BMW Motorrad Concept 6 motorcycle features 1.6 liter straight-six engine

bmw-motorrad-concept-6-1

Six-cylinder engines are pretty rare in the world of bikes, obviously due to packaging issues. If installed inline, it would either be too wide or too long to fit a bike frame properly. So we see V6 and boxer formats for 6 cylinders in bikes more often than an inline installation. Honda has made both boxer-6 and inline-6 bike engines before, installed in the Goldwing and the CBX respectively.

Though the very popular 320i here has a four-pot, BMW cars are very much well-known for their silky smooth inline-6 engines. BMW is now trying to bring inline-6 into bikes in a big way, as according to them it is the packaging issues that have prevented the cylinder format from really going anywhere when installed in a bike, whether in a production model or in motorcycle racing.

bmw-motorrad-concept-6-2

BMW claims that the BMW Motorrad Concept 6’s inline-6 engine is approximately 10cm slimmer than any production inline-6 engine coming before it, and it is only a bit wider than a large-capacity inline-4 engine with conventional technology. BMW has used a slightly over-square bore to stroke ratio measurement with a relatively long stroke and small gaps between cylinders. Electrical ancillaries and drive components are situated behind the crank in the open space above the transmission in order to minimize width.

The engine’s construction uses lightweight materials in as many areas as possible in order to keep the engine relatively light. Some weight-reduction techniques include hollow-drilled camshafts and light conrods. The engine’s inline-6 configuration does not require the use of a balance shaft. The block uses dry sump lubrication, helping lower the engine installation position. Like inline-4 installed in the BMW K 1300 series, the engine is tilted forward by 55 degrees for a lower center of gravity and better weight balance. The tilt angle also allows extra space for the aerodynamically-positioned intake manifold.

And now for some numbers. The inline-6 has 1.6 litres of displacement and can produce 130Nm of torque from just 2,000rpm. It revs up to nearly 9,000rpm. Look after the jump for photos of the Concept 6.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=609]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BAHTOSAIUS on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:59 am

wow…. i like the design….who will be the product ambasador? rossi? hehe

• BMW seems to be taking the path to challenge the Japanese head on technologically. Should be interesting to see how the Japanese respond.

• clone on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:40 am

sweetttt….nice bike…

• rezcreep on Nov 11, 2009 at 8:50 am

nice bike with more power to weight…hope it will be on the road in future…

• ambush on Nov 11, 2009 at 10:21 am

whoa! 1.6 six cyls…now thats what i call a compact "big" engine..BMW is always ahead of its time!

• DirkTooth on Nov 11, 2009 at 11:08 am

ley jd moto kamen rider akan datang ni..

• pensel tumpul on Nov 11, 2009 at 2:40 pm

honda made an inline 6 30 years ago. it was CBX 1000.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azTtUT4FCTM

stim weh.

• Hm, from the front it looks like a Honda cub.

But if the acceleration is same or better than a K1200S this shouldn't matter:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqvkNDx6JwM

;)

• armandd on Nov 11, 2009 at 3:36 pm

it would be wonderful if they could put this engine in a car. 1.6 engine that can produce 130Nm from 2000rpm and revs to 9k, wow!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 11, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Who's the designer??? Giugaro??? Pinin??? arggghhh, so nice……

• azrai on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:17 pm

This is the result from MV-Augusta buyout.

• pulge on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:43 pm

Agreed with DirkTooth! ^^

• stephenstreets on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Wow now i see where all their 5 series , 3series designs went. simply awesome even for a non bike lover like me..

• design ahead of time..nice..

• xavier lert on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:48 pm

damn nice

• Bio-Nik on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:50 pm

SUPER DUPER AMAZING BIKES..

SPEECHLESS…

• Marx Remp-It on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:55 pm

I'm almost peeing in my pants when looking to this superbikes…

WOWWW… PERFECT!!! summore BMW…

• overflow (Member) on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:16 pm

if any a malaysian dude buy this bike probably for convoy only not more than that, but this bike will be hell speediest bike on road (if there are manufactured)

anr totally simple design for road, im like it!! if i have this bike i will ride in anytime to broken hehe..(bcause i'm will high on that time) does anyone have some weed..

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Paul, you mean Under-Square? Longer stroke than bore?

• hadi1975 on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:26 pm

reminded me of the anime mospeada….

• fulamakkkk….

• tonton on Nov 11, 2009 at 8:49 pm

this is one hell of a bike!

wonder how smooth this bike is, and look at the exhaust! gosh it awesome!

pensel tumpul said,
    November 11, 2009 @ 6:40 am

honda made an inline 6 30 years ago. it was CBX 1000.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azTtUT4FCTM

stim weh.

hehe bukan stakat inline six je. oval piston pon ade, 4 piston yang mempunyai 32 valve dan 8 crankshaft. diorang brilliant!

• saki77 on Nov 11, 2009 at 8:57 pm

mospeada..hehe..my ringtone…

• Hope it does have a great sound like the Y2K.

• regret 3 MPS on Nov 11, 2009 at 9:07 pm

Wahhhh.. too much power for a bike… cheeer..

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 11, 2009 at 10:41 pm

why cant we have this bike instead of the normal bikes

• Mysticmind on Nov 11, 2009 at 10:51 pm

motorbike oso had 1.6 engine.

but sadly we had 660cc car. kah kah kah..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 11, 2009 at 11:37 pm

great bike

• gavin on Nov 11, 2009 at 11:51 pm

is it really needed that much power already from what is available

• pensel tumpul said,
    November 11, 2009 @ 6:40 am
    "honda made an inline 6 30 years ago. it was CBX 1000. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azTtUT4FCTM
    stim weh."

Yes, Honda copied the Benelli Sei from 1972:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benelli_750_Sei

• Peter on Nov 12, 2009 at 1:05 am

hurm..

just like VYRUS..

• canai on Nov 12, 2009 at 1:23 am

azrai said,
    November 11, 2009 @ 8:17 am
    This is the result from MV-Augusta buyout.
    Well said Azrai,
    BMW acquired the renowned motorcycle company Husqvarna Motorcycles a subsidary of MV Agusta for US106mil.
    Husqvarna Motorcycles was owned by MV Agusta, who purchased
    the brand from Cagiva.
    Wherelse we at Proton bought the whole of MV Agusta for 70mil euro and sold
    it for 1euro.

• alpha999 on Nov 12, 2009 at 1:58 am

futuristic look…ala mospeda

• beli satu bawak gi noreh getah bagus nih!!

• Littlefire on Nov 12, 2009 at 2:59 am

From what i know, actually BMW bikes are famous for Boxer engine… I think that make BMW bike quite famous during 90's..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_Motorrad

BMW Motorrad produced 101,685 motorcycles in 2008,[5] with the most popular model being the R1200GS.

R series – twin-cylinder boxer engines of 1200 cc capacity featuring shaft drive. Models are R1200GS, R1200R, R1200RT and R1200S
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_R1200GS

• Littlefire on Nov 12, 2009 at 3:00 am

The best thing is that even BMW bikes have ABS, electronic suspension adjustment & Automatic Stability Control. While even our local cars cant make it standart… Haiz..

• binarumah.com on Nov 12, 2009 at 3:44 am

demm..this bike is hot..i really admire the futuristic look..

• motortrader on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:56 am

that's why go away (from F1)…. i know…

• rageaccel2 on Nov 13, 2009 at 8:34 am

bike 2.0L also got lah. this bike sure is fast, but i bet it sure lose to a 1000cc bikes as this new beemer isn't as agile as other 1L bikes. because the wheelbase is very long. long distance cruise also tiring. no front cowl.

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 13, 2009 at 5:32 pm

i'd sell my house for this

• Kilokahn on Nov 18, 2009 at 12:21 am

BMW specialty has always been in-line six for its cars, it does make sense to translate that technology to their bikes. Can wait to see this on the road.