Bangkok Motor Show: TRD Sportivo Prius and Corolla Altis

Toyota didn’t show off any fresh metal at the Bangkok show, with the FT-86 show car from Tokyo 2007 being one of the two old concepts on stage. But passing by their booth, I noticed the Prius wearing a TRD Sportivo bodykit, then a Corolla Altis beside it with the full TRD Sportivo treatment.

The Prius does look more chunky and ground hugging with the bodykit. The front bumper gets a beefier lower segment with a more protruding lip and there ares side skirts to match. The 16-inch TRD wheels in bronze help greatly with the sporty look, compared with the standard 15-inch items with aero covers. Not sure if efficiency will be affected, though.

The triple headlight arrangement seems new. The rear bumper is fresh as well, and there are TRD Sportivo badging on the rear and sides.

Also in white, the Corolla Altis wears a five-piece bodykit consisting of front and rear bumpers, side skirts and a rear spoiler. This is complemented by TRD Sportivo badges and wheels. While the idea of a kitted Altis is fine, this rendition has too many holes and lines for me. A simpler design works better, in my opinion. What do you think?

The Altis, now with Dual VVTi and CVT, was launched in the second half of last year, and we expect a TRD Sportivo somewhere in the pipeline. Could this be it or will there be another design for Malaysia?

More pics after the jump.

Toyota Prius TRD Sportivo
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2100]
Toyota Corolla Altis TRD Sportivo
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2101]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Holly Fish on Mar 25, 2011 at 1:37 pm

The rear spoiler of the Altis.. sigh*

• scoobylution on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:33 pm

inspiration from neo cps spoiler maybe.. :-D

• Goproton on Mar 25, 2011 at 8:06 pm

neo cps spoiler inspired from GTR…

• cikuludes on Mar 26, 2011 at 7:44 am

any news when the new OPTIMA K7 is coming to MALAYsia?

• jalan54 on Mar 27, 2011 at 1:55 am

According to those naza kia sales representative, it will coming on August or September.

• nonce on Mar 25, 2011 at 6:03 pm

yeah..it’s the real ‘spoiler’ of the car.dang..so ah beng looking.

• Holly Fish on Mar 26, 2011 at 1:09 am

I wasn’t saying anything about bad the cars, just the spoiler, it “spoils” the overall look of the car.

• redboy on Mar 25, 2011 at 1:39 pm

i really want to see the TRD comes to Malaysia and raise the price up to RM130K…so then people will realized…mmh…i can just get the Sonata then.

Toyota has been taking the market for granted of the high price and now is the time for them to throw up!

• bro go and see the Optima 10x better

• Francis on Mar 25, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Lowest spec Hyundai Tucson selling less than 130K

• the altis 2.0v is already selling at 132k

• kwing on Mar 28, 2011 at 1:48 pm

i thought they stop TRD opeations like Mitsubishi stop ralliart, may be just for certain country like Aust…

• Agree !!! Toyota should not take things for granted and do not improve themselves. No doubt currently you are the top few players in the automobile industry….but without taking proactive measures & to understand it’s customer needs ….bye bye la.
      Sadly, certain basic items they don;t even provide esp those Thai produce units …. within the compact segment itself – Mazda , Ford , Kia are making its stand !!!

• 4G63tDSM on Mar 25, 2011 at 1:40 pm

While I understand the need for individuals to …well, individualize thier cars, the primary function of a Pruis hybrid is to be green and save fuel.

Adding extra weight and likely drag inducing components seems counter productive no?

• lkf0512 on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Sportivo and hybrid do not produce the sparks and chemistry…they just don’t go together…it more like a mess (rojak in malay term)!!!

How should we put this??? Do we expect this Prius to be more fuel economy or go faster???

*pengsan*

• but “sexier …

• MonfereBlogspot on Mar 25, 2011 at 1:50 pm

This makes the car looks uglier…

• jalan54 on Mar 25, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Both cars are rubbish and toyota sale representatives are rubbish too.

• You just upset those jabronies sales person on this website hehehe. Good work.

• Goproton on Mar 25, 2011 at 8:15 pm

how is it that both car are rubbish ah?
      oh…coz it doesn’t look like a sport car ?many malaysian here wanted every car design to look sporty….coz they can’t afford a proper sportscar…..
      that’s why perodua come out with the local so called ‘ah beng’ MYVI….poor basher….no money to buy a car thus bashing others…

• You speak the truth, pity them.

• jalan54 on Mar 27, 2011 at 1:53 am

Have you ever test drive both of the cars? I did and that is why I said rubbish, like it or not, it is the fact.
        Also I said the toyota sales representative rubbish is because they really are rubbish, it is like they never wanted to service you when you go into the show room, just keep SMSing, what kind of service is that???

• nebula87 on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Wooowww….Bangkok Toyota rocks!!!!

• Prius TRD looks awesome but the Altis is ugly!

• confused on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:43 pm

agreed! Prius TRD looks solid!

• DonkeyKong on Mar 25, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Both of them look like some cheap ah-beng rides with tacked-on aftermarket FRP or PU bodykits. The TRD Altis especially looks cheap and ah beng.

• Certainly !

• JamesT on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:17 pm

YOU MUST BE KIDDING ME

• teelim on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:17 pm

It looks like TRD was “trying too hard” with the Altis’s bodykit. Its quite ugly IMO, and doesn’t suit the car well. And the wheels *facepalm*, come on lah… 1 or 2 inches bigger so susah meh?

• speedywinger on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Grandpa Altis with spoiler wow.. totally turn me off…

• lkf0512 on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:31 pm

“…The designer specifically created all these holes around the bodykit so that the air could be channeled to the brakes to cool down the brakes during extreme cornering…”

…and of course, to charge the customer more $$$!

• DislikeTHN on Mar 25, 2011 at 4:39 pm

But how much negative comments there are, you will still see the road being monopolised by T.H.N.M. Its time for consumers to switch branding. Kimchi are much value for money and yet deliver the same quality. It might not be the best in fuel consumption but with their techonology improvements, i believe that kimchiwill surpass the Sushi soon. To me, they are already on-par.

• Icecold on Mar 25, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Looks so ah bengish especially the rear bumper. Poor workmanship I must say.

Just my two cent.

• Critique on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Well, looks are subjective… Hence IMHO the Prius looks ok (though I agree with 4G63tDSM’s comments)

But the Altis’ kit… hmm, takes some getting used to..

• altecs on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:23 pm

I suggest TRD should be renamed to Toyota Bodykit Division(TBD).. Much more accurate name for them.

At this point…proton R3 can put these guys to shame.

• notorius on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:24 pm

TRD design is always mehhhhh

• BOYRACER on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:24 pm

This particular Prius is targetted for ppl who wants a sporty looking car but at the same time saving the environment.But I dont get it.Why?It’s one way or the other.
    The Altis however is more understandable on why they add the bodykit.To make it look more aggresive.TRD bodykits are quite good looking to me but when it is added to a car which has no sporting pretension it is quite a waste.Toyota didnt produce anymore proper mass produced sportscar since the Supra.

• speedywinger on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Grandpa Altis with spoiler is total turn off

• prius ok.
    altis >.<

• victorleekoonpoh on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:28 pm

if trd spoiler is so good, the vios, altis etc wont install mugen spoiler / type spoiler on their toyota’s

• arrif on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:33 pm

uncle want to buy TRD ??

• huiyoo on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:35 pm

uncle spoiler for altis

• scoobylution on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:35 pm

did ah beng have a share in TRD?

• confused on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:49 pm

yes. they bought 51% of the TRD share last week.

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=ah+beng+bought+share+in+TRD

• hexagon on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Altis, depan dah lawa dah… belakang… damn, tatau nk ckap apa.. lain mcm je aku tgk… tp at least lawa sikit dari honda brio tu..

• lazyf on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:48 pm

boring!!!

• azrai on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:52 pm

This Altis look like Ah beng just got his yeye’s cars (maybe passed away) and he went straight to brother’s after that. Pathetic.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 25, 2011 at 5:20 pm

EXACTLY!

It looks so ah beng and cheap, with ugly bold joint lines as if ah beng just bought his bodykit from Brothers and used RM2 double-sided tape to stick it on.

And no amount of body-kitting can nullify the ugliness of the Altis’ rear lights..

• md faizal on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:56 pm

the paint’s shade of the trd kit and the body of the car is very obvious… the body kit must be added on last minute…haha..like installed in kedai assesori ah beng

• nabill on Mar 25, 2011 at 2:56 pm

lets all check the dictionary and see the word ‘ Lame ‘ !

• Reading all the comments about T & H every time their news are reported in Paultan make me want to believe that the brand are finished or on he way to be finished in Malaysia.

• wanthird on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:09 pm

damm..with this bodykitt…for sure can go so so fast..

• alistair lim li wei on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:13 pm

thumbs up for the Prius.
    as for the altis,speechless…..

• MengQ on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Ah-Beng-ness at it’s best~!!

• ong chin aun on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:25 pm

hea, the bodykit ugly, y add more weights n cost ? people say add legs to draw snake.
    Orignal ok for Altis.

• very much Inspira’s sport rims.

• Angely on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:48 pm

I more rather get Kia Forte because now Korean beat Japanese in term quality and exterior design. Kia Forte> Honda Civic> Toyota Altis

• T4VR-Ralph on Mar 25, 2011 at 3:52 pm

TRD Sportivo = +100kW

• those sport kits from our bolehland can do a better kits for that already dated looking Altis..

come on , can we have a more refreshing design…jp car has no more ‘look’ to peep at!

• Tenuk on Mar 25, 2011 at 4:34 pm

The Altis front look like Mark X with HKS kansai bodykit

• Altis dah ok without spoilers .. just tune the engine la ..
    please understand, not all car sesuai pasang spoiler .. main bedal je budak2 TRD ni ..

• VW_fans on Mar 25, 2011 at 5:09 pm

TRD = “Total Re-call Design” hihi…… anyway Toyota realise their share slowly being eaten by Koreans, therefore Toyota need to do something fast & do whatever they can do win back customers. Now that’s what I call competition makes better product :)

• shawal on Mar 25, 2011 at 6:05 pm

body kits are not in the same shade of white…..

• The Prius triple headlight config is the LED Headlights option on the Prius. The Japan import Prius we get here are just halogens and headlights look different. All Prius we get here are still being imported from Japan. I have a feeling Toyota will start bringing in Thai made Prius to Malaysia soon, and will up the specs a bit and keep the price. Thailand is the only other Prius factory outside Japan today. I much prefer the TRD Prius Performance Plus kit which comes with 17′ lightweight forged wheels and a mild aero kit which doesn’t impact FC at all. http://go-prius.com/aftermarket/accessories/trd-tuned-prius-plus-performance-package

• Current face lifted Altis are so ugly and this TRD version so damn extremely Fuckgly !!! whats wrong with TRD team….

• bangkok……

• Grandisan-Megane Soon on Mar 25, 2011 at 8:15 pm

I find Altis the worst looking car in Malaysia with its improper bulbous tumor overgrowth everywhere …cant understand people who buy this car , i think its ugliness stands shoulder to shoulder with Fiat Multipla ..i know it’s their money but i’m entitled to my opinion as well hehe ,

• think on Mar 25, 2011 at 8:22 pm

the prius bodkits are very nice…but the altisbodykits are the most ugly…the kits is like hanging to the stock bumbers…not integrated to the exterior of the car…pls,,toyota do not bring this version here to malaysia….think

• jazzer on Mar 25, 2011 at 8:30 pm

r3 modified car far away better than trd

• Can’t wait for Prius+

• ayamxxx on Mar 25, 2011 at 8:46 pm

I think they have overdone for Altis, like terlebih MEKAP!!

• i just sells my 2008 altis.like pasar one.very shy…no value.Toyota topmark take my car

70k..nissan tan chong take 77k.Honda sellsman take me 77k aslo.What toyota can

do now.i really dispointed for toyota malaysia..

• Once own / drive Toyota, forever Toyota.

• Leseid Obrut on Mar 25, 2011 at 9:47 pm

wtf…

• Darren on Mar 25, 2011 at 10:09 pm

compare altis and prius, prius TRD body kit nicer, the body kit design language is well designed and simply match to the ori bumper . There is no unity on the TRD body kit for altis, design without soul and not respond to the line and edges.i think it should be nicer without the TRD skirting. just my 2 sen^^

• vertigo on Mar 25, 2011 at 10:34 pm

the kitted altis is an ultimate disaster.

• txsuprasonic on Mar 25, 2011 at 11:35 pm

prius looks good, i think the altis is a little too aggressive, anyway the altis is a great car in general, much better than most ppl think until they test drive one.

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 26, 2011 at 12:12 am

If that altis also an hybrid..than maybe exciting abit…just want to compare with civic hibrid

• Prettish on Mar 26, 2011 at 12:36 am

All basher came from Kia or Hyundai fans@ Korean fans! Do you now driving Forte just like driving Coffin cars and worse than that!

• typicalbasher on Mar 28, 2011 at 11:03 am

have you driven a real coffin car before? Pls think before you bash others.

• mmmmmmm on Mar 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm

looking at all the safety stuff offered in JAPS car recently………i.e less airbag than competitor, no ESP as standard, safety recall……….it’s the JAPS which is the real COFFIN car………..

• armandd on Mar 26, 2011 at 1:05 am

aww.. Why can’t they design it like the Europeans did?

• Ash Menon on Mar 26, 2011 at 1:14 am

Sadly, it still looks like your neighbour uncle had a mid life crisis and went into the nearest ah beng shop and asked them to pimp his Altis. I’m all for kits, but the Altis always had a sense of elegance to it, actually most of the Toyotas. How about we leave the ah beng stylings to Honda and Mugen?

As for the Prius…sigh. Spend all that money for an energy-efficient car, and then spend extra money to reduce the efficiency. If you got that much money, please, donate some to poor people. Including me.

• rather than putting bodykit to the car,why not improved the spec on these cars to the standard of european, leave bodykit business to tuners company

• AhBeng on Mar 26, 2011 at 9:53 am

actually if altis’ back light is without the extra pop-down transparent reflector, it will makes the car look better.. I’m so beng i also cannot take it.

• nonce on Mar 26, 2011 at 10:50 am

at least this isn’t too bad compared to Kah Bintang’s Hyundai car back then. Hyundai Accent and Hyundai Sonata retro fitted with dual exhaust as thick as a straw. Seriously? Cheap and ugly chrome inserts everywhere.

• Totally agreed!!! Especially that Accent ‘Rally’ version…
      WTH…

• Erwan Billy on Mar 26, 2011 at 8:25 pm

I really like what toyota has done to this altis. I makes me really appreciate

• made in cina on Mar 27, 2011 at 7:15 pm

better neo R3.hard driving and hard to die.

• me wafiy on Mar 28, 2011 at 8:28 am

…come on T….not my likes…it’s overdone….

• the paint for the bothcar is quite nice.

• it is unbelivable for me from driving proton inspira,it is very powerful when you drive up 140km/h,also that it was better than toyota altis when high speed,but in the city, toyota altis was quite faster by the inspira

• Ali rani on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:29 am

Altis kelas harga pun mahal