VIDEO: Petronas Formula 1 teasers featuring the MGP W02

Mercedes GP Petronas had an Australian GP to forget, with both Nico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher scoring DNFs. Both drivers were involved in collisions that affected their race, leading VP of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport Norbert Haug to call it the “toughest weekend of our 20 races”.

But that’s racing, and we hope to see the Petronas backed team bounce back in front of “home fans” at the Malaysian GP.

The national oil company has produced a series of teasers for its upcoming F1 ad, which is themed “Who says Formula 1 technology is only for Formula 1?”. The four teasers released so far shows the Mercedes MGP W02 appearing in daily life situations, which ties in with the tagline.

There’s one showing Harajuku girls using the F1 car and another where a European lady jogs past a parked Silver Arrow on the sidewalk. There’s even one featuring a Malaysian toll booth!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• arzorro on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:11 pm

they even featuring a Malaysian toll booth!
    wish to it with an F1 machine hahaha :)

• arzorro on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:12 pm

they even featuring a Malaysian toll booth!
    wish to do it with an F1 machine too hahaha :)

• mnazri.tan on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:16 pm

wickeddddddddddddddddddddd

• they should have shot the scene at sunway ldp toll during peak hours… then they can have loooongggg advertisement..

• Nasai on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Why does the F1 car opt for the tunai lane instead of the Smart Tag? Under category of Kelas 1. Lol. I wonder which toll is this…..

• alanzo on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:50 pm

now i feel like driving f1 when i in my saga blm seat!

• alxand@mitsubishi@ss2 on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:57 pm

i like video 4 best, but it’s unreal coz with car that low, we won’t be paying toll :P

• stiggy25 on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:06 pm

and now,i declared the Ampang Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highways a race track.and u hav to pay the tolls eventhough u r a formula 1 driver
    :P

• maybe that ad is about petronas’ new fuel :D

• jay8393 on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Yes, it is. Just look at the tagline at the end of those teasers.

• Shappawi_2012 on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:10 pm

The F1 car is lower then toll barrier….just through it laa……hahahaha

• it still a car not a motorbike and have to pay the toll.

• confused on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:46 am

cannot.. later caught by security cam.. oh wait.. too fast, video just went blur.. -_-

• jay8393 on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:18 pm

In video 3 when the runner jogs past the F1 car, it looks like Bernie is getting out of it! :D

• none of the videos show MGP W02.. Its last year car, MGP W01.
    Look at the blade roll structure. MGP W02 use the conventional roll structure.

• Arthur on Mar 28, 2011 at 8:57 pm

“Who says Formula 1 technology is only for Formula 1?”

Tony of Lotus Racing. LOL

• tiadaid on Mar 28, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Hai, F1 car Million Bucks Smart Tag cannot afford? LOL!

• Fake hand coming out from the cockpit to pay the toll some more.

• lalala on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:44 am

tiadaid, bukan tak mampu bro…. no windshield lah~ hahaha
      Indeed i was paying the toll during the making of the ad. The best part was there was an accident at the highway at the same moment. An SUV from KL terbabas masuk opposite lane. Guess the driver was sleeping

• No wonder la my cousin was saying he saw F1 car on AKLEH about a month or so back…

• afaizal on Mar 29, 2011 at 10:48 am

they should have filmed it stuck during traffic jam at 50 cent toll Bandar Tun Razak this morning!

• chinese working as toll collector?
    strange!

• teaser 3 was shot in penang’s beach street, opposite the weld quay hawker centre…
    was driving by when saw, ‘eh, how have a mercedes F1 car at roadside?’, with cameras?
    so now i know, hehe :)