Saga 1.6 set for Aussie launch in November

Proton will be launching a 1.6 litre IAFM variant of the Saga in Australia soon (November 2009 ETA) and has put up a teaser website for it at newsedan.com.au. It won’t be called the Saga in Australia though – a new name will be picked. Prices will begin at under AU$13,000, or under RM37,895 for the 1.6 litre manual, but an automatic option as well as a smaller engine (likely the 1.3) will be available from February 2010 onwards.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• adzley on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Should officially launch for Marehsia as well…

• y P1 abused d domestic price here while offer a competitive price outside Malaysia?

y make d owner here so "robbed"…..

• Christopher Liew on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Wow.1.6 for under RM37000? The price for a 1.3 Saga in cost more than a 1.6 in Aus with airbag and is a national car.How can Proton do this to us.Because of Proton,imported cars are expensive. Dam Proton

• Mazda 3 MPS on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:31 pm

a car for dumb australians…a mazda 3 is so cheap there

• Christopher Liew on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Wow.1.6 for under RM37000? The price for a 1.3 Saga in Malaysia cost more than a 1.6 in Aus with airbag and is a national car.How can Proton do this to us.Because of Proton,imported cars are expensive. Dam Proton

• Jack Lim on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:32 pm

When will Proton change.

• gtmaniac on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:39 pm

Suitable – or even required – extra power, judging from the weight of people there & distance they travelled.

• shoryuken on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Exactly, that is why M'san market is shield from competitive, and no improvement. Anyhow, a Camry is only less than A$30K, where based on the difference, its at A$17,000. If our earning comparison is 1-1, which means will you pay 17,000 more from a Saga to Camry? I think the answer is very obvious. A$17K is 3months salary for normal guy there. I have not even touch in the quality yet. The Hybrid is launching in Feb2010 anyhow. Just check it out. We are producing outdated product and try to sell. That is like will you buy VCD or Video Casette nowadays even though it is cheaper? DVD might be gone in 3-5 years with the BR momentum. P1 is living in a well. Consumer moves on, but P1 stays there for 20+ years due to protection policies that kill all consumer's rights.

• Black Dog on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:47 pm

The answer…migrate to Australia!

Enjoy high salary, low product prices, crisp air, friendly people etc etc

but the only thing you will miss (besides pig/dog frens) is the FOOD!

• shoryuken,

i think you also live in a well…..

list out the protection policies

• bmpower on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:00 pm

shoryuken.

malaysia no need citizen like you.

even your nick already japanese like.

so.. you have to living in japan. and then i bet you..

less than 6 month later, you'll realize how good malaysia is.

• Nakal on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:05 pm

In Malaysia…Proton car is also subjected to G tax..

I think, the tax in aus is lower than msia…

• TheDuck on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Good Luck Proton. Same Price as Yaris.

• hmm… why?.

• pulge on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:18 pm

Proton is focusing on export markets, so it needs to have better spec models outside Malaysia as the demand is there.

Put a time to think, Malaysians mostly consist of race car wannabes. Look at how they modify their cars. Even the sluggish old Kembara is decorated like a sports car despite the offroad-centric design. City cars like Vios and City was never meant to become an Evo or Impreza WRX.

If Proton to ever offer export spec for local market, think about the electronics that will be tampered (ABS, EBD, airbags, etc.), ride comfort deteriorated, warranty voided, and many other outcomes when the owner change to bigger wheels with thin rubber (look how terrible Malaysian road is to ride on a car with big wheels), sport steering wheel replaces the stock ones with integrated airbag and other nifty controls, engine systems tampered to spit more hp and what it could actually built for, shorter springs and absorbers to lower the car, thus killing the comfort albeit improve handling. And it doesn't stop there.

We demand Proton to offer the same spec as what UK gets, but see what the owners will do to their cars when they have it. UK people drive cars as it is, Malaysian drives as if we were on a race track driving a GT car or F1 car.

Perhaps there is a good thing why Malaysian roads has a lot of potholes.

• Mathgrind on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:33 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

September 2, 2009 @ 1:31 pm

a car for dumb australians…a mazda 3 is so cheap there

Dumd Mazda3 ..then u go there and buy laaa.. give people option laaaa..

• Caddilac Wong on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:44 pm

Although it appears to be a bit unfair to Malaysia, the pricing is competitve in Australia. At 13k, it undercuts the Aveo, Accent and Rio for 3k… However the biggest problem is that the brand is unconvincing, Korean is far more successful in Australia these days, with Hyundai snatching Mazda's 4th position and Kia sneaking into top-10… Good luck Proton…

• m3t4ph0R on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:45 pm

@pludge

it doesn't matter how malaysian tend to do with their car. once warranty voided, they know the consequences. their hard earned cash…

but it is better for proton to have std abs n ebd rather than mingling with airbag and lotus handling. quite sad with proton. price tag could compromise if it is best bang per buck.

• Wak Rempit on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:51 pm

Funny when people are so sentimental when car price becomes a topic.

So yada.. yada.. yada.. cars in malaysia are expensive… government protect proton.. yada… yada… yapping and more yapping…

Why not for a change we talk about things that are cheaper in Malaysia compare to other countries… like food… property… clothing… medical… education… fuel… public transport…. income tax

Sure in some socialist countries like France or UK education, medical etc is free but their people paid 30-40% of tax every year… hahaha! compare to some malaysian who never even paid any tax!!

• actually ive just recently drive friends saga blm 1.3 manual, quite punchy.

imagine its a 1.6 iafm just a bit less which powered the exora just with an extra cps.

• hmm quite a few eggheads here that got awfully defensive when others criticise their beloved poontang i mean proton. tsk tsk tsk…

• ahmad norman on Sep 02, 2009 at 11:09 pm

proton fuct u stupid products for the masses

• mingyuyu on Sep 02, 2009 at 11:13 pm

Sure it wont get a nice selling at there. Too small car and pricy

• Elvis on Sep 02, 2009 at 11:16 pm

Want cheaper cars in Malaysia? Then consider second hand cars…cant believe so many cars in showroom condition even do they are actually SECONDHAND. But you must be very knowledgeable about cars to detect whether this car involve in major or minor accident before. You can buy a secondhand Mercz similar price to brand new Proton Saga SE or Viva Elite. My friend just bought Mercz C200 an older model but i was blown away. Handling was super, and with cost per year of RM6,000(Price of car + mainantenance / 10 years usage) i think he made a great move. And always worth buying books on how to maintain cars.

• azrai on Sep 02, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Why is it not called Saga in Australia? Want to rename it to Savvy Sedan? Anyway, just look at the price we know our G already overtax it. Soon they will be many proton Taxi's in disguised at Australia.

• biggie on Sep 02, 2009 at 11:24 pm

price of 1.6 in Malaysia is 39K

• Grandis on Sep 02, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Takkan dok dekat Aust nak pakai Saga kot …. belambak lagi kereta lain yg murah ….kekeke ….Din Beramboi pun tak sanggup buat cam tu

• Elvis on Sep 02, 2009 at 11:39 pm

I read that Proton Saga was originally to be use as Taxi here in Malaysia. Just looking at the interior also can guess that Proton Saga is a taxi mode. Got huge luggage space(actually design to accomodate LNG tank), back seats with higher headroom(for those taller orang putih) etc. But petty those taxi owners also, the cost of maintance is a bomb for Proton coz of the constant breakdown of parts. Hope other reader would do some research before bashing me on this one. You dont believe me, go and ask those taxi owners.

• Anti-BN on Sep 02, 2009 at 11:40 pm

Wak rempit is a gomen bootlicker …hoi mamat aku nie bayar tax 27% about 3k per month …. aku geram dekat gomen sebab car tax mahal nak mampus ….nak pakai kereta jepun pun loan sampai 7 tahun …. kereta MPV yg elok2 macam Estima, Elysion , Oddysey sepatutnya ramai yg mampu beli brand new ….selesa dan safety for family …..

Itu belum cerita pasal petrol tax , rising healthcare and education lagi ….aper yg kao merapit nie mamat ?

• merrick88 on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:07 am

i always tell my Aussie friends that you got to be mad, senile or no life to buy a Proton in Australia……and as a M'sian in Australia, I will knock some sense into ur head if u ever buy a Proton in Australia…..XDD

• PAS forever on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:07 am

Marilah kita menukar kerajaan skg…

• Chewman on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:14 am

Malangsia boleh…..

Enough of the Lotus handling marketing scam.

It's not boosting the image of proton. In fact, it's destroying Lotus reputation.

• bomoh11 on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:17 am

merrick88 said,

September 2, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

i always tell my Aussie friends that you got to be mad, senile or no life to buy a Proton in Australia……and as a M’sian in Australia, I will knock some sense into ur head if u ever buy a Proton in Australia…..XDD

lol , do u think life is too good , loo k at ur self , still long way to go , do u think buy a car so easy ,

make your own money , support yourself , get your ow n house, if u ever work , u should know where are you standing

• Mathgrind on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:24 am

PAS forever said,

September 2, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

Marilah kita menukar kerajaan skg

———————————-

Apa bodohnye ko Pas forever …harga keta mahal ko nak tukar kerajaan tah2 tukar kerajaan pon sama pemikiran kolot betul…..

• elpaciko on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:27 am

banyak betul budak budak kat sini….

semua nak free, tanpa tax… marah sebab x mampu nak beli kereta… tapi x terfikir pun pasal free healthcare dan free education…

Kenapa? sebab semuanya budak budak x matang yang berangan nak pakai kereta canggih… budak budak mana pikir pasal healthcare ngan education untuk anak anak…

bayar tax 27% sebulan??? hahahaha

• Mathgrind on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:28 am

Anti-BN said,

September 2, 2009 @ 3:40 pm

Wak rempit is a gomen bootlicker …hoi mamat aku nie bayar tax 27% about 3k per month …. aku geram dekat gomen sebab car tax mahal nak mampus ….nak pakai kereta jepun pun loan sampai 7 tahun …. kereta MPV yg elok2 macam Estima, Elysion , Oddysey sepatutnya ramai yg mampu beli brand new ….selesa dan safety for family …..

Itu belum cerita pasal petrol tax , rising healthcare and education lagi ….aper yg kao merapit nie mamat ?

—————————-

nie lagik satu bengong..nieh cita pasal keta laa bukan cita ko banyar tax berapa…bulan puasa nieh jgn laa riak..nak ckp gaji ko sebulan banyak laa tuhh heheheh

• linear_system on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:41 am

ermm..every time proton topic,must link it to tax etc.now proton wanna sell car outside malaysia also wanna bash..give proton a space la wei..

• bmpower on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:44 am

tipical lazy people.

wanna luxury car but no money, then blame here blame there.

they should learn how to make more money,

instead of being a tipical worker till die.

blame yourself for being poor!

• chiewwl on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:45 am

once again.. rakyat being 'suckered' by P1..

• I wish malaysia doesn't have national car at the first place… so that we can have cheaper imported cars..

• byk xde otak on Sep 03, 2009 at 1:19 am

aiyooo bmpower u r rite

blame urself of being poor..

npe nk salahkan krajaan salahkan diri sendiri

takat lulus SPM nak pkai mazda 5??

pkir2 la skitt…

xkan kerja kerani ley pkai mazda kowt even klu xe proton skalipon la..

awat la mengong sgt otak hangpa neh

• Protonphilic on Sep 03, 2009 at 1:23 am

I love proton ! Impeccable build quality , excellent handling and ride ( tuned by Lotus !) , value for money , easily available spare parts , what more can u ask ?

Selamat Hari Merdeka ( belated) …ohhh 1Malaysia !

• Maserati on Sep 03, 2009 at 1:30 am

Which idiot is going to buy this load of rubbish for AUD 13000????!!!

• Georgie on Sep 03, 2009 at 1:32 am

shoryuken, i disagree with u.. i've been in australia for a year there and the standard wage is not A$17k for 3 months.. not everybody makes that kind of living. it looks like u've been living in a well too…

• farghmee on Sep 03, 2009 at 1:33 am

lotus handling is marketing scam?

proof pls :)

kalu nk handling bak elise dlm persona xble la bai.

amik persona & vios. ko compare la handling dia.

tu pn kalu ko betul2 xbias la.

xsungguh org xkata. nk mengeji biar pakai ayat sket.

• Kingfx on Sep 03, 2009 at 2:34 am

I lived in Hongkong for a year and I miss Malaysia so much after few months there. There's a lot of good things in Malaysia. For those who complaint so much about Malaysia, book your ticket, pack your stuffs apply VISA to another country and move your ass out of here. Surely you will miss something later on. Don't buy Proton car if you dont like it. There's plenty of brands in Malaysia. The matter of you can afford it or not. Strange about Malaysian. They can spend tens of thousand to modify retard kancil become a racing car and yet complint so much about car price. Ain't we have so much money then?

• Fxcking Msia Governm on Sep 03, 2009 at 2:54 am

em… i think i will hope proton can sell good in Aus…

not that i m supporting this fxcking government….

guys… try to think at the reverse way…..

if proton earn $$…. then they are happy…

if they lose $$… do u think they will be unhappy ??

this celaka company is fully supported by our stupid government what…

when they lose money… who pays?

–> Msia Goverment

Where does the government get the money?

—> from us la……

celaka punya government…….

just my 20 cents

• Bila Proton Jumbuk baru keluar ni? Boleh buat bisness haram…

• Boleh laku ke proton jual kat sana….Silap haribulan kereta proton buat kereta langgar2 jek..hahahahahahaha..Proton ni politik kerajaan jek…banyak sangat rasuah….korang tak payah lah nak cover2 proton ni…semua orang tahu..sapa2 yang semangat malaysia tu jangan lah bangga sangat dgn proton ni..buat malu jek…

• hey cheapskates that want cheap car, go earn more money!!!!

you all dont deserve to drive a safe car, you wan safe car, you need to earn big money. If You earn peanut, u better drive honda (EX5) and buy accident insurance.

If you die, then die la.

even malaysian citizen ask ourselves to earn more money instead of demanding for a real cheaper and safer car from our own car maker.

malaysia boleh!!!!!!!! semua boleh, apa pun boleh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hey, i'm driving a honda too!!!! honda EX5. LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• PROTON SELAMA LAMA NYA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i'll recommend proton car to everyone i know.

then they will all hate/curse proton together, hahahahaahhahaha.

• Hamidi on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:25 am

haih buat malu kaum la…berarak dgn kepala lembu pandai..ni la bangsa Malaysia..minyak dah la kelentong kita..sekarang Saga pulak..malu kaum la potong oi…sepandai pandai tupai melompat di Malaysia..jatuh tak?

• I love proton…..honest, drive one then u know

• Automotive_Critics on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:30 am

Shah said,

September 2, 2009 @ 8:03 pm

Everybody want Malaysia to be developed country but don't want to work hard. If Proton is not exist, all money goes to abroad. Do you think we will get richer and GDP increase? If we dont have money how we can achieve minimum GDP required by world bank to get developed country status? How world bank can accept if our G want to afloat our ringgit to same value as dollar or yen?

OK close proton and please dont complain if your RM1 can only buy 2pcs of local made candy. Worst come to worst, dont blame others if our country become like zimbabwe. They 60mil Zimbabwe dolar to buy just a cup of coffee.

• jazzer on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:35 am

lolll..dont bashing if u dont know the marketing strategies as well as business expansion method..anyway,p1 has a good reputation in australia..so this is the right time to sell saga there…for those who always bashing p1,i know you got a good salary so you afford to buy branded car..but for people that just got below 2k a month,this car really offers the best in its class..anyway,gud luck proton..i love u..

• It's Time to Ch on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:44 am

Feeling of getting robbed by our very own proton? Feeling unfair and unreasonable? It is time to change to Perodua. Get a Perodua today guaranty satisfaction. Cant spell a Success without = YOU! Let us be united as ONE and bring down proton today ;)

Just for fun :) joking only~

• ProtonSelsema on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:56 am

Disebabkan proton lah aku miss tak bule pakai kereta Maserati hahaha

• A very bold move by proton.

2010 will see Chery and Galado (? cant remember) coming into the australian market as well. As I see it, it is there to wage war against the Getz, also going for $13000 for a 1.3L 3dr manual model runout.

A $13k driveaway price would be a steal. A 5 door getz is at least $15k… or $17500 for the auto 5 door version. A yaris is effectively $20k+.

Personally, I doubt #13k will be the driveaway price. I am betting it will reallly be around $15k OTR.

There are still dolts thinking that Camrys cost $30k in Australia. They simply do not. Notice the "*" besides all those online prices? Yeah… a $17k Yaris ends up being about $21k OTR with insurance/registration/plates. So a $30k Camry will end up being ~$35k (~RM115k) for the most basic model. Say what you like. Even if proton dies tomorrow, there is no way a Corolla is going to sell for $80k OTR with insurance.

• what make guys think gov charge high tax for foreign car because of proton? even without proton also gov will tax car very high laa.. it is a good source of income for gov. even charge high also ppl still buy what, by thousands every month. then bank also charge interest for years, some until 12 years. bank profits then gov get tax too. national car is just reason only laa weii.

no wonder gov stupid, coz the ppl stupid too.

• Fxcking Msia Government said,

September 2, 2009 @ 6:54 pm

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/02/saga-1-6-set-for-au…
    The government has spent relatively peanuts on propping up proton compared to the far more drastic measures taken by south korea. And the american bailouts far exceeds anything (even if you scale it down appropriately to malaysian market size) that has been given to proton. I say give them a fighting chance. They seem to be holding their ground in international markets such as thailand where they have no tax advantage – even though protons in thailand are more expensive than in malaysia!

Dude, malaysia's automotive policy practically mirrors that of South Korea. if you think foreign countries dont protect their car industries, you are simply ignorant or stupid. Australia spent ~RM6,000,000,000 (6 bil) to make sure that it's local engine plants didnt close down last year. That money came directly from taxpayers who dont complain.

Even America bailed out it's auto industry to the tune of hundreds of billions. It Korea it was simply impossible to buy toyotas and hondas for YEARS as they let kia and hyundai develop. Those camrys and hondas you like are still more expensive in our two closest neighbours OTR with insurance (ask your friends living there)..regardless of how much you say proton drove up car prices.

Proton makes cheap cars. If you ever think that you can get a jazz/swift/yaris for the price of a saga, well… you simply wouldnt be able to. Not even in the tax havens of Langkawi.

Proton is less than 30 years old, and they seem to be on the right track.

Their track record is nothing to shout about, but commendation should be given where it is due.

• albagmane on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:28 am

guess aussies are smart enough which car to buy and value for money… proton cars are for old ppl and the retired here in the land down under…

• Kruel on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:37 am

After all the support we gave

this is what we get from Proton

NEWER, CHEAPER, BETTER CAR for the foreigners !

• crazy fellas.... on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:42 am

TOYOTA, the largest automaker in the world today was founded in 1937, but it was not until the late 70s and and early 80s that their cars were noticed by people outside Japan, esp. in Europe. It took them over 40 years to come up with quality cars that could finally break into and compete with the global automotive industry. Just look at where they are today.

PROTON. The first Saga rolled out in 1985, and 24 years on, just look at how much Proton cars had improved. If it was not for the taxes and gov. policies, proton would not have been propelled to such great heights in a short period of time. Both India and China, with thousands of years of civilization history between then, and the so called global economy 'players' have yet to be able to produce drives attractive enough for the global market. While this is happening, Proton are already selling their cars in England and Australia.

People gave Toyota 72 years to prove themselves, then why are we so hard on manufacturers like Proton? For a fairly new company (if compared to other car manufacturers) Proton have done pretty well, if not gone beyond expectations. Let's buy Proton Cars here in Malaysia, make this a profitable organization, encourage Proton to improve and before you know it we'll have quality Proton cars that no one would turn to a foreign made car.

• rexis on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:06 am

In Aussy land people use Prius as taxi and Ford F150 as city two truck.

Proton need something to brag with, like cheapest.

Btw, cheapest sedan in Malaysia too.

• annonymous on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:37 am

Please stop comparing Msia with Aussie. Average Australians earning 30k AUD have to pay about AUD 6k anually in tax alone.

• pulge on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:23 am

Like some who commented, because some Malaysian could not afford foreign cars and "forced" to buy Proton as they are cheaper. Bashing is the only way to express their thoughts.

Btw, when is the Persona facelift coming out?

• raptorclans on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:48 am

I wonder whether they're gonna launch this here… Wish we knew for sure so I could decide between this one and the SE model…

• at about 1050kg, 1.6iafm, manual,

this is one of the QUICKEST proton,

• saki77 on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:42 am

sesape yang bayar tax 27% sebulan tu, buat pe bising2 pasal proton kat sini?….pegi le beli maserati ke…ferrari ke…

• Elvis on Sep 03, 2009 at 9:45 am

I like this ezra and crazy fellas comments. Long explanation of why we must support Proton. But maybe this two fellas never bought or own Proton cars before. They never experience their car opener breakoff even you try to open you car door very gently. Or find that power window cant operate. Or the seat adjuster suddenly breakoff. Or the car remote control not working properly. After 24 years of doing cars, Proton still having this type of problems over and over again. Why? because of vendors and suppliers supplying low quality parts at very expensive prices. Proton knows the reason very well yet do nothing about this. Why Proton not doing anything about it? Because of connections and down right money….

• Im agreed with KingFX. Its true…if you afford, then buy import car. If not, then buy local P1 or P2. Else…just naik public transport je la.

• Anti-Liar on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:01 pm

elpaciko said,

September 2, 2009 @ 4:27 pm

banyak betul budak budak kat sini….

semua nak free, tanpa tax… marah sebab x mampu nak beli kereta… tapi x terfikir pun pasal free healthcare dan free education…

Kenapa? sebab semuanya budak budak x matang yang berangan nak pakai kereta canggih… budak budak mana pikir pasal healthcare ngan education untuk anak anak…

bayar tax 27% sebulan??? hahahaha

—-

hahaha.. this is a big Liar… what company do you have? prostitution? hehe.. come on la.. can u imagine how proud to be malaysian when we saw Australian drive our can in their country…

• Nuke-Zero on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:10 pm

Umar said,

September 2, 2009 @ 4:53 pm

I wish malaysia doesn’t have national car at the first place… so that we can have cheaper imported cars..

—-

then.. how about Produa? naza? Inokom? they can sell cheaper car? Mimpila.. even Viva sell like a second hand Merc C200.. WTF.. if no competition… Produa can monopoly and can sell their car higher price…

• ZeeroHeero on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:18 pm

Fxcking Msia Government said,

this celaka company is fully supported by our stupid government what…

when they lose money… who pays?

–> Msia Goverment

Where does the government get the money?

—> from us la……

——————-

Then..where u got the salary? from your boss.. so where the boss got the money..bla bla… the sources from the government too… this is an ECONOMY… make sure you graduate first la budak… and also take economy course..laern about it !!.. what a shame….

• gen2lama on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:24 pm

i owned 2004 gen2, and 2009 exora…so far only got 'falling power window' ONCE….get it fixed on the first visit to sc only…..

both still doing 'goooooood'……come test drive my gen2…the handling still as good as the new one..(change to new set of standard absorber last year)….

if u think thoose who bought proton will surely change to other brand, why got so many malaysian own more than 2 protons?….one of the reason coz cheap to buy, cheap to maintain……

• crazy fellas on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:33 pm

@ Elvis

You are a living example of a specimen that doesn't know what it's talking about because it doesn't think before doing so. I am an owner of the latest Proton Saga, and after more than a year, i've never experienced anything falling off the car, call me lucky, but then that would make me twice lucky, because I have a Wira as well, and even after 10 years the car runs perfectly fine.

Yes, i did experience some power window problems, but all i had to do was pay a visit to the nearest service center, and Proton's friendly staff fixed it immediately. That was over half a year ago, and with the 5 year warranty things aren't as bad as you are making them look.

You are probably one of many whom love to trash their vehicles, and that is why you will never EVER be able to own a car that will remain in perfect condition after even 1 month. May it be a Proton, Toyota, Honda, BMW or Merc, with your attitude towards your car and society you should be praying that your car's airbags are the ones functioning properly instead.

• WALASiZO on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:00 pm

hey everyone!…please be thankful to Him.

• obertan on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:14 pm

I like how ezra, crazy fellas and Elvis think.

U three got point there.

Elvis, u said about this is true :

After 24 years of doing cars, Proton still having this type of problems over and over again. Why? because of vendors and suppliers supplying low quality parts at very expensive prices. Proton knows the reason very well yet do nothing about this. Why Proton not doing anything about it? Because of connections and down right money

But when u think again who is the bigger culprit in all those problems???

Proton is a GLC that is suppose to help improve 'rakyat', our technology in heavy industries and also improving economy of Malaysia that is the true fact that we cant denied.

So who behind the low mentality vendors and cronies that only want profit???

Off course the bigger culprit is BN 'G' right.

They bring they own cronies as a vendors in proton and proton management cant do nothing about it. Why because if they shout something they will get trouble from 'G'.

The main thing we can do right now is use our power as a voters to change this money thinking 'G'. After that we can see how Proton wanna survive.

We also no need to think when change 'G' import car ill be tax free, NO get rid of that thinking. Tax is a way of income to a 'G'. So tax is a MUST.

Its time we change. 52 years for BN and 25 years for Proton so who is the big problem here???

• masteroushi on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:57 pm

so Malaysians get the leftover 1.6 taxi shell Saga while Aussies gets all the specs with 1.6 huh … not bad Proton.. this is the Gs style ma, look at the petroleum also know already ..no hope lol ..

• scgtimk1 on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:13 pm

Elvis said,

September 3, 2009 @ 1:45 am

I like this ezra and crazy fellas comments. Long explanation of why we must support Proton. But maybe this two fellas never bought or own Proton cars before. They never experience their car opener breakoff even you try to open you car door very gently. Or find that power window cant operate. Or the seat adjuster suddenly breakoff. Or the car remote control not working properly. After 24 years of doing cars, Proton still having this type of problems over and over again. Why? because of vendors and suppliers supplying low quality parts at very expensive prices. Proton knows the reason very well yet do nothing about this. Why Proton not doing anything about it? Because of connections and down right money….

————————————————————

I agree with ezza and crazy fella comments

I do own proton thou in fact 3 in my household now. I own also 3 Suzuki's a Volvo and Toyota and Honda previously

Me too don't like proton when the never ending saga of the proton wira during the Mahalel era.

I don't see any of the problem related to my proton cars as what you've said and I honestly think is an Urban Legend! Please bear in mind I do also think a those problem happened during the Mahalel era but now no more. Honestly the only people that grumble about all the Problem you've said is the people who owned all the Mitsubushi based Protons and not the current model of Saga's, Persona's and Exora's

FYI for all you people who are clueless out there.

In NAP. All car (even proton) are subjected to taxes in Malaysia. This is the tax strucure (from MAA site).

Import tax is 30% + Excise Duty is 75% + Sales tax is 5% = all duty must paid

This is for a car that imported in CBU's, for CKD only Excise Duty and sales tax are charge but with incentive for localization.

For Every ringgit a part is localize the government will minus a ringgit from the excise duty.

So what that this mean? …. that's why Proton are cheap coz the almost localize 100% of their parts.

Do you honestly thing that the Japanese car makers want to localize their part here? This will mean that their cronies and friends in Japan will not be happy at all coz lost of business.

Also don't you ever think that we can acquire technology in making cars if we kept only CKD and copy the other people product? and can you all honestly think that the Jap will be happily make and transfer all the technology here if proton does not exist.

Keep on dreaming! In Thailand the only advantage they actually get is only job opportunity. How about acquiring technology? Bear in mind also in Thailand every profit money the Japs get there they can bring all back home because of 100% ownership,. And what to the local get? Only 'makan gaji' like cows and work like dogs without any actual long term benefit to them.

I too hate BN and a supporter of PR, but am seriously think that many comments here is downright stupid and baseless

• Wak Rempit on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:29 pm

I wonder when Malaysia is mentioned BN will be in the same breath also… it is like the Helsinki Syndrome… where the captives finally submits to the captors. That is what happening to malaysians… they fukin hate the government but when the time comes (GE) they still vote the people they despise… and that people, is a classic case of the Helsinki Syndrome. But I love Malaysia man despite the differences we've been having Malaysia is still ten time better than other countries.

Going back talking about cars… I think only in Malaysia where cars are worshipped like gods… and it's a profanity not to own a car or ito be exact not to own a dream car. Well it's time to grow up buddy. Life is more complicated than a car if you grow a few years older.

I met a guy who spend rm3000 on sport rims and tyres for his car but can't afford to send his pregnant wife to deliver her baby in the best private Hospital and later complaint the bad services in Gov Hospital this and that… that says a lot about malaysians isn't it?

To that guy who paid rm3000 in tax per month or 27%.. (is that a fact) … get real and go play your PSP somewhere else kid….

• MBX Boy on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:12 pm

Wak Rempit said,

September 3, 2009 @ 11:29 am

I wonder when Malaysia is mentioned BN will be in the same breath also… it is like the Helsinki Syndrome… where the captives finally submits to the captors. That is what happening to malaysians… they fukin hate the government but when the time comes (GE) they still vote the people they despise… and that people, is a classic case of the Helsinki Syndrome. But I love Malaysia man despite the differences we’ve been having Malaysia is still ten time better than other countries.

—————————————-

Bear in mind that in last year's GE, BN lost in terms of popular vote in Semenanjung. They only had around 49.8 % of Semenanjung people voting for them, but the rest is PR. Its because the constituencies are badly or unfairly divided (no Proportional Representation), and also because of Sabah & Sarawak that BN still rules the country today. Next elections, don't be too surprised if we get majority popular vote for PR for entire Malaysia, but BN still rules the country.

• scottloeb on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:38 pm

scgtimk1,

You are so true my friend. These kids need education just like Pink Floyd (bet the kids never listen to this!).

Wak, itu mamat bebal, sport rim lagi penting dari bini punya nyawa. Bodoh tak boleh nak diajar memang susah. Kurang2 pergi swasta tapat la bilik sorang senang bini nak rest. And to the guy yg cakap banyak bayar cukai 27% hahaa in your dream lah. nak tipu budak2 boleh lah. Apa no income tax ko? meh aku carik betul ka. Kalau betul ko bayar income tax banyak tuh, ko tak bising sini lah. Betul-betul tipu.

However Proton is never shot of wonders. Always give enough bullets for us to chew on. For example its service centre. We know the crappy PDI cause them to rectify plant screw-up or idiot supplier force additional car in recall by service bulletins, but dont translate that to bad customer service. Cover it and give complimentary tea to further soft things down. Not by giving exemplary customer service like "Ini Proton, biasalah encik. Nak best beli Mercedes lah!"

• I have 4 Protons in my stable, a 2005 Savvy, 2005 Gen2, 2006 Waja and a 2008 Saga. All trouble free. Proud to be Malaysian and proud using a truly Malaysian Product, manufactured by fellow Malaysians. Cheers

• albagmane said,

September 2, 2009 @ 9:28 pm

guess aussies are smart enough which car to buy and value for money… proton cars are for old ppl and the retired here in the land down under…

————————–

Surprisingly… Even with only 6 dealers in the HUGE state of victoria (where melbourne is), I see three or four Gen2's or Neos on the road every week…considering i drive only about half an hour a day, it's not too bad. There are always young matsallehs behind the wheel.

I was car shopping some time ago (i was hoping to test drive the neo), and simply couldnt find the dealers (okay i took the wrong bus route and gave up), but my point is, there are people buying them believe it or not, despite having almost zero retail presence compared to the other marques – Toyota/honda/ford/holden dealers are as plentiful as mcdonalds.

• Elvis said,

September 3, 2009 @ 1:45 am

But maybe this two fellas never bought or own Proton cars before. They never experience their car opener breakoff even you try to open you car door very gently. Or find that power window cant operate. Or the seat adjuster suddenly breakoff. Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/02/saga-1-6-set-for-au…
    ————————-

Within my family we have owned in recent times: One continental sedan. One japanese small budget sedan. One proton sedan.

The Volvo was bloody expensive to maintain. Period. Complex problems like the board beneath the engine giving way from rainwater collecting there etc.

The Perdana was ALOT more reliable than the Volvo. Say what you like about gearbox problems etc. In the end, it cost less than a fifth of the price to maintain, including a gearbox change after over 300,000km, and didnt depreciate so fast either.

The Jazz is relatively new, and within 10,000km, it had to be sent in for repairs twice for a "bubbling" engine cooling system. Air bubbles made the engine sound like it was gurgling. I've also had the windscreen wipers fail….In australia where it rarely ever rains and I hardly ever use the wipers. All within two years of ownership. The cover to the seatbealt head also came off, exposing a nice big bolt. The dash has a subtle creaking sound at 60km/h occasionally.

What im trying to say is that CARS ARE DYNAMIC OBJECTS. Parts fail regardless of which manufacturer you buy your car from. I agree with Elvis though…There was a period where Proton's QC was genuinely sub-standard…but that doesnt seem to be true anymore, as the recent satisfaction survey seemed to indicate.

• power root on Sep 03, 2009 at 10:49 pm

Zool its cool that you own 4 National cars in yr stable,

however i bet you still have that gut feeling of what a Honda

Toyota or even a BMW drives like.

The reason you own them is that your scope is limited due to

the very reason why thousands of people own a national car.

Foreign cars are priced out of the "affordable" bracket.If only

it was a level playing field, then you'll be able to see what

choice is all about. It will be a free mkt where every brand will

give & offer the very best – be it price/warranty/customer svc.

At the end of the day we as customers will reap the benefits.

This is also where efficiency + consistency can be judged by the public.

Proton only giving 5 years warranty for their drive train this also

is subjected to terms & conditions – no modification/add-ons

and has to be serviced only by Proton. Power window & other stuff

has limited warranty only.

• scgtimk1 on Sep 03, 2009 at 10:54 pm

power root said,

September 3, 2009 @ 2:49 pm

Zool its cool that you own 4 National cars in yr stable,

however i bet you still have that gut feeling of what a Honda

Toyota or even a BMW drives like.

The reason you own them is that your scope is limited due to

the very reason why thousands of people own a national car.

Foreign cars are priced out of the “affordable” bracket.If only

it was a level playing field, then you’ll be able to see what

choice is all about. It will be a free mkt where every brand will

give & offer the very best – be it price/warranty/customer svc.

At the end of the day we as customers will reap the benefits.

This is also where efficiency + consistency can be judged by the public.

Proton only giving 5 years warranty for their drive train this also

is subjected to terms & conditions – no modification/add-ons

and has to be serviced only by Proton. Power window & other stuff

has limited warranty only.

———————————————————-

Power root

Please read my earlier comment about tax and localization and you will see that it;s already an almost level playing field.

the only thing that can make your dream BMW is cheaper is for them to CKD their car here in make locally produce parts % higher. That's all

So go push on your BMW maker to do that and you will get your dream car at cheaper price.

So why not all of them do that?

• Mathgrind on Sep 03, 2009 at 11:27 pm

hello this is automobile forum not political forum..please dont write about next GE laa Pakatan Rakyat laa..just talk about Car laa woiii…bila proton rugi korang nak kutuk..nak untung pun nak kutuk….wake up laa

• Actually I have driven other cars before, Merc, Ford Escort (UK), Renault Clio, vauxhall Zafira, Peogeut, Mazda 323, Honda Civic 2 nd Generation to name a few and I am proud to say that Proton have delivered cars that I desire, that is having European ride and handling and Japanese reliability. Cheers

• power root on Sep 03, 2009 at 11:35 pm

scgtimk1 said:

Please read my earlier comment about tax and localization and you will see that it;s already an almost level playing field.

the only thing that can make your dream BMW is cheaper is for them to CKD their car here in make locally produce parts % higher. That’s all

So go push on your BMW maker to do that and you will get your dream car at cheaper price.

So why not all of them do that?

Isn't that being restrictive which is against a free-trade.

Where is the economcs here ?

If all countries apply this rule then Proton can forget abt exporting their cars.

Might as well bungkus cos we have to localise our Saga in Aussieland too!!

• MalaysianMarrrr! on Sep 04, 2009 at 1:23 am

Wak Rempit:

"Why not for a change we talk about things that are cheaper in Malaysia compare to other countries… like food… property… clothing… medical… education… fuel… public transport…. income tax"

The problem is, we are earning less as well.

• buluroma on Sep 04, 2009 at 4:10 am

Ayoyo! Don't start another round of listless talk

esp fuel & public transport.

• peroempat on Sep 04, 2009 at 4:47 am

Way to go, Proton. Become a foreign brand.

Aiyah, if no money to buy import car, and your parent cannot help,

try to ask your god loh…

Why blame to the innocent one?

• Elvis on Sep 04, 2009 at 5:46 am

whatever….useless bla bla over Proton and Perodua….

• sickmalaysia on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:04 am

belilah barangan buatan malaysia. HAHAHA!

all these cheats. we sacrifice so much so people from other countries can get our national cars at cheaper price and better package. so this is what being nationalist is all about. BULLSHIT!!!!

• shoryuken on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:03 am

Just ask your own self you want your next generation to keep continue buying Proton with 7 years loans of this high price? It worth a junk after ur 7 years loan + interest paid off. btw, you better buy a house now since the rate is lower. I only believe in competition makes improvement, and P1/P2 should learn from that. Only people wanted protection don't welcome challenges in the world. It is the same old story of learning to fish or waiting for the fish to come story. What to be proud? the power windows still spoil after 25 years. Who is the power windows suppliers in this 25 years?

• spotlight on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:34 am

Correct!correct!!correct!!!

• munky on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:40 am

MalaysianMarr, we earn less got to do with Proton ar ?

• fazron80 on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:47 am

Proton power windows fails? Mine doesn't so far and alot of my recent Proton owner friends doesnt experience power windows failure. I only remember 2 of them who got power window problems (problems repeating even after fixing at sc) but their cars are from 2005 and 2006 respectively. I dont think power windows problem should be associated with Proton anymore. It;s problem from Proton past. Even my friend's 2006 BMW already 3 times power windows fails. I wonder who their power windows supplier is? Might as well blame proton and goverment for the bmw problems.

Proton has become too big to our local economy for it to close now. Even American gov bailout their car companies because the impact of local car companies closing will be too severe to their economy. If not why even bother to rescue at the 1st place. Suggesting Proton to close is not the way. We should encourage Proton to continue improving so that our money is worth spending on them.

• Elvis on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:50 am

Do you remember about the old man complaining about first class facilities but third class mentality? Well…i got news for you! How come so many federal projects i.e. federal buildings, bridges etc got bocor sana sini? This is not first class facilities, this is plain third class robbers!! Asking us to support a no class products so that high class elite VVIPs can enjoy first class facilities…..OVERSEAS……

• fastcx on Sep 04, 2009 at 10:16 am

Elvis said,

September 3, 2009 @ 11:50 pm

"Do you remember about the old man complaining about first class facilities but third class mentality?"

U got that right, n u just demonstrated 3rd class mentality. bocor sana sini, whose the ppl who plan on it? MALAYSIAN! Who supplies it? MALAYSIAN! who only bark at it when things goes wrong, but no credit due when things goes right? MALAYSIAN!

stfu! if u wan2 change current situation, do something! Rather than barking like a stray dog when u cant even fix ur own life

• scgtimk1 on Sep 04, 2009 at 3:45 pm

power root said,

Isn’t that being restrictive which is against a free-trade.

Where is the economcs here ?

If all countries apply this rule then Proton can forget abt exporting their cars.

Might as well bungkus cos we have to localise our Saga in Aussieland too!!

Don't be selfish.

Ask yourself if Proton closed shop… all the donwstream industry, supply chain, logistic, and etc all also will closed shop also. Think how much impact it will bring to Malaysia economy. I can also bet where you work now also be affected.

Our country can manufacture a car from scratch now. That piece of technology is priceless.

If you really want to own a BMW, if u cannot afford new, then buy second hand la.

• obertan on Sep 04, 2009 at 4:49 pm

scgtimk1 said,

Don’t be selfish.

Ask yourself if Proton closed shop… all the donwstream industry, supply chain, logistic, and etc all also will closed shop also. Think how much impact it will bring to Malaysia economy. I can also bet where you work now also be affected.

Our country can manufacture a car from scratch now. That piece of technology is priceless.

If you really want to own a BMW, if u cannot afford new, then buy second hand la.

All u said is true.

The technology that Proton has gain is priceless and it also benefiting us also.

That's why i said GLC like Proton, Petronas, and so on should work to improve 'rakyat' economy and also Malaysian economy too.

If we look at Indonesia and Thailand currency: Rupiah and Baht are not have same value as our Ringgit. Why? Because they are depending on import more than exporting their own products.

The culprit now is off course the party that controlling the 'G' because they did not manage and control this country nicely and systematically like i said before. A lot of cronyism and power manipulating in it now.

So what we need to do? My vision is we keep a GLC like Proton and we kick the BN 'G' and bring in new clean party.

What say u?

• gen2lama on Sep 04, 2009 at 5:15 pm

shoryuken said,

Just ask your own self you want your next generation to keep continue buying Proton with 7 years loans of this high price? It worth a junk after ur 7 years loan + interest paid off. btw, you better buy a house now since the rate is lower. I only believe in competition makes improvement, and P1/P2 should learn from that. Only people wanted protection don’t welcome challenges in the world. It is the same old story of learning to fish or waiting for the fish to come story. What to be proud? the power windows still spoil after 25 years. Who is the power windows suppliers in this 25 years?

go work harder la…earn more….then get not more than 5 years loan…

and hey, i settled my gen2 loan last year..and woooo i drive a junk now….but this 'junk' is different from other 'junk'…170km/h? senang2 je…and 4 yr info..my car is standard as it is…..

• scgtimk1 on Sep 04, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Obertan

I agree with u.

This country just need to changed its 'management' team badly.

• harge saga yang lebih elok lagi murah kat australia..kat sini 1.3 harga lagi mahal..airbag pon tak ada..

macam anak kurus dirumah kelaparan,monyet yang gemuk dalam hutan disusukan..

dabel standed kah?

• my 8 years waja still can go for 180-190kmph..

but still have power window faulty..haha..

• Anonymous on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:15 pm

I have no problem with Proton selling their car cheap oversea. But my gripe is why they can't sell it as cheap here, with the same spec/quality as the exported car? Don't tell me it's cheaper to sell a locally-made,ship-abroad car than to sell it where you manufacture it.

I'm being treated like third class citizen by the national car maker. We've been supporting you for so many years and this is the type of crap you gave us.

• scgtimk1 on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:53 pm

aku said,

September 4, 2009 @ 10:01 am

harge saga yang lebih elok lagi murah kat australia..kat sini 1.3 harga lagi mahal..airbag pon tak ada..

macam anak kurus dirumah kelaparan,monyet yang gemuk dalam hutan disusukan..

dabel standed kah?

Aiyoooo….

Proton kat Malaysia kena tax lah…. at least gearbox yang proton pakai, dibeli dr mitsubishi dan nissan tu kena excise duty dan sales tax ada 5%

Kat australia mana ada excise duty.

• fastcx on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:06 pm

Er, when proton selling car at UK with at least rm5k more than local, no ppl complain, when they sell cars in SG for the same price as us, but in SGD, no 1 complains. When they sell cars in Indonesia with higher price, no 1 complains as well.

Now when they are going to sell it in australia, without u knowing the spec for the price, u all getting noisy, it's not even otr price for goodness sake! Is it all malaysian are hopelessly ignorant n arrogant? so called, kiasu + kiasi?

• Wak Rempit on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:16 pm

MalaysianMarrrr! said,

September 3, 2009 @ 5:23 pm

The problem is, we are earning less as well.

Dear MalaysianMarrrr! please see the post below as quoted by bmpower…

bmpower said,

September 2, 2009 @ 4:44 pm

tipical lazy people.

wanna luxury car but no money, then blame here blame there.

they should learn how to make more money,

instead of being a tipical worker till die.

blame yourself for being poor!

• peroempat on Sep 04, 2009 at 8:42 pm

beside, we should learn politic, don't let those stxpid waste tax money and worse project.

• MalaysianMarrrr on Sep 04, 2009 at 8:50 pm

Munky,

Nothing to do with proton. Was just replying to what Wak Rempit said earlier.

• nak banding dengan mesia..fresh grad gaji katakan rm2k+..dekat 2tahun baru dpat kereta saga tu cash dengan harga 40k+ with tax..dan proton adalah kereta termurah di malaysia..klu fresh grad aussie ngan gaji aus dollar 2k+ tak sampai setahun boleh beli kereta tu cash..and proton bukan kereta nasional kat australia..

cuba tak payah convert aussie dollar tu..baru 15k+ with tax je harga kereta tu..compare dengan income per kapita negara dieorang..

untuk orang kebanyakan macam aku, aku heran la walau seringgit beza..kalau orang-orang kaya memang tak heran kalau kereta harga 1juta pun..

just my quarter cents..

• Prismo on Sep 05, 2009 at 12:17 am

Anti-BN said,

September 2, 2009 @ 3:40 pm

—————————————————————

Err… ko bayar tax 27%, hampir RM3k sebulan… hm… mcm kaya je bunyi nya.. tapi komplen harga keta mahal… BAPAK kawan aku yg seorang ni kaya mcm ko agaknya.. tak pernah pulak komplen pasal harga keta import mahal.. aku selalu tgk dia tukar kereta.. dari keta import hinggalah ke Proton dan perodua.. tak pernah pulak dia merapit pasal harga keta import yg mahal tu.. tak pernah pulak aku dgr dia komplen pasal poor built quality keta proton.. dia ada byk duit, nak beli keta import pun senang2 je.. takkan ko yg kaya ni tak dpt kot? selalunya, org yg takder duit je selalu merapik pasal harga keta import yg mahal kerana cukai yg tinggi… err…. hmm….

• When I was studying in the UK, price of Proton cars are more than in Malaysia.. but still they are cheaper than the Japanese, Koreans and Europeans makes.

• Elvis on Sep 05, 2009 at 4:20 am

Prismo, i guess you are lucky coz u dont have any problem with your Proton. And you dont care about quality of products. And you just telan bulat2 whatever your darling Proton sell to you. Well, good for you! In fact, why not you make sure every single one of your friends, relative buy Proton cars. In fact, why dont you work as Proton salesman since you are so in love with Proton?

• better spec, cheaper price & better service… how come is not here in Malaysia? something not right somewhere!

• Raptor on Sep 05, 2009 at 6:34 am

BTW, info for those who owns a 1.3 saga BLM. Take extra precaution

I shouldn't share this info as it is internal. Anyway here goes

(1) Engine cannot start

-> faulty crank sensor, this sensor is taken from Savvy engine and it is known to cause problem and yet saga BLM is using this. Wonder why? Cost reduction?

(2) Strong fuel scent in car.

-> this is cause by a leak in the fuel hose near the inlet manifold. This hose to supplying fuel to the injector thru the injector rail. The plastic cover is rubbing againts the hose + vibration = hose puncture

If you are lucky the leak will be spraying upwards. And if not the bottom of this hose is the alternator. Alterbator + fuel = fire.

(3) Items#3 you must be very lucky. As lucky as hitting 6/48 sports toto jackpot of 20 million. Oil leaking from manifold. Potential fire

(4) The rest if leave it to you guys to find out. Good luck

• Anti-BN on Sep 05, 2009 at 7:00 am

Prismo …. mmg aku bule beli kereta BMW tapi aku tak beli sebab ader benda lagi lagi yg lebih penting rumah , education anak2 , parents nak support , family holiday .

The core issue is why is the gomen pricing the cars too expensive for the masses … cars are depriciating assests …why some cars some 300-400 ribu nuts ? Sure some can afford the monthly payments but after 5-7 yrs how much the cars are worth … to say your friend's father never complains about high car prices is just plain ridiculous ….some ppl are crazy enough to change their cars frequently to suit their insatiable desire …get it ? But for sensible ppl like me better spend on sth else as long as car prices remain awfully high

• anti-bn-pas=bebas on Sep 05, 2009 at 7:07 pm

lor… aphal la kecoh2 ni…. kalo korag mampu bli keter import go on.. tp seelok2nya, bli ikut kemampuan…. n satu lagi, memang keter proton tak setanding ngan keter luar… sebab r & d dia xcukup bagus. kalu wat btul2 harga melambung…

tp aku tetap suka tgk perkemabngan proton…

menunnguu waja replacement… hope 1.8 or 2.0… so i can compare with vios and new city

• gen2lama on Sep 05, 2009 at 8:08 pm

Bro…if u already know the quality of proton SUCK…y bother to send yr hard earn money on it?

Proton forced u ?….u got so many 'other than P' car…

entry level sedan (BLM) – got i10, MyVii, Viva, bestari…

persona/waja/gen2/wira – got many ckd…spectra, vios j, hyundai, spectra5,etc…..price not much different..

mpv exora – got livina, avanza, rush, citra, rondo, cherry got cheaper than exora…..

for me, i choose proton coz…i like it…as simple as that…

• scgtimk1 on Sep 05, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Raptor said,

September 4, 2009 @ 10:34 pm

I shouldn’t share this info as it is internal. Anyway here goes

(1) Engine cannot start

-> faulty crank sensor, this sensor is taken from Savvy engine and it is known to cause problem and yet saga BLM is using this. Wonder why? Cost reduction?

-> this is cause by a leak in the fuel hose near the inlet manifold. This hose to supplying fuel to the injector thru the injector rail. The plastic cover is rubbing againts the hose + vibration = hose puncture

If you are lucky the leak will be spraying upwards. And if not the bottom of this hose is the alternator. Alterbator + fuel = fire.

(3) Items#3 you must be very lucky. As lucky as hitting 6/48 sports toto jackpot of 20 million. Oil leaking from manifold. Potential fire

————————————————————-

BS created by perodua salesman.

Perodua are shivering right now coz saga sales has hit more than 7000 unit/month

• oldwira on Sep 06, 2009 at 1:31 am

Bashers, you can bash Proton whenever u like. There are millions of people like me in Malaysia who still support Proton. If not there wouldn't be 140k unit bookings for the new saga, more than 20k bookings for exora and almost 100k unit sold of persona. My wife change her booking from Myvi to Saga when she heard so my good things about the Saga from independent parties and the car's owners. I look forward to buying Exora equipped with turbocharged engine next year. Go Proton.

• Wau Bulan on Sep 06, 2009 at 2:28 am

scgtimk1 said,

September 5, 2009 @ 1:04 pm

Raptor said,

September 4, 2009 @ 10:34 pm

I shouldn’t share this info as it is internal. Anyway here goes

(1) Engine cannot start

————————————————————-

BS created by perodua salesman.

Perodua are shivering right now coz saga sales has hit more than 7000 unit/month

kah kah kah..true true… my 10 month new saga ok so far… nothing as what he noticed, bacause i drive carefully and always send it to SC.. haha… maybe he want to suggest us to buy viva elite the killer machine.. kah kah…

let see in da way to kampung next to week… almost we can see is new saga..

• Prismo on Sep 07, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Elvis said,

September 4, 2009 @ 8:20 pm

Prismo, i guess you are lucky coz u dont have any problem with your Proton. And you dont care about quality of products. And you just telan bulat2 whatever your darling Proton sell to you. Well, good for you! In fact, why not you make sure every single one of your friends, relative buy Proton cars. In fact, why dont you work as Proton salesman since you are so in love with Proton?

—————————————————–

Yea, my Proton's doesn't give me headache so far… luckily, selepas 7 tahun aku pakai, bayar bulanan murah simpan dan dpt simpan duit, aku baru je beli rumah semi detached double storey.. sekarang ni pun masih dpt simpan duit lagi… tapi kancil aku byk telan duit simpanan aku, duh!! aku bukan telan bulat2 apa kata org Proton kat aku, cuma "aku dgn hidup aku" dan my Proton's still served me very, very well indeed.. ya betul kata ko Elvis, kebykan kwn aku pakai proton, dari yg pakai civic lama pun dan trade in ke persona. Tetapi.. aku takder pulak "recomended" PROTON kat diaorg.. sendiri minat, sendiri belila.. duit diaorg sendiri.. bukan aku paksa pun diaorg, in fact, i'm not intressted working as Proton salesman la dude…

———————————————————

Anti-BN said,

September 4, 2009 @ 11:00 pm

Prismo …. mmg aku bule beli kereta BMW tapi aku tak beli sebab ader benda lagi lagi yg lebih penting rumah , education anak2 , parents nak support , family holiday .

The core issue is why is the gomen pricing the cars too expensive for the masses … cars are depriciating assests …why some cars some 300-400 ribu nuts ? Sure some can afford the monthly payments but after 5-7 yrs how much the cars are worth … to say your friend’s father never complains about high car prices is just plain ridiculous ….some ppl are crazy enough to change their cars frequently to suit their insatiable desire …get it ? But for sensible ppl like me better spend on sth else as long as car prices remain awfully high

———————————————————–

Err.. aku dpt beli keta harga lebih RM100k.. tak perlu bukti, aku cakap je cukup.. aku ada waja dan kancil, loan aku amik 7 thn.. sekarang ni aku dah beli rumah semi detached double storey RM350K+.. mmg dulu plan aku nak angkat keta jepun yg mahal2.. tapi aku jenis yg pikir masa depan.. ada rancangan matlamat masa pendek, sederhana dan jangka masa panjang.. so, aku batalkan niat tu sebab aku tahu aku perlu kahwin dan perlu rumah utk bini dan anak2 aku nanti sebab rumah adalah aset yg paling penting bro, so itu target utama aku.. kalo dah ada anak, educations anak nanti pun mesti penting.. so far, alhamdullilah, walaupun dah bayar loan melebihi RM1500 sebulan pun aku masih dpt simpan duit utk pegi holiday nanti.. berkat aku beli keta murah.. kawan aku yg pakai Estima sampai sekarang ni belum beli rumah lagi.. masih dok menumpang rumah mak dia je walaupun dah kawin dan ada anak.. nasib baik aku dah ada rumah selepas beberapa bulan kawin.. boleh aku katakan aku bertuah kerana memilih utk membeli Waja hampir 7 thn lalu??

Ttg bapak kawan aku tu, mmg dia takder merapit pasal harga keta bro.. aku kawan ngan anak dia dari sekolah hingga ke kolej.. keta diaorg bukan setakat tukar keta je bro, tapi keta mereka kat rumah mmg byk, lebih dari 6 buah.. (aku tahu sebab aku bf anak dia time sekolah dulu) bapak dia sendiri pakai perdana utk ke opis.. masa aku dating dgn anak dia (time dah masuk kolej) dulu pun selalu dia jemput aku pakai airtrack turbo, Rav4 j, Marino, satria, kenari, kembara dan kadang2 pakai keta starlet turbo adik lelaki dia.. tak pernah aku dgr bapak dia komplen ttg harga keta walaupun kami pernah bercakap pasal keta sebelum ni..

• peroempat on Sep 07, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Kawan mu yang telah bayar lebih beli Estima taklah jadi beri rumah loh.

Dah menyesahlah tak beli Erxora, tapi aku cuma memandang kah Estima jeh… heh… heh…

• Prismo on Sep 07, 2009 at 11:39 pm

Dan….. selepas loan waja aku settle bulan 11 ni, thn depan plan aku nak angkat Exora turbo… VRROooommm… aku nak sumbat rim besar peroempat…

• oldwira on Sep 09, 2009 at 9:32 am

Prismo,

You have planned your life in a very practical manner. Similar to you, buy buying a cheap proton wira I could save more money to buy 2 double-storey terrace houses, one of them was a corner lot. I got a korean MPV that so far works well but have to give a so much care as the MPV is so "delicate". I use my old wira so robust but yet the cost of its maintenance is very very cheap. Basically my old wira requires oil and spark plug changes twice a year to survive through out a year. That costs me at around less than rm300 a year. Power window still works well. It stucked up due to friction. But after applying cheap window lubricant, the problem solved. No need going SC. Becoz wira used mitsu platform and body frame so rust is every where after 13 years. Paintworks and rust treatment will cost me around rm2300 (including both front and rear hoods replacement). After 13 years of a good service perharps I should give some complimentary to my old wira by giving it some make over. Never want to sell this car. I also look forward to an Exora turbo next year to replace my MPV. Hope the price will be less than 80k. So far all thumbs up from my frens who bought the Exora. My wife already booked new Saga SE, little bit expensive than Viva Elite, but with stroger frame and built up with much better drivability and sporty looks. Like you Prismo, I'm also not a proton salesman, and I dont wanna be a salesman in fact. I just wanna share my experience with those who wanna be simple but worthy way of life.

• Prismo on Sep 09, 2009 at 4:06 pm

err.. bro oldwira, sometimes peoples cant live with Malaysia's brand… but it's all up to them… byk aku tgk org disekeliling aku, "biar papa asal bergaya".. bagi aku, kamu dan mungkin byk lagi yg lain, biar sederhana je kat atas jln raya, asalkan matlamat masa depan diperolehi… amin.. err… SELAMAT BERPUASA DAN SELAMAT HARI RAYA KEPADA SEMUA YG BERAGAMA ISLAM!! :D

• peroempat on Sep 09, 2009 at 4:10 pm

Tatally agree, under TAX structure, Proton and Perodua are worthy.

• gen2lama on Sep 10, 2009 at 12:20 am

whoooo….careful guys…..Bro Elvis the p2 saleman will say u all are the same guy. supporting each other comment…

he even will say 'bullshit to those who spend money buying proton'….

BTW me too choose the cheaper proton and spend my money on other 'investment'….but not like Prismo….i bought Tanah kebun….

an 7 years old 4 ekar kebun sawit…..Now i can enjoy my salary more as 40% of my car installment (exora) covered by 'Hasil kebun'…..

errr…dammmm….Elvis will then say 'i'm still stupid for choosing proton'…

• Dingo on Sep 10, 2009 at 8:04 pm

The thing is, even at this price point, most people won't touch it with a ten-foot pole in Australia.

• lolwut? on Sep 10, 2009 at 8:53 pm

am agree with oldwira and prismo. first keta bapak aku proton iswara 1.3. dunno how much he pay for that but it is fking worth it. Umur keta tu da masuk 9 tahun, still maintain and sgt2 jarang rosak. Pegi antar ke SC pun bila nak jalan jauh. Keta tu da jalan jauh and keta tu gak jadi keta untuk mengangkut meja/payung/kerusi utk bukak gerai mak aku kat pasar malam and pasar ramadhan. Camry or civic sanggup ke?. Keta tu da 4 kali eksiden. Langgar belakang lori, lori langar belakang, keta hentam side depan, van hentam belakang. Kitorg idup je tho xde airbag?. cume kepala mak aku skit injured sbb x pki seat belt lol. yang aku tabik kat minyak. saving gile2 punyer saving. ye la kan 1.3 tapi asalkan leh jalan jauh and speed up to 120+ kira ok la. aku tye bapak aku dulu why beli iswara je, dia ckp kumpul duit. xde beza pun iswara dengan wira or keta2 lain. asal leh jalan, minyak ok and xkena hujan panas. hasil dr monthly yg rendah and duit lebih, bapak aku leh beli rumah sendiri and besarkan anak2 dia yang leh consider ramai and aku yang leh dikatakan perabis duit paling byk sebab byk merantau and duduk asrama. now kitorg baru je reno rumah and sponsor abang aku angkat persona. if la bapak aku jenis yang nak bergaya je masa mula2 dulu, aku rasa kitorg still dok umah sewa smpi skrg. haha. now aku pun da kerja and tengah kumpul duit nak angkat saga or se. biarla org nak bash or flame keta proton mcm2, tapi aku tetap sayang sama proton. at least diorg improve and evolve instead of tukar lambang keta lain and sell under brand diorg. sape lagi nak support keta proton selain rakyat malaysia tu sendiri kan. bagi aku, keperluan mengatasi kehendak. those gaji setakat rm2000 to rm3000, then nak angkat keta2 import, pastu bile x mampu nak kutuk2 gov and proton, korg memang retard. if korg rasa gov luar baik, tax rendah, petrol murah, xde isu2 rasuah, keta murah and segala benda nak ikut mcm apa yang korg nak, korg kuar je dr msia nie. xpun buat negara korg sendiri. xde negara yg xde masalah. ada lebih ada kurang. bersyukur je la dengan apa yang ada. xyah la huha sana sini and wat suasana aman kat malaysia nie jadi kabut just sbb nak puaskan hati or politik (sh!t politicians – all) sesuatu golongan. xde org yang halang ko nk beribadat, xde org yang halang ko kerja and cr rezeki. so, belajarla berterima kasih dan sayangila malaysia juge proton..

• Norman on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:23 am

Proton strategy to sell the car over there.But we must remember that the export 1.6 got fog lights,leather seats,dual airbags and even ABS as an option with the price id AUS 17K!Even cheaper than Singapore.Rumours also the new Jumbuck will be specially export to Aust also next year.

• Norman on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:32 am

That's normal for people who dislike Proton.Either they're anti-Malaysia or got inferior complex towards ASEAN cars.Frankly i'm a Singaporean and i do own a house and a piece of land in Johore Bahru.I can afford a Lexus or even a Volvo but i still choose Proton cause the spare part reliability and the cost factor.I've used Honda and BMW before but the parts alone cause me to argue with my wife and of course the service centre too let alone the road tax.These tow brands are renowned but its up to individual to choose.As for me a car is just form transportfrom point a to b.I put house and property as my main priority over cars,plus my children further education and medical.

• gen2lama on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:20 am

Bro Norman….Are u Norman in kereta.info…..

• As fellow British Commonwealth members, Singaporeans and Australians should be proud of Proton Malaysia, able to manufacture cars from scratch.

• Sexythang on Sep 11, 2009 at 8:16 pm

dont worry. these proton cars won't sell here in Australia. after a while you'll see them offering 5 years free service and warranty etc free automatic like they always do. but still cant shift any sales

but as always, malaysian will be oblivious to these facts as these type of news do not come out in newspapers in malaysia or australia. combined annual sales do not even excede those of porsche. from my mind i think its less than 700 proton cars annually. therefore, there is no point in being a bread and butter volume car seller. not to discount the fact that a portion of these proton cars are used in lotto's for oldies and promotion etc. anyway, most of proton dealerships have closed down shop replaced by mazda, hyundai and suzuki and great wall motors(damn that sounds cheesy). so i dont know where they achieve these type of meagre sales from.

btw, Ezra drives a honda jazz if im not wrong. or perhaps he has upgraded to a lexus.

• peroempat on Sep 12, 2009 at 4:53 am

Unlike us that proton was our proud, Australians wouldn't support without any benefits. But, whatever proton go, we do support. *GO GO POWER PROTON!*

• stupid!!! why dont proton juz closed the factory at whole malaysia and open at all country except malaysia so we can use cheaper imported car like mazda rx8.thats why singapore people can afford high class car.

• Ford_GT on Sep 13, 2009 at 8:46 am

Everyone, we are being "robbed" by the most cunning, greedy and evil corporate in our beloved country who knows how to keep their money cash in their largest safety box, what else do they know….nothing, just plain stupid. Don't be misunderstood what I am trying to warn you here…there is nothing wrong with the car development, it's our $$$ has been "robbed".

• Australians love the Jumbuck (Arena). It sold more than 1200 units when first introduced.

• Ford_GT on Sep 15, 2009 at 1:36 am

Zool,

the OZ loves Jumbuck because the cars is are cheap and most of drivers are wilderness travelers or agri farmers.

• Don't forget Australians use the Jumbuck/ Arena to carry their bikes and Jetskies as well as for small businesses, plumbers and painters. I love the Jumbuck too.

• emphbone on Sep 15, 2009 at 9:20 am

want good want cheap, the malaysian way..

• perolima on Sep 23, 2009 at 6:26 am

Build cheap~ price high~ the Malaysia way~

• rizario on Oct 20, 2009 at 6:29 am

bodoh betul shah…kalau semua kerajaan buat x betul..ko duk la kat indon..jgn duk malaysia….

naper proton x guna enjin 1.6 kat saga blm di malaysia..guna enjin kat luar negara jer