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:54 pm

VW tends to use a rather simple design language but still looks attractive, like Audi. I like it. I think this is the best looking VW besides the new Scirocco.

• droll on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:58 pm

looks nice. very very classy.

i bet *IF* the GTI variant ever makes it to our shores in M'sia, it'll probably be in the region of 150k to 160k??

• azrai on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:11 pm

Conventional design. Play safe but still good looking.

• barca on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:14 pm

i already liked the polo in 5 doors…well, with 3 doors, the form becomes more definite…..very taut and masculine!

imo, although the polo lacks the french's flair of styling (eg peugeot/citroen/renault), the germans make it up with strong, definite form all-around.

• farghmee on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:14 pm

exterior cun :)

but..

dashboard panel looks outdated, messy.

gear lever looks as if it comes from '90s..

• mohsin on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:16 pm

I'm admire much 5 doors Polo. More practical.

No news when it will arrive at our shore? Any expected price, Paul?

Er, does it has a cross / GTI version?

• Bella italia on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:37 pm

i dont admire volks at all….haha….

so damn ugly interior n exterior…

Sory….

• mcm EG6?

eh silap…

TSI engine kena recall due to technical problem..

• Baby Scirocco yay!

• chew ban on Aug 27, 2009 at 7:04 pm

i think it says hey dont look at me, im ugly, stop talking bad about my interior behind my back hehe. its freakishly fugly interior design, gen 2 looks better

• firdausasri on Aug 27, 2009 at 7:19 pm

Gen2 better in styling??? You obviously live in the state of denials bro hahaha

• 1.4 2005

MKV POLO Wald edition is now selling RM65k

brand new car but has been sitting in d garage for 4 yrs plus….

• MyviC on Aug 27, 2009 at 8:31 pm

when i see a volks i'd say hail hitler

• Ultraman on Aug 27, 2009 at 8:42 pm

How much would the turbo diesel variant costs in Malaysia?

But the most important thing is dunno our diesel is suitable for this car or not.

• Wak Rempit on Aug 27, 2009 at 9:19 pm

While the Ibiza (bocanegra) is aggresive and mean looking, the polo is more subtle and shall I say "sedated".

But 3-door is a big no no in Malaysia man, I think the 5-door will sell better not that I say VW has a good sales in Malaysia.

VW Malaysia, seriously you should do something about your poor sales man. For a start is to stop thinking VW is Audi, remember no matter how good your car is malaysian buyer always look at brands and reputations not practicality. So please revise the pricelist.

• raybrig on Aug 27, 2009 at 10:23 pm

nt a gd looking vw but at least better looking than the new golf..

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Aug 28, 2009 at 12:09 am

VW is tahan lasak car, but lacks design finesse! The rear of this car looks soooooo simple tha it bores you!!!

• Bland and old design. Satria Neo looks better.

• skyyarif on Aug 28, 2009 at 2:55 am

it looks fabulous, with its clean lines and its decent looks. for the 3-door variant, i think it would be better looking if it had frameless doors,

• RadioNaughty on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:24 pm

wtf?your a customer too,ok she would have to amsuse your a customer and treat customers better,i would have fired her if i was her boss.your video maybe buying a lot more gti’s that some that have tested the car in that hour you were laterespect for your work cheers

• skyyarif on Aug 28, 2009 at 2:57 am

it looks good to me, forget about that bland designs, but as for the 3-door variant, i think it would be better if it had frameless doors

• 'Zool said,

August 27, 2009 @ 4:16 pm

Bland and old design. Satria Neo looks better.'

VW sold 71.544 Polo in July 2009 in Germany alone.

How many Satria Neo sold Proton worldwide ? ;)

• beautiful!

• bobdbilder on Aug 28, 2009 at 6:42 am

Dudes, its got 103hp. Slightly better than a 4G18P. No its not as beautiful as a Satria Neo. A Scirocco would be, but not this. Only the pictures look nice. But when you see it perching on top of the wheels, you can see its high.

But you can see a CL there. There's a well known hereditary there. Somewhere. Interlagos interiors? No. Too bad.

• This car looks alot more elegant in real life IMO… especially compared to cars of similar price.

• The Proton Satria Neo S2000 is much more beautiful than the Polo and Scirocco..