Volvo Concept Universe interprets next luxury Volvo sedan

Here is Volvo’s definition of what a uber-luxury sedan should be – it’s called the Concept Universe, and the large and lush vehicle is supposed to offer a preview of what to expect from the firm’s next top-of-the line sedan. It’s all rather removed from the current S80, which suddenly looks quite dowdy.

The company says that the Concept Universe – which was unveiled in Shanghai – has been designed to spark a subconscious desire and a feeling of eternal beauty, with a form exhibiting a new human-centric design language.

The shape is very much geared towards the future, with a coupe-like roofline and contemporary, solid rear defining things, but Volvo says it also echoes the company’s proud heritage by borrowing design cues from classic models of the past.

No specific technical details with this one, so it’s left to the imagination and visuals to hold court. There’s no shortage of Scandinavian design cues on parade though, especially in the cabin.

The interior has been designed to be user-focused but refreshingly uncomplicated, being driver-orientated in the front and comfortably relaxed in the rear, Volvo says. Features available to the driver are intuitive controls and a touch-screen that approaches the hand when the driver reaches towards it.

The seating on this one is inspired by ultra-comfortable chairs. Passengers at the back – enveloped by an interior that moulds into the rear seat and becomes part of the seating environment – are embraced by light-coloured seats offering pure comfort.

Displaying classic forms, materials and textures, all used with a twist to create a special contemporary luxury experience, the Concept Universe is very much a style-sampling exercise – the company is eager to hear what the most demanding Chinese customers think of this luxurious concept, ahead of taking notes from its European and American customer base. Well, China is very much the “home” market now, so it’s no surprise potential customers there get first dibs on exploring the new bits being bandied with this one.

In Shanghai, Volvo also announced that it is developing an all-new platform architecture called SPA (Scaled Platform Architecture) for its next generation of cars. When the next luxury sedan arrives in a few years, it will be among the first Volvos built on the SPA; the platform will eventually find its way on to all the company’s large and mid-size cars.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2163]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• imbarabbit on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:00 pm

I see XK-R’s rearlights.

• Kevin Lee on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:01 pm

new s80 i see?

• jay8393 on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Could this be the next generation S80?

• cipan bara on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:07 pm

superb.

• 98tecknik89 on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:49 pm

back door suicide door style…interesting

• Al least it looks fresh and looks like a proper RWD car…like in old days

• insperut on Apr 19, 2011 at 2:07 pm

continuing S90?

• arcadian on Apr 19, 2011 at 2:09 pm

with good funding comes changes in design and company direction,glad to see this car maker making progress

• fugly front end!!

• simasen on Apr 19, 2011 at 3:11 pm

fugly to u but for me (n maybe everybody else) the front end just scream “volvo”..at a glance it does remind me of the old tank volvo..

• farghmee on Apr 20, 2011 at 2:57 pm

beluga whale?
      http://petcaregt.com/blog/beluga-whale.html

• ForteLover on Apr 19, 2011 at 3:23 pm

kia optima is a better buy…

• Meowman on Apr 19, 2011 at 3:23 pm

I can see 144/244 remnants in this design. Nice!

• jazzer on Apr 19, 2011 at 3:24 pm

how come there is people call this as superb??

• I hope thats not going to be the face of future Volvo’s…

• freeze on Apr 19, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Were these sketches made in 1965?

• What is happening to Volvo designer ?? Taken over by China local designer. No offence bro. I miss the XC60 design cue……

Peace

• Pictures doesnt justify the look of this in reality. IMHO, the design is very fresh, if not some retro styling cue from the past and I like it! Not to mention the next Big Cat (Jaguar) also going to look alike. WELL DONE VOLVO!!

• SaveTheEarth on Apr 19, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Volvo S60 just launched however with this concept idea really put the things upside down. Such concept car put Volvo 20years backward. What have done by Volvo designers or is this influential by Geegly. Is a bad move. No more Naughty Volvo, is an old old old ancient Volvo.

• EB16.4 on Apr 20, 2011 at 1:48 am

wow. great design by volvo. they were the last company to emerge from boring ‘boxy’ design not by choice, but by lack of design ideas, and now they want to shift back to the past? hello, your washing machine curve in the 70’s up to 90’s was the last thing anyone want to remember lah.

from the so-called ‘safety advancements’ up to the exterior design, they have been nowhere compared to the likes of German marques. volvos have never been on par with build excellence like Audi or Beemer and yet they are novhere as reliable as the Japs. also, most of the safety innovations ever introduced weren’t originated from volvo, their drivetrain T5 and T6 are lethargic (yeah, slow is safe), plastics are a definite crap, the list goes on…

point is, saab should have been at the position where volvo is right now. the fact that volvo survived in the name of ‘safety’ is more of a marketing exercise.

volvo… crap for life.

• Revolvolution X on Apr 20, 2011 at 6:18 am

You must be a distressed ex-Volvo employee…

• arcadian on Apr 20, 2011 at 9:28 am

have u driven a volvo my friend?or are these comments based on top gear reviews?lol.have a proper look at the car first before blasting a car la.i recently checked out the new s60,u would be surprised by the quality.don’t blindly bash

• Bigmouth on Apr 20, 2011 at 9:50 am

That’s the problem with top gear, makes too many unqualified fools think their opinion matters just because they have one, since top gear opinions are mostly the type unqualified fools would make… not backed by facts

• mazda fan on Apr 20, 2011 at 9:30 am

Japs are reliable?have u been missing out on the recent recalls man

• greasemonkey on Apr 20, 2011 at 11:15 pm

I agreed with you 1000%!! Volvo fan boys blinded by the marketing ploy,bcos actually volvo got nothing to shout about.Safe? most modern cars are safe,incl Japs make. Now a China co,somemore what else they want to lay claim to?

• mazda fan on Apr 21, 2011 at 8:42 am

Volvo XC-60 SAFETY FEATURES:
        Safety
        • Dual stage driver and front passenger airbags
        • Side Impact Protection System (SIPS)
        • Dual chamber SIPS airbags, front
        • Inflatable Curtains (IC)
        • Whiplash Protection System (WHIPS)
        • Seat belt pretensioners, front and rear
        • Anti-lock Brake System (ABS)
        • Electronic Brake Distribution (EBD)
        • Hydraulic Brake Assist (HBA)
        • Ready Alert Brake (RAB)
        • Fading Brake Support (FBS)
        • Dynamic Stability and Traction Control (DSTC)
        • Roll Stability Control (RSC)
        • Roll Over Protection System (ROPS)
        • City Safety
        • Pre-Prepared Restraints (PRS)
        • Intelligent Driver Information System (IDIS)
        • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
        • Collision Warning with Auto Brake (CWAB)
        • Blind Spot Information System (BLIS)
        • Emergency Brake Lights (EBL)

CAN U NAME ME OTHER CARS THAT HAS THESE SAFETY SYSTEMS,Mr Greasemonkey?

• The rear is a nice touch but the front has been panned by most people. Guess the front will be toned down or redesigned. But the Chinese market prefer em big so maybe a compromise.

• Seriously on Apr 20, 2011 at 12:10 pm

I think this design is freaking sick! (in a good way) Love how they try to shine away from the overly used “fluid design ques”. The front so reminds me of a bad ass cartoon robot I remember watching… but I cant remember what.