Toyota Prius MPV interior photo teased on Facebook!

Toyota has released a new image of the upcoming Toyota Prius MPV, a longer and taller new addition to the Prius family, set to debut at the Detroit Auto Show in January 2011. We don’t know at the moment whether the new Prius family member will have 7-seats or whether it will merely be a “Prius Plus” for those who want larger interior and luggage space.

Toyota Prius MPV interior photo teased on Facebook!

The latest bit of info is this new teaser image which shows us how the dashboard’s in-car entertainment and climate control area will look like. This shot is from a US market left hand drive car, since the full colour entertainment LCD panel is playing a American radio station. The gearknob and the power button looks similar to the one found in the Prius.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Superb

• Black Dog on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Most likely 7 seaters….there’s the tagline ‘entertainment for the entire family’

• RON97 on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:39 am

yea.. good option for low income owners (alza,exora).

• Kevin Lee on Nov 17, 2010 at 6:29 pm

hope they bring to malaysia :D

• umnosukapitnah on Nov 17, 2010 at 6:34 pm

150k in malaysia? :D

• MoFaz on Nov 17, 2010 at 8:42 pm

prius is less than RM80,000 in Japan, US and UK (with 10% tax in UK).
      why after 10% tax here, the price jump to RM140,000? RM60k profit?

• alldisc on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:51 pm

bro, 3 factors we must heavily consider if we are operating car business the way UMW does:-

1. the differences of an open market and stiff competition in japan, us and uk compare to malaysia (vios is still not cheaper than persona because of price control)
        2. low volume in terms of sales due to price contrl by m’sia govt
        3. increased profit margin to cover after sales prospect by UMW due to low volume sales.

they are all inter-related. UMW has been in this line for too long; they just cant pull out that easy.

• handsome*dude on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:17 am

boring..

overpriced means overpriced… simply as that.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:22 am

what is not over priced in Malaysia? house, food, Proton, Perodua…… the list goes on.

• Rejab on Nov 18, 2010 at 7:46 am

Agreed. Nothing in Msia not overptice. If they not declare the price increase…they will increased it quitely…no one notice!

• Hey bro~~ I have got this information for u to know..

Toyota.. Honda….. DO sell @ higher price at Japan when u compare it to USA.

Go search and see…

http://www.batfa.com/newvehicles.html
          [price for Japanese car @ Japan]

http://autos.yahoo.com/

Here’s my point.. There’s basically no price control by GOV..
          IT’s the manufacturer themselves understand the marketing strategy in Malaysia..
          They think their car is priced abit higher then normal…since they think it’s worth that price in Malaysia.

here it is:
          Myvi @ rm50k…

for sure a vios should be priced higher then it.. Rm70k++..

Then the list goes on..

Or u say Myvi can be priced lower? Hell no way..even VW Polo as an entry level car @ europe is selling at about RM50k..

• this type of buyers’ mentality like you made toyota loughing all the way to bank. do you realized that some variant of prius price even lower than civic hybrid?

• tikus on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:38 am

Honda Civic Hybrid not selling any more…I just check at honda showroom yesterday.

• Ongwc5 on Nov 17, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Nice, if sell 150k sure hot cake! :-)

• Anti Proton on Nov 17, 2010 at 6:39 pm

how much here ah

• Toyota Fuck !! on Nov 17, 2010 at 6:44 pm

so ugly

• aBsolut on Nov 17, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Awesome, hope it will launch it in Malaysia soon ! can’t wait to see it.

• ntah.. on Nov 17, 2010 at 6:53 pm

the dash looks better then the sedan prius..

• stiggy on Nov 17, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Detroit Auto Show in January 2010

• John Choo on Nov 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm

set to debut at the Detroit Auto Show in January 2010

– typo error on the year?

• Can’t wait :P

• tok kok on Nov 17, 2010 at 8:19 pm

exora re-badged

• arcana on Nov 17, 2010 at 8:30 pm

nice, hopefully its below 2.0 or otherwise we wont see it here as prices will balloon up….

• The glovebox looks quite outdated ( handle ), and I’ll hoping this new Prius MPV will looks sportier and also sharpier than Prius, Pruis looks quite soft and dumb.

• Wilfred on Nov 17, 2010 at 9:20 pm

had tested the 1.8 version. Superb handling & comfort. Think of getting one next year as heard that there might be some pricing changes once the Thailand assembly one come into Boleh Land

• alldisc on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:54 pm

now already 7-8 month waiting period. but can shorten the wait with additional supply from toyota thailand soon.

• it look similar to new toyota wish jap-spec (look at the side front angle) very very look like toyota wish

• looks kinda nice the dashboard (well at least the centre of the dashboard that is)

• Hafiz on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:26 pm

proton should rebadge this to exora hybrid :D

• Ctrl-V on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:28 am

Wishful thinking @ work

• senzu bean on Nov 18, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Proton already have Exora E-REV why must rebadge this?
      Hence it can achieve 2 liters per 100 km.

• ayamxxx on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:48 pm

wow, got 2 din entertainment. sure got gps

• Teighlour on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Lovely, would like to see that soon in Malaysia. But expecting the car to be priced below 150K is rather a fat chance. Looking at circa 180K.

• Gajen on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:32 am

interior looks decent,not bad

• Nice design. I would love to own a Prius. But I think the MPV should be rather expensive if it comes to Malaysia!

• it is small for a full size family MPV in the U.S.
    even the current prius is considered a normal sedan.
    this one might just be a station wagon…

• azrai on Nov 18, 2010 at 7:43 am

As for myvi we got elongated version named alza, so this elongated prius a.k.a. prius on steroid should be name priusa.

• loveit on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:04 am

I think it gonna be a next generation wish with prius engine

• nighttrain on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:04 am

It’ll be a cold day in hell if we get this dash on the local Prius or even the Prius Minivan.. they’ll just give you the idiot dashboard and charge the full price anyway..

• halucinated-avanza-owner on Nov 18, 2010 at 11:06 am

i got the same image as the first picture when i put my avanza behind/side a prius…

• Paul & the gang,
    Got this when try to search the Prius MPV to be launched. Look very like the 7 seaters design. http://blogs.insideline.com/straightline/2010/10/spy-photos-2012-toyota-prius-mpv.html

• CocoBear on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Looks promising in Malaysia. I can’t wait to see this MPV in Malaysia!

• CPirate on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Haha malaysians n their mentality. I am beginning to believe that there loads of Msians who r happy to pay exorbitant prices for a piece of crap just to show that they can afford it n are above others. Nobody cares if u drive a bmw in the uk but it is surely a bog deal in Msia coz of the price. Of course govt is the main culprit but equally some snobbish msians are also the contributing factor. Cheers

• nighttrain on Nov 18, 2010 at 5:47 pm

smug faced treehuggers driving around in their overpriced hybrids and EVs…

• jong84 on Nov 21, 2010 at 8:13 pm

Tail light looks like Toyota Wish..