Audi R8 Spider – first photos leaked!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=479]

Here are an initial four photos of the drop top version of the Audi R8, a new reason for our rich southern neighbours to start taking their checkbooks out – the hard top version is already all over their roads and becoming a common sight.

It’s said that Tony Stark will also be upgrading to this baby in the sequel to the Iron Man movie. More details will only be unveiled later on what engine options the R8 Spider will come with, but its expected to at least have the flagship 5.2 V10.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bomoh111 on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:06 am

just another topless version of coupe.

• wan_knox on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:08 am

Wow!! any idea about the price??

• amarjie on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:28 am

it's probably not even the correct one because if you looks at the rest of the photos from other sites, the interior is pure cosmetic & concept… unless that the way audi is heading lah…

• peter on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:29 am

this is better than aston martin volante..

i've adored R8,hoping to get one when I'm rich enuff..

• sexy car !!!!

• wutever on Sep 11, 2009 at 1:24 am

those rims similarly with honda civic 2.0~

• nice color

• NutzeyWagen on Sep 11, 2009 at 2:15 am

woo…wee…! another masterpiece from audi. luv it! just luv it! audi sure knows how to make automobiles (so does mb).

german-made. my type of cars, come rain or shine! CIAO!

• droll on Sep 11, 2009 at 2:54 am

ish ish ish. VAG group always has a knack of producing beautifully sculptured performance machines!

• Kopoilso on Sep 11, 2009 at 3:15 am

This is a load of bull. This is the most ugly spider i had ever seen! Yuck!

• HEHEHEHEHEHE! i like it.

• henry on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:41 am

the side profile very dated and 90's… truly ugly..

they should just at least remain the side-panel-chrome-element on this topless model..

• orido on Sep 11, 2009 at 8:01 am

Paul, please. Stop posting news about cars that most of the readers here cant afford. Please find news that is more "realistic". Thank you.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Sep 11, 2009 at 8:01 am

nice car…better than sohai f430 spider

• willpower on Sep 11, 2009 at 2:21 pm

I wonder will this car feature in Iron Man II, as Robert Downey Jr drives it zoom past the street. :)

• willpower on Sep 11, 2009 at 2:23 pm

@Mazda 3 MPS

Who is so hai? U lagi so hai la.

F430 Spider is a nice car.

Don't f**k here f**k there baseless.

• Looks better than the coupe

• Mazda 3 MPS on Sep 11, 2009 at 3:51 pm

@willpower

i disagree….the f430 spider is one of the ugliest ferrari ever made…try asking the guys in the ferrari club

• azrai on Sep 11, 2009 at 4:02 pm

They have signature design. The eyelash LED headlamp.

• mitlanevo on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:31 pm

nice, but not as impressive as my dream M6 Cabriolet…

• Wak Rempit on Sep 11, 2009 at 8:39 pm

always love the r8, a true audi beast machine…

the best thing about r8 is, it is being regard as a "daily supercar" easy to drive and practical and to add more to it is the r8 v10. what amazes me about r8 V10 is that Audi have given the r8 two more cylinders, increased the engine size from 4.2 to 5.2, and added more than 100 horsepower, while increasing fuel economy! how have they done that? It’s witchcraft!

the bad thing about the r8 is I can't own one…. I can only drooool

• izaman on Sep 11, 2009 at 10:46 pm

orido said,

September 11, 2009 @ 12:01 am

Paul, please. Stop posting news about cars that most of the readers here cant afford. Please find news that is more “realistic”. Thank you.

it is ok to dream. without dreams, life will be useless

• scirocco lover on Sep 12, 2009 at 1:34 am

izaman.. what dream?? my dream is shattered since they price my beloved more than the Mk6 Golf GTI

it was not meant to be!

and worse still the 1.4 is not even coming in. what a dream dasher.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Sep 12, 2009 at 7:16 am

orido said,

Paul, please. Stop posting news about cars that most of the readers here cant afford. Please find news that is more “realistic”. Thank you.

—————————————

by being able to afford. are you stereotyping, just because you are unable to afford a certain car, it does not mean other people are not able to afford the car. plus, if paultan were to only create news about the "affordable" cars, it would be pretty boring wouldn't it?

• funnycar on Sep 12, 2009 at 8:27 am

seeing beautiful cars is like seeing beautiful girls, not necessary to own it, those funny people pls go somewhere else…

• woozy on Sep 12, 2009 at 10:45 am

it somehow looks very similiar to a gallardo spyder…with r8 lights, and extra curves…

• c14man on Sep 12, 2009 at 10:13 pm

orido said,

orido, please..leave this forum.
    this forum has no place for people like you.
    if “affordable cars” forum is what you looking for, i suggest you go to p1 or p2 forum.
    please don’t be funny here…
    thank you. =)

• orido said,

Paul, please. Stop posting news about cars that most of the readers here cant afford. Please find news that is more “realistic”. Thank you

+++++

then everyday ask paul to talk about maivee and saga? pls use your brain la!!!

• orido on Sep 13, 2009 at 4:56 pm

lol guys… im sure you guys who replied my comment were all bunch of teens who put supercars that you guys cant afford as your desktop wallpaper. Keep dreaming!!! LOL!!!

• NutzeyWagen on Sep 13, 2009 at 10:35 pm

orido said,

September 13, 2009 @ 8:56 am

lol guys… im sure you guys who replied my comment were all bunch of teens who put supercars that you guys cant afford as your desktop wallpaper. Keep dreaming!!! LOL!!!

——————————————————————

orido, if what you say is true (that they are a bunch of teens), then i'm your FATHER. This forum here IS about the automotive industry (pls read the title) and anything and everything about the industry, be they cheap, expensive, old, new, affordable or otherwise, are posted here for the benefit of followers. You, orido, can choose either to continue reading and posting (constructively and not destructively), or leave this forum and go searching elsewhere for other forums that suit your budget/pocket (meaning cheap and affordable).

Believe me, if you chose the latter, I assure you that you won't be missed here, come rain or shine! CIAO!

• Faridz on Sep 14, 2009 at 5:43 am

paul how about the Lamborghini reventon speedster? its juz awesome. check dis:
    http://carscoop.blogspot.com/2009/09/lamborghini-…

its really a beauty..