Luxgen SUV Sports and MPV Elegance launched in Taiwan

Taiwanese brand Luxgen has launched the LUXGEN7 SUV Sports+ and LUXGEN7 MPV Elegance+ at the 2011 Taipei Automobile & Accessories Exhibition.

The LUXGEN7 SUV Sports+ looks much better than the standard car in my opinion. The Sports+ treatment includes black/red paintwork, carbon fibre garnish, smoked headlights and tail lamps, 20-inch alloys as and quad exhausts. The interior on the other hand gets black/red suede seats, suede steering wheel, CF center console trim and aluminum pedals.

The LUXGEN7 MPV that we’ve also seen before gets the Elegance+ package for some “VIP style”. The cabin boasts “classic diamond quilted two-tone suede seats”, a brown leather steering wheel and classic walnut wood trim. It too is in black, with oversized 20-inch wheels. We wonder how the ride comfort is like. This MPV has an in-car computer system called Think+ that’s powered by Windows CE and developed by HTC.

Luxgen (combination of Luxury and Genius) is seeking to expand beyond its domestic market, and has been part of motor shows in Dubai, Vietnam and the Dominican Republic. “We are confident that Luxgen will create the new era on both domestic marketing and international expansion in 2011,” said company CEO K C Hu.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bryan.jones on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:08 am

THE SUV SPORT IS BEAUTIFUL!!!

• nebula87 on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:19 am

Wow…these models can see abit..unlike those previous China cars…*sigh*

• rabbit on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:37 am

saw in taiwan, very sleek design, huge size-bigger than X5, look stunning to me.

• mohsin on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:49 am

Wow! What a great design from Taiwan!
    feels continental and european!
    Er, no rebadge ah?

• mohsin on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:52 am

Wow! Nice rim on MPV!
    but no thanks due to unpractical for real life use!

• Great cars from Luxgen!!

From the taiwan megazine aware that the full spec car sell below RM100k, compare our higher spec of inspira, p1 really need to do something to pick up..

Luxgen just a 1~2 years old company (from Yulon group)!

• actually the parent company yulon motor is founded in 1953..yulon(25%nissan) oso has been assist by gov to develop auto industry same like proton….they do mainly assemble car n import car not until 2008 they make their own brand luxgen n tobe(2010-rebadge geely)..more than 50yrs before they can produce their own brand

• did u know that from 1953 to 1990 there is import restriction to enter taiwan market

1953-1960 – all import auto was banned
        1961-1968 – small passenger car ban from being import
        1969-1976 – small passenger car to be import
        1977-1990 – all small car from japan is ban from being import

• brand is nothing,such as perdua also consider a own brand..wira,old saga etc also rebadge car..what we concert is not the Mitsubishi brand change to proton nor nissan fuga replace v proton perdana in name but the price tag..i belive that no 1 will mind the brand if they offer good spec and quality product even is indonesia instead of Malaysia brand

• nabill on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:24 pm

clearly based on the peugeot 5008…i stil think luxgen sounds like a facial soap !

• lancelot on Jan 05, 2011 at 4:25 pm

its 3008, not 5008 lah.. taiwan is also a copy cat..the chinese can’t design…..

• openmind on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:09 am

please do your home work before commenting…3008??? you must be joking….

http://www.luxgen-motor.com.tw/cars/SUV/index.html

look at the car, high specification, impressive functionalities, high quality material, and most importantly locally made in taiwan and only cost between 90-120k

this is what you will get:

– 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, BAS, ESC, TCS, AFS (light)
        -2.2 MEFI Turbo with intelligent gearbox (Transmission control module, with 10 drive patterns, Wheellbase (tuned by Magan and prodrive)
        – premium leather seat, anti-theft design seat, JBL speaker system, additional speaker on car seat (shoulder level)., etc
        – Intelligence control mechanism (with a lot of features like sideview, night vision, eagle view, LDWS, etc)

• Black Dog on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Yeah, I will copy the colour scheme for my SUV.

• clutch basah on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:50 pm

God damn! that is an awesome lookin SUV!!

• good..can start export to malaysia..BTW, this reminds me of the lancia..

• seat-belt on Jan 05, 2011 at 4:02 pm

5008 copy…

• shawal on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:47 pm

looks nice… not bad from a country that gives us Acer, Asus, HTC , Nvidia and other brands of electronics you can find in Low yatt plaza…

• greasemonkey on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:26 pm

When will it b available here.

• Neutral on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Nice styling,nampak kemas dan up to date.Tapi Luxgen7 headlamp nampak sebijik sama macam Perodua Alza :p betul tak?

• Neutral on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Ops Luxgen7 MPV headlamp looks same as Perodua Alza :p

• openmind on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:50 pm

you must be joking…please goto the official website and look at the car…

• badrol on Jan 06, 2011 at 1:21 pm

mr paultan, i dont see luxgen in your “Story by make” list..maybe u can add it in the lsit afterward.

• DamionL on Jan 10, 2011 at 11:59 am

Any idea if the Luxgen SUV Sports+ is coming to MY? Looks cool… hope the price won’t be absurd… are there any Luxgen distro here in MY?

• mKizzo on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:01 pm

I actually own one of the SUVs. Suspension is too stiff and on board computer software is horrible to use. Would be ok if touchscreen. Good value for size though. Wish I had waited for the sports version…. :)

• Luxgen is produced from the island country of Taiwan. It is excellent. Just look at other Taiwanese products like Garmin, HTC, Asus, Acer, etc.