Peugeot 207 Sedan to be launched in November 2010

According to a report by Bernama, Nasim COO Mr Samson Anand George revealed to a group of media visiting Naza’s Gurun assembly plant up north that the Peugeot 207 Sedan that we’ve spied prowling the streets of the Klang Valley while sporting minimal disguise will be launched November this year.

“I can assure you that the pricing will be very competitive. We aim to sell 5k to 6k units of the Peugeot 207 Sedan a year, with 30% of total sales being exports to neighboring countries like Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore and Brunei,” said Mr Samson Anand George.

The 207 Sedan will be the little brother of the 408 Sedan, due in 2012

Nasim is currently working on three additional 3S centers at a total cost of RM15 million. The 207 Sedan will be the latest model to join the current stable of CKD and CBU models such as the 407, the 308 and the 3008.

From what we understand there are also plans to bring in the Peugeot 5008 7-seater MPV sometime next year, in addition to two other ‘lifestyle-oriented’ cars, which I am taking a wild guess to be the drop top Peugeot 308CC and the sexy Peugeot RCZ. They are also on track to launching a locally assembled ‘Peugeot T73’ C-segment sedan in 2012, which should very likely be the Peugeot 408.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mienzz on Sep 30, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Hmm..Peugeot 207 VS Proton new waja replacement

• tikus on Sep 30, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Naza the price buster is back!!

• yea~ if this car is priced as the proton lancer. we will know how Proton can Beat Naza.

• Of course the Waja will win if priced similar but they are not going to competelah. Proton network is so big, nobody can fight them lah. But if you read the Bernama report, they are only aiming for a few hundred a month so technically, this is not going to compete with the Waja… which will win anyway against everybody… even without breaking a sweat.

• 3008_bought on Sep 30, 2010 at 9:06 pm

now this is good news. fiesta can go to sleep.

• Jimmy on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:37 pm

No fight at all, Wajalancer will sure win by at least 3 times. Just mark my words.

• Espresso! Quick! on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:40 pm

Agree!! No fight but are they even fighting in the first place? Anyone will know even without thinking that the new Waja will outsell it by not only 3 times but maybe even 4 or 5 times! I think you didn’t have to mention this lah. We can all think for ourselves. And nobody needs to mark your words. You are 100% correct already.

We will surely mark your words if you say something like “this car will outsell the Waja by 2 times!”

• stephen on Oct 01, 2010 at 9:09 am

it seem too much to compare 207 sedan with a waja replacement that rumoured as a lancer….donno…unless its a lancer with 1.6 engine…else its just too much for 207 to compete as 207 is more like an entry level car like Vios to Toyota or City to Honda.

• protonprincess on Oct 01, 2010 at 9:50 am

well just hope that this new waja will not face any minor/major prob as the rest of the models. I’m a proton driver, but somehow i find that the proton parts bit lousy.sux.big time :(

• why rear door is so small??
    like peugeot 206 hatchback ryte

• shoon on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:49 pm

I saw a white 308 CC along with a white 3008 on a trailer in NKVE not too long ago. Both without registration plates.

• shawal on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:04 pm

X jual pun takpa, takdela kitorang sakit mata

• 3008_bought on Sep 30, 2010 at 9:07 pm

this looks like mazda 2 and fiesta sedan too. you mata masuk pasir ker? ko beli kia forte ker?

• mfahd_88 on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:24 pm

imo
    the beautiful design for ‘stretch-hatchback’ car is proton saga
    other than that,fail in term of their beauty
    n this car is one of them

• Tiadaid on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Proton Saga wasn’t a hatchback. Persona is the correct one, being a stretch-hatchback of the Gen2

• off tangent on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:03 pm

are you serious that the saga looks good? it looks like a dumpling, tall, narrow and short overall length make it look just as ackward. i think you are referring to the persona being a beautiful ‘stretch-hatchback’ car.

• pacifictuna on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:10 am

well i always thought the previous generation Honda city was also tall and narrow. especially from the back of the facelifted version. but it looks better…. personally i’m not so fond of sedan version of hatchbacks. Latio, Mazda2, fiesta all looks awkward with the extra compartment protruding from their back.

• off tangent on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:01 pm

looks a little clumsy in the picture above but looks much nicer live… in fact it looks very good when seen live.

• Jimmy on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:35 pm

If Wajalancer is rm75k and this one rm65k, I will definitely choose Wajalancer for a few reasons(more on the roads, better resale value, more options for service centres, spare parts easier to find, among others).
    Why Naza bother to bring this in, unless thay can price it at Persona price and it comes with Panoramic sunroof. What are the attractive points?
    I tell you this is going to be a cheapo car but put in make-up to make it look like upmarket. You just look at the Avanza-like door handles(the 1st picture), you would want to vomit already.
    If you don’t like Proton, then you add another rm8k to get Vios J, you won’t regret after 5-year cool-down period.

• jimmy,

you so sure this car has no tricks up its sleeves? ;) anyway, peugeot is not interested to fight the waja lah. be realistic, they just want a few hundred a month as compared to the thousands of waja that will be sold to those who can’t afford a real lancer.

as for those who will choose the waja, then go lor… nobody stopping them mah.

• Espresso! Quick! on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:35 pm

After driving both cars, real drivers will opt for the 207 while those who need a commuter just to get from A-B will choose the other car. But, there aren’t many real drivers left so, congratulations to the winners of a contest that never even was!

• naza bestari was sold at 45k last time.. I think we will have no problem to sell this car just around 50k. that’s why they are very confident that the car will sell

• bryan.jones on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:06 pm

ugly but goood alternative for some Euro fans..

• BeemerFreak on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:45 pm

I am wondering what takes Naza so long to launch a new model. Initially they said last year 8 models will be launched this year with 4 being peugeot and 4 being Kia.

So far only the 3008 is here and the 308 facelift with 6 speed auto which was launched in Geneva Motor Show this year is still not here yet.

Worse still for Kia, where is the new Sorento? The new Sportage, Forte Koup and Soul is still not here after so much talk about it.

• azrai on Oct 01, 2010 at 8:26 am

I only hope the export to ASEAN market is bigger than local who bought it. This mean more ASEAN money pump in into Malaysia. Good for teh economy.

• Jaybond on Oct 01, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Peugeot 408 in 2012? Kind of late to say the least, by that time most probably current gen-Honda Civic will already be replaced with a more advanced version.

• Malaysian 207 sedan brief specification is now available on the Peugeot Malaysia website:

http://www.peugeot.com.my/

• pacifictuna on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:12 am

my salesman just called me… inviting me to view the car this sunday. no official test drive available yet but he says ‘just come 1st la, we’ll see….’.

• farrel8177 on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:06 pm

This article is on Peugeot 207. Not Proton. Please don’t compare Peugeot to the likes of Proton.

• saiful on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:25 pm

The Chevrolet Cruze looks much much better…although the price is a lil higher but its worth it. Go Chevy….