Jaguar XF 2.2 diesel travels 1,313km on 64 liters!

Jaguar XF 2.2 diesel travels 1,313km on 64 liters!Jaguar calls its new Jaguar XF 2.2 the most efficient Jaguar yet produced, and looking at its tested fuel economy figures, it’s probably true!

To see just how fuel efficient the XF 2.2 diesel is, Jaguar sent the Jaguar XF off on a trip across four countries driven by independent tester David Magdwick, and the results were 816 miles (1,313km) covered using just 64 litres of fuel, which is a fuel consumption of about 4.9 litres per 100km! My guess at combined real world driving – an average of 7 litres per 100km is possible.

Despite being fuel efficient, I don’t think the 4 cylinder oil burner XF will be a bore to drive either, considering it makes 190 PS and 450Nm of torque, mated to an 8-speed ZF automatic gearbox with an auto start-stop system.

Jaguar XF 2.2 diesel travels 1,313km on 64 liters!

It’s about time that Jaguar put a 2.2 litre diesel into the XF, considering their “premium only” stance awhile back. If you notice, the XF petrol range starts with a 3.0 litre V6 model, and Jaguar says this is intentional because they wanted to keep the marque a notch above its competitors like Mercedes-Benz and BMW, which has lower end models like the 523i and the E200 CGI.

There is a more upmarket diesel XF model – a 3.0 litre V6 diesel, which just so happens to be sold in Malaysia. A 2.2 litre diesel XF is essentially competes with some of the baseline diesel engines of the German badges – the 520d and the E220 CDI. They probably need to do this to keep up with the times though, as more people look towards fuel efficiency.

Will Sisma Auto launch the 2.2 litre diesel XF here to provide an alternative for those looking for a fuel efficient diesel in the 5-Series/E-Class/A6 segment? That would certainly be quite interesting, especially if it ends up being as competitively priced as the 520d, but not very likely (as in the price) as it would be a case of CBU vs SKD.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nebula87 on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm

walao…more fuel efficient than MyVi wor…XD

• khaix19a on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:33 pm

the new facelifted xf is the sexiest diesel car EVER!!!

• Liverpool on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Can I have one please? Nice facelift!

• Gavin on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:59 pm

In my opinion the cheaper car manufacturers are totally playing for fools by refusing to bring diesels in on the excuse of ‘poor diesel quality’.

Seems like only the luxury makes are ready to provide and support better engines for their customers.

It’s pretty damn tiring for us to be constantly the dumping ground for older less efficient engines

• wing tsun on Jun 29, 2011 at 6:57 am

Where shall this diesel engines come from?

The Japanese themselves source their diesel engines for european models from Peugeot or Renault?

• Gavin on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Forget the japanese they themselves in Europe failed to see the potential and now just cannot compete at all in diesel cars.

Toyota has D4-D, Honda has i-CRDi

Koreans however were smarter and have engines which are even more powerful than the germans.

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Small car or what? Is it just me who perceived the interior as crampy?

• This Jag baby make German made looks bland..

• CamPor on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:23 pm

nice!

• ray_jay on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:24 pm

I highly doubt people in Malaysia who spend on a half a million car care about the fuel consumption…

it’s totally different in Europe where people can afford at more reasonable price for these kind of marques.

• francis on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:21 am

European tax their car according on CO2 output,
      hence
      High Output/HP = High fuel consumption = High CO2 output = Expensive Tax

If malaysia started to practice this kind of method.. Half a million of Malaysia will care on this issue..

• tikus on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:02 am

Paul… Any ideal what is the CO2 output for our Camtakpro engine?

• tun tansari on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:37 pm

is a beautiful car with good diesel power, sisma auto should do it ckd with DRB or naza then the price will be cheaper and more can be sold

• Damn! Better mileage than my ’07 Triton!

• skiborne on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:35 am

proton should now considering making a diesel engine, we have the edge bcs of that hugeeee palm oil plantations and that bio-diesel thing

• Moronic government must revert roadtax based on emission and fuel consumption to discourage excess use of fuel.

I doubt we can achieve this as we’re one of the highest number of gas station in the world. Paul and pt readers, l afraid persatuan gas station will object these type of low FC cars due to their personal and business status quo in jeopardy.

Imagine twice or even once visit to gas station?

• Carl Wong on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:32 am

Not as efficient as the Ford Focus TDCi but great too. Anything 1000km+ per tank is great in this era. Let’s work toward the 2000km mark :]…!!!!

Why are turbo diesel engines always coupled with geared transmissions? Is it possible to use CVT to increase the overall fuel efficiency even more? Reduce the engine size a little bit?

• artworkz on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:18 am

CVT cant handle torque from turbo diesel.

• winchester bro on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:21 pm

high torque engine cannot pair with CVT…

• jalan54 on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:39 pm

cvt transmission will have a lot of power loss therefore I don’t think it helps in fuel efficiency. If dual clutch transmission, it should help.

Also cvt is expensive and to have cvt support such high torque, it is even more costly.

• aprilcoco on Jun 29, 2011 at 6:51 am

In Malaysia, wouldn’t the depreciation wipe out any savings in fuel?

• wing tsun on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:03 am

BTW: The engine is a Ford/Peugeot development, already available in the Land Rover Freelander, Peugeot 508 and Ford Mondeo.

Jaguar was realistic not to develop their own engine…

• BeemerFreak on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Ineterstingly, if the unit is the same one, which is found the the freelander recently launched by SDAP, why did they not bring in the mondeo with the same engine?

• Totally agreed….they shud bring the mondeo tdci wt the petrol ecoboost for those who prefer more torque and better FC (ecoboost hv more hp & quite frugal for a petrol)

• diesel is the way to go…powerful but yet very frugal, …no wonder diesels are the best seller in euro…compared to driving a petrol, diesel shove from a dollop of torque from low – mid rev are so intoxicating.

Anyway, diesel real world FC are more or less the same wt claim FC ( most of it power/torque are btw 1,500 – 3,000rpm, hence u don’t need to rev it no matters if u are driving solo or carrying full 5 ppls & luggage, ..compare this to most petrol FC claims which are done at 2,000 – 3,000 rpm but in real world when u need to carry full ppl & luggage you need to rev more than 4,000 rpm since its peak torque are at above 4,000 rpm)…hence the petrols real world consumption most of the time deviate a lot …

• clutch basah on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:43 am

Call me an old bag but in reality, would you buy a diesel Jag if you could afford one!? Seen this car in the metal.. I seriously will not consider a 2.2l diesel

• jalan54 on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:33 pm

I will if I have the money.

• Loads of ppl bought the diesel Jag in those developed countries….go figure,..anyway, same cc wise, the diesel is more powerful

• skiborne on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:07 pm

not a suprise why 60% or maybe more of german buyers bought diesel in 2010

• skiborne on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:12 pm

i wonder, do diesel cars in malaysia need engine treatment after sometime knowing that our diesel quality isnt as par with euro ones? anybody?

• Carl Wong on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:57 am

No extra treatment needed. They would test them with our fuel before selling the cars here. They should run fine and smooth, our diesel is not as bad as people think actually.

• hmm, maybe its a conspiracy/rumours spread by those T&H/japs car salesman…..they are afraid that their Japs car hv no diesel alternative here in Msia ..LOL

• Simon H on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm

The engine output figures looks so familiar! Did they source their engine from Hyundai? Hyundai’s 2.2L CRDi R-engine delivers pretty similar figures.
    It’s in the Santa Fe & sold here by the way. I’ve tested it. Nice quiet engine considering that it’s a diesel.

• ezracopters on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:53 pm

i don’t know why. but whenever i saw someone drove Jaguar.. he / she would look much classy & elegant compare to those in Merc, Audi & BMW. haha.. wow!!!