Proton Saga FLX SE launched – RM49,899 OTR!

saga-flx-se-1

Ah, while all the action seems to be in Tokyo, along pops up something more relevant and closer to home. Proton has announced the introduction of the Saga FLX SE, which we “previewed” last week, all thanks to an erstwhile reader and a leaked brochure.

Danny’s story already carries most of the tech details, so the big news is really about the photos of the car and the price – the 1.6 litre Campro and CVT-equipped vehicle rolls in at RM49,899 (metallic) and RM49,449 (solid). There are only two shades, the Fire Red as seen in the photos (which is the metallic), and Solid White.

saga-flx-se-2

Priced RM2,900 above the current selling 1.6 litre automatic Saga FL, the Saga FLX SE features eight exterior and three interior changes. It’s fitted with 15-inch alloy wheels, an complete factory-fitted body kit in contrasting grey, fog lamps and smoked-finished combination rear lamps.

Meanwhile, the 108 hp and 150 Nm vehicle’s interior gets a healthy dollop of leather; hide is to be found on the seats, steering wheel, door ornament as well as the parking brake and gearshift levers.

saga-flx-se-3

The company is hoping to shift around 500 units of the Saga FLX SE per month. Oh, and customers who have ordered a Saga and are still waiting for their car to be delivered can opt to change their booking to the FLX SE at the respective showroom in which the booking was originally made.

If you’re thinking of viewing the FLX SE, don’t rush out just yet, because the car will only be at all Proton showrooms from tomorrow, December 1.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• cynical on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Good price

• sagatron on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:30 pm

better price than “lagi best” SE..pffffttttt…..

• kimi_ on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Why the hell the REAR LIGHT has LIGHT YELLOW COVER that looks like it is something old or used for many years, it is so weird!!!

The first generation BLM rear light looks more proportionate and nicer, The FL one looks weird and eye sore.

• kington on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:07 am

Yup, clear lenses are a no-no.

• I think those photo Proton Designer over-saturate it…
          the red look super-red, maybe the rear combi light become yellowish…Jz my 2cent

• RON97 on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:57 am

well…this people at proton try to make this saga look like impreza. if u can’t buy impreza, this is the one for you. ambitious.

• the photo over saturated..fire red looks very garang..the light is not yellow..its clear and smoke..see by yourself..it simply awesome..

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:33 am

That’s the latest design ma………….in year 1991…….

• Daniel on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:31 am

I agree, the front light looks like a small car with huge eye…really disproportional. But I like the new FL rear combi lights…from far looks like the new Vios :-)
          With this 1.6 cvt, airbag, abs…maybe can be better than vios ady!!

• adii1 on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:34 am

standard, buy and cry

• Basically I agree with the driving dynamics, the power, but when it comes to resale value, back to square one.

• Frankie Tan on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:20 pm

yes i agreed with u bro. i bought a FL 1.3 Executive (AT) 2011 in January. i want
          to trade in for FLX 1.3 Executive (AT) u know the saleman only gave me RM27K
          u mean used for 10months the devalued to 50%. so dont buy Protons but instead
          buy Perodua better resale value.

• Nakal on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:34 pm

better price than the so called ‘extreme’

• better price than the Toyota Dugong

• only because proton chooses to hide behind the skirt of the gomen. if it has the balls, just try sell this with the same taxes as the toyota. learn the truth then talk.

• hayden on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:26 pm

same stuff again and again.. you’re a boring guy.

• Daniel on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:38 am

I agree…they should have sold Proton to VW…then maybe we will see Malaysians driving more Protons with VW technology.

• baqru pakai keta 10 bulan sudah mau trade in ka????

• Proton Boleh on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm

are you out of your mind?

someone has to be really poor to define this as good price.

Look at your left and right while you are driving. If you see a breakdown, 5/10 is proton, 3/10 is perodua and 2/10 is celup Kia (naza)

again,

there is something wrong here.

Think again and make a diffrence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • ye ke? selalu aku tgk kereta mewah yg byk tersadai tepi jalan. kereta proton yg tersadai tu biasanya yg dh lebih 7 tahun.

• Kapparo on Dec 02, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Adreed. Lately I saw a few merc stalled tepi jalan..not the latest models, but not as old as merc lampu panjang…

• Cikgu Kamil on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:37 pm

aku tengok kanan aku aku nampak Lamborghini terbakar secara tiba2.. Macam mana tu? Aku nampak belah kiri aku Honda City rosak gearbox.. Macam mana tu?

• Cikgu Kamil on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Aku pandang kanan nampak Lamborghini terbakar tiba2.. Aku pandang kiri nampak Honda City rosak gearbox.. Aku toleh belakang RX-8 rosak kat kampung xde pomen boleh repair enjin rotary..

• Medic on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:15 am

I tengok depan screen nampak cikgu Kamil rosak kat otak..takde pomen nak baiki.U lupa ambil ubat ari ni cikgu..

• Saga aku ok je. lu klentong ni.

• Prismo on Dec 01, 2011 at 7:59 am

it’s does makes a different.. If i’m not mistaken, FREQUENTLY i saw TOYOTA AVANZA broke down..

• Selongsong on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:10 am

I have powerwindow problems with my father’s Kancil and my wife’s Kelisa.

Another issue is the problematic Kancil engine. It exhumes exzos fume through my aircond! Even the local Perodua service centre can’t seems to fix it.

Yes, my father’s Wira brokedown once, but that when I was travelling from Bangi to Baling (about 400km+).

My father’s Kancil brokedown, travelling from Seri Putra to Bangi (about 20km+). Not only it brokedown, but it tried to kill by suffocating me with the poisonous exzos fume.

• littlefire on Dec 03, 2011 at 10:36 am

Ur problem is easly to fix.. Ur exzos pipe already bocor or leaking go fix at exzos shop not at perodua service center..

Anyway funny is that My kancil & Kelisa until now no problem.. except the power window console of the Kelisa easily to break off…

Ori kancil use manual power window, i dont think it may coz a lot of issue unless u use it extreamly or u modify it to aftermarket power window…

• winners on Dec 03, 2011 at 6:11 pm

I drove my SAGA 1.3 SE from JB to Penang and back. Only some internal dashboard vibration noise at times. Engine wise, no problem leh. Only thing I don’t like is the paintwork on their plastic parts (eg: the bumpers and side skirtings): easily gets chipped off. However, the paintwork on the metal body is okay.

• Johnny on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Wow.. so many proton supporters here. I think proton would be better off being a political party instead of being a car manufacturer.

• autojohndoe on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:04 pm

then Toyota will be the GOvt… because they have more supporters…

• jamal on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:15 pm

yup. i wonder whats the margin of this saga

• littlefire on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Good price, but how about sales?

If not mistaken Saga 1.3L also price lower then 1.3L Myvi, but the sales?

Please prove that you can market it well.. Good luck..

• kimi_ on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:09 am

I DONT KNOW WHY, SAGA KEPT GETTING UGLY AND UGLY…..

First generation BLM design : collaboration of Proton and korean LG company.
        Looks very very NICE and trendy that makes me bought my first proton, front design, head lamp all are minimal, simple and nice.

SAGA FL: 100% potong design
        Surprisingly Proton managed to make it looks more ugly than before, disproportionate head lights, handicap rear light, fussy front and rear bumper design, dissapointed!!!

SAGA FLX SE:
        no comment, looks like crap for me!

I actually got some friends that interested in SAGA, but they want to bought the first GEN BLM design like mine instead of the FL!!!!!!

• chow_kit on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:12 am

agree with you.

• farghmee on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:27 am

bro., fascia tu taste masing2.
          u kata buruk, i kata cantik.
          i kata buruk, u kata cantik.
          :)

• beauty is in the eye of the beholder. i think it looks good!

• what car u using?

• Johnny on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Hey Proton ppl! Please give Donato Coco a visit before coming out with such design. Dont be arrogant @ bodoh sombong.

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:54 am

When facing with Perodua, Proton’s trump card is the self-developed design and engines. That’s why they can build cars cheaper than Perodua. As for Perodua, even though the so-called “lagi best” MyVi finally has its own self-developed design (because it doesn’t look like any of Daihatsu’s models at all), they still rely on Japs for the engines, gearboxes and other components. As a result, there is only about a few hundred ringgit being saved when compared to an old MyVi.

• There are too many saga on the road, are you close your eyes

• Proton Edar Sales KB on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:39 pm

That greattt….!!!

• Saga FLX or Saga FIX?FIX sound better and matching lolx

• Hmm anyway still waiting for red Jetta GLI 2012 here…pls bring it here! 48k for this Saga beauty? overprice…should be around 18k.

• tristan on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:20 pm

better-looking persona B for RM50k vs fugly Saga for RM50k, haha haha ahahahaha

• sy berkenan ngan red fire sb ganas dan sporty. tapi kalu bleh cadangan sy lampu saga FLX sama ngan saga BLM baru nampak potongan cantik. Yang skg ni lampunya nampak x brapa ctk pd sy sorang. Seolah tertonjol kluar. Sokonglah industri automobil tempatan…..

• 1st impression = something wrong/wired for me..better take the standard one..

• Littlebear on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Aiyoyo!!! looks like a piece of red chilli shit :( The skirting doesn’t match the car & what’s with the el-cheapo taiwan look alike back light. It looks like as though the rear light has turned yellowish. I know it was meant to look like that but seriously…. it looks awful :( To seal it all, RM50k for this… :)

• rajaiskandarshah on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:22 pm

ya lah…. also they should have saved the money on the leather bits and instead just paired the cps on the engine… saga is a budget car, so no point of trying to dress it up like an exec saloon, just give it a bigger hp for hard driving and better suspension.

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:11 am

Proton Saga is a kereta rakyat and is supposed to be a basic car to move from point A to B, so it is suppoed to be a family car instead of an ah beng car. So no need to look so flashy, instead they should introduce more safety features and fuel-saving features as well.

• Bongcs on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Dont stop the party !!

• Good pricing as expected.. Nuff with saga.. P3-21a plakkk.. March 2012 eh.. Ejas awal sikit la.. Ada hatchback plak tu.. With BMW cant make early settlement on my house.. With P3-21a sure cannnnn

• Sarcastic Prick on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:22 pm

I can see the slogan now – Lagi Sangat Best Power Gila!

• abang, i thing the new slogan is pressure your peer

• Selongsong on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:12 am

At the word “Siot” for added effect…
      “Lagi Sangat Best Power Gila Siot!”

• haidir on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:22 pm

let selling numbers do the talk

• gomotech.com on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:23 pm

wow, can beat myvi ni.

• Phantom_works on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:24 pm

why don’t they put cps engine in it? sure myvi 1.5 sales affected if put cps engine and i totally consider to buy it…

• Mienzz on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:52 pm

This car is using Campro IAFM+
      an improvement from old Campro engine

• rajaiskandarshah on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:24 pm

saya sokong. buang the leather bits. add the cps.

• this car hp is 108 with kerb weight arond 1080 kg enough power on the highway,anytime can beat myvi extreme.Let try

• why no manual?

• No Fanatic on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:07 pm

How come manual? Its CVT ma…

• memang takde manual transmission ke? alaa…

• sebenarnya ramai yang tunggu 1.6 ni manual.

No Fanatic says:How come manual? Its CVT ma…

aku tau la CVT, tapi manual lagi best.

Pak Abu says: Dulu dah kuar manual kenapa tak nak beli?

dulu taxi 1.6, itu terhad ok terhad. bukannya open sale macam sekarang ni.

dan itu dulu la beb, dulu dan sekarang lain. dulu belajar, sekarang kerja. budak hingusan macam kau je pakai kereta time study sebab pa ma tanggung.

aku ulang lagi, sebenarnya ramai yang tunggu 1.6 ni manual..

• yes!! saya pun nak 1.6 manual! but tak dapat tunggu kot :( 1.3 manual looks like it, inshaAllah…

• Pak Abu on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Dulu dah kuar manual kenapa tak nak beli? Ngok

• theanswer on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:09 pm

dulu campro lame ngok. ni iafm ngok!

• Pak Abu on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:07 am

Ah, sudah la ko. Kuar CPS, CFE pun ade ko nak beli? Constantly complain except your weakness

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:07 am

Mana ada Saga BLM pakai Campro lama… Saga BLM tu la yang 1st pakai IAFM… Saga FLX sekarang pakai IAFM+, power output dia pun lain dah… kalau dulu Saga BLM 1.3 hasilkan 94 bhp @ 6,000; 120 N-m @ 4,000 rpm; Saga FLX 1.3 lak 94 bhp @ 5,750 rpm; 120 N-m @ 4,000 rpm. Kalau model 1.6 lak, yang BLM nyer 110 bhp @ 6,500 rpm; 148 N-m @ 4,000 rpm berbanding FLX SE 108 bhp @ 5,750 rpm; 150 N-m @ 4,000 rpm. Untuk enjin Campro IAFM+ ni, rpm dier dah dihadkan pada 6,000 rpm je psl gearbox CVT Punch Powertrain ni cuma direka untuk berfungsi sampai 6,000 rpm je.

• blmers on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:15 am

blm 2009 aku pun dah iafm..sape ngok?

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 01, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Manual nye dah keluar 2009 lagi, unit terhad 200 biji je, yang lain buat teksi. Bodi lembut sikit dari FL atau FLX, CamPro IAFM gak, Harga cuma RM 39K OTR jeeee….

• squawk on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:29 pm

The pre-FL rear lights match the car better.

• Must pressure Proton to give:
    1. Lifetime Warranty whole car
    2. Lifetime Free service maintenance (parts & labour)

Or else not worth buying this car. Better buy used Vios ’04 RM50K only.

• seriusSAM on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:18 pm

used car? I would rather buy new one
      you can never tell if that used VIOS has been use to transport corpse by ah long

LOL

• Loneranger on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:28 pm

u might be paying only rm50k for the car but after that it’ll cost u more coz here and there got prob….

i rather choose new car instead of 2nd hand car.,,…..

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:57 pm

Ur right. Add up all the cost uve paid for the Car include DP, monthly instlmt, fuel, maintenance, plus all the upgradings… then devide with the mileage uve made… well mine just cost under 50 cents per km (137000km)

• autojohndoe on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:45 pm

i bet you yourself didnt dare to give such offer if you sell any products…

• Cik jah on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Please go ahead and buy the used Vios…if u r stuck with the high maintenance cost..its your name ..who d hell cares

• bersih on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:27 pm

sohai baru spent 50k for a used car….

• Out of Luck on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:54 pm

If you want to sell your 2004 Vios, please use Mudah.com or advertise in newspaper. No need to promote it here. We prefer to discuss all aspect about Proton Saga in this thread.

• ASK YOUR WIFE TO GIVE YOU LIFETIME WARRANTY, CAN SHE? EVEN YOUR WIFE , A HUMAN CAN NOT GIVE YOU LIFETIME WARRANTY, WHY YOU ARE SO STUPID AND TALK NONSENSE HERE? WHEN GIVING COMMENT, USE YOUR BRAIN LAH.

• Mienzz on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Cakap senang laa suruh org beli second car,ntah apa sejarah keta tu time dulu smpai kena jual kita pun tak tahu

• poorly rated comment, and i agree.

• HirumaKecil on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:04 am

Lol… Better buy 95′ peugeot 405.. Only rm5k.. If rosak then no need to repair.. just buy onather one…

• T car give lifetime waranty ka?

• wasup with exterior?? standard look better..
    but 1.6 is a good bargain – saga owner

• Got other colour? Don’t like red colour

• got white oso. read first la b4 asking

• jky xxxx on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:01 am

solid white color only…why dont have pearl white? solid white nampak burok lah kalau kotor..

• if wanna pearl white, dont be like produa’s pearl white, after sometime, gonna be like org tak gosok gigi sebulan..hahahah.
          hampeh punya p2, tipu olang.

• Proton on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:16 am

u know y only red & white is available, coz easy to convert to taxi…

• udasalleh on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:32 pm

i like the centre console in this one…. hated the vertical look n knob positions of the previous centre console.

• udasalleh on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:37 pm

oooppss… wuz thinking of other models persona n gen2 with the vertical positioned knobs. my bad. please disregard my post. TQ.

• ojaykb on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:34 pm

no spoiler?

• riderxdesign on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:32 pm

yup they should trow that in too, maybe not a too much sporty one but just like a better boot lip spoiler kind. but surely lots of owner going to add it anyway at ahbeng shops lol :D

*i agree, the car could look more handsome with a smart designed spoiler (not too sporty)

• Pasni kite tgg ape komen puak2 pro n anti Proton!!! Confirm panjang berjela2

• Pak Mat on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:36 pm

If this Saga 1.6 sales can beat entire Myvi sales well, I will walk half nude wearing red miniskirt from Tanjong Malim Proton to Shah Alam Proton.

Place your bet now. Show must go on!

• Eyesore on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Lol… u dare to say that cuz you know it wont happen… i dare you to say Saga sales instead of Saga 1.6 sales…. duh… If not i also can say.. I will do dot dot dot if MeeVee 1.5 extreme sales beat Saga sales… -.-.. And if u still want to do it please dun walk to shah alam… walk into the jungle or better walk to permatang pauh.. I’m sure a certain MP there will entertain you…

• Bongcs on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Hey, count me in

• huiyoo on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:07 pm

we will see that

• farghmee on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:33 am

“Saga 1.6 sales can beat entire Myvi”

not fair lah Bro.
      Myvi got 1.3, 1.5, MKI & MKII also..mmg xble la.

dlm comment pn mau tipu ka?

• Avinash Lewis on Jan 25, 2012 at 4:46 am

I’m not sure how saga performs, i guess roughly 10/kms per litre of diseal/petrol, i got .New Maruti-Suzuki swift 2 months back, Im getting awesome mileage of 27.8 per liter with A/C on, i have driven this car a week back 1100 Kms in one shot without break, No wonder in India this car is having 1 year wait

• VWfans on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:10 am

pakcik lari bogel masuk hutan atau bandar tinggal je, jangan tunjuk kat orang, kami tak sudi tengok badan pakcik yang berkedut dan berkayap tu….

• It looks very good, well equip with good pricing…..and 1.6 cvt totally defeat the purpose of purchasing a saga as economical car…..but with this I dont give damn about defeating purpose of economical car….It just great with those pricing except for one thing…..it might looks even better with REAR DISC BRAKE

• the function for rear disc brake is not for better looks dol

• Ya larr….the name disc brake already define its purpose, thus i jump into appearance. Plus this is 1.6 saga, the disc brake still relevant what

• looking-good on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:37 pm

why Myvi is more expensive?

• It was bound to Yen yet many people think that it is a national car. pfffttt!

• Because myvi think its a toyota and ppl will buy

• draftboy on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:20 am

Because all guys mau makan ma…JAPAN (toyota & daihatsu), Perodua, dealer, salesman…thats why mahal ma… and one important thing, Japan says ” I don’t care if myvi is mahal, Malaysian is not my country. Don’t you know inside myvi bay have Toyota engine meh? Malaysian people still buy it….hahaha…”.

• Johnny on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:39 pm

To keep the price just a wee bit under 50k, they opted not to body paint the skirts and calling it ‘contrasting grey’. What a joke!

• stevenLRGP on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:40 pm

its called pricing strategy….u really think with the volume they goin to have the cant paint it if they wanted to..hello!!….it does look nice with it as it is..dont like it dun look at it, dun but if and most of all dun waste your precious time writing about it,,,im sure you have alot more important things to do

• taboogen on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:18 pm

it is a gun metal color lah… if no color they will say material color that is usually black… it is more brownish goldish.. coz i have seen it

• Chyan on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:01 pm

You people have no taste. It gives the car more visual impact and it’s metallic. Not slap on grey unpainted plastic.

• Pak Abu on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:45 pm

The joke is, you are constantly look at minor section and basically, you wont buy one of these no matter potong custom made for you

• why different colour for the skirting. Makes it look very ‘cacat’.

• Johndeep on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Vios sportivo bumper lip is also painted with gray.

• Loneranger on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:30 pm

they juz dun care coz its H and T…even H and T sell car without paint also they will say its a new trend….:)

• noname on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:45 pm

look like unpainted bodykit…

• Out of Luck on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:01 pm

Better to have it unpainted. Easier to wash the tar stain off the body kit: can use brush, harsh detergents/chemicals etc. Currently I must use soft cloth and liquid wax with gently swirl to remove the tar stain off my car. So tedious! No need to worry if the body kit scratched by the road bump (under full load of passengers) or by flying rocks. No more chipped paint.

• Nissan on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:46 pm

common offer a pear white instead of solid white lar! had enough looking at those poorly maintain “white” painted P1 & P2 on the street.

• lagi best, lagi power, lagi murah…

• izzat on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:47 pm

very2 good price..
    got CVT..mmmmmmm~
    goodbye lagi best.. :D

• Proton on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Whats so good about CVT? CVT is x for performance, since this is SE, y use CVT? use DSG la.

• chris on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:47 pm

Since when Saga is a performance car?

• Proton on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:14 am

ya, since when saga is a performance car?

• chris is mocking you la..since saga is not for performance, so cvt is decent what..

• Proton on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:38 am

well, I told chris since when I told him that saga is a performance impliedly, it that not obvious?

• FatBear on Dec 03, 2011 at 7:53 pm

Harlo,,,,who says proton not sporty.

Even base model got good cornering ability ok.,,,even if it leaks, rattles…..great cars to drive…i am driving a NPS Saga 2006, got it just before the #$%% price dropped to 27k for the better version…but what d &(*7 it moves just fine with sachs super touring front shocks.

• Yo yo O jeR on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:41 am

lol.. why not use dsg? that probably was the most sarcastic comment ever… big lolz to u…

• kramponnn on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:27 am

amende la ko ni…kalu taruk DSG pon mcm la ko mampu beli? beli proton pon utang 9 taun…beli VW jgn harap la

• LeBronJames on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Finally 1.6 CVT is out. To buy or not to buy? Later in another month time another version out Saga 1.6 CVT-i, how? Confuse….

• obiwan kenobi on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Just keep on watching then until you are not confuse…

• Pak Abu on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Its means potong quick to make improvement rather than lagi best. Why complain? Lambat salah, cepat pun salah.

• Proton Boleh on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:48 pm

embarrassing. Facelift and then Special edition. What is next? FLX SE R3 Edition??

We are reminded every time when we want to pump petrol that the petrol is subsidized by our beloved government. There is a notice on every kiosk to remind us!

in some country, based on dollar to dollar comparison, they are driving a BMW 5 series with 50k and we are getting a FLX SE. and in arab, a proton cost half of what we are paying here.

This serve as a reminder there is something wrong here.

Proud to be Malaysian? Think again and make a change.

• rear light on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:46 pm

then u buy car after PRU la kwn…n mk sure choose the alternative party, or else u won’t get any car until u die…

• douche on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:11 pm

im sure u r rich enough to migrate to another country

• puterakupang84 on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:00 am

I like this statement hahaha..always ask and blaming on the nonsense thing..pity on him..

• sukasuki on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:18 am

pg mintak duit sama itu ketua umum la, dia ada banyak duit tiap bulan pg outstation makan angin. atau u jadi dia punya “pembantu peribadi”. tapi make sure muka msti banyak jambuu woo. muka tidak jambu ketua umum xmaw amik. bleh u mintak bmw 5 series.

• YES I’M PROUD TO BE MALAYSIAN!
      There’re many reason to be proud to be Malaysian. just because of the car price and yet you askin’ that silly question? what a narrow minded are u. it’s a pity for this beloved country to hv citizen like u..dowh!
      pls think wider, outside the box..

“Ada teratak di hujung kampung
      Bawah cermin kopak ada kotak
      Tersembunyi dalamnya ada tempurung
      Sembunyi bawahnya KATAK melalak”

i think u’re the frog that they’re talking about!

and, if u’re not happy living in this country, pls take ur ass out of here. no one will bother.

• TFazuin on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:19 am

Yes cars a cheaper in middle east, but have you had your cuppa coffee at a cafe in Dubai yet where it cost RM25 for a cuppa? That’s dollar for dollar value without the conversion. Cars are cheap in the US and UK true, but what if you had to cook every single day because its too expensive to go to a mamak on a daily basis?

Cars and food are cheap in Thailand but medical expenses and medicine over the counter costs triple. Dude nothing is a what is seems. You need to travel more and there are more important things in life than just wheels.

• accord on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:50 pm

I 200% agreed with u..
        Proton Boleh, u need to travel more to other country..
        Then u will realize how grateful u re..
        If u want cheaper car & petrol but high living cost go to
        other country that will suit your needed..

• Jujur Penanya on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Yeaah..maybe u can live out there with ur proudly bmw 5 series..
        think twice..car or ur life dude..

• Sarcastic Prick on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Sheesh, if a BMW is only 50K dollar to dollar comparison, how come BMW’s not the biggest carmaker in the world then? 50K’s not that expensive.

Somehow I just don’t understand dollar to dollar comparisons.

• protong takboleh on Dec 03, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Well said proton boleh. Down to all the protong cybertroopers who always harp on emigration and more costly pampers diapers sold overseas.

• VWfans on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:31 am

alternate party can offer you cheaper car meh? can they really do it? and if you are a civil servant, better update your resume (if you ever have one) after pru so you can apply for jobs in private sector….dont worry, proton maybe not exist after that and you wont be able to bash it anymore…

• Annoynimouse on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:15 pm

What the ****’s that got to do with my pride as being a Malaysian?!!.
      and what’s wrong with being reminded that that not all things in life are free? Who cares if its politics shit.
      If u don’t find pride in being a Malaysian, you should try Indon, or Myanmar, EU or wherever your worth is… or maybe one of the new countries where you can apply to be become a minister and subsidize BMWs, ….in other words, f##k off!

p/s stay out of Penang!

• suma boleh on Jan 23, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Dear PROTON BOLEH,

In a diplomatic way, I think your logic is really bad. The statement “Proud to be Malaysian? Think again and make a change” is irrelevant. It meant “Don’t be proud to be Malaysian OR surrender your citizenship and migrate elsewhere”.

You probably don’t like the current govt. It has nothing to do with being a Malaysian. If your thinking is that shallow, then I thank god that you are not our leader. I have lots of friends from Libya, they hated the govt but they were proud to be Libyans… well… again, this is a diplomatic version of what I think… don’t try to imagine what I really have in mind.. :)

• vlite on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm

I think the red is kinda hideous.

• Looks weird… saga se looked better
    do they serve manual?

• anti-vios on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:55 pm

like!!!!!!

• Pak Pandir Handsome on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:08 pm

will this car be the king of road in local car category?

• VicTor on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:10 pm

I hope that they have upgraded the suspension. The first gen BLM has a very soft suspension. With a 1.6 engine, I hope the handling can be on par with Persona.

• taboogen on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:21 pm

from what i know just to use the 15″ rim they have to change so much on the car.. not just the exterior.. different spring, thicker roll bar,damper and rear bump stopper, and all this is done on computer simulation and also real test drive….. :p

by the way the color is not red.. its fire red.. the same color as Satria Neo R3

• ilsor on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:35 pm

they have upgrade the suspension pls read paultan riview on saga FLX, handling cannot be on par persona coz persona use multi link at rear but saga use torsion beam but i think better than vios dugong lor hehehhee

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:11 am

Previous BLM and FL using 19mm coil while FLX using 21mm coil, stiffer what…

• plzz haters! this the SPECIAL EDITION, if you think its too expensive plz buy the base line

-1.6 engine
    -leather seat
    -abs
    -ebd
    -cvt
    -wrapped steering and gear knob
    -2 airbag
    nuff said

• ops forget to mention 15inch rim

• Downsys on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Bodykit summore worrr. All for only 3K extra. What more u want?!

• Anwar on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:07 pm

Unfortunately, using 195/50 R15 tyres means we have to pay more for the tyres compared to the regular 185/60 R14 used on FLX 1.3 executive and FL 1.6 executive

• rear light on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:49 pm

then don’t use tyres la…kayu balak potong bulat2 also can…

• toyol on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:05 am

mau kereta cantik, bergaya tp stakat tayar 15″ inci pun berkira..cmne nak pakai bmw?ckp byk tp poket kosong…bodoh

• Kasi tayar kecik complain, kasi tayar besar pun complain.

Ok lah, for your car I’ll ask them to put Flinstones tyre. Nak complain tak???

• bmpower on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:41 pm

hahaha, because proton is selling more cars than p2 and kia.. apa punya statistik daaa.. tak bleh pakai lorrr

• lalok_stylo on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:59 am

ape la, 2 pn nk berkire ke??
          nk pki kete tp kedekut…..
          klu kedekut sgt x pyh la pki kete, bli EX-5 je ckup….
          tyr murah, 2 bijik je…

• Murphy on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:48 pm

special edition… then facelift… limited edition…. then still cant sell…. comes out with prolly evo bodykit… LOL stil cant sell? then free 18″ wheels….. free navigator…. for the next 10 years….

• calvint78 on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:16 pm

aiyo!!! oni 2 colour 2 choose ar?

• seriusSAM on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:19 pm

the death of myvi is coming

• Loneranger on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:36 pm

i dun agree…..

coz P2 owned by Jap company..ppl will still buy it….trust me….though they selling Myvi @ 100k…ppl will still buy it…

• with 500 units per month and its the death of Myvi? …

• ultrajo on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:18 pm

No lah…people still buy car with Japs DNA although born in Sg. Choh…this Saga only inherit ‘Saga’ name which remind us 26yrs back when old Saga were based on Lancer Fiore with lots of Japs DNA hehehe

• this saga has great ride n handling
        myvi where got that . jap dna not that great

• serius LOL on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:47 pm

It’s been talk since 2007 with the launch of RM26,999 Proton Saga until now

• foxis on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:32 pm

I don’t think there will be any death of either saga or myvi. Anyway, will you have any benefit if either one of them is down ? Example, do you enjoy cheap lined broadband internet with only a solo player out there in Malaysia ? Don’t complaint later when one side is down and another side is selling their thing with expensive price tag.

• Pak Abu on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Myvi ada hardcore fans tersendiri, takkan mati. Sama cam Naza and KIA. Kenderaan byk problem, tolak tak laku but sales proved that they have own fans

• apa nak buat.. depa dah terbeli… masuk club lah sbb senang sikit nak dapat sparepart.. yapada….

• john die on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:38 pm

it won’t happen..it is not because i bash this car or im a blind defender..neither both..but look at today’s trend..it won’t happen…

anyway..for me the red color is not suit with the grey skirting effects…it will be nice either black or pearl white…

• LeBronJames on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:11 am

I am not a Myvi supporter nor Saga,

When ever I ask for an opnion, which car better, Saga or Myvi? (It is always good to get feedback from other neutral and experienced people) My circle of friends, family, neighbors, collogues, mechanics and even sound tunners said Peroduo. And of course I ask why? Proven and don’t waste time. :0 (Don’t worry I will ask them again and see what they say for this model)

Personally I feel Saga FL 1.6 is not bad overall but not sure about the FC and the reliability of the gearbox CVT. How much if spoil 28k?

Too bad previously, Proton must have made an huge impact to a group of users which causes them to be disappointed and angry till now. Maybe they should give them another chance.

-Proton Owner too-

• iphone4 on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:25 pm

cantik ke?..

• Any test drive? Better pickup than the 1.3?

• Anthony, is that aircond panel got the switch for feet blower?

• seancorr on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:33 pm

The rear light design is off. Looks like been under the sun for too long till it turned yellow!

Other than that all looks ok

• Fire Red looks weird here..the real one is very garang..hensem woo..

• Vincent on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Anyone noticed the taillight? I love everything, every part except for the taillight. Looks a bit strange. I prefer the old stock FLX tail light which uses the LED.

• CHONG KAT on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:35 pm

should consider persona. secondhand waja still ruled.

• krishnakandasamy on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Guess, test drived it last night!! Hehe! Yes u can if u know hw to convince the proton sales guys. overall ok, good bargain, n for those haterz whose still skeptical; please test drive tomoro n only den leave ur comment!!

• Nothing special, is bored, finally is a teksi.

• cap ayam

• yeopmin on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:45 pm

just 50K and you get the good spec, enough boot space,still want to complain ka?

• Murphy on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Proton fans must be drooling now while jizzing their pants now……LOL. Seriously… its a fugly car…squeaking noise will start after 2nd service, have to service the so called drive by wire throtle on the 3rd service due to laggin in power delivery. After 6 months .. rubber seal will start to fall off. If your unlucky… engine leaking problem. Proton mat rempit service crew will rectify the problem and prolly give it a quick fix by using UHU gum. then slowly, aircond vents will start to fall off due to hot weather… BTW, proton said lifetime warranty for power windows does not mean the power windows will not break down… they will repair them for free… so tat means u have to visit proton service centre x25 times more than others…. the 3rd year of ownership, u start asking yourself…’ why the hell i buy this crappy lawn mover…?’ Unfortunately, when tat situation comes.. u still cant do any thing about it cuzz when u decided to ditch it… the 2nd hand value of this lawn mover will not even barely cover your loan. Sad ending for proton owners…. Proton, Malaysian Pride!

• rear light on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:53 pm

if u buy Boeing 777 u still got to servis maaa…aiyaaaa dis people….

• sukasuki on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:21 am

budak x cukup umur yg berlagak tau smua bnda. hahahaha.

• Bosan on Dec 01, 2011 at 7:01 am

This is the example of how P2 dealer doing their sale.

• farghmee on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:47 am

tipu la bro.
      where is YOUR service record?
      else, BS.

• Kevin on Jul 11, 2012 at 7:02 am

Hi Murphy,
      Unfortunately most of your prediction is untrue. I sat in my friend’s BLM last week, the car is easily 2-3 yrs old and there isn’t a single sound of rattling or squeaking when we drove around the car… I was pretty impressed actually… and according to my friend, not much issue on the car engine as well…
      Time to change your mindset and perception dude! :)

• The don on Nov 01, 2012 at 3:54 am

Aiyyaaa murphy aaaaaa, dont like dont buy laa. Nobody force you to buy osoo. Stupid shit. You very rich wan go get a Maybach laaa. A guy living under a tempurung like you im sure you dont even know what a maybach is. You pay for what you get. You spent 50k on a car dont expect the car feels like a bmw

• jsooz on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:47 pm

rear lights look kinda out of place…but otherwise…not bad…but offer more colours pls…

• amenonajib on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:50 pm

kete cap ciken

• Bongcs on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:51 pm

NOW, I CAN FLY….

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Uglier than before and looks more Ah Beng car now.

• definitely more garang than sissy honda city

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Hello, pleeeez! Don’t ever compare shitty ugly Saga FLX SE with my sleek, stylish, powerful and ferocious Honda City. My Honda City 1.5L i-VTEC can outrun this sissy 1.6L car anytime. Wanna race at Sepang F1 circuit? Even Vios also cannot outrun Honda City; what more this underpowered car. Please don’t ever compare Proton with Honda. Don’t make me laugh. Actually I am already laughing now. Ha ha ha ha ………

• izhar on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:39 am

Sepang F1???how about route 68..jalan lama gombak bentong??or maybe grik-jeli route…or semenyih-kuala klawang route…

• honda power in dream only on Dec 02, 2011 at 11:52 pm

yeah honda will be farting left behind with many sharp corners
            i am laughing loud now LOL

• autojohndoe on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:03 pm

kahkahkah… honda licker to the max…

• LeBronJames on Dec 02, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Hi Honda supporter!

I am a neutral person (at least I try). You are right, never compare Saga and City, the price is already different. One is RM80k and another is 50k. City’s comfort is always there compare to Saga.

However, it is a “great mistake” to take your I-VTEC and versus with Vios 1.5 / Saga 1.6 in Sepang. The fact is that Vios is DOHC, sepang is a straight road, Vios will out perform you in top speed, confirm. Please remember your car specs 1.5 I-Vtec SOHC only, not B16A or B16B or B18C.

As for saga 1.6 with some mod, your city will lose like a peacock. Did you know generation 1, Gen 2 (1.6 DOHC Manual plain Campro) top speed is 210km/h (maybe more). If you compare, original, yet to test.

Honda City is for city driving, pls pickup with ppl and not top speed. Correct me if I am wrong, This is my experience.

• fraz006 on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:48 pm

haha. hi honda licker. dont be surprised this ugly car can smoke ur 1.5 ivtec anytime. urs nothing really than a super save city mover. ugly doesnt make it slow. driven slowly doesnt prove it is shit slow. who the heck wants to speed in ugly BLM anyway? but when they want, the power is there+ the light body. campro like that one. below 3Krpm shitty, after 3Krpm, ok gak..

• November on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:04 pm

nice car indeed!! for me, this is wayyy better than myvi.. this car is worth buying. Pls don’t compare it with city or vios.. see the price diff. ok..

• Robert Pattinson on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:07 pm

Hmmm,looks good! Definitely value for money!

• Out of Luck on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Everything is perfect now. Can hardly ask for anything more for that kinda price in Malaysia. However, I’m puzzled why the 1.6 L Campro engine produce such low power at 108HP which is the performance of a typical 1.5L engine? I expected it around 120HP. The difference of 10HP means alot for a small light weight vehicle like this. Just hope in the near future Proton can produce 1.3L turbo charged Campro to be used in Saga :)

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:34 am

Nissan’s current 1.6 engine used in the Latio and Grand Livina only produces 107 bhp rather than the old Sentra 1.6 118 bhp and yet nobody complains about it. The drop in the horsepower of the 1.6L IAFM+ engine is because Proton has limited the IAFM+ engines to only 6,000 rpm to fulfill the CVT gearbox that requires max operating rpm of 6,000 rpm.

• Murphy on Dec 02, 2011 at 3:20 pm

better not rev to 6k… campro engine might fall off from the engine bay…

• Absolute Rider on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Yeah!!!!! Launched finally. Coming up next….. Exora Bold, and Prime. Hope Proton will do a better job and coming up with a better car.

• Savvy88 on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Actually the bodykit is not unpainted, but a lil’ brownish.. jz like Vios Sportivo RM9XXXX boodykit.

• riderxdesign on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:29 pm

aduhlah…kenapa saturate sangat gambar edit tu? ish…

• jackson on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:41 pm

can someone tell me if there is a manual version of this car? or is it only CVT?

• puterakupang84 on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:53 am

from what i’ve heard only cvt variant available for this model..correct me if i’m wrong..

• Nice move P1! thumbs up!
    Speaking about P2 1.5Myvi, what’s next? turbo maybe?
    I really think P2 should price their 1.5extream below than 53k or 55k flat when they launched it b4.
    61,700k price is too much!

• Out of Luck on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Can anyone who owned at Saga 1.6L FL please share information about car’s your fuel consumptions at city/highway driving? The value given by Proton is almost useless because nobody drives constant speed of 80km/h or 90km/h unless at highway.

• LeBronJames on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:11 am

Petrol price at 1.9x per liter (1 Dec 2011)
      Full tank around RM65.
      Pump RM60 can go around 320km (highway around 400km)
      Now you know CVT out?
      :0

• Out of Luck on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Wow! Still not as frugal as other cars. I think Proton should tune the engine to be more fuel efficient. I’ve heard many complaints about Saga 1.3L being thirsty, had hoped that 1.6L would be more fuel efficient due to better power to weight ratio.

• waja2007 on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:06 pm

My Waja 1.6 Enhanced manual campro (128000km), daily usage can easily get RM80 = 550-600km or RM50 = 250-300km, smooth engine, tip top condition, all 4 PW still working and no major problem. Just do your regular service and replace the wear and tear parts.

The only problem is the poor NVH and the famous Proton ‘sound effects’.

• Basikal_Buruk on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Added to my wishlist..
    Dear Santa..

• the red looks like colour bleeding abit. doesnt look nice in the picture. real life yet to see.
    if red like persona se last time must be better.nice one nonetheless

• shawal on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:08 pm

the skirting is too thick to be left unpainted, i get the idea, but when its too thick you must paint it…

• Graeme Hunt on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Looks good if a little generic, but I hope they are going to change the Saga name for the UK, it has deeply embedded links with elderly people and could become the butt of many jokes!

• Stupid XP on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Alamak sport gila, ada DNA VW!!

• Proton on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:35 pm

The ‘milo tin’ car is trying to kill more poor people, improve the performance but didnt improve the car safety….

• Out of Luck on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Already got dual airbags, EBD and ABS. Enough la for that price and engine performance. My 2009 Japanese car also got dual airbags, front disc brake and rear drum brakes, EBD and ABS only even though much more expensive than Saga. If Proton adds traction control, then price goes up, people will complaint.

• amenonajib on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:12 pm

jap car + tax

• Proton on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:07 am

try to do a crash test on this saga with ur 09 jap car you’ll get wat I mean, no point if u got all the safety features but with a soft body…

• Out of Luck on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Agreed, Proton cars at best only have NCAP 3 stars.

• Absolute Rider on Dec 01, 2011 at 7:06 pm

TO PROTON WRITER…. even Honda’s proven G-CON and Toyota’s GOA Body also can crashed become two slices or into pieces. Don’t talk like 1 year old….. and never learn

• Proton on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:33 am

dun tell ur grandfather story here la, y dun u say bmw also become roti when a piece of iron fall from the sky?

• apa benda la kau ni

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:37 pm

The bodies of the Honda NSX and 1st-gen Honda Insight are made of aluminium and yet they can still do well in crash tests. If you want to say that Proton car is just a tin milo, then I must tell you that the NSX and 1st-gen Insight are even more tin milo than Proton but still nobody complains about that.

• Prismo on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:36 am

Sooooo many peoples died in toyota and honda in thailand…

• izhar on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:51 am

kalau crash test 5 star skalipun…cuba lori langgar depan belakang..hancur gak kereta tuh…hmm…seat belt ko pakai x???

• Looks great, but they should have left the rear lamps untouched cause they look rather old and worn out.

• gozillaPeniz on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:49 pm

5Ok for a proton saga? i rather buy a superBike + one premium raincoat from italy ROFL

• with that superbike, you just cannot bring 4 people and big luggage with you,
      and ride in rain LMAO

• a’ah ye la..bila hujan, last2 duduk bawah jampatan jugak!

• Johndeep on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:25 am

…made in Thailand, check the hp, how can you call it a superbike?

• farghmee on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:56 am

heh..
      my frens whose superbike are their daily transport,
      have already own a Pug or Estima as their other mode of transportation.

they dun bother considering whether to buy a car or a superbike.

hehehe

• Out of Luck on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Those in Saga, gives me a lot of hassle when come to me because I need to send them to operating theatre for surgery due to their bad shape. Those in BMW, I still need to dress their wound and give some antibiotics before sending them home. Those in superbikes are the easiest because I only need to send them to mortuary straight. This is no laughing matter or joke, it is what I encounter everyday.

• Proton on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:02 pm

I juz read the fb comment, more than 80% dun like this… Proton, u better go bankrupt la, no matter how well u improve also useless…

• amenonajib on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:00 pm

sokong!!!

• Prismo on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:54 am

Most of 80% fb’s commentor only know ‘komen itu ini’ but their ‘poket kosong’. Proton is targeting a silent buyers and of course they have made a research. FB tu nama pun dah laman web untuk bersosial and most them sitting infront of computer the whole day chatting, compalin, “mengumpat”, “bergaduh” etc and their parents was paying the internet bill. Orang yg bekerja xder masa duduk depan komputer main FB sepanjang hari…

• Proton on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:59 am

dude, I bet u dun know wat is viral marketing… lol

• dude..i think ur a nerd with no money and only watch video car review on youtube with not much driving experience

• Proton on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:02 am

Wat make u think Im a nerd? Is it because I use a term which u dunno the meaning and u call me a poor nerd with no driving experience? Dun u think ur so foolish?

• VWfans on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:54 am

orang yang komen tu adalah penganggur yang konon pandai tapi tak dapat kerja, dulu suh study betul2 kat U tanak,dah fail tak dapat carik keja, menyalahkan kerajaan…..pastu marah proton tak tentu pasal…agak2 kalo proton amik kerja barulaa sanggup jilat balik semua najis2 yang dah dilempar sebelum ni…

• draftboy on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:02 am

Come on lah…we all know how bad proton before… But until DSZ become proton CEO, proton have make a lot of improvement… If you still not admit then resign from becoming MALAYSIAN… Your mind make others Malaysian people sick…

• Proton on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:58 am

Friend, u cant blame ppl, proton has build its BAD reputation… base on my experience, proton is bad, if u ask me to give a chance to proton coz proton is improving, I’ll ask u go to hell, I wont risk myself to buy another proton again, I;d rather pay more to get better quality.

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Your experience? Are you still becoming a frog under the coconut shell? In what year did you own a Proton? If you said that 7 years ago then I had to agree because that was the time that Proton’s quality became worst – during the Mahaleel era. In fact, most readers here used to be Proton hardcore bashers during that dark age, and I am one of them. But then, when Proton overhauled the management team and put DSZ as the managing director, everything has changed and the build quality has improved a lot better than what it used to be 7 years ago. That’s why everyone is happy to see Proton has improved a lot. If you say that other brands like Toyota, Honda, or even the luxury makes like Merc, BMW, etc. have better quality, then why are there still cars from those makes to break down at the road sides and end up in workshops with expensive repairs?

If you say about quality, then every car brand does have some quality complaints, because almost all the cars that we see today are mass-manufactured, not hand made.

• Proton on Dec 01, 2011 at 3:57 pm

This is exactly wat proton salesman told me wen I was considering whether to buy inspira or not. Dunno y, I juz dun like proton. Quality is more merely about car break down, its durability. My more than 10 years old toyota’s power windows have never failed me. Car proton car do this?

• Proton on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:08 pm

* not merely

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:24 pm

All cars will eventually break down, be it either Kancil or Lamborghini., because cars are just a human creation. Therefore, no car is 100% perfect. If a car is really perfect, then it should be maintenance-free and never break down. We are not gods anyway. If you really want a car that is so damn perfect and never break down even once, then it is nothing more than just a never-ending utopia.

• autojohndoe on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:37 pm

my mom’s saga was made in 1993… power window never fails…

• draftboy on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:48 pm

If that so, how about KIA & Hyundai? Their reputation very2 bad before…no quality, bad design, no value. Jeremy Clarkson condemn very bad & people around a world laughing and make joke at them… But looks now how good they are. Even Japan and europe feel accused. Toyota also how many times & no. of car has been called back regarding safety issue?

• Proton on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Are you comparing proton with korean car? Dude, stop joking la. Korean ppl put a lot of effort to build their own car, c wat proton did, still re-badge mitsu car…

• draftboy on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:04 pm

Wakaka…What you said same like ‘meludah ke langit kena muka sendiri’…LOL.. Korean cars become better bcoz their people always trust & support their own country brand not person like you… If 10k korean people have mindset like you sure KIA & Hyundai die. Hey, come on lah…Saga in house own build you also condemn, inikan pula inspira… If proton build 100% own inspira will you buy one? What you said is nonsense. Do you know peugeot & citroen rebagde Mitsubishi ASX? For now, rebadge is a new trend for global manufactures. Because why? Search the answer yourself… please get some knowledge & info before bashing…pity on you…

• Proton on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:28 am

always trust & support? x my style, I wont always support a loser. Yes, rebadging could be a new trend, it depends on how ppl judge it, for proton case, its not a new trend anymore, coz proton has been using tis, so called new trend, since it built its first car until present.

• If you want Proton to go bankrupt, then why use it’s name?

I guess it’s you who better go bankrupt……………

• Proton on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:07 pm

I wish proton bankrupt, not i want, I got no right to do so. I use proton name coz “proton” is as bad as my comments here.

• autojohndoe on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:40 pm

then we’ll see lots of malaysian going bankrupt also… domino effect of economy falldown…

tax from car industry gives 3bil revenue each year… much to be malaysian subsidy…

• policeman on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:27 pm

You can bet this exterior was the idea of a .
    Typical get cheap things and make it uglier than it already is.

They also love installments.

• The car if good but i have to reckon that the photoshop is bad, looks darn fake, the red colour is oversaturated, and what’s the heck with the tanned windows and rear lights? all photos seems to have been tweaked and warmified rather too much. This is weird and present the car the wrong way, it certainly doesn’t looks like that in real life. Worst photoshop in proton brochure imho.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:41 pm

proton fanboys rejoicing

• Nazrul on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Cool! I pretty much love it! The price, the looks, the everything. I love the simple change they’ve done to the steering wheels, they should’ve done that long time ago. The interior are gone darker this time, which is pretty good. Makes it looks more pleasant this time. I wonder why the rooftop are not black, but that’s okay. Also, I’ve heard they’ve changed springs, roll bars, damper, rear bump stopper. Using Silverstone Synergy M5 tires and had to go through the process of “tuning” up to 10 times, because it is not a standard tire. Imagine how much change we didn’t see in this baby. PROTON should’ve advertised their job because, I think they’ve done a great things with this car! So, Perodua. Where’s your “Extream” Myvi now? Hahaha.

• WOW NICE!!! AND MUCH CHEAPER THAN THE 10 YEARS OLD MYVI!!! WELL DONE PROTON!!!

• Neutral on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:10 pm

Good bargain Proton, tahniah!!! Good for rakyat! tapi kenapa handbrake nampak senget?

• Simply better than Myvi in every way…bullshit lah lagi power lagi best..just put 1.5 engine je kot..what if proton decided to put perdana’s engine inside this car, myvi sure cannot use its stupid tag line..haha

• Tritonize on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:27 pm

Why lah launch at this HOUR??? Shud’ve launch earlier… LOVE IT …This is what we call “Lagi Best”…Come on…Smart guys get it…REALLY

• Out of Luck on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:38 pm

To all owners of Saga 1.6 FLX, please share info regarding your car’s fuel consumption. Want to have some idea of the car’s FC in realistic condition rather than Proton’s constant 90km/h FC.

• JULIAN LEE on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:26 pm

padaiyappa’s car..BMW still the best!!!

• bjutr on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:10 pm

i took over bmw so many times, saw em in workshops so many times
      still the best?
      NO

• ….message from a kid who cannot afford a BMW……….

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:44 am

actually i agree with this guy. bmw is really a better car.

• Murphy on Dec 02, 2011 at 3:38 pm

proton sedan Saga… can only be compared to myvi which is a compact car for ladies which i think myvi is still better value for money in terms of reliability, durability and of course 2nd hand value… dun even go to koreans and japs territory … and obviously bmw…LMAO (some actually giving bmw reviews to be compared to saga… this proton fanboys are really funny… good entertainment though for paultan viewers.. without u guys.. there will not be this much fun…. lol proton fanboys… pls continue with your stupid comments… LOL .. Keep us entertained…

• Absolute Rider on Dec 01, 2011 at 7:58 pm

aiyo! try to google images for… bmw, merz, ferrari, audi, vw and all A-Z, crashed also can slice into half and into pieces.

So don’t talk like 1 year old kid and never learn….. shame on ?? you ask yourself… hahah…. want to laugh with all the little boy like you guys

• amenonajib on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:58 pm

reduce tax plz!!!

• sukasuki on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:25 am

then we should discard fuel, education and health subsidy. u want that? u want those poor people suffer becoz of u want cheap car? selfish people. let u burnt inside hell.

• amenonajib on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:14 am

typical ameno people :D

• Loneranger on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:19 pm

juz to add up some….rate hike in toll charges, congestion charges, higher insurance, higher road tax juz to to fulfill u desire to have cheaper imported car but end up many can;t afford to have car due to higher cost after sales from car sales…

• Jujur Penanya on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:16 pm

a big LOL for u guys..shame on u..wka

• Wheeler on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:09 pm

I think the actual car looks better than the images here

• Wheeler on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Arghh.. can somebody stop comparing this with perodua models?!! I’m sick and tired with such comments. For goodness sake, just get on with your business Proton and keep moving on!!!

• jolly_idiot on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Good car with good price. But color just not so nice.

• mancoi on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Here in Qatar, this car is selling @ QR39k = RM33k
    Bravo Proton…macam pepatah melayu “Anak beruk di hutan disusukan, anak sendiri mati kelaparan”

• jky xxxx on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:56 am

goverment di sana bagi diskaun lah untuk beli kereta baru..sebab itu murah..lol

• Loneranger on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:15 pm

discount on car price but what about other taxes, insurance, road tax etc?

or cost of living there?

u should take that in before comparing…..

• hv u ever asked their gov why cars are so cheap there?
      i think p1 hv done their job well in providing people’s car…like this saga, with high spec still below 50k. but look at other so called national car..hell blood sucking.

• but ppl like that other national car.

you think what? you wanna control and force ppl to buy only 1 kind of national car?

• yeah..nobody can force anybody to buy that and stop to buy this or vice versa.
          the only think ppl stil buying that another car is just because the assembler always says it’s a toyota and from japan. but they didnt know that the car already downgraded gila babi. another reason is the car is compact. people who dont know how to park the car well love this compact car. i bet if saga comes with compact version, it will kill that other compact car.

• lalok_stylo on Dec 02, 2011 at 2:35 am

ko gi la dok sne, jgn dok Malaysia…..

• do you live ‘di bawah tempurung’?. middle east countries are RICH. all cars over there have a stupidly low tax. they could even give you discounts to buy new car. that’s why cars over there are dirt cheap, and most of supercar owners in the world are arabs.

go do some research first and think before you wanna make a statement.

• Dares on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:29 pm

1st Dec? I already test driven one today!!

• Sense of qualitiness through eye sight ( design of air con, audio, stearing, seats and overall design language ) I still prefer the new Myvi. As for the inside of the car, I am waiting for paultan to make the review XD. I still believe with 6 speed cvt gear box from p1 will however still consume more petrol then p2. Sometime is better to have a better quality engine with decent gear box then decent engine with better quality gear box, cuz the engine is the one that save u the most fuel? Anyway it is always better to have the combination of quality engine and gear box where p1 and p2 at this moment cannot provide yet. Cheer up guy.

• Yo yo O jeR on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:57 am

engine itself doesn’t save u the most petrol.. one of the reason they use the cvt gearbox is to save u more of fuel.. proton replaced the traditional 4 speed auto which is already 10 years old…

btw, there’s no such thing as decent gearbox… every gearbox ” behave ” differently… u cannot have the best of both world..

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:24 am

It is the way people drive that determines most of the fuel economy. No matter whether you drive a Bugatti Veyron or a Kancil, or even a Tata Nano, when you stuck in a traffic jam you still burn a lot of petrol. That is the reason why most drivers are unable to hit the manufacturers’ fuel consumption claims.

• fraz006 on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:23 pm

dont trust the fuel consumption too much. why fuel consumption? money right? say difference is rm150 per year, myvi vs saga. but myvi u have to pay initially the high price? so where is ur money saved by the myvi fuel consumption now?

so, it is rather pointless to think so much about fc if ur car is already dirt cheap initially..

ps: seriously, saga fc not that bad…

• disappointed on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:07 am

guys, dont think you can fly with this car… road safety 1st .. esspecially for those who wanna get thier 1st car… i can see the devil side of this car…this car also without ‘Lotus Handling’

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:18 am

Actually all Proton cars now come with Lotus Ride and Handling; it’s just that Proton no longer has the need to advertise it in Malaysia. It’s already been proven. After testing both my friend’s Persona and my brother’s City, there is a difference in handling where the Persona handles a lot better. Plus, the phrase “Lotus handling” can be misleading, causing some idiots out there to merempit like crazy with their Protons and end up either in the hospital or in the graveyard.

• Over-priced

no offense..
    i do not prefer a myvi really
    but still i switched from saga to myvi…
    cz lot of you-know-why reasons….

• saga is cheaper and you prefer myvi for over-priced factor? yup2..you are very clever in choosing non-overpriced car. joe boleh!

• Those who get Myvi must be blind. What a sweet price yet worth the money to buy. Please those who are considering a new car, this is the car you should get!

• not just blind, but stupid i might say…:-)

• _xXx_ on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:39 am

Hello u veri free kah? Go promote ur protong laa. I can understand sitting in the office is boring but that dun make u calling thousands of ppl out there blind rite?

• you mean hundreds of thousands of myvi owner stupid?

coming from whom? a saga owner. oh, that poor guy. lol

• cynical on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:57 am

Whatever, Myvi is still the better car. This car is just yuck…

• The Saga 1.6 actually been used by taxi company long before lunch to public. So quite late for public to buy.

• Yhprum on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:10 am

lunch.,..? what do you mean by “lunch to public”..?

• Haiyah! Kesian him larr. At least Proton can give free lunch to public.

But P2, breakfast also cannot. All profit have to send back to the land of the rising sun.

• farghmee on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:17 am

same spec ah?

cheit…talk is cheap.

• taxi company bg lunch kat public? bila?

• MeGane on Dec 01, 2011 at 7:49 am

Interior mcm kereta buatan Mattel , rear lights ..major flaw ! Colour mcm tahi gigi

• albag on Dec 01, 2011 at 7:54 am

stupid car with stupid looking skirts in stupid colors… saga flx owners are pure idiots since u guys dont understand good looking and practical cars… prepare to die in milo tin!

• Loneranger on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:11 pm

u mean buying another car with price tag of RM61k but buttless, lousy handling, no ABS, EBD etc is practical?

• spoil brat

• farhan on Dec 01, 2011 at 7:57 am

1.6 still no rear disk brek?

• ultrajo on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:19 pm

1.6 tonne 2000cc RM109K Toyota Innova 2011 Facelift also got no rear disk brake maa….

• izhar on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:08 am

rear drum brake, low cost… can use 2 point ABS (front wheel only)…if using disk brake at rear, need high speed control unit for ABS..if not, your rear Tyre will easily skidding…

• confused on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:03 am

Seriously guys, the pics here are fucked up. The real one really nice.

-the red color is not the same as this pic
    -the yellowish rear light cover is not like in the picture.

These pics make the new Saga looks ugly, not as the real thing, and awkward. Paultan team, please remove these pics and get better pics.

p/s: even the interior’s color seems weird.

• kamaliah on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:05 am

why people here when u praise saga always want to kutuk2 myvi? who’s the basher actually? proton fanboy or perodua fanboy?

• Gebang on Dec 02, 2011 at 2:16 am

U think who praise P1 and kutuk P2? …proton fanboy atau org cari makan dgn proton….wakakakak

• mister potato on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:23 am

Hate to break the news to Malaysians, but Honda Civic, Mazda 3, Toyota Altis just cost around $15+k (about RM49+k) in USA, or if you want specific numbers, $15605 , $15200, $15900, respectively. For American cars, a little bit more can get you Ford Focus ($16500), Chevy Cruze ($16720). If you go Korean, you can buy Hyundai Elantra ($16445), or if you want German cars, can buy the VW Jetta at $16495. RM50k for Saga????

• Bongcs on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:42 pm

I love Mister Potatoe

• So?

• so? thats fine with me…jetta cost rm150k here…seriously dude, are u high?

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:30 pm

USA is a huge automotive market so carmakers can achieve low cost by simply increasing the production volume. However, the market here is still small and more than saturated. So carmakers here cannot sell in huge volumes or else they cannot make money.

• zesti on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:01 pm

RM58K for Myvi ???

• lalok_stylo on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:02 am

so ko gi la dok USA or Jerman….
      jgn dok Malaysia…..

• Jujur Penanya on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:34 pm

This is MALAYSIA dude..not usa, german or whatever country.. go travel there laa n buy some if u want the chep2 one.. stay there, find new home n wife, make baby, buy..n buy..buy..c if u can live longer than there dude with the highly extremely living cost there

• Expatriate VN on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:38 am

I love Malaysia, but this cronies shitty cars keep on sucking consumers and not less, make the road more dangerous with more “tissue box on the wheel” move around, most of them with Kopi-O license.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:50 am

There are no ending to “improvement” to this junk, first extend the wheelbase of butless Sawi to come out with Saga + butt, later and later come out with many variants,either alphabets crunching like “ABS” (oh sorry no Anti Brake System @ All But Saga), EBD, CVT, etc.Then come with all kind of 1.3 and 1.6 engine variant, with another alphabets crunching like IAFM, Turbo, etc. What “improvement”? It is more on “fitting and upgrade” with existing tech to compete in the market. Where got totally new tech and trend in the market, why not participate in the Auto show internationally if this car is really good? Being jaguh kampong always …………….

• KIAsu Not KIAsi on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:32 pm

Do u know that Savvy was designed by “”””KOREAN””””” yes “””””””KOREAN”””””””

This Saga aka Savvy with extended butt is also design by

************KOREAN****************

So quiet & start to praising it or else Korean Fandog will come to haunt u.

• Loneranger on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:09 pm

when sumthing changed from old to new ang getting newer…that in IMPROVEMENT no matter in what term…. or should o buy a an Oxford Dictionary to help u find the meaning of IMPROVEMENT.
      Quote : im?prove?ment
      1 [uncountable and countable] the act of improving something or the state of being improved
      improvement in/on/to
      There’s been a big improvement in the children’s behaviour.
      an improvement on earlier models
      We need to carry out some improvements to the system.
      Unquote

not like u never improve on ur manner. always bash things that u dun even try….and IF u really are an EXPAT in Malaysia, please improve ur respect towards the country that give u money to live….

dramatic/major/significant/substantial etc improvement
      a marked improvement in her condition
      It could be quite some time before we see any improvement.
      This month’s sales figures show some improvement.
      Your English is much better, but there’s still room for improvement (=it could be even better).
      2 [countable] a change or addition that improves something:
      Are you making some improvements to your home?
      Definition from the Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English
      Advanced Learner’s Dictionary.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:58 am

If there is credit due, it is P1 that have thousand thanks to the consumers that are forced to buy this shitty junks at inflated price under NAP. If let the market force to decide, P1 are in the grave long time ago. So, only blind supporters stupendously think that P1 do a good job to the Malaysian at large. The reality is P1 are doing a good job to cronies vendors by flooding the junks in the market.

• Proton Owner on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:28 am

I love this car…

• kalau color putih ni, memang ngancamlaaa!! terbaik beb daripada mivi lg beng tu..

• izack04 on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:06 am

Good improvement…..for me i dont care about how many % the gov tax the import car, but please dont tax so much on local cars…..
    If i’m the PM, i will also tax a lot on import cars because these population are the one that have the ability to be taxed….not like me normal working guys on average RM2000 salary.

• padan muka

• breAL on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:53 pm

they tax the import car so they can jack up the price of the local car, its a win win for the Gov and P1/P2, and guess wat, your average joe salary gleefully willing to pay that

• ojaykb on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:14 am

proton kena buat interior lagi cantik,knob gear kasi rendah/pendek sikit baru nampak cool tak lah nampak cam lori…

• campor on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:47 pm

pernah nampak tpypta hilux punya gear knop tak? kalau tak pernah.. jangan nak komplain pasal gear knob.. orang pakai hilux x kompain.. gear knop bukan main panjang…

• Pcs of junk!my eye hurt!!

• Proton Product on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:39 am

Still campro engine, our campro engine will continue for another 25 years, new engine will come in 2036, campro-tech engine.

• Gebang on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:43 am

Wahhhhh a lot of people dislike any negative comment worrrr…….alamak lupa la staff proton byk masuk ni punya blog……..wakakakaka…..no wonder la

• What a bunch of crap photoshop photos, I think Teophilus Chin can do a much better job then them!

• yeopmin on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:52 am

In this forum,there are too many complain about proton..I’m using persona, my family and friends, also using proton,like saga,waja,gen2 and they also same like me,there are no big things to complain. We are happy with our car..so when ppl said proton car like rubbish,I’m confused..of course la performance proton can’t same level wth lamborghini but lamborghini also had been burn out kan?

• It’s just that there are a lot of people jealous of Proton in this forum.

• amirad on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:41 pm

No offence but from my observations, those who bash protons are those who buy protons because they can afford other makes such Japs and contis and grumble about it, or those who can buy japs but have to cough up a bit more dough and complain if it weren’t for proton, they wouldn’t have to pay so much for it. I admit proton car is not perfect but its not that bad either. My siblings all drive Mercs and Beemers, and after I’ve driven their cars, I still feel my gen2 cps is not that bad.

• kantoi on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:03 pm

@amirad,

Poor thing, your siblings drive mercs and Beemers…while you stuck with Proton. Let me rephrase it, those who defended proton, are those who can’t afford other cars and the only thing they can do is to defend their ride. LMAO

• amirad on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:30 am

Yes. Poor me. ..Proton cars not as refined as japs and contis but the handling is better than most Japs B and C segment and can even compare with some contis. Reliability even though not as good as Japs but there is an improvement. My Gen2 CPS power window still working fine after 3 yrs and engine and other parts/components still OK. For comparison my Altis driver power window failed after 5 yrs. Consider OKlah, nowadays where got built to last. Now I want to see the reliabilty of VW. Hopefully no DSG failure as reported by some in forums.

• lalok_stylo on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:31 am

agreed…..
        i also feel that proton is not that bad….
        of course proton is not on the same boat as the european or japs but for me it’s just ok for people….
        im driving the old satria and still can go up to 170 or 180kmh without any problem….
        imo, all cars are same, it depends on how u take care about it….

• kamaji on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:11 am

The overall package is fine…but the pricing is too close to Persona.No doubt this saga hv improved on handling from tyre size to damper but the Persona will still hv the advantage in overall handling.Hence, I believe by slicing off a few K is reasonable & at the same time kill off the Byvi faster.Then we all can see some naked ass running around Tg. Malim.

• What do u feel when u (on the superbike) side by side with C70 & bai roti under the bridge when rain fall?? pay rm50k but cannot ride in any rain condition… hahaha…

• cynical on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Better than this piece of shit

• amirad on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:26 pm

On the other hand how would u feel driving yr RM1mil ferrari and get stuck in a traffic jam with kancils and sagas around u and a kapchai can simply just whizz thru’. The only advantage I can see is people admiring and ogling at yr car.

• Vyseus on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:13 am

This car is hot!!! but can I change the rear light to the old BLM light, Just my 2cent, I love the design, just that the old rear light attract me more.

Any thoughts on that? 50K for a new car, seems a good bargain if you ask me.

• blmers on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:58 pm

cannot la, this 1 smaller..

gua pun feel yg sm dgn many ppl here, wa pnyer blm 2 yrs older tp design dpn blkg lg cantik dr fl/flx nie..
      cuma xda abs, cvt, dual airbag n cheaper la..

tp tadahal la, wa pakai utk point a to b transporter je ma..

• kremer on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:34 am

cantik, cuma rear light looks small..the first BLM rear light are much more beautiful…others, with the price, cunnn

• kantoi on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:34 am

errmmm.. I think this car can go kantoi with big CC but small drum brake to support. All those graduated from Mat rempit will like this car and fly themselves to hell.

• brake tak penting. yang pegi cucuk bontot orang cuma newbie je.

yang penting, pandai maneuver ke tempat kosong while bagi signal.

• farghmee on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:10 pm

hang automotive engineer ke?
      pandai2 lak kata drum brake xbagus la utk 1.6 nih.

cheit..

sume tu ada calculation bai.
      myvi 1.5 tu ko xkecoh ke?
      nape? sbb “nihon”?

kahkahkah

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:29 pm

The truth is, the most important parts to be replaced from your brake system is the flexible hose. Upgrade it to Braided Metal Hose and you can feel the difference. Even Ferarri Cars also fitted their brakes with Nylon Braided Hose as a Standard. And still they change it for better Braking.

• kantoi on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:46 pm

tak payah kecoh, i punya LS460 sudah kena cucuk bontot oleh saga dan myvi 3 kali. 2 kali saga, sekali myvi. Dua pun sampah, nak ikut dekat dan cepat tapi tak sempat brake. Rasanya akan berlaku lebih banyak kemalangan kerana saga murah ini

• farghmee on Dec 02, 2011 at 11:28 am

kalu diorg cucuk, u move aside la.

they wan to provoke u only, unless u r road hogging.

• if you have LS460 you won’t be bothered to read this blog, instead catching up with your business. BS

• lopiu on Dec 03, 2011 at 11:23 am

agreed , this is totally BS

• wow.. kasi comparison tu biar la berpada-pada.. compare proton n ferrari same mcm langit n bumi.. ape yg ko bole beli dari ferrari ngan harge sebijik flx ni? tayar?

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 03, 2011 at 2:11 am

Mamat ni faham bahasa ke tak ni…. Lain kali bincanglah dengan Mekanik Ferarri ke, Lamborghini ke.. Bently ke. tentang cara yang paling baik untuk meningkatkan tahap keselamatan kereta secara praktikal bukannya suruh compare Proton dengan Ferrari.. sebab orang bodoh je yang nak buat comparison begitu.. Antara Benda yang sama digunakan dalam mana mana sistem brek kereta, tak kira kereta jenis apa sekalipun adalah Hose Brake dan keseluruhan tenaga yang diperlukan untuk memberhentikan kereta akan bertumpu disitu selain pada Brake Pad. Suhu geseran brake pad dengan Disc akan menyebabkan Minyak Hidraulik menjadi panas dan kepanasan ini akan menyebabkan hose menjadi kembang dan akan mengurangkan daya tekanan terhadap Brake pad terutama semasa kereta dipandu laju. Hose inilah yang perlu ditukar dan kalau mampu belilah Hose yang dipasang kat Ferrari…..

• 71k Suzuki Swift also with rear drum brake

• perodua vavi on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Myvi = org muda yg konon2 bawak kereta jepun..biar tak praktikal,janji bergaya..tahi lembu

• cynical on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Define praktikal?

• Wheeler on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:02 pm

you can give better comments than this right??

• then convert it to passo, tgk stereng ada perodua’s logo.kui2

• proton sedan on Dec 18, 2011 at 10:53 pm

kesian owner myvi. tak baik cakap camtu. diorang beli myvi mungkin sebab:
      1- perempuan
      2- nak hatchback tak mahu sedan
      3- beli myvi instead savvy (tahun 2005 to 2008)
      4- kereta kedua je. kereta pertama mpv.
      5- ada bau-bau jepun.

hari-hari drive kat kl ni, hari-hari jumpa myvi tak ada lampu brek (ketiga). hari tu jumpa alza plat WUE tak ada lampu brek, sah manufacturer defect ni.

• sucre on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:13 pm

nice car n value for money…practical car compare to myvi for balik kampung…

• areos on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:31 pm

..ala.. apa banyak cakap.., suka bleh beli xsuka xyah beli. your money your choice..

• abu bakar on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:39 pm

kalau flx ni guna body saga blm yg mula2 tu kan best.. buruk ah lampu facelift.. penyek.. lampu blakang kecik..

• the rear lamp look so small that i can noticed the old design much better. who is the designer?

• wak dehel on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:28 pm

cettt…basher cakap saja pandai…kasi beli la 1 then beritahu semua orang apa kelemahan yg perlu diperbaiki…i pun dulu x suka BLM tp i beli 1 mau rasa kenapa orang x suka proton cars..setakat ini i xda masalah besar pun..power window rosak itu parts supplier punya silap..enjin xda masalah..body ok..bawak laju brek cantik..kawalan pemanduan cantik..xda masalah meh…org x suka proton pasal mereka suka dengar khabar angin..kasi beli 1 then u ada hak nak bersuara…kalau komplen lepas dengar2 ckp org..lu pun kira sama la..xboleh pakai meh…rasa sendiri baru tau…x suka tak apa, xperlu beli…tp jgn cakap banyak la kasi kondem…klu proton x bagus kenapa sales masih tinggi walaupun tewas sama perodua?? ini bermakna proton masih lagi diterima org malaysia…aiyyaa…choi!

• cynical on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Sebab proton murah je, sebab tu orang beli. Kalau harga sama dengan perodua, Takde nye orang nak beli. Choii la sangat..

• hector_smacker on Dec 03, 2011 at 9:11 pm

i pakai savvy… bole x nak comment? haha… SAVVY THE BEST!!!

• Nizam80 on Dec 11, 2011 at 1:03 am

Boleh, bro. Savvy bukan calang2 kete tu. Dah kira kete conti Savvy ni. Totally Renault drivetrain + Lotus tuned suspension. It’s a conti car disguised in Proton badging. Probably the most underrated car in all history of local made cars.

• the car is a good improvement but i really proton would invest in fuel saving and emission reducing tech so we can be sure that the car is economic not because of its light material (which contributes to fatal accidents) but rather the technologies implemented.

also, the engine says 100+hp but when i test drive my cousin’s 1.6 executive (prior to SE), it felt underpowered especially on the highways. im sure proton can really benefit the partnership with mitsu and not just copy from the latter.
    abolish the stupid tax and really make proton competitive like other car makers.

• Wheeler on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:53 pm

MQ,
      Proton follows emission requirements and standard. So what exactly do you mean?
      Proton use light material? Which part?
      So which one do you test drive? This one? Or the previous one?

• aku masih menunggu proton suv kalau ada, dan jangan la asyik dengan 1.6 campro. takde enjin lain ke yg best skit . dah over 20 tahun dah ni dlm industri, kasik up la skit. kut kut boleh celen dgn FT86

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Masa ada EW01 (Sauber) dulu Proton tak nak pakai, last last jual kat kompeni dari China. Semua official Car kat Sepang guna enjin tu. Depa kata lagi Power dari enjin Mitsu…

• as usual lah! on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:18 pm

betul tu bro..i wanna feel rear wheel drive rides..pergh..

• saw the car earlier today. yes the leather does beef up the interior a bit but what it lacks is a directional air flow system (this car only blows from the dashboard vents), needs at least mirrors on both sun visors and a better looking head unit. preferably 2-din. imho, there is little that this car offers to pull people away from the myvi 1.5. i don’t mind (personal opinion) giving up the leather for a nice fabric design but with those items mentioned earlier added on. and i think someone mentioned that the body kit colour makes it look a little unfinished, something that i agree too.

• mr q, r u saying prtn cars r light? R u sure? Even this saga flx se blm(base line model) heavier than full spec vios. Persona n shockingly neo has nearly as the same weight of forte, altis n even civic that is segment c, while persona is b segment.
    U said fl 1.6 underpower? U must be driving 2.0 n above car@turbo charge@twin charge engine to feel it underpower. The journalist comment even in australia, saga 1.6 is faster then the figure suggest n none of them mention underpower. Many of them said good power. If u want to give review, u need to compare with those the same category.
    Why not u test drive this flx se, n compare with vios which is lighter than saga head to head, same route,same passenger in non quantitative comparison(diff segment, but nearly the same power/torque to weight ratio even favour the lighter vios), then u comment.
    N bout cars price in usa, read, read n read. It is msrp price. Read the foot note or search for what it means by msrp price. R u sure in that price, all cars u mentions come with tyres? Remember, wheels do not include tyres there in us coz wheels are wheels, tyres are tyres, things sold separately.
    Next time, do ur reading boy, be a better malaysian by starting reading. Not read the headlines only. Read the footnote below. Thats why malaysian easy to con n in ads in malaysia, they love to put a small footnote, term n condition applied coz malaysian lazy to read from top to below, easy to be influence by the BIG letter.
    Haiya…when ur reading is low, u know how low ur knowledge is.

• en mat. good explanation. tp depa semua bkn nk baca pun. tau condemn je.

• Agree on you mat.. putting taxes on imported stuff has its reason…
      Rmb that this is a Saga… It has the best config so far and by far is the best Saga.. diff people have diff opinion on this car.. So its reasonable to state useful comments that can be heard by Proton and gov^^ there is always a door for improvement yet there are many things to be compromised.. the diff gov policy denote the car price.. so it is not wise to compare car prices of diff car at oversea to locals. try compare fuel price^^

• steam_man on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:42 pm

dont bs la. have you been to US? the car is cheap. period.

you work in restaurant, 2000 per month, your new mustang only 2xk . petrol 3usd per gallon.

not including tyre. only you can bs ppl.

look at their lemon law, look at their consumer right, they can RETURN their product anytime. RETURN!!! no question ask, money back.

• verton on Dec 03, 2011 at 11:19 am

the question here is the price, not the lemon law, what use of returning goods if you buy another one with similar price?

• Nizam80 on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:16 am

Agreed, bro. Proton cars are heavy, and I like heavy cars. Actually the Savvy, despite being a little car, is actually 10kg heavier than the Myvi. And yet, with a small 1149cc engine, it can ‘tapau’ the Myvi. muahahaha

• kip2122 on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:52 pm

I don’t get all the bashing. If ppl drive P1 then P1 la. If ppl drive P2 then P2 la. So what if one car is cheaper than the other? P1 owners, does seeing someone driving a P2 give you pain? And vice versa? What ppl like ppl drive la. Who are you to judge if they’re stupid or blind? When it comes to production, nothing is certain. I have a friend who owns a P1 and gearbox rosak in 2 weeks. Another friend driving P2 the audio system died in a month. Then I have a lot of friends driving either one for years and they’re just fine.

Unless P1 or P2 is giving you commission to bash the other car, please shove your immaturity up your narrow butts.

• thechoi on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:37 pm

i like it… not bad..

• November on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:51 pm

some of you guys even pray so that others will die in this car!!! u guys r Malaysians ke?? why so bad?? your parents x teach u guys good manners ke??

• Expatriate VN on Dec 02, 2011 at 11:58 am

This question should forward to P1 for producing unsafe car. Being shitty car, you pray 1,000 x time for safe, if accident happen, no amount of pray can protect you from injuries, or fatal death!

• Halem on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:00 pm

October 2011 Sales Figure

MYVI = 10364 units Vs Saga = 5853 units

Anymore argument which car Malaysian prefer ??

• hang lang on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:01 pm

ermm ari tu dari selangor ke johor aku enjut BLM 2 jam jer sampai… tu 1.3 tuu kire ok laaaaaa heheh siap cucuk angin Honda City lg hehehe

• Pemandu Honda City bagi hang peluang nak running kereta baru. Jatuhlah martabat dier nak race dgn kereta hang.

Tak payah Honda City, my grandma’s 1985 Toyota Corolla 1.5cc boleh tapau ko nyer CVT 1.3 tu. Owh yeah, grandma aku boleh drive Manual lagi. Ko pandai ke bawak manual?

Jgn mare, huahuahua.

• plstl on Dec 04, 2011 at 11:35 am

aku pun bole kata gak org lain bagi peluang
        tapi yang aku rasa kalau SY0H memang tak nak race dgn CVT 1.3
        sebab keta dia nak tak bole speed kat selekoh

Jgn mare, huahuahua

• as usual lah! on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:43 pm

tak boleh ke saga & myvi owners bersatu..korang xde club kereta?
    aku ada kwn yg gila myvi..takde pula aku kutuk dia..ceh..mengarut je basher kat sini..
    memang mengarut gila gelimat jer..jgn lupa HIN autoshow der! jumpa korang kat sana..hey ho lets go~

• 4 speed(vios or maybe p2) auto doesn’t mean u consume alot of fuel, is abt the well-being of the engine that save u most, so proton should actually excel in building better economical engine and with the availability of cvt would give superb fuel economy. Look at BMW vw and ford… Is abt combination and most importantly engine

• shawal on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:39 pm

If you look closely in the interior shot of the dashboard, you can see the upper border of the glove box are not aligned properly with the dashboard…. I looked there because, our previous waja and my current savvy has these problems, its revolting…

every single attention to detail will sum up to the experience of car ownership,

Proton, are you listening, deformed plastics are acceptable on cheap china brand plastic toys sold on the roadside… not in ‘the people’s car’…, we’re not a third world nation.
    Hope you people sort this things out before the next model arrives…

• alfie60 on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:14 pm

This is what it has come to!!!! If we want better quality and more ‘standard’ features in the cars we have to pay MORE. Instead of squeezing from the Shitty vendors side to supply better quality products/parts as all this while the public is paying excessively for the shitty products/parts.

Incidentally under our PM Transformation Plan when our annual income per capita increase from US$7k to US$15 in a few years from now, and then alot more people can afford to own and drive foreign cars. I wonder whether this shitty car manufacturer will spoilt and prevent for this moment from happening. ;-)

• chicco on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:32 pm

I have proton and toyota. Both good car, just my 1 toyota get hijack. Proton more save. I think. Tq

• Pls show some support lah, even though it looks like beng

• Kia Salesman on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Better get VW, the real people’s car, proton is the reason why car’s in Malaysia are so expansive, which does not benefit the people!

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Many Proton supporters here. I can see many thumbs up.

• PeYn0 Fanz on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:58 am

of course la..its thread for Protons newly launch car..
      what did u expect? to find Honda car here? better find another thread la..

Some of the basher here just come to condemn Proton car..

• Expatriate VN on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:02 pm

These blind supporters balls carrier give “syiok sendiri” thumb up!

• yup,many msian go for looks, but if u tested both audio system, prtn audio produce far better better sound albeit punny unit. Thats why i mention earlier,easy to con, just by look. Never tried n tested.
    Have to agree on directional airflows, but is it we usually change the airflow everytime we driving? Rarely used, but a good option to have.
    But have to respect ur opinion@preference coz that personal.
    For me as family guy,prefer leather than fabric. If want fabric,still can opt flx 1.3.
    By the way, flx cvt still nearly 6k@8k cheaper than 1.5 myvi se auto, which consider a lot, many things u can do with the money such upgrade the head unit to multimedia unit n gps n reverse camera :-).
    What brand is p2 used for head unit?

• Gebang on Dec 02, 2011 at 2:13 am

Perghhhh waktu malam kurang komen….wktu kerja tetiba dislike meningkat..puji P1 meningkat…kutukan P2 pun meningkat…..agaknya KPI sesetengah org kat sini bukak PC waktu opis dan dislike semua yg kritik P1 dan kondem P2…..wakakakka….agak2 staff mana tu

• Wheeler on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:01 am

Gebang, I love cars. I love what’s happenig here. Well agree with you. However some comments are really baseless, so they deserve thumb down!

• izhar on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:22 am

hahahaha….siap wat observation tuh….

• malam orang tido la…ingat semua zombie macam ko ke?

entah-entah ko ni kerja shift malam, main internet pulak..

p/s: Mengata dulang paku serpih, Mengata orang, Dia yang lebih…ptuihhh..

• bla bla bla bla..critics,praises..no matter what pasni sure penuh atas jalan

• alistair lim li wei on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:26 am

The red colour rilli FAIL. looks so ugly. But overall it’s a nice package.

• PeYn0 Fanz on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:52 am

1st thing why to choose Saga compare to Myvi is;

– IT GIVES YOU MORE BOOT SPACE..you will NEVER REGRET later if go shopping etc..

then 2nd..

– IT GIVES YOU BETTER RIDE & HANDLING..you will NEVER REGRET when u want to overtake Perutdua cars, or when balik kampung..

then 3rd..
    – TOUGH BODY & CHASSIS.. you will NEVER REGRET when it saves your family or your life..(just follow the max speed by the authority)..

4th
    – Easy spare parts.. T & H brand facing some problem when Thailand/Japan get flooded..

RESALE VALUE?
    -what did you expect when u buy a newly Merc at RM300k, then five years later RM 100k, you lost RM 200k..is it good resale value?
    -when u buy a new myvi SE at RM 56,000..five years later RM 30,000, lost RM 26, 000, is it good resale value?
    -when u buy a new Saga FLX at RM 49,xxx.00 and 5 years later lesser than Myvi letsay RM27,000, lost RM 22,000 plus..+ lifetime warranty for windows

So, by considering a BIG BOOT, GOOD RIDE & HANDLING, of course LAGI BEST is not the best choice..

• fraz006 on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:15 pm

bro mmg hensem.. org malaysia nih concern sgt psl resale value tapi mcm dah tak pandai matematik asas.

salu org preach psl fuel save la, 2nd resale value (commonly in term of percentage of initial price). takat fuel save rm150 setahun baper sgt kalao rege keter ko awal2 dah rm90K? logik kan? kalau beli vios 90K jual balik 65K, mmg percentage price drop nmpk skit, akan tetapi jumlah kerugiannya?, tetap 25K which is more less sama je kalau keter proton pun.

apa sepatutnya yg dikira? jumlah duit yg kite rugi psl guna keter.. pernah buat calculation? jumlah duit yg kite rugi same je tak kira ape keter pun. silap2 proton lagi sikit jumlah rugi psl: spare part, servis sah2 la murah.. tuh aku ckp, ckp mcm dah tere giler, tapi matematik asas dah ke laut. tambah tolak je kot, takkan tak reti dah bang?

• November on Dec 02, 2011 at 10:41 am

P1 & P2 should team up n produce a better car!!

• Its already December.
      I’m sure November & December can combine together to come out with a better comment !!!!

• Protong sales tactics never changes. It kept its distinctive style of ‘cannibalizing’ its other siblings in its desperate attempt to make sales. Barely sales.

Now we have Persona, Gen2, Satria, Waja (except the Chancellor and CPS) and a new addition Saga all sitting under the same class of 1.6cc displacement.

Let’s put Waja CPS, Satria CPS and Gen2 CPS aside. How about Persona owner? Having to pay 60k just for the B-line when now suddenly another better sibling is offered at 49k. Don’t preech us Saga and Persona is totally different. Both are Sedan with almost the same space amount.

In the same time, both Saga and Persona are also public Taxi car which will bring down its ‘martabat’ (value) amongst the rakyat.

Protong? Apa nak jadi dah…

• to mr steam-man, ilm not bs people, u r bs with ur ownself. Yup, never been in us, but my sis family just came back from us last year, my older sis family went to dc to visit her a year before, n lot of goddies they bring back for me.
    However, thats not the point, by the way, this is the web link on us gasoline/petrol price
    38.96.246.204/oil_gas/petroleum/data_publications/wrgp/mogas_home_page.html
    fyi, every state in us have diff price rate for gas/petrol. I just take the average, until 28/11/2011, the price average is about usd 3.5/ gallon.
    If u change to litter it will be usd 0.92 perlitre n if u cnvert to rm = rm3.50 perlitre whic is cheap for u. For ur information, in us they have 3 diff type of fuel grade, regular that is ron 85-88, midgrade ron 88-90, n premium which is ron 90 n above.
    And the price for regular grade as perstated rm 3.50 perlitre which i dunno whether can be used in cars in malaysia or not(unless they tune it by retard ignition timing n adjust af ratio to prevent knocking).
    Have u ever heard a term call domino effect in economy? Then learn what happen to the masses if the cheapest grade oil will cost u rm 3.50/litre.
    U just lazy to read, just take out figure from another blog without reading it. As i mention earlier, u shud know where is ur level of knowledge now if lazy to read.
    I never say car prices in us are expensive compare to masia, just mention u need to becareful with price u quote from the net in us coz it has its own terms n conditions applied.
    Becoz u lazy to read,that is why u never know that there are different between mrsp and drive away price.
    u cannot get a civic or altis at saga price. Thats the truth. No need to go to us to know the price, just go to singapore where the tax is nearly the same even for prtn. Even city is expensive than persona, how the hell it can be cheaper than saga?
    My sis when stay there, she bought mazda 6, and its not expensive just around 25k usd, n asked her bout mazda 3, it just around 18-20k, according to specs. If u do direct conversion, it is still average around rm 70k(for mazda 3 which is same segment as corolla n civic n nearly same price tag) which is higher than saga flx se price with tax at 50k n at around 32k+- without tax n flx 1.3 for 28k+-.
    Already explain before in diff post about the tax n even already given out the link bout the price. I thinl this will be endless coz there have been so many times people give the link before including me, but seems many msia never bother to read.
    Haiya, still low reading habits n attitude n that really reflect our knowledge level.
    And yes, if u check vw price in us in vw us official site, the price is mrsp price n there is a footnote mention that wheels doenst include tyres, it sold seperately where u have to pay more, even for boot luggage net, they charge u for usd 160@rm 600. Rm 600 just for the luggage net???where u can get 3 sets of good tyres in malaysia for 15 inch rim or even a good audio set or even gps for what vw charge u for the net. N they give u only 2.0 otto cycle engine n bla..bla.. Bla..
    Just do your own reading n experience, there is no bs unless u r the one who bs.
    Waktu mlm kurang org komen coz family time,sok nak keje cume time off jek bleh komen mlm2@lewat2. Yg ada org tu nama gebang tuh komen 2-3 pg, xkeje ke? Ops, mgkin masih bujang, cuti skolah yek sekarang :-)…he..he..jgn mrh

• David Lau on Dec 02, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Well done Proton. Am driving SX4. Saga FLX got higher torque, save more fuel, equivalent specs and the most important thing. Cheaper. :)

• Proton guy on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:50 pm

The design of this car looks strange the rear lights are too small. The front headlights too wide with too many sharp edges. The pre facelift model look so much better

• Bongcs on Dec 02, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Myvi handling is like, having a bad stomachache and rushing to toilet letting go all your shit.

• I wonder why P1 and P2 like to put very high Maximum speed on the speedometer.. 240km/h in this 1.6 FLX.. Crazy…

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 03, 2011 at 1:43 am

Its because, if the spedometer only show max speed the same as catalog (165km\hr)than this FLX can easily reach top Speed lah….(habis meter….)

• Savvy88 on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:44 am

simple.. because the car can achieve that speed..

• Someone on Dec 03, 2011 at 2:55 am

complete factory-fitted body kit in contrasting grey??? Or they are just to ‘lazy’ to paint it?

• to mr steam-man, ilm not bs people, u r bs with ur ownself. Yup, never been in us, but my sis family just came back from us last year, my older sis family went to dc to visit her a year before, n lot of goddies they bring back for me.
    However, thats not the point, by the way, this is the web link on us gasoline/petrol price
    38.96.246.204/oil_gas/petroleum/data_publications/wrgp/mogas_home_page.html
    fyi, every state in us have diff price rate for gas/petrol. I just take the average, until 28/11/2011, the price average is about usd 3.5/ gallon.
    If u change to litter it will be usd 0.92 perlitre n if u cnvert to rm = rm3.50 perlitre whic is cheap for u. For ur information, in us they have 3 diff type of fuel grade, regular that is ron 85-88, midgrade ron 88-90, n premium which is ron 90 n above.
    And the price for regular grade as perstated rm 3.50 perlitre which i dunno whether can be used in cars in malaysia or not(unless they tune it by retard ignition timing n adjust af ratio to prevent knocking).
    Have u ever heard a term call domino effect in economy? Then learn what happen to the masses if the cheapest grade oil will cost u rm 3.50/litre.
    U just lazy to read, just take out figure from another blog without reading it. As i mention earlier, u shud know where is ur level of knowledge now if lazy to read.
    I never say car prices in us are expensive compare to masia, just mention u need to becareful with price u quote from the net in us coz it has its own terms n conditions applied.
    Becoz u lazy to read,that is why u never know that there are different between mrsp and drive away price.
    u cannot get a civic or altis at saga price. Thats the truth. No need to go to us to know the price, just go to singapore where the tax is nearly the same even for prtn. Even city is expensive than persona, how the hell it can be cheaper than saga?
    My sis when stay there, she bought mazda 6, and its not expensive just around 25k usd, n asked her bout mazda 3, it just around 18-20k, according to specs. If u do direct conversion, it is still average around rm 70k(for mazda 3 which is same segment as corolla n civic n nearly same price tag) which is higher than saga flx se price with tax at 50k n at around 32k+- without tax n flx 1.3 for 28k+-.
    Already explain before in diff post about the tax n even already given out the link bout the price. I thinl this will be endless coz there have been so many times people give the link before including me, but seems many msia never bother to read.
    Haiya, still low reading habits n attitude n that really reflect our knowledge level.
    And yes, if u check vw price in us in vw us official site, the price is mrsp price n there is a footnote mention that wheels doenst include tyres, it sold seperately where u have to pay more, even for boot luggage net, they charge u for usd 160@rm 600. Rm 600 just for the luggage net???where u can get 3 sets of good tyres in malaysia for 15 inch rim or even a good audio set or even gps for what vw charge u for the net. N they give u only 2.0 otto cycle engine n bla..bla.. Bla..
    Just do your own reading n experience, there is no bs unless u r the one who bs.
    Waktu mlm kurang org komen coz family time,sok nak keje cume time off jek bleh komen mlm2@lewat2. Yg ada org tu nama gebang tuh komen 2-3 pg, xkeje ke? Ops, mgkin masih bujang, cuti skolah yek sekarang :-)…he..he..jgn mrh…

• My blind uncle Stevie Ponder also can see how ugly this car. Wow! If blind man can see it ugly wonder why celik fanboys can’t see it???

Anyway, big Tahniah Bravo to Protongkat Saudi Arabia for selling this Saga full-spec with ESP plus 10-airbags at RM24,949.50!!!

• verton on Dec 03, 2011 at 11:20 am

another basher who didn’t read at all. just came here to bash blindly
      peace

• verton on Dec 03, 2011 at 11:21 am

“Anyway, big Tahniah Bravo to Protongkat Saudi Arabia for selling this Saga full-spec with ESP plus 10-airbags at RM24,949.50!!!”

another basher who didn’t read at all. just came here to bash blindly
      peace

• Ko Tai Wong on Dec 03, 2011 at 1:13 pm

New Saga FLX… nice look, worth for the money, well equip.. anyway it juz a car… bring u frm point a to b.. like it buy it.. hate it ignore it.. got lot money buy import car, got cukup2 money.. buy local car..

becoz proton gov increase the tax for import car?… yup, no argue.. but its a income for gov to run the country.. Rasuah Gov?.. its normal.. u can find it even in AMERICA.. hate the current gov? want to change it? its like “mimpi di siang hari”.. bersyukurlah with what u hv in Malaysia.. u hate it.. lots foreigners dream want to be Malaysian… u dont like they dont care.. try live in others country (Asian Country) for sure u’ll lucky be a Malaysian..

what a joke fighting for a car.. just live ur life.. grow up peoples.. work harder/smarter (what ever u call) earn more income buy what ever wheel u want.. spending lot time arguing about a car not make u richer.. but for sure it make lot money for paultan website.. juz my 2cent.. dont care wat u think bout me..

• mana mofaz? bring back mofaz! the boss sedang bcakap mana! argghhhhh

• Aaron on Dec 03, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Hi readers! What do you guys think of this SAGA FLX SE? I’ve heard people say that their CVT gearbox is not so good? I’m not sure about this. I’m planning of getting a new car. either a Perodua Myvi SE 1.5 or a SAGA FLX SE. Which one do you guys think is good? In my opinion, Perodua looks more longer lasting and solid? Proton I’m not to confident about their cars… =(

• go get a bicycle or take an exercise better.

• zainal abidin on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:12 am

‘Not to_ confident with proton cars?’ Bro, they are in the market since 1985, if the public perceptively is ‘not to_ confident’ with proton, proton would have shut down a decade ago, whether got gov tax or no gov tax.

Try to earn more if one wants to own a much more expensive new car. Or just make do with a pre-owned one. Its as simple as that. Take it or leave it.

• Wake up, Malaysian. Pls stop supporting proton, you don’t want them to make more craps! Even if you support them, they will still lose money. http://paultan.org/2011/02/27/proton-reports-rm52-million-loss-in-q3-fy-201011/

• Proton Salesman on Dec 03, 2011 at 10:47 pm

I agree with my boss :)

• tahar on Dec 04, 2011 at 12:06 am

korang semua tak payah la nak kutuk2 sangat…..entah2x kereta Proton yang kurang hina ni la yang korang pakai juga…hmmm…apa la nak jadi dengan sesetengah rakyat Malaysia ni…tak tahu bersyukur betul…marilah sama2 kita menyokong syarikat tempatan…kalau tak puas hati dengan Proton , terus je la berjumpa dengan pihak Proton yang hampir ..buat la aduan…ini tidak hanya berani berkata kata di belakang tabir sahaja…

• Proton Salesman on Dec 04, 2011 at 12:22 am

Pressure your peers to sell proton?

• Jegatheswaran on Dec 04, 2011 at 11:52 am

malaysia began to be inovative and creatif
    superb saga car

• proton fan ka? on Dec 05, 2011 at 12:29 am

org malaysia ni sanggup beli kereta low spec tp mahal. jual kat rakyat mahal, jual kat luar murah. tp org malaysia ni xkesah, sanggup bayar lebih. cuba tgk interior design, lansung x up to date dgn teknologi skrg. tp rakyat malaysia xkesah. proton nk bg interior yang cantik sikit pon xboleh. xpa la, proton buat kereta apa pon, org malaysia still beli. proton jaguh kampung saja, kat luar xlaku. kan fakta tu.

• redleo on Dec 05, 2011 at 12:59 am

i wonder if those proton haters out there are really owned a Toyota? or a BMW?

why should u bother proton makeover when u drive a bmw? ahaha..
    problem with ur KIA Spectra dude?

• Golok on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:18 am

Berdasarkan pengalaman aku dengan potong savvy, mati hidup balik pon aku takkan beli dah kereta keluaran potong ni…

• Golok on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:28 am

With my very bad experience with my potong savvy, no more potong

• My personal experience. Potong cars are not bad but they really need to improve their aftersales service. Their people really need CRM training.

• HADI ANWAR on Dec 05, 2011 at 12:59 pm

the design and specs is should be nicer in the Proton RnD. i heard our designer friend designs r much more nice for savvy. it could bash away all the ‘kereta kecil lagi mahal” from perodua. but sadly, u all didn’t know that politics and the ‘AP’ owners says when they finalize the car? think of it. even me can sketch a car much more better than these. u think proton can’t do? they can. it was the “berokrasi” that always stop them to move further.
    i love proton, especially Wira. even my mom’s persona can’t beat the spacious feel being inside it. now I’m planning to mod the dash board and the engine. all custom made. =D

• adiia on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:53 pm

wira is mitsubishi lancer la ,si pandai.

i purposely take exam and get 50% because i dont want you to look bad. this sounds seriously stupid. check your brain.

• HADI ANWAR on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:18 am

=D
        do say what ever u wanna say. i still say wira is proton. proton using the chasis and engine. so what? dalam geran ada tulis mitsubishi lancer ke? ada? xde kan? it’s the same question like this; my mom is chinese, my dad is Singaporean. my mykad is still written malay race. same thing here. the car is born as proton wira. so why u have to say it is lancer? I don’t get it. u r god damn stupid dude. disgusting. Seriously.

• November on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:14 pm

so many comments.. i still prefer this saga over myvi :)

• Civic_2.010 on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:06 pm

PROTON IS THE BEST!!

• Civic_2.010 on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:07 pm

PROTON IS THE BEST

• Jujur Penanya on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:20 pm

hope to see this car beung review intop gear..wanna know the thought about this car.. (hope its fate not same as Kelisa)

• bongeks on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Good job P1. Now i can change my G2 1.3A for dis one.

• jamil on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:48 am

saga FL aku auto rpm sampai 6ribu baru dia tuko gear po hal niii…

• GRexer on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:01 pm

I actually hoped Proton isn’t just going to go along with ONLY one version of the 1.6 FLX. If there had been a choice of a less ricey model like this one, I bet they could capture more market. Not everyone who wants a bigger capacity engine would appreciate the additional costs of the unwanted mis-matched coloured bodykits and leather seats. If only they had another option of a more regular Saga 1.6 FLX that only had a similiar price increase rate as the Saga FL –> FLX, I bet they have a winner.

• hector_smacker on Dec 10, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Met a Perodua salesman today. Told me Myvi and Alza will up the price by a staggering RM4,000 in the near term. I told him it’s a bluff. But he went to prove it by showing the sms from his boss about the meeting with P2 management. What the fish??!!!

Comparing the top range Saga FLX SE 1.6 @50K against the top range Myvi 1.5 Extreme @61K+4K=65K, that’s a mighty difference of 15K. That salesman boasted about the price is justifiable with all the quality and nice rear lamps (what? rear what?)… Well, good luck P2!

Oh btw, that salesman is a proud one, said he worked 5 years for P1 and got fed up with all the complaints, I asked him “Oh was that during Mahaleel or Syed Zainal?”. His face was expressionless. LOL!

• Observer on Dec 10, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Aloo kalau u dont want to buy Proton dont bash laaa like some guy wrote up there kasi beli satu dulu baru tau…i used to have a Waja but i sold it because of the door handle which was poorly done. Fast forward 8 years later..i now drive a Inspira 1.8. Superb car. good quality. Vast improvement from Proton. Like someone wrote up there 7 years ago zaman Mahaleel now zaman Syed Zainal. Improvement is very glaring in Proton cars today.

Hari ni dalam Yahoo news, Fxxd recalls 129k sedan in US, wheels may fall off. Haa apa cerita? ada ke kereta Proton wheels coming off?

• aku lg tak suka perodua,, da la kete sume tukar cop dgn daihatsu and toyota,, lpas tu nk kate perusahaan otomobil kedua,, tuka je la pkai name len,, kilang yg btol2 buat kete kat malaysia ni proton je,, tp proton pon sbijik je design yg btol2 proton buat,, kete gen-2,,, lg satu produa ni,, sng tebakar,, ruang kat bahagian enjin dpan mcm kia,, kalo da pnah usik wiring,, eksiden,, tgu masa ntok bersemadi ngn kete produa korang,, haha

• Nizam80 on Dec 11, 2011 at 1:45 am

Got a chance to test drive this car today to see what the fuss is all about. Interior quality have improved a lot and I must say that it’s comparable to Japanese B-segment cars sold here.

I drove the car with 4 adults on board (including myself) each weighing more than 70kg. In CVT mode, I’m quite surprised that acceleration is fast, responsive and effortless, yet maintaining low revs. Doesn’t feel sluggish at all.

Next, I purposely floored the accelerator. When I say floor, I really meant ‘tekan’ all the way down in a sudden manner. Well, not bad… revs pull up smoothly all the way to 5000 rpm… And it doesn’t make too much noise either, maybe due to better sound-proofing. As a comparison, its comparable to my Persona elegance.

Honestly, the 1.6 IAFM+ really suits the Saga’s weight. Really love the CVT gearbox. Excellent for city driving. I’m no expert, but I dare to say that with my driving style, I can get MORE mileage with this car per full tank of petrol.

SAT mode is just a gimmick, BUT A DAMN GOOD gimmick. To me, this is the best version of the Saga BLM. If you are willing to spend a bit more on a Saga, this IS the version to get. No, I AM NOT a Proton salesman.. I’m just a car lover like all of you here.

My younger sibling is getting one, and I’m starting to envy him. This car is much better than the Persona in every way with space being the exception. But again, it goes to show that the Persona is starting to show it’s age and needs a successor.

• fraz006 on Dec 16, 2011 at 10:56 am

i expected this car to be like u mentioned. however, imo cannot beat persona in term of look. saga looks a bit weird and odd shaped.

• Nizam80 on Dec 17, 2011 at 1:20 am

Fair enough. Persona has that ‘low-slung’ look, while Saga has that slightly taller look which explains why most people find it odd-looking. For me, Persona’s rear-end means business but the front-end is more on the ‘conservative’ side. This Saga FLX SE has that overall balanced look from all angles. The gun metal coloured bodykit looks really nice. Just my point of view.

• hector_smacker on Dec 11, 2011 at 12:39 pm

btol bro… savvy mmg terbaik…

• mieya on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:34 am

dah bli myvi SE 1.5…br kuar lak proton saga flx se 1.6..if aku kaye mmg aku nk bli proton flx ni..dari kecik naik proton saga parents,smpai skang dorang xjual sbb mmg tahan la..amik myvi sbb suke design interior..tp turning unstabil la,beza la if keta sedan ni sdap skit kona..ape pun proton ttp dihatiku,even i’m perodua user..sbb proton ni dari aku kecik mak ayah aku gune,smpai la iswara pun aku gune dl mmg xdehal la,enjin tahan..xpenah aku breakdown tpi jln,tiap2 mgg check enjin sumer..

• tiadaid on Dec 16, 2011 at 8:56 pm

After years of bitching about how unreliable my Honda City is (the straw that broke the camel’s back was having my engine mount break for the 4th time!) – I’ve finally decided no more, and plonked down the money to get a Saga FLX 1.6 in red.

Used car man wants only 26K for the Honda (even if my car was not problematic they only want it for 30K) so who said Japanese car holds value? Even a 2000 Proton Wira has lower depreciation than the City!

• Nizam80 on Dec 17, 2011 at 1:27 am

Sorry to hear that, bro.

Anyway, glad to hear you’ve decided on buying an FLX SE. Will this car serve as an alternate car for your household?

• Rentap on Dec 17, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Tahniah Proton,cuma komen saya ialah proton menggunakan bahan plastik agak murah seperti dashboard,kemasan pintu,dan lain-lain yang melibatkan bahan yang menggunakan plastik,mengapa saya tahu sebab saya memiliki saga FLX 3 minggu yang lalu.

• …’Lagi Best” bertukar “Lagi Bad” ler… haha.

• lampu depan tertonjol kluar tu yg nampak x cantik. kalu bleh kekalkn mcm BLM cume tambah spoiler ker.

• Evil999 on Jan 04, 2012 at 9:50 am

Agak2 nyer bla proton nak kuarkn model ala2 ferrari ke, x pun porche. huhuhu.

• jongos on Jan 05, 2012 at 2:07 pm

aku pakai flx, baru lagi..awal bulan 10 2011…bile keluar se ni…rasenye mcm sama jee dgn flx…cume enjin cvt 1.6 je…auto….tambahan bodykit ngan seat leather…flx pun buleh gak buat cmtu kan kan..hehehhee…(nak sedapkan hati)….

• HADI ANWAR on Jan 06, 2012 at 10:39 am

bagus la proton buat mcm ni. semua org berkejar nak dapatkan model baru. sale strategy stail honda. baru keluar model baru, dlm setahun da ada facelift baru dan upgraded something new. good luck proton!

• MimiTari on Feb 08, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Hari ni aku mengalami pengalaman yang sama dengan Encik KHARZUL RAFI MD YAZID iaitu enjin mati secara tiba-tiba semasa sedang memandu PROTON SAGA FLX 1.3 (CVT) pada kelajuan 150km/j. Kelajuan 150km/j itu cuma dalam tempoh 15 saat sahaja semasa sedang memotong kereta.Lampu amaran CVT menyala dan pada masa yang sama enjin mati mengejut.

Tak pasti samada ada sensor suhu pada unit CVT tersebut.

Cadangan:

1. Pihak PROTON boleh buat dua pengesan suhu untuk unit CVT tersebut.
    Pengesan suhu pertama adalah sebagai amaran kepada pemandu dengan cara memaparkan lampu amaran CVT pada suhu tertentu sebelum mencapai suhu maksimum CVT. Lampu amaran CVT dipaparkan untuk beberapa minit sebelum enjin dimatikan.
    Pengesan suhu kedua adalah untuk mengesan suhu maksimum ‘belt’ CVT dan mematikan enjin.

2.Adakan ‘cut off’ untuk ‘top speed’ kereta PROTON SAGA FLX 1.3 (CVT) pada kelajuan 14okm/j.

Diharap pihak PROTON yang LEBIH ARIF dengan perkara ini boleh menyelesaikan masalah ini dengan secepat mungkin.

P/S: Alhamdulillah perjalanan hari ini selamat. AMIN

• paparadzi on May 16, 2012 at 10:19 am

Maybe Proton should introduce the Saga R3….

1.6 CFE engine, rear disc brakes, R3 suspension improvements. And keep the bodyworks standard. Should be a good Q car.

• Aku baru trade in Gen2 1.6(m)2005 dengan BLM 1.6 cvt. Yang aku suka ialah CVT top gear ratio. Faster then 5th speed Gen2.

Problem ialah dengan rattles noise sebelah kiri driver. Obvious bila speeding >100km/h. Mana datang bunyi tu? Mcm mana nak hilangkan bunyi tu?

• Plawok on Jul 22, 2012 at 10:05 am

the air-cond at the center looks sooo weird and uuggllyy….perodua myvi lagi best is very much better than this ugly saga

• brandon on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:34 pm

price is cheaper than myvi 1.5

• nakkkk