Honda reveals new Super GT racecar – the HSV-010

Advertisement

As reported before, Honda’s “new NSX” will see the light of day not as a production road car, but as replacement to the long serving NSX-GT in the Japanese Super GT series. Honda Racing has confirmed this by releasing info and a picture of its 2010 race car.

Called the HSV-010 GT, the front engine, rear-wheel drive Honda competes in the GT500 class and will be powered by a 3.4-litre V8 engine, as per Super GT regulations. HSV stands for Honda Sports Velocity.

Super GT is for production cars, but Honda has managed to find a loophole in rulebook that permit cars that are production ready (which this prototype NSX is), though not necessarily in production.

The 2010 Super GT season starts on March 20-21 at Suzuka and we will be able to see the HSV-010 at Sepang in June.

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

About the Author

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

1. kuku stim says:

Wonder how it really looks like

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. hengkem says:

wow, only if Honda were to mass produce it….

3. schizomoriya says:

more shots would be lovely!

4. Jon says:

I agree more photo's would be good.

5. kraprz says:

fuiyooo….i tot dat honda gonna be focusing more on the environmental align vehicle but this is totally awesome.

guessing they are doing "killing two birds with one stone", testing preproduction NSX and leading in GTseries. just wait and see lah..

P.s: i'm first!!!!

6. csv says:

i think after this, the ruling might change to become only for cars IN production, rather than production ready.

much like the M3 CSL issue back then.

7. initial R says:

Huh…. Dammm will hit the market if they produce it even for limited edition quantity. Hope will appear in any game console (As Gran Tourismo=PS3 ?). That the chance only to drive & feel it…

8. chew ban says:

CAN DRIVE IT, CANT FEEL IT

9. Norbert says:

Strangely it reminds me of the 350Z :-P I guess the angle of the shot is the reason why…

10. Mysticmind says:

Now everyone Flat Blacked.

11. hiruma kecil says:

7th…

12. DOME Co.Engineering says:

Looks kinda shitty to me… Honda what happened to you?

13. mystvearn says:

You sure that is not some TVR Honda took it after the company went bankrupt?

14. takeo1070 says:

way to go HONDA…awaits you at sepang..

15. Wen says:

Looks like a dream…

16. akupung says:

thats one ridiculously good looking car

17. ben says:

the front looks like a tvr sagaris

18. Mazda 3 MPS says:

why no production T.T

19. mitlanevo says:

make it into production, then bring it to TG's test track, then held a race with GT-R and LFA…

waiting to see that happen…

20. JULIAN_LEE says:

if the rule changes then kantoi lah honda.

21. jonny blaze says:

VTEC?

22. orido says:

it is powered by VTEC Turbo.

23. Jaybond says:

It will be powered by the same 3.5 L V8 N.A, engine as was used the last few seasons..

24. Looking A Round says:

3.5L V8 is Super GT Engine regulation..so i rekon if they put this car into production it could be a V6 with IMA motor..hybrid?..hehe.the power of Eco..hehe..

25. squawk says:

Damn, it looks mean!

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: Peugeot appoints new design director – brand’s “new identity” to be launched next month
Next Story: Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team official renderings