Punto drops Grande name, undergoes Evolution?

Fiat Punto Evo

Fiat has decided to rename the Grande Punto with its mid-life facelift. It is now known as the Fiat Punto Evo (no relation to Mitsubishi) and it will be making its first public appearance at the Frankfurt Motor Show. The chassis and wheelbase remains the same but the new bodykit makes the car longer, though width and height remains the same as the outgoing Grande Punto.

Fiat Punto Evo
Portable Tom-Tom device functions as the car’s infotainment controller when mounted in the car

Under the hood is either a 1.4 litre MultiAir petrol or a 1.3 litre MultiJet diesel but Fiat seems to be shouting the loudest about the latest version of its Blue&Me which debuts in the Punto Evo. The new system is called Blue&Me – TomTom and it is a fully integrated infotainment system that lets you manage telephony, GPS navi and other information functions on a touch-screen LCD.

Thanks to working together with car systems provider Magneti Marelli for tighter integration with the car, the display will also display information fed from Fiat’s Eco:Drive Info system for real-time information on driving style and suggestions for reducing fuel consumption by changing gears and accelerating to suit the nature of the GPS navigation route.

Look after the jump for more pix of the new Punto Evo.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=463]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mohd hafizzul on Sep 01, 2009 at 3:35 pm

1st………..Lawa lah…Tapi tidak popular. Harga mesti mahal ni…

• The Reader on Sep 01, 2009 at 4:19 pm

Baby Aston Martin

• make it at RM75k OTR….we will see more of Punto

oso bring in d Abarth with SS kits….Fiat ROCKS man!!!!

• ricaza (Member) on Sep 01, 2009 at 4:57 pm

nice car!!!!

• barca on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:12 pm

just about the right size compared to Citroen's overblown DS and looks better in black.

• car fan on Sep 01, 2009 at 7:09 pm

wow very nice one…

I wish that i can owned it…

• deathstars on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:33 pm

old school said F=fiat I=is A=always T=trouble

• bella italia on Sep 01, 2009 at 11:00 pm

deathstars: dont talk if u didnt own it….i already used fiat n alfa romeo for 24 years without any trouble….so shut up….idiot

mohd hafizzul: x popular? kat malaysia jer bro…sbb org malaysia ni x reti appreciate…..kat europe semua pakai jer

• deathstars said,

September 1, 2009 @ 12:33 pm

old school said F=fiat I=is A=always T=trouble

luckily u said old skool

d new skool has improve tremendously…look at how FIAT 500 being market today..

d italian has changed…i must say so

• Zidane on Sep 02, 2009 at 12:01 am

FIAT – Fix it again tony…

i got it from a shop in bangsar…

• Joe King on Sep 02, 2009 at 2:33 am

Don’t be misled by these “Fix it again tony” bore merchants. Firstly avoid them at all cost, at parties.

I will explain the origins. In the 1970’s when Volkswagen were almost bust. Before the Golf, Volkswagen cars tended to caught fire.

So what better to run down a rival. So maybe in the 70’s Fiat’s weren’t that reliable. But unlike Volkswagen, at least you had a car to fix.

• Budak Pandai on Sep 02, 2009 at 3:02 am

tak lawa la..

• Budak Pandai on Sep 02, 2009 at 3:03 am

tak lawa pun.tang mana yg lawa tu? interior lagi serabut..

• Elvis on Sep 02, 2009 at 5:13 am

Fiat brand also known as Obama car…

• HfrShah on Sep 02, 2009 at 6:09 am

The current pre-facelift Grande Punto can be bought from Torino Motors for RM85k OTR, new.

It doesn't matter how competitively priced these cars are, Malaysians being Malaysian, if a car doesn't have a Honda/Toyota/Nissan badge, they won't bother. Look at all the reasonably priced Italian cars here – Fiat Bravo GT (RM115k), Alfa Romeo 159 (RM188k) – you hardly see any on the roads. Pity.

• CocoBear on Sep 02, 2009 at 6:11 am

Lol at the ugliest evo.

• Edward on Sep 02, 2009 at 6:52 am

DAMN…… it is so hot and sexy…

another italian job well done :)

• loveyourdidi on Sep 02, 2009 at 6:10 pm

@ Budak Pandai

wtf is wrong with your eyes?

• Mathgrind on Sep 02, 2009 at 6:42 pm

myvito letak bodykit gan interior lawa pun boleh jadik lawa laa..tak ader beza pon..mcm plastic surgery laaa..org huduh pon boleh jadik laa…jadik jgn laa di banggakan sgt

• Mathgrind on Sep 02, 2009 at 7:28 pm

Fiat seems to be shouting the loudest about the latest version of its Blue&Me which debuts in the Punto Evo. The new system is called Blue&Me – TomTom and it is a fully integrated infotainment system that lets you manage telephony, GPS navi and other information functions on a touch-screen LCD.———-wow itu jew yang advance? hehehe tomtom bak hahhaa

• teh king of teh cat on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:55 am

the only "lawa" thing for malaysian is the new gtr,lambo, 5 series and etc..

weirdo

• brosscpsturbo on Sep 04, 2009 at 12:02 am

memang sempoi gila la. lebih sempoi dari kancil,viva,myvi dari segi rupa bentuk dia tu. tak sabaq nak sambaq satu. good job well done.

• Elvis on Sep 07, 2009 at 5:00 am

Actually a very nice design car….placement of gps very strategic, other manufacturers should folow this common sense feature for their future production.

• I own the Grande Punto and I think the facelift ain't nothing. However, the interior has lotsa changes. Notably, they rip the bravo's interior for the Punto Evo. I'm still in love with my Grande… :)

• Kamal Nordin on Dec 05, 2009 at 10:59 am

Hi All,

I own a Punto Grande and my wife use it to send and fetch the kids to and from the school plus running errants. Let me tell you I'm very happy with the car. It is nippy, economical and easy to menouver. The stereo is excellent with no additional amp or modification required. The city button for the stearing wheel makes parking the car in small and tight places even easier than can be discribe with 1000 words.

Overall we are very happy with the car and I sincerely believe that the technology, quality and reliability have move a great deal since the olden days of FIAT (Fiat Is Always Trouble).

The Punto Grande is practical for city driving. It can do better with higher torque and power but for ladies I higly recommend the car.

Thanks

Kamal