Proton P3-21A high speed Karak test caught on camera

It has been awhile since we had updates on the Proton P3-21A sedan. The last was when a pic of an undisguised yellow example made its way to the Internet, showing us a front end design that has been modified from the Tuah concept paraded at KLIMS 2010. If the final product stays true, the C-segment contender will have projector headlamps, LED DRLs and a wide “mask style” grille.

Anyway, reader Bay MH recently spotted something interesting when driving down the Karak highway to KL. He saw two taped up test mules of the P3-21A and whipped out his camera for some decent shots.

According to our car paparazzi, he was in a Vios and the Protons were doing over 140 km/h, with a Ford Fiesta chasing them (naughty fella!). He observed that both mules had four passengers onboard, and one unit sat lower at the back than the other, probably because it had cargo in the boot.

And just like in a Michael Bay movie, there were action scenes – Bay said that he had to slow down in the corners but had enough to catch up on the straights and both Protons were “cornering nicely at speed”.

Here are the shots that Bay (MH not Michael) managed to snap, bad black Fiesta included :) Click here to view our previous post featuring the abovementioned yellow undisguised pic.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I cant wait for the P3-21A to release ! This car is going to change the way Malaysians perceive Proton, permanently, in a very good way. :]

• speeding!….. polis saman them all, got photo evident………. :-D

• Littlebear on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Nothing will change. A Proton will always be a PROTON. Remember way back in the year 2000 (I think), the so called WAJA was said to be “Asia’s answer to BMW”? Haha… what a joke. :P

• yusoracist? on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:38 am

an undeveloped mind will always be an undeveloped mind.

past failures is what makes any company strong. yes, they makes mistakes and high unnessary expectations in the past, but look now, they are improving bit by bit. one car at a time. they also developed their own hybrid concept car.

be proud of your own country, boy.

• Littlebear on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Can you name me a thing which I can be proud of PROTON? We are paying more & getting less from PROTON as compared to other countries. For the past 25 years, the lower & middle class have been forced to buy sub standard cars from PROTON.

Enough is enough… Say “Tak Nak” to PROTON..

• mridzuan on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Despite owning a proton myself, I too think that PROTON does deserve all that bashing.

but then… anybody looking perodua’s direction lately? dang they’re getting very expensive, despite smaller design and somewhat similar quality wise.

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 08, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Paying more and getting less? Five years ago the Saga in the showrooms had been on sale for 21 years. It had crap bodywork, no airbags, no ABS and still had a carburetor atop its engine. Fast forward to today and you can get one with dual airbags, ABS and EBD, a modern 1.6-litre engine and a CVT gearbox. If that isn’t progress then what is?

• Paparazi on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:44 am

Proton? What’s that? Can I eat?

• alfie60 on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:21 am

Yup! Proton seems to recycle their marketing plan,big in promises short on deliveries.
        Proton cars may have evolved over time from Proton Saga to Proton Shit to Proton Turd to Proton Crap to Proton Feces to Proton Manure to Proton Poo-Poo.

Proton can design and develop and manufacture new models but we have to give credit to them because they never fail and always succeeded and successfully made shitty cars!!!

I came a cross a blog called beautiful nara saying that one of Proton board of directors got married to Syella and spent RM15 million on a wedding!

Man, those BOD dudes must be minting money!!!!!

• tokmoh on Dec 07, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Dey kaki gosip, go ask uncle google to double confirm who’s her real husband instead of blindly believing gossips and speculations.

• sawdust on Dec 07, 2011 at 4:24 pm

beautiful nara one of the most unreliable site ever….ohbulan or rotikaya better more professional

• Dude, the Waja was Proton’s first attempt at making their own, truly homegrown car. It was never meant to exceed anyone’s expectations. Fast forward 10 years and it is very obvious that Proton has learned a lot from the mistakes of the past. Now is the time to show Proton some support, dont you think so ?

• OMG, P1 got learned from mistake? my friend just had the new P.Persona, a few months later,dashboard start got sound….this call improvement?…

• OMG fool on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Bro.. my new Toyo oso got sound after a month.. even tho i dont use p1.. i still give support to them.. no brain

• kerelbort on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:06 pm

just another my friend/my neighbor/ my company/ my brother stories..

• irwan on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:04 am

My city’s dashboard also got sound some time. Good thing that it’s not Proton coz if it were, I’d be bashing Proton ady. Since it’s Honda, I just keep one eye close.

(it’s supposed to be a sarcasm, but halfway writing above comment, I feel like i’m too fall under prejudice, at least, it’s a good prejudice of Honda)

• cruel on Dec 20, 2011 at 3:04 pm

I bought Fiesta and after 2 weeks the aircond panel got crack on it. So your point is?

• tokmoh on Dec 07, 2011 at 5:04 pm

The waja’s a pretty good car. Simple, economical 4g18p powertrain and very reliable, apart from the power window problem. Even so, it’s fairly easy to rectify, change to metal frame type and it’ll last forever literally.

Design might be subjective, but you won’t give a frak about that as long as it works well. Personally, I like it, even in 2011, I feel it still looks relevant. Personally, I find any Korean designs before Sonata YF or Forte uglier than Waja, but that’s just me. Perhaps to the owners, they couldn’t give a frak so long it serves its purpose. Drive it for own enjoyment, not for others to belek macam takde kerja.

It’s spacious, comfortable, the steering wheel’s thick = awesome to hold, surely makes driving more enjoyable. And of course, that Lotus handling helps to enhance the experience too. My family’s Waja has done over 200,000km and still going strong. It’s not perfect, but it’s a truly cheap and cheerful choice. Nowadays can get one from under rm20k, and cheap to maintain too.

• qozh moreno on Dec 07, 2011 at 6:33 pm

agreed with tokmoh, Waja is a good decent car. Brought it brand new in 2004 & still kicking till today without any major problem aside the power window. I’ll forever proud to be a Waja owner. Low cost to maintain, any problem it’s a easy fix & is easy to DIY for repairs.

• zaids on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:04 pm

wei mat..kalo hang pandai hang p buat keta sendiri la…stkat komen sapa pn bley

• Kambing Gurun on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Then just keep on relying forever on other people’s technologies and don’t bother developing ours. And just keep on Kembang Hidung with German and Japanese technologies. Whatever improvements made by Proton are mere jokes…

• Prismo on Dec 07, 2011 at 5:54 pm

littlebear, i guess u still live in the 2000’s…. cerita BMW asia was from the previous management….. when ur friend made a mistake, i am very sure that u dont want people put a blame on u right….

• peter_pj on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:59 pm

I see them on the Karak highway all the time. Last time was during the Awal Muharam weekend (Sunday) – never knew that Proton staff are so hardworking to be doing testing on public holidays…

• soundsfishy on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:17 pm

lots of P1 staff are proud wit your comments and give thumbs up

• Wow this is my dream car i mean the black Fiesta.

• The Truth on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:12 am

Fiesta is ugly you should check your eyes condition

• Fiesta is nicer…don’t be jealous potong fanboys ! the worldwide logo Ford beat the cheap tiger head ! try to ask people from overseas,10 of them but only one know what is this coz of Lotusss…without Lotusss help i think on one.

• rodimus on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:16 pm

I really hope that too!!! Just keep our finger cross!!!

• HirumaKecil on Dec 07, 2011 at 7:54 am

Penantian satu penyiksaan.. ;-)

• ojaykb on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:26 pm

please put new engine plz..sick of campro…

• yahoo on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:40 pm

why? u got H1N1 from it aa?

if u got the money, why not gave if for free to Proton like 2 or 3 billions. then they can start on a whole new engine that would have ur embossed name on it. how about that for value?

• abahlu on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:08 pm

tu diaa…golongan PERKASA versi PROTON dah mai..kahkahkah

• What kind of retard comment is this? Who will give P1, 2 billion to develop new engine? They will use your money to buy Bungalows in Bangsar

• soundsfishy on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:19 pm

agree.. nampak sgt P1 makan duit…2-3 billion nak buat enjin…

• weh dude, you not study engineering, you dont no how much to develop an engine! just shut up!

• ezracopters on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:33 pm

dude..what’s wrong with Campro..im using Vanilla Campro (minus CVT, IFAM, CPS bla) , still i aint got no problem with it since 2008 and my clock up to 80K already.

i can rev up to 6k easily and after all these year still had no problem reaching 200km/hour. fact is, if u know how to maintain your engine and take care of it, u wont talk rubbish like this.. however i doubt u even had or drove a proton b4..

im not gonna drag this into Campro vs mivec vs vtec vs dvvt etc.. all i know is, apart from little lag under 3rpm, this is definitely one the best 1.6 N/A modern engine in term of performance & reliability.. beside, those lag can easily recovered by tweaking your exhaust setup & better breathing.. if u know what i mean la.. or perhaps ur just another Jack of All Trade, Master of None!!

p/s : PERKASA had nothing to do with this..Proton wasn’t made only for Malay. dont show of ur shallow mind here, u might wanna stick to ur tranungkite.net instead.

• my N/A campro already clocked 230k KM WITHOUT problem

• Regina Shwartz on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:56 am

Lag problem was solved using the IAFM system as well as the CPS system. Campro with either of these two systems are quite good already.

If I have one complaint it’s that they should work on improving the fuel efficiency of Campro even more, if they can bring it down to a point where a car like P3-21a or Persona can do 12km/l it’ll be good.

• the_fighter on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:39 am

well said bro, sometimes we have to be matured and not mix other things on this matter, just love it or hate it.

• the_fighter on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:55 am

well said bro!

• ntahpa2 on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:35 am

even PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000,using out source engine..campro to sluggish below 3.5K rpm..pls lah man, how long can u pass 3.5k rpm a day..we want new engine develop big torq at low rpm(not diesel),more fuel efficent & reliable,no tak3 sound come out of no where ,after a few k km of driving..this come from my own true experience..no more proton until they proof they r trully global competitors…

• kerelbort on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:10 pm

wow.. u nvr bother to know why it has to use a renault engine do you?

i nvr know that waja 1.8 is having good sales because using the same ‘out source’ engine

• tak paham bahasa ka?proton guna enjin renault sbb enjin campro tak best..bukan dia kata enjin renault best…enjin renault kalau guna rally mau barai…

• Erm.. I do not like to call people bodoh bahalol kat blog.. Tp oleh sbb semua dah macam bagus kat net ni aku nak cakap gak la.. Apa ke bangang? S2000 pakai renault ada sebab.. 1.8 dah satu hal.. Kalau campro ada 1.8 bleh gak cerita.. Maybe in the future they will use their own but it will be a hasle to do R&D for a few units of race car and get it reregister for racing.. Plus its for rally.. Chasis also play a big role..

• payne on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:54 am

There goes another “malay made hardline supporter”…. talking confidently but actually just another mouthpiece of the current gomen i mean um….. No. u can’t “kasi tegak benang yg basah” la dude. no one can. not even najib your beloved great leader. Best carmaker company spent millions of $$$ if not billions $$$ for R&B, but P1 & P2, especially P1, spent the “bloody rakyat money” to pay their masters. wonder how many $$$ P1 need to pay the old crap “M” as their mighty “ADVISER”….. Not to mention the $$$ paid to him during his dynasty. afterall he is the founder of the P1.

• niceone on Dec 07, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Talk sh!t brings you nowhere, only to toilet. Do u have any proof to support your statement, mr pea-sized brain? I mean mr payne?

• ah_lock on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:50 pm

R&B??? wth is that? haha

• then other manufacture used they own money ka whahah shitty lah u

• rilekla on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:49 pm

lawak la your ‘engrish’. very the london u know. company mana plak spend millions for R&B? kalau sony music ka EMI ka betul la gak. ini company kreta. nak komen pun brother, make sure u ada knowledge la. tak pasal gua gelak2 guling2 cam tenggiling baca komen lu.

P/S please ‘learns’ more from your kampung ‘master’.. fuhhhh…

• we’ve already thrown in billions of Ringgit to Proton for years… we should have far excelled Hyundai long time ago since Proton and Hyundai started around the same time. But Hyundai is better so much..

• Regina Shwartz on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:57 am

Unfortunately I have to agree with this – it’s sad that Hyundai can make a car as nice as the new Sonata but we’re still stuck with the likes of Persona :'(

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:19 am

“Proton and Hyundai started around the same time…”

Oh, how wrong you are.

The Hyundai Pony, the first Korean car, predates the Proton Saga by a full decade. Hyundai also had (and still has) the backing of a huge industrial conglomerate, whereas Proton has, by and large, stood alone, with help from Mitsubishi (another similarity with Hyundai) and the government. And honestly, would you prefer a current Gen-2 or an Accent from ten years ago?

And really, you say we throw billions of ringgit to Proton? How much do you pay in tax every year? Do you not think the government needs at least some of the money to run the country? How much of the rest of it gets past subsidies, the rest of the GLCs, the cronies that continue to suck up the the government’s coffers before ending up at Proton and in the hands of the people who actually create the cars? And how much do you think it costs to run any sort of car company, much less one that mass-produces cars for 25 countries around the world, requiring massive amounts of raw materials and production equipment and billions of ringgit in research and development?

I’m not saying Proton is without its own share of problems, but I wish people would stop making assumptions based on nothing but conjecture and hearsay.

• payne on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:26 am

dude, i hate to say this, but every people in malaysia buying this “tin milo + tin susu cap junjung” body-made car are paying their tax. no gomen subsidize in the so-called “local automaker” car pricing. its otherwise. the rakyat who owned a proton persona paid an overpriced car. in the middle east the proton persona priced less than myr40k but persona in malaysia priced more than myr50k. what should this mean? bcoz of the gomen “protection” to proton, the rakyat has to pay more to get a local brewed car. import car like the honda jazz priced at less than myr35k at our neighboring indon. here how much it cost u for the same brand? i hv seen a car doc from a local dealer about the nissan navara price. full spec priced only around myr50k b4 tax and excise. when the car inter our market, its price are more than myr100k. crazy or what? imagine if the nissan navara sale here at only myr60k? what class to buy the “tin2 nipis”. i’m sure the P1 & P2 will tutup kilang. its reality. dont be hypocrites. the issue is not about being patriotic to our country or not. its about the quality. quality do matter.

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:05 am

Again, conjecture.

Just because a product is made here, it doesn’t make it cheaper than it is anywhere else. It could be the exchange rate, the local distributor’s willingness to cut profit margins in exchange for an aggressive pricing strategy or a myriad of other reasons. BMW, for example, sells the 320d in the UK at a price considerably lower than that in its home market in Germany. Does it mean that buyers in Germany are paying for an overpriced car*?

As for the Honda Jazz costing less than RM35,000 in Indonesia, well, that’s a bit unrealistic, don’t you think? I took the liberty of going to Honda’s Indonesian website and found that the price of the cheapest, manual-equipped Jazz (we only get the high-spec automatic model) is over RM68,000, as near as makes no difference twice what you claimed it would be. And remember, this is the price of a car that’s assembled there; we import the Jazz from Thailand. Realistically, if Honda were to assemble it here, the prices would be about the same.

People make all sorts of noises about how imported cars could be way cheaper if the government didn’t raise the import tax to protect the local carmakers. They can’t. A good imported car is always going to be relatively expensive – if you can only afford a base-spec Myvi, you’re not going to be able to afford a Jazz, no matter how much the government lowers the import tax. Either deal with it or work harder.

And while quality does indeed matter (and yes, Proton still lags behind established brands when it comes to build quality), come on, “tin2 nipis”? The last time I’ve encountered a Proton with “tin Milo” metalwork, Badawi was still Prime Minister.

*[insert overpriced BMW joke here]

• casder on Dec 07, 2011 at 4:12 am

“Proton and Hyundai started around the same time”

you are so wrong, read more please

• PakAbu on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:56 am

Even if you got your facts right, Hyundai is a bad example. It’s been investigated for corruption and was one of the chaebols.

Hyundai started much earlier. And was a big engineering/ship building company.

Use Wikipedia. At least.

• ye ke same time? i tot they are 20 years older..or maybe there’s nothing much experience to gain in 20 years time perhaps…perhaps…perhaps~

• farghmee on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:13 am

bro..

Hyundai tu kt Korea conglomerat cm Sime Darby..u tau ka?
          Hyundai capital dia berapa billion?

talk is cheap

• Herothecat on Dec 11, 2011 at 6:35 am

Hyundai have been how long in the industries ? apart from that all the NEW 2010/11 Hyundai were design by an import European designer and just look at the old Hyundai ? As they had admitted ” moving from typical Korean style”, small mouth/radiator and cartoon eyes/headlamp. Do some research dude.

• ntahpa2 on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:58 pm

perkaton

• Otak masih di KBSM lagi nih..tu pasal masih bonsai

• oligopoli on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:26 pm

i suppose it still campro, albeit using addition turbocharger. wonder why people keep saying campro is bad. how many time we see campro blow haa?

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:26 pm

What’s wrong with the Campro engine?

It would be ridiculous to start anew, especially as the Campro family of engines itself is still relatively fresh. Even as it is, the power and torque figures of the 1.6 CPS is on par with the likes of the mills in the Kia Forte and the Honda Jazz. And even if the fuel consumption of the engine in a Gen-2 is currently higher than it is on the other two, I’m pretty sure the engineers can eke out quite a bit more from the current engine. I’d love to see some improvements made on the current engine, sure, like turbochargers or direct injection, but a completely new engine block? Really?

What I’d really like to see is a new gearbox. Given Proton’s trajectory of late, I wouldn’t be surprised if they engineer the P3-21A with a CVT, and that’s fine. But I’d love to see them make a five-, even six-speed auto (and, as a bonus, a six-speed manual), no matter how unlikely that would be.

• raja ninja on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:37 pm

would u say “please put new engine plz..sick of VTEC…” if u buy a honda?

• Yes, f*king honda needs a small capacity force induction engine.

• rosdi on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:11 pm

I am proton supporter… but I do agree that campro is very sluggish below 3500rpm… they need a new engine… badly!..

• 3.5 sluggish << explain mcm mane sluggish tuh ke ko pakai gear berapa.. im user iafm 1.3 memang lah tak power mcm vtech ke hape ke nak laju jauh sekali. servis continues kat proton is the best.. kete pun sihat jerk. tak der pun sluggish at 3.5k rpm. nak pecut senang jer love my iafm campro 1.3. FC pun sangat baik.. in town driving bro so ur mind set. driving skills n car care is important.. (stop using outside foreman lah.. t komplen mcm mcm haha )

• amirad on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:43 am

I have never tried the base campro engines but according to my buddies they are peaky and need revs to keep on the boil. But I’ve been using the CPS for the past three years and it seemed it to be a totally different animal. Even my buddies who are using the standard campro engines said it felt like a different engine. So far, reliability and performance is satisfactory. Maybe for the new models, Proton can use the CPS for the baseline models and CPS turbocharged supercharged for the premium or hi-line models.

• go2 proton on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:57 am

proton pls make 1ZR-FAE as benchmark for u develop engine..i luv proton..make it better…

• sengal

• observer on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:29 pm

nice… ;D

• Lean Pei Erh on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:31 pm

looks out of proportion

• Prismo on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Body curve was nice and clean… the car was very nice indeed.. Thumbs up.. bravo Proton..

• Amustapha on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama,
    Proton punya cerita, fiesta dapat nama! Siann..Proton

• Loneranger on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:36 pm

waiting for VN Expat to bash plus all the P1’s haters what would they they bout this post…

LET THE BASHING begin…!!!!!

• Eh Proton, just show us the damn car la. many ppl interested.

• Forte, anyone?

• speeding and taking pictures while driving, polis & jpj saman!

• kerelbort on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:16 pm

must ban this fella…. our source for spyshot wanna get saman pulak..

i know most of paultan reader is a good manner and highly skill driver.. the skill is always on tap… hehe

• artworkz on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:45 pm

smart lah that black car! i means ford fiesta

• wendy on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:45 pm

where all proton typical basher? too bz working?

• Prismo on Dec 06, 2011 at 6:31 pm

yea.. they are doing overtime and working part time on night to get extra income for paying their monthly installment T and H car… They will said bcoz of Proton they had to working hard to buy other brand other than proton.. hahaha pity…

• Seriously on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Too busy looking at better cars. Dude, don’t start a fight. Douchebag.

• Honda Freak on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:47 pm

expect PROTON level of interior trims…but surely 2 variants of engines will be offered. improved campro for low line and the new “Charged Fuel Efficient” engine for the Hi line..surely better than current gen2 and Persona…but dun expect too much..hahaha

• rodimus on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:11 pm

I agreed with u don’t expect too much!! Ha ha

• gabla on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:39 am

Exora’s interior is much better than Toyota Fortuner yet the cost is only half of the Fortuner.

• soundsfishy on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:26 pm

r u comparing total cost of fortuner or just its interior. Much of fortuner cost is not on the interior…. get ur fact right or give figures….

• Hayden on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:47 pm

Fuh, macho man in the making ;)

• civicEK on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:53 pm

don’t disappoint us this time..

• Made In Crony as usual.

Anyway Protongkat always have this over-fanatic mentality for benchmarking. Just like Savvy they too fanatic against Kelisa only to kicked out by Myvi when launched.

Now this Protongkat P3-21A clearly too fanatic over Forte and Kia designs with Global Car ambition. Good luck Protongkat, when this new car launced it’s already too late with new Hyundai Elantra and also new Forte lurking ahead far better design interior/exterior million light years off.

New Elantra/New Forte vs New P3-21A for global car competition??….Tough luck lah Protongkat! Gonna be a big global joke instead!

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:26 am

New Forte? New? For goodness sake, the Forte hasn’t even been through its first facelift yet.

• rendi on Dec 07, 2011 at 4:18 am

saga flx se 1.6 is much better than 1.5 myvi lagi best !!

• wendy on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:04 pm

i heard it got 6airbags and traction control system..

• Sonic Boomz on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:24 pm

i heard if they r subjected to same taxes as other companies, noone will buy this shit

• Bob_B78 on Dec 06, 2011 at 6:00 pm

6 airbags and TCS wont help you much since proton cars are like Milo tin IMHO.

• not anymore

• Bob_B78 on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:29 am

Will the airbags / TCS work when you really need it? (eg, power windows..)

• much better than toyota and honda parts failure than can kill

• weh bob then those ferrari that involve in crash at japan lg pity ma carbon only hahahah all total lost.. pls belajar pasal inersia dulu sebelum cakap pasal tin milo ape… p1 never used tin milo skin like p2 .. for sure p1 car saftey most important.. lg cepat sebarkan hentakan lg selamat pemandu compare u pakai kete keras. banyak dah ujian di buat new car will destroyed in acc but casis will save driver not the skin lah bodoh.. tgk f1 sekali langgar bekecai semua that same tech now adopt to all car manufacture..

• Bob_B78 on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Impressive Ecah!!!! you got read car journals…….

This is what I mean of milo tin
          http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-45257.html
          N this is only hitting Honda EX5….
          U think softer material to absorb impact is enough ah?
          What about ‘Moment of inertia” factor?
          What about force dispersion safety for non crumble zone areas?

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 08, 2011 at 7:32 pm

ONLY an EX5?

No matter how light we think bikes like the EX5 are, the fact remains that they’re still quite substantial things, capable of very high speed. The pictures on the forum also don’t show how fast either of them were going, so who are you to talk about moment of inertia or force dispersion?

• Bob_B78 on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:14 am

I agree that it all depends on the speed that the car hit the bike.
            But u must consider the weight of the motorbike and rider vs the weight the car.
            Let say if the car hit the bike at 60km/h and lost about 10% of the cars total length at the front. Imagine if it was a tree or another car with much heavier mass. Can you imagine how many percent of the of the front length is lost? If you lost more than 40% then you are in deep trouble….

Let say a car hit a tree with 1KN force. At the point of impact the 1KN force is shifting between the tree and the car. Let assume the tree is much harder than the car, so the tree absorb small portion of the force disperse or push back the remaining force to the car. Because the car lost the pushing game, so it means it have absorb all the remaining force. The crumble zone of the car needs to absorb the remaining force at shortest distance possible due to preventing the car continuing moving fwd into the tree until penetrating into the cabin. Imagine someone from behind pushing you towards a wall…..

That is y generally european executive cars have heavy bonnets and high strength material bumpers. The main purpose to partially absorb the impact force and disperse back to the object that hit it or it hit the object.

So let me ask you,
            U prefer your car to absorb all the remaining impact force in the event of accident or disperse it?

• Bob_B78 on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Impressive Ecah!! you got read car journals on crash safety

U know most supercars skin is made of composite material that have very high strength. These material are really hard n y do they use material as skin since u say. ‘lg cepat sebarkan hentakan lg selamat pemandu compare u pakai kete keras’?
          I tell you y
          The speed and weight of these cars are much higher that moment of INERTIA generated by them at the time of impact cannot be absorbed or dispersed without using very high strength material for skin and chassis.

Now, can you explain y supercars need to use very high strength material as skin for their cars?

I dun expect proton to use high strength material which is normally very expensive on their cars but i do expect better crash cell integrated in their cars
          I believe nobody would pay RM300K for carbon fiber body persona with 1.6 campro engine right?

• Speedster on Dec 10, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Actually the frontend of a car is designed for absorbing impact. From the saga pic, i think they have remove the bumper for easier towing, thats why it look so like like that.

Personally i’ve seen honda civic crash into kelisa back.. The result is the front of civic very badly and kelisa backend still the same. Why? kelisa backend is design not to absorb much impact because it to near to rear passenger. Now we can see that the kelisa rear passenger life is save by the honda engineer.

Each car has it own design crash zone, from what i see in the saga pic is the crash zone do its job and saving the EX5 rider life. That why there are lot of design engineer in automotive industries. Some of people may think, this is bad, actually it meant to save people life. And also as you can see in the picture, the car chassis is not affected. Why? Because it design for more deadlier crash impact. Like trees or other car.

So if you only know about force and no nothing about the material characteristic, structural design, force distribution etc, pls dont make your own conclusion. Because to produce a car, its not only about physic, its about engineering & technology

• Bob_B78 on Dec 11, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Actually if you read carefully, i never compared with a japanese car.
            The reason I already mentioned at bottom of the page.
            Material characteristic, structural design and force distribution I do know about it as I am involved in testing and I am certified to audit in the automotive industry.
            This is a discussion only.
            U expect me to write a thesis on those in here and bore ppl to death?

• i heard it got launch control and start stop button. Hybrid will come as option. :P

• Amustapha on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Yeah..i also heard it has I Drive tech from BMW, auto lane correction from Audi, night vision from Merz, can accelerate faster than Ferrari..etc..

• Wak Segan on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:12 pm

it got DSG and TSI too….hahaha

• Wak Segan on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:25 pm

it got DSG and TSI too…haha

• sfssd on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Mana VN Expat ni? cuti ke? atau dah balik Vietnam? hehehe…

• uzair on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:22 pm

read it in one newspaper yesterday said due june 2011, saw on tv new sometime ago saying it will be out on march. which one??? i am so confuse.

• JeremyNg on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Look like all of the Paparazzi helped Proton to promote this car alot !!! Now i am vry interested to see de real car and the spec ……… Feel like storm to Proton factory n look at it XD

• Expatriate VN on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:26 pm

Speeding with Cam-Tak-Pro engine! Where is polis,tidur ke? No saman! After back to workshop, sure the engine wear out!

• oligopoli on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:27 pm

must be similar to tuah now

• good to know real testing and engineering work being carried out by proton. keep it up and speed up the learning to catch up ! i mean this in a positive way, mind u.

btw, paul, i think you need to pixellate the faces of those guys in the car. poor chaps already bashed by some of the haters here, lets not make it personal for them.

well done from us who appreciate the challenges.

• gozillaPeniz on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:44 pm

wow this proton can corner @ 140km/hr+ !! we r so proud of you proton !!!

• kadajawi on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Not bad. Maybe that Fiesta is their benchmark car, to compare it to?

• bonceng on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:52 pm

good luck ploton!

• the wishlist proton promised 25 years ago (thinking that they will be as good /better as japanese):

– traction control
    – ESP
    – 6 speed gearbox (not some CVT crap)
    – 4 airbags
    – Bi-xenon headlamps
    – anti-glare rear view mirror
    – Strong engine (1.6 turbo perhaps)

if not, after 25 years, i think they still make cars the same spec as per 25 year ago. might as well not..

• slimershine on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:14 am

traction control? your area got winter aa? heh heh heh..

• dude my conti TCS is activated several times on watery and heavy downpour on LPT highway

• Kapparo on Dec 07, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Dude…last week (29 Nov, around 3 pm) hujan lebat from KL 2 Putrajaya, my Honda City nearly skidded at MEX due to aquaplaning. luckily i got hold of the steering pretty well & not braking hard. Then a few km, i saw 2 cars skidded on the left lane near toll exit at Putrajaya, the other two cars skidded on the right lane. The P2 Alza on the right lane, sudah pusing the other way round, depan hancur. The driver got out & waved at traffic so they wont hit the car. But his action actually puts himself in danger. Kereta lalu lane kanan mana sempat nk brake time hujan ni?

So, only winter can cause skiddings & accidents ka?

• TCS is nothing when the drive is depending on it to much. pls g belajar advance driving tech then u know even normal car u can control it easyly even with out that tech. dude u so lucky not to flip over due to aquaplane damn road condition..

• A lot of people wanted just to reach point A to point B safely… They have bigger bills to pay and many other things to concentrate on.. Plus companies spend billions to fix it into their cars as a compulsary for safety reason and selling point.. If you want to drive based on your skills.silakan.. Just dont get others killed

• Hadi75 on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:19 am

Bro… Traction control not for winter use only la…

• the…they return from Durian Shopping..that why the heavy load look..ehhehheheh

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Another crappy car from Proton. Not worth discussing. Yes, people. I am a Proton basher.

• yet you discussed it…

• GT-R fanboy on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:53 am

stupid basher,waste time to die hard for bashing,

Thumb up if you smart,clever and handsom,Thumb down if you not,peace.

• Leonardo on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:43 am

Honda the Poewer of Dreams (Really???) Are you the owner of a recalled Honda?

• Mokmeng on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:05 pm

interesting indeed..
    hopefully come with global spec..not just on name as global car..
    its time for proton to move on and prove something to all proton basher..

• teelim on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:18 pm

all protons (from the Satria GTI/Perdana V6 onwards) handle well because of Lotus input.

infact a standard Waja handles better than a standard Civic 2.0. but that about it.

I seriously hope that Proton does not “screw with us” as it did in past.

• ayamxxx on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:24 pm

lah.. tahap fiesta je speed campro turbo. waste of time tggu campro turbo

• lah… fiesta tu dah cecah redline kot….proton tu belum lagi….

• lah.. tahap kancil je speed bmw. waste of time beli bmw
      wut say u?

• Nizam80 on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Both the Fiesta and the prototype Proton are definitely 1.6 in displacement. But, that prototype is definitely heavier, and carrying a full load, yet the lighter Fiesta still playing catch up.

• Lim Kopi on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:33 pm

WOW nice hatchback shown there as well ….

OOOppps its the Fiesta …. :)

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Persona Elegance can be driven 150km/h most of all along the Karak curves, including the two lanes area where the curves are sharper by not needing more than one lanes…! strictly by utilizing single lane only.
    140km/h with 4 passengers on board including the driver…

that’s with the stock Silverstone Kruiser 1 rubbers…

and the RnH personnels never satisfied with how their hardworks been tested and pushed by the journalists..! none of the journalists including Paultan have tested the way it should be..!

people sometimes just know how to talk big, but don’t actually have what it takes… not even the driving skills needed

• putiy on Dec 07, 2011 at 4:09 am

yup persona has very good handling at corners, maybe i’m not that good in driving to follow behind but what i can say that so far i saw it taking corners very very fast 2 times, first at karak highway and second at kajang exit

• mizzuddn945 on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:04 am

all stock factory setup, yet, the FC returned me 7.1L/100km, from Kuantan to Ampang

• waja2007 on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:14 pm

A stock Waja manual campro can easily climb up the Genting Sempah with at least 4th gear. I just have to lower the gear if there is a stubborn car or a stupid driver that ‘syok sendiri’ on the right lane.

• makeitmine on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:43 pm

I guess Proton tested the car correctly by driving at 140km/h on the highway. Campro engine got better sound at that speed compared to some Korean cars. But need to improve more on the engine sound.

The problem is what engine will drive this car against the Koreans and Japanese. If Campro, it will be a SURE LOOSER!

Lotus has a new 100kW 1ZR-FAE 1.6 litre petrol engine that kicks off the 2011 Elise line-up, producing 100kW and 160Nm of torque. The 0-100km/h sprint is covered in 6.5 seconds, compared to 5.4 seconds for the Elise R and 4.6 seconds for the supercharged Elise SC.

Come on Proton, sell a version of this car with the new Lotus Elise engine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let show Malaysians why we still own/love Lotus till today!

• rosdi on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:32 am

1ZR-FAE is a Toyota engine lah!..

• that is toyota engine, not lotus engine…
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_ZR_engine#1ZR-FE

• bobdbilder on Dec 06, 2011 at 6:01 pm

I’ve seen it twice; just going up Karak after Gombak tol and on the Elite heading towards KLIA. The last one, for sure they were not traveling more than 120.

I would be heartbroken if they were faster than me. Safe to say, new engine is a tree hugger. Glad I’ve bought my CPS. But things might change after Khazanah sells off their shares.

• if someone hates another person because of his race we call it racist, but what do we call someone who hates car manufacturer? So much hatred in his heart each time he heard the name of the manufacturer he will go nuts.

• black king on Dec 06, 2011 at 6:25 pm

what a naughty fiesta!

• Out of Luck on Dec 06, 2011 at 6:49 pm

The car looks almost ready and darn nice too. How come report in Star newspaper said it will only be available in 2 years time with testing in winter oversea starting next year. But then again, turbo-charged Exora is not out yet and has been quiet lately. I’m sure many people already jittery, can’t wait to see both of them here ASAP. Come on Proton, stop teasing already. Offer to Malaysians Exora this year and Tuah early next year!!

• cube_monkey on Dec 06, 2011 at 6:50 pm

i bet the powerplant is 1.6 campro CPS or FM. hahahahaha

• BeemerFreak on Dec 06, 2011 at 6:53 pm

Please turbocharge the engines. Dont follow stupid Japanese

• najibameno on Dec 06, 2011 at 6:58 pm

estimated price from RM99999.99

• mamat on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:01 pm

I love proton..eventhough i own nissan livina n mywife own myvi,i always follow proton new car news..cant wait dis car be sold to public perhaps dis year..i admire u proton…good job

• vtecroar on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:10 pm

aku suka mamat ni, eventhough he driving something else, he still support proton. aku pn drive something else, but love to follow proton and wish them to be as good as other brother.

• jay8393 on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Perhaps the Fiesta is part of the Proton entourage?

• beef stew on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Sad and still lousy

• jay8393 on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:47 am

How do you know it’s lousy? Have you driven it already? Please don’t make any judgement before you have even driven the real car yourself, let alone see it in the metal.

• beef stew on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:22 pm

suck

• JeremyNg on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:57 pm

Jz wonder why u sad it suck ??!! did u try it b4 ??!! Sometime if u wan to comment something bad , make sure it common sense ….. Don jz bash like an uncivilized people.

• November on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:24 pm

true, don’t kecewakan kami semua this time :) bravo proton!!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:35 pm

looks good so far. hope it is even better after wraps are taken off.

• ismail on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:40 pm

awesome!

• GGs.exe on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Sure come with CVT inside liao~~

• intermilan on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:51 pm

exterior looks promising.
    hopefully, Proton is going for high quality interior.

Makes it feel expensive and high quality.. enough of cheapskate interior.

• Absolute Rider on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Launching date push back to June 2012? According to some sources, Proton needs more time to finish the P3-21A design in some areas to really meet the global standard. It is true?

If that is true, please redesign the grill and head lamps. Perhaps the design of front bonnet and bumper also need to redesign to follow the grill design.

Proton please give us the Special Edition and R3 too, soon to make it more variants to choose especially when the model still fresh!!!!! Don’t let people waiting for too long, they might walk away and get other model or from other brand!!!!

Thank you, Proton!!!!!

• i think it goes like this based on the news :
      Released to Malaysian market in Feb and released to international market in June..

• Inspira on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:10 pm

This will kill Inspira’s market!

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:14 pm

bean counter does cut the full potential maybe..?

• LE_buruk on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:39 pm

i want it to be supercharged please……………………………

• tiger760li on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:49 pm

focus on THE WORD ”””””’ BUILT IN QUALITY””””””” INSIDE AND OUTSIDE ALL= SUCCESS

• define quality…. even toyota got problems, honda just recalled hue to airbags failure..how you define quality?

• Any have idea when will this car launch. My car is aging and need to change it any time. Hope they could launch it in 1st quarter.

• Aman Shah on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Come on…turbo plz wth at least 180hp…then i would buy it

• accord on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Wonder what engine will be used.. campro cps / campro turbo / mitsubishi engine?

• ko malu saje... on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:36 pm

According to our car paparazzi, he was in a VIOS and the Protons were doing over 140 km/h, with a Ford Fiesta chasing them (naughty fella!)….

…..And just like in a Michael Bay movie, there were action scenes – Bay said that he had to slow down in the corners but had enough to catch up on the straights and both Protons were “cornering nicely at speed”.
    ———————————————————–

Pity the Vios (or TRD) owners, spent a fortune and got owned by equivalent or cheaper Euro designed (Ford) and Euro inspired (Proton) cars…

• Critique on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:41 am

Well, some buy it for the brand, others for its reliability, some for its frugal engine,and some even for the looks!

But

If I wanted power, I rather get at a Waja.

So, is there any surprise the Vios wld be less powerful than the much newer Fiesta?
      OR a Proton that for all we know could be force induced?

Cheers :)

P.s. – Org tolong tangkap gambar punnn, kereta dia kene bash.. hampe :P hahahaha..

• Bay MH on Dec 07, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Some people don’t spend a fortune to buy a T or H, they just can afford it. A fortune is spent on Merc/BMW/AUDI/etc or… :) cheers!.

I drive a Waja and Vios Dugong btw. :). Waja, great at speed on B roads. Vios, KL-JB rm50 of ron95 fuel….what to say, I’m cheap. haha! :)

No need to bash2 la. Proton did a good job lately, kudos to them.

Cheers again!

• samkhairul on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:55 pm

proton is always full of surprises, he he he

• no need to cover lah..its boring design anyway…other car manufacturer wanna copy ka?? hahaha :P

• How good they built still proton, only those force to by bcos of price, not quality and name

• whitesmileman on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:10 pm

It’s nice to know that you are “privvy” to these kind of escapades by proton, i mean who has the time and energy to “know” when these mules are out and about. A staged PR exercise by Proton i guess. I mean, what ground breaking technology does proton have? I don’t think Proton has ANY groundbreaking technology to share with its customers. So why the secret? When Proton releases something, its like PHEW, finally, they caught up with 30 years old technology. I MEAN, compare, Proton and Daewoo, Proton and Hyundai? Proton can only serve, third world shit. 1 Banana Malaysia.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:44 pm

Too much “wish list” by blind supporters for this jaguh kampong Cam-Tak-Pro engine car test run at 140 Km/H at public road that endanger other road users! Somemore “camouflage” the car as its is “white blood princes” in the making!

Too much hoo-hah when P1 want to introduce the so call first global small car. This is another joke, or another freak PR exercise with catchy “global small car” phrase for syiok sendiri. Remebered last time Savvy launched with TUV certification with every car have to pass thru the German fat guy inspection! See what happen to this crap junks now??? yet MyVi is still selling like goreng pisang panas.

Another over-rated claimed was when launched Waja, it is proclaimed by TM as “BMW of Asia”. Now “1st global small car” for the codename P3-21A sedan? Funny, despite P1 car all launched either by our Prime Minister or VIP, yet it is still a piece of junks. Never in the history of Lamborgini, Ferrari, Now under grave Rover, GM, Ford, VW, T and H cars are launched by their respective Prime Minister/President, yet they achieve world class stature and command general respect from their consumers.

Look from the “back, in front, bottom or from top”, the claim of “small global car” is just another catchy statement that are likely not represent the real upcoming car! Let all the idiots blind supporters have their day dreaming “wish list”, and if they happily owned this piece of junks, then the cronies also happily laughing all the way to the bank to fill in his kitty, maintain their 4 wives and more than enough to feed their next 7 generations.

• Global Small Car is meant to be Proton EMAS that will be produced in 2013.. Meanwhile P3-21A is a codename for a Proton next sedan..P3-21A is in segment B sub C which is not suitable to be called SMALL CAR..Let them be blind Proton supporters but don’t be a super blind stupid basher like you..You are the one Jaguh Kampung in here to be nominated because you are only can speak here instead of go to see DSZ and talk about this..Will yah?.. I know you won’t..Because you only can speak this just want to see Proton going to fall down.. =)

*excuse me..pardon my super bad English and rude words =)*

• Expatriate VN on Dec 07, 2011 at 6:06 pm

“Meanwhile P3-21A is a codename for a Proton next sedan..P3-21A is in segment B sub C which is not suitable to be called SMALL CAR.”

This is bodoh sombong to the highest order brainless crap! Read the link provided below: –

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vehicle_size_class

Not only super bad English and rude words, but otak udang foul mouth talk trash, let you improve your English for car segmentation based on link provided by the above: –

B segment: –
        American English – Subcompact car
        British English – City car/supermini
        Euro Car Segment – B-segment small cars
        Euro NCAP 1997 – 2009 – Supermini

Examples for B segment cars: –
        Ford Fiesta, Volkswagen Polo, Ford Figo, Opel Corsa, Peugeot 207

C segment: –
        American English – Compact car
        British English – Small family car
        Euro Car Segment – C-segment medium cars
        Euro NCAP 1997 – 2009 – Small family car

Examples for C segment cars: –
        Ford Focus, Opel Astra, Toyota Auris, Volkswagen Golf, Chevrolet Cruze

The above link illustrate your super stupidity, you are likely graduated from local U unemployed graduate (or not at all)! …….

• sfssd on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Haaa, datang pun VNExpat, we missed you…..! why were you late man? hahahaha……!

• then, what the hell u trying to prove?.. U are King of The Car?.. Know everything about cars?..hahaha.. PERIOD!

*still i got more LIKES/ THUMBS UP than ur baseless comments* :P

• “Not only super bad English and rude words, but otak udang foul mouth talk trash, let you improve your English for car segmentation based on link provided by the above: –

B segment: –
          American English – Subcompact car
          British English – City car/supermini
          Euro Car Segment – B-segment small cars
          Euro NCAP 1997 – 2009 – Supermini….

ABOVE?..hahha..should be BELOW instead of ABOVE la english teacher..btw, we are talking about p3-21a is not a global SMALL car as u said early in ur ridiculous comment..p3-21a still be considered as MEDIUM segment (B or C).. while SMALL car is in A segment..

“Now “1st global small car” for the codename P3-21A sedan?”..–>> 1st Global Small Car will be Proton EMAS not P3-21A, u moron~

• Hahahaha each time i sees him commenting i just click dislike.. How fun is that?

• why so much hatred?
      pity you, just because of proton, ypu go into hypertension mode.
      cool it man.

• I agree Expatriate VN says

I don’t know what so proud about this thing?Turbo lolx cant trust this thing Turbo quality…Camcam Engine is better…

• Wheeler on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:14 am

Hmm..Bro, I think global small car doesnt refer to this one..

• farghmee on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:34 am

“Now “1st global small car” for the codename P3-21A sedan?”

twisted-tongue eh? not 1st global small car lah.

F O C U S

• If you dont like this post, better keep quiet.

And read and commest post of Boeing and Airbus.
      Hmm, how about Scorpene?

• evilz13 on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:55 pm

Pelik bile setiap kali tgk post Proton je, mesti ade yg nk bash… tak tau ape la masalah sampai tak puas hati sgt dgn Proton… kalau tak suke tu, buat tak tau je la bile tgk post pasal Proton, ni tak… still nk masuk jgk bash… masalah mental ke ape??

• Pelik bila baca komen ko mcm baru lahir semalam…syooh2.. pegi main komputer kat dalam bilik

• benoulli on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:58 am

dia takut keta proton lagi best dari keta dia la tu
      padahal memang keta proton dh banyak improve pun
      takat keta jepun tu macam kacang je proton potong kat selekoh

• panda on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:05 am

harap2 model nih akan meletup la,,tapi kalu design dok kemah n still lebih kurang serupo je mmg rugi penantian demi penantian,,,anyway ,,gud luck proton,,

• nabill on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:27 am

The edge report states da car will be heading to switzerland for winter testing in da coming weeks…

• duit hang punya. kreta depa punya. hang nak beli, beli. tak nak beli, diam.

• Regina Shwartz on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:09 am

The exterior is okay-lah. I hope they fix the interior though – the Proton interiors of the past have been woefully poor.

I guess I’ll be going too far if I wish that this car launches with a Range Extended Hybrid powertrain right?

• This Proton BN project car should bungkus already for now. Why we must support Mamakthir project we as Malaysia should support quality product not mamakthir. We should love Malaysia as Indonesian people love Indonesia.

• Hero86 on Dec 08, 2011 at 3:37 am

owh, i forgot.. and u are… indonesian is it???

• DSA what a shit are u talking about… ko nak jd cm proton ke nih meh t bg tau dgn tun kalau ko nak cakap kat sini berani lah kalau ko tak suke pun jgn masukkan politikkat sini. dah sah proton tu tun yang cetus idea sebab tu kene pertahankan. indon ada ke industri kereta sendiri… dulu org dok kutuk tun gila nak buat jambatan pulau pinang … kata gila lah mane leh buat jambatan kat laut. dah siap semua pakat pakai.. bile die bg cadangan buat proton semua dok kutuk tak kan berjaya sebab tak maju lah ape lah sekali sampai sekarang maju jerk.. DSA i think ko patut g duduk kat UK lah duk negara yang tak der subsidi mcm malaysia.. tu pun ada lg yang cakap sombong… pakai merc pun isi minyak subsidi tp kutuk negara sendiri.

• always talking about the past, waja bmw asia, savvy tuv. History is to be learnt from, not a laughfing matter.
    Thats why people never said that how stupid you are when u r a baby, cant talk or count, or even never talk about how u always pop a s*** n ur mom @ dad have to clean u up when u r growing up.
    Or is it mr expat, still s**tting in the pants lately@people always remind u how dumb u r when u r young…
    The point is, they make mistakes in the past throughout their journey,learning bout how to produce a car, like u,u also make mistakes in ur learning process,if not, show me that u never get below 100 percent in ur exam marks.
    I know u will be babbling bout cronies n politics, but that is politics, in this world nowadays, there is no divine politics or no chronism, even u also use chronism in ur life, even once.
    If u want to blame, just blame those who r up there, not prtn. We r here to discuss the development of our national car maker aka prtn. N by no mean hyundai is at the same age as prtn,they r far older,its like father n son diff in experience.
    Who make bmw statement, who use tuv as marketing savvy before? Its not dsz, so stop blaming wrong person.
    So focus to the topic,shall we.

• sam witwicky on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:14 pm

i hate ur habits…Proton @ P1..not ‘prtn’..

• nazis on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:27 pm

What P1?? P1 wimax? Proton@P1@[email protected] same. this car will be much more better then previous generation proton cars. Exterior and Interior maybe same level with current generation forte/lancer/altis/civic, but when others maker next gen cars come out. Bashers will punch proton kaw2 punya LOL~! If proton got reliable Turbo engine, 6 speed MT transmission@7 Speed auto or CVT plus others new features will save proton maybe. Most important the build quality and interior trim/panel fitting. handling already proven better then japanese/korean cars in same category. Proton ROCK If ABS,EBD+new TC and 6 airbag. Good Luck Proton!

• sam witwicky on Dec 07, 2011 at 5:05 pm

btw i agreed with u mat..cheers~

• Expatriate VN on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:10 am

What is history, those who don’t learn from history and/or history blind is as good as dead brain. It is worst that use baby to argue crap, which is biologically life cycle process!

Are you cheapor P1 cybertrooper send here for the sake of fighting off anything and everything dislike by jaguh kampong.

The wrost quote and biggest joke is “The point is, they make mistakes in the past throughout their journey,learning bout how to produce a car” – dude, this is not mistake but cronies vendors give substandard and badly built components “by-design”, with the bad intention to squeeze the consumers until last drop of blood.

• an651 on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:18 am

I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat! I want Jebat!
    Fight for your right. That is Jebat’s attitude

• hazamiey on Dec 07, 2011 at 5:51 am

Hahaha.. thrashed both turbocharged old school Nissan and VR4 at this Karak Highway with super standard Gen2 couple of years ago.. Proton handling rules Karak

• protonforeva on Dec 07, 2011 at 7:10 am

i pity those proton bashers.

they are so sour and jealous of proton that they never experience the superb handling and comfort of a proton, with good amount of power and safety measures in place.

and to top it off, its cheap! maintenance wise too!

and the bashers will spend double the cost of a proton for a substandard, tasteless, recall plagued piece of turd called toyota or honda. opps, sorry. no recall, just updating the product (cannot believe people fell for this bullshitt). well, better sacrifice the money than the pride i guess!

• samad on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:21 am

b rational please. Its your money. If u dont like proton, u hv many model out there to buy. Now people know how is inside of your head. Even i dont have proton in my porch but maybe one day i will go for it. Gud luck proton

• Pak Mat on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:27 am

Wanna bet??

Get this new Tuah sales beating own record Waja entire sales-to-date/>250K? (yes beat own record not competitors) and I will walk telanjang wearing only yellow spender from Proton Tanjung Malim to Proton Shah Alam.

Silakan celen, free show for all!!

• tak nak tgk on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:13 pm

nonsense..tak selera aku nak tgk ko pakai spender.

• Wheeler on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Good la Pak mat… anybody????????

• farghmee on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:50 pm

avatar pn xde, lg nk cakap lebat..

• Loneranger on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:26 am

at least they are doing sumthing food the country rather than talking nonsense like u….

bash here and there…

i dare u to do it if this Proton doing well once they have launch it if not dun juz talk.

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:15 am

I certainly wouldn’t bet on you, then.

• Well I am driving a persona elagance hline and i find its nice to drive.. Well the engine is guite sluggish at lower rpm but once it exceed 3000 rpm, u can feel the power.. Well guyz out there, whatz wrong wif the campro, of course earlier they had some problem when gen 2 was introduced, but then proton has slowly corrected those problem.. Cam pro has came long way to iafm, iafm+ , and cps.. I have drove a gen 2 cps and its very powerful.. Anyone who own a persona or have drivo one will surely agree that the carz cornering and handling is superb.. My car can do 180-200 kmh without and problem… Well stop complaing and comparing our local cars to honda or toyota.. India has their brand Tata which the engine is very sluggish when it comes to pickup.. Do they complain!!! Well if u guys feel proton carz has no quality , just dont buy and buy a more expensive car that u like rather then complaining!!!!

• Carlzen on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:03 am

Put in the turbocharged 1.6 liter engine & 6-speed Getrag gearbox please.

• sammo on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:14 am

what a dangerous thing these driver doing, chasing each other

• Honda Freak on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:16 am

the new 1.6T was aimed to perform like any other average 2.0L NA engine…
    hp may not be as much at 140hp but the 205nm of torque will be enough to pull away nicely from 2.0L NAs on the hway :)

• Dulu aku guna Proton, tak habis2 masalah esp Waja 1st gen. Then, tukar keta Jepun & Korea, rasa peace of mind with very minor issues. Now, teringin ambik 2nd car MPV, terfikir Proton Exora Bold yg akan dtg nanti, TAPI, perasaan CEMAS sentiasa di hati & fikiran untuk membeli semula kereta Proton……resah btol. Mcm mana nak buat nie?

• Carlzen on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:25 am

I hope proton will put in 1.6 turbocharged campro engine and 6-speed Getrag gearbox in this..

• Maserati on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:28 am

Based on the side mirror, can tell that this is gonna be another junk in the making. No better than korean crap. Looks cheap, drives like crap and will breakdown anywhere, anytime!

• MoFaz on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:12 pm

side mirror will cause the breakdown?? how stupid can you be?

• Journey89 on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:33 am

Eh? You were trying to be funny is it? It is just a joke or sarcasm? hmm~~~ o.O

• Wheeler on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:41 am

Looks like inspira rims there..I just wish that proton could have more elegant rims to their models. I dont like current inspira rims. The new saga flx SE1.6 rims are nice..

• Kenny on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:44 am

they rarely use the actual rims in a pre-production car.

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:52 am

If you look back at the spy shots of the Inspira, you’d see that the wheels on the prototypes were actually the ones used in the final product.

The design of these wheels look bespoke; while similar to the ones on the Inspira, they don’t seem to be identical.

I really do hope you’re right, because I don’t like the design of these wheels either, but I’m afraid you’d most probably be proved wrong. And for heaven’s sake, when is Proton ever going to use anything larger than 16-inch wheels?

On a side note, the wheels are of a five-lug design, similar to the Exora and Inspira. Good – they’re the same as those on larger, more expensive cars; hence, finding high-quality aftermaket wheels would be much easier.

• i dun mind 16″ wheel because giant accord also use 16″
          dun want to sacrifice the comfort just for the look

• inside is revise campro iafm or known as iafm+ n other variant has cfe turbo vvt. Mated with getrag manual cog n punch motive cvt. The cvt for iafm+ is cvt vt2 while the turbo will be cvt vt3. For technical details,u can browse through punch powertrain website n getrag.
    The difference? Well, just test drive manual n cvt flx 1.3 n drive the new flx se 1.6 so the difference. N try to compare old blm@fl ride n handling with flx,then u know how far they better the old one even for facelift.
    P321a will be the better prtn from every expect. Exora bold n prime will be coming out sooner, so test drive it n compare with mk1@mc1 exora. U will feel the different. Yup, nothing to do much with the interior since mc1 already change the color n material(share from bin part, to save cost), but the wrapping, seats will be different from the old one. The same case flx se coz need to share parts to save cost, but u can see the diff in seats and wrapping if u compare to previous blm se..
    U can see the improvement.
    What u saw in the net when they try out century sprint is in D mode. The beauty of cvt compare to conv auto is it ratio is infinite(of course have minimum n max ratio). In L mode@low gearing mode,it will increase the rpm by 20 percent by to induce power n torque. Instead of reaching max torque at 4k rpm, it will reach it at 3.2k rpm(but the needle will show 4k rpm,but watch the speedo) ie, normally cruising 2.5k rpm@100kmh, in L, u r crusing 100kmh@3k rpm..
    Of couse it will effect the fc, but that is the trade of between pwr n fc.
    If u watch the century sprint video n timing done by the journo,eventhough in brochure it show 14.5 scnd for flx 1.3,they managed to time around 13.2 scnd,thats in D mode, in L mode,it will be faster than that. It can be sub 13 scnd or myvi 1.5 auto territory, but that for 1.3 flx.
    If u counted the trans pwr lost, of couse,the cvt still cannot beat manual tranny,but it is far better than auto pwr lost even for 6@7 at. Dsg@twin cluch, use the same concept with amt in savvy,that is robotised clutch, the diff, intead of single clutch, they have 2 clutch for odd n even gear, so make it sweep cog fast, but it still has it weakness. But if u make a cost comparison, cvt is the best in term of cost versus performance n fc. Thats why hybrid using cvt, not dual clutch. N for vw blue motion, they used manual tranny, not dsg.
    Anyway, even p321a, a segment B car, suppose to challenge the other segment B car (vios,yaris,city, jazz,mazda 2,ford fiesta, pug 207,vw polo,sunny@latio, kia rio, hyundai accent n etc),it will not satisfy u, but it will satisfy others.
    I wont be suprise if msian start comparing it with ford focus, mazda 3, civic, corolla altis,pug 308,vw golf@jetta, forte, avante@elantra or other C segment cars coz it means p321a manage to caught their attention n comparing it with upper segment cars which means good.
    It also mean msians are hard to satisfy n even p321a even better than C segment cars, they will start comparing it with D segment like accord, camry,sonata,n even passat until they satisfy their needs to bash our own local product.
    Maybe when launch next year, dont be suprise if they compare it with merc c class n 3 series beemer(never ever read any head to head comparison between civic,altis,mazda 3,pug 308 n etc with merc c class n 3 series beemer coz even in same segment, C segment, but still not the same coz of the price)
    still remember old time ago somebody point out beemer n merc as the same price as civic n altis on the other side, but more people still buying civic n altis@corolla in us compare to beemer n merc bcoz they r not in the same price bracket. Beware of mrsp price on the net,its not reflect the real price out there.
    Dont u think its crazy people choose to buy civic n altis over beemer n merc at the same price?

• sam witwicky on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:00 pm

dont forget chevy cruze in C segment..

• ezracopters on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Paultan need more commenter like u Mat, u make my time spent here worth it. instead of learn how to curse and bash (like i always end up do hehe).. u gave me actual knowledge here. BTW, u seem so sure, r u Proton staff?? anyway..

even i thought p321a on the C Segment at first, my friend once said maybe this is just another trick to “reduce the risk & play save’ by Proton management, worst case scenario this P321a couldn’t compete on global market, still since it declared B+ @ C- segment, little less bash they might got, and they would have a point to throw back at em’ eventhou it is actually C segment,..funny but gotta say, make sense..

Malaysian hard to satisfy?? well not really.. 70s & 80s, jap manufacturer was consider “Tin Milo” by us, they’ve been in the global market for some time back then.. Euro/conti Car was considered the best (even today right) and priced higher that those Jap cars. come mid 80s, Korean & Malaysia made their own cars available in our market, these 2 manufacturers instantly become the lowest levels of the pyramid. at the same time, Jap cars suddenly become middle class and wasn’t consider that bad anymore, there is indeed another Pariah caste lower than em’. by millennium year, Jap had more demand thus making more money, and more R&D..or easy to say they keep investing & improve until they became on par with conti & us cars today (almost maybe – but if u ask ur proper dignified Euro bud, u will know the answer b4 they open their mouth lagi! , anti racist blablabla konon haha)

while, Korean, although they slightly a decade older than us, they manage to stand where they are today not coz of their quality..but bcoz of BRAND AWARENESS first, then come improvement, promo and facelift. when Proton started (circa 1985 right), Hyundai & Kia already in the global market. they never give up, their product b4 forte generation (@ new design language) can be considered suck in term of design, performance, handling, fc & durability.. but they keep comin and at the end the world accept em. Korean people, well .. if u read well.. u will knew that their gov was harder that us..almost like they force their people to bought Hyundai & Kia at first..and this is where the money to invest on the global market come from at first. just like what happened to Proton today..

nevermind the rest, now what Proton can do to increase their volume of sale and get global & domestic recognition.. unlike Japs & Korean.. they had but not too serious domestic-bashing like us.. why, cant blame on u guys, some might represent others brand name, but the rest critics base on what they heard or perceive and some base on their experience. and to make the matter worst, it almost a little too late for Proton to react..and eventhou they improve by miles ahead already after Waja – era (gen2 to latest product), Malaysian still sceptic. MALAYSIAN TEND TO FOLLOW GLOBAL DEMAND, Toyota, VW & Honda prove they had the largest demand for their products, so automatically Malaysian follow thru. since a lot trust in em’ product, so the quality must be good!!! and that’s what regular joe-Malaysian mind work, which smart actually, minimize the risk.

so the best way is to tackle Malaysian heart is to ditch Malaysian and focus on global TREND , DEMAND & INTEREST. yup, global demand kinda funny actually, ugly design such as Pug & Toyota was accepted as beauty. even Kia & Hyundai which everyone said state of the art beauty actually kinda weird, fluidic. really??? i think the hidden hand (promoter not freemason hehehehe) had psycho-planted in our mind, this is beauty, this is beauty!!! which actually not.. it is not a beauty, but it’s merely a trend, just like Big Hair & bulge shoulder was in the 80s.

Maybe, after Proton get a grip on the world, then they can come home with their head held high just like Jimmy Choo did years ago.

• buduk on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:09 am

hopefully it ill be priced cheaper than the stupid MYVI SE EXTREME WTV !

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:14 am

Another Potong Inspirasi??This time what car P1 wana copy and paste???From Mitsubishi again?The shape look like old mazda 3 hatchback. Dun bash me becoz i dislike Potong.Really i dun like non creative copy and paste works!!

• Crazy Shit on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:45 am

Those who thinks backwards and mentally retarded will support the bullshit Potong! All their technologies are being copied from Mitsu, one way or the other! If they really want to compete, please learn from South Korean which took 10 years and China only 5 years. Why in hell Potong still needs help after 30 years of protection? They even couldn’t make a power window right, that’s for sure. Maybe Potong should be making fridges and fans instead. Wow thanks to the stupid bullshit bumi policies the government is running. I wouldn’t even bothered to look and touch at these junk. Haram!

• zimmer 600 on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:49 pm

lu memang gila punya olang. ckp tara paki otak . makan sampah punya olang selupa itu lori sampah.

• if u say China and S Korea dont protect their market, then please check your fact again.

hmm, u’re as per your pseudo, litterally.

• 4agze on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:00 pm

his argument is as shitty as his name

• Aman Shah on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Dude, everybody copy everybody..even u speak english u copy them. tell me, which part of the thing u use is not reimprovise and sell it back. Who started touch screen hps? ur dad a? its hard to claim who started. Even though they started well, look at now every brand has touch screen. so what?

• nazis on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:24 am

Feel free to get the hell out of here dude, go back to where u think u came from and good luck (Korea? no bcoz China better, 5years only) .this is so called ‘stupid bullshit bumi policies’ country man, maybe not suitable for u. people nowadays all like to use dirty word to express their feeling, which is actually reflected their identity/mind state…retard~! If don’t like the gov, change la during Piliharaya..If can’t change the gov n u don’t like in here, go to other ‘bumi policies’ country lah.

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:27 am

Ten years, what, from a Mitsubishi-derived small car to the butt of jokes throughout America? Because that’s what Hyundai faced back in 1986.

By the way, China has been producing cars for over half a century.

Read up next time, okay?

• Loneranger on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:25 pm

Crazy Shit,

did u know that Korean Govt prohibit all imported car till 1999? and The USA is trying to make the to liberalize their market till now but Korean Govt impose tonnes of charges @ taxes for imported car till today?

And for China did u know they close their market till end of 20th century? Close market means that NO IMPORTED CARS are allowed till that year?

what that sounds to you? isn;t it a type of market protection also for their local manufacturer?

so PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE use what we call Google to find more info before commenting on our G’s policy……

• Tikar Getah on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:44 pm

saw this cars last 23rd Nov around 12.30pm after the tunnel heading to K.Kangsar.(PLUS hiway)
    they conquered the right lane with speed >130km/h (tried to chase them but my cousin Kembara cant go even more).
    seem like they are testing the cars taking corner while hiking up & down hills since Karak and this PLUS hiway lane hav similar character.

• sam witwicky on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:52 pm

booo ford fiesta..chevy ftw…

• Get Fiesta proven better than Inspira

• protonforeva on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:46 pm

yo crazy shit!

go piss on your grandma’s grave for subjecting her and her offspring (that means you too) to the rule of this great country malaysia.

go back to where she came from, you jackass!

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:56 am

Whoa, relax. This is a car enthusiast website, not YouTube.

• azusa on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:06 pm

adoiiii…bace artikel sudah la…sibuk nak komen sane sini mcm pandai…dua2 pihak pon salah sebenarnye…xpayah la nk kutuk2 melampau..bg kritikan yg membina dah la.. bg kritikan bg mampos..mang la orang marah…yg support proton pon xperlu mengeji produk len jgk..jgn la terikut same ngan org2 yg xbertamadun tuh..last2 due2 pon ape pon xboleh lah hahhaaha…biase la buatan manusia ade je yg xperfect

• intercooler on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Honestly, I’m happy to know that Proton is going to launch the Persona replacement soon. Hope it can be launched early next year and it’ll be a good choice for my dad as he’s gonna get a new car next year. My dad drives my Inspira 2.0P once awhile and he loved my car! Let’s make the smart move!

• somebody hates me using prtn for proton, ask me to use p1 instead. Yup, sometimes i used p1 n sometimes prtn, it doesnt matter as long people understand what i mean. We also have p1 wimax dont we? Is it proton wireless maximum?
    Em, i’m not prtn staff, just normal person who loves to read coz knowledge is borderless n lucky enough have some friends inside prtn who’s willing to share infos, n one of my hobby is test driving cars, any cars available for test drive. N lucky enough to have friends n family that own diff cars so that can share experience with them.

• eggman01 on Dec 07, 2011 at 4:34 pm

This new Proton looks good.Hoping the quality of the interior is good!

• As long is not ” FAW Oley “, it’s fine with me alright.

• deftones on Dec 07, 2011 at 7:06 pm

dont think they will launch this car anytime soon bcause they’re still in testing..therefore, production car wont be produce until they complete the testing..

but not sure with the leaked yellow car..looks like production car

• Sharon on Dec 07, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Until today those blind basher still say Proton = Tin Milo?

Try to search / google images of your AUDI, BMW, MERZ, VW, TOYOTA, HONDA AND OTHERS…. it also can ripped off / slice into two and pieces just like Proton….

SHUT OFF YOUR MILO TIN MOUTH!!!!!

• raiskassim on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:18 am

mane yg cakap tinmilo tu cube bagi depa link ni

http://miros-road-safety.blogspot.com/2008/10/palma-tree-crashed-toyota-vios-at.html

• raiskassim on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:23 am

give them this link……

http://miros-road-safety.blogspot.com/2008/10/palma-tree-crashed-toyota-vios-at.html

• Bob_b78 on Dec 10, 2011 at 1:05 am

Actually I would prefer that u show us a damage VIos after hitting a motorbike instead hitting a tree for a apple to apple comparison. Nevertheless dun bother to look for one as I never compared proton with any Japanese car (u can read my earlier post to check If I got compare with any Japanese car). Generally Japanese cars have similar crash damage under the same condition. We pay more for Japanese cars bcoz of the tax, slightly better build quality and reliability but not on crash safety.

FYI sharon,
      I’m seriously considering to buy the new saga 1.6 cvt flx as my second car. Yet here I’m bashing proton.
      Ironic isn’t it…….
      Bcoz I like proton ride n handling. Crash safety won’t come into my consideration bcoz u have to drive carefully to avoid accident. Is just that u can’t always avoid other ppl crashing into u. When this happen it is fated. Can you avoid what is fated?

Ok Sharon I will follow ur advice n shut my mouth up.

• i’m nobody,not related to p1 at all. Just share some piece of mind n some info gathered from thrust worthy insider. Yup, being a basher before,but when u learn more, u see a shed of light. Everybody want a good car thats include me, but baseless bashing is not going anywhere. Building a car is a complex process, learn it by reading n experiencing really teaching me something.
    Its like ride n handling, its actually on of the safety aspect of a car. Lotus@prtn ride n handling, its not merely bout performance driving, but how safe u can steer the car in most demanding situation to prevent accident. I dont blame people for not knowing it since reading habits are low among msians, but educating them is the most important part. Thats rely on how p1 want to educate them. At the moment,they failed but it seems at current brochure they already put in r n h under safety which suppose to be a long time ago when they introducing lotus r n h.
    But people still ignorance. So, marketing is important tools for car makers. Make sure u can reach people heart.
    Improvement is one thing, but making it better, is another. I’m sure p1 is now in the right hand. Only time will show how far they have been better than before. I believe 2012 is a good start for p1.
    Its only msians mind n attitude need to change, even for those in prtn. Sometimes we need to learn the hard way to success. Peace yo.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:22 pm

P1 have a history too much craps like “MoU-MoU here and Moo-Moo there” with any car manufacturers in the world, and latest MoU with Mits to built engine sand assemble cars. This is the best P1 can do after 25 years with its competitors or at world stage.

So, insider info is how realiable it is? It is as good as “garbage-in-garbage-out”, either for syiok sendiri, goreng the share market or freak PR exercise ……….improve here and there, at the end, still its serve political master, vendor cronies and justified AP King existence.

Where are truly news on innovation, R & D, new products or new findings that become trend setter! All these absent in P1 existence since more than 25 years ago.

You think solve power window problems, introduce alphabets crunching on Cam-Tak-Pro engine like CVT, turbo, etc is true improvement?

• lol you never heard of alphabets crunching craps like sissy i-vtec, vvti (ver very tiring), and the list goes on

• since when cvt become engine? If changing old 4at to cvt u dont call improvement, so it is the same thing for dsg for vw,its not improvement to your vocabulary.
        Vvti to dual vvti to valvematic is actually an improvement from previous one. It is the same as campro, campro iafm, campro iafm+,campro cps n campro cfe.
        It is not easy to be trendsetter in car industry. Who do you think the trendsetter?
        Yup,prtn has been more than 26 years but the first locally made with outsource engine n gb is waja in 2000. Its mean its only 11 years the produce their own. How many years toyota produce their own cars before they have been acknowledge as reputable car makers?
        When we establish prtn in 1985, mitsu already produce their own cars which we rebadged as saga.
        Thats why prtn working hard on future tech like ev n reev coz all makers at the same playing field where none of them produce it for the masses.
        But u still bash prtn in post regarding exora reev n ev right?
        Campro engine coming out on 2004, n cps coming out 2007,iafm 2008, iafm+ 2011, cfe 2012. So,on average every 3 years they improve the engine with additional of tech. How many years it takes toyota to employ vvt in their engine, then dual vvti, then valvematic?
        Now they r focusing on hybrid.
        The same as honda, they have vtec(oso introduce idsi,but seems that the already stop producing it), then i-vtec, then…
        How many years honda takes to change vtec to i-vtec,but it is still the same tech,but improve one.
        To build an engine it cost u rm 1-2 billions, thats why prtn need to penetrate global market so that they can get economy of scales.
        If u want prtn want to produce new engine, start buying one. N i know u wont.
        If toyota,honda,hyundai n kia didnt get support from their countrymen in early stage, they alredy kaput right now, n u shud know how big is population in japan n korea compare to msia.
        They still can survive even not selling outside. That is the toughest challenge that prtn has to face.
        I also critics for sake of improvement, not bashing. Even arguing with them in sc so that they can be better, emailing to them,highlighted their weakness so that they can be better. What have u done?
        I used baby anology, not cronology, before because everything in the world, we need to live n learn.
        When u said introduce pwr window warranty is not improvement, yes they r not improvement. The reasons why they introduce them due to skeptic mind of msian on prtn pwrwindows even today. They have improve it, n hardly heard bout the pwr windows issue nowadays with prtn new generatin cars, but people still talk bout it especially u. Since people like u that are ignorance@absent minded@ill informed bout pwr windows issue, so they introduce warranty which i have to say thank you.
        But remember, they have to bear cost introducing it if the pwrwindows issue is not solved. My savvy previously have 3 years warranty on pwrwindows, n now already nearly 6 years own it, never fail me. So now 10 years, its really good.
        I know u will say there is a catch coz need to service in sc la, bla..bla..bla..it is common for any car maker in the world.
        Msian still need to be educate how to maintain a car, what they normally do, send to authorized ahbeng branch sc, wholly owned by under the tree sdn bhd, change oil n oil filter, until something wrong with the car,then change here n there, if kaput,just go to another ah beng subsidiary, half cut shop, bought another engine, if kaput again, bought another engine n let go the car to future unlucky owner with statement, kete mantop bang,kan ni kete jepan.klu kete prtn,xpe bang, kete jek prtn,tp enjin jepan, mivec
        it doesnt matter which car u own, u need to properly maintain it, n it maintenance different,not the same.
        Anyway expat, this is an anology, if u have kids, if ur kids make mistakes, what will u do?for me, i will scolding them for sake of improvement, even punish them by canning,so that they become a better person. Everytime they become better, we praise them n give credit.
        i dont know bout you, but it seems u will bash them, insult them n belittle them.
        I dont know whether the latter will make ur kid
        a better person. But maybe it works for u.
        N reminder,it is just anology,not mean to hurt u personally. Just food for thought. Peace yo.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:36 pm

You are lack of understanding about R & D concept, which is at least could be trace back to History of European Renaissance (Early Renaissance Period – 1450 to 1500 & High Renaissance Period – 1501 to 1600). This reference is by no means to deflect your attention, or bring you to “un-chart territory” so that I can beat you “flat” like roti canai! Read history about Renaissance men like Leonardo da Vinci, Michelangelo, Nostradamus, Brunelleschi, Masaccio, Donatello, etc and subsequent great thinkers like Isaac Newton, Galileo, etc. You will know the meaning of “rebirth or revival of art and literature”, which the way they executed their masterpieces (their period, the technology is still in “baby analogy” stage) evolve thru to the present day advance tech with modern scientific jargons – R & D, innovation, trend-setter, and to a lesser extend “improvement”.

Copy and paste, re-badging, plagiarism, jaguh kampong cock fighter, cronies vendors, AP King is at best the practice of “Pirate of Caribbean”, “Ali Baba” or “Big Dragon up North” who are good in copying anything and everything in the world including fighter jets. That is why there are intellectual and copyright laws to protect the interest of inventors, or original owner of their innovation.

To sum it up: R & D concept is the practice of new finding to put the “mistakes at test lab stage”, thru scientific method like come out with new design (drawing, 3D concept), construction (thru scale model, simulation, statistical approach, prototype, etc) and testing (wind tunnel simulation, lab test, actual road test, NCAP safety test, etc). All these are just part of rigorous test in order to come out with the best product in its class, and try to eliminate any “unnecessary mistakes”. And most important of all R & D need best brain – Engineers, Designers, Scientists, and of course heavy billion dollar investment etc. In car manufacturing case, if our Jaguh Kampong does not have the means to invest in R & D, then the future is bleak! Unless go for JV or let other take over.

The way you present your case is like let jaguh kampong make “unnecessary mistakes” after the products are on sales in the market (i.e. not in the lab stage), is as good as “trial and error” approach, which thru NAP forced the consumers to buy it at inflated price some more despite the known fact that these shitty cars is either have nitty-gritty component problems or unsafe car (with due respect it is not limited to P1 and P2 products only). By solving these problems like power window with 10 year warranty by DSZ is not “improvement”, but should not exist in the first place and should be eliminate during QC production stage.

In this global open market, you can’t afford to make unnecessary mistakes in the markets, otherwise your branding and reputation will kaput forever just like our Jaguh Kampong!

So, I use my way to “teach” you, but you are unable to learn it. Then the next best is to use the way you learn to teach you. Therefore, using “baby analogy”, scolding and punishing is not the best practice to teach your kids (“trial and error”). But to teach the kids the way the child mentality and at the pace they are able to learn (adoption of “tried and tested” way)! To sum it up, best method are emphasize on learn it from the other people success, NOT from your own mistakes! Enough said! I hope you upgrade your-self from this humble piece of writing!

• Speedster on Dec 10, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Come on, we also see big automotive tycoon calling back dia car.. It not about the R&D, only meh.. Mainly is about the cinabeng supplier lor..
            supplier a low quality parts. Thats why proton has dropped many unreliable supplier. The result is?? no more power window problem.. Solve it already meh..

• farghmee on Dec 12, 2011 at 2:17 pm

1. jadi Proton buat R&D tu xbagus ke?

2. xhabis2 ngn NAP. kalu xpuashati, ko undilah nnt. kita tgk apa yg akan jd.

3. lah..buat cmne “perfekt” pn, xknnye perfect sbb namanya pn Ciptaan.

aku rasa ko ni dibuai Idealistic Dream. honda toyota pn buat recall juga..

• Hoochiez on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Funny, service at “sc wholly-owned by under the tree sdn bhd, change oil n oil filter” ? So, i reckon you are referring to a “NORMAL SERVICE”, yes ? Then let me ask you, how will a “NORMAL SERVICE” affect a POH-TONG’s POWER WINDOW ???????????

Mat…u betul rempit kuat kuat. Tsk tsk tsk..

• payne on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:55 am

Wonder what car the proton chairman, md and their top level staff use might be.. no offense. just simplest curiosity.

• Ko Tai Wong on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:33 pm

I heard this new Proton product is installed with campro 1.8 engine (with turbo charge for high end model).. the price for this car start from 63k for low end and 71k for high end.. its come with 4 air bag for high end and 2 for low end.. i can’t clarify the truth of my source.. its up to u ..

• spyshotX on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:03 pm

wahh.. drive at 140kmph still can take photo meh.. even pic quality not bad..

what camera u use aa..

• bay mh on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:27 pm

a dslr with 16-70mm f2.8 lens. teken by codriver.

• ezracopters on Dec 08, 2011 at 3:02 pm

yup, i was about to ask the same. i wonder what is under the tapes on the back seat window..another glass??? coz if it is, deng, that one hell wideeee window it had..

btw, i was checking previous yellow prototype, i dont know bout u guys, but isn’t it kinda resemble H City front light (tuah f light was better kot..)??? i don’t know why, im not even plan to buy it..but i can’t wait for the launch..

• gd job proton…..

• Expatriate VN on Dec 10, 2011 at 6:09 pm

SOrry alll.

I;m metally sick..
    My life is so horrible because of P1…hurh..

Im stupid, and crazy..

Sorry bcos im a protonofobia…hukhuk…

Silly and Dumb
    Expatriate VN

• Herothecat on Dec 11, 2011 at 6:14 am

Look like TUAH the concept car a little ?

• Kawan2… Bg la komen yg membina skit.. Jgn la hantam ikut suka je. Balik2 compare keta Jepun.. Kalo nk compare gak, ni ada satu citer baik punyer. Kat Korea 5-7 tahun lalu (mungkin sampai sekarang) kalo korang org Korea bawak keta luar (Volvo ke, Mitsu ke, Ford ke) korang akan dianggap org luar! G petrol pump korg Angkat, Tolak, Masuk, Picit sendiri. Tp kalo bawak keta Korea (Hyundai ke, Kia ke, Daewoo ke) Siap ada org isi minyak n cuci tingkap. Bila aku kata ada org buat semua ni maksud aku bukannya Foreign Worker tp org tempatan. Masa tu pun Kia and Hyundai punya kualiti pun bukan bagus.. Design lagi la pening..

• Art kau memang best-aku setuju.
    *malaysia bangga ada rakyat macam kau.