How you can personalise your Fiesta – with tattoo art!

fiesta art 1

There’s no doubt that tattoos can – most times and if done well – help turn a body into art, but away from flesh, they can also dress up something like a car and make it into a fashion statement. Over in the US, Ford is taking the trend one step further by offering car buyers a quick and inexpensive way to express themselves with tattoos for a range of its models.

Ford Custom Graphics is offering a personalisation program in the form of vinyl wrap car tats; from geometric patterns and racing stripes to whimsical imagery like splashes and swirls, with more than 200 patterns to choose from, it’s a way to make your Ford stand out in the crowd, if you so choose to do so.

fiesta art 2

Or rather, not. The company says that while the one-size-fits-all model isn’t really relevant to today’s consumers, it’s not necessarily a desire to stand out from the crowd. It’s more of a desire not to be lost in the masses, given that people are personalising everything – cell phones, computers and clothing – these days, and it’s no different with automobiles.

All the tattoos are made with 3M Scotchprint Personalised Vehicle Graphic Film, plus a clear graphic protection layer, and are professionally installed at Ford dealerships and include a three-year/36,000-mile limited warranty. Original Wraps developed the tattoos and the website for Ford, and the company says that tattoos offer customers the look of custom paint at half the cost.

Custom Graphics are currently available for the Ford Mustang, F-150, Explorer and Fiesta. Because orders are processed at individual dealerships throughout the country, there is no way to track how many tattoos have been sold, but consumer response to the site has been strong with an average of 15,000 unique hits per month. As for Focus graphics, they’re expected to be online in mid-January.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Peterpj on Dec 24, 2010 at 7:27 pm

My Focus said that it would love to have a tattoo…do we have it in KL?

• mitlanevo on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:48 pm

thanks but no thanks, a bright orange fiesta hatchback is more than enough to attract every attentions~

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 25, 2010 at 1:44 am

this is bad….so lala ah beng

• Peterpj on Dec 25, 2010 at 11:37 am

The one on the green Fiesta looks quite ok-wat…..or maybe its my la-la hormon’s speaking :-p

Only thing is that my car is white…so over time, the colour difference in the sticker bit and the paint would become really obvious

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 26, 2010 at 1:02 pm

haha u noe what would be nice…one of those ken block’s monster energy schemes ?

• The Fiesta Sedan at the first picture looked so nice compared to our Fiesta Sedan!