Targeting 100k US sales, Mitsubishi fields Lancer SE AWD

US market Lancer Ralliart is a junior Evo with 237 hp 4B11T, AWD and Twin Clutch-SST

Mitsubishi sales in the US has been on a downward trend, but the company is fighting back, looking at the 100,000 sales mark as a target. Part of the offensive is a new non-performance AWD version of the Lancer, something previously unheard of.

The Lancer SE will be the cheapest all wheel drive car in the Lancer range. It’s AWD siblings are the Ralliart and Evolution versions which are turbocharged performance models. Of the two, the cheaper Ralliart (pic) starts at about $27,000.

The SE AWD will be priced around $20,000, and will be naturally aspirated, like the front driven DE, ES and GTS variants MMC sells in America. Mitsu expects 15 to 20% of Lancer buyers to opt for the SE. Bear in mind that unlike here, where AWD is viewed solely from the performance perspective, it snows in America.

Mitsubishi is looking at sales of 73,000 vehicles in its fiscal year ending March 2012. The next target is 100,000. “We are quickly recovering from the bottom years of 2009 and 2010. We want to be getting back as quickly as possible to 100,000 units in a few years,” said Yoichi Yokozawa, CEO of Mitsubishi Motors North America. The last time MMC sold over 100k in USA was in 2007, with 128,993 units.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• taboogen on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:21 am

wow now mits follow proton.. they also have SE ler…

• farghmee on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:28 am

proton r&h?

• what a good looking car, the Lancer.

But I have seen a poor imitation copy of this car, which looks absolutely hideous, somewhere before….

• lancer got immitation eh ? means that unathorized copy is available… where ? china ?

• Unforgiven on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:33 am

I hate to see Inspira on the road, I hate to see those type of collaboration…
      Saga FL is still acceptable…

• Kuntakinte on Aug 24, 2011 at 11:13 am

Haiya, just send in our ‘short-of-inspiration’ replica with lotus handling. You’ll get twice the fun at half the price.

• keith duckworth on Aug 24, 2011 at 11:19 am

Proton Insprira AWD anyone?

• kwing on Aug 24, 2011 at 11:25 am

this car have been selling since 2009…. in sg and aust anyway….

• kwing on Aug 24, 2011 at 11:31 am

sorry.. it is SE.thought is is ralliart .. nope this is new…..

• ujumpijump on Aug 24, 2011 at 7:00 pm

design wise nothin 2 shout about. C’mon guys!! refresh refresh is de keyword here.. heheh

• Proton on Aug 24, 2011 at 7:29 pm

Faster send our Inspira to rawr in US, customize a limo wheelbase and become Obama president car.

Yea Malaysia Boleh

• 20k???
    boleh land damn sucks!!!

• Mask Ryder on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Only in ur dream Mitsubishi, only in ur dream.
    After u have sold ur soul to Seoul & betray ur nation auto industry, causing damage to ur country economy.
    U should have pratice Hatakiri.

Now why should the American buy a Mitsubishi when they can buy a copy cat Mitsubishi powered Hyundai/Kia at lower price.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:45 am

Maybe not specifically mitsubishi but Chrysler has been selling rebadged versions of the 1991 E38 Galant AWD with a normal twincam 2.0…..sort of a baby Galant VR4 minus the rear steer and the turbo.

The Eagle 2000 awd as it was called sold pretty well. I’ve owned 2 of them in fwd though.

• “The SE AWD will be priced around $20,000…”

“junior Evo with 237 hp 4B11T, AWD and Twin Clutch-SST….”

1 USD = 2.98300 MYR
    1 MYR = 0.335233 USD
    20,000.00 USD = 59,659.99 MYR

Proton Inspira Cheat Rakyat…..Again……

With this pricing, i can have one, handsomely.

Thanks Gov!
    Thanks UMNO!
    Thanks AP Kroniessss!

• Nwarz on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Just buy it if you want..but think maa about the tax..transportation to Malaysia..don’t bring political here weii..go find another place..think big before talk big..

• badrul on Jul 10, 2012 at 10:38 am

Anyone know about the new lancer that will be launch in Malaysia before end of 2012????