Honda teases next generation Civic with official sketch

Honda has announced that the styling direction of the next-generation Honda Civic will debut at the 2011 Detroit show in January via a concept car, and has released this official sketch as a teaser. The production version of the ninth-generation Civic based on the Detroit concept will go on sale in spring 2011.

The sketch shows a two-door hatch or coupe, but we can pick up some hints from the front fascia. It features a V-shape with elements pointing down towards the middle of the front. The headlights are slim and sharp, and the lower grille isn’t unlike the CR-Z’s snout, although unlike that coupe, there’s an upper grille here. This sketch also rules out the City’s Optimus Prime face.

Overall, the front reminds me a little of the Accord Euro R. Do you like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ah keong on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:12 am

1st!!!
    nice lo

• fantausy on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:17 am

I give the feel the car is mixed with insight front bumper and current Civic…For me like Facelift…noting can sound…I feel like Honda CIvic 5 doors Type R

• Civic_RS on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:18 pm

wa..by see the simple sketch u can know detailed d?waaa..power la u..haha..hahaha..wait till real one la..no need to fight2 bot this “postcard picture”..Wait n see better la..this is wat we call “honda marketing strategy”..

• alldisc on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:32 pm

v-shaped influence at the front? a little like er… vios, perhaps?

• gangully on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:24 am

nice… but i wonder why a lot of manufacturers are coming up with that grey bit in the centre of the bumper just below the emblem ala EVO X and GTR…

• Wisdom on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Yup. Not a genuine design. Honda should come out better than this mixed, plain, copy, boring design language……

• rageaccel2 on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:51 pm

yeah. Myvi also got that thingy.

• jolly_idiot on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:26 am

Lower front bumper look like lancer.

• Jaybond on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:26 am

Nice but not really a quantum leap for the Civic, styling-wise.

• seancorr on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:27 am

Nice…very nice…now if they could improve on the QC here then the Civic would be awesome

• hell yeah, if Honda improve the QC then i might change my current civic to this new gen civic.. if QC still the same, this will be my last Honda…change to continental… maybe got different experience..

• The Dentist on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Civic got QC prob meh? man, i didn’t know about that.

• u need to drive one bro, at least current gen civic..then u’ll know… if compare stock to stock, i might say, my old gen2 are more fun to drive than my civic.. 2nd week of owning, millage 1k only, i already have front caliper problem which require me to change it.. so imagine, this would a very dangerous to me driving with both front caliper brake are damaged and honda knew this!!! Now with 6months old only, i facing a lot of problems…

• James Pong on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:28 am

Nice design but concept car coming out so soon?

Paul, what’s your prediction for 2011? Will most car companies come out with concept cars as showcased in KLIMS? Or is it still too early?

• hangmedan on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:29 am

two door only? it should be like current civic, 4 doors and then I consider…

• James Pong on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:30 am

Nice design, but concept car coming out in 2011?

Paul, what’s your prediction for 2011? Will most car companies come out with their concept cars as showcased in KLIMS 2010, or is it still too early?

• sagatron on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:31 am

this is supercool..im gonna trade in my lamborghini with this beast!!!!

• very the funny ok.
      it’s only u who wants to trade lambo for honda.

• sagatron on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:33 pm

y??is it wrong??this design is way much cooler n hotter than lambo…isn’t it??

• if you can afford lambo, than by all mean just keep the lambo and buy this civic..i know you can afford it.

although both car is chicks magnet, but the lambo will pull more chicks than civic could ever do.

but if you have two of these..imagine the magnet pulling force!

• MangO on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Such magnetic force. The world would revolve around you!!!

• e-tique on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:22 pm

typical honda salesman…brrrrrr

• no it’s not wrong.
          but i am very sure that if one owns a lambo, they wouldn’t look at this civic.unless, they didn’t own one. there!

• alexchee on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:37 am

the headlamp design are just like the current civic euro R..

• John Doe on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:40 am

Expect it to be plagued with numerous CKD issues if it is assembled in Malaysia like the current version. Honda’s quality here has really gone downhill.

• slekuzen on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:04 pm

I actually would like to probe your comment: is what you say actually true?
      I would think that Honda would keep a very close tab on the final quality of products assembles globally, including in Malaysia.

Have there been any studies on the average issues per Honda in Malaysia versus, say Europe or Japan?

I’ve never really heard of major issues with Hondas CKDed in Malaysia.
      But if your statement holds true, this would be very interesting indeed: paying an enormous premium for less quality and security.

On another note Paul, will MIROS ever establish a minimum security requirement for cars (and crash tests in Malaysia) anytime soon?
      Two airbags is a paltry standard by now…

Thanks!!

• I agree with John Doe. I currently own a 2009 Facelifted Civic 2.0. The quality is lacking. I had found that my CIVIC car height is tilted a bit on the drivers side. Sent back to Honda SC and they told me it is within tolerance…. at least it is better than my experience with proton SC reply of ” Biasalah tu”. Still the issue has not been solved.

Also there’s problem with my steering rack which gives tang..tang sound when I turn the wheel… Honda SC has to keep regreasing it every now and then to keep the noise to a minimum.

I truly believe Honda Malaysia has quality issues…

• hell yeah, mine oso civic fd1 2010, have the same problem.. milage is only 15k, now got brake caliper problem, ‘tak tak’ sound when turning, signal rosak, paint peeling off.. haaiihhh seriously, Honda Malaysia got quality issues…

• Franco Baresi on Dec 14, 2010 at 8:18 pm

I have the same problem with the tang tang sound.regrease ja manjang

• ahmad on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:51 pm

I got the problem too.. after 1st time sent to service, still not solve, after 2nd time then OK. They just change the part.. I forgot the part name. Actually, this problem really unexpected, because i thought, new car, from honda, free from this kind of problem. But then I realized, the honda quality is overrated.. that how adv & sales department manipulate the issue.. and lastly it really make me appreciate my waja

• I own Civic FD2 facelifted 2009 (received in July). Main issues: Car height not balanced… tilted more on the driver side ( 1 and half inches difference). Went to Honda SC… they replied it is within tolerance.

Next issue: Steering Rack emits Tang-tang sound when turning. Honda SC has to keep monitoring and regreasing the part to reduce the sound.

Conclusions: Honda Malaysia has quality issues… they need to buck up!!!

• Clement on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:47 pm

I understand the problems and pain you guys experienced, but trust me, you will be grateful of your cars problems after you hear mine.
          I brought one Honda Civic face-lifted Jan 2010, since then I’m very hesitated to get on to that car…
          Second day of my ownership i spotted water in my side repeater (changed),
          Two finger gap between the plastic and steel on my both rear door (The Technician “tear off” the plastic and punch it back!! )
          Gearbox cover pop up (SA told me is normal coz the test drive civic also like that),
          Plastic that closes the dashboard electronic, right between the door and dashboard drop out (I assemble it myself),
          Plastic beside the handbrake shove up (SA say can’t do anything about it), Plastic cover behind my steering not properly assemble and the rough edge cut my finger twice when did U-turn (To my surprise, I overheard the technician tell the SA the two screw behind is missing, but till this day with the two screws is still the same),
          Knocking sound on both side, left and right side of the door or…. I don’t know where but is definitely from the side, every-time i corner, sounds like the chassis is breaking apart (SA told me the the bolting on both seat-belt are loosen!! WTF!!, but is not coz until today i still have it),
          Tok-Tok sound during hot weather only on my front right suspension (SA say hard to identify coz when we test the sound vanish),
          Cracking sound during Cold weather or rainy day from the whole dashboard (SA say cannot identify)
          Disk brake scratch with apply brake softly after almost every-time i hit above 90km/h (SA say no problem)

Those are what i think are problems while the following i think is design flaws
          Rattling map lamp when i cross uneven road,
          Intrusive Road noise,
          The sound of releasing the handbrake is very loud.. “KONGggg… ”
          SUPER SCARY BRAKE SYSTEM… The ABS simply kicks in, and when it does the feeling is very rough and the whole car feel like lose control. (I compare this with my Nissan Sentra 2005, The ABS kicks in peacefully, only a slight “ngee..” sound until the ABS turn off)

I have yet to notice the car tilted issue, How do you guys found this ?
          How loud is the “Tang ” sound the steering emit to be consider abnormal ?

Thank you

• Marcusyeoh on Dec 15, 2010 at 1:55 am

Walauwei….luckly I didn’t buy this car for my wife, otherwise my ear will be pulling paintful by my wife seriously.

• damn, all that happened in the second day of ownership..kesian kesian

• Mesut Ozil on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:07 am

good detail observation… thanx for sharing… never thought honda cars have that such of a problem… and that’s A LOT for a car… push them kaw-kaw le bro… say to them u’ll report to the minister… surely they’ll try n solve ur problems…

• Rhys Millen on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Clement, try a different service centre some if the Honda service centre does not like to do warranty jobs as they take time for Honda Malaysia to reimburse them the money and labour rates may also be different. Make calls to their customer care centre as well to pressure the dealer to get it fixed. For the tok tok issue it has always been there since the launch of the civic. Thevservice dealers have thevsolution but again they are not keen to do warranty jobs.

• Clement on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:41 pm

I did push on to identify all those but till today the very basic plastic from pillar A pop up and leaving an obvious gap also they can’t fix it… I really don’t know what to expect from them already…
            I switch from SC in Jalan Ipoh went to puchong service center also same…
            Sometimes i though of my hard earn money also feel pain ah…

• JoeGti on Dec 14, 2010 at 7:21 pm

Thanks bro for sharing the info.
          Honda buckle up!!!!!!
          Come on, u did always downgrade msian customer.
          Why Thai ct got full auto aircond?

Why u bring freed with damn basic spec?
          Toyota n Honda just take advantage of msian fanatic fan to buy T & H

One Peugout and other conti rival(VW Chevvy etc) got their service center more, then its gonna be too late to appreciate us, ACT NOW Pls

• orgbiasa on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:27 am

yea. thy don control their quality like 20 yrs ago. my dad’s old accord stil running decently, exclude da old engine oil leak prob, da dashboard stil decent, no sound no crack, brake service once a year stil function well with not even a “ngee” sound. da old japanese cars were sooo impressive until thy cut cost, by using cheap plastic, cheap rubber, cheap labour n so on. i doubt to buy a city or vios wen i decided to buy a car by mysf. after long time consideration, i bought Persona. 7 mths til today, except da rear brake locking sound, it gives me trouble free ride at all time. i save rm30k n i save tonnes of prob. i know sum of T & H car fans wont admit da probs to protect their lovely brand, but who k, at least i don.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:38 pm

This is because Honda Head of Manufacturing is from P1!!!! Most of other staffs also from P1.

So quality is also similar like P1…….Hampehhhhh……..

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Yeah, honda’s local CKD has gone downhill….

Seasoned readers will remember me harping on our Accord’s build quality.

They can improve. If they want to. By hiring better people to put cars together. (or better people to stop these half arsed cars from hitting customers)

I mean, if you can’t get doors or bumpers and interior trim to line up properly, something is wrong here. This is not Proton.
        Our Accord sickly went into the service centre 3 times in the first month due to problems linked to “not properly put together”. 2 problems being major items like….1) brake booster does not work when cold, 2) wont engage reverse gear at times.
        Thats pretty damming issues if you ask me. Hell I don’t even expect this to happen with a Proton….but a Honda???

This is our personal experience. I hear my neighbours not very happy with their 2010 accord as well…..i didn’t probe though…..

• I agree.. I own the current 8 gen civic, my wife’s car is honda city (current model). I used to own city (previous generation).
      Quality has gone downhill guys. Sakit hati. Servicepun poor, incompetent.

When I buy my next car, it will be a Continental car…

• squawk on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:48 am

Yup. My friend sold off her Civic after owning it for about 2-3 years. She said too many problems and too many visits to the workshop as reasons.

• Still a nice and better design if compare to Kia Forte, Toyota Altis, Ford Focus, but still not up to par with Hyundai’s all new AVANTE

• Whynot on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:03 pm

Just came back from South Korea. Touched and seated on the Hyundai’s AVANTE! Its a good feeling and power is average but gets quite fast in highways. The only down side is the speed from 0-100km/hr. Overall it is a fuel saver and I may say it is good enough here in Malaysia!

• I agree with you . It comes with a 1.8 !! Hopefully the price would be reasonable at around 80-90K

• yeowa on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:04 pm

So, the driving is not that good right? Just a car for comfort? I am waiting for this car actually. :)

• quottro on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:50 am

neat looks aside, it all depends what’s under the hood..

btw, if concept’s only coming out in 2011, then production’s only by 2012?

hmmm..btw, it looks a lil’ lower and wider… should it be a bigger lump?

• kecohlebih on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:50 am

its a hatch… and look a like civic euro…

• Hunter on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:53 am

Paul, so does this mean that the previous ‘spy-shots’ of the ugly designed civic spotted in the mid-east can be considered false?

A lot of us were turned down by the unconvincing design of the mid-east spy-shot car.. just wondering whether honda will be treating the above model as a region specific model just like the previous FN civic..’?

• Whynot on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:53 am

Honda is getting more aerodynamics and lower CG in newer models. Let’s hope other may follows – its futuristic and sporty!

• front bumper looks a little bit like that of the GTR

• cool rims…..hmmm

• Hi Guys I took delivery of my new CRV on April this year. This is what transpired just a few days i took delivery of my new vehicle. I sms the sales advisor on the problem with the car. —>I don’t know how u prepare the car. I don’t think u polish & wax the whole car before u give to me as I can see patches or spot polish done on the front bonet and also some rough paint job and touch up. When I complain u did spot polish. If u polish the whole car & inspect the whole body carefully by running ur finger to the body u won’t be repair spot polish. I ask my friend who works with meguier and he said I need to spend RM 680 to do a proper polishing to make it look like showroom condition. In the first place I should be getting my new car shining, body smooth & showroom condition, not like spot here spot there & rough body. I am disappointed.
    Here is her reply–> Actually my workshop ppl already polished 2nd time for ur CRV. If u dont believe, we can play the cctv for u as we polished under the cctv. Me, my workshop supervisor and my collegue also touched up ur car together. Actually nt only ur crv got problem, my collegue’s customers also facing the paint problem as my new boss set our workshop ppl to inspect new car by using 6 minutes only. And he said we only can inspect our customer’s new car 1 day b4 delivery. U can complaint to my boss or honda malaysia abt the paint of the crv. Trust me, i’l try my best to satisfied all my customer. Pls drive the car back, i’l help u to talk to my boss.
    I am based in Sandakan and a drive to KK is 5 hours drive. I have sold my waja and its difficult if were to sent my CRV to KK as I have to work & send my daughter to school. If they know the car has paint problem why release to customer ???

My SA reply to my sms above. I also know is very difficult for u. I know is very inconvenient. Im very sorry abt tis but pls kindly try to arrange and bring the car back as soon as possible. Tis is the best possible way to solve ur new car problem. Or else pls call my boss on monday after lunch cos he only be back in the afternoon. Pls do not hesitate to complaint all ur disatisfactionas u re not the 1st customer to complaint the paint of the new car since we under new boss.

What has happend to Honda Malaysia QC….very bad and its going bad to worst?? How can they release such car with poor/bad paint job??
    I thought Proton QC is bad ,….Honda Malaysia QC is also as worst or I’m just unlucky…… Should have bought other make. Paying 150K for a vehicle this is what I got.

• nizam1402 on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:51 pm

pity u bro.
      the thing is, they store all thier stocks at a field we dont know where.
      so until the car is sold, the car is left under rain, hot sun, etc…

• Si-Fu on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Nizam1402,

Just for your info, most manufacturers store their new car’s in an open space. Because having a huge closed space would be really really expensive. But there is a way all these vehicle’s are stored, at least in Proton.

1) First, to take care of the paint job and rubber parts, the whole vehicle is sprayed with a special wax. This wax will act as a protective layer, protecting the car from sun, rain, dirt and so on. Once the customer gets the car, this layer will be washed off and then a normal layer of wax (something like Kit Car Wax) will be applied to restore the shine and the look of the car.

2) All the tires will be over inflated, depends on the tire size but usually about 40psi. This is to prevent the tires from going flat and developing a flat spot, and damaging the rims. When u receive your car, the tires would be properly inflated and checked for flat spots.

3) The Batteries would be disconnected. And when u receive your car, you will receive a new battery. (usually the battery that is removed from the car that is going to be stored will be installed in a car that is going to be delivered, to cut cost. So all the cars thats going to be delivered will get a new battery)

4) Before handing over the car to the customer, the needs to go thru Pre Delivery Inspection (PDI). This is to ensure that the car is in mint condition when the customer gets it.

5) When u receive your car, u suppose to get a check sheet. This sheet lists some important items such as equipment thats in the car, body condition (u need to check for rusts, dents and so on), and paint condition(check for spots, paint irregularities and so on). If you are not happy in any ways, and refuse to sign it, the dealer is responsible to rectify the problem that you have highlighted.

As a consumer you have all the rights to ensure the product you are receiving are up to the CLAIMED standards and condition.

Cheers!

• BadQA on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:02 pm

dude, you are not alone, bunch of Honda owners are really lost confident to their ride, for those who wish to buy Honda, kindly google around the local forum about the speficic model, you will see list of known/unknown issue, mostly happened on CKD models. and the funny thing would be, service centres knew all the issues, they can fixed them but the same problem will appear after certain period, they jsut continue to fix, then wait for the problem to pop up again, repeat again and again, and claimed that, design problem……..and there is no proper escalation method to Honda Malaysia, so far, only writen letter can be pos over to Honda Melaka

• yeah, do you know that some of the current generation civic also has power window problems like proton? bodoh, buang duit aku je

• TallPan on Dec 15, 2010 at 3:31 pm

hmm how come H T and N cars still highest 2nd hand value? crap market.

as with everybody else on this forum, i believe i’m not alone when i say H T and N cars are seriously overated.
        somehow when the conti/local cars hav problems they’re crucified, but H T and N car owners… no problems? even if got, still very loyal…

• Angelina_jolin on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:16 pm

That’s why they saying ‘Honda the power of dream’…

• ong chin aun on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:21 pm

WELL, v nice and stylist design. Hope the new design civic came with 1.6 CC. Like THE ACCORD EURO 2011.

• ong chin aun on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:24 pm

well, very nice and stylist design. hope it come with as the ACCORD EURO 2011, 1.6 cc.

• LanunFX on Dec 14, 2010 at 6:25 pm

1.6 cc?…even a remote control car has bigger displacement engine that your dream accord

• Hi Guys I took delivery of my new CRV on April 2010. This is what transpired a few days after I took delivery of the vehicle. I sms the sales advisor on the problem with the car. —>I don’t know how u prepare the car. I don’t think u polish & wax the whole car before u give to me as I can see patches or spot polish done on the front bonet and also some rough paint job and touch up. When I complain u did spot polish. If u polish the whole car & inspect the whole body carefully by running ur finger to the body u won’t be repair spot polish. I ask my friend who works with meguier and he said I need to spend RM 680 to do a proper polishing to make it look like showroom condition. In the first place I should be getting my new car shining, body smooth & showroom condition, not like spot here spot there & rough body. I am disappointed.
    Here is her reply–> Actually my workshop ppl already polished 2nd time for ur CRV. If u dont believe, we can play the cctv for u as we polished under the cctv. Me, my workshop supervisor and my collegue also touched up ur car together. Actually nt only ur crv got problem, my collegue’s customers also facing the paint problem as my new boss set our workshop ppl to inspect new car by using 6 minutes only. And he said we only can inspect our customer’s new car 1 day b4 delivery. U can complaint to my boss or honda malaysia abt the paint of the crv. Trust me, i’l try my best to satisfied all my customer. Pls drive the car back, i’l help u to talk to my boss.
    I am based in Sandakan and a drive to KK is 5 hours drive. I have sold my waja and its difficult if were to sent my CRV to KK as I have to work & send my daughter to school. If they know the car has paint problem why release to customer ???

My SA reply to my sms above. I also know is very difficult for u. I know is very inconvenient. Im very sorry abt tis but pls kindly try to arrange and bring the car back as soon as possible. Tis is the best possible way to solve ur new car problem. Or else pls call my boss on monday after lunch cos he only be back in the afternoon. Pls do not hesitate to complaint all ur disaffection as u re not the 1st customer to complaint the paint of the new car since we under new boss.

What has happend to Honda Malaysia QC….going bad to worst?? How can they release such car with poor paint job??
    I thought Proton QC is bad ,….Honda Malaysia QC is also as worst or I’m just unlucky…… Should have bought other make.

• drMpower on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:28 pm

before u sign the release form, u can always inspect the vehicle. and if there is any irregularities i.e rough touches/paint jobs/ etc etc u can always request the car to be polish again/ wash/ etc etc meaning u refuse to sign the form unless the vehicle is in a satisfying manner

of course not many realize this is actually within our rights as consumer, and i do feel pity about ur case. maybe in your situation, u had no option but to get the vehicle asap as u mention u sold already ur waja. get the car back to the said SC, just like the dealer people told u. and in no uncertain time, u need to tell them the time and the arrangement must be in your term.

meaning u got to choose the time and day that convenient u. it was their fault and they were willing to correct it. thats good enough for me. too bad u need to sent the vehicle back for them to do what they suppose to do in the first place. but as i mention, tell them u are sending the vehicle but within your term. u got to choose the time and day.

i just want to make it clear i am not working with HM, neither i have something to do with any personel working with HM. it just we should know our customer rights and all. thats it. peace

• crving on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Sorry to hear that bro…..luckily I’m not facing such problem that you have gone through when I recieved the crv last September.
      I’m not the big fan of Honda (although I drove one ). I’m still with an opinion that Honda car in Malaysia slightly overprice compare to other competitor. They can always reduce a bit on their prices, which in turn will attract more customer, big sell volume, as compare to what they already achieve now.
      Talking about QA/QC, 1001 things can slip up in the production line. This is common in industry that concentrating on the mass production. This goes back to the use of technology, competency of the workers, poor control of QA/QC, plus mishaps or flaw that might be coming from the design itself.

• Concept debut in detroit then followed by sale in spring 2011? are you sure you dont mean 2012? seems kinda quick to debut a concept and to production..

• drMpower on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:37 pm

i thought they are running the prototype for quite sometime already and the recent testing in middle east with no black tape showed how the car in whole…

• anafanas on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:35 pm

such a great design..good job honda

• from the sketch – i see nothing orginal.

• pity u,
    not just honda, last time i went to Toyota SS at Chan Sow Lin to service my car, they did service my car and some more stole half tank of my fuel.

People now days cannot be trust.

• Critique on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:05 pm

hmm, that’s a ctr I go to as well, did you confront them on this issue ?

• freeze on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Tipu picture… Real car looks nothing like this. The front may be OK looking but the rear is so old fashioned. Look at spy shots. Interior is good though.

• Alpha on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:12 pm

that’s an official sketch,duh~~how do u knw ur spyshots is not the tipu one??

• Alpha on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:12 pm

the front kinda reminded me of my DC5~

• Maserati on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:14 pm

Wooohooo! Bring this baby here! This is so nice! Bring it here , price it correctly and everyone will forget about the koreans.

• concern on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:25 pm

Ppl still buy Honda after all these years eventhough with so called QC issues. Do you think Proton QC built quality is better than Honda in M’sia ?

• concern on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Is Proton built quality better than Honda ?

• Wisdom on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:58 pm

How dare you asked that. Sure Proton better. Anytime. ;p

• Honda Civic Driver on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Honda Japan CBU better than Proton CBU quality.
        Proton CBU better than Honda Malaysia CKD quality.

• Soviltitus on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:29 pm

This looks awesome. But I hope this will be 5 doors instead of 2 doors hatch … I like civic very much but 2 doors isn’t convenience for a family man like me ….

• Our locals working at Honda are very patriotic, they are trying to match the quality of our local makes. Perhaps can sell more local makes later. haha

• rickhong on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:55 pm

center number plate look like GTR. headlamp like city and front grill like accord euro-R. I notice there is a LED place beside the fog lamp. wow awesome!

• shawal on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:23 pm

reminds me a bit of Mazda 2

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Dec 14, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Need more sketches to see if it is truly a new DNA for the upcoming Honda Civic. The current Civic design must have done pretty good job to give many of us illusions that this sketch is merely a ‘face-lift’

Off topic, I noticed 2 ‘syndromes’ in most of paultan.org articles.

1) The “1st” thingy. It irritated me so much when I saw the “1st” thing showed up at the first row of comments. It seems like these “1st” people have nothing better to say other than the word they picked up in kindergarden. Grow up and grow wise my little friends.

2) The “Ask Paul Syndrom”. Many of the articles in paultan.org were not published by Paul, just like this one, was by Danny Tan as shown below the header, why people still ask Paul questions? give some appreciations and respects to Danny, ask Danny, wouldn’t you?

• Hanssolo58 on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Beautiful, very curvaceous.
    I hope the final mass production version looks the same.

I also hope Honda revives the Vigor (RWD).
    I really miss the elongated hoods and the fierce front fascias.

• nazri on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:28 pm

copy GTR + lancer evo + euro R = 2011 ‘all new’ honda civic

• nazri on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:29 pm

copy GTR + lancer evo + euro R = 2011 ‘all new’ honda civic..
    walla

• Damn cun.. Omg… So lovely!!!!!!

• Li Auto on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:15 pm

….Styling wise, Nothing to shout about…
    …..Quality issue of CKD Hondas by HICOM-Honda are for REAL
    you can send them complaints but expect nothing they just don’t listen
    to regular people like us or maybe Honda Malaysia CEO can’t
    understand English?

• squawk on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:13 pm

The CEO understands English but if his staff don’t disclose all problems and info to him, he can’t do anything because to him, there’s no problem and nothing to do.

• Li Auto on Dec 14, 2010 at 6:36 pm

I think Honda should send down their Samurai QC
        to Pegoh Plant in Melaka, and chop a few heads…all kerja
        Main-main!

• bmbee on Dec 14, 2010 at 4:57 pm

not biased on any makes, maybe the workers / assemblers should be trained more to achieve the desired quality level, and should be equipped with the tools that can measure the quality , not too dependant on the quality control lines, so the checking would be doubled, even tripled before the car arrived at buyers

the quality of the parts can be questionable, is it the vendor who fails to deliver such quality or is it the company who pays too little to vendor to cut cost (to have bigger revenue , and later gets more after changing the problematic part?) or both are responsible?

• squawk on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:11 pm

The earlier posted 2012 Civic was the US sedan spotted testing in the Middle East. It’s rumored that the Asian version will be slightly different front and back. How different? Not that sure.

This concept drawing is of the coupe which looks completely different from the sedans. The spy pics are available too. They put on the current Civic coupe bumper on the test car to disguise it.

• The Power Of Dreams on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:23 pm

NIce sleek design, nicer than present Civic. Bravo Honda! This design is nicer than the new Hyundai Avante.

• i know this might be very immature but did anyone you u guys think the head light a ripped off from old saab 9-5?

• Hafizz on Dec 14, 2010 at 6:04 pm

too many sad stories about Honda’s quality nowdays. I wonder why ?

• tikus on Dec 14, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Unskill worker lor and tak apa attitude….That Bolehland DNA!! Nothing can change.

• jackie on Dec 14, 2010 at 9:15 pm

is that europe civic or japan civic?

• typical honda…
    after a generation is gud lukin,
    the replacement car will be below par

• Jimmy on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Very sporty, hope will not get tamed down.
    But, please improve the Civic’s NVH !!

• quattro on Dec 14, 2010 at 10:59 pm

current honda civic already 8 yrs ini malaysia market >> paling lama berbanding generasi sebelumnya…sbb laris sgr..kalu yg baru nt x cantik mcm yg dah ada, sure seles turun laaa…

• xavier lert on Dec 14, 2010 at 11:03 pm

nice….but my current blacky 07 FD2 is my last civic…. i luv her so much..its my first car….but..yae u all read the comment above….n for those just bough this car in 09/10..welcome to the club…please claim ur warenty as often as u like…(like me :p )…. stress it if the reluctant … google around and whats the possible issue and claim it.. believe me they will chnge it..

and you dont hav to waste ur time stick ur car wit “TAK GUNE” sticker…..

• Carl Wong on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:03 am

Futuristic and AGGRESSIVE, I like it :)…!!!

• pk yew on Dec 15, 2010 at 12:42 am

i thought the 9th generaton civic edi leaked out in the internet. then what is going on now?

• morale of the story, don’t buy a CKD :P

From the sketch, can’t really say much =)

• Cannot afford to buy CBU ma…. CKD gomen still suck lots of money…..if CBU Gomen suck MORE money. How? If Proton (maybe except Inspira/ Lancer) quality no good, service crap (that’s why sold my Wira immediately), Perodua don’t make Big sedan. How?

• looks like current US market Civic

• Mockingbird on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:56 am

Sure this is the right picture aa?? Looks like US Civic alright.. Plus even the rim is same as old civic.. Curious~

• Mesut Ozil on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:00 am

alamak… bumper depan mcm Nissan GTR laa…. idea dah xoriginal…

• japanese guyz on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:17 am

Will 9th generation JDM Civic go hatchback or keep as sedan?

• Malaysians now have more choices and shouldn’t stick to just H&T…I used to own a civic,which i traded in for a Golf Tsi…best decision ever..Interior quality,FC,ride and handling,&more than adequate power makes driving everyday a joy.CBU makes a difference.

• squawk on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Here’s the video of the new Euro hatch prototype: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4EA2qw20-8&feature=channel

And the USDM sedan testing in the Middle East: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npteCSuXBMQ&feature=related

• vezeroth on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:11 pm

it looks really ugly and backdated, looks like something for the 90ties… the sketch looks nice, but when u tone it down, it really looks like the ones caught testing at abu dhabi… horrible

• totally horrible….
        the sketch picture above is inspired by the new Elantra 2011 / Avante 2011..it is the same…many people in the Temple of V-Tec comment it…
        IT SUCKS!!!!

• squawk on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:26 am

Honda fans and even all car fans should pray hard that the ones caught testing in Dubai were very good decoys and that they actually have a super good looking real car for the market.

• paparazi on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:51 pm

my one, first day i check everything except car roof, after 3 years noticed there was a hair line on, wau lan eh! and the stupid tuk tuk sound like you guys mentioned.

• Honda has really lost its plot.

• have you all see the car?..spy shot civic 2011-2012 uncovered???….it sucks!!!…hate the rear view

http://archive.autocarindia.com/autocar_forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=7110

• si ai bin on Dec 23, 2010 at 4:14 pm

i rasa.. those ppl who said bad things bout honda are the same person only disguising themselves by changing his or her name. come on la.. ive been using my civic since aug. 08 and my sister has been using hers since zaman dinasaur ady( civic launch terus beli one). no problem leh? my neighbour is also using civic leh, also no problem i guess? he happy mar, almost everyday wash his car. looks very contented with his civic. proton cars also not bad, my wife guna waja. the only problem was power window rosak.. overall its a good car. so please la… if honda not good quality and ppl ady know abt it, why so many hondas on the road? they suka2 buy har?

• jamie on Dec 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm

i’d rather buy saga than this!! ungly

• now thats what we call honda civic…hmm only if its really look like that…imho

• guesswho on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:44 am

i want honda pegoh HR number