F10 BMW M5 to be introduced at BMW Malaysian Open?

Well, it does look like the fire-breathing monster known as the F10 BMW M5 is set to be unleashed, and earlier than anticipated.

Our earlier story on the car had it set to be launched on March 10, but we’re expecting that the actual introduction (or at least a teaser) is set to take place at the BMW Malaysian Open, which is currently running at the Bukit Kiara Equestrian and Country Resort.

Paul and Harvinder were at the Open earlier, and spotted a car under the cover at a marquee, and word has it that it’s the M5. It was at last year’s WTA Tour BMW Malaysian Open that BMW Malaysia launched the cheapest F10, the 520d, so the company may be reprising the act this year, but by introducing the most expensive model of the type.

The car – which is powered by a 4.4 litre S63 Tu V8 mill with M Twin Power Turbo offering 560 hp and 680 Nm – was announced in June last year and made its official debut in Frankfurt, so its arrival here is a pretty quick one. Paul made the observation that the wheel on the covered car is a multi-spoke design, so it’s the 19-incher instead of the 20-inch version.

No idea of indicative pricing, but the previous E60 M5 rang in at RM888k, so this one might be closer to a million, if you take the price of the X6M as a benchmark example. Anyway, we’ll know shortly enough, by the looks of it.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ordinary Joe on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:03 pm

I’ve driven a colleagues new F10 528i which has about 60% LESS power than this and i thought it was powerful and a dream to drive. I just can’t imagine the power on this! o.O

• imrich on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Kia K9 wannabe!stupid bmw!

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:20 pm

No need to cover the car we all know that BMW is copying KIA Flagship K9 ! ;-)

• amirzaheenminhaj on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:47 pm

huh????…u serious??

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Yes !! Dead Serious !!

Earth was square in shape, Sun rise from North & set on South, I am from Mars. :-)

Back to M5 this is one hell of mad man mean machine with 560hp & 680Nm torque !!

• hampeh on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:18 am

Who said…

K9 just new flagship but…..
      1) Front/Back similar with BMW 5GT, sadly GT oledi in market for couple of years…
      2) Side Vent similar with Maserati, sadly Maserati has it for long time..
      3) If look front side, K9 look similar with Lexus LS460 where it was in market for long time too…

So who copy who…………

• Bjorn on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Now there is a reason to see women’s tennis. Hope to catch the car’s unveiling here.

• ahmadfaris93 on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:22 pm

There’s no need to cover this car up. We’ve seen so many pictures and videos of this car already. It’s no more a teaser. Malaysians are not that stupid.

• but they dont need heavy disguise and pretend to do a road going that what they call testing…just told malaysian that is a stupid teaser..damn stupid…

• Alpha on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:26 pm

I’m loving the F10 M5’s huge billboard on MEX Highway,the one heading to the KL exits.The tagline,”I M Back” is awesome!!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:53 pm

seriously, launching the beast at a golf course? its like displaying jessica alba at a rubbish dump

• matsheikh on Feb 29, 2012 at 12:35 am

Hi

I can confirm that it is the F10 M5. I saw the car uncovered on the trailer by the road side before the ramp to KLGCC last friday morning.

• clutch basah on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:52 am

Saw an E63 AMG the other day. Its interior was blingly awesome and the V8 sounded angry very intimidating. Can’t wait to see it goes from head to toe with this one.

• FFFortezen on Feb 29, 2012 at 4:03 pm

at least K9 and this car can become sibling lol