Proton Persona facelift spotted fully uncovered!

The new facelift for the Proton Persona must be really close around the corner (like seriously close) as a whole truckload of the freshly updated Persona was spotted on the NKVE today without any camo or any kind of covering at all!

The new tail lamps can be seen in their full glory – gone is the circular design of the past that originated from the GEN2 and in place of them are new LED tail lamps, but of course we can’t see the LEDs lit up here, although we’ve already seen those in the past in a spy video. The new Persona has a sporty bodykit fitted and what you can see in these shots are the side skirts, a rear lip, and a bootlid spoiler. There’s probably a front lip too to complete the package but it’s not visible here.
[zenphotopress number=999 album=926]

This trailerload was spotted on the NKVE near the ‘Grand Canyon’-like area that cuts through the hills. It was probably coming down from the Tanjong Malim factory heading towards Proton’s Centre Of Excellence headquarters in Shah Alam. You can click the two thumbnails above for high resolution versions.

If you would like to get a glimpse of what the front looks like, check out our previous spyshots where we snapped the car at a Petronas station in Sepang.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• arfaie on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:53 am

waw…nice!

• arfaie on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:54 am

this line up should replaced SE version rite?

• bohpee on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:54 am

the front look??

• teelim on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:56 am

(O_O;) The rear skirting does not go well with the car. Looks like rojak bodykit.

TL

• DONT INSULT PROTON ! on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:56 am

1st!! Awesome!!

• Noname on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:56 am

er… the back looks like Benz….

• DONT INSULT PROTON ! on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:57 am

Is there bodykit come in Basic model?

• first! nice one

• Littlefire on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:59 am

Err… The rear lights look like from Previos Honda City rear lights…

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:59 am

This Tuesday,is the day.I really can't wait for it.new tail light is quite similar to merc c class's one,front grille design is different than gen2 cps's one.

• WhiteFox on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:00 am

Hope the engine bay there also got update not only update exterior

• mitlanevo on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:02 am

the bodykit looks very awful, why not Proton make into single-piece instead of add on?

• armpit on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:05 am

yea the rear skirt doesnt blend well with the car. it doesnt even match the side skirt.

• kimi_ on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:06 am

I wonder which proton designer who design the rear lights as he/she really

like those from MERC c-class…..

1. SAGA BLM- rear light from previous gen MERC c-class

2. now Persona – from latest gen c-class

If want copy MERC design, then copy whole BETTER

• waimak on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:08 am

This Persona E is another notch of improvement from Persona SE in terms of trim and finishing and performance. Dont trust my words, go and see for yourself.. or better still test drive it.. I happened to see for myself this new facelifted persona in Kesas Highway near COE when they were about to unload the car..

• boring on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:09 am

why didnt they did something like myvi (for rear bumper) which they make it whole new not just attach skirts to the old bumper………..

• Nice. With decent 17" rims, will be an awesome VIP car.

• eva31s on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:09 am

The tail lamps looks like a C-class :/

• MoFaz on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:10 am

they've learned from saga, make the design simple rather than going too futuristic, such as the crop-circle one.

• the rear lights look like merc c class

• Persatuan Anti Toyot on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:13 am

those plastic skirting add ons looks horrible, as well as the non functional rear spoiler. looks great any way. under the rear proton badge, is that a boot release push button?

• neo addict (Member) on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:13 am

the tail light reminds me of Opel/vauxhaul type..but its nice for persona..getting bored with the gen2 tail light..

• pittrie on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:17 am

tokey kedai skirt ahbeng mane la dpt suply skirt pesona nih

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:18 am

they made it look worse

• Neutral on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:19 am

nice?which part?hehe..just kidding.xfaham lagi sebab xnampak banyak.but i think the side body signal lamp change to side mirror signal right? hope to see more picture soon

• BRAZBUZ on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:22 am

a way better facelift than upcoming cr-v facelift

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:22 am

kimi_ said,

March 6, 2010 @ 11:06 pm

——————————————————

don't ever follow china car maker ways,100% copy

sorry dude,i think a lot of car makers out there had done the same thing,proton is way better than perodua,right

oops,i almost forget,japanese own them.haha

• chap_de_x on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:23 am

booked one already…eager to get my hand on it….

• izz86 on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:29 am

i want this car…

hope price not to high…

• Anonymous on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:32 am

At last, they change current lousy side mirror. Too small and i'm scared about persona blind spot, coz mirror really small & curvy edges. Need to turn and look back by myself.

Lucky new facelift owner.

• geli-nya….

• VIOSuser on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:44 am

The best Proton ever in the history….

Agree with me Dugong Go Hell ?

• Noname on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:46 am

kimi_ said,

————————-

the Merc class rear light can attract ppl to buy proton car. thats why he/she likes it

• theanswer on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:46 am

oh ya..the side mirror.. same as perdana..small side mirror..even blm side mirror is better.

• apeng on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:51 am

mmm…not bad….

proton should produce this design on the 1st day of PERSONA launching….

• interior facelifted as well? proton should seriously look into persona's interior, it sucks big time at the moment.

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:54 am

theanswer said,

March 6, 2010 @ 11:46 pm

oh ya..the side mirror.. same as perdana..small side mirror..even blm side mirror is better.

——————————————-

err side mirror is taken from exora,not perdana

and persona new side mirror is way bigger than the one on blm

• nazri on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:55 am

wow u hv very 'sharp' eye.. how come u know the facelift side mirror small??

i must say upcoming toyota passo/myvi tiru side mirror gen2/persona and comes without glovebox.. peace :)

• i saw one at a proton showroom in kuching… with the side mirrors unpainted..

• let's see on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:06 am

this facelift not just for SE models

for normal models as well

noticed the upper car, 2nd from right

with steel wheel n unpainted doorhandle

should be a b-line

right paul?

• San Peng Road on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:11 am

KANTOI!

• San Peng Road on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:15 am

Tunggu Paul saje nk buat 2nd story lps ni hahaha!

• S.Roma on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:15 am

Dear All,

From my opi, the back is kinda bulky la… but nice… agree with u all, the rear light looks like merc…

how about the front? cant see meh?

i hope they also upgrade the engine a bit… more hp and torque la…

• mohgui (Member) on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:20 am

wonder have they sorted out the power window problem…

• oldwira on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:35 am

My sister in law put her booking already. This facelift is cheaper than current SE version but added with extra features including improved 32-bit ECU, it means more economic in fuel consumption. It front look is better and more aggressive look. Better look at it first before u give any comment, trust me, u gonna love it.

• sedusaX4 on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:43 am

I love it !!!

• kedaikopi on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:00 am

pakcik tengok, boleh tahan laa..

EXTERIOR:
    http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_B1nY4g263Po/S473RlDWa8I…

INTERIOR:
    http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_B1nY4g263Po/S476gNPeFvI…

credit to: funtastickodesign & autoakasia

• Tiadaid on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:05 am

Heh, didn't even bother to cover it up. They know ppl are gonna take a picture and spread the news, so they just let them. Free publicity!

• Eric G on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:06 am

so BEN-si…

• izz86 on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:08 am

its look like have 4 type variation on that pic. back look like H-Line.. second form back look like SE, front of that look like B-line because its rim color black and front maybe M-line… am I right??

• klguy on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:16 am

hmm, at least this facelift has got some significant changes. not like those japs, change the front grill and call it facelift.

• imran on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:20 am

Just a few change :D

• MBX Boy on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:49 am

Good… at last they got rid of that old-fashioned tail lights!

• gnemiuhc (Member) on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:03 am

i owned waja before for 2 years…like the handling, seriously the handling is better than those japanese…

i drove my cousin persona (m)…handling is still good, plastic quality can see some improvement…but still not up to those japanese …

Proton survived because of gov. protection, by taxing those japanese cars…without this, proton sure die…50k- 65k…we can own Toyota altis, h.civic in Thailand…

but here we have no choice, proton is the cheapest…but the cost of building a car should be the same as those Japanese…how come proton cannot be on par with them…all the vendors also have no choice, but to produce poorer quality product….

if not enuf budget to buy Japanese car, proton is the logical buy…those 30k extra can be used for petrol…

• nothing interesting….

• chaku on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:30 am

i have to agree…the rear skirting doesnt match the rest of the kit

• @r3|4^2 on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:38 am

@theanswer

eh, this one is seems got new side mirror, more rectangular than the previous, also got signal indicator too..

but seriously, the rear bumper lips & side skirts looks.. cheap-ish. Duh..

• undang2x on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:40 am

Same 1.6 CPS ……. Still waiting for a better. Engine.

• sentero on Mar 07, 2010 at 11:27 am

This Persona facelift is already open for booking…

A friend of mine just placed his booking yesterday…

Due to be launched 10th March…

• shawal on Mar 07, 2010 at 11:51 am

changing tail lamps oni, plus horrible bodykit, wont bodykits add weight? ergo , decrease fuel consumption? doesnt look very aerodynamic either…

But what im really interested in is the interior… hopefully they'll improve the quality which is lacking still..

AND… between persona and saga… saga's interior is more spacious, especially at the back

• asgard on Mar 07, 2010 at 12:27 pm

nice one,looking forward to the price

• asgard on Mar 07, 2010 at 12:33 pm

its seems the b line and m line doesnt get the bodykit but still get the led light

• geng outdoor on Mar 07, 2010 at 1:03 pm

waiting… want to see it live before goes to comment… think better that ways… picture show nothing…

• Wira Owner on Mar 07, 2010 at 1:17 pm

thumbs up … :)

• no commen on the rims guys…?

;p

• Babelon on Mar 07, 2010 at 4:41 pm

the tail light reminds me Suzuki SX4 sedan

• hikari on Mar 07, 2010 at 4:42 pm

a nice n thumbs up facelift 4 our mesian automaker..

copy n learn from others iz not a bad thing.. de bad thing is only gov. should cut tax for local brand cars so that persona,waja in mesia can oso get de same price s in saudi,iran,uk,oz…

• CPS engine pls… Normal CAMPRO looks to have higher fuel comsumption.

• gunblade on Mar 07, 2010 at 4:57 pm

look nice!

• staff on Mar 07, 2010 at 4:59 pm

ahh…. Sh*t…

Why dont i wait for a year then buy this persona…

This one come with new ECU…

• theanswer on Mar 07, 2010 at 5:15 pm

the p1 in history, proton putra and wira 1.8 hehehe.

• White Jack on Mar 07, 2010 at 5:18 pm

WOW nice new rear lights… should be another big sales figures after this update. I think without bodykits should be nice too.

No front shots ah ?

• MonfereBlogspot on Mar 07, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Yesterday I also saw this Proton Persona on trailer at NKVE near Aman Suria, but I tak sempat take a picture coz it passed too fast.

• proton on Mar 07, 2010 at 5:29 pm

proton power

• kimi_ said,

March 6, 2010 @ 11:06 pm

———————

many maker do the same thing…still they not copy the whole thing

• JL@ipl (Member) on Mar 07, 2010 at 5:41 pm

t last, they change current lousy side mirror. Too small and i’m scared about persona blind spot, coz mirror really small & curvy edges. Need to turn and look back by myself.

Lucky new facelift owner.

——————————————————————

Why need to turn your head?

Spend less than RM5, buy the small, circular blind spot mirror. Believe me, it work! All car had blind spot. That small mirror cover them all, very useful for the parallel parking. You can even see the roadside kerb as you reverse you car into the parking bay.

• Regardless of the changes on the car body, the main concern is how much does it cost now? is it worth the facelift?

• mitlanevo said,

March 6, 2010 @ 11:02 pm

the bodykit looks very awful, why not Proton make into single-piece instead of add on?

————————–

maybe for previous version of persona owner wan to convert to new facelift for cheaper price coz only small part not the whole part

• DUASINGGIT on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:22 pm

persona ni nampak mantop, masa pergi proton nak tempah exora basic la cadangnya, salesman kata around rm53k harga persona facelift tu. hmmmm….kalau exora basic rm58k…masih menimbang…

• it's okay la for proton

dah nama pun facelift

• jambol ko on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:28 pm

the bodykit look kinda wierd to the car,maybe the h-line only coming with those bodykit…………LOL

• khali-FaH !! on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:35 pm

better take on Exora auto, better for long term usage..the white one looks good dude..

• Jamal on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:35 pm

i think proton cars now are more reliable than the past couple of years. better handling and better built as well. they just need a bloody better engine with good FC. and a litlle improvement on the design.

• khali-FaH !! on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:37 pm

DUASINGGIT,,,,,

Book la Exora auto,,,,,biar puas hati, ckup specnya…bayar lebih skit jer..

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:45 pm

better than current persona!

• _xXx_ on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:54 pm

…as usual, kedai abang facelift. Nothing to shout about.

• 1Drebar on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:10 pm

So this means Waja no longer in market soon? Replaced by this new Persona?

Also the new Proton-Mitsubishi model will be in what segment? Perdana replacement? Just rebadge that defunct Galant 300 change new bumpers like Camry and it's ok. Totally new Perdana will cost a lot but rebadge is ok.

If Proton going back partner with Mitsubishi better use Triton as new Proton double cab pickup truck model for a start. Then learn a bit to produce all new Proton truck and SUV like Fortuner or Pajero later on.

Another model missing is 5 door Satria its long overdue and please rework Savvy design again to get sales from Viva. Proton Saga also can be extend to be a mini mpv but with sportwagon look. At least got two choice for MPV Exora and Saga Sportswagon.

-5 door Satria

-Saga Sportswagon mini mpv

-double cab pickup truck and SUV (or small SUV like Sportage)

-new Perdana (hey Sonata is coming)

-redesign Savvy

We don't hate Proton. We just need simple, practical and nice looking cars. That's all. Nothing funny or idiotic designed cars made us like clown driver.

• haha..its ok lor..at least they sell the car..and got profit from it..but i still like Persona with R3 kit..hehe..

• bmpower on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:19 pm

engine upgrade?

• Eyesore on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:20 pm

LOL toyota dugong make a grill change and called facelift with increase in price.. you praised and worship it….. Now proton make a facelift with much2 more added / changed features you bash like hell…. talking about double standard…

• Eyesore on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:24 pm

"We don’t hate Proton. We just need simple, practical and nice looking cars. That’s all. Nothing funny or idiotic designed cars made us like clown driver."

What echoed in my ears is…

" We just need a car with features like japs, quality like continental, BUT WITH MALAYSIA PRICE (very very cheap lor, local product what…) " typical….

• DUASINGGIT on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:31 pm

khali-FaH !! said,

March 7, 2010 @ 10:37 am

DUASINGGIT,,,,,

Book la Exora auto,,,,,biar puas hati, ckup specnya…bayar lebih skit jer..

_____________________________________________________________________________

oooo…ya ka..RM 69 tu..mmmmm..ok thanks, exora putih memang ok….anyway credit to persona facelift also…but…..how about remaining persona yang belum jual?

rasanya ada yang masih ada yg berminat persona dengan tail lamp yang cam gen2 tu., tapi kalau nak beli baru sure la nak yang facelift.. ada perbezaan pada engine? NEW ECU ke apa ke?

• redfueler on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:35 pm

impressive! memang bolehh

• Peter on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:35 pm

This car has the worse bodykit i have ever seen. Mine….Proton Persona SE looks much better….Look at the back……Oh man????? Proton….Please….we need good quality fuel efficient engine……Able to match VVT-I, I-VTEC these engines……..Futhermore, the market section requires more commercial vehicles… Look at those vans……

My suggestions to Proton:

-Look into the commercial verhicles…..We need Vans, Lorries as well…..not just truck

-We need a SUV from Proton as well….

– We need higher specs engines as well….Not just 1.6l Campo, IAFM, CPS, Turbo….We need 1.8l, 2.0l,2.4l as well….

-We need a more reliable brand to be out so that it is the most sellable model of Proton….Just like what you did for WIRA….

-We need more reliable vendors for the QC and also reliability problems…

-We need airbags, standard crash test ,preferabaly NCAP test……as standard base models………

-We understand how much we pay is what we get, but i hope Proton is able to have its own tuning company specially deals with its own parts…..Mitsubishi has ralliart, Toyota has TRD, honda has Mugen, Nissan has Impul,Nismo………Proton needs to have its own…..

-In order to survive with our own…..We may need to have cooperations with other vendors….Like what you did for Mitsubishi, Lotus….We need more cooperations with Korean, Japanese, European, US as well…….

– To have better sales……Of course we need good marketing scheme….Look at Perodua………….Lousy cars…….But good marketing……..They get good sales results…

I am saying this because as a malaysian……We dont wish to see Proton at this state…………..

• Already seen this facelift at shownroom in Kuching, Sarawak.

Interior is the same except redio headset get uodated, meter cluster a bit different.

• just visiting on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:55 pm

ade byk diff between current persona n persona facelift..

i.e ECU, light and some minor upgrade

• the colour i seen is the new colour, dark blue. Nice.

• Ahmad on Mar 07, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Heard that BCM as found in Exora will be introduced as well. Same Campro IAFM I guess but new 32bit ECU for better FC. Just wait & see la…

• skiborne on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:10 pm

the rear is a lil bit messy, i think proton shouldve taken off that chrome bit that covers across the bonnet, and also that spoiler

• elite on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:12 pm

walk around mydin parking area…

look at persona and myvi side by side..persona looks low class

• mcm mana FC persona…ada sape2 bole bg figure x??

• http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_B1nY4g263Po/S473RlDWa8I…

only 11 LED ka? still have many empty space at brake lamp..if like this, i think use bulb more better la..look like cheap

• San Peng Road on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:23 pm

In UK myvi will be bom! kebaboooommmm!

• monash.u on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:35 pm

just in time to compete wif MAZDA 2 Sedan. both launching in April.

• Smallfish (Member) on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:38 pm

I heard still with normal CAMPRO.

Anyway, CAMPRO is still powerful engine. I smog Sentra last Friday after traffic light. And for H.CITY fan don't feel offended, it was smog too until the driver donno what to do – headlight OFF / ON, hazard light too.

Just wander if use CPS maybe CIVIC 1.8 get smog too…

• Tazio on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Persona is better that anything from Perodua. But still a long way off from other auto makers. Proton Centre of Excellence….what are you guys doing so far?. Facelifted persona?.

• blaster on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Nice one from proton. A lot of good news from proton nowadays, and i can see proton eagerly to catchup with other manufacturer and improving. Thumbs up for this facelift, not just cosmetic.

• less is more!

• Proton should plug in a CPS powetrain into it. The fuel consumption is way high that the older waja with a Mitsubishi engine.

To save on fuel, just drive around 2000-2100 rpm@ 70-75 kmp/h. Should help a bit on the long run.

• kopi-man on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:29 pm

WAJA facelift is the worst i ever seen. Hope this Persona facelift wont be the same.

• peYno F**K on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:43 pm

no front end???

• ayamxxx on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:56 pm

still use lousy iafm engine, no valve timing like cps,vvti n so on. just make a new ecu doesn't improve this car fuel consumption.

• Supertram on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:06 pm

yea yea Merc backlight design, so what? its look waaaayyy better then the crop circle wan.

about that bodykit, that back wan would look tad better with the "inner" lower part painted black which will make it look like somekinda diffuser

should redesign the front lamp too tho

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:08 pm

even dugong look nicer than this

• jamal on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:10 pm

proton product is not a fuel efficient, so if u want buy , make sure u saving extra for petrol….

own persona iafm april 2009…

• V8 said,

March 7, 2010 @ 9:43 am

Regardless of the changes on the car body, the main concern is how much does it cost now? is it worth the facelift

————————

for most maker it look worth coz most of them do the same thing…that is before new design taking place…of coz the price going up ever heard facelift cheaper than previous version

• New facelift with new high price? Same like Toyota Vios. More expensive than b4…

• amouse on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:41 pm

not bad.. looks good

• Vanilla Vixen on Mar 07, 2010 at 11:10 pm

still a boring car…. yawnnnn……

• androndraco on Mar 07, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Cantiknya design lampu belakang dia… kalau letak kat Gen.2 boleh masuk tak?

• Aiman I. Abdullah on Mar 07, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Ngeh. Facelift it however you like, it still looks like a slightly stretched Gen2. And the Gen2's design isn't anything to write home about. It's ugly, impractical, and there's no plus points about it. And I hate that central line that runs in the middle of the front seats. Yech.

Regardless, it's still a Proton. I've had a Perdana, a Chancellor, a Wira & even a Gen2 once. All crap. QC is low, the designs don't fit purpose, and the fit & finush leaves you unsatisfied. I eventually sold the latest Proton (a Gen2 which I bought for my driver) and bought him an Alza. Says its lightyears better than any Proton. No suprise.

• androndraco on Mar 07, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Good job Proton! Thank you to the person who shots this photos!

• starto on Mar 07, 2010 at 11:25 pm

nothing special

• yawn…

the problem with proton is they will try to give you a lousy product and then after a year or two they will intro an 'upgraded' version. this is their R&D.

why can't they give better quality stuff right from the beginning?

• i think satria neo deserve a facelift since its been around for 4 years already, at least by the 3rd quater of this year,

and 2011 is saga blm facelift probally to be seen. to cope with a ready to go myvi 1.5 and probally facelift+tall geared 1.6 saga blm is a proper answer for myvi 1.5 in

and 2011 is another big wave in proton with the emergence of vvt turbo campro. one for sure is Exora turbo,,. and Neo turbo could be one of the proton,s shock wave, its essential to always have this sport performance since proton was born in the spirit of lotus-ness image.

good luck, a move for batter.

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 08, 2010 at 12:05 am

Aiman I. Abdullah said,

March 7, 2010 @ 3:14 pm

Ngeh. Facelift it however you like, it still looks like a slightly stretched Gen2. And the Gen2’s design isn’t anything to write home about. It’s ugly, impractical, and there’s no plus points about it. And I hate that central line that runs in the middle of the front seats. Yech.

Regardless, it’s still a Proton. I’ve had a Perdana, a Chancellor, a Wira & even a Gen2 once. All crap. QC is low, the designs don’t fit purpose, and the fit & finush leaves you unsatisfied. I eventually sold the latest Proton (a Gen2 which I bought for my driver) and bought him an Alza. Says its lightyears better than any Proton. No suprise.

——————————————————-

wow,what a 'GOOD' story

why would you spent a lot of money for your driver

you can just give yout driver a secon-hand kancil

yeah,you're not good in creating story

• Gold Wing on Mar 08, 2010 at 12:07 am

As usual, Perodua salesperson is getting worried about their sales when a new/ facelift/SE Proton models were launched..

Pity them.. try to speculate everything.. to convince their downgrade product are better..

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 08, 2010 at 12:14 am

to mr AIMAN I. ABDULLAH-

alza is way uglier than persona,and that's a fact

and good luck with your next story

typical perodua's salesman!

• Cucukman on Mar 08, 2010 at 12:23 am

lmst said,

March 7, 2010 @ 12:13 pm

mcm mana FC persona…ada sape2 bole bg figure x??

jamal said,

March 7, 2010 @ 2:10 pm

proton product is not a fuel efficient, so if u want buy , make sure u saving extra for petrol….

—————

Opss.. the way u drive will judge the FC…

BTW.. i need to upgrade my rear lamp, and side mirror with lamp as well.. hehe..

• i hope proton do not put CPS engine in this persona facelift next year after waja CPS fully stop production.it can make a people angry.

• if any of this batter ecu to overcome engine flat spot below 2500rpm, this is a big welcome,,i guess,

• MyWi Vavi on Mar 08, 2010 at 12:48 am

ngan said,

March 7, 2010 @ 3:57 pm

yawn…

the problem with proton is they will try to give you a lousy product and then after a year or two they will intro an ‘upgraded’ version. this is their R&D.

why can’t they give better quality stuff right from the beginning?

———–

Perodua better than Proton for cheating malaysian like u..

Myvi standard

then introduce, Myvi Limited Edition (plus 2K)

then introduce, Myvi SE (plus 2K)

then introduce, Myvi Exclusive Edition (plus 2K)

then introduce, Myvi SE Facelift (plus 2K)

Then, what u get? New bumper design only..hahahaha

• akupunya on Mar 08, 2010 at 12:51 am

boringgg..!!

• montana on Mar 08, 2010 at 12:57 am

rims not suit the body

• arian on Mar 08, 2010 at 1:33 am

thats call facelift??!! huh?

omg…i forgot tat was the proton style, add some skirt change some lamp design, or maybe change some grill …tat was proton claim for the the facelift huh?

trust me…i won't buy, somemore i still think personal got a very weird car shape design (more like extend a tail for Gen2)……

• nazri on Mar 08, 2010 at 1:34 am

how safe is toyota vios ?? .. http://www.bharian.com.my/Current_News/BH/Sunday/…

• tokmoh on Mar 08, 2010 at 1:48 am

Copy Merc? Kenapa, tak boleh ka?

Itu China punya tiru macam-macam ada… tiru Merc CLK, Toyota Altis + City, Honda CR-V, BMW X5, etcetc. Suday banyak lawsuit diorg terima.

Apa lu org kata? Keter China still better than proton… keter china akan jadi no1 dalam 5 tahun lagi… keter china blablablabla

Or look at Sonata YF. Copycat Passat CC/Merc CLS/Jag, but u all praised it looks dam cun…

Dunno la whats with u guys… hate this country, but still want to stay here. Still want to vote the same party into power. Are u all M-type?

• oldman on Mar 08, 2010 at 2:57 am

malaysia memang boleh said,

"to mr AIMAN I. ABDULLAH-

alza is way uglier than persona,and that’s a fact

and good luck with your next story

typical perodua’s salesman!"

———————————————————-

Beauty is at the eyes of the beholder…hihi

But Protong low quality issue is a FACT…

• peYno on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:10 am

1st Q= persona facelift

2nd Q= Waja replacement

3rd Q= Exora turbo

4th Q = Saga facelift

walauweiii this year proton so buzy meh… perodua salesman aka Ah beng japan wannabe must be very free, can join the forum more frequent

• peYno on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:15 am

Gold Wing said,

March 7, 2010 @ 4:07 pm

As usual, Perodua salesperson is getting worried about their sales when a new/ facelift/SE Proton models were launched..

Pity them.. try to speculate everything.. to convince their downgrade product are better..

===========

all this while they(p2 salesman) are hiding behind TOYOTA butts,… but since toyota oso got many problem recently (recall etc).. they are very unhappy and shy to say their car is origin from toyota…prrrrfthhhh

• chap_de_x on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:15 am

arian said,

March 7, 2010 @ 5:33 pm

omg…i forgot tat was the proton style, add some skirt change some lamp design, or maybe change some grill …tat was proton claim for the the facelift huh?

trust me…i won’t buy, somemore i still think personal got a very weird car shape design (more like extend a tail for Gen2)……

hahahaha ur 1st statement suit p2 very well….p2 is the one who just know to design bumper….

your 2nd statement….persona have weird design???? let me give you more ridiculous butt job example…butt job on yaris u got weird vios….old jazz butt job u get weird old honda city…butt job swift u got weird SX4….for me gen2 butt job to persona is the best hatch-sedan conversion, does not look weird at all compared to other example i gave above….

This facelift are not just cosmetic…technology involved….p1 upgrade the ECU…install BCM feature…still not enuff????…seriously cannot understand u guys.

• peYno on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:20 am

DUASINGGIT said,

March 7, 2010 @ 10:22 am

persona ni nampak mantop, masa pergi proton nak tempah exora basic la cadangnya, salesman kata around rm53k harga persona facelift tu. hmmmm….kalau exora basic rm58k…masih menimbang…

=====

just compare side by side persona and myvi.. u can easily see the diff

myvi.. soft, suits for ah soo and Myvi SE looks like a grandma trying to be Hip Hop and looks younger.. but grandma still a grandma..

• kedaikopi on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:21 am

* EasyU (ECU) 32bit.

* Campro 1.6 IAFM.

* New Sensor (Light).

* Body Control Modul (BCM).

* Full Bodykit for M-Line & H-Line.

* Meter illuminate, side mirror with new indicator.

* Audio unit with USB Port and other features.

EXTERIOR:
    http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_B1nY4g263Po/S473RlDWa8I…

INTERIOR:
    http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_B1nY4g263Po/S476gNPeFvI…

resource: funtastickodesign & autoakasia

• Tiadaid on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:23 am

arian said,

March 7, 2010 @ 5:33 pm

trust me…i won’t buy, somemore i still think personal got a very weird car shape design (more like extend a tail for Gen2)……

————————–

What the hell are you talking about? That's normal for a facelift to change all those things. Toyota Vios does it nobody bats an eyelid. Moron. Don't talk if you don't have anything smart to say!

• tokmoh i fully support what u said lorrr, i love u so much. For ppl here if wan to compare pls compare the product that is same level like BMW and Merc, Toyota and Honda, Hyundai and Kia or Renault and Citroen. I can see very clear that this is a PROTON PERSONA facelift, the rear light i think this is the best design to match this car but many ppl here r blind see this was a c-class hahaha open your eyes bigger lahhhh and some stupid ppl here compare campro with vvti and vtec hahaha we can compare honda with toyota or nissan but not proton. pls compare p1 with p2 there r same level mahhhh. this design and quality is batter then previous wira, iswara, waja mahhh what u all wan? got improve mahhh can i compare your wife with angelina jolie? cannot mah izzit. give more times to proton sure can catch vtec or vvti one day maybe still have to wait for long time i know. one word lorrr dun care wt u drive JANJI SAMPAI lorrr

• Tiadaid on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:25 am

nazri said,

March 7, 2010 @ 5:34 pm

how safe is toyota vios ?? .. http://www.bharian.com.my/Current_News/BH/Sunday/…

—————–

The car actually flew up in the air. Just goes to show, you can have all the safety equipments in the world and yet still be injured or killed, all because of your driving attitude.

• matrxe on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:28 am

Love the tail lights. hate the rear skirting. looks like drawn by school kids. color macam off je dari body.

• matrxe on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:35 am

Proton should seriously consider a VW golf challenger. Why Myvi sells like pisang goreng? A good sized 4 dour "hothatch" done really well. Heck. will do well in UK too.

• This PERSONA facelift will be in the showroom coming Tuesday.

• bmpower on Mar 08, 2010 at 4:18 am

nazri said,

—-

SAP?

stucked accelerator paddle? then bang a kancil?

but UMW cover the story as normal accident?

verry sceptical bout toyota nowadays.

• buruk hodoh

• umapathy on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:01 am

proton need to more kreatif to produce a new car even facelifts….

it look sucks man….even anyone see the new perdana design …omg

its disspointing…if the thing cant be changed..i only cant say sorry

people should open their eyes.see the korea and japan upcoming cars, even the china cars look more better.

Perduo also having bad time with alza…if u ask me that car shape like box with small tyres..looks like troli…better luck next time

• peYno on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:07 am

matrxe said,

March 7, 2010 @ 7:35 pm

Proton should seriously consider a VW golf challenger. Why Myvi sells like pisang goreng? A good sized 4 dour “hothatch” done really well. Heck. will do well in UK too.

=======

myvi sells like pisang goreng only in Boleh land… not in other countries like Spore, indonesia

coz in boleh land.. we have many ah beng japs wannabe

prrrfhhhh

• peYno on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:10 am

khen said,

pls compare p1 with p2 there r same level mahhhh. this design and quality is batter then previous wira, iswara, waja mahhh what u all wan? got improve mahhh can i compare your wife with angelina jolie? cannot mah izzit. give more times to proton sure can catch vtec or vvti one day maybe still have to wait for long time i know. one word lorrr dun care wt u drive JANJI SAMPAI lorrr

==========

dont compare proton with national bumper maker (p2) la… how come.. company who only assemble the car can be compared with proton???

p2 should be compared with Naza or inokom..prrrrfthhh

• civic 2.0 (wsx ****) on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:29 am

klau persona nie import kt uk msti kene maki ngan spe2 lah..

aq tgok satria neo ngan myvi kene maki ngan top gear kn..

ksian aq tgok la..nmpak sgt kete malaysia msih blum spe thp yg sgt memuaskan..

tpi yg proton emas nie mmang lawa..aq mnt giler..

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:39 am

Proton's Service Center gonna be very busy than usual due to the launching of many new models and facelift. Just make sure enough spare parts standby for warranty claims. Proton's quality sucks big time!

• ktas09 on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:45 am

"Ah Beng facelift". My last proton is Waja and no more proton in my life.

• wakaka on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:20 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

March 7, 2010 @ 2:08 pm

even dugong look nicer than this

—————————————————

dugong look nicer? hahahaa…u r really funny..

masuk raja lawak la..mana tahu leh menang mazda plak nanti..

ni tag line baru utk hang..mazda pinnn pinnn..hahahahaha

• dukun on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:51 am

Same old engine ..

and same old broken record player

/recycled comments by Peyno.

• nazeree on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:56 am

SAME Shit Different Day !!

• waimak on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:01 am

Proton should scrap those cheapo floor mat, it doesnt give value add to the car seriously..

• bashbash on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:34 am

Puki said,

March 7, 2010 @ 10:57 pm

Actually the facelift model is a gimmick !!

Patch a bit here & there & convince ppl to buy !!

Proton’s is a shitty company!!

yeah..agreed…proton is a shitty company..

they do facelift and sell it to us..

adding here and there..

same like bmw, toyota,honda,prosche and etc..

all shitty company…lol

• chip lak macam biasa on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:37 am

CIPLAK …from Previos Honda City rear lights…

• Tiadaid on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:56 am

Puki said,

March 7, 2010 @ 10:57 pm

Actually the facelift model is a gimmick !!

Patch a bit here & there & convince ppl to buy !!

Proton’s is a shitty company!!

——————-

Your nickname's an apt indicator of your mentality. I bet you're the ones who're cheering the Myvi facelift and the hideously overpriced Viva Elite. Moron.

• perotiga on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:59 am

we'll see how the sales..i bet it will be high

• BlackJKX on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:07 am

The line between the seat?

• Al-Kasbar on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:09 am

Oh well, to the folks who complains hell loads here. At least Proton doesn't have problem with sticky accelerator. I'd rather have a car which couldn't move (ie break down) than a car that couldn't stop.

• Independence on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:17 am

actually the persona and gen2 is nice car … just that why they don't upgrade the rear seat to make it more comfortable for passenger … need it to be more slope … now too straight.

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:28 am

Facelift is more on you change the look. Just like Vios and Myvi. I think this persona is best delivered as Enhancement model due to new sensor and new 32bit ECU.

Better test drive it. Then we will know what's the different.

• Tommy on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:29 am

March 7, 2010 @ 4:05 pm

Aiman I. Abdullah said,

March 7, 2010 @ 3:14 pm

Ngeh. Facelift it however you like, it still looks like a slightly stretched Gen2. And the Gen2’s design isn’t anything to write home about. It’s ugly, impractical, and there’s no plus points about it. And I hate that central line that runs in the middle of the front seats. Yech.

Regardless, it’s still a Proton. I’ve had a Perdana, a Chancellor, a Wira & even a Gen2 once. All crap. QC is low, the designs don’t fit purpose, and the fit & finush leaves you unsatisfied. I eventually sold the latest Proton (a Gen2 which I bought for my driver) and bought him an Alza. Says its lightyears better than any Proton. No suprise.

——————————————————-

wow,what a ‘GOOD’ story

why would you spent a lot of money for your driver

you can just give yout driver a secon-hand kancil

yeah,you’re not good in creating story

—————————————————-

sure dude… he said that all proton he bought… if he knw proton is a crap… y did he bought it AGAIN? Stupid fella… you think everybody is as stupid as you?

and to all proton basher…

You want a good quality car? a great car with good fc? but at the price of Proton? you must be the greatest joker on earth… hahaha… Typical basher, cant be easy with anything p1 done… if you dont like this car, this car was never made for you, it was made for those who appreciate it… Some of us do appreciate this car…

they put an effort to improve.. but all you knw is bash… all you knw, you want tht P2.. so tht u can do a lil touch up, that be proud like you drive a jdm… speeding on the the highway… then get killed!

• Tommy on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:41 am

you dont like the bodykit, go to ah beng shop make a new one… maybe just look like your vios dugong, or your mazda 3.. the rims dont blend in the design, buy a new set then… whats the fuss? you say this car is not reliable? you have one? literally this specific model? no! so shut up…

you dont wanna drive this car or own any proton… you have to let evry one knw? So great toyota, they let you die in it, live with it, die cuz of it. you want a cheap toyota car? go to langkawi.. buy every car that you want…

Proton was made for some people, but not you bashers… I love proton… I have proton at home, and it has been loyal for years… I dont need to make crappy stories to let me belive tht proton does make reliable car. Cuz i experienced it. Stop the lies, the dark era of proton is nearly ends… let them have a brighter hope dudes. The only car company that we can be proud of… Perodua, Naza, Inokom, all of 'em are rebadged car…

this is our only true car maker… LEt them have some air to breath… A victory comes from thousands of failures…

• Kepalo hotak engkau on Mar 08, 2010 at 9:39 am

Smallfish

jangan sebut smog/ smoke other cars.

You drive like an idiot, who wants to race on public roads. Even kancil can smoke my STi. And they do it quite often too. The engines are entry level, made tuned for fuel efficiency, but they are more advanced, things like dual vvti, etc.

If I see you on the road, I'll give you a lesson. Then you'd flash your lights, press your honk, remove your stained white underpants and wave surrender.

Sometimes I see people like you, tail-gating other cars, thinking you can initiate a race, then having the impression that you have a fast car, you need to grow up. I can start 1st gear then 4th gear and still shit at your car.

• Kepalo hotak engkau on Mar 08, 2010 at 9:53 am

Tommy, don't get so heated up. Everyone has got a proton at one point. If too old, maybe their kids or grandchildren. Proton did well. No doubt. They can create first class fitting, soft touch plastics, etc, maybe bigger capacity engines, but who the hell would buy them if the car reaches the 100 thousand bracket. You're right, proton are made for specific buyers, zero/ low down payment, 5 years warranty, etc. But you need to have an insight of what happens inside. Things/ parts you're getting. How they do it, what you're getting. If you know about it, then it is nothing to shout about. The new management has made lots of changes, but it is still there. Too much outsourcing. Because the profit is there.

Some people buy a specific brand beause they can't afford others. But a friend of mine got a viva because he simply love the shape. So it boils down to what tickles you? Peace out.

• peminat kete on Mar 08, 2010 at 10:33 am

the facelift was so nice… like the interior…

wish i can buy one now

my family owned a proton and perodua…

ok sajor…

no prob pown….

care kiter jg n bwk kete tu yg penting….

jgn tahu lanyak sajor….

• Handling by Lotus Tech…..yee haaa

• peYno on Mar 08, 2010 at 1:58 pm

ktas09 said,

March 7, 2010 @ 9:45 pm

“Ah Beng facelift”. My last proton is Waja and no more proton in my life.

==========

now i own VIVA, feel like a japanese.. no more proton, bye bye…

prrrrfthhh

• azrai on Mar 08, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Nice one, not like Tg. mahaleel Crop Circle one. + it's LED.

• I dont have any good memory to proton car, due to the second hand value & quality fo this car. my dream is sell out all my 3 protons car n buy a new perodua o Japanese car.

• azrul on Mar 08, 2010 at 4:48 pm

nice side mirror tho!

• wah..up to 240km/h..is it?

• OKIDO on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Conclusion, Proton design team really can't do design…wasted money in R&D & wasted over 20years in proton hence still don't have improvement. Some "Macgyver" bodykit shop in Sunway can do better job!!!

• o-zon on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:34 pm

SY0H said,

March 7, 2010 @ 9:39 pm

Proton’s Service Center gonna be very busy than usual due to the launching of many new models and facelift. Just make sure enough spare parts standby for warranty claims. Proton’s quality sucks big time!

———————————————————-

or P2 salesman are very busy perah otak to lawan this nicer persona..

i own p2 kancil ..p2 are suck..x sampai setahun central lock da rosak…dashboard gegar x hingat..after this nomore p2 for me..really2 suck!!..blood sucker..money sucker..huh

• Alifz on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Hopefully the 32-bit ECU will help on the elimination of torque-dip and better engine response.

• _xXx_ on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:47 pm

haha, u must have spent a lot of your time searching hi and lo for such an article where fatal accidents involve the dugong. Have u ever done the same to Proton? U got tons of them at the end.

nazri said,

• initial R on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Remember Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo wanebe ?….. If not let me just do small recap…. Just put some exterior & interior cosmetic then slap TRD sportivo…. wallah…. all new Vios facelift with add other waste RM2K++
    http://paultan.org/2009/06/17/toyota-vios-1-5-trd…
    At least Persona put on real thing on it with all warranty cover it…

Please don't to pride with P2… they just do cosmetic thing only, also not to mention downgrading from original but selling high price tag….

As all of us know… this only upgrading version of persona. Kind like u upgrade your PC software version.. Persona 1.0.5 upgrade to Persona 2.0.0… Want new look have to wait la…. 2012 was new persona will out… but in mean time we wait new Waja replacement next year, 2011… i have heard that will used all new 1.8 engine (Lotus tune), lancer platform but totaly new look body (will not look same as current Lancer or rebage one)…

• Whatever buahaha is …

Still usiang IAFM engine right..?

• brossprocps on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Good job proton, like other people said about waja, ride & handling is very good. Proud to be Malaysian.

If you dont like the design dont worry bcos italian design is coming soon.

If you want happy or feel good to see, pls go to youtube and then search "gelimat" I'm very sure that will satisfied your soul.

• Few changing only makes the above peoples so happy! We wouldn't have to use this lousy car if not because of the stupig gov. Gov sucking your blood…DOn't so happy.

• Nerddy on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:21 pm

come on proton…. you can do better than this…

• pomen_gtr on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:29 pm

finally…..

bootkey sloot to open your trunk from ouside of the car….now thats real family car…(unlike previous where u can only open your trunk from inside)

• cantik, sesuai utk vip Style… cuma bodykit belakang kurang menarik sikit.

myvi xsesuai utk vip Style, sesuai utk org ppuan. klu nombor plat belakang direka dibahagian bonet lagi menarik… ada la variasi sikit.

ada rezeki mmg pilih m line… berbaloi la dgn harga. bab kualiti ni buat masa ni ok la, sbb ada bnyk kekuatan persona yg baru ni berbanding dgn kereta & mpv tu pada hal boleh dianggap wagon. perbandingan pun mmg dah boleh kalahkan banyak segi, contoh harga, p1 dan p2 pun rekaan dalaman pun guna bahan plastik yg ketara… apa nk buat barang dah makin mahal.

• mrzali on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:14 pm

1Drebar said,

March 7, 2010 @ 11:10 am

Another model missing is 5 door Satria its long overdue and please rework Savvy design again to get sales from Viva. Proton Saga also can be extend to be a mini mpv but with sportwagon look. At least got two choice for MPV Exora and Saga Sportswagon.

-5 door Satria

-Saga Sportswagon mini mpv

-double cab pickup truck and SUV (or small SUV like Sportage)

-new Perdana (hey Sonata is coming)

-redesign Savvy

======== 8< ======================

Agree with 1Drebar. Proton should re-design Savvy. Change the door design + rear end. I personally like Impul Nissan March rear spoiler. If Proton can re-design Savvy like this. It's very cool. MyVi competitor. Perodua managed to get enough sale because Malaysian prefer second car that is much more smaller + low price + low consumption for their wife + son/daughter. There is Satria Neo, but it's only 2 doors!

Here is the Nissan March picture:

1. http://www.autolancia.com/newcar/preview/marchimp…
    2. http://www.autolancia.com/newcar/detail/marchimpu…

• Noname on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:14 pm

got basher here is good… got supporter here is also good. Both good to proton. Proton now can listen to those basher to make improvement on our truly national cars.

for those basher who said :

proton is lousy quality car — produce the world best quality car

proton not safe? — ok make it to the world safest car, euroncap achieve 6/5

price expensive? — alright make it to malaysian price

design ugly? —- ask the most creative ppl to design it and win many many awards to prove it

engine problem not strong enough, shake here and there, unstable, unreliable, fc not good, etc… all improve to the best until basher keep quite…

if all these really happen… hahahahah I wonder who is going to buy BMW la, Toyota la, Honda la, Nissan la, etc.

Later we know actually Proton is the WORLD BEST CAR manufacturers.

• clement on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Bravo Tommy! I second that!

In every failures, lies a victory. Even a dog has its day.

• donno on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Supposed to launch this week. Now deferred to next week…

• bullet on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:07 pm

yeah tommy. ur comment is very good n generous. totally agree with u. there still a lot of people including me who are very concern about Proton. our own car maker. continue ur success proton. we will give our support.

• cypher on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:09 pm

The muffler doesn't go well with the rear skirt

• leonardo on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Go Tommy! You speak more logic and sense than many bloggers here!

• kimi_ on Mar 08, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Tommy said,

you dont like the bodykit, go to ah beng shop make a new one… maybe just look like your vios dugong, or your mazda 3.. the rims dont blend in the design, buy a new set then… whats the fuss? you say this car is not reliable? you have one? literally this specific model? no! so shut up…

you dont wanna drive this car or own any proton… you have to let evry one knw? So great toyota, they let you die in it, live with it, die cuz of it. you want a cheap toyota car? go to langkawi.. buy every car that you want…

Proton was made for some people, but not you bashers… I love proton… I have proton at home, and it has been loyal for years… I dont need to make crappy stories to let me belive tht proton does make reliable car. Cuz i experienced it. Stop the lies, the dark era of proton is nearly ends… let them have a brighter hope dudes. The only car company that we can be proud of… Perodua, Naza, Inokom, all of ‘em are rebadged car…

this is our only true car maker… LEt them have some air to breath… A victory comes from thousands of failures…

——————————————————————-

We are not bash proton for nothing dude…..Its quality still sucks NOW compare to P2……People still buy P2 for its fuel efficient engine and its quality overall….

please STOP saying that P2 just rebadge bla bla bla….and proud of Proton coz built itself………THIS IS SHITTY!!!!

Proud of Proton???????? They are going to rebadge Lancer as Waja too !!!!!!!

Actually i dont mind if Proton like P2 just rebadge Mitsubishi or even Honda and then sell it less and cheaper……Who the hell in Malaysia dont want it???

instead of P1 producing craps car and proudly say all Malaysian made????

We as Malaysian need to change Mentality!!!! We can be patriotic in many ways rather than buy P1 coz its malaysia made….get a life

• Accord on Mar 08, 2010 at 9:35 pm

jamal said,

March 7, 2010 @ 2:10 pm

—————————————————————-

Just wonder you compare to which car. How about you compare to my car Honda Accord 2.0??? or at least compare to Kia 1.6? Please dont compare with Compact Car…

• Tiadaid on Mar 08, 2010 at 10:10 pm

kimi_ said,

March 8, 2010 @ 1:29 pm

We are not bash proton for nothing dude…..Its quality still sucks NOW compare to P2……People still buy P2 for its fuel efficient engine and its quality overall….

please STOP saying that P2 just rebadge bla bla bla….and proud of Proton coz built itself………THIS IS SHITTY!!!!

Proud of Proton???????? They are going to rebadge Lancer as Waja too !!!!!!!

Actually i dont mind if Proton like P2 just rebadge Mitsubishi or even Honda and then sell it less and cheaper……Who the hell in Malaysia dont want it???

We as Malaysian need to change Mentality!!!! We can be patriotic in many ways rather than buy P1 coz its malaysia made….get a life

———————

Total bull. When all you do is rebadge a car, you won't learn anything. You really think those big car companies would allow you to rebadge a new car and cannibalize their sales? Hell no! Just look at P2, all their rebadge cars pale in comparison with the real thing, and Naza's rebadging old 206 that's now only being sold in developing market. There's no way in hell any car company would allow a new model for rebadging.

And yes, it's okay to give out criticisms, but what you, SY0H, Littlefire and the rest of the bashers are doing aren't giving out criticisms but just posting pointless drivel over and over again. When Proton was given praise, where were you? Never once did any of you bashers acknowledge that fact. All you did is belittle anything that Proton have done, while many of P2's faults are conveniently glossed over. That's hardly constructive, why is why many are not happy.

Plus, what's with equating Proton with the gov tax regime? Why all the blame go to Proton? I mean, P2, Naza etc are all benefitting from the tax structure, so why all the blame rest solely on Proton's shoulder? If you want to play the blame game, blame all, not just one or two.

• leonardo on Mar 08, 2010 at 10:20 pm

BTW Kimi – what car are you driving? A recalled Toyota or Honda which claimed to be the guru of Quality?

Why complain about the lights? Malaysians like Merc quality but price like kancil if possible, free even better. Wake up! The reality is you have to pay for the finer things in life. You get what you pay for.

• Tupak on Mar 08, 2010 at 11:35 pm

chap_de_x said,

March 7, 2010 @ 7:15 pm

…butt job swift u got weird SX4…

—————————————

Bro, which SX4 got butt job from swift???

• aAarghHhhhHhh..... on Mar 08, 2010 at 11:39 pm

"Arghhhhh…."

• Quattro (Member) on Mar 09, 2010 at 12:02 am

bila proton nak show off engine diesel??

Move to another alternative engine…..

• Ahmad on Mar 09, 2010 at 12:28 am

New Waja is based on Mitsu Lancer platform, but I doubt it won't be 90% close the ori model, especially the newly tune-up engine, accessories, bcm, sensors etc. Just my thoughts based on reading only.

• DaveDiablos on Mar 09, 2010 at 12:43 am

P1> P2

why???

P1 – Satria Neo, Waja, Saga BLM, Savvy, Gen-2/Persona all in house design…

P2 – All rebadged ( Toyota and Daihatsu )

so clearly, P2 did minimal/ no effort on making their own cars in which I was hoping for the past 17 years…P1 at least make their own design…got put in effort… P2, haiz, same like Porsche, malas…

• Entah on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:05 am

kimi_ said,

———————

Oh God, this Kimi guy during his school life must be the one who kept copying his friends' assignments and just change the name to his – saved his money, time and energy, and then shouted "Who the hell in my class dont want it???".

• donno on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:22 am

wow, lots of ppl say perodua quality is good??

My Myvi has undergone front brake disc replacement under warranty not once but TWICE. Now the warranty has gone it has started shuddering for the 3rd time! That should have been recalled and the brake disc redesigned as the brakes are safety items!! Now my friends Viva has the same symptoms too. God knows how many ppl have accidents cased by the faulty brakes of their perodua's…

• sedusaX4 on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:24 am

I saw new Persona unmasked, hehehe

• nazri said,

_xXx_ said,

March 8, 2010 @ 9:47 am

haha, u must have spent a lot of your time searching hi and lo for such an article where fatal accidents involve the dugong. Have u ever done the same to Proton? U got tons of them at the end.

And yeah _xXx_, are you sure you want to compare accidents involving Proton cars here in Malaysia and Toyota cars in the whole world? Seriously? You yourself know that it is not a 1-to-1 comparison since it is caused by the drivers' driving behaviour and skills as the major active safety factor. The real nightmare takes place when you do make sure you drive your car safely, you observe the speed limit, you even ensure the minimum distance with the car in front, but you just can't hit the break!

• pentium4 on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:33 am

who said persona is not fuel efficiency? I drove my sis persona, 1500 km, penang-kl, kl-bahau, pusing2 kl, then kl-penang… I only use RM 120…

• la la la la… suka x suka 'what to do!!' nk bli bli la nk kutu mcmana nk maju.

org jepun maju sbb kritikan yg membina. nk buat kereta, kena ada kilang, pekerja, modal, teknologi lama dan baru, apa lagi… 'pattern' hmm bab yg ni sape dulu dia dpt bila dah dpt org lain nk guna kena bayar jadi faham2 lah.

buat masa ni perkembangan proton bertambah baik dari dulu.

orang Malaysia yg sombong, yang rasa pandai mcm nk buat kereta ni mcm kacang… dan banyak duit apa susah2 diam sudah la. sape yg nk bagi kritikan membina boleh la hantar. aku pun kritik mpv p2 sbb xberbaloi dgn harga pe… rekaan dalaman pun xcantik sgt. ruang pun mmg sia2 je utk 2 org di belakang tu… jadi wagon pun xpe… harga hmmm apa nk buat faham

je lah… saham UMW berapa peratus? rugi sikit la utk Malaysia.

• KAHSING on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:46 am

OMG! if without GEN 2, persona SE could hav been a pretty looking car…except the fact of the side mirror. Elsewise, this look crappy as the bodykit is too "loud" n over "drama" whilst the lamp is plan old boring~~ i dont think the gen 2 looking tail lamps r that ugly after sometime, it just a perception of how we hate the butt of a gen2 instead….n the SE bodykit is simply subtle n has it's looks of class….this edition looks like some car-remake-wannabe's car, overdo of plastic surgery!!!

• you guys should've looked at the grey-brown colour.. awesome.. just like new accord…

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:03 am

…………PROTON ACCOLADES

> Profitability? It is amazing that a protected company (market and price) loses money in the first place.

> Engineers? I hope they are not the same engineers sent to Misubishi Japan, Citroen France. Obviously they learnt nothing then.

> Engineering? We need not send our people to Italy to learn designs or buy Lotus for production. They would come to our country lock stock and barrel (FDI, engineering,jobs) if we looked at Thailand.

> Investment return? Since when is tax considered an investment return (18bil revenue)?

………….LIMPAH NIKMAT

The people who benefited are Proton staff, patrons and their cronies. The people who paid thru their noses are 27mil rakyat. Eighteen bil could be used to subsidize public transport but was wasted on mega projects, bailing out cronies, nationalizing losses, spawning Zakaria's and Ahmad Is…. etc.

Increased sales volume should bring prices down, but was propped up artificially (via protectionism).

………….TELUR SE BIJI

We are crowing over one plant (200k ut) and 300000 related jobs. Look at Thailand which has more than 5 world class plants ( 1.4 mil ut of Toyota, Nissan, Honda, GM, Isuzu). It exports twice more than what Proton sells the whole year in M'sia. Calculate the FDI, job and engineering value vs Proton.

Proton can be a proud domestic champion, but M'sia lost horribly in the Asian market. We should be exporting to Asia like Thailand is doing now. In fact many Toyota, Nissan, Honda, Isuzu, Mitsubishi, GM models in M'sia now come from Thailand or Indonesia not Japan or US.

Asian parts component manufacturing is now centred in Detroit of Asia not the jungle fringe of Tanjung Malim. Our Asean neighbours buy from Thailand but not from M'sia which has only Proton parts.

Proton is one example what supremacist attitude and misplaced pride will do to our industry in the global arena. Penny wise pound foolish! Megah dgn keris maut akibat peluru! M'sia putih mata, rakyat putih tulang membela Proton.

……………FIVE BIL SAVINGS?

At that volume the car would be manufactured locally by local engineers via local plants (eg Thailand). Foolish to ship 200K ut cars from so far! Why did Sony build a plant in M'sia?

Misleading attempt to hoodwink some simpleton readers. There is no five bil savings in exchange outflow (without national car policy) but there is five bil losses, wastage and lost exports in protecting Proton.

……………AFTERTHOUGHT

High cars prices to prevent M'sians from buying petrol guzzling cars is an afterthought to defend Proton. Many foreign cars far more economical than Proton are not allowed to be sold cheaply.

• makan makan on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:26 am

Tiadaid @ March 8, 2010 @ 2:10 pm.

Spot on bro…What a superb observation.

• hyrax on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:35 am

kereta makin banyak…jalan makin sesak…lama2 semua tak bole jalan

• The Mentalist on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:53 am

Perodua engineers only know how to design bumpers, change light and downgrade the dashboard. Rebadge, rebadge & rebadge..until when?? Your salary must be 'ribu2'..so untung maa..

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:20 am

to syoh….

yeah maybe thailand and Indonesia have a lot of economy in their country and provide more job to their citizen

but gm and Toyota only pay them to assemble their parts

coz it's cheap

in Malaysia it cost a lot

try imagine cars is manufactured in Singapore

living cost in Singapore is damn high

and they have to pay high salary to their workers

that's why Hyundai have factory in India

you know how much a Hyundai i10 cost

same price as myvi right!

• Tommy on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:30 am

You dont like the cars, just shush dudes. You dont like the quality, and you have a proton… go to the service center… ask them to fix it right. Its simple. What all the fusses? Its better you knw, our luck in malaysia. If not, look at some americans, they dont have the chance to realise they have the problem. Once it strikes, they already involved the accident.

Proton cars is not that bad. Seriously, its not. if you cant trust proton. Dont bother to buy. Proton did allow some of us to move. Now anyone can afford a car that can fit a family. Maybe not you who need it, cuz you have more money for a bigger option. But those, the farmers, rubber tappers, proton is the one for them. Perodua? the price is getting more expensive, but the car is small.

Furthermore, proton is improving, they improved in crash test results. Look at exora? Its a good result for the very first malaysian made MPV. They are improving. Seriously. Look in the brighter side. Which car with a price tag, slightly more than rm50K.. but can fit 7 ppl? like Exora. or 5 stars crash test, with a price starting price, lower than RM30k like savvy? i can say none.. The cheapest 7 seater mid size mpv Cherry Eastar, in langkawi, they sell it by RM55K… Langkawi, no tax… RM55K… but its a cherry… Compare that with proton, imagine Exora, with no tax… compared to Cherry, which one you will rather choose? the famous Cherry (paper car maker) or Proton (4 stars tested car)?

Keep that in your mind… Dont say a word… Think, what have proton gave us

• ex-proton on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:53 am

adding skirtings are not facelifts la…

be more creative la…

u guys are designing cars for Ah bengs is it?

rempit here and there…

• subramaniam on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:16 am

This Persona has both facelift and buttock lift without engine lift.

Driven one and fuel consumption with campro engine super thirsty.

• subramaniam on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:21 am

Petrol in our country are highly subsidised just for us to buy high consumption cars. Pls develop better engines pls and then can suppress the subsidy.

• huahuahua on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:55 am

bgus proton buat facelift persona

dlu pnye sakit mata gak tgk lampu blkg

hahaha

• I smell too much theory in this forum which they think they are so smart.

• tokmoh on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:04 am

Entah said,

March 8, 2010 @ 5:05 pm

kimi_ said,

———————

Oh God, this Kimi guy during his school life must be the one who kept paying his friends to do his assignments and just change the name to his – saved his money, time and energy, and then shouted “Who the hell in my class dont want it???”.

Fix'd for greater justice.

"Copying his friends' assignments" is considered plagiarism, which is not what Perodua did, but what the Chinese carmakers do.

• MoFaz on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:44 am

well i do noticed that any topic with Proton will draw 200 comments, other topics not even 100.. and most comments here are out of topics.

I do think the facelift looks better, but with persona replacement is scheduled not too long from now (italian design).. i'd rather wait. or might as well buy waja replacement. Mitsu engine woooo…

• peYno on Mar 09, 2010 at 12:13 pm

SY0H said,

High cars prices to prevent M’sians from buying petrol guzzling cars is an afterthought to defend Proton. Many foreign cars far more economical than Proton are not allowed to be sold cheaply.

============

yeah many foreign compact car for more economical than PERODUA are not allowed to be sold cheaply.. just imagine, small honda jazz, Freed sold cheaply..

we want more varies of compact car here in malaysia.. but our G wanna protect perodua…

• peYno on Mar 09, 2010 at 12:17 pm

March 8, 2010 @ 7:20 pm

to syoh….

yeah maybe thailand and Indonesia have a lot of economy in their country and provide more job to their citizen

coz it’s cheap

============

u are right,..

and to SYOH

if Gomen doestnt protect PERODUA.. they might say bye2 to Malaysia and invest in Indonesia

• astonmartin on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:03 pm

mmm okla bagi kereta tempatan..harap satu hari nanti proton join venture dengan aston martin company.Baru gempak…

• astonmartin on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:07 pm

mmmCadangan..gua harap proton buat join venture dengan aston martin company..Baru gempak gila…Gua sokong 200%

• inderaloka on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:02 pm

test said,

March 8, 2010 @ 6:00 pm

you guys should’ve looked at the grey-brown colour.. awesome.. just like new accord…

I agree, the new Persona facelift looks nice in grey color.

• initial R on Mar 09, 2010 at 5:24 pm

SY0H said,

March 8, 2010 @ 6:03 pm

————————————————–

Wahhh…. you soo good in analysis our economy arrr…. waaahhh… soo goood arr…. but why when economy down in 2008 mostly effected are S'pore, Thailand, Indonesia & Philino. They been affected within 1 week after US economy down. Malaysia still can stand still more than 2 month before affected by crisis. Can you tell us why ?…. Don't say i do not know coz i have friend stay at that country….

Back to topic… Most of my family members have P1 product at they house, even some of them also have P2 as 2nd car… the truth is new generation of P1 have improve a lot. Persona, Saga BLM, Exora don't have any problem with power window but thing happen diffrance with P2 which they start facing lot's of problem starting from power window to Disk break. Yes… Alza improve a bit with handling but still facing with QC problem now days. Who said Campro not good ?…. Please be my guest to try all new P1 generation…. Don't say campro old tech engine… if we can see clearly, most of Toyota & P2 used old tech engine in malaysia (place to dump scrap for brand scrap supporters)… If U said I buy Savvy & Exora coz of Patriotic only, U ARE WRONG…. I buy coz it's true Malaysia product, my money that purchase the car still in Malaysia, I support Malaysia product (P2 & Naza not Malaysia product, just Rebadge the product)…. Even if u see my money maybe just little but I contribute for Malaysia Grow's… I pay tax every year… I pay Zakat every year… Even helping unfortunate Malaysian… Why ?…. coz I love Malaysia. The place I born….

• lazyf on Mar 09, 2010 at 5:34 pm

agreed with EPSO…

• SY0H said,

March 8, 2010 @ 6:03 pm

…………PROTON ACCOLADES

> Profitability? It is amazing that a protected company (market and price) loses money in the first place.

> Engineers? I hope they are not the same engineers sent to Misubishi Japan, Citroen France. Obviously they learnt nothing then.

bla bla bla…

…………………………………………………………………………………

These if u see things only in forms of numbers.

If life was that simple.

• irixrpi on Mar 09, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Tommy said,

..Think, what have proton gave us

I would say, think, what have Proton taken from us. Hint: Honda City 90.5k vs 62.5 in Langkawi.

• I read somewhere here that the tail lamp is a copy from the previous city? What? Some said that it looks like merc C? What? Its normal right? New city light copy BMW…vios dugong tail light copy waja…so what’s the prob?

some people still don't understand the meaning of facelift…it’s not a new model la…just a few fresh look to the car…just like civic facelift…change round shape light to rectangular…I don't even notice if not for this blog…

about the tax, I’d rather have this taxes than unsubsidized petrol…(just like some moron propose)car prices can be translated up to 10 years….but petrol…1 litre 2.70?nightmare…

for me it’s simple…you like you buy it…don't like it leave it…you r the one who have the money…it is up to you to invest your money…remember to pay your tax….don't like to pay the tax? Please use the correct channel to express your opinion….pussy…

• ganz (Member) on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:21 pm

another long thread.. :D congrat to proton.

anyway.. from my reading here.. lots of people here having a good in economic, engineering point of view, even better than those is US or Japan..

nowonder malaysia economic is still good even in several recession.

but sadly,, most people are only disguise under their nicks name here :((

• oldwira on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:40 pm

Tommy said,

I would say, think, what have Proton taken from us. Hint: Honda City 90.5k vs 62.5 in Langkawi.

Re-think…. myvi 54k vs persona 57k vs persona 38 k in langkawi ….. idiot

Tax from rich and affordable men to subsidize free school, hospitals, rural development, roads etc …… moron

• oldwira on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:40 pm

sorry, not you Tommy

• Tiadaid on Mar 09, 2010 at 10:08 pm

irixrpi said,

March 9, 2010 @ 9:47 am

Tommy said,

—————

Think, what Honda & Toyota given us.

Crap cars at inflated prices. City & Vios isn't sold in America & UK, why is that? And before you ask, I drive a 2004 City, so my critique is warranted.

• Type F on Mar 09, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Support Proton la bai…

Kalu duit bnyk sgt beli je city transformer / dugong TRD bodoh tue..

Stupid 1.5 cars cost >85k

• mohd hafizzul on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:18 pm

Type F : Ko ni duk kutuk, ko sendiri pakai keta apa?

• ezralimm on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Tiadaid said, March 9, 2010 @ 2:08 pm

Think, what Honda & Toyota given us.

Crap cars at inflated prices. City & Vios isn’t sold in America & UK, why is that? And before you ask, I drive a 2004 City, so my critique is warranted.

===================================

The Vios is sold in America, UK and Australia as the Yaris for brand consistency in marketing.

Not sure about the City but I do know it is being sold in Australia, and is about RM90k OTR with insurance for the auto midrange one.

The City is sold in Singapore and Japan btw. I think it's witheld from America as that type of car simply doesnt appeal to that specific market.

• MoFaz on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:10 am

haiya.. bising la korang nih. tax la, langkawi la.. let me share some fact:

Honda City made in Thai, price between 560,000 – 700,000 baht.

Proton Persona CNG 549,000 – 629,000 Thai Baht

See, City is still more expensive than Persona even in City birthplace (Thai).

And Honda also have some kind of power window problem:

"The planned recall of Honda City cars in Thailand came after Honda announced a global recall of 646,000 Honda ‘Jazz’ and ‘City’ cars manufactured between 2007 and 2008 in Brazil, Japan, China, Malaysia, India and Thailand due to defective window switches."

• MoFaz on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:14 am

erm, forgot to add:

CNG is more expensive than normal Campro engine. basically, it's like what we're doing here… add RM5-6K to convert our car to NGV

• oldman on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:13 am

selama Potong bernyawa itu, selagi tu lah Potong akan terus dibenci dan dikutuk oleh bekas2 penggunanya kerana pengalaman pahit selama memiliki kete Potong yg amat BUDUS sekali akan terus dikenang….

seperti kata2 org dulu….dah kena sekali, takkan nak try Potong lagi kot…hihi, inilah realitinyer…bile lah Potong nak berubah kot…

• oldman said,

March 9, 2010 @ 8:13 pm

hehe…an oldman really is stuborn…oh…cannot update his database?license expired already?

• MoFaz on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:11 am

sudahlah oldman… i think proton will survive longer than you. at least proton is getting better, positive, and dare to change. you, in the other hand will always be negative, no improvement, only go from bad to worst then kaput.

• peYno on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:35 am

oldman said,

seperti kata2 org dulu….dah kena sekali, takkan nak try Potong lagi kot…hihi, inilah realitinyer…bile lah Potong nak berubah kot…

============

zaman 70an.. org kata .. keta jepun ni tin milo tak macam keta eropah…masa tu pon ramai kata.. sekali pakai keta tin milo… tak berani nak pakai lagi…prrrrfthhh

• oldman on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:26 am

Proton is getting better….HAHAHAHA…

Funniest quote ever from MoFaz…good one, boleh masuk Raja Lawak lah MoFaz….

• MoFaz on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:50 am

oldman, you're someone who can't be a parent. for you, once a kid lie, he/she will lie everyday and will never change. this is the mindset which will never bring you forward, but you will always stuck in the past.

have fun with the rest of your life.

• bashbash on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:30 am

oldman hidup zaman lama kot..

sbb tu tak nmpak improvement..

• MoFaz on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:33 am

To me, Malaysia Boleh is real, but its own citizen that’s always looking at local products as 2nd class, and anything foreign are godsend from heaven.

I agree that our product quality need improving. Proton is still small and could learn from big manufacturers. The good point is Proton have never caused death due to faulty pedals as what happened to some Toyota models, or faulty brakes which affecting 500,000 Prius cars. Similar case happened to Honda, 600,000 Jazz and City were recalled because there's incidents of driver/passenger getting electric shock by touching window switches. Toyota is widely known as high quality manufacturer and worshipped by many Malaysians. When something like this happens, they would close their eyes and forgive Toyota. But they’re making Proton's ‘power window’ issue as super duper serious as if the world is going to end if they can’t shut the window, and they would even ensure that the issues to be passed down for generations.

I’m not making fun on this issue, but rather hope that everyone learnt from this and help each other to improve. Proton too, should have taken the initiative to recall all Waja and replace power window motor and door handles with new & better systems.

As reported, previously around 200 vendors are supplying parts for Proton, but for Proton Emas, Proton would select 10-15 of the best vendors for parts. This is a good move to ensure our car quality could improve and match Japanese car makers.

• paultang on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:08 pm

so what.. its still a Proton anyway.

• gen2lama on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:53 pm

oldman said…

selama Potong bernyawa itu, selagi tu lah Potong akan terus dibenci dan dikutuk oleh bekas2 penggunanya kerana pengalaman pahit selama memiliki kete Potong yg amat BUDUS sekali akan terus dikenang….

—————————————————————

aku ok jer….khahahah orang lain ok jer….

– GEN2, BLM & exora…..

• brossprocps on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:03 pm

rehat lah minda anda semua dgn "gelimat" dulu wei! sabaq mau byk bro semua. sampai naik letih aku baca forum ni,asyik2 hang kata aku-aku kata kat hang.Pi mai pi mai dok tang tu jugak no…

• izack04 on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Nama pun facelift

bukan new all model

Pandai2 sendiri fikirlah

Semua dah besar

• zimmer on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:52 am

Aku setuju dgn Initial R.. aku dah guna 3 jenis perodua,xlarat nak maintain.

Now aku pakai BLM ( saga ) dgn BMW.So far xde prob. darisegi maintainance or performance. Myvi kena asap senang2 je dgn BLM aku.

Aku dah guna satu thn lebih,just normal servis pun ok.

diorang yg banyak komen agaknya jenis pemalas or kedekut kot

• aku cuba ramal, h-line rega murah dari persona se ckit, m-line up ckit dalam 2k, b-line, up ckit 0.5k. tapi berbaloi dengan ape yg dpt, bkn saja ecu, tcu/tcs pun dirombak smula(untuk yg auto), dgr cite, gen2 iafm nk discard,cps aje. ada gak dengar rumours gen2 mc3 launch skali ngan persona nih, ada warna baru, grill depan lain ckit, org kata ala2 saga se atap warna itam, xtaula betul tidak. start rege 55k auto dengo cite. xtauler. anyway, gudluck p1

• staff on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:46 am

Guys… you want cheap cars in malaysia…

Live in Langkawi la… why bising2? xpyh nk susahkan diri apply paspot negara lain…

kalau xmampu, sedar je lah xmampu…

Accusing others is easy, admitting own weakness is the hardest..

• oldman on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:46 am

MoFaz,

Since when CAR = CHILD…..

probably, that's the value of your children….. only same as car…bodo

patutlah ramai org dera anak sekarang…layan anak mcm kete…

• x cakap banyak said, on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:27 am

cakap byk x guna…..suka beli, x suka x payah beli …yg x de duit dok diam2

• MoFaz on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:51 am

apalah oldman nih… dah tua sgt sampai tak reti pikir.

sejak bila aku samakan car=child… aku ckp perangai kau tu tak sesuai jadi bapak, sebab asyik nak pandang salah & silap aje. maybe dulu anak ko dapat 0 markah masa ujian, ko marah dia teruk2. now dah dpt 100 markah pon ko layan macam dulu-dulu..

paham ke tak nih? iskk, susah betoi nak ajar org tua yg buta huruf mcm dlm citer P. Ramlee tu.

• when it will be launch?

• Prismo on Mar 11, 2010 at 4:30 pm

argh… oldman wat lawak pulak da… meh, masuk raja lawak.. mana tau leh menang..

——————————-

donno said,

March 8, 2010 @ 5:22 pm

wow, lots of ppl say perodua quality is good??

My Myvi has undergone front brake disc replacement under warranty not once but TWICE. Now the warranty has gone it has started shuddering for the 3rd time! That should have been recalled and the brake disc redesigned as the brakes are safety items!! Now my friends Viva has the same symptoms too. God knows how many ppl have accidents cased by the faulty brakes of their perodua’s…

——————————————-

haha, betul cakap ko… bukan ko sorang je ada masalah tu bro… myvi adik pompuan aku pun kena gak… pun dah dua kali tukar benda tu, sekarang pun dah ada tanda2 bermasalah semula… cuba tanya lagi siapa yang ada myvi yg lebih 2 tahun mesti ada masalah tu… it's seem like endless problem,,,

• new comer on Jul 09, 2010 at 6:29 pm

btul lah korang…myvi aku pn dah dua tahun.same prob…front disc brake. hayyoo..bila brake gegar gile2…
      pastu skang, master window switch rosak (driver side)…

• gen2lama on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:02 pm

ahahah orang tua memang camtu MoFaz……

biarla…bagi la dia merasa kete 'best'…maklumlah …

• oldwira on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Mr. Oldman,

My oldwira maintenance cost average is about rm200-300 yearly. Very very cheap. Each small spare part can last about 2 yrs in average. I dont care if you said your proton was terrible, coz my oldwira never cause me headache in term of maintenance and repairing cost. Like you said once is enough for you, but not for me. It just like having sex, once is never enough even its terrible, u have to try it more until u satisfy, rite? So same goes to your argument hehehe….

• myvi aku 6 bulan pki, power windows prob.. member aku, myvi gk, dh byk kali tukar pun prob lagi, aku sendiri dh naik kete die, mmg btol pwr window myvi die rosak…. pesal perodua owner senyap je? malu nye nk ckp pki perodua de prob?sbb toyota sumenye ok walaupun design die huduh? aku sendiri nmpk viva br 2-3 bulan org komplen psl absorber rosak kt perodua servis.. avanza ayh aku, br dua taun, dah mcm2 rosak.. klo xkire warranty dah lebih 6-7ribu abis..

• androndraco on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:31 am

I asked sales representative at Proton Edar Kuala Terengganu (Indahsari at Jalan Kamaruddin) and she tell me the car will be available at showroom this 18 March which is next Thursday. Its now open for booking.

• oldman on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:44 am

oldwira,

sex = car…? Come on get a life…

CAR is a car…u dont like them, go thrash it…u have bad experience with it, choose other who gave less headache…

remember MoFaz, your child should be much more valuable than your car… Just some advice, if you want to treat ur child like piece of metal, go ahead..

• androndraco on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:51 am

oldman said,

March 9, 2010 @ 8:13 pm

I'm driving a Proton Gen.2 CPS 1.6 Highline A/T. I REALLY LOVE my car. I love the engine performance, the looks of the car, the quality of the interior materials, the excellent after sales service, the affordable service fee, the 5-year warranty – pendek kata, semualah! Owning it is just a peace of mind! I REALLY LOVE MY PROTON GEN.2 CPS.

Proton, don't even bother what other people say. You are in the right track. You have improved! And you have prove it. As a Malaysian and a proud owner of Proton car, I give all my support to Proton.

• aAarghHhhhHhh..... on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:26 am

Betul ke 32bit Ecu, sebab Proton suka tipu2 dan cakap aje. Contohnya bila Gen.2 mula dilancarkan dengan badge "Campro". Ramai pengguna yang mati2 ingatkan Campro ini adalah Cam Profile, tapi rupa2nya Cam Problem! Sejarah telah membuktikan Proton suka tipu2!!

• ArrrRgGhHhhh.... on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:30 am

Betul ke 32bit ECU, sebab Proton suka tipu2 dan cakap kosong!Sejarah telah membuktikan bila model Gen.2 mula dilancarkan dengan badge "Campro". Ramai pengguna yang betul2 ingatkan Campro ini adalah Cam Profile, tapi rupa2nya Cam Problem…

• waimak on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:48 am

I'm not a designer. This is what I think. Proton should by now stop producing 'ah beng' kind of skirting and spoiler (persona boot is rather high already without spoiler if you ask me!) and look at how other makers do it. I personally feels it's best if the skirting/ spoiler adds to the elegance of the car rather than making it look just like after market 'add-on'.

Paul, can u please list down the new changes/ things in this facelift so that we know what this car offers now..

• MoFaz on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:08 am

tu la.. aku dah cakap dah, oldman ni memang tak reti pikir dah. malas aku nak explain kat dia dah. dah termaktub dalam otak dia, the mentality can never be changed anymore.

ni komen org luar bila dia tengok Proton Emas:

"Proton's vehicles get a little more creditable with every redesign. They gained a good knowledge base in acquiring Lotus, too. Makes me wonder if they'll be the next Hyundai in a decade or two."

org luar pun mengakui pencapaian Proton yang semakin baik. org Malaysia plak?… bodoh sombong dengan ego tak tentu pasal macam oldman.

isk isk isk… cobaaannnnnnn…

• anybody says that proton just giving new cars with new facelift. from my opinion,,only my opinion no offensive. all car maker make that way. see toyota vios then came out toyota trd .a few month ago i went to cameron and found honda civic so slow.1.8 and 2.0 driving slow than me .. proton maaa, honda got every technology .and regarding mampu or not its not anybody thinks or opinion to says. somebody prefer big home , somebody prefer big Car.its their own money..be fair on all.yes proton not so good but i can see the improvement there..

• Peter on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:24 pm

March 8, 2010 @ 7:20 pm

to syoh….

coz it’s cheap

try imagine cars is manufactured in Singapore

living cost in Singapore is damn high

and they have to pay high salary to their workers

that’s why Hyundai have factory in India

you know how much a Hyundai i10 cost

same price as myvi right!

—————————————————-

Bro…….Hyundai has to make cars in india itself because in india…….Its like the same as china………Foreign makers have to partner an indian/china companies to manufacture cars in the domestic market. Most of these are usually not exported to many countries………

Honda, toyota, etc also have to joint partner……Reason: Govt protection…….

Malaysia is also similar …..Proton wif Mitsu, Perodua wif toyota n daithatsu…..

But what we are lacking are advanced technology…………

You know those Japanese, Korean cars in china and india comes with the most advanced technoloy????????????

What about Malaysia? Rebadge Lance aka which generation? Rebadge Perodua's models……..which engine???????Old daihatsu engine which is still available for more than how many years????

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:04 am

LET's REWIND is SUMMORE! FUYOOO!

…………PROTON ACCOLADES

> Engineering? We need not send our people to Italy to learn designs or buy Lotus for production. They would come to our country lock stock and barrel (FDI, engineering,jobs) if we looked at Thailand.

> Investment return? Since when is tax considered an investment return (18bil revenue)?

………….LIMPAH NIKMAT

The people who benefited are Proton staff, patrons and their cronies. The people who paid thru their noses are 27mil rakyat. Eighteen bil could be used to subsidize public transport but was wasted on mega projects, bailing out cronies, nationalizing losses, spawning Zakaria’s and Ahmad Is…. etc.

Increased sales volume should bring prices down, but was propped up artificially (via protectionism).

………….TELUR SE BIJI

We are crowing over one plant (200k ut) and 300000 related jobs. Look at Thailand which has more than 5 world class plants ( 1.4 mil ut of Toyota, Nissan, Honda, GM, Isuzu). It exports twice more than what Proton sells the whole year in M’sia. Calculate the FDI, job and engineering value vs Proton.

Proton can be a proud domestic champion, but M’sia lost horribly in the Asian market. We should be exporting to Asia like Thailand is doing now. In fact many Toyota, Nissan, Honda, Isuzu, Mitsubishi, GM models in M’sia now come from Thailand or Indonesia not Japan or US.

Asian parts component manufacturing is now centred in Detroit of Asia not the jungle fringe of Tanjung Malim. Our Asean neighbours buy from Thailand but not from M’sia which has only Proton parts.

Proton is one example what supremacist attitude and misplaced pride will do to our industry in the global arena. Penny wise pound foolish! Megah dgn keris maut akibat peluru! M’sia putih mata, rakyat putih tulang membela Proton.

……………FIVE BIL SAVINGS?

At that volume the car would be manufactured locally by local engineers via local plants (eg Thailand). Foolish to ship 200K ut cars from so far! Why did Sony build a plant in M’sia?

Misleading attempt to hoodwink some simpleton readers. There is no five bil savings in exchange outflow (without national car policy) but there is five bil losses, wastage and lost exports in protecting Proton.

……………AFTERTHOUGHT

High cars prices to prevent M’sians from buying petrol guzzling cars is an afterthought to defend Proton. Many foreign cars far more economical than Proton are not allowed to be sold cheaply.

• oldman on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:57 am

MoFaz said;

"…..ni komen org luar bila dia tengok Proton Emas:

“Proton’s vehicles get ………..”

———————————————————

Yeah, right…who said that… Your mother….? Or your child@car..?

• MoFaz on Mar 13, 2010 at 4:24 am

ko ni pehal la oldman.. dah buang tebiat? cuba la cari kat autoblog luar kalo tak caya. org yg berhati busuk mmg cepat buruk sangka.

rumah kata pegi, kubur kata mari… jangan la asyik nak mengutuk je. bawak2 la bertaubat sementara masih sempat ni.

• MoFaz on Mar 13, 2010 at 10:30 am

SYOH,

It's much better if we produce our own product and export, rather than producing outsider's. Don’t get me wrong, I agree that foreign investors are definitely positive thing. But the real ‘profit’ belongs to the foreign companies. Furthermore, they only want to get profit, and won't really care about the well being of the citizens. When Malaysia is no longer 'cheap' for their operation, or when economy is bad, they would slash jobs or cease operation here, abandon their workers and flee to better place.

The big manufacturers employ more robots than human. Industry and manufacturing contributed 44% of gross domestic product (GDP) for Thailand but employed only 14% of the workforce. It doesn’t help much to improve quality of life in the whole country, and more than 10% are still below poverty line.

Thai started their automotive industry in 1960s by producing parts, and later assembling motorcycles in 1970s. Thai have no automotive industry of their own, so most vehicles were imported and Thai experiencing trade deficit. In 1978 Thai disallowed CBU imports of car and motorcycle, and CBU imports of van and jeep were also disallowed in later stage. So, car manufacturers were “encouraged” to setup plants to assemble CKD, and also “encouraged” to use 20-50% local parts. This system is also known as substitution of imports. Import of new cars were only allowed in 1991, but 2nd hand (used cars) were still banned.

In my opinion, the car manufacturers were ‘forced’ to setup factories in Thai in order to tap the huge market. Malaysia took different approach by producing own car for domestic market, which is still the largest market for passenger cars in SEA. I do feel that if Malaysia took similar steps as Thailand (disallowing imports of cars to allow local automotive industry to grow), many people here will shout “gov is unfair”. But the truth is, the system not only successful in Thai. Korea had similar policies since 1970s and the citizens were ‘forced’ to buy local cars, and now Korean has become the world’s 4th largest car manufacturer after 50 years.

• MoFaz on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Peter said,

March 12, 2010 @ 12:24 pm

Bro…….Hyundai has to make cars in india itself because in india…….Its like the same as china………Foreign makers have to partner an indian/china companies to manufacture cars in the domestic market. Most of these are usually not exported to many countries………

Honda, toyota, etc also have to joint partner……Reason: Govt protection…….

Malaysia is also similar …..Proton wif Mitsu, Perodua wif toyota n daithatsu…..

But what we are lacking are advanced technology…………

You know those Japanese, Korean cars in china and india comes with the most advanced technoloy????????????

What about Malaysia? Rebadge Lance aka which generation? Rebadge Perodua’s models……..which engine???????Old daihatsu engine which is still available for more than how many years????

———————————————————

Yes Peter, even in Australia… Holden has offered badge engineered Chevrolet, Isuzu, Nissan, Suzuki, Toyota, and Vauxhall Motors models in sharing arrangements, with Daewoo, Opel and Isuzu-sourced models sold currently. that's a hella lots of rebadge, right?

many government prefer manufacturers to build plants and assemble CKD rather than importing CBU. more jobs opportunity for their citizens and also better 'trade balance' especially for countries with trade deficit.

Proton is not that bad. Detroit Electric, MG Rover, Mitsubishi and Jinhua Youngman are interested with some of Proton models to be rebadged as theirs. And if really Proton is not good, do you think VW would even consider about acquiring it? hidden value perhaps?

• waklanproton on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:36 pm

tunggu launch 18hb nie..pastu baru komen laa..

benda lum kuar dah macam2 cakap. steady la bro.

• gengkapak on Mar 14, 2010 at 6:40 am

my mum's persona produce klok2x sound2x behind the boot/wheel area especially when the car is moving. I've sent to proton service centre and they also at this moment can locate the problem.

to persona owner, do you have this prob? if yes any sugesstion what is the prob?

• Merc ProuDer on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:45 am

smell car..is it??…

because it rubbish

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:57 am

gengkapak said,

March 13, 2010 @ 10:40 pm

Solution, you basically have two options;

1) Be prepare to visit the Service Center at least once a month. By doing so you'll lose work and time productivity. It's very tiring and agitating. I have visited Proton's service center 13 times in 1 year.

2) OR, sell it off, with losses of course but at least you don't have to suffer.

That's just the beginning. Very soon, you'll start to hear other kind of noises coming from the iafm module, moving parts, door knob, rattling plastic dashboard, knocking suspension, squeaking steering, squeaking pedal (for manual), the INFAMOUS broken power window (knocking sounds as well), rubber sealant peel off, battery quality poor (mine died in 3 months after pruchase) and the list just goes on.

There are 3 types of people who drive Proton cars;

1) People who just know how to drive and doesn't know anything else.

2) People who drives and care for the car (and the 5~9 years loan liability).

3) Some blind supporter made from cronies, families and friends of Proton.

You'll be surprised majority of Proton owners (and forumers up there) are from Category 3. They know the problems, but they're blind and ignorant. You'll be lucky if you're even in Category 1, these people just simply don't know. I presume both of us are at least in Category 2. Good luck chap!

• staff on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:35 pm

to SY0H…

its all theory right?

are you a crony because you are buying a persona after problematic waja… why is that?

• after on Mar 16, 2010 at 1:31 am

my 2009 persona still good as new… fuel more efficient after 3rd service… oil change etc… love it… new facelift kinda weird.. more like ah beng car.. hehe.. should fit new bumber n enterior material..

• baik bikin sendiri, lagi cun..haha facelift version diri sendiri lg bagus,,, ini proton stakat ganti bumper, tukar lampu, tambah tolak aksesori dah claim facelift.. then up harga riban2.. tak payahler, buang duit buang masa jer.. body gen2 jugak yg lawa..haha

• gengkapak on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:20 am

I already went to the service centre to check the klok2x sound on my mum's persona and it was the absorber that had problem (which the guy @ the centre refered as absorber knocking). After repaired, the car moves smoothly with no more klok2x sound.

However my comments after the service are:

PRoton service centre (tak kira proton edar or eon), senyum sikit pada pelanggan leh ka? mcm mau makan orang ja bila deal with customers. Though its no doubt (my own driving experience) proton cars is more better than perodua in terms of pick up , power and handling but its quite sad to see how terrible the service that they provide at the service centre

I guess thats the among the reason y people choose perodua is after the service sales quality. I went to few perodua service center in 4 divisions (kuching, smarahan, sri aman and sibu) the service that they give is good. they treat with smile and 1st They even take the iniative to call the customer to ask the car condition after service.

Mcm proton servis I went to (eon punya) i witness 1 customer that they seem dont want to service the man's car after another service centre (proton edar) ask that man to go to eon service centre. What the heck man? after all its a proton?

• in term proton service . i totally agree , they need to improve seriously..

• oldwira on Mar 18, 2010 at 8:42 am

Went to proton showroom to get a peek on new persona. Its gorgeous i can tell. No wonder Its quite anticipated.

• jamal on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:34 pm

proton persona = high petrol usage….

• jamal on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:36 pm

PROTON PERSONA : HIGH FUEL CONSUMPTION… : (

• new comer on Jul 09, 2010 at 6:37 pm

is it true??..bcoz what i read from auto magazine. persona is one of best car in FC in its class..1st Vios. 2nd persona 3rd honda city.. i’m also shocked guys..

• mr.december on Mar 18, 2010 at 8:05 pm

so how the price oldwira .. ?

how long it take for u to get the car?

En Jamal .. ya kah? xperience base? goss base?

• staff on Mar 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

jamal…

my manual persona fc,

normal drive 80~110kmh= about 6.1L/100km…

maintain 80kmh = 5.4l/100km

• Nizamaz on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:15 pm

heh said,

March 16, 2010 @ 6:19 pm

baik bikin sendiri, lagi cun..haha facelift version diri sendiri lg bagus,,, ini proton stakat ganti bumper, tukar lampu, tambah tolak aksesori dah claim facelift.. then up harga riban2.. tak payahler, buang duit buang masa jer.. body gen2 jugak yg lawa..haha

**** Bro.. jangan tengok luaran je.. nanti dak jual atas jalan boleh tengok semua luar dan dalam. Ingat nak buat facelift tu tak pakai duit ke.. Proton bukan kilang copy & paste.. diaorang buat development seiring dengan world class certification. Proton dah cukup bagus bagi kereta yang baik dengan harga yang murah.. bukan macam kereta lain yang mahal tapi masih ada maalah sampai kena recall…

• roard on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:21 pm

congrate to proton. 1st step to own-fully-design in future. if the whole copy from c-class,many can't affordable to buy……proton made for can-buy price…for 1malaysia

• EXORA TURBO NEXT YEAR, YESSS

• Trauma! on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:17 am

Better then p2…p2 hya mau snang2 dulu,susah2 kmudian…p1 ada wawasan…tahniah!