Upcoming Nissan GCC’s official drawings leaked: Very much toned down

Recently Japanese auto maker Nissan announced that it will launch a new global compact car (GCC) in March 2010 in Thailand. Along with the announcement the auto maker also released two sketches of the hatchback (pictured above) that is expected to be the next generation Nissan March/Micra. The sketches indicated a more aggressive or sporty demeanor with a more lowered stance.

What we have are some official drawings that have been leaked onto the Internet (pictured below). Although there are a lot of similarities, these drawings paint a slightly different picture. From the looks of it, the production version would not end up looking as sporty or as aggressive as what was indicated in the first two sketches.

The stance is not as low and the middle section of the car (B-Pillar area) looks taller. It is pretty normal for auto makers to end up producing less dramatic cars than what was shown by initial sketches but just like most of you, I was actually looking forward to the original version. Since we are about five months away from the scheduled launch, expect more details to be released soon.

The Nissan GCC will be manufactured in countries like Thailand, India and China. In India, the auto maker will produce the new vehicle at the Chennai plant. The new compact Nissan will be sold in 150 countries worldwide. Continue reading to view more drawings.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=558]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• rodimus on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:41 pm

Hey i like the design of this small car. Can sell to over 150 countries worldwide!! Our P1 n P2 should learn more from them hee hee.

• Naqib Ibrahim on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:06 pm

do we have 2 talk about proton n perodua in every entry?

come on!

• the appearance in real life could be different than in the drawings.

• mduan on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:38 pm

It doesn't look great

• Ariff on Oct 18, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Looks like Fiat Bravo to me..

• Micheal on Oct 18, 2009 at 9:53 pm

yah.. fiat 500 too!!!

but the rear looks like the current march

• Gajen on Oct 18, 2009 at 10:10 pm

nothing special…looks almost exactly like fiat 500…..

• Looks like an enlarged fiat 500.

Quit relating every damn piece of automotive info to malaysian automakers tyvm?

We know they got a lot of growing up to do. Get over it already!!

• tokmoh on Oct 18, 2009 at 11:31 pm

Aiya normal la!! U see the Kia Rondo, in sketches it looks damn sporty with its lowered stance and very slim window, but in real world what happened?

It's the same story with Jaguar XF, when sketch or concept, looks very cool, come production it looks quite tame. Ok, it is still good looking, but the point is, rarely production version can come out looking exactly like the concept.

Then there's the Land Rover LRX or something, current concept look dam keng, but I wouldn't expect it to look so when the production version comes out. And the thing about the multi-million £ handout by the govt, well, that is assuming if Labour can win the next election. With the rate of newspapers calling Brown a 'dead man walking', and Tories increasing their popularity, I highly doubt the the handout will be given.

• tak menarik jerk… tgk lah harge mesti mahei gile.. hope kete nih tak masuk sini ler…

• mitlanevo on Oct 19, 2009 at 12:55 am

Fiat Kelisa???

• Ariff said,

October 18, 2009 @ 1:49 pm

Looks like Fiat Bravo to me..

,……………………………………………….

copy paste

• doesn't look as impressive as it was before. but nvm, give them some time, see how they can make it look nice.

• azrai on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:39 pm

Fiat 500 in March skin.

• Fridz (Member) on Oct 19, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Nothing special..biasa je