Toyota Avanza updated with dark interior colour scheme

Even though it’s been 6 years since the Toyota Avanza was first introduced in 2004, I don’t think budget “ASEAN” models such as the Avanza follow Toyota’s regular 5 year lifecycle so the Avanza is soldiering on here in Malaysia, though I think the Perodua Alza has stolen much of its thunder.

Nevertheless UMW Toyota has given it another update, some based on feedback from consumers. The biggest change would be on the interior, where the Avanza now gets a dark interior colour scheme as opposed to the cream interior it previously had.

Fitments around the interior such as the carpet mats, bag hook and center console box are now black to match the darker interior theme.

Not much changes on the outside – the only one being a different “body stripe” design. Available in Grey Metallic, Dazzling Silver, Black MIca, White and Light Green Metallic, the Avanza is available in four different equipment levels:

• Toyota Avanza 1.5 S Automatic – RM77,490
  • Toyota Avanza 1.5 G Automatic – RM74,990
  • Toyota Avanza 1.5 E Automatic – RM69,990
  • Toyota Avanza 1.3 E Manual – RM62,000

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ganyang Malon on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Better buy Daihatsu Xenia, more cheaper

• katob on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:11 am

haha…
      Daihatsu Xenia only have in 1.0 and 1.3 version.
      1.3Li version used cassette radio player !!!
      What the heck Daihatsu Indonesia!!
      You think Indonesian are third-world people?

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:51 am

many parts of indonesia are third world, especially in the remote areas of sulawesi and jawa. the xenia are useful as taxis there as they are cheap with low maintenance but efficient enough and usable to ferry many people and items.

this the main reason of toyota avanza is designed, malaysia was not it’s prime market even though it was successful here from 2004-2009.

• Nasai on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:45 am

That’s not in M’sia lah. In Indonesia got lah. Or was it Thailand?

• this or P2 alza?

Alza seems very smart looking, like a bigger Jazz. with the nice bodykit.

avanza got any bodykit? wait, its so old, like 8 years already……aiya

• or add some money to buy nissan grand livina. that looks good too.

• RON97 on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:55 am

another post for lower income people (P1 & P2 owners)…and bash each others with their exora (big ugly, cheap material) and alza (girlish car)..in the end avanza win.

• klguy on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:14 pm

though i don like proton but i hv to admit that seriously exora is much better than this junk

• there is no daihatsu xenia in malaysia!

• Fangalica on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:00 pm

daihatsu xenia powerplant are worse dude…just u imagine how much power they need to move the car if 7 peoples sit inside the car ?

• mitlanevo on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:20 pm

better get Exora lah… i wonder who is so stupid to place an order for Avanza now….

• Rejab on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Agreed

• kimi_ on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:36 am

The Avanza is only 6 years old, you all call it ANCIENT and RUBBISH????

How about Perdana, WAJA which are about 10 years, No need to say saga and wira…..Then we should call it LEGEND right!!!!!!

Actually Toyota learn from P1 lah….

• Tiadaid on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:50 am

Waja – No longer in production
        Perdana – replacement in the pipeline, besides have you seen any new Perdana owned by private owners?
        Wira – No longer in production, replaced with Gen2 & Persona
        Saga – New generation in production, bears no resemblance with 1st Gen Saga.

So, yes the Avanza is ancient and rubbish.

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:56 am

and yet it took proton 5 years to come up with MPV. why so late one?? that is totally crap thinking!

• bobdbilder on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:14 pm

The Avanza had its time as a resonably cheap people carrier. Its on the low curve of its product lifecycle. Primarily due to the competitions from Proton, Nissan and its own brethren the Alza. I always thought that if the Alza came out that they would end the Avanza. But Alza needs to catch up a bit more of volume and profits before they pull the plug on Avanza.

• mukelist on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:37 pm

i think avanza is better than alza provide advantages in terms of brand , engine capacity and seating area…..

• mr.wiseGuy on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:49 pm

engine capacity..wtf it uses d same engine

• Fangalica on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:09 pm

same engine, the thing is avanza engine produce 109bhp, alza only produce 104bhp…..tht the power. On the other hand, avanza based on Rear Wheel Drive, meanwhile Alza is Front Wheel Drive…

• u try 1.5L Auto Anvaza Vs 1.5L manual Alza at straight line… 104hp smoke the 109 hp Avanza any time… On paper value is useless…. Test drive better~

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:54 am

avanza auto beat alza auto at any time. manufacturer figures.

• eh their engine similar one leh…1.5 cc sz ve engine…. if 1.3 one engine same as myvi…. just tuning different

• lkf0512 on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:05 am

Imagine an Avanza 1.3 fully loaded…

• lazyf on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:19 am

underpowered especially 1.3 auto…coz my mum own this car…

• 1.5L Avanza = 1.5L Alza, same engine…. 1.3L Avanza = Myvi…. the different is due to change of pistons??? not sure….

• noname on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:44 pm

honestly, this model need a replacement model already.. all new avanza, not updated avanza

• DonkeyKong on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:50 am

Especially not an Avanza that is built with lorry underpinnings

• katob on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:16 am

haha..
        Toyota want Avanza have a minor cosmetic change and then mark-up the price for suck the bloody profit!!

• mfahd_88 on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:46 pm

dear toyota,
    no matter how much you facelifted this car,it’s still an avanza
    and it’s still look outdated
    just bring on the new model to replace this ancient car
    TQ

• tooyoottt on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:47 pm

seriously,, better get Exora or Alza,, notthing special with this avanza,, ladder frame somemore,,.. n looks very indonesian..

• rapidshifter on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:21 pm

coundn’t agree more… spot on

• The Loner on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Actually Avanza is the smaller replacement model for Toyota Kijang in Indonesia and Brunei, whereas Innova is the replacement for the original Kijang (people there still called Kijang Innova).

• avanza is monocoque not ladder
      get your fact right before you speak !

• tooyoottt on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:45 pm

get your act right first brader.. Avanza and Innova is Ladder Frame,,..!! 80′ technology.. huh!

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:59 am

ladder frame is not about old technology its all about being tough!

and the ladder frame of avanza is welded to the floor, not bolt on like pick-ups. Once welded, it does become MONO-coque. get this one right.

• lalaala~~~ on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:59 pm

orang suma dah jual avanza..sume nak ambik exora & alza..

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Purposely made to be bouncy. Bouncy also can sell, so?
    I just don’t want to give you guys the appropriate things althought I can, at the same price.
    I smile to you, but I quietly steal your money. You think smile doesn’t cost money?

• and its expensive to maintain the second hand market you know? lol.

• neutral on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:09 pm

rubbish… only idiot will buy…

• noname on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:06 am

and too much overprice.. 80k (EM) for this type of budget mpv? better buy exora

• bikinpanas on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:12 pm

haiz…facelifted again…dear Toyota…we malaysian need a fresh look MPV car…this ancient car need to retire…if me i prefer to buy Exora then this avanza…

• CHONG KAT on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:12 pm

malaysian need respect la toyota.

• AshRaf on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:13 pm

new rim instead

• hardly see or so little avanza with new reg number plate now

• david on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:39 pm

=T= still tyring to squeeze as much as possible from this old chap.
    however, p1/p2 bashers have no other choice when it comes to rm70-80k MPV.

• nothing new. even Paul didn’t show his enthusiasm in this story.

• Persatuan Uncle Malaysia will not like this.

Gold colour exterior and beige interior is best!

hahahahha!!!!

• Fangalica on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Beige interior look like real import car….but to maintain it clean is not easy dude

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:04 am

the reason for beige (or bright colour) interior is to make the cabin feels airy and spacious. black colour makes the ambient feel small.

• Just for finish their stock only…. this will happen to Mitsu Lancer also, i thing!

• Kim Sing on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:46 pm

WAKE UP, TOYOTA!

• hate this thing, i duno why people buy it and how they ride in it,
    its so bouncy, i was sick a day n board on an avanza of my frens,
    it make me feel more sick and want to vomit, damn so bouncy !!
    stupid ride and handling !!!

• MoFaz on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:17 pm

rappers would like this mpv. they shout “yo, wassuppppp…?” to a car beside them while it bounce.

• tooyoottt on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:55 pm

people buy becauce Toyota emblem ony.. if proton Juara have Toyota emblem oso people buy,, sure T&H fan say gooooddd…..

• DonkeyKong on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:52 am

It’s based on a lorry, of course it would be crap. Toyota is the expert at packaging ancient technology and selling it to consumers at stupid prices.

• Philip on Dec 08, 2010 at 6:41 am

Then you should try Citroen hydraulic suspension… magic carpet ride, then you will ppttuuiii to all others..

• kelvin on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:48 pm

i owned one..very reliable trouble free car but the ride is horrible… Very bouncy and uncomfortable to be honest…

• kozekx on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:03 am

yeah, I own one too. bought it in 2006. at that time, no exora nor alza. hope to get an exora one day. can’t get an alza unfortunately since my 4 kids are big size.

• just stop this crap. bumper copy mazda smiley-face styling.
    62k -70k, so expensive n get a rubbish box,
    just go buy Exora or Alza ~

• kennytan on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Actually What is the Different Compare to Old Model.What means by All New…?

This marketing step cannot use already……..liar people only……

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:10 am

there is a difference between New and All-New and the meanings are straight forward.

the term New is for facelift, while All-New is used for a totally new model. read properly and understand better. :)

• callenish on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:00 pm

adoi… nasi lemak semalam, bungkus balik jual esok…

• UMW Toyota, what are you thinking? Pleaselah no more updated avanza…we’re getting bored with same old same old…

• piece of shit car is a piece of shit car. doesnt matter what you do to it.

this car is so bouncy and dangerous, it shouldn’t even be sold.

the arrival of the grand livina seriously wounded it. and the proton exora dealt the final blow.

Avanza, rest in pieces.

• look at the sales figures…orang bodoh…..

• learner on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:01 am

when it alone, it no 1,
        when livina enter, it no 2,
        when exora enter, it no 3, lastly
        when alza enter, it no 4.

that what sales statistics from MAA said!

• TingDK on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:46 am

Based on my experience driving this Avanza before, my conclusion is:
      Pros: – Acceleration is a tad better compared to Exora
      – Good fuel consumption from the VVT-i engine

Cons: – The interior quality has too much plastic feel
      – Very poor stability of the car at high speed:- oversteering and too bouncy

Verdict:
      Can it. Bring over Toyota Verso or better still manufacture locally the latest Toyota Ipsum model.

• Anti BN/P1/MMM on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Nothing much to comment at this time as avanza is too old to facelift or whatsoever. But Advanza really cant speed, whenever reach 120km/h, sure floating and feel no confident to press the pedal.

• AvanzaGoldOwner on Dec 17, 2011 at 8:30 pm

Bro..that’s not true la.. my Avanza can reach easily up 2 155-165km/h.. & stil not floating or bouncy la.. mine is standard 1.3m with Improve abs + UltraRacing Stabilizer Barz.. not lowered version.. & with 15″ VolkRacing rimz + GoodYear Assurance 195/65/15 tyrez.. stil d best condition so far.. & d most important is: mine is d 1st mdel 2nd hand Avanza that i just bought it in early this year.. very2 b’baloi lol… =).

• stevo on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:52 pm

updated, facelift or a new model its still a TOYOTA..malaysian will buy because of the brand power here in our country..or what ever TOYOTA model in malaysia its still can sell..if TOYOTA design a model just like proton juara its still can sell in malaysia…

• Garfield on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Maybe a little correction is due….. SOME Malaysian will buy Toyota. Most others have woken up, smelled their shit and walk away. It’s not our day job however to wake those who haven’t and don’t want to be awaken. So let Toyota keep their customers and it’s the other manufacturers who must do their job to treat the rest of us with RESPECT!!!!!

• go for the alza or exora instead

• gotoDMC on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:36 am

“Nevertheless UMW Toyota has given it another update, some based on feedback from consumers. The biggest change would be on the interior, where the Avanza now gets a dark interior colour scheme as opposed to the cream interior it previously had.”

Based on feedback from consumers. So no consumers feedback about the bouncy ride at all? I guess the bouncy ride wasn’t important at all. Very interesting!! :)

• Faisal on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:36 am

avanza?? LOL to Toyota.

• The pricing merely concluded one thing: pathetic to pay RM60k+ for this standard of vehicle. Stop producing this crap, please.

• murad on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:41 am

Don’t you think all T cars are crap these days? nothing against T, just look at 80K for a V? look at that car, it’s bloody basic and definitely T is just selling based on the brand and car buyers are basically clouded by the well known brand of T, so whatever money they paid is obviously worth it. Another example is the C, suppose to be businessman and executive car, look at the plastic inside, crappy printed words on the interior, ugly steering. Jeremy Clarkson once step on Pero2 saying that these people are mainly profit oriented and no passion for building cars. Anyway just my comment on T, and a huge dissapointment from them.

• stevo on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:37 am

most of malaysian will buy a T brand no matter what kind a car it is..if naza sutera is made from T brand, buyers will love it because there is a T logo at the car..even some of myvi owner also replace their perodua logo with T logo or in other word “convert to toyota passo”. if original myvi is design from Chery company no one will love it and no one will convert it. most of malaysian buy a car because of the T logo at the car..

• tooyoottt on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:36 pm

n when people asked,, “what car you drive?”just answer “TOYOTA” without mentioning a avanza,, LoL

• tbrit on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:57 am

what is C? Civic?

• hazri99 on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:34 am

why not just phase out these model… very expensive…

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:16 am

EASY. just dont buy. UMW is not forcing people to buy. If we are not happy, then buy other brands lah.

avanza has the best headroom compare to livina and alza, and that does matter. add that to the comfort ride (bouncy, yes but comfortable) and its reliable mechanicals it still appeal to some people.

but yes, avanza is not the popular choice anymore. all new model avanza will be coming in late 2011/early 2012.

• Jimmy on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:47 am

Toyota, can you please make the Avanza at least 1695mm in width? And make it less bouncy and add stabilizers? :-)

• SoMeOnE on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:46 am

the fact of the matter is it will still sell in decent numbers….this is how much dear Malaysians have ‘spoilt’ the toyota brand..they realize that even with underwhelming products ( hilux 100 hp,toyota rush,) they still sell well..and if u run a company that realizes that your target market is snapping up ur products no matter what is thrown at them and this is based on sheer brand loyalty (blindness) u will always take the easy way out..its human mechanics i guess..the only way Toyota would ever prep up thier product range is when the sales drop rather significantly..and IMO thats never gonna happen in Malaysia (too many Toyota addicts)..and they know it;) so they can take thier own sweet time and do WHATEVER they want..i seriously believe they have a put a spell on the general car buying public here to not look at Logic….the spell u ask?..well its called RESALE VALUE…they control the used car market so its a no brainer..;) wake up and smell the cofee people..RESALE VALUE is not the the ONLY thing to look at…whats important is what ur gettin for ur money in the first place ;)

• learner on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:11 am

i have realized that long time ago, just look at the modern kia forte with among the best specs in class that sell at cheaper price. what happen? only sold several hundred units every month, and still the BLM toyota –> vios that concur the market, even the latest CT without CVT problem also lost big time to the curse of Mr. T.

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:21 am

RESALE VALUE is something even the government not able to control. the real fact is that it is controlled by supply and demand.

Current Kia models are all good now, but look at their after-sales service as well as their bad history with malaysians (expensive parts, poor reliabilties, almost zero local parts/half cuts)

The latest City maybe high tech and looks good but thats about it – it is not a complete package and it doesnt have a base model with manual tranny option.

• learner on Dec 09, 2010 at 3:49 pm

comparing apple to apple, i think CT is a lot more better than Vios, but still vios is rulez…….. all about mentality.

• WhiteFox on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:54 am

i am an avanza owner and i will say no to this who consider this car unless you love to drive boat.

Dam bouncy when the road is not good even at 70-80km plus annoying when pass a bumb even u are 20km and below Suk…. big time for it suspension

• Peter on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:13 am

If cost 55k, may be can consider. I really disagree with Toyota who treated developed nations as their product dumping ground. Somehow, it gives the feeling that only uneducated consumers will buy this car as such price.

• DesaIxora on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:34 am

Hi Paul,

Can you check with UMW Toyota, will there be any facelift Innova soon?

• Still facelift? How many you want?

• Jimmy on Dec 09, 2010 at 3:41 pm

The 2nd generation Innova should come with newer engine already, instead of the current one which sounds very much like LORRY; same also with Fortuner(optional sunroof is ok or not?).
        No more 4-speed for cars above RM100k, hopefully.

• budin on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:48 am

Paultan or Dannytan…, hope u can update a new entry as soon as possible.. Reading this Avanza entry just like a dejavu… feel likes reading back your entry about Toyota Avanza launch 5-6 years ago… lol….~!

• lazyf on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:49 am

pening naik “MPV’ ini…so bouncy!!!

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:49 am

UMW should have re-positioned the Avanza.

With the Alza, there is no point having the Avanza compete in the same price range 7 seater mini MPV segment.

I’m wondering why Toyota just don’t strip down the Avanza, make it a 5 seater with big boot and knock 10k off its price. At least, that way it would maintain some relevency in the market place…and maybe offer a 2 seat commercial panel van version like the Kangoo. After all, beneath the Avanza, basically is commercial grade suspension…..

Ever since the death of the AD Resort, small business owners have been lacking a commercial mini MPV….

• In Vietnam, latest Mitsu Pajero have variant for VAN. Look at their standard.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:17 pm

Glad someoen else agrees.

Seriously, UMW, if you are looking. Why would you not unload more of these if you can offer a 1.3L Avanza manual, in 5 seats, no frills package for mid $50s. Would be a damn good proposition to SMB owners with good reliabilily and low mantainance.

Is TC still even selling the C22?

If I was that customer, I would choose this over TC’s Kangoo without thinking……

• I still have one AD Resort in my house lol

• Wisdom on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:20 am

Go Avanza go!!

GTH……………..

• katob on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:21 am

izzit this Avanza sell in Singapore?

• armandd on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:28 am

If Toyota still wants to sell this ancient vehicle, they shouldn’t price it so ridiculously expensive. This ancient vehicle shouldn’t cost more than RM50k.

• farghmee on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:44 pm

xble jual murah…ROI blum capai lg :P

• murad on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:35 pm

What new models can T offer now? The recent Altis? it’s a bloody joke for that price of the car, basically it’s nothing fantastic about the new Altis with 2.0 and CVT transmission. It’s still an Altis box, no wonder there are more Civic on the road these days,They have nothing much to compete and offer into the market.

Probably re-doing the Innova.

• For the sake of safety and other USP; the sensible one will opt for Proton Exora. Spacious, pure MPV, though the engine is not the good point. If you can wait, just wait for the Turbo.

Stop buying these “crap” (Avanza, Hiace (the design of this type of van [C22, Urvan, Chinese brands include] should be made illegal since their design only protect tires than human limbs), low power but rather expensive Hilux, 4-speeds Camry, somewhat bouncy and headache Fortuner (better choose Santa Fe 2.2 crdi), Innova (no close competitor unless you’re willing to add some cash, even reconditioned Mazda8 is better choice).

I’m Toyota-fan indeed but not the blind species one. I’m eagerly waiting for FT86, Tacoma not IMV-derived Hilux, Sienna/Estima/Alphard/Velfire not Asian-African caste vehicle-Innova Kijang, Hilux/4Runner not our Asianized Hilux introduced to our market.

Another one not Indian market sub sub compact small sedan too. God willing they’ll (UMW-T) do fine tune something in their lineups globally or at least price.

Do l mentioned about overpriced Prius? Even though Prius is class above Civic IMA, Insight IMA but the price (of the model given to us, a wheelcapped rather than real wheel PRIUS) almost similar to CIVIC IMA/Insight because Toyota has upper hand in economies of scales BUT they hardly willing to share with us. FYI, the hybrid should not more than RM120,000 given no tax for hybrid under 2.0. Why UMW-T so reluctant? We’re still blind. Period.

Never blind Toyota fan.

• dream on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:53 am

Herd Mentality…if others do it, then can do it oso…dont care if gud or bad…

Marketing people learn psychology, n they know how general M’sians think…TOYOTA will always be gud, like when father’s or grandfather’s time…

…but that time no recall maa…

• buy avanza is better than buying alza or exora, but livina is the best if u can spend some more cash

• Wisdom on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Just plain ‘better’? Or better in what sense?

I see… better in term of giving good margin to a bunch of greedy, inconsiderate people…

• kamal on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:10 am

yang berduit banyak boleh la jual avanza… tukar yang baru… yg tak mampu pakai je la sampai habis bayar hutang… kita kan pengguna, kalau tak nak beli jangan la beli… kuasa membeli kat tangan kita… jgn la pulak kutuk… mmg Toyota ni kurang sikit tentang inovasi kenderaan jenis mini MPV ni. Tapi kena la ingat Grand Livina, Alza, Exora dan apa pun model terkemudian dah ambil kelemahan Avanza ni dan ubahnya untuk lariskan produk mereka. Avanza pelopor. Jangan kutuk saja, tanpa fikir sebab musababnya model lain jadi laris. Dulu segalanya, bila dah ada yang baru buang dan kutuk. Habis madu sepah dibuang.. Fikir-fikirkan….

• Tiadaid on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:03 am

Kalau Avanza pelopor, Exora, Alza & Grand Livina dah nampak kelemahan Avanza dan perbaikinya, kenapa Toyota tak boleh buat elok? Itu yang orang marah, kereta lama, upgrade kosmetik aje, harga mahal, tapi yang benda penting yang patut diperbaiki tak jugak. Diorang layan pembeli Malaysia mcm orang bodoh (mungkin ada sebilangan yang bodoh beli kete sbb brand, tapi bukan semua)!

• learner on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:18 am

then, why shouldn’t T learn from livina and exora to improve avanza?

• Toyota will award this type of buyer :-) Imagine if Toyota can have 100,000 of this type? Laughing all the way to their banks.

• tooyoottt on Dec 08, 2010 at 1:52 pm

seriously,, Toyota need to learn from P1 nowaday..

• Goniothalamus on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:19 am

This time, Toyota’s salesman are hard to persuade consumers rather than Proton and Perodua’s salesman..

Look at the new plate numbers, the only have is Vios..

• Coolken on Dec 08, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Toyota salesman since when need to persuade customers? I went there before to try the Corolla altis (SUbang Jaya Branch). 10 salesman standing at the counter chit-chating. I was the only customer there with my wife. No one approach us, i approached one salesman, he looked so uninterested. Test-drove the car, no what-so-ever detailing given by the man. I ask one question, he answer back one answer. Walked off straight after the test drive. Second time, went there 2 weeks ago to try Prius. Chose another salesman, first thing he told me was, ‘6 months waiting list’. And same thing, no communications. I think their products runs by itself. And they dun need our support. Will not support them as well. Good Luck to u toyota supporters!!

• alldisc on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:29 am

i think with the waiting list, the salesman also dont want to take risk selling cars. or else, everyday kena tarukk…

• come on … toyota new avanza do not have the smiling mouth … =,=

• Ze ber on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:42 am

Actually very easy to reduce bounce only.

Just clip “rubber bush” on the rear spring only. Can get it at most accessory shops but different brand.

Cheap, quick & fast solution. A frens 1.3 manual did it and I could feel the diff compared to another unit that did not.

Coil over spring rubber/adaptor/bush. Something like that.

• Ray Lee on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Which part of Accessories shop can get those thing….i wan t to change lo…how much is it?

• Ze Ber on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Looks something like this,
        http://sg.redad.com/viewad.asp?id=50141272807164544

http://reviews.jcwhitney.com/1915/15889G/reviews.htm

Some come in solid colours. Easy to install by workshop.

Should be less than RM 200 per pair.

Many tyre shops that also sell suspension springs have them.

It reduces the bounce at the rear. Some people use this instead of cutting the springs for added stiffness.

Gd luck

• No matter what model Toyota is the best, this can clearly proved from the cars on the road. who else can fight with Toyota, NONE. Except the useless P1 and P2 who still need mummy(money) feed drink milk.

• meteoraniac on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:57 am

no matter how ugly, outdated and painfully anciently looking this glorified ‘mini van’ is, yet there will be people buying this

thats the power of marketing and branding……

• Faiti on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:03 pm

….and not forgetting, track record.

As much as I hate to even look at it, it still has some strong points….before the Alza existed..he he he.

• squawk on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:50 pm

LOL! This is such a weak effort to reignite their Avanza sales. There are more choices now and people have moved on, though there are still some who are blinded by the brand.

Once on the highway, an Avanza overtook me. Could see the rear bouncing up and down over the uneven sections. He must’ve been trying to make his children fall asleep.

• blackjkx on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:04 pm

For me, Avanva is like the perodua Rusa,same status..if some of u still remember.

• the feedback from consumers was to get rid of this ugly ancient junk.

nevertheless , umw decided to stick new sticker design instead to try and fool some ppl to buy this old junk. but somehow it works for them.

• mogambo on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:22 pm

add another RM10k and get the kia rondo. trust me its a far superior compared to the avanza.i test drove the avanza, proton exora, nissan grand livina and rondo, and in the end i went with the kia rondo. seriously underated car.

• Even Rush is Avanza heart, body and soul in plastic surgery.

• Toyota Avanza updated with dark interior colour scheme.

Paul, you made mistake. It supposed to read: Toyota Avanza OUTdated with dark interior colour scheme; NOT Toyota Avanza updated with dark interior colour scheme.

• lazyf on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:42 am

pre-facelift of Avanza (1st model) also came with dark interior colour scheme…

• Samarkand on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Buat Toyota Fan, lebih baik beli Innova utk keselesaan keluarga jika mampu sikit. Besar & selesa, kemampuan enjin yg bagus, suspension best, penjimatan minyak yg ketara dan kepuasan yg maksima. Jika yg over-budget boleh lah cuba Grd Livina atau Alza sbb enjin yg pick-up & jimat minyak juga tapi jangan yg lain!

Kalau dah banyak duit tu…apa lg Alphard atau Estima saja la, Toyota kan hebat dengan barisan MPV mewahnyer…huhu

• nubel on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:29 pm

when i was children the name “toyota” was laughed by friend because it’s a bad sound name, try to say it ” to-yo-ta” , bad in sound but today it’s a big name? someone who drives vios has some sort of prestige?

ok back to topic, seems that this avanza is not good at all, any compliments?
    for those who bought this mpv it’s ok la , just continue paying the installment until finish, but for those who are looking for an mpv, it’s not recommended, not at all

• anonymous on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:23 pm

nice! is that an alpine head unit i see? despite the fact tht its old, i still think its a pretty nice car even though da ride quality could have been better.

• nolan on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:46 pm

the most boring MPV on the planet……….Alza and Exora look better than this….

• I think after this UMW-T will “repent” from churning out ancient and last century product in 2010s. I was shocked when my friend, with an engineering background (Electric) told me, Dude, l think Avanza is best for my family of four.

My replied: Please la, you should buy more modern and appropriate MPV like reconditioned Wish, Stream Mk 2, Mazda5, Peugeot 5008, Citroen C4 mpv, or just settle for Livina, Naza Rondo, or even ALza BUT big no-no old fashion design meant for Indonesian, A van aje.

A van aje jsut nice for Indonesian since the price there really justified that type of vehicle. To pay RM80k for that crap is an insult to your mind, bro. He still can’t accept my idea until recently, when he thinking on Serena.

My mission was accomplished. hehehehehe

PS: My wish list is Toyota too:

• Samarkand on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:08 pm

One thing all malaysian must realize…what ever car u bought, only TOYOTA adn HONDA have better 2nd value for your money! yahooooo….

• Bad Bear on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Hmmm, maybe model life ending soon?

Cin Cai do something.

• Ze Ber on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Chery Eastar 2.0 lit…..RM78,800! ha ha ha.

This is a big MPV. But need to look past the “teruk” plastic. Make it REALLY teruk.

• Chery Eastar And Toyota Avanza sux!cheap and ugly!

• INTERIOR=improved

EXTERIOR=still like a van

cmon toyota dont make it look like a van still

it is A-VAN-ZA

• lawmasai on Feb 10, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Anyone out there who have monthly sales figure for Avanza & Alza, for Jan 2010 until Jan 2011, for comparision?. Like it or not Alza is the new game changer -4000 plus unit per month is no joke.

Sales of Vios to Persona to Exora to NGL to Avanza to Rush will get some hits from Alza. Test drive Alza in Nov 2010 but my wife did not like it.. Finally got a 1.6A NLG before CNY. NGL weighs at 1245kg – same as Persona but it is surprisingly it is 2 inches shorter in length than Persona.

• wantedtoo on Feb 15, 2011 at 7:32 pm

NGL cannot bring mesin basuh or simultaneously sofa 2seater + 3 seater issit? 6ft tv rack ? avanza can..

• Auto Weatherstripping on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:42 am

Man, that is one good looking Toyota. I come from a Toyota family myself, and I am absolutely loving the dark interior colour scheme. Way to go Toyota! Thanks for sharing this!