Infiniti opens new KL showroom, unveils range – EX and FX crossovers, M Sedan and G Coupe, RM380k to RM435k

The Malaysian auto market welcomes a new brand today in Infiniti. Nissan’s luxury marque is distributed here by Inspired Motor Sdn Bhd, a joint venture between Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) and Auto Dunia. ETCM is of course the company representing Nissan in Malaysia.

Malaysia becomes the second country in ASEAN to welcome Infiniti, the first being Indonesia. The brand, birthed in 1989 and focused on North America, is undergoing a major global expansion drive over the next two years. Infiniti cars are now sold in 15 countries. Their target is to capture 5% of Malaysia’s luxury segment by 2016.

Mr Toru Saito, Infiniti’s Corporate VP, along with ETCM bosses opened the 8,000 sq ft Infiniti Center this evening. Located at Chulan Square along Jalan Raja Chulan, the IREDI (Infiniti Retail Environment Design Initiative) showroom is at a high visibility junction opposite Porsche and Audi across the road. It’s hard to miss.

The brand greets Malaysia with a four-car range including two crossovers, a sedan and a coupe. The entry model is the EX crossover, priced at RM380,000. Next up is the sexy G Coupe at RM415,000, which is RM10k cheaper than the M saloon, which costs RM425,000. The range topper is of course the attention grabbing FX crossover at RM435,000. There’s a GT Premium optional pack for the EX and FX, costing RM15k and RM35k respectively.

All four models are in “37” spec, meaning that they share the same 3.7-litre V6 engine with 320 hp and 360 Nm at 5,200 rpm. This 24-valve DOHC unit boasts low friction molybdenum coated pistons, microfinished camshafts, CVTC at both intake and exhaust and Variable Valve Event and Lift (VVEL).

The V6 is mated to a seven-speed automatic gearbox with Adaptive Shift Control and Drive Sport mode. The manual mode has what Infiniti calls Downshift Rev Matching, DRM.

The fastest of the bunch is of course the G Coupe, which does 0-100 km/h in just 5.9 seconds. Fellow rear-driven M saloon isn’t far behind at 6.2 seconds, so gung-ho Golf GTIs better not initiate traffic light GPs. Both top out at 250 km/h.

The two AWD crossovers are bulkier, and slower, but still duck under seven seconds. The EX’s figures are 6.4 seconds/240 km/h while the large FX does 6.8s and 235 km/h.

Equipment lists are very long across the board. The FX, for instance, comes with 20-inch wheels, HID with AFS, moonroof, intelligent key, powered tailgate, heated outside mirrors with reverse tilt down, scratch shield paint, quilted leather, 10-way power driver’s seat with memory, 2GB Music Box, Bluetooth audio streaming, Fine Vision gauges, 7-inch colour MID, rear view monitor, tyre pressure monitor (TPMS) and magnesium shift paddles, among other kit.

Sat in the M and was surprised to find Bose speakers integrated within the front seats!

Welcome to Malaysia, Infiniti. Full gallery after the jump.

Infiniti EX
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2606]
Infiniti G Coupe
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2608]
Infiniti M
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2612]
Infiniti FX
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2614]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Infiniti on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:12 pm

finally, something new on the road of malaysia. nice

• Honda San on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Hope it looks better in real life than in photo. Good luck.

• mangata on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:31 pm

te price r quite similar 2 bmw n benz…..will any1 buy this?

• skiborne on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:44 pm

FX? nah ill go for Discovery TDV6 HSE

• Expatriate VN on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:57 pm

Wellcome Infiniti with latest models, never follow your parent ETCM attitude in offering few old models in the line-up.

Yes, nich market cater to the privilege few.

• autojohndoe on Oct 15, 2011 at 10:58 am

WELLcome?

that’s a new word for me…

• Ayecaramba! on Oct 15, 2011 at 8:42 pm

You really had to correct his English? Seriously? =.=

• Expatriate VN on Oct 16, 2011 at 2:36 pm

Simple correction! Why so “seriously”? Just type in “Welcome”! What a big fuse! Pathetic!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 16, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Make a mountain out of a mole! It is just a simple typo error and your low mentality treat it as new word for you! pathetic!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:58 pm

very very very nice cars. but seriously the 3.7 engines are proven but if infiniti wants to grab a market share they seriously need to consider mating these beauties with smaller engines. pricewise, they are win. cheaper than the lesser german rivals, like BMW.

• montana on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:59 pm

look like china car due logo seem like alado

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 14, 2011 at 9:10 pm

are the ex and fx rwd or 4wd?

• labix7 on Oct 14, 2011 at 9:17 pm

big front grill … like a “trade-mark’ of nissan cars…

• purposeless

• Factsguy on Oct 14, 2011 at 10:26 pm

“drool”…

• Coolguru on Oct 14, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Any chance you get to test drive and review then perhaps a comparison with lexus equivalent model?

• Jimmy on Oct 14, 2011 at 10:43 pm

Can somebody enlighten me on the reasons to choose these over MB in Malaysia?

• Hell its f*cking expensive in malaysia!!!! I got the G model less than rm120K in US! Malaysia government must be damn rich eh?

• Simon Ng on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:17 am

No. Malaysian are damm rich. Just not some of us. I saw the G37 while i was in US, fantastic looking car. Enjoy your ride, not many people back here gets to do it.

• Saya sayang Malaysia on Oct 15, 2011 at 9:07 am

ada ke nak banding harga us dgn Malaysia…bodoh ke ape…kalau gitu duduk la kat us jgn duduk kat malaysia…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 15, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Why can’t make comparison? Last time Iphone 4 launched, for entry unit, price as US 499.00 in US, and RM 1,499 in Malaysia (i.e. which if based on conversion rate is equal price). What wrong with your otak udang, make comparison then you ask people to stay at US, stupid!

• Malaysia's Biggest Rasuah Minister on Oct 15, 2011 at 5:20 pm

ko lah bodoh.. suka hati panggil orang bodoh

• Funny how you sound….

Why do we have some kampong fella spewing out ….. what language is that ?

And why do you not respond in English ?

• No reasons to buy the ridiculously expensive X6 anymore. The FX stands out so much more and is more practical and comfortable.

• Prakash S. on Oct 15, 2011 at 1:41 am

From the makers of the awesome GT-R! X6 and Cayenne owners would be wise to check their rear view mirrors often. There’s really nothing not to like about these gorgeous Infinitis, especially when Japanese reliability and hospitality come with the package. Why would anyone want a Lexus now?

• autojohndoe on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:28 pm

malaysian getting richer?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 15, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Ya filthy rich, for Bodohland group only, e.g. corrupted politicians, cronies, AP Kings, rent seekers and Alibaba partnerships.

• What is the full address of this showroom? I want to visit.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 15, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Chulan Square, opposite Pavilion. The junction where Jalan Raja Chulan meets Jalan Bukit Bintang

• Thanks! Just went there today and I realized it was so quite for a new showroom. When I went in with my camera,at the front counter there was around 15 formally dressed Infiniti men and ladies which I first thought they were sales person.

They all stared at me as I walked towards the cars. I felt extremely awkward till the manager (I believe) chased after me and said “excuse me?”

I explained I was just here to take some pictures of the cars. He (very)kindly apologized and explained that today there will be a special function and is closed to the public for the day.

He then also very kindly asked me to come tomorrow and gave me an Infiniti bag full of Infiniti brochures before I left! I almost lost count of how many times he’d apologized, haha!

Seriously great treatment from a new car company in this country. The cars may be expensive but I would definitely buy Infiniti when I can well afford it.

After I left I did not go home. I just go to the Porsche showroom right in front of it to see the super-rare Porsche 911 GT3 RS 4.0! That was the only model out of 600 that was brought in to Malaysia and was already sold to a person named Datuk Patrick Lim. Thanks to this rich guy, I can no longer open the doors to have a look inside.

Oh then I went to the Audi showroom just right beside it to see the new A6 and R8 V10. What a day! :D

• Paul Tan on Oct 16, 2011 at 12:30 am

Datuk Patrick Lim is famous for the Monsoon Cup in Pulau Duyong and owns Equine Capital. If I am not mistaken he also imports Segway into Malaysia.

• Yes, that famous Patrick Lim, but he no longer owns Equine Capital, he has sold off his stake in that company. You can check on the Bursa announcement

• OMG Great apologies to all! Looking back at the photos I taken and the papers on the car, the real person who owns it is Dato Derrick Lim as written on the paper.

Really sorry if anyone here who knows Patrick Lim and had read my previous comment had just confused him by congratulating him on his new ride. Is Derrick Lim, NOT Patrick Lim.

• Btw Derrick Lim registered that GT3 RS 4.0 to be delivered to Langkawi. Is that even possible? That means he is buying this without tax. He pays way less than 1.3 mil. Maybe only half of that. Unfair!!!

• Paul Tan on Oct 16, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Plenty of people do that. The latest trick is to register a car in langkawi but use G1M number plate so the car doesn’t catch attention.

• Why does G1M plate does not draw attention?

• BMW fanatic on Dec 01, 2011 at 3:28 pm

What colour was that GT3 RS 4.0?

I was informed that 5 of these will be coming to Malaysia.

• More toys for the rich boys…

Not an ordinary car for ordinary folks… with this kinda price you can say ” I bought one for myself and one for the government…”

• yc.low on Oct 15, 2011 at 10:48 am

Infiniti logo is notoriously similar to China Cherry!! Many lay people may mistaken this expansive car for China cheap Cherry.
    I wonder who copy who.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 15, 2011 at 2:31 pm

What a load of bullshits from Moron, are you saying or are you mean few rich people as well may mistaken Cherry QQ car as Infiniti brand by focus on the logo only?

• Wonder where is their service center?sharing with Nissan and Renault…?

• Why QX model non show up?is it too huge in our road or Malaysia citizen can’t afford to made purchase??

• kenot on Oct 15, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Now i understand why nissan and proton end up the MOU to assemble Nissan Fuga as top model for proton.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 17, 2011 at 12:35 am

Err does “very long” quipments list include Navigation? I dont see it listed anywhere. All Mercs and BMW at that price comes with navigation as standard

• Grand Marquis on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Many Malaysians are not familiar with the brand Infinity, but definitely their car has more character than Lexus (which I believe is Infinity genuine competitor).

I live in a country where these two brand have been going head to head. What I can conclude In simple word, if you are looking for Japanese luxury car and are rich and kiasu, go for Lexus. But if you are rich and not kiasu, go for Infinity. :-D

• nismoFan on Nov 18, 2012 at 9:13 pm

i own GT250 skyline v36..YEAR 09..can call it infiniti as well..cheers

• shlee76 on Jan 22, 2013 at 12:32 am

Hi NismoFan,

May I know where do you send your car for service?