Renault Twizy – looking to bowl over the scooter crowd

Renault has announced the pricing and opened reservations for its electric Twizy, which is due to go on sale at the end of the year in Europe. There are three versions in all, a 5hp model called the Twizy 45 and two 17 hp variants, the Urban and Technic.

The Twizy 45, as its numerical moniker suggests, has a speed capped at 45 kph, which means it can be driven without a licence in certain countries. With pricing starting from 6,990 Euros for the model, its price – in Europe – also means that young drivers will now be able to afford a vehicle that is safer than a two-wheeler.

As for the faster (80 kph) Twizy twins, which happen to be on display at the ongoing Barcelona Motor Show, the tax-paid prices for the Urban and Technic will start from 7,690 Euros and 8,490 Euros respectively, with a monthly tax-paid cost of the battery lease for both versions being 49 Euros.

The four-wheeled Twizy sits two occupants in tandem, one behind the other like on a scooter or a bike, with wraparound bodywork and side deflectors to ensure enjoyable open-air motoring, but protected from the elements.

Renault adds that it offers greater safety compared with a two-wheeled vehicle, thanks to an extensive list of active and passive safety features. It also allows easier parking, with its compact dimensions (it’s 2,337 mm long, 1,191 mm wide and 1,461 mm tall). The Twizy sits on 13-inch wheels, which wear 125×80 front and 145×80 rear rubbers.

The Twizy’s lithium-ion battery fully charges in just 3.5 hours using a domestic electrical supply via a spiral cable stowed behind a flap at the front. Twizy’s low weight (450kg, including the 100kg battery) helps it get an operational range of around 100 km per charge.

Accessories for the vehicle include an all-purpose, 50 litre capacity bag, a Parrot audio kit (including Bluetooth connectivity, plus a USB connector, a jack socket and an Apple connector), rear parking sensors, additional protection against the weather and a range of customisation options such as coloured alloy wheels and decals, stuff that’ll make your ride Twizy to spot. Sorry, couldn’t resist!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• when can we get this in Malaysia ya? the fuel price ron95 is going to raise soon, would be good to have alternate transport option

• Damn cute!! I love it!!

• Sambal Belacan on May 14, 2011 at 10:03 am

With the prices start from 6,990 Euros ,7,690 Euros and 8,490 Euros
    for these models, I don’t think Malaysians will buy these expensive “golf Car”.

• temakol on May 14, 2011 at 11:54 am

yea…too pricey….and yet the mileage cant go far…not really suitable for Malaysia environment….and it is motorcycle replacement furthermore….too expensive.

• meet_the _zonan on May 14, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Mom.. cant I get one?

• mini gugu freak on May 14, 2011 at 3:13 pm

hmm, the sidedoor no glass cover rite? if heavy rain/storm hav to stop under bridge like motorbikes lol…but the size so big compare to motorbikes, if 20 Twizy stop together ter can block the whole road LOL like turtles in a shell…

• Then everything must be of waterproof quality, I means the dashboard, seats, flooring (no carpet). That;s why the premium pricing.

• Jerry on May 14, 2011 at 7:08 pm

If you don’t already like a Kancil, you won’t like the Twizy either.

• Lim Kopi on May 14, 2011 at 10:04 pm

sorry Renault , I just can’t seem to take you seriously here…

Why can’t u be like your bro Pug whose been making decent cars recently .

remember that model Multipla ??

• How come this type of vehicle can be sold in Europe? While in Boleh Land our JPJ do not recognised it as a vehicle? Are we to assume that “OUR” road & vehicle regulation is FAR superior then European?

Then JPJ should be very busy in training their European counterpart to match Malaysian NCAP standards and get the European roads full of trucks and cars that emmites black smoke as part of their standard.

• ismazri on May 15, 2011 at 3:42 am

mat rempit new world order

• PakAbu on May 15, 2011 at 9:35 am

There’s a three-wheel scooter by Piaggio (Vespa) that has narrower foot print than this. The two wheels in front means it can stand up-right by itself.

I like that one better. Only if …