Honda reveals new Super GT racecar – the HSV-010

As reported before, Honda’s “new NSX” will see the light of day not as a production road car, but as replacement to the long serving NSX-GT in the Japanese Super GT series. Honda Racing has confirmed this by releasing info and a picture of its 2010 race car.

Called the HSV-010 GT, the front engine, rear-wheel drive Honda competes in the GT500 class and will be powered by a 3.4-litre V8 engine, as per Super GT regulations. HSV stands for Honda Sports Velocity.

Super GT is for production cars, but Honda has managed to find a loophole in rulebook that permit cars that are production ready (which this prototype NSX is), though not necessarily in production.

The 2010 Super GT season starts on March 20-21 at Suzuka and we will be able to see the HSV-010 at Sepang in June.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kuku stim on Dec 23, 2009 at 11:29 pm

Wonder how it really looks like

• hengkem on Dec 23, 2009 at 11:32 pm

wow, only if Honda were to mass produce it….

• schizomoriya on Dec 23, 2009 at 11:42 pm

more shots would be lovely!

• I agree more photo's would be good.

• kraprz on Dec 23, 2009 at 11:59 pm

fuiyooo….i tot dat honda gonna be focusing more on the environmental align vehicle but this is totally awesome.

guessing they are doing "killing two birds with one stone", testing preproduction NSX and leading in GTseries. just wait and see lah..

P.s: i'm first!!!!

• i think after this, the ruling might change to become only for cars IN production, rather than production ready.

much like the M3 CSL issue back then.

• initial R on Dec 24, 2009 at 12:19 am

Huh…. Dammm will hit the market if they produce it even for limited edition quantity. Hope will appear in any game console (As Gran Tourismo=PS3 ?). That the chance only to drive & feel it…

• chew ban on Dec 24, 2009 at 12:35 am

CAN DRIVE IT, CANT FEEL IT

• Norbert on Dec 24, 2009 at 12:51 am

Strangely it reminds me of the 350Z :-P I guess the angle of the shot is the reason why…

• Mysticmind on Dec 24, 2009 at 12:52 am

Now everyone Flat Blacked.

• hiruma kecil on Dec 24, 2009 at 12:53 am

7th…

• DOME Co.Engineering on Dec 24, 2009 at 1:12 am

Looks kinda shitty to me… Honda what happened to you?

• mystvearn on Dec 24, 2009 at 1:15 am

You sure that is not some TVR Honda took it after the company went bankrupt?

• takeo1070 on Dec 24, 2009 at 1:34 am

way to go HONDA…awaits you at sepang..

• Looks like a dream…

• akupung on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:00 am

thats one ridiculously good looking car

• the front looks like a tvr sagaris

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:04 am

why no production T.T

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:20 am

make it into production, then bring it to TG's test track, then held a race with GT-R and LFA…

waiting to see that happen…

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:20 am

if the rule changes then kantoi lah honda.

• jonny blaze on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:08 pm

VTEC?

• orido on Dec 24, 2009 at 10:33 pm

it is powered by VTEC Turbo.

• Jaybond on Dec 25, 2009 at 12:46 am

It will be powered by the same 3.5 L V8 N.A, engine as was used the last few seasons..

• Looking A Round on Dec 25, 2009 at 9:42 pm

3.5L V8 is Super GT Engine regulation..so i rekon if they put this car into production it could be a V6 with IMA motor..hybrid?..hehe.the power of Eco..hehe..

• squawk on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:48 am

Damn, it looks mean!