Brawn GP to be called Mercedes GP!

Mercedes GP F1 Car

We should have known this would happen. McLaren and Mercedes-Benz had begun slowly severing their ties, and you can see that from the introduction of the new SLS AMG and the McLaren MP4-12C. And now Mercedes-Benz’s purchase of the Brawn GP team (whom they were supplying engines to this season) will probably mean they could end their partnership with McLaren next season.

The ex-Honda Brawn GP team made history by getting both driver and constructor titles in its maiden race season. The team will now be called Mercedes GP. Mercedes-Benz has taken up a 75.1% stake in the team, while the remaining continues to be held by Ross Brawn and Nick Fry, who will remain as team principal and CEO respectively.

This will be the first time that Mercedes-Benz will have its own team since 1955. They will continue supplying engines to the McLaren team at least until the end of 2015, but I’m not too sure about having their name there. Mercedes currently owns 40% of the McLaren F1 team but McLaren will reacquire it over the next 2 years.

According to the Germans, Mercedes-Benz’s decision to increase their level of F1 involvement was thanks to recent agreements on budget cuts and the higher income share given to teams thanks to a new Concorde Agreement earlier this year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• arch808 on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:04 pm

2010 season is getting even more interesting. Tahun 2009 belum pun habis..! :P

• hack3line on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:11 pm

One reason for Mercedes parting ways with McLaren was "because of McLaren's ambitious plans to build road cars"

so in F1 2010 season we have 5 manufacturers??

1) LOTUS (PROTON) .. MALAYSIA

2) MERCEDES (DAIMLER AG).. GERMANY

3) FERRARI (FIAT).. ITALY

4) RENAULT.. FRANCE

5) McLaren.. ENGLAND

• Kevin Lee on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:18 pm

Good news, I always loved both Honda and Mercedes. Now they are a single entity, i can choose this over Mclaren. Hail Jensen Button :D

• ahmad norman on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:43 pm

brawn with schumi = world champ

brawn with button = world champ

this guy has midas touch…better believe it

• Mysticmind on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:50 pm

So then we should hire Brown for Lotus F1?

I don't think so…

brawn with honda = a very non archiever btw.

• Darius Drake on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:01 pm

I really hated McLaren-Mercedes, but Mercedes's buyout of Brawn sounds temptingly good to me. Excited and surprised by the news. Hail Mercedes GP! I'd be worried if I were Ferrari.

• nighttrain on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:04 pm

Should BMW be kicking themselves now? Or is this good news for them?

• scanzew on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:11 pm

i've read mclaren will be keep their silver livery and retain vodafone mclaren-mercedes's name…

• Darius Drake on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:19 pm

I'd think Mercedes would be slightly pissed if McLaren chose to retain silver as a major part of their livery. Mercedes doesn't refer to their F1 cars as 'Silver Arrows' for fun. Name-wise, it'd be fine since McLaren is stated as the team's official first name.

• kingv6 on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:24 pm

i really hope that Kimi will join the new Mercedes F1 team.

Nico Rosberg already beint touted as the other driver being German.

Cant wait for 2010 season !!!!

• myv548 on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:31 pm

"brawn with honda = a very non archiever btw."

not really, he joined honda late in the 2008 season after a sabbatical leave from ferrari. nothing he could do to save honda by then. that was when started working on the 2009 car.

• Silver arrow rule!! hahaha…

• wow d new merc gp car looks so much better than brawn gp thats so plain.

i think those major sponsor might shift to d new merc gp & mclaren would

b short of cash to run their team. all german team vs all england team aka

rosberg/heidfeld vs hamilton/button?

what an xciting f1 race season next year will b!

• Ferruccio on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:29 pm

f1 said,

November 17, 2009 @ 9:43 am

wow d new merc gp car looks so much better than brawn gp thats so plain.

I think the Merc GP car photo is just an interim photo shopped image created by the press. I think their car is still in the factory being built.

McLaren will buy out in phases the 40% stake Merc holds in their team and will become an independent team. McLaren will need to compensate for the cut in resource but they have now ventured in sports cara manufacturing so their future, given time, looks ok in order to remain competitive. They might did initially but they can recover. Understandble for Merc to move away from Mclaren because the latter is now becoming a competitor to Merc in the automotive market place, to some extent.

• i think Mclaren should revert to the iconic "mclaren orange" of the old days…

• wow this car is so beautiful dark silver. thinking of spraying my car to this color. :D

• 1NZFE (Member) on Nov 17, 2009 at 9:37 pm

I don't think brawn gp…no is mercedes gp will win again next year. This year brawn gp win bcoz of it's Honda's chassis not it's engine…

• Ferruccio on Nov 17, 2009 at 9:58 pm

I think MercedesGP(BrawnGP) will still be fairly competitive for 2010. As expected, and as Ross Brawn confirmed, they pretty much stopped most of the in-season development for the second half of the 2009 season to focus resources in preparing their 2010 in order to continue their competitiveness.

Don't know whether MercedesGP will be a front runner at the start of the 2010 season but I think they will still be competitive and it is likely they would have more resources available for in-season development for 2010 compared to 2009.

Not too sure about Mclaren's 2010 car because they spent a lot of resource playing 'catch up' this season. Ferrari seems to be 'lost' somewhat and this may continue for 2010 despite Alonso on board. I don't think he is that good of a team player. Schumacher is a great team leader and thats why Ferrari was dominant in the past.

I think the team to watch would be RedBull. Watch out for them.

• azrai on Nov 17, 2009 at 10:55 pm

The Brawn get more money from this. good job.

• squawk on Nov 18, 2009 at 12:01 am

I wonder how the contract nego with Button is going since his meeting @ McLaren was supposedly quite positive. If that happens, Button goes to McLaren, Mercedes goes to Brawn? :-)

• 1NZFE said,

November 17, 2009 @ 1:37 pm

'I don’t think brawn gp…no is mercedes gp will win again next year. This year brawn gp win bcoz of it’s Honda’s chassis not it’s engine…'

Yes, that's why Honda was so succesful. In 2008 Honda was 9th is the championship and only Super Aguri and Force India performed worse… ;)

• 1NZFE (Member) on Nov 18, 2009 at 4:43 am

no comment…

• daemon on Nov 18, 2009 at 4:53 am

i think jenson will stay with brawn.

• Jaybond on Nov 19, 2009 at 2:17 am

At least by 2011, Mclaren must have a new livery style, maybe a'la Marlboro Mclaren days? And perhaps to make it purely an all British squad, why not swap to the Cosworth engine?

• I think Mercedes know that can win next year with the name Mercedes not Mclaren, just like Ferrari.

• Ferruccio on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:10 am

daemon said,
    November 17, 2009 @ 8:53 pm

i think jenson will stay with brawn.

He's going to Mclaren as predicted

man said,
    November 18, 2009 @ 7:14 pm

I think Mercedes know that can win next year with the name Mercedes not Mclaren, just like Ferrari.

I'm sure Mercedes wants to win and hope they would but I don't think they're expecting to win in 2010. Not that simple. It takes more than just good equipment to win. They have to see how well they work together in a new team environment first. Redbull, Mclaren and Ferrari are still possibly strong enough to fight for constructors championship

• chew ban on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:26 pm

the front of this car look like myvi, maybe they copy myvi, even f1 copying malaysian car

• Cheng on Nov 23, 2009 at 3:00 am

malaysian team using cosworth engine…