Toyota Yaris HSD brings full hybrid tech to the B-segment

Toyota is dead serious about spreading its hybrid message across the world, even in Europe where diesels reign supreme. Their tool is this, a hybrid version of its latest Yaris. Brought to Geneva as the Yaris HSD concept, this will be the first full hybrid in the B-segment, the largest segment in Europe. Some of you may recall the Honda Jazz Hybrid from Paris 2010, but that’s a mild hybrid, as are Honda’s other IMA powered models.

Introducing Hybrid Synergy Drive to a supermini has presented Toyota with some unique engineering challenges, the company says. All hybrid components and batteries have to fit within the Yaris’ compact body without compromising its quality and performance, or detracting from cabin and cargo space.

Toyota doesn’t offer much info or specs, so we don’t know if it’s the same HSD unit as in Prius and Auris HSD. If it is, expect a 1.8-litre 98 hp petrol engine combined with an 80 hp electric motor. The Yaris HSD’s roof is fully covered with solar panels to provide independent powering of the car’s air con, thus reducing fuel consumption.

Body wise, vertical ‘aero’ slats at the edge of the bumpers minimise air turbulence. Airflow is also managed by a large, integral rear spoiler, underbody covers and 18-inch aero wheels with enlarged gaps to promote cooling. The showcar also has aero-efficient shaped door handles and rear side view cameras. The latter is a current concept car trend and isn’t likely to make production.

Speaking of that, the production model will be launched throughout Europe in the second half of 2012. Cars will roll out of Toyota’s Valenciennes plant in France.

Personally, I think this looks much better than the planned sporty variant of the Yaris we showed you yesterday. What do you think? Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2017]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Malcolm Lim on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:41 am

The front of the car looks kinda…sad…or like a mustache :P

• freddie on Mar 02, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Exactly, it looks something like this: http://geekent.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/paulsr.jpg

• haha… agreed!!!
        appearance is quite subjective, for me, the design is ugly.. =P

• the front very ganas, like a angry tikus lol but very nice!!

• ONEcountry?? on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:49 am

very nice…but quiet expensive in malaysia.

• kelah on Mar 02, 2011 at 9:52 am

gorgeous…this version is 10x cooler than the sport version…

• nice. wonder how the shape will be morphed to become the next vios.

• vw_fan on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:39 am

the hybrid wars will start soon and european manufacturers will be upping the ante with hybrid diesels. it will be interesting to see how far these diesel hybrids can go in real life and whether their engine system is as reliable as toyota’s time tested version.

i hope we get euro 4m diesel soon.

• yup… maybe when we get euro4 diesel, europe will be running euro6 or 7

• Diesel hybrid is actually not new….the tech had been around in conventional subs (non nuke subs are all diesel hybrid) and this include our own submarine

• _xXx_ on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:39 am

Yaris is supposed to be a popular low price hatch but see what happened? Crazily priced and you can hardly see one on MY roads…

• rapidshifter on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:42 am

looks promising for vios if this is the indicator for vios facelift/replacement

• Goproton on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:46 am

my Kia forte looks 100000000x better….
    FC is better off even without the hybrid engine!!!

hehe joking again la….=p

this actually looks good compared to the one posted before….the sportie version….
    18″ rims???!!!???wow….Toyota is very confident with the car’s FC with that extra weight….
    hope we will get this here in bolehland….

• _xXx_ on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:22 am

6-speed new gearbox forte is out, u regret?

• Goproton on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:42 am

haha nope….not at all….im a poor guy who cant even afford a 2nd kancil…..haha….just helping others to spread their thoughts when seeing news from T/H….=)

ouch! I butthurt ! =p

• scoobylution on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:25 am

jazz hybrid competitor is coming. next, Lotus City Car (Emas)?

• Goproton on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:48 am

the war will really start if the EMAS really success…proton introducing a new concept to the world eh(like how mini showed up,when smart fortwo showed up,when Hyundai/Kia managed to give better spec n longer warranty with new design…etc)….how cool is that?

hmm wonder if the vios will get this hybrid engine or not…
      I mean other countries….coz for sure Malaysia won’t get it…

• rossi46 on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:35 am

Combine the current Fiesta Econetic 1.6 turbodiesel (3l/100km & more frugal than prius) wt battery pack…. that be the ultimate hybrid supermini

• bobdbilder on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:57 am

A bit ironic. They want it to be more aero but there is a big open front grille that would mess up the Cd. The sporty variant however has a closed grille. Those 18inchers are for show only, we all know. In reality it doesn’t make sense. If they had shown the concept with 15inchers, it wont attract attention (if any). Same goes for those Aero slats. This is some artist view of a fuel efficient yet sporty(ish) car.

What’s confusing is the 1.8l block with 98hp. Hmmm…

Perhaps its more wise to stick to old boring safe styles that people (know and) buy in throngs instead of trying to evoke some kind of passion for the brand.

• nebula87 on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Wow…Toyota Yaris Matured ady…

• Car Driver on Mar 02, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Nice.. Hope it comes with Lithium-Ion batteries and below 100k..

• SEO Los Angeles on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Gorgeous…this version is 10x cooler than the sport version…

• kington on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Because this is the new Yaris, i suspect the upcoming Vios will be based heavily on this.

I too hope for Li-Ion but i heard Lithium Polymer is better. anyone can confirm this?

• a masterpiece indeed,

• tycoon88 on Mar 02, 2011 at 11:48 pm

d all new yaris will provide some styling clues for Vios replacement model!

yup…I’m liking it!

• Europe man on Mar 03, 2011 at 6:07 am

should be working on diesel hybrids not more petrol hybrids that tech is old now if they want to be a hit in europe again tis diesel the way forward small petrols arent fun and need to revved too hard to get anywhere making worser fuel consumption volvo has taken the initiative to make a diesel hybrid now that will sell extremely well once on the market

• squawk on Mar 04, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Exactly. If petrol hybrids are only matching FC of diesels (barely matching some diesel models), what if PSA / VW / Volvo or any of the Euro boys start aggressively pushing diesel hybrids? How will petrol hybrids sell?

• Hi Malaysia doesn’t sell this spec !! that comes with the sun roof!!! i think i’m migrating to other country!!! lol …