Nissan Fuga revealed in Tokyo, hybrid version coming in 2010

Nissan has unveiled the new Fuga sedan at the motor event in Tokyo. The Fuga will be available in Japan with two engine options including a VQ25HR 2.5 litre V6 and the VQ37VHR 3.7 litre V6 that can crank out 325hp. The Fuga that is also sold in the US as the Infiniti M comes with features like Double Piston Shock Absorbers, a Lane Departure Prevention system, Intelligent Cruise Control, Cornering Stability Assist and more. It also features a four-wheel steering mechanism.

The Fuga also has an Intelligent Transport System that is integrated into the navigation system. The system supports safe driving by providing information to alert the driver at blind intersections for example, based on information on nearby vehicles and traffic environment which is transmitted to the Fuga from optical beacons installed all across the country.

Along with an eco-driving indicator integrated into the instrument panel, there is also something called an ECO-pedal. Basically, each time the driver steps on the accelerator (when the system is activated), a counter push-back control mechanism is activated if the system detects overly zealous throttle work, helping to inform the driver that they could be using more fuel than required.

The new Fuga will hit showrooms in Japan later this year. The automaker also announced the hybrid variant of the Fuga will hit the Japanese market by autumn 2010. It will feature a 3.5-litre V6, high-power Li-ion batteries and a highly efficient one-motor-two-clutch parallel hybrid. Look for more images of the Fuga after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=580]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Infinitely Poor on Oct 23, 2009 at 9:57 am

Handsome looking ! esp the shot with Carlos Ghosn at the side .

• normal_user on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:13 am

the sweeping upwards rear lines below the C-pillar reminds me of American hot rods & fastback muscle cars. Looks weird. I prefer the previous generation Fuga.

• Gajen on Oct 23, 2009 at 11:38 am

looks very weird….

• shawal on Oct 23, 2009 at 1:05 pm

the previous one looks better, even though it was a bit toned down from the concept. 2000s designs are gone, time for 2010 designs to evolve… take it or live it.

Ps: They dont make SLIM cars like last times old camry, 1994 honda legend, superb designs…now all cars got fat cuz of safety reasons

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 23, 2009 at 2:58 pm

That is one ugly looking car

• techboy_88 on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:22 pm

looks chubby

• azrai on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:06 pm

Silphy predecessor? Ugly to me. Almost like FUGU instead (ikan buntal).

• stephenstreets on Oct 23, 2009 at 6:44 pm

azrai said,

October 23, 2009 @ 8:06 am

Silphy predecessor? Ugly to me. Almost like FUGU instead (ikan buntal).

took the words out of my mouth!! LOL!

• kimi_ on Oct 23, 2009 at 6:55 pm

The overall BODY style looks like Jaguar…. with much flow and curve addes

• klguy on Oct 23, 2009 at 7:39 pm

ugly but muscular.it looks a lot better than slyphy though.

• Gosh, where on earth does this thing come frm?..it's UGLY!!!!

• Ugly?? what ugly… i'm driving kancil so this is a masterpiece..

• Korean on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:37 pm

Prefer this over Honda Camry and Toyota Accord.

• hanssen on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:48 pm

like the rims…gorjes

• mitlanevo on Oct 24, 2009 at 12:06 am

NICE !!!

can we get it here?

• mistique on Oct 24, 2009 at 1:54 am

to 'Korean', do u mean Toyota Camry and Honda Accord?…

btw, this car isnt in the league as the Camry n Accord, its competitors should be the Toyota Mark X and Honda Legend.

• zaff1984 on Oct 24, 2009 at 2:31 am

is it compete with Lexus IS250, BMW 3 Series and Merz C class?

• S9E said,

October 23, 2009 @ 12:48 pm

Ugly?? what ugly… i’m driving kancil so this is a masterpiece..

___

haha… you said it, man!

• Lonely Watcher on Oct 24, 2009 at 5:08 am

mitlanevo said,

October 23, 2009 @ 4:06 pm

NICE !!!

can we get it here?

___

Changes are slim unless Infiniti opens showrooms in Malaysia like Lexus. Or hope recon version from Naza…

• can come here as Nissan Fuga what. i heard it was supposedly planned for launched here but due to unforeseen reasons, plan was scrapped.

but thats what i HEARD. so who knows.

i seriously hope there is a system to turn off the eco pedal cause it may cause accidents and such.

• Robert Smith on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:29 am

Nice looking car and great tech!! Very sleek

• altimasss on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:08 pm

I think this is one of those cars that will look so much nicer when you see it for yourselves on the road.

• James on Oct 25, 2009 at 9:49 am

reminds me with quattroporte

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:30 pm

somehow i don like the rear///dumpy loooking