Peugeot RCZ and 308CC spotted in JPJ Putrajaya!

It’s an onslaught of Pugs! These two new Peugeots were spotted by reader Akmal in Putrajaya – a sexy silver Peugeot RCZ and a white Peugeot 308CC. If they’re already hanging around JPJ Putrajaya presumably for type approval it’s likely that they’ll be launched sometime in the first half of next year.

Next up – we pretty much already know that the 5008 MPV will be here as well. I can think of two other models that have the potential for sales over here – the 408 which is basically a C-segment 308-based sedan and the 508, Peugeot’s version of the Citroen C5.

Considering the insanely expensive price of the Audi TT here in Malaysia, I am curious how much that RCZ will go for. We’ve already driven the Peugeot RCZ – read our test drive review.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1645]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gangully on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:47 am

i thought they have previously launced the 308cc here already?

i remembered seeing the car on display in Bangsar Shopping Centre sometime last year on display together with the 308GT.

correct me if i am wrong…

• intermilan on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:03 pm

you are wrong..

• intermilan on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:36 pm

These two are sure expensive.

Price should be near the RM200,00 mark.

Most probably over it for the RCZ but the 308CC should be under it, at least 180K, perhaps? Remember that the 207CC is priced at 170K .

All are CBU, of course.

• drMpower on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:47 pm

i think that is the topless smaller version that i used to see siti nurhaliza drive few years back. i forgot whats the pug numbering on that. it could be 206cc or something. most of the time i am confused by the numbers as well.

but i believe this 308cc is the latest addition here in malaysia. i’ve been to nasim autocity juru penang few months back and if it already launched like u mentioned, i pretty sure i’d notice it. this 308cc is a 308 in basic but better as a whole. of course it got a roof that can be folded in. a convertible i believe.

the price is gonna be a good guess game. i think what they gonna bring in first is the hotter version of the 308cc just like the 200bhp 308 they brought in before they did the VTi and rm110k plus turbo. the lesser version of 308cc gonna come later. this is just a wild guess however but i certainly wudnt mind the smaller specced one if it is THIS GOOD.

forget that resale value. i used to be very concern about that but to hell with it. or how rubbish pug engine reputation is, here in malaysia. what i want now is 100-120k 308cc. come to me. come to papa.

ps- what la forteh interprem over there? cacat la gambar. that wira u can just crop it out but forteh…ish…

• pomen_gtr on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:03 pm

wat??topless siti?? :lol:

joking only..

btw…rcz is a very nice and sexy car..surely would put audi TT into rivalries mode….

• bryan jones on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:29 pm

topless siti?? damn, he should take a snap back then… hahaha..

• sunny on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:03 pm

it was the 207CC that you saw.

• bryan jones on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:31 pm

you’re from the future ehh???

207 hatch also not out yet. it was 206cc my friend..

• a lot of 207cc on the road already…

• handsome*dude on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:12 am

u sure not a PUG fans ~~ u didn’t know 207CC was on sales since 2 years back??~~ quite a number of 207cc on the road too

• junaidi on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:47 pm

LOL you’re slow. a 207cc parked right next to my car at the office. Looks really good. I didnt like the 206cc coz it was a bit tak siap.

• midnite on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Very wrong

• junaidi on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:49 pm

you sure you didnt see the 207cc?

• Jaybond on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:58 am

The RCZ should be a true Audi TT competitor, although arriving 4 years too late!

• sunny on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:05 pm

the rcz was only launched last year internationally. how can this be too late?

• Jaybond on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:57 pm

Quite late to challenge Audi TT, which was launched in late 2006 (I think)

• Tiadaid on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Actually the 1st gen Audi TT was launched in 1994. The 2006 version is the 2nd gen.

• sunny on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:18 pm

oh ok, sorry, i thought you meant too late to launch in malaysia. then perhaps, yeah, they should have thought of this earlier but nonetheless, it is still something that looks more interesting that will be hitting our roads.

• AhChai on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:24 pm

rileks man, i afraid next time u will get a heart attack.

• bryan jones on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:33 pm

why late? they do research 1st. good for audi to improve the market demand.. so peugeot could join in easily..

• toyoottt on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:16 pm

its not fair to compare between RCZ and Audi TT,, RCZ should compare with VW Scirocco,, Fifth Gear oso compare both car.

• handsome*dude on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:18 am

its true.. Audi TT is way upper range, and actually RCZ can’t compete with VW scirocco too..

the only similarity between TT and RCZ are their roof top~

tough the Prince engine is not bad.. but still the VW group of Turbo engine is better ~

the very big big drawback of PUG is they dun have a nice gear box.. hence the RCZ can only come with a 6-speed manual..

engine and gearbox = still VW group win~

but given the price tag offer by NAZA here…. sure its a fair buy for PUG!

• i dont think you know what you are on about. RCZ just won top 5 best car of the year leading by Lamborghini? read more about cars in the west before you make any comment dude!
          just for reference….Top Gear,AutoCar and so on the internet…

• harry on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:04 pm

RCZ with 2,0 way to go dude!!

• marcus on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:07 pm

the rcz base model is going for around 73000 if i’m not mistake on the sydney motorshow last week end.. would that give us a rough estimate of how much would it be in malaysia ?? i

• All 3 variants of the RCZ retail for AUD54k. 2.0 turbo diesel manual, and both 1.6 turbo petrols (6-speed auto with low output 1.6 and 6-speed manual with high output 1.6)

• droll on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:40 pm

i wonder – is this with 6 speed manual?

• Is there a JPJ in Putrajaya? I work here since 2005 and never seen one… (I bet its MOT)

• akmal on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:20 pm

JPJ is between MOHR & MOT.

• intermilan on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:33 pm

Adalah… Aiya, JPJ at Parcel D.

All new car that need type approval goes to jpj putrajaya (for the purpose of type approval)..

A lot of spy shot of soon-to-be-launched car were taken here, especially in the basement car park. any not-in-the-road car without number plate spotted here is a certain indication that the distributor is going to launch it soon, IF they get JPJ approval.

One ‘discouraging’ news about the RCZ.. its not easy to get JPJ approval for it.
      The reason? it’s kinda stupid.. but here a hint, the double-bubble glass roof.

• Alan Wong on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:18 am

Bro, this is a case of…

I give you trouble and problem… then you “KOPI O” me to settle the case!!

• anti-first on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Tox, here’s a suggestion for you to try before the year 2010 ends: try searching for jpj putrajaya in google or browse the jpj website.

better late than never.

• yes there is JPJ in putrajaya.. its at D4 beside MOT which is in D4..

btw.. spot it just now the PUG… there was 308cc, 5008 n the rcz… parking outside..

• hello on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:22 pm

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=jpj+putrajaya

you just lost a bet

• super white on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:06 pm

JPJ administration only, no counter at Putrajaya. But didn’t they moved office to Cyberjaya? Or did they still maintain certain department at Parcel D?

• mr_3m on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:23 pm

then you should drive or walk around a bit more….
      ————————————————————————
      JABATAN PENGANGKUTAN JALAN MALAYSIA ( JPJ ) ,
      ARAS 1-5 , BLOK D4 , KOMPLEKS D ,
      PUSAT PENTADBIRAN KERAJAAN PERSEKUTUAN
      62620 WP PUTRAJAYA
      Tel : 03 88866400 / Faks : 03 88889645
      HOTLINE : 03 88884244

www.jpj.gov.my

• Ugly car

• teelim on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:57 pm

With all the new Pugs coming in, I hope Naza doesn’t forget to upgrade the 308 Turbo to the 156THP engine and 6speed gearbox (same drivetrain as the 3008)

• Maserati on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:01 pm

I have seen a SG registered 308CC in Mont Kiara.It is awesomely awesome!

The LED rear lights is very very niceee!

RCZ is also very neat!

But both these cars are gonna be so so so so expensive! at least RM 200k for the 308cc and close to RM 300k for the RCZ

• There are a few 308cc Malaysia registered already…..

• I think Naza would know how to price it just right….
      and charge xtra later for after sales and spare parts…. sighh…

• bryan jones on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:28 pm

saw new-gen Sorento at JPJ Putrajaya last week. new-gen really get some muscle on it.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:04 pm

Err Nasim should also update the Peugeot gearbox that we are having in Malaysia. European 308s and 407s are using the 6 speed automatic in the 3008 already, why aren’t ours?

• Anti Proton on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:32 pm

im excited. very.

• niceone on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:49 pm

I’m expecting the price for RCZ will be around RM200k.. I’m wondering if Peugeot Malaysia will also provide full customization service (change rims, roof colours etc.) for this RCZ like peugeot in other countries do?

• rcz is very sexy indeed no doubt abut that.. but you guys should watch 5th gear season 17×8. no where near the 2.0 rocco on track interm of responds and handling feel..

• Jason on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:07 pm

hurray! finally has come!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• tikus on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:10 pm

The roof no see bubble butt also….

• junaidi on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:09 pm

look at the roof properly. The reflection “tak seragam”

• beautiful rims. i like them. seswai.

• sacofa on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:43 pm

308 CC is more like 4 seater TOPLESS :-p and RCZ is 2+2 seater TOPLESS …. in terms of performance.. you can really compare these 2 cars. RCZ is much superior car than 308CC. handling wise ichiban, power 200HP (THP model) sufficient for single driver in the car. Styling wise…. best in peugeot family. Price wise likely to be high (anyone will pay more for TOPLESS) …..

• Dude what do you mean by TOPLESS? RCZ aint TOPLESS. And why do I keep typing TOPLESS in capital???

• potatomasala on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:44 am

i think he is mentioning about the “longkang” on the RCZ……bwhahahahaha

• nolan on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Nice…but Pug still a Pug……..expensive spare parts and low resale value……

can’t compete with Japanese and Germans car………

• sunny on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:37 pm

aisay, why u come and kacau again, stay with the jap car stories lah. u talk rubbish only lah.

• nolan on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:11 pm

haiya…i didn’t see any sense in your comments lol …..i not kacau just tell you the truth maaaa…..dude…you drive Sunny aaaa?

• sunny on Oct 29, 2010 at 8:32 am

there is no basis for your claim.

• Dude, do you own a pug or have you test drove both the models on discussion here? Japanese car are not cheap to maintain either, and the current times have again and again proven thier reliability with thier recalls. The germans are not much better in terms or resale and reliability. Dont just comment, get some sense into it.

• JohnDeep on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:06 am

I am still driving pug/citroen family models since 1996, parts are considered reasonable if you are seasoned owner but if you are new may be yes if compared to proton.

• relax brader,, hes onli kancil owner,, basher always like that..

• Q_neo on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:46 pm

why all pug new model rear design are damn ugly?? i think the last model that looks nice is the 406.. pug must change their rear designer..

• bryan jones on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:21 am

406 butt nice mehh?? 307 got the butt.. nice & plain..

• Think the last nice looking peugeot was the 404 & the 405. Somehow they seem to be lost, they dont make it as how they use to. I checked out the 207 sedan, the plastics used is horrible and the rear doors doesn have the peugeot door closing treadmark. The SA said the 2o7 model, made in msia uses the 206 dboard, everywhere else the dboard is diff.

• Do brush up on your reading. There are 2 variants of 207 worldwide. One is the “207 Sedan” which is what Naza refers to as the “207” in Malaysia. This is essentially a 206 with a boot grafted on the back and the 207 hatch front-end grafted on the front. Interior remains as per a 206.

The other 207 variant is the model superceding the 206 called the “207”. It comes in stationwagon form (Touring), hatch form (207) and coupe form (CC).

• nolan on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Some people cannot take the bashing lol………

• man..next time if i saw any unregistered car in front of JPJ, i’ll surely snap and send it to u Paul.. I drove there like everyday and been observing this Pug like half an hour..to be honest, top notch quality with great design…but it’s still a Pug and I won’t buy it…hehe

• hazamiey on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:16 am

Malaysian people nowadays love to bashh.. This is another sample of those freaking idiots. I don’t know what happened to our today’s generation. Seem like our parents made some mistakes when raising us. But can’t blame them also, we have wise mind to think and to behave.

• JohnDeep on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:12 am

Bashing is a sign of arrogance, egotism, self-importance and low “EQ”…

• Is that facelift Forte in the Second Pic?

• toyoottt on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:57 am

ouch,, RCZ wheels cannot fit 308thp ler,, 5 nut,, aiiyarr..

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:01 pm

not bad …

• Hope they will launch them ASAP!

• waldan on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:37 pm

rcz vs rocs vs megane rs… huh

• bohtakchek on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:36 pm

when you see a product doesn’t improve over the last 2-3 generations, and yet still so many people religious worship because of a good “advertisement” and ill inform about their product because they never own them before.

expectation to improve… if not, frustration and anger over misrepresent of their product .. = bashing. there is no natural selection of the strongest will prevail here…

but look at peug … lov it, every new gen … spec improve, design improve, quality marginally…

• hi all, didn’t realize how popular RCZ and 308CC back home. well originally from Penang now living in London, i am driving 308CC. Was tempted to get RCZ but they don’t have good deal at the moment.
    i can tell you that it is superb to drive 308 CC with roof down in summer!!
    Allure, black leather interior, 18″ alloy, nera black

is there import duty still for cars?

• shawal on Nov 01, 2010 at 6:53 pm

i heard the RCZ tak lps the JPJ check due to its darkened back window…. sales person dekat peugeot retail yg cakap, dia advise booking 308 cc price dalam rm 178,000, tahun baru depan launch… but i still am in love with the RCZ, wat a beautiful car…

• Nardo on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:45 pm

can’t wait anymore! please launch it promptly

• ah beng on Nov 03, 2010 at 12:44 pm

who say its not approve. its naza`s car.they will be on sale in early march 2011. two version will be brought in, the 200hp manual and auto 156hp. price is like i said before in sept.. rm 229999-250000.