VIDEO: Proton’s foray into hybrid technology revealed on Buletin Utama last night

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pakchimyvi on Dec 04, 2009 at 3:48 am

proton~ go go go~!

• Karim on Dec 04, 2009 at 4:08 am

Tersenyum si penjual pisang goreng terkenangkan detik-detik manis bersama keluarga menjalajah serata negeri menggunakan Saga terpakainya,kadang-kala terasa kagum, kereta yang dipandunya menjadi kebanggaannya hingga kini.`SYABAS PROTON…..’ detik hatinya, teruskan usaha serta niat murni kamu. Setidak-tidaknya, si penjual goreng pisang di tepian jalan,si pekerja kilang,si tukang kebun,dan orang-orang yang tidak berapa mampu untuk membeli kerta luar kini mampu bergerak lebih jauh mencari rezeki.Tentu mereka bahagia bersama anak-anak di hujung minggu menjelajah menikmati keindahan negara tercinta. Tidak lagi `orang kita' mebonceng di belakang basikal tua,……

• persona_Gen25610 on Dec 04, 2009 at 4:17 am

go proton go TERUSLAH MEMAJU ^^

• aliBaPa on Dec 04, 2009 at 4:17 am

I want save monies

I want hybrid

I want electric car

• pergi pergi pergi proton!

• AHEAD on Dec 04, 2009 at 4:43 am

msi said,

December 3, 2009 @ 8:33 pm

pergi pergi pergi proton!

————————

KARH3!!…dei,bedekah satu rumah ak bc komen kw!!

haha…

Go GO GO PROTON!!!

• Paultan & Proton on Dec 04, 2009 at 4:46 am

huh.. i learn a lot in automotive since i follow proton story in R & D…from savvy, Gen2, persona, Neo and Exora…

and also credit to Paul for creating a blog like this… i'm paultan fanz since few years ago..hehe.. always visit paultan to gain some knowledge about the real automotive company in malaysia..

honestly, i learn nothing by reading P2 thread..but for P1, at least i know this and this for that purpose…

anyway… Paul must keep a good work..hehe..coz nowadays too many similar blog also discuss automotive ..but they still note the sources from paultan =)

Hrmm..this EVE project must came to malaysia as early by mid of next year i hope… so can kumpul some money for deposit by now…

• nabill on Dec 04, 2009 at 4:46 am

i also read that proton will sign with world famous OEM supplier soon…no names mentioned….any idea??

• thailand motorshow has become the place where proton introduce new product n technology.

if my memory serves me well, proton did announce their first cps-engine at thailand motorshow.

• alora on Dec 04, 2009 at 6:53 am

this is what i'm waiting for. and as for many others, hopefully the price is mampu milik for middle and low income people.

brovo proton..

• shawal on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:01 am

Proton suppose to be the car for the people, so, i hope before they start exporting our malaysian made cars overseas and embarrass ourselves, try to conquer back the national market first mmmkay….?

Saga and Exora are good cars…, for its period ,for proton's sake, we let these models roam for 8 year product cycle… i think 5 year cycle is a bit too much…

Saga BLM's engine bay looked a bit empty….. i hope they chuck a small electirc engine in there…. then it'll really be a car for the people

• kancilrider on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:37 am

Can save my money 4 deposit from now.. EVE tech is the way to go. Bravo Proton!!

• kedai kopi on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:41 am

setidak-tidaknya, nama Malaysia terpahat sebagai pengeluar kenderaan hybrid.. AKU BANGGA DENGAN KEUPAYAAN ANAK MALAYSIA.. syabas Proton!!

• nazri on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:44 am

p2 pls rebadge toyota prius to challenge proton.. :)

• mytouch on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:59 am

Syed Zainal had done a very superb job in Proton so far,syabas to him!!

• prolever on Dec 04, 2009 at 8:36 am

taking LOTUS definitely shows the benefits,

first of cause the car handling,

then the strong body and chassis,

later is hybrid system…

this shows that even proton only about 20 something years old( it still young in the automotive industry) proton eventually show the potential want to became the senior in the auto industry….

hybrid EXORAs……. i amazed with that. ya la after the eve project goes quiet, i thing there no more project in hybrid. the EV project also a great ideas..

Now i cant wait the HYBRID EXORAs. After that we can see waja hybrid and other….

excellent job and keep AMAZED the MALAYSIAN people…

• I have a friend who took up engineering course and he is turning his 1995 Satria into a hybrid car…

• kimi_ sucks on Dec 04, 2009 at 9:04 am

To proton

LONG LIVE PROTON

To proton bashers aka pencacai Toyota Vios dugong, Honda Kapcai and p2 copycat

GO GO GO die..

• The Who.. on Dec 04, 2009 at 11:00 am

Nice job proton… Cant wait to own malaysian hybrid…

• ABEST.... on Dec 04, 2009 at 3:42 pm

saya mesti pileh……..,kot

ape beze hybrid proton dengan hybrid honda dan yang terbaru sekarang kat MALAYSIA iaitu toyota prius???

anyway………good job to Proton and Lotos

• Kaki Rebadge on Dec 04, 2009 at 3:42 pm

nazri said,

December 3, 2009 @ 11:44 pm

p2 pls rebadge toyota prius to challenge proton..

—————-

Prius not under compact car segment ..hehe..

if P2 want to rebadge prius, please rebadge Estima also, i want to buy P2 EstiZA..hehe.. also, please rebadge Camry, i want to buy for my wife to be.. huhu

• biggie on Dec 04, 2009 at 4:59 pm

serious downgrading R&D at work in P2 to produce Prius and Estima as per request from PaulTan readers.

Don't worry the downgrading R&D will be paid by the rakyat.

• stephenstreets on Dec 04, 2009 at 5:41 pm

not need hybrid lar….just sell your car cheaper or remove the tax for foreign car. trust me we will appreciate that more than any hybrid.

• Angel on Dec 04, 2009 at 5:49 pm

Haih, wake up! Because of national cars, we pay almost 50% for foreigners car. We dont mind to buy local cars if the quality is similiar to foreigners car, but is not! Why we pay the price of a city or vios without tax that is same price as a waja but the quality is so bad? think about it… speechless………

• kimi_ sucks_ke on Dec 04, 2009 at 6:06 pm

kimi_ sucks said,
    December 4, 2009 @ 1:04 am

To proton

LONG LIVE PROTON

To proton bashers aka pencacai Toyota Vios dugong, Honda Kapcai and p2 copycat

GO GO GO die..

————————————–

wut da hell u r mumbling about? rubbish..

it is good for Proton to start compete in the hybrid technology… next P2…
    than a good competition will it be….

Naza or Inokom will involve in hybrid?

• nmfairus on Dec 04, 2009 at 6:07 pm

Hope Proton will speed up releasing hybrid and turbocharged engine..

way to go proton..

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 04, 2009 at 6:34 pm

This interesting story. Proton sales overshadow major makes at Thai Motor Expo. http://www.bkkautos.com/node/948

• indigo (Member) on Dec 04, 2009 at 6:35 pm

I think Proton always tried to show off how far they can go but only to neglect what's more important. They can tell rakyat that they are doing hybrid or EV then their qc never improved. I don't want to compare to CKD or Thai-built japanese cars but where's the air bags? The Waja was tested with curtain air bag in NCAP but was not used. People will go for more expensive imports as the level accessories and safety mechanisms are a lot better. At least it makes sense when our national cars actually have better safety equipments will eventually benefit the national car company. Even for J spec Vios, Toyota still maintained the ABS. Then proton will probably give you nothing even the rear window wiper is missing. Perhaps minusing the audio, colour trims etc would be better option than sacrificing the people's safety. Look at the new Exora B-line and the other Lite version Protons, they look cheap because this is the way to make more money. Thought getting H-Line is cool? My friend's new Satrio Neo CPS got a lot of problems, simple thing as leaking back door. The so-called engineers at the service centre can't even repair it on the spot and need to re-order the rubber seal. This is not about bashing bout it is unforgivable when we are forced to buy expensive yet low quality product. It has been 25 years now!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:07 pm

hahaha….bullshit i love this communista government

• Premium on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:26 pm

I love to see a hybrid NGV. Imagine the cost of running it. It would be cheap. Pay low for NGV, and Electric some more.. more milage.. maybe, the maintenance will be high…. and wow!! malaysian's taxi would be the most greenest in the world….

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 04, 2009 at 8:07 pm

indigo said,

December 4, 2009 @ 10:35 am

Even for J spec Vios, Toyota still maintained the ABS. Then proton will probably give you nothing even the rear window wiper is missing. Perhaps minusing the audio, colour trims etc would be better option than sacrificing the people’s safety.Look at the new Exora B-line and the other Lite version Protons, they look cheap because this is the way to make more money.

————–

I did notice some forummer said Toyota Avanza 1.3 is without ABS, pretensioner etc2. Exora M-Line is better deal compare to 1.3 Avanza.

• Eyesore on Dec 04, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Indigo… tbh… PROTON quality is quite on par with T or H or N cars sold in Malaysia (those assembled in Malaysia). The material used are quite the same…

most of the time, ppl see proton as a low quality becoz of brand perception and mindset such as "foreign product, sure good quality". I have seen T cars having problem with their quality, seen a N sentra car with bubbled dashboard, etc….

Try to see and judge cars without any bias towards any brand. U'll see how small the difference between proton cars and foreign ones.

Plus, don't go to the so called "protection" things…. perodua n naza is protected as well… I don't see you complaining about them… despite myvi also have a lot of quality problem, viva is even worst….

and i believe if govt is to open the market… the first one to be affected badly are perodua n naza since there's no point for Toyota n Kia to have their car rebadged bcuz they can seel under their own brand cheap.

• AHEAD on Dec 04, 2009 at 8:46 pm

ITS ALIVE!!!

• littlefire on Dec 04, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

This interesting story. Proton sales overshadow major makes at Thai Motor Expo.
    http://www.bkkautos.com/node/948

————————————————————–

Good result Proton have in Thailand for only one day,

By the way, this should show the G that P1 should no need to have protection anymore! Open up the market and show the world that Proton is Great! Yeah! Free n open market for all… " Maybe in my Dreams"

• chiewwl on Dec 04, 2009 at 9:59 pm

hope P1 not 'buat wayang' aje…

• waklanproton on Dec 04, 2009 at 11:14 pm

told u already……

within five years…

Go Proton!!!!

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 05, 2009 at 12:06 am

*THE SAGA OF PROTON*

>>> The Dooms' Day of M'sian automotive globalisation. <<>> 25 years later <<<

It is already 25 years! If you can't do it in 25 years, you can't do it even if we give another 25 years.

We can't beat Thailand Indonesia when they were lying down (in 1985 M'sian production, market and capacity is the best in Asean).

Can Proton beat them when they are standing up? (Thailand 1.4mil production, Indon 600k)

Korea and Japan industry took off in less than 25yrs. Proton will enter Guinness book of records for the longest time to reach 20 % export of its production.

Talking about Hybrid-Eve technology is good but it ain't nothing new.

Other car makers (such as Honda, Toyota) already started many years ago, only that these cars are sold at an "exorbitant price" making it impossible for M'sian to go "green" when we could actually do that on much earlier time (and save a lot of money too).

• guys,

check this http://www.motorexpo.co.th/2009/bestsell.php

the sales result from Thailand International Motor Expo 2009.

proton doing good!!

• mystvearn on Dec 05, 2009 at 1:33 am

Last time got that P01 sports car said to be released but 5 years later, not released. I don't think hybrid is the way to go, more like hydrogen or making the engine more fuel efficient.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 1:46 am

dont mind what i'm saying.. i'm crazy man actually..

• Eyesore on Dec 05, 2009 at 1:52 am

i wonder why SY0H is soo bitter towards proton… sounds like he hates proton, can't hear word proton being said, have no what so ever positive opinion about proton and still seeing 90's version of proton….

yet he still keep reading, checking proton thread and even have time to drop comments (nasty ones tho)… wierd… almost every news about proton improvement is wrong to him…. hmmmm…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 1:52 am

nid4 said,

December 4, 2009 @ 5:16 pm

guys,

check this http://www.motorexpo.co.th/2009/bestsell.php

the sales result from Thailand International Motor Expo 2009.

proton doing good!!

———————-

Thailand customer trust proton + lotus more than typical japanese wannabe in malaysia…

For japanese wannabe, if they got New Honda City for thailand as an example, they will said WoW… quality is good…

Hrmmmm… if thailand can accept Exora, why not us? it is because our mentality still 3rd class…

I believe that exora sales will increase later once the first buyer in thailand AMAZED with the 'Handling by Lotus'..

• Eyesore on Dec 05, 2009 at 1:55 am

Mystvearn…. hydrogen is not really the way to go for green tech… yes hydrogen is more cleaner that petrol / diesel….

but the problem is the source of hyrogen… producing hydrogen is much more expensive and very high energy consumption which leads to much pollution… in the end the benefit of using h2 engine it outwit by the bad effect of producing it…

• 20v_ke35 on Dec 05, 2009 at 4:01 am

Cakap banyak tarak….. jual dengan harga yang boleh diterima rakyat berpendapat rendah, baru boleh cerita sokong ke tak…..

• peYno on Dec 05, 2009 at 4:14 am

Ah beng japanese wanabe in Malaysia think buying Vios, city and p2 oredi felt like driving SUper japanese car.. prrrtfhh i don't want blame them.. never drive JDM car.. yet wanabe japanese.. end up buy 2nd class jpas car then put japanese wording stiker, stick shoshinsha sticker…i felt sad when my japanese buddy make fun of them (Ah beng japanese wanabe)..

he saw on ah beng drive vios with Huge Japanese katakana wording… then he ask me…do they understand japanese???

prrrfthhh

tadaaa…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 4:18 am

protons are for wimps.

• pity to those who compare proton with toyota and honda like proton is already on par with them… :p

of course proton cannot challenge them, if not proton already conquer the world..

what we know now is proton = improving bit by bit…

by the time,

CPS introduce = 20 years tech

hybrid introduce = 10 years tech

EV introduce = 5 years tech

it shows to us that they do something to improve, not just sit down and waiting for someone to give them food only (the fact that they protect by G)…

quality last 3years below produa (syed zainal take command the proton on 2007 – if im not mistaken), right now on par with produa referring to autocar asean december (study do by j.d. power) savvy score 154 pp100, saga scored 158 pp100 as compared to viva 186, 5 years later on par with honda :p.. if they continue this momentum…

ok… tak ya gaduh2 laa… tak baik… :p

• Mazda 3 MPS ( PUNYE on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:11 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

December 4, 2009 @ 9:11 pm

siapa nak beli kereta ini? hanye orange bodoh saje

————————————–

"Ape kw menyanyah ni nak?,kw 2 skolah lg,jgn memandai komen yg bukan2!g masok tdo g!"

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:21 am

actually, i felt stewpeed looking at this, must masturbate later….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:30 am

orange bodoh like me

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:31 am

this car is as stupid as the proton fan club

• ali38hak on Dec 05, 2009 at 2:35 pm

all good news !!!

but i think for Europe, middle east and other proton need a diesel..

proton sales are since years very low in turkey, and everybody told me that he would think to buy a proton if there where a good reliable diesel engine!

Here is a Savvy LCV (light commercial vehicle) on sale, but no one is interested because its not available with diesel engine.

Is it soo hard, or difficult to find or to create a diesel engine????

• Tiadaid on Dec 05, 2009 at 7:39 pm

SY0H said,

December 4, 2009 @ 4:06 pm

*THE SAGA OF PROTON*

>>> The Dooms’ Day of M’sian automotive globalisation. <> 25 years later <<<

It is already 25 years! If you can't do it in 25 years, you can't do it even if we give another 25 years.

We can't beat Thailand Indonesia when they were lying down (in 1985 M'sian production, market and capacity is the best in Asean).

Can Proton beat them when they are standing up? (Thailand 1.4mil production, Indon 600k)

Korea and Japan industry took off in less than 25yrs. Proton will enter Guinness book of records for the longest time to reach 20 % export of its production.

———————–

Total bullshit, total cock! Korean car industry only turned around after 40 years of existence! It took them 23 years just to improve the quality! Japanese car companies also took that long. Honda's 1st generation keicars were known as deathtraps. Old Toyotas and Hondas were often derided as rust buckets Proton is improving, but it won't do them any good if there are workers like you in the company, and I'm sure there are. Get your facts straight before you stupidly bash!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:07 pm

i'm crazy person..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:15 pm

like 2 drive a handsome looking car,cause i'am beautiful man,awwwwwww!!!!

• cross polo on Dec 06, 2009 at 12:30 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

December 4, 2009 @ 8:18 pm

protons are for wimps.

——————————-

mazda for sissy….

• tokmoh on Dec 07, 2009 at 1:21 am

ali38hak : There have been news of proton looking out for diesel engines. It may take them a bit longer, but what is certain is that they're getting one.

There is a little problem though. Here in Msia, majority of the people still think diesels are noisy, slow, dirty, etc. That could make the diesel introduction process a bit slow… maybe 3 years the earliest (this is only my speculation).

• Carl Wong on Dec 07, 2009 at 3:14 pm

Alright fizz the main advantage of hybrid automobiles is that there is no wastage of fuel, the engine of the car shuts down itself when the car is stationary. This is called the idle-stop feature (for the Honda Civic Hybrid). For example when you’re driving the Civic Hybrid and stop at a traffic light the petrol engine turn off automatically if you keep your feet on the brake pedal. This will save you huge amounts of money, and fuel and the environment if you get stuck in KL traffic more than half of your journey everyday. Even if the traffic is smooth you’ll still save considerate amounts of valuable money. The Toyota Prius works slightly differently but the principle is the same.

All hybrids use an advanced technology called the regenerative braking. The kinetic energy from braking is converted into electricity and stored in a compact Nickel Metal Hydride battery near the boot. When you need to boost your acceleration the electricity is drawn from the battery by an electric motor.

The Toyota Prius can travel on the electric motor alone on low speeds with the petrol engine off.

There are many kinds of hybrid systems, you can do some research if you really want to know how hybrids work.

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Tiadaid said,

December 5, 2009 @ 11:39 am

I think you should get your facts right 'boy' before counter-bashing people.

I'm talking about time versus production capacity. It took those Japanese and Korean less than 25 years to achieve target sales in millions. Proton still crawling internationally and even 'subsidized' some more. So what's your take?

I think you should get your facts right and retake your basic English course too.

Thank you for reading.

• steven on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:16 pm

There are many comments out there, let it be good or bad. But for my personal view, since i have been owning cars from local Proton Perdana V6 to Japanese Exotic car NSX to European BMW 5 series, in between i have other cars too. What i can say is Proton is ripping off everyone's money. Only some people that never been away from Malaysia still believing Proton is still the best. You can Quote my words, for a Perdana that cost about RM100,000 more or less, you can actually own a Honda Accord imported NEW IF without the TAX and DUTY. In Australia, a brand new Camry or Accord cost about AUD25,000 to AUD35,000 depends on the models.

• steven on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:19 pm

COntinue:

Here in Malaysia, we are FORCED to buy Proton, for lucky ones they can still afford other imported cars. I have been oversea for many years, and now back to Malaysia for the past few years. I am sad to see many Malaysians are still like a FROG in the WELL. Why? The media news are censored, Imported cars are TAXED at Heavenly HIGH price, Internet Barred ( Many news that are sensitive to Malaysia are barred), then Movies are censored or not allowed to be played… Malaysians are like baby, because mummy and daddy dont allow you to know too many things. Pity…

• steven on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:28 pm

COntinue:

However, back the Automobile matters. In Australia, for example working as part time, you should earn bout AUD3,000. Then you can have options to buy many cars, like Mazda 3 for less than AUD 20,000 or Toyota Echo (Yaris) at AUD16,000 or even a Daewoo Mantis AUD12,000 ! Here, my gosh, if i got RM3,000 (thats a hell good pay for an Engineer price..not a fresh grad), you CANT even afford to buy a Toyota Yaris because it cost more than RM100,000. Or maybe i will choose the Kancil or Kenari? Thats Wopping RM30,000++ for a Cola Tin car- not even pass for the Crash Test, New Zealand VOTE it as WORST car. So, is this how a Malaysian should live like? Rm3,000 salary Engineer only get a car that is not safe and not his favourite car? Now, whats so WAH about the EVE? The batteries maybe lousy enough that cant even last you a trip from one bus stop to another! I DONT believe in it.

• steven on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:36 pm

Oh yeah, i forgotten to add in, i just realized that Kenari is so unsafe untill the Government enforce the law " Rear Seat Belts", What? Kenari that cost more than Rm30,000 has no Rear Seat Belts?? What excuse? Very old model? I think the one i saw with NO rear seat belts was a 2003 model!! That is why Proton never make good sales, those sales generated for the past many years are by FORCING. You will realize why government cars are not Protons? Why are there some Mercedes E class, S class…even a Toyota Hilux or Landcrusier? Where is Malaysian cars? They themselves know, local cars no safety. Some ministers even say " European cars has lower maintenance, safer." Malaysia is only good with FOOD, nice beaches (one of the best in the world)…

• question ?

just to know, what the special technology that we call hybrid technology..?

anyone here can explain for a few sentences…?

For now, I only know that hybrid engine is combination between electrical and petrol engine…

Hope someone could share your information… :)

• Look like all Malaysian need to pity this steven also… kesian dia dipaksa tinggal in Malaysia. Hopefully he can adapt, and have a happy life in Malaysia.

• Carl Wong on Dec 07, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Alright fizz the main advantage of hybrid automobiles is that there is no wastage of fuel, the engine of the car shuts down itself when the car is stationary. This is called the idle-stop feature (for the Honda Civic Hybrid). For example when you're driving the Civic Hybrid and stop at a traffic light the petrol engine turn off automatically if you keep your feet on the brake pedal. This will save you huge amounts of money, and fuel and the environment if you get stuck in KL traffic more than half of your journey everyday. Even if the traffic is smooth you'll still save considerate amounts of valuable money. The Toyota Prius works slightly differently but the principle is the same.

All hybrids use an advanced technology called the regenerative braking. The kinetic energy from braking is converted into electricity and stored in a compact Nickel Metal Hydride battery near the boot. When you need to boost your acceleration the electricity is drawn from the battery by an electric motor.

The Toyota Prius can travel on the electric motor alone on low speeds with the petrol engine off.

There are many kinds of hybrid systems, you can do some research if you really want to know how hybrids work.

• osman on Dec 07, 2009 at 11:26 pm

hybrid car is the next evolution in automotive … thank goodness the people in proton are aware of this … there is a possibility that hybrid cars will overwhelm the market really soon … so better start saving now … well don proton

• Eyesore on Dec 07, 2009 at 11:40 pm

Steven… STFU if you don't know what you're talking about… quite a useless comments from a guy that claimed to own a NSX, Perdana V6 n beemer 5 series.

First of all, kancil and kenari are f*&^ing not proton cars… those r Perodua cars… even that u don't realise? stupid…

Proton car r also taxed maybe not as much as honda/toyota since it a barangan malaysia. It's a common sense for a country to taxed imported product higher than locally made product. duh..

And if you want to consider car prices in Australia or UK or SG… include the cost of owning cars in those countries compare to malaysia… such as insurance, MOT, road tax, license cost etc…. then you'll know…

• Carl Wong;

Thanks for all information. I'm so interesting on what you explained.

Maybe for future technology, proton will generate nuclear engine. And then, when two nuclear car accident, our Malaysia will be like Hiroshima. :)

• steven on Dec 08, 2009 at 1:06 am

EM: Thanks for ur concern. I guess u also one of the guys never been outside. I am not too worry about myself, i m here for some projects then will be back to oversea. By then… See ya guys! Hope 2020 can be a better tomorrow! I ever believe Malaysia is the best, but when i see the laws…the governments.. i felt sad. Policemen came ask money from me, a Water Board department ask money from me… everyone ask for Rasuah.. do u think such system can sustain? I am tired with it. Anyway, i will stop here. Hopefully wont get everyone bored. This is an Automobile blog afterall. So keep it that one. I still enjoy Paultan's blog. Cheers!

• shooter on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:08 am

steven said,

December 7, 2009 @ 5:06 pm

EM: Thanks for ur concern. I guess u also one of the guys never been outside. I am not too worry about myself, i m here for some projects then will be back to oversea. By then… See ya guys! Hope 2020 can be a better tomorrow! I ever believe Malaysia is the best, but when i see the laws…the governments.. i felt sad. Policemen came ask money from me, a Water Board department ask money from me… everyone ask for Rasuah.. do u think such system can sustain? I am tired with it. Anyway, i will stop here. Hopefully wont get everyone bored. This is an Automobile blog afterall. So keep it that one. I still enjoy Paultan’s blog. Cheers!

—————————————————————-yeah what ever, as if those kinda shit dont happen any where else, but wait!!! if its a white man's coutry, or any country with people with fair skin color, it must be better!!! _ reallity check dude- this whole modern world with its modern techs, owes its existance to the muslim scholars, whose works were brought over to europe during the crusade, that sparked the Renaisance… white men can't do sh*t!!!

• kanasai on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:16 am

As earlier posted…it seem too sure realistic to invest on electric car, unless they wanted to sell them in open market…and make something out from it…

And..now that we have shelved this… I'm not surprised that they said, the infrastructure is not equipped….

Back a few months ago, when I comment constructively on hybrid / hydrogen fuel cell was much a better transition at the moment, some people just condemn me for being negatively about technology and that I was short sighted.

Well, whoever that made that lame comment and personal attack…STFU now..and take this comment constructively.

• Abzaja on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:19 am

wow…

amazed to found out that car enthusiastic mr. steven here using kenari to bash proton :), perodua is very lucky… so much for a person who claim to enjoy this blog.

you better finish your project as soon as possible and go back to oversea where you belong. Malaysia won't do you any good except for its food and beaches.

btw, Mazda 3 MPS… i pity you, poor little child desperately seeking for attention…come come i have an ice cream for you

• steven on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:28 am

Eyesore: Firstly, please speak with manner, be a gentlemen as this is a discussion. Dont act like a kid unless u are still a kid. However, I think you also never been oversea, a frog too perhaps? Insurance and Road tax and other maintenance overseas are cheaper than Malaysia because they dont earn Ringgit to Pay something imported. How long u need to safe to buy an ipod? In Australia, people use spare money to buy one as they earn AUD3000 to buy AUD400 Ipod Touch. Here, u earn RM3000 and buy a Rm1500 ipod touch? Did i mention Proton Kenari? I guess u r kinda Eyesore. Anyway, lets drop this topic. For people like you, you are willingly being blinded. You can always see things bigger, broader instead of just defending what you believe in. By the way Mr Eyesore, please do some economics research before saying TAXes topics. I believe you didnt. Other countries also have tax on their cars. But not as high as Malaysia to protect their Protons or Produa (if you like me to mention Produa). A Toyota Yaris in Australia cost AUD17,000 , then Proton Savvy or Produa Kelisa also cost around AUD 15,000 then a Australian Made Holden is about AUD17,000. So, we can clearly see, all cars are taxed, local car and imported cars yet Proton still cheapest among others. But Why is Malaysia is taxing imported cars more than 100%? Now you know why Proton's sales is not incredible, or even worth mentioning?

Guys, i wont comment anything else again. Seemed like everyone here is defending their local brand blindly. Wish you guys luck! Drive safe when driving ur best local car! PS: Use internet in a more smarter way, google Proton and Produa(at least Produa is doing better), that see what other countries review on them. Read some CNN news, other countries' news, see what they say about our government, especially the management of Proton.

Cheers guys. Good luck! Paul Tan Rulez!

• Carl Wong on Dec 08, 2009 at 8:30 am

Sorry for being a little direct but I think how can Proton build hybrids with good quality if they can't even build conventional cars with up to par quality? There would be a high chance for even more quality problems.

• reuben how on Dec 08, 2009 at 12:13 pm

If Proton thinks it can be a success with the hybrids it is kidding itself. The nails in the coffin are government policy and lack of competition. Govt is keen only on satisfying its own politics (why on earth would you allow foreign cars to be imported if you really want your own car industry

and then unfair favortism to certain suppliers which supply the two main manufacturers. What you will forever get is only a limited number of local suppliers capable of producing parts that are needed to make a car. And, in the end, because of the low volume and no export, these will always be more expensive than if it was manufactured in a foreign country.

Also, why is Proton going for hybrid when there are so many other things to fix in its current models? Even things like ABS and ESP (Carmakers wanting to sell their car in Europe MUST have this feature on ALL cars by 2011) and airbags (now most foreign cars have 6+)

• Eyesore on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Steven… no am not a frog, fyi i have been living in UK for the past 4 years and seen & learn enough. if you to compare car or good prices between countries and include taxes then you should consider the tax structure of those countries as a whole then you'll see how it'll turn out…

u did not say PROTON kenari… but to use kenari n kancil to bash proton is kinda out of the way isn't it? let say I bash ferrari using lamboghini weaknesess… that's kinda stupid isn't it? The way you were saying it, is like the kenari n kancil r proton's cars that is why I said what i said…

Weird… when proton said to turbocharged CAMPRO… some said why focus on ICE, old tech, when proton introduce EV… some said it is not feasible in malaysia, wasting money, hybrid is the way to go….. now when proton introduce hybrid still got bashed and some said to focus on improving CAMPRO first…. the reality is ppl never satisfy with anything, and it is not easy to satisfy everybody…. you want proton to improve ( i assume you want it) but when they trying to improve, instead of helping them you bash them, looking down on them, spread bad words about them…. wierd…

• steven on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Hi Eyesore: Actually as i said, i wont comment anything after my previous. But To Eyesore, i kinda find you interesting when come to discussion. Anyway make frens better than enemy. I understand ur point of view. 4 years in an oversea country might learn a lot, but not all. Maybe u were there to study? 4 years a degree? However, i was way longer than u in oversea. Back to ur argument on the whole system of taxation in malaysia.. if u would wan to compare it in a WHOLE. It will be see different things turn out? Yeah i do agree with u. But i am kinda shame to reply it. Me 50% Malaysian and 50% Australian. So i m very disappointed with Malaysia's system, the whole system. From top to the bottom hierarchy. If u are in Malaysia for the past 5 years, u should have known many cases on "Where did the govnement money go?", " Why a young guy die from high building?", " Why F1?", " Where are the submarines?", " Why is this multi million building is LEAKing?"…. are the system good enough? Even Malaysian tax me 10% i also think its expensive, where Australia Tax me 40% i still think worth it. So Mr Eyesore, i hope u see where i m coming from, i mean my point of view as a total. Proton is not a shit car, neither Produa. Its just the government exploit the whole Taxation system. They try to cut out the competitors from outside, increasing the local manufacturing cars sales. Proton does go cars, i like Perdana's smooth V6, Satri GTi's Agility, Neo's nice styling. But one thing i know for sure, they all din do well in safety. Dont u agree? I guess some ppl commented on "improving on the current cars now before doing the Hybrid…" meant something to improve is the safety, which is the most important one.

• steven on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Shooter: I know u study ur history well, no one deny the contribution given by the early muslims. We dont discuss religions here, way too sensitive. I salute early muslims for their work. Great work in deed. But we human always improve. We need to look forward. Successful people is looking forward. Ford created cars, but who did the fastest cars? Who did the best looking cars? Let is be white men or yellow men or even dark/black men… we all have different contribution. Who went to the moon first (white)? But need rocket to fly there, who invented the rocket (yellow)? Who did the numeric systems (dark/black)? So, Shooter, we are proud of our historians and ancestors, but we need to look forward. If u keep looking and staying at the "history" sooner of later u will be left behind. Cheers.

• Eyesore on Dec 08, 2009 at 10:19 pm

Steven that's why I said ppl never satisfy….. one more thing… when you choose to see only the negative side of things and think negatively… then you can never see the benefits…. bcoz some ppl have a preset negative thinking no matter what the govt do… do this project, this ppl will say….why waste money, it doesn't benefit me, it must be for kronies, corrupted project etc… so what if it does not benefit you but benefiting few thousands other ppl for the jobs oppotunities it creates, the chance of improvement/ enchancement it offers to other ppl… r you one of these ppl that have preset thinking that if it does not them benefit or make them rich etc it must be a bad thing? Selfish mindless shit???

So you ask? Why F1? is it because no benefit to you? did you fail to see how it offer chances to hundreds of malaysian who dream of working in this industries? who don't even even have a chance to walk up to a ferrari , renault, mc laren or any team and say "i want to work for you"… at least with this program it gives them chance to show their skills, improve their knowledgeand who knows one day they can be a wanted man in this industries chasing many manufacturers…

why submarines?? do you even know what it takes to defend a country ? how the army risking their life everyday to make sure you live in a peaceful and harmony country??? they work hard and some of them died just so you can enjoy your life doing whatever u want whithout having to face war etc… is it too much to ask or too much much to spend if the submarine help to make their duties easier and their chances of coming back alive to their family? i wonder how selfish ppl can be…

btw… proton's cars are good in term of safety if you are talking a bout structure crash worthiness… maybe they r lacking in term of offering those passive safety system, but they r improving, offering at least 1 airbag as standard etc… wait for new model in 2012 if you want to, then you'll see how serious proton is in making their models more safe and advance…

btw… isn's tiger wood car (the he rammed into the tree) failed to deployed its airbag? soo much for expensive car huh?

• steven on Dec 08, 2009 at 11:56 pm

Hi again Eyesore: This discussion will never ends… he he. I guess we both either entertain the readers or bored them to death. When u mention about seeing things that government did positively, i did. Believe me, i did. I am not preset wif negative thinkings.Thats why i am back in Malaysia for some projects. From what u have shared just now, i can see that, u just mentioned everything on the surface. U ticked all the box. Defensive: Yes- get submarines. Opportunities face Ferrari: Yes – Get into F1… i dont deny these, by all means its really great for a small country like us! But what i am saying is the "Story behind and what about the future?" How much we spent on the Submarines? What models? Are they really worth tat much? Heard the commission is more than RM100mil? There are proofs tat pointed out NOT. Eyesore, i wish u are right. I wish. But the fact, if u ask anyone wif some political ideas and keep track on the news..they will tell u many many stories with solid back ups. Eyesores, u working wif government? If so, please tell them "dont EAT our money so much and please make full use" And dont get me wrong, i m not selfish. I donate money and help many ppl more than u think.

Btw, i wonder wats the latest news u read about Tiger Wood. The Police suspected was the wife who did to the car, Tiger was making stories to cover it up. There are many things still unsolved by Police.

Proton is improving, no doubt on tat. We hope to see more come from Proton.

Eyesore, please dont see things so shallow. Thanks.

• Carl Wong on Dec 09, 2009 at 12:22 am

I do support the hybird development but please don't let consumers choose between living and dying, paying a few thousand more to live is worth more than that. It is year 2009 and they're still selling one of the version of Exora without ABS, EBD, and airbags. I hope all cars from Proton pass the European crash test and safety systems such as ABS, EBD and airbags is a MUST.

• initial R on Dec 09, 2009 at 4:24 am

Hi Steven…. welcome back to Malaysia….. Actually I enjoy with your comment. New perspective from migrated Malaysian. Malaysia has change for past 5-6 year already. Lots have change since u left Malaysia. Corruptions still have but have less than before. The surface of Malaysian came thinner (that why u can see the back side of Malaysian). Proton still young (25 year), but the improvement is there. I don't know if u ever drives old Saga with new Saga. Not mention other model…. Maybe tax in Malaysia a bit high compare to other… but this tax has used to build infrastructure in Malaysia. The problem in Malaysia is most contractor, vendor & supplier are greedy. That makes some project are high cost. However, ppl do work not for charity. But say no for bribe and please report to Malaysia bribe enforcement.

• zaidi on Dec 09, 2009 at 8:47 am

malaysian car very stupid……….tak payah la nak bangga…..8 tahun pakai all sound come out………bunyi tikus pun ader dalam bonet……all kelab kereta malaysia hanya untuk org2 yang sengkek dan tak mampu nakpakai kereta import…sayanggggg sampai tua la tak merasa "what real driving mean" sbb di perbodohkan oleh proton

• Eyesore on Dec 09, 2009 at 4:37 pm

steven, i'm am not denying that there might be something going on behind… maybe it is not as big or as worse as you think they are. If you want to factor in corruption / a lil bit of bribe ( let say gifts), tho i hate to admit it, it has become a everyday thing in this aging world. Give one country anywhere in this world where corruption doesn't exist… NONE! Btw what you heard about the 'story behind' might not always be true.

I'm not seeing things too shallow… if you're saying the current G is corrupt, do you sincerely believe if the opposition somehow become G they going to be clean??? I doubt that, even now they themselves are rocked with moral issue, corruption, kronies etc…. And no i'm not working with G but i do have friends who r quite highly ranked in the G.

Ppl can tell stories with solid backup, but how true is it? If a lawyer can make a judge believe that a criminal is innonce with a story and a solid backup (tho it's not true story) then it is not a suprise for me….

Btw you ask about the future, the govt has opened/create the way for it. Now its up the ppl running it to make it a success…or you want the G to keep backing them up?

• TO SYOH, how do u know Japan n korean automakers sales millions in 25 years??? Dont u know that Proton already sales for saga more than 1million units last year, so does it counts as millions sales in 25 years????

So "BOY", please get ur statement right. if u dont believe me that saga sales more than 1 million units, please find out in paultan news last years. So, what is ur take????

For ur info, if there is no tax for foreign car, who are the most infected??? it is perodua, naza n inokom. why? it is because the oem(toyota, daihatsu, peugot, kia, hyundai) will not use their service anymore because it is cheaper to sale it by themselves, so stop blaming proton for that reason.

• steven on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Hi again Eyesore: I do have frensss in G too. They are all Tan Sri, YB…. many other high rank. They even admit themselves. Of coz i wont say who there r by all means. Thats why i m so disappointed. Sometimes they r forced to be like this, because their higher superior forced them to be like tat. Even the highest can be corrupted too. Anyway, its not just gifts, u n i all know about it. Of coz, there are many arguments like " If its not this current G u think the OPp will do better? Wont corrupt?Maybe Corrupt MORE…" Maybe, maybe not, never TRY never know. Eyesore, we both have different standing ground. U choose to believe tat the situation is not tat bad, while i choose to believe is far worse. However, i found myself a greener land, and a promising future in Australia. So, this G or tat G or even No G, doesnt matter to me too much after 5 years when i bring my family oversea. Instead of waiting and hoping for better tomorrow here, i might as well aboard another more promising board. Till the end, i still see myself as a Malaysian coz i am born here and will often come back for nice food and visit some frens. Guess u n ur high rank frens do great businesses. CheerS!

• TO STEVEN, welcome back to Malaysia, but just want to ask u about ur ride. if u r in oversea for a long time, how come u have perdana V6? And it is a little bit confius for a person like u have perdana V6(kete malaysia yg xselamat), honda accord and bmw 5 series. It is quite confusing why u buy perdana V6 and also where do u buy it and when??? can u make it clear when u r in overseas(what year and for how long) and when do u come back in malaysia (year and how long). and By the way, how old r u?

Dont belittle eyesore by saying his doing his degree in UK. Maybe he is working with big company in UK.

hope u have time answering my questions. nice knowing u.

• TO STEVEN, welcome back to Malaysia, but just want to ask u about ur ride. if u r in oversea for a long time, how come u have perdana V6? And it is a little bit confius for a person like u have perdana V6(kete malaysia yg xselamat), honda accord and bmw 5 series. It is quite confusing why u buy perdana V6 and also where do u buy it and when??? can u make it clear when u r in overseas(what year and for how long) and when do u come back in malaysia (year and how long). and By the way, how old r u?

Dont belittle eyesore by saying his doing his degree in UK. Maybe he is working with big company in UK.

hope u have time answering my questions. nice knowing u..

• to Zaidi, can u define "Real driving" means???

What car are u driving that justify u to say u have experience real driving???

Care to explain in layman how to drive a car (racing style) since u have the REAL DRIVING EXPERIENCE?

• initial R on Dec 10, 2009 at 12:18 am

zaidi said,

December 9, 2009 @ 12:47 am

malaysian car very stupid……….tak payah la nak bangga…..8 tahun pakai all sound come out………bunyi tikus pun ader dalam bonet……all kelab kereta malaysia hanya untuk org2 yang sengkek dan tak mampu nakpakai kereta import…sayanggggg sampai tua la tak merasa “what real driving mean” sbb di perbodohkan oleh proton

————————————————-

Maybe yes…. but how come my accord after 2 year used i facing with stiffness absorber with some rat sound ?. Send to Honda SC but still problem accured. So the solution i change to TIEN absorber that easy for me to adjust base my driving style…. Who said we can't used Import car ?. Pernah dengar ayat nie ?….. "Belajar rajin2, Kerja elok2 baru boleh nikmat hidup"… nie time blajar, ponteng kelas….. kerja malas, tau sharp 5.30 angkat bag cabut…… usaha tingkatkan diri tadak…. pastu salahkan orang… Ingat 1 jari tuding kesalahan pada orang, ada 4 jari lagi yang menuding balik salah kita…. fikir sendiri…… Proton tak perbodohkan kita, tapi kita memperbodohkan diri dengan kereta import….. Sampai bila nak bangga dengan kereta rebadge ?…..

• steven on Dec 10, 2009 at 1:16 am

Specially To Mat, as to answer his questions: I list it down is easier. What car, from when, at where, remarks.

1) Honda CRV (97-99)@Msia (sold it dont use it often, but good car),

2) Perdana V6 (01-02)@Msia (accident, luckily survived, but head of the car totally damaged, airbag din deploy) , Land cruiser (01- current)(great low maintenance car! For visiting construction site), Toyota Echo (01-04)@ Aus (Good small car, great fuel consumption, sold it cos not using it often)

3) Merc Eclass (02-04)@Msia (changing for E60), Rav4(02-04)@Aus (great car, better than CRV, Sold for Gtr34)

4) BMW E60 5series (04-current)@ Msia(love the car still, AC edition), Nissan Gtr34 (04-current)@Aus(loving it everyday, Nismo), Mini Cooper (04-06)@ Aus(regretted for selling it, its a lovely great car, JCW)

5) BMW E46 3 series (06-current)@Msia (good medium sedan, M3 styled M sport), Toyota Harrier (07-09)@Msia (sold it for Murano, it suck), Myvi (07-08) (no safety, too noisy, but driving well, in fact drive better than Mini!)

6) Honda NSX (09 – current)( love it more everyday) , Murano (09-current) (great power, great comfort. Great car)

I was in Australia for the past 15 years, back and forth for work. Now age 30s. Came back 5 years ago. Since i flew back and forth between Aus and Msia, i kept cars at both different places.

Ok, i hope din bored others, this reply is for Mat. Thanks.

• steven on Dec 10, 2009 at 1:22 am

I must give some credit to Perdana V6 as i survived a small accident while someone knocked from behind then i "kissed" the front car, just small knock, my car was DAMAGED, got smoke came out from engine, the front imported car were scratched. My air bag din deploy. So i was pissed, then get insurance agent to fix all up and i sold it cheap.

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:19 pm

Sorry to hear that steven.

But at least we have hard core ProtonGayBoys in here to buy that second hand perdana of yours.

Afterall, they're die hard fans.

MalaysiaBoleh! haha.

• actually, proton car was improved.

but maybe need more hard work and free from all control including this government. So that, PROTON will work hard in improving their quality to win in this car's industry….

Go PROTON… and leave this government.

Be Free…

We all need a car in good quality with suitable price.

• Wow, i envy u steven, had owned so many cars. I really hope one day I can own one like u too. By the way, what do u mean myvi better than mini? Actually love to hear ur experience story in overseas. Maybe can share with me personally if its ok.

• steven on Dec 11, 2009 at 12:04 am

Mat: Myvi is better than Mini in term of practicality, Myvi has bigger boot, softer suspension and has 4 dours. Mini is of coz safer, Go-Kart style suspension and really cool to be in. In Malaysia, i will rather drive Myvi cos Malaysia's road condition is not as good as overseas i mean Australia. Mini is still my choice of small car.

• oic, i get ur point. I agree with u in that term. Yes, it is enjoyable to drive sports oriented cars, but in some ways, we long for comfort through out our journey especially Malaysian B-Road. Have u driven the latest persona n exora? i dont now about ur opinion, but for me, proton alraedy advance by leaps n bounds if u compare it with the old one. of course, it is not on par yet with other automakers but still not far away from them n their strong DNA is Lotus famous ride n handling.

Just give them 5 more years to evolve under the new management. he just start to control proton in 2006 when satria neo was launched. so u can see a lot of improvements from 2006-2009 under his management.

and just a correction, yes, perdana wear proton emblems but it is actually totally mitsubishi cars(proton just rebadge). from power terrains, platform, chasis, gearbox, handling, all of its come from MMC. proton did not invest in such niche market, but they need one, so the easiest way is rebadge. only the latter perdana v6 got touch of suspension tuning from lotus. thats all. if u check ur wing mirror, u will see the MMC name below it because it is parts from MMC, that is why proton cannot control its price. it can be considered half CKD Half CBU(my own term).

yes, previously the tax is to protect proton because they still rebadging cars, but nowadays they are independance. the tax is to protect perodua, naza n inokom because they are still rebadging. if no tax, toyota,daihatsu, kia, hyundai n etc will selling the cars themselves, n get so many profits. if they used perodua, naza n inikom(drb), thay have to share profit with others. why bother to share profit when u can have it ur own.

i believe, if proton exora h-line without tax, the price will be around RM65k, so it is an affordable MPV if u compare with toyota vios trd(only diff with standard is the cosmetic change only) without tax price around RM68k.

exora m-line will be around rm59k, and vios g spec in Malaysia without tax will be around rm 62k, so the standatd vios(CAR) is already expensive if compare with exora m-line(MPV), and vios is only for asean region only because it is a low cost car for toyota for asean.

Just give them 5 more years, i believe, there will be on par at least with korean.

• Carl Wong on Dec 12, 2009 at 12:21 am

mat sorry for the stupid question but what do you mean by CKD and CBU?

• initial R on Dec 12, 2009 at 1:15 am

Carl Wong said,

December 11, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

—————————————————

Help answer……

CBU – Completely Built up, cars which are imported in whole fully assembled from another country.

CKD – Completely Knocked Down, cars which are brought into the country in the form of kits. The kits are assembled locally, with alot of the parts not supplied in the main kit sourced from local manufacturers.

• Carl Wong on Dec 12, 2009 at 1:32 am

Thank you :].

• tokmoh on Dec 12, 2009 at 6:55 am

steven : Perdana V6 never had airbag… but it had ABS.

• thank u bro initial r for answering the questions on my behalf, and thank u tok moh for pointing out, i just notice, yes, of course perdana n perdana v6 never had airbags, so how can u have one, it is a mistery to solve Steven ;-), hopefully, it would not haunted ur sleep. anyway, nice knowing somebody from abroad and also to bro tokmoh n initial r, nice knowing u.

and for those who thinks CAMPRO is from Mitsu, now let me embrace u with some info on campro projects, courtesy of lotus inc

With a production launch in 2004 the CamPro project has successfully confirmed Proton as an independent engine manufacturer. The new 1.6 and 1.3 litre gasoline engines were engineered with Lotus and now power the new Proton Gen 2 vehicle, the first application of a Proton designed and manufactured engine.

The Campro project was initiated in late 1999 when Proton made clear their vision to complete their independence, by replacing engines currently being built under licence with their own designs. Proton also aimed to transform their understanding of the process of engine design and development to confirm a future as an independent engine manufacturer.

The brief was given to Lotus to design from a clean sheet of paper an engine of 1.3L and 1.6L capacity, with world class combinations of power and torque, future emissions protection and minimum component BOM cost. To maximise profitability the program was to utilise much of the existing Proton manufacturing facilities, even while they still produced some of the existing

engines under licence, and have maximum commonisation of components between the two new engines to limit inventory.

Achievement of the stringent BOM targets required a flexible combination of local vendors and a global supply base. The Lotus solution to these requirements constituted an engineering programme which spanned the globe, drawing on the engineering expertise of Proton, Lotus and a host of suppliers and technical partners. Co-ordination and delivery of this complex

global project required not only engineering excellence but also the application of new technology to make it a reality.

The following describes the resources, methods and operational locations which were key in delivering the CamPro program. The project was split into two distinct operating phases, Prototype and Production, to reflect the changing needs of the programme as it progressed to start of production.

Prototype Phases

For Mule, F1 and F2 prototype phases the majority of the work and ‘centre of gravity’ of the project was located in the UK to exploit Lotus strengths in powertrain development. Throughout this period the project, product engineering, CAE, development and quality function groups remained based at Lotus Engineering, Hethel.

The Lotus design team included Proton engine designers who made up a third of the total team size and were all based within one confidential office. The Proton design staff relocated to the UK for this activity for a period of 2 years, undertaking much of the technology transfer process. The work related to production supplier nomination was co-ordinated and ably supported by

Proton SST staff, also on secondment, working with Lotus Purchasing staff and liaising with Proton Group Purchasing and Project Management groups in Malaysia.

The project team had daily communications with project staff in Malaysia, which was coordinated by an LEM project manager who relocated to Malaysia to support this essential liaison and interface with the client. Typical for Lotus projects, a product engineering team was appointed to co-ordinate the engineering of new components and ystems. Key to their activity was management of the functional engineers based at various sites including suppliers. These suppliers were predominantly based in Europe, the Far East

(including Malaysia, Korea and Japan), and in Australia. The functional engineers provided specific technical skills necessary to develop the component and were drawn from the best available to Lotus including, where necessary, Simultaneous Engineering Partner (SEP) companies employed to provide specialist knowledge to the team.

Communication between the engineering team rapidly developed to dominate and dictate project activity and was managed using email, video conferencing and copious amounts of travelling. To support work with the UK design team Lotus implemented a PC based CAD viewing tool which allowed project staff to see the same CAD data as the designer during discussions and meetings

despite the physical separation between sites.

To enable efficient world-wide communications a project database was set up from the start of the program by the Project and Product Engineering group, it being essential to manage and co-ordinate activity in real-time across multiple time-zones.

Utilising contemporary technology the database was developed by Lotus specifically to support Campro and implemented on the secure Lotus intranet, with direct access for all project staff and connectivity from all global engineering sites.

The (SINDUR) database ensured that engineering concerns and the engineering release of drawings and critical project data could be communicated and approved by program staff across several sites. The software also provided the basis for subsequent transfer of the project centre to Malaysia for the later production stages of the project.

All engineering drawing releases were controlled using the project engineering database. This allowed the requirements for designs to be instigated by the engineering team and communicated to the designers and engineering team regardless of location.

Drawings and models were developed and then released through the SINDUR database with authorised digital sign off by all key staff including design, project, engineering, development, CAE and purchasing. Completed design data was then released and exported to Proton for input into the Proton data management system.

The core CAE team made up of Lotus and Proton engineers was based at Hethel with the analysis being led by experienced Lotus engineers. Further illustrating the Group vision, certain aspects of the CAE work were undertaken in Malaysia by Proton staff following their return from the UK.

Prototype engine build and development testing continued in the UK in dedicated facilities at Hethel. Engineering concerns generated from the test program were put into the engineering database for resolution, management, reporting and control. These concerns being accessible by all function groups for monitoring and approval.

Pre-Production

In the pre-production phases of the program the operating model changed to reflect the progressive ramp-up of manufacturing preparations for start of production (SOP) in Malaysia. To manage this activity the focus of the engineering staff moved to the Proton Powertrain satellite office in Shah Alam, Malaysia. The product engineering leader relocated to Malaysia and

led a team of European and Malaysian engineers from Lotus Engineering Malaysia. Their responsibilities remained the same as the prototype phase to deliver the engineering to provide a robust design.

A relocated design team was made up of an experienced design leader from Lotus Engineering (LE) Hethel and locally recruited Lotus Engineering Malaysia (LEM) staff. This team progressed the design through to production, releasing drawings and data to the Proton data management system (PDM).

To support the growing development activities for durability and validation the project now utilised facilities at both LE Hethel and Proton Shah Alam. The extensive vehicle calibration program for Campro was continued by Proton staff under the leadership of a senior experienced Lotus employee who also relocated to Malaysia to support the program. Calibration test work, with vehicles being shipped overseas where necessary, took place in Malaysia, the UK, Sweden and Australia.

Proton Group Purchasing had production purchasing responsibility and placed all purchase orders for the preproduction and production components and tooling. To support the supply base preparations, Supplier Quality Assurance (SQA) engineers travelled the world, visiting suppliers and assessing PPAP readiness. Throughout this phase of the program the project database

(SINDUR) was essential in co-ordinating the engineering data from the two primary engineering sites, engineers using the system to record /manage data and co-ordinate activity such as concern resolution.

Conclusions

The Campro program was a very complex project utilising the best engineering resource around the world. Effective use of this resource required the application of proven Lotus Powertrain best practice and development of dedicated project management tools.

The project activities spanned the world and demonstrate the global nature of modern engineering programs and the strengths required to deliver these.

The CamPro engine has now entered production in Malaysia with

a first application in the Proton Gen 2 vehicle and Campro engine coming soon will equip with Lotus Patent Cam Profile Switching (CPS) system and Lotus patent Variable Induction Manifold (VIM)System that will give the engine a boost of technology advancement.

Sources: Lotus Engineering

So, sapa kata senang je buat enjin mcm ah beng buat, bacalah, ini secara general je, belum details. bukan senang nak buat enjin beb, so, sapa yang ckp mudah aje, tengok dulu macammana engine development, ni x termasuk gearbox n seterusnya sampai siap kete. Ni baru part enjin aje. k.

• steven on Dec 14, 2009 at 4:10 pm

Tokmoh: Wah, then for a sedan car tats around RM100k has no airbag is worthless. Luckily it was a small accident.

• steven on Dec 14, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Mat: Wow! u working wif Proton? Really informative.

• Eyesore on Dec 15, 2009 at 9:01 pm

well, buying a car not looking carefully at its specs, assuming it has airbag and then blaming the manufacturer for airbag failed to deployed (when it has no airbag to begin with) somehow sounds even more worthless to me =p… no offence…

• no steven, i'm not working for proton. I like to read automotive journal, watch astro 734, auto magazines, auto blogs, etc becoz it really open my eyes and that is why i dont like people just assume, get the facts right first. i'm happy to share a little of knowledge of automotive with people.

• steven on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:48 pm

Eyesore: For your info, i dun look at spec when buy cars cos i got the habit that the sales person drives the cars to me and introduce to me. So i consider RM100k Perdana is the best and cheapest luxury car comparing to the other imported ones. Then just buy it and get it sent to my home. Then after accident i just realize the air bag is not there as i did assume for a RM100k local brand car should at least have one! So i sold it after the incident. But at least i survived and still sitting in my office and reply the comments. Erm, i dun get why u say worthless. Nevermind, dude we r from different world. Hence, i will prefer to ignore ur comments to/on me in order to prevent any unhappy events happening. Have great day!

Mat: Sure, great knowing person like u.

• GEN-2 has CPS engine…. but PESONA hasn't

So… anyone here has experience in adding CPS to PESONA engine?

Is it could happen?

How much the cost?

About engine performance?