Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 off to Scotland!

neo-rally-china

The Proton R3 Malaysia Rally Team’s Satria Neo Super 2000 was making decent progress at the Rally of China last weekend when it had the unfortune of a damaged suspension, forcing the team to retire half-way through the 2nd leg during the 13th stage. They managed to finish 4th overall in the first leg. Interestingly according to Proton over half the field of competitors had to retire due to similiar problems.

With the China Rally over and done with, Alister McRae and the Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 will continue on to the McRae homeland of Scotland, which Alister is really looking forward to. Look after the jump for some shots from the rally.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=620]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• go go proton on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:38 pm

proton is making way to the top

• mr nice on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:46 pm

NICE!!!!

• Mysticmind on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Proton beat subarus and evos!

wish they to be top 3 next year. :)

• mkrafz on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Syabas proton..

keep up the good work

Malaysian people r always behind to support..

the True Malaysia Car-maker.

• Menawan Dunia on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:09 pm

KINI KU MENAWAN DUNIA
    Telah ku gagahi pawana
    Menung dan khayalku bukan lagi sekadar fantasi

KINI KU DIPANDANG DUNIA
    Telahku langkahi hampa dan lara
    Dan ternyata kan ku
    Menjangkau sejauh jua…
    —–

SPEECHLESS…

• Hopefully Proton can slowly & confidently can shake off car for the old indentia in the UK.

Hopefully Proton do not get complacent and built up from this. DSZ need to pick up a good branding team and formula up-brand exercises (not necessarily re-branding).

Don't let what happen to Waja's launch in the OZ happens again.

• go go go proton!

• dzulx on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:32 pm

Maybe sounds stupid.. But are they using the same physical car for APRC and IRC??

How many cars do they have??

Getting interesting.. at least I have my own local team to support…

I dont care people talk shit about the car/proton… This is a sport for god sake.. Nothing to do with your faulty proton car or anti-NAP ideology…

Dont you think its totally a different feeling to support local team although they are not winning.. At least they r working hard..

• fastcx on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:49 pm

there r around 5 s2000 built, the 5th is belong to r3/proton. so, basically they using the same spec s2000 in aprc n irc i guess, just different car :)

• awg1031 on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:08 pm

cool~getting better..btw, what's the different between WRC and the rest such as IRC & APRC? is it in different league? or u must qualify from IRC before entering WRC ??

• Ford_GT on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:38 pm

Better than mockery 1Malaysia F1 team rant…well done lads !

• mitlanevo on Nov 17, 2009 at 8:07 pm

good luck!

• rexis on Nov 17, 2009 at 9:33 pm

Malaysian version of Initial D – true skill beats serious hardware.

Of course including skills of drivers, and all the tuners.

• mystvearn on Nov 18, 2009 at 12:31 am

Good luck to the team

• gtmaniac on Nov 18, 2009 at 12:34 am

Bravo Proton!

Any chance of road going version of this car in future?

• albagmane on Nov 18, 2009 at 1:12 am

but did i hear proton is using renault engine for this neo?

• ezmil75 on Nov 18, 2009 at 1:31 am

Go Proton go!

• Good to know that proton is not sleeping… lol

This car always looks good to me!

• @albagmane

This car's engine is the renault engine used in waja 1.8.. upgraded to 2.0

• KickingDust on Nov 18, 2009 at 2:34 am

gtmaniac said,
    November 17, 2009 @ 4:34 pm

Bravo Proton!

Any chance of road going version of this car in future?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

hear from sources saying Proton is planning to launch a Limited Edition NEO with some concepts of S2000 ..

• pennstater on Nov 18, 2009 at 3:17 am

syabas proton syabas msia!!

• MADBOY on Nov 18, 2009 at 3:32 am

This year can puji even when DNF. But next year no more excuses..They must get a good result.

• don't think this going to last.. the other competitor just give chance only, proton sudah syiok. btw what's wrong with the campro engine??

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 18, 2009 at 6:27 am

Proton Rally team;

They had to retire half way at Rally of China.

The driver is an imported "Mat Salleh".

The engine is Renault.

What kind of "Malaysia Boleh" is this? Haha.

Nothing to be proud and eager about. Proton is better off perfecting their "power-windows technology" in which they have not been able to solve for the past 25 years.

• HateDumbBashers on Nov 18, 2009 at 6:34 am

Seriously, didn't you read it nicely? It also said other competitors had to retire due to the same problem. And yeah, if you have a problem with Proton Cars, save your money for a much more expensive car.

• @ SY0H…

i feel sorry for you… most likely u live a lonely life.

• redfueler on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:36 am

dis team should use e01 petronas engine…

more powerful than renault what…

• shawal on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:42 am

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars…

this makes campro looks likes a coal-powered steam engine

• nazri on Nov 18, 2009 at 3:03 pm

then buy hyundai lor..

—–

shawal said,

November 18, 2009 @ 2:42 am

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars…

this makes campro looks likes a coal-powered steam engine

• Head Hunter on Nov 18, 2009 at 4:06 pm

You know, i think Proton should use the feedback from rally to develop their cars. Make it safer, stronger, quicker and more frugal. Do benchmarking exercises to other manufacturers, hire or train designers who could build cars which are good to look at.

Nothing wrong in using other people's engines, just innovate if you can't create, slowly but surely we can create a reliable engine.

I think the chassis is pretty good, they should do more on the reliability and FC of the CAMPRO engine. The build quality should also be upped to match the quality of japanese cars at least. I just hate flimsy plastics, make it good like the first gen wira, feels solid and don't cut too much on ergonomics. We're the ones driving the car, make people happy to drive it.

One more thing, don't be afraid to tackle into the 2-3 litre segment. We need a sports car to showcase our desire for engineering perfection.

I guess, if all of our feedbacks here even, be taken into consideration, PROTON can make a better car. Some of us are engineers, lawyers and even doctors, and mostly drivers. So our opinion counts.

• rexis on Nov 18, 2009 at 4:36 pm

@ SY0H

Feel sorry to you too.

• laburit on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:28 pm

goooodddd… that the way i like it….

see proton, if u do well… everybody will support….

• Love this car. So beautiful.

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:52 am

APRC China – The Dawn Of A New Beginning!
    http://nutzeywagen-comerainorshine.blogspot.com/2…

• HateDumbBashers on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:56 am

@ Head Hunter : Then I guess people with the new Satria Neo would probably jump over the speed bump instead of slowing down and going over it.

• Elvis on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:27 am

Proton days are numbered…just like BeeEnd in power…..

• wajarays on Nov 19, 2009 at 9:22 am

SYOH…

i word for you .. DUMB ASS !!!

>:( >:(

• knoxx on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:00 pm

SY0H said,

Proton Rally team;

They had to retire half way at Rally of China.

The driver is an imported “Mat Salleh”.

The engine is Renault.

What kind of “Malaysia Boleh” is this? Haha.

Nothing to be proud and eager about. Proton is better off perfecting their “power-windows technology” in which they have not been able to solve for the past 25 years.

————————————————————-

Syoh.. u ni too much negative thinker.. not good for human development

even do, the engine using outsource.. at least proton team take part in the event, configuration & so -on. So their learn about technology, performance, feedback, lacking and bring the information to improve the productivity for normal user & also for races.

try be positives or else maybe u must other cars agent try to make provoke..??

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 20, 2009 at 9:58 pm

Proton MEM & Alister McRae got off to a good start at IRC Scotland. In 4th place overall. More to come.

http://www.rallybuzz.com/mcrae-rally-scotland-sco…

• Ferruccio on Nov 20, 2009 at 11:06 pm

The engine block is actually from the Waja 1.8 bored out to 2L. They have to use a Proton production based block as per regs. Of course we all know that the Waja 1.8 is from Renault but regs do not allow them to take similar engine direct from Renault. It has to be from Proton as the serial numbers can identify whether it's from Renault or Proton.

Other than the block, everything else with the engine is purpose built for racing. Though the car is seriously rebuilt for racing there are things in the car that are directly taken from a Satria Neo as per regs. Things like door handles and windows are the same as production Neo.

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 20, 2009 at 11:43 pm

IRC Scotland – Live on Astro!

Click on link for time schedule.

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 21, 2009 at 3:28 am

IRC Scotland – Alister McRae & Proton are now lying 3rd overall after SS4.

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:33 am

IRC Scotland – Day1: SS1~SS4 standings.

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:40 pm

IRC Scotland – Day1: SS1~SS7 standings (Updated)

Alister McRae is now at 3rd overall after Day1 actions.

See Day1 result and read what Alister McRae had to say at:

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 22, 2009 at 6:49 am

IRC Scotland – Final standing.

1st Kris Meeke (Peugeot 207 S2000)

2nd Guy Wilks (Skoda Fabia S2000)

3rd ALISTER McRAE (PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000)

4th Jonathan Greer (Mitsubishi Evo IX)

5th David Bogie (Mitsubishi Evo IX)

• terencelhl (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:00 am

Bravo!

Seeing my fatty (Satria Neo)'s younger bro is out there racing with other JABANESE and Mat Saleh's iron horses.

Once again, thumbs up for Proton!

• opaque on Nov 27, 2009 at 7:45 pm

Alister Mcrae No 2 now. Meeke disqualified. Yes to Neo s2000