Nissan NV200 Vanette launched: successor to the C22

Earlier, we wrote about the new Nissan Navara Single Cab with a choice of luton, steel or wooden body configurations, aimed at commercial users. Besides the pick-up truck, Edaran Tan Chong has also introduced the successor to THE commercial vehicle of past decades, the long lasting Nissan C22 Vanette. Introducing the all new NV200 Vanette.

Available here only in panel van form, the NV200, designed with Europe in mind, first made its debut in 2010. No longer an ancient box, the NV200 comes with safety features, functionality and fuel efficiency that will be alien to C22 users. The huge cargo space measuring 4.2m³ is able to cater to various applications.

Not detailed in the press release, but found in the print ad in today’s newspaper is the dimensions of the cargo area opening – 2.04 metres long, 1.36 metres tall and 1.5 metres wide. The single-leaf spring rear suspension not only offers a payload of up to 740 kg, but due to its compact design, cargo space is optimised to accommodate up to two standard sized Euro pallets.

Powering the NV200 Vanette is the 1.6 litre HR16DE engine with Continuously Variable-valve Timing Control (CVTC) producing 109 PS and 152 Nm of torque. The proven engine is mated to a five-speed manual transmission, and ETCM claims best-in-class fuel economy of 14.0 km/l.

Unlike the C22, the engine is not below the driver’s bum, so heat intrusion and NVH will be greatly improved. New features include electric power steering, a Multi-Function Meter that displays info such as fuel consumption, range and driving time on a 2.8-inch Dot Matrix Display. The MFM also has alerts for speeding, maintenance, a timer and even a transmission shift-up indicator.

Standard safety features include ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, Zone Body construction, driver’s airbag, pre-tensioner seat belts with load limiters, high mount stop lamp, wide rear view mirror and large side mirrors. The NV200 Vanette is priced at RM62,047, excluding road tax and insurance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Henry on Feb 18, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Would they bring full window 7 seat NV200 into our market?

• rush hour on Feb 19, 2012 at 3:16 pm

that is my exact same question… the previous C22 was a legacy in cheap people carrier. tan chong must not fear exora and alza.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 18, 2012 at 8:01 pm

this weirdly is one of the better looking nissan cars tan chong brings in

• RadzLee on Feb 18, 2012 at 8:07 pm

its just sad that i hv to agree with u. even the latest navara is a sore in the eye

• Available since 2010.. Tan Chong certainly works fast wor… lol

• John Steele on Feb 19, 2012 at 6:44 pm

must fast lor to take current issues advantage…

• Yuzdi on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Are u really sure fast?

Check this : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_NV200

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Nissan Teanna is nice too=)

• these vans are everywhere in singapore, and they are one of the more striking van to look at, even in plain white colour.

• donadoni on Feb 18, 2012 at 8:28 pm

reminds me of yellow mini school bus in the 90’s

• swift evo on Feb 18, 2012 at 8:31 pm

wow.. a great improvement from the previous box van outdated c22 model.. especially the interior… look good

• Regina Shwartz on Feb 18, 2012 at 8:54 pm

I’ll be surprised if this catches on here. The C22 was more utilitarian and was a van that one uses to “get the job done” and it was cheaper too.

This one is quite pricey and looks to have a smaller cargo space too compared to C22. Not sure if the people who’ve been buying and using C22s would find this a worthwhile investment.

• Darenz on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:11 am

I think overall much smaller than C22. GRAN MAX will be better choice than.
      It will be better if the NV200 package as MPV or Window Van.

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 18, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Finally!! after so long. But I guess the older generations STOLL prefer the C22, I saw a lot of older people struggling using those Multi-Function Meter, telematics and electronics displays in a car. (I see a lot of old people drive C22 for their business, so maybe they might need a replacement for their old C22) I think the C22 have been in production for 20 over years? yes no?

The Nissan C22 and Toyota Liteace are rivals… So will Toyota release a new low end van? to compete with this NV220.

BTW, no sterling buttons =(

• confused on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Got Daihatsu D-Max to compete with this.

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:31 pm

what Daihatsu D-Max????!!!! I think you mean Isuzu D-Max. Btw both are different car segment.. lol

• st3wp1d on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:22 pm

The damm D-maxx was the daihatsu with alza engine and dashboard lah…

• confused on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Sorry. What I mean is Daihatsu Gran Max.

http://www.daihatsu.com.my/html/vehicles_panelvan.html

• HirumaKecil on Feb 19, 2012 at 10:39 am

Hahah.. Nice one.. u r funny… Ugot confused.. and it suit ur name very well.. I dunno if u r realy confused or just ur trick.. Huhu… ;D

• The end of A15 stroker engine…

• hanifhamzah on Feb 18, 2012 at 9:11 pm

hopefully ford will come out with ford transit replacement model too…ford’s design is getting much hotter now.

• Gan Teik Long on Feb 18, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Better looking than Avanza. TCM pls bring the 7 seater.

• RedBeanBun on Feb 18, 2012 at 9:40 pm

a good decent VAN for business!

• 62k otr..awesome

• Sabear on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Wow very nice package but would be better if they have non commercial versions as well….

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Nice van. you see these sorts of vans all over Europe.

sure throws in a spanner into proton’s works.

How much lower can Proton price its commercial vehicle based on the Exora platform?

• RAVEN on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:28 am

much lower than this for sure..

basic exora already RM59,548
      so, without passanger seats at the back, windows, carpet, middle & rear aircond blower, etc.. etc..
      RM4x,xxx maybe?

• oligopoli on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:05 am

exora doesn’t use rear spring leaf. if they modify those and replace with leaf spring, then price will be cheaper. i agree with raven, if put similar spec, proton will be cheaper, 40k++ is a probability.

• James on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Seems like Nissan is bringing out a lot of models for commercial use, especially targeting countries like China which highly demands vehicle likes these

• Jimmy Lim on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:01 pm

C22 has been Malaysian longest serving van. Robust and cheap to maintain. The best part, i own one too. No doubt is been in ETCM over 20 years production. Is a sign that C22 still in high demand. One easily notice how many C22 @ market traders uses it. This new van seems featured wise. Similar to Renault brought in min-van.

• Victor on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:12 am

Is the NV200 front or rear wheel drive? The C22 had great turning circle.

C22 in Malaysia is like the Kangoo in France —> easy to service and hardy.

• well kangoo in malaysia spells trouble. once my company acquired a fleet of kangoo, man nothing but trouble. problem with gearbox, cannot start. i think my company spends more to repair them kangoo than a price of a brand new one. one of them had to be replaced with a whole engine. damn..

• oligopoli on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:10 am

i think its rear wheel drive, since its to carry goods.

• mat_7824 on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:04 pm

http://www.daihatsu.com.my/html/vehicles_panelvan.html

it’s Gran Max, not D-Max…hehehe…

• Annihilated on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:07 pm

haha.. good looking. if the 7-seater variant is coming.. solek sikit then can be mini vellfire already. Plus, more fuel efficient too. haha..

• Sharviin on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:08 pm

next is Serena folks!!

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Etcm forgotten the serena. Time for a new model too long oledi.

• Yuzdi on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:54 pm

In Malaysia, Serena still 2nd gen. in jepun 4th. Cannot catch lah!

• amarz on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:49 pm

design better than GL, it nice to have 7 seat Combi MPV (NV200 Vanette) in boleh land …

• rush hour on Feb 19, 2012 at 3:20 pm

will tan chong dare to pit the NV200 7 seater head-to-head with grand livina…..

• gavin on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:57 pm

C22 as office van is the best, can lenjan like gila

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 19, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Not to mention the C20, the ever living….. And still kicking…

• Should bring in this van earlier..Now Daihatsu already taken many share of this segment..Very glad this new C22 already in the market..Can buy it for home use also if got full windows version.

• dozy888 on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:32 am

After more than 20 over years…. Anyway, better late than never..

• altimi on Feb 19, 2012 at 1:48 am

Front or rear wheel drive?

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 19, 2012 at 10:06 am

I guess its FF. with that cargo space offered and a front engine placement. I can see there’s anywhere to hide the tranaxle sub.

• lonewuzz03 on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:20 am

CVT for heavy duty/long range transporter is not suitable.high maintenance compare to normal AT or manual. but can give very good FC.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:07 am

Where got CVT,… The transmission only manual…. CVTC for continuously Varaible-valve timing control, only in Nissan engine

• maddroid on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:55 pm

The interior is better than any model offered by Proton.

… and it’s a van!

• Nissan NV200 remind me this http://www.nvasia.com.my/ an Funeral Service Packages . . Bad name bad fung shui………….

Dont buy…………….

• likehondanotsomuch on Feb 19, 2012 at 6:50 pm

VAN CATEGORY:NISSAN URVAN
    TOYOTA HI ACE
    KIA PREGIO
    (ALL DIESEL ENGINE)

NV200 Vanette:Currently no competitor at all.

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 19, 2012 at 9:19 pm

Daihatsu grand max is a direct competitor.

• gtmaniac on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:19 am

Hmm.. i m not sure it is the direct competitor to the Grand Max. Saw I last time, and it’s much bigger than Grand Maxx.

But i m telling u, if only the bring in the window version, it can be a good seller too. Let say this panel version is RM63k, the people carrier version can be priced (depend on what spec) around RM70k – coz most of the expensive options (ABS, EBD, one airbag) is already there.

But then it will be in Grand Livina territory already.. so that’s why only panel version were brought in.

• rodimus on Feb 19, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Quite cheap…

• Saiful on Feb 19, 2012 at 10:34 pm

mini elgrand i supposed….
    cool….. http://www.autoblog.com/2009/03/04/geneva-2009-nissan-nv200-gets-its-tippy-on/

• RAVEN on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:59 am

be realistic guys..
    why ETCM not bringing the 7 seaters NV200??
    bcoz this ultra basic van already sold at RM62K!!

look at the 1st pic guys… RM62K for that!!!???
    no sportrims.. bumper without paint, no windows at the back..
    on the inside there are no seats, no carpet, no power windows, no aircond vent, no cup holders, no seat belt ,no trimmings… etc.. etc.. just a basic commercial van..

can u imagine the price of a complete 7 seaters NV200 could be??
    it will kill G.Livina sales for sure…

anyway, a 7seaters NV200 is much better than G.Livina..

• XC70XC on Feb 20, 2012 at 5:56 am

Finally a replacement for the long in the tooth C22 Vanette. Everywhere else, the C22 has gone since the 90s. The NV200 is the latest replacement of the Vanette. In US, the NV200 is the basis of the car replacing the fleet of New York city cabs as chosen by the NYC.
    It would be good to see TC to release a diesel variant. Make more sense to have one in a commercial vehicle. A 7 seater is a good variant but may cannibalise the Grand Livina market. For a 7 seater, the passenger airbag should be made standard in the hole vacated by it above the glovebox.

• oligopoli on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:53 am

at rear, its the leaf spring suspension. i grew up with my father own the old 1.2 litres C20 (single lamp, not the double headlamp and double square headlamp), so i can assure you this kind of suspension is not for passengers. may be for that old days, but not anymore.

• Citroen on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Design tiru Citroen Berlingo

• C20 and C22 was the “car” that i spend a lot of my first few driving years often loaded with friends and good time…

• likehondanotsomuch on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:30 pm

while u drove that i remembered driving my toyota lite ass often loaded with friends and good time…then ugraded to toyata lite ass high roof.then the hi ace then preggio kiasu and lately the livina and navara and saga blm………..

• better than exora…if 7 seater..!!