Yulon’s Luxgen has a second model – new SUV

luxgen-suv

Don’t confuse this with GM’s Chevy Tahoe-based GMC Yukon SUV, this is an SUV from Yulon, the Taiwanese company who now has a two model line-up in its Luxgen range of vehicles. The first is a turbocharged sliding door MPV based on an old Renault Espace platform. This is a new SUV that’s supposed the size of a Porsche Cayenne.

A few months ago we got news that Yulon would be joining forces with Dongfeng to sell an SUV in both Chinese and Taiwanese markets. It looks like this is what they were talking about. Part of the partnership included Dongfeng taking up a 20% stake in Yulon’s Luxgen Motor Co, the unit that makes the SUV and MPV.

Look after the jump for a full gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=666]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jolly_idiot on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Not bad the design. Not sure bout the quality. Do we have any of it here?

• hmm..nice SUV..

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:06 pm

It is called Luxgen7 SUV. Recently, I went to a shopping mall in Kaoshiung and saw a Luxgen7 MPV. The MPV looks luxury but I don't like their design. According to their local newspaper, this SUV should be launching next year.

• old man on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:40 pm

I am wondering why the Potong supporter did not say…China made car, quality cannot be trusted, I rather have an Exora…..I am just wondering.

• wolfsburg on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:45 pm

Just look at how Taiwanese design their car compared to ours…

• alldisc on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:54 pm

this is what supposed to be Euro-inspired design.

Not bad at all in fact, better than Malaysian cars. our designers need to have passion instead of just knowledge and experience. without passion their designs will look bland.

• Black Dog on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:56 pm

P1, where's your SUV?

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:57 pm

Where's CKD Perodua Nautica 1.5L ?

• mitlanevo on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:12 pm

wow, brave design on the front fascia….

• Amarjie on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:31 pm

the front end, sekali tengok macam a mix of honda crv, porsche cayenne & peugot suv… a bit messy…

• pulge on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:33 pm

Its look is reminiscent of Hyundai Santa Fe. The headlamp also reminds me of i30.

• hafizzul on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:35 pm

copy and paste…hyundai santa fe

• rabcitereh on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:49 pm

Looks very similar to the Peugeot 3008 from the front. The rear not so much.

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:55 pm

old man said,

December 8, 2009 @ 10:40 am

I am wondering why the Potong supporter did not say…China made car, quality cannot be trusted, I rather have an Exora…..I am just wondering.

—————————————————————-

This is Taiwanese brand, not Chinese brand

• seancorr on Dec 08, 2009 at 9:05 pm

I think u should not associate the Taiwanese from the Chinese (China). Loads of your mobile phone and computer parts (they friggin designed and produce them) come from Taiwan so I would rather not underestimate the Taiwanese.

• Rizal on Dec 08, 2009 at 9:06 pm

This car design is awsome although copy from others car maker!

Malaysia car maker especially Perodua should copy the technology from success car maker just what Japanese done a long time ago. They copy the technology then reinvent it to better technology.

• Yr Mama's Ass on Dec 08, 2009 at 9:46 pm

Yucks

• Boink on Dec 08, 2009 at 9:50 pm

interesting…

• below100k on Dec 08, 2009 at 10:54 pm

front fascia really messy..so many shape appear

• squawk on Dec 08, 2009 at 10:59 pm

Front and rear don't jive. Interior looks nice except for aircon vent blocked by steering wheel.

• prolever on Dec 09, 2009 at 12:09 am

haha…

btw, look at the gear knob,

its kind like square thingy things……. 4 me it weird,

like more 2 old microphone, yes…. the silver one.

the rear kind look like simple, Peugeot 206 kindly….???

• Srotong on Dec 09, 2009 at 12:16 am

Okay la, even though cut and paste. Many are wondering whether the Taiwanese make 'tahan & lasak' cars. Much more engineering effort than E&E mah. Tech specs, anyone?

• A Taiwan new brand is also better than our nation cars =.=

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Dec 09, 2009 at 12:41 am

Srotong said,

December 8, 2009 @ 4:16 pm

Okay la, even though cut and paste. Many are wondering whether the Taiwanese make ‘tahan & lasak’ cars. Much more engineering effort than E&E mah. Tech specs, anyone?

—————————————————————-

Here..

Chinese Version : http://www.luxgen-motor.com.tw/cars/SUV/
    English Version ( Google Translate ) : <a href="http://translate.google.com/translate?js=y&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&layout=1&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2 Fwww.luxgen-motor.com.tw%2Fcars%2FSUV%2F&sl=zh-CN&tl=en” target=”_blank”>http://translate.google.com/translate?js=y&pr…” target=”_blank”>Fwww.luxgen-motor.com.tw%2Fcars%2FSUV%2F&sl=zh-CN&tl=en

• acer,asus ,hts,chimei……… they all from taiwan. mazda 3 pergi mampoilaa..

• acer,asus ,hts,chimei……… they all from taiwan.

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 09, 2009 at 1:51 am

Interior design is better than any P1 cars. Oh i forgot, Taiwan has many mold makers that capable to design mold for cutting egde part. For P1, please wake up.

• hualala on Dec 09, 2009 at 2:08 am

dont talk about P1 la..malas oredi…will always be 'jaguh kampung' oni..cannot compete with the outside world…..hairan still got ppl support…

• skiborne on Dec 09, 2009 at 2:34 am

yes i agree with a recent post here. designing needs passion!

• the Luxgen7 MPV has already been launched in Taiwan way back in september..

• lowprofile on Dec 09, 2009 at 2:52 am

rabcitereh said,

December 8, 2009 @ 11:49 am

Looks very similar to the Peugeot 3008 from the front. The rear not so much.

—————————————————————-

Actually now that you mentioned it, it DOES look quite a bit like a re-bodied peugeot 3008.

• wolfsburg on Dec 09, 2009 at 2:53 am

Proton really needs to work hard with their interior design and color… The grey color is so drab and boring…

• donno on Dec 09, 2009 at 3:27 am

wow… look what a taiwanese company has managed to produce… Just wished Proton had just carried on and launched the MSX project.

• elww78 on Dec 09, 2009 at 4:11 am

Taiwan products is better than the locals. The interior is so cool!

• linear_system on Dec 09, 2009 at 5:54 am

i know a lot of ppl here even hate proton so much will looking forward the next model that will be launch by proton.. hehe :)

anyway,nice design SUV.will consider this if the quality is ok.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:04 am

If Luxgen has inferior quality then think again…

How many years old is Luxgen?

(Isn't our local "Jaguh Kampung" already 25+ yrs….)

• transformer (Member) on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:07 am

If Luxgen MPV sold at Rm100K in Bolehland, will "Jaguh Kampung" MPV sells like hot cakes ??

"Jaguh Kampung" are just a "pampered arrogant kid"

• Jimmy on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:27 am

Even though I am a Hyundai/Kia supporter who will continue to buy their cars, I would say I prefer Exora over this Taiwanese product. You know le, there are biskut hati hitam and all sort of funny energy water from Taiwan/China; not sure whether their toys got lead/toxin or not. Mainly Taiwanese and Chinese do this kind of things, tiny cost but aiming for 10 000 times profit — yi pen wan li, ya. Mainly the Chinese will do this kind of unprofessional thing like let your car sleep overnight in bengkel and claim rm1500 for 'replacing you spareparts'. You dare to buy Tiggo kah?

• aiyoh.. u guys confirm kah the interior is of high quality?? dun judge thing by picture only lahh..

• azrai on Dec 09, 2009 at 3:47 pm

Can't believe it is Cap Ayam in first place. Chinese will surely take their turn from the Japanese and koreans in few years to come. Moreover, they already take over big automotive names.

• chiewwl on Dec 09, 2009 at 7:35 pm

much better 'presentable'… even to world market than P1 & P2…

• alpha999 on Dec 09, 2009 at 7:36 pm

in china, the more u willing to pay, the better quality stuffs u'll get……i used to have doubts about their products in the past….but i think they are progressing really well and fast too…..

if they made bad quality products how can they send their own ppl into outer space with their own rockets ?

China has lots of smart brains…….just matter of time b4 'made in china' print on par or even better than 'made in japan'

• tamaki on Dec 10, 2009 at 2:45 am

in china, the more u willing to pay, the better quality stuffs u’ll get……i used to have doubts about their products in the past….but i think they are progressing really well and fast too…..

if they made bad quality products how can they send their own ppl into outer space with their own rockets ?

China has lots of smart brains…….just matter of time b4 ‘made in china’ print on par or even better than ‘made in japan’

______________________________________________________________________________

u pay more, and u deserve better product in china indeed and agree however better than japan just matter of time this case i don't buy it. Japan always produce quality product everyone know well not merely the way their working is discipline and efficiency.

• JACK HAMMER on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:17 am

ah beng really love china & taiwan made cars..

U can praise & u can say what ever u want about china & taiwan products.. for me, they suck bigtime…

Please dont give a sentimental comment leh.. Just because u r chinese..

I believe 'most of u' also dont drive 'cherry cars' rite? chana mybe? Prfthhh..

C'mon lah..

China cars so good, so advance.. But our 'jaguh kampung' beat their sales in thailand & indonesia..

What? Proton also been protected there aaa? Prfthhh..

What ever la ah beng..

• Mazmee on Dec 10, 2009 at 10:15 am

WOW….very nice car.

• Rizal on Dec 11, 2009 at 12:36 am

If we look at economy growth right now.. Japan now have facing slow growth meanwhile China now have progressive growth.

What happened to US right now.. no wonder one day China will be the great car maker.

• mr reply on Dec 25, 2009 at 9:56 pm

you don't need to associate Taiwanese products with Chinese ones too much. they are out of different society and different sovereign. Don't confuse them because they both ethnically Chinese . Your bad impression on Chinese brand "Cheery cars" doesn't make Taiwanese products like Acer, HTC, or Lexgen in this case,"suck big time."

• kevinchung on Mar 20, 2010 at 6:47 am

First look at the video…
    http://www.youtube.com/user/channelluxgen#p/a/u/0…
    Then look at the bmw x6 video…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYm_fxjyAYs
    And you think again…

Bmw is good famous car, and have very good reputation.

But after watched two test video, it's that surprised you?

• Not fair to give strong comments on the cars just merely based on few pictures and websites. Let’s wait and see how is the quality and reliability when the car reached our shore.

Again, to those who can’t differentiate the differentiates between Taiwan and China, you should treat Taiwan and China as 2 different countries. Modern Taiwan society is an evolution of chinese traditional culture (strong influent from confucious teaching) and thinking; whereas China chinese have different set of thinking after they went through 10 years cultural revolution, 2 decades ago, with strong communist influent.