Report: Volkswagen earmarks Polo for Proton remodelling

Report: Volkswagen earmarks Polo for Proton remodellingA Proton-badged Volkswagen Polo for RM70,000, anyone? According to a Business Times report, Volkswagen AG has identified the B-segment Polo as the best fit for Proton, and has formed a special team headed by operations head for Asia Pacific, Soh Wei Ming, to look into the possibility of remodelling the Polo as a Proton.

DRB-Hicom, Proton’s new owner, is of course Volkswagen’s local partner for CKD operations. The Polo is currently sold in Malaysia as a CBU import, and retails for RM113,888 in 1.2 TSI guise.

The report says that the plan put forward by VW to DRB-Hicom would see a locally-made Polo “priced competitively at below the RM70,000 mark”. No mention of it, but the Polo in question could well be the Polo Sedan, too.

It was revealed that some VW directors have visited the Proton plant and reviewed the national carmaker’s existing products. A meeting in Hong Kong last month between Soh and DRB-Hicom’s chief operating officer, Datuk Lukman Ibrahim followed, and it was then that the Polo project was proposed.

So if BT is to be believed, Proton is about to take a path similar to the one Skoda took in the early 90s. The Czech brand was then the butt of many a motoring joke, but thanks to VW hardware and know how, it’s now profit making company selling over 800k units globally. For those who don’t need a VW badge, Skodas offer the same good stuff at lower prices, a successful formula.

Like what you hear? Or do you believe that Proton, after nearly three decades in the business, should not merely be an assembler? Go on and put in your two cents worth in the comments section, but remember to keep it civil :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vee_duble_vey on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Yay, finally I will be able to afford a VW car in Malaysia!

• bye bye myvi

• jenny ping on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:37 pm

why must rebadge!!!!come on la drb hicom..i love proton, they shouldn’t rebadge!!!!

• bongek on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:49 pm

if perodua proceed with sedan,,,i think this is what proton should decide…

• RON97 on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Noppp…. if perodua come out with sedan, proton completely finish..history just like b siew, kah

• do u reli tink perodua is capable of making proper sedans? if it does happen, toyota gonna shut business n rebadge their cars into peroduas

• why not, rebadge is common for car manufacturer. even toyota do rebadging

• alldisc on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:52 pm

toyota does not rebadge. they either owned a different company (daihatsu) JV (FT96 with subaru) or licensed their products to others like Lotus (2ZZ-FE 1.8 engine) or Aston Martin (iQ model)

• driver on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:34 am

Not true. Holden in AU and GEO in the US have rebadged Toyotas, and I believe the Boon is a rebadged Passo which is a rebadged Myvi and a rebadged Subaru.

Even the Rush is a rebadged Nautica which in turn is a rebadged Daihatsu Terios. Even the old Kembara the same.

Mazda = Ford

Suzuki = Geo (US), Subaru, etc..

The list goes on and on.

• superman on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:15 pm

But when Proton rebadged and re-engineered Lancer to Inspira what people said? all bashing and this and that… all is typical.

• jenny ping on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:43 pm

jgn jadi macam suzuki sudah la……

• MoFaz on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:48 pm

enough learning from japanese, now learn from european hero la pulak… no more collaboration with japanese, now proton’s turbo and hybrid come from european suppliers.

• Want to learn some more , masuk sekolah lah!

• MoFaz on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:10 pm

which sekolah teach about TSI, DSG?
            sekolah still teach about carburetor engines la!

• steamer on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:51 pm

u should say that to skoda n seat when they rebadge volkswagen up! into their mii n citigo.

• alldisc on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:01 pm

skoda and seat rebadge everything of VW models because VW owns them. both companies were nearly bankrupt when VW came to the rescue.

anyway, this is just a proposal by VW to DRB. nothing is confirmed yet. relaks laa..

• otobott on Mar 06, 2012 at 7:06 pm

“skoda and seat rebadge everything of VW models because VW owns them. both companies were nearly bankrupt when VW came to the rescue.” welcome proton to bankruptcy club..

• whyalwaysme? on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:05 pm

what to do…new mgmt only think profits rather than development..

• Obama on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Polo DNA
          Proton QA

You getting what you are paying, almost halve the price of CBU Polo?! I can’t imagine how the specs will be.

• You forget about the tax angle. Proton is able to offer much cheaper due to tax also.

• Lunch Up on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Wait for it. They will have Proton DNA too. Constant power-window failure!

• I an just a Malaysian on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:06 am

Then it will come with CAMPRO + CVT. Haha!

• Ya it may true, if the price set below RM60K….

• kekuda on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:08 pm

in term of look, polo is uglier than satria neo and persona

• chong on Mar 05, 2012 at 4:38 pm

but proton do not have DSG and TSi

• HirumaKecil on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:20 pm

But i think maybe they will change the engine to the cps or cfe… Logic thinking… Coz this will reduce the production cost for Proton and also maintenance for customer…

• avcutie on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:13 am

If they use proton engine instead of TSI, then better stick to VW. Because the proton one will be lame duck in VW dress.

• That polo sedan is using old VW SOHC 8 valve engine from the 80s from Golf Mk1 . Think of 1st gen toyota unser.

• donkeymonkey on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:42 pm

why can’t they they re-badge the bmw and merc also? after polo, re-badge audi..

• Justice on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:04 pm

maybe next..audi a4 @ rm120k..

• musad786 on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:10 pm

merc has and is using not just merc parts.
        get wif the program man.
        if u designed it…its sure to be rebadged or rebranded. jus marketing 101 lmao

• Annecy on Mar 06, 2012 at 7:41 pm

Volkswagen AG doesn’t own Mercedes Benz and BMW.

• MoFaz on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:43 pm

the front of that Polo already looks similar to Saga FL… try change Proton logo to VW logo on Saga, then sell it at RM30k in other market…

• boleh on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:41 pm

its call innovation… Congratulation proton

• OMG….i think still expensive if RM70 k for Polo….but RM70K for Polo sedan….it will be better…

• Damn that’s hurt ! VW i pls u pls don’t do this coz u’ll destroy ur brand and we VW owners ! u know that P1 are full of bashers if u do this then u r the next !

• JOM BELI KERETA VW on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:36 pm

People: Could I buy VW polo without VW logo for rm70K?
      Seller VW: Sure… just put Proton logo.

• Anyway P1 should make their own cars and not going to rebadge that and rebadge this…and VW pls don’t be so kiasu if u do this yes u’ll increase ur sales but u’ll lose urs future VW customers and VW owners will never buy a VW again…

• Adam J.T. on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:55 am

Really??All VW owners only buy Polos??So the Golf-R,Golf GTis,Roccos,CC & even Toureg are just for the showrooms only… 8)

P1 should make their own cars,yes,maybe 2-3 models & let VW handle the rest.

• Hello sir i never said that ppl only buy the Polo,i mean it’s just make the VW customers feel less confident…who’s know one day they’ll rebadge the Rocco as the Neo?! Potongs eww…

• Quattro on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:58 pm

welldone vw

• OMG….not really,after the rebadge, it just reduce the very very expensive polo price to expensive polo price…i dun think it will sell well here.

• great news!

• Not a great news for those driving VW Polo now…

• carnoisseur on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:07 pm

very true , here comes
        the Proton Polo !

• SpeakUp on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Not really … Inspira and Lancer totally different in terms of quality and handling, they are world’s apart. So does not mean current VW Polo owners will lose out. It all depends.

• yeah but the resalve value for Lancer has already been affected,and new car sales has also gone down due to the rebadge.i m afraid this would be the same case for current polo owners

• yeah agree.. INSPIRA better handling than Lancer… but Quality same…

dont talk crap here.. u own Inspira or driven inspira b4!! ??

• rookie on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:04 pm

and i assumed u urself driven a lancer b4..?
            IT IS DIFFERENT!

inspira better handling? in terms of what? proton tuned inspira for comfort la deyy..
            if ur talking about ride quality then yes..but not handling!

who u bluffing?

• steven on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:53 pm

yes, Inspira handles better than Lancer GT

• what i heard before that proton makes inspira’s suspension stiffer than current lancer gt. imo, stiffer = better handling but less comfortable..

• happy on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:45 pm

agreed with joe here.. inspira suspension is stiffer, so the comfort is a bit compromised but handling is superb. It takes corner superbly. if to compare lancer and inspira, for me, the difference is just the badge, a bit on interior quality and handling. i’ve driven both and i can say better take inspira because it is much cheaper. Why pay more for the same thing right? (as you know, the manual inspira is the best.. and way way way cheaper than lancer)

• Do you own Inspira…or do you ever drive it, I doubt you already drive Lancer even.

• usually it is not about quality or handling to the buyers. to them, as long as it looks the same…

• droll on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:46 pm

but i think this would’ve happened in one way or another. vw already said they will be assembling their cars in malaysia (but at that time proton wasn’t mentioned). so existing vw owners already gonna kena this issue….

• Nakal on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:05 pm

DRB : Teach proton to develop new engine, alike TSI
      VW : allow us to control proton
      DRB : @%^& as expected

After VW control majority share

DRB : where is proton new engine?
      VW : CKD TSI is good enough what?
      DRB : nasib kau la proton

The end, price of Proton Polo and Proton Jetta are still high
      hampeh

• Price comparable to the Jap makes but German tech. I’ll take it.

70k Polo Sedan over vios or city, why not? It’s time to make T&H offer those 2 in lower price range. They have suck enough of our blood too coz they know msian will blindly go for anything with T&H badge.

• I agreed 100% with Name

• I an just a Malaysian on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:19 am

is Gov sucking money, you know how much tax they charge to import cars?

• atas pagar on Mar 10, 2012 at 7:50 am

I know.. just go to custom act and you’ll know how much Gomen suck our money..

• VoidDance on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:13 pm

If this is true, good news then.

But surely they can lower the price even more, below 60k would be great.

• nas-T on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:58 pm

What!!! want cheaper?

• VoidDance on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Yes, why not. Knowing Polo is a small car and the engine starts from 1.2 litre, it should be selling at a lower price. At 70k for a rebadge VW Polo, it is still expensive. Unless they only planning to roll out the sedan version with higher capacity engines. That too falls into Toyota dugong’s market. VW might as well stick their own batch to fight with Toyota.

• It’s 2012 and still thinking strictly in terms of engine capacity?

• jangan pandang rendah 1.2 with turbo Polo bro…this 1.2 can eat your 1.8 NA anytime bro…roadtax 55 rm ..fuel consumpton better than myvi 1.3 bro…torque like 1.8 NA, ligtweight some more…7 speed DSG bro….build quality good bro…quality?(hehehe)….kecik2 cili padi…I think Proton will get vento…no turbo…NA only…70k okaylah…..betterlah dari vios tu….moral of the story: jangan kutuk 1.2 TSI bro!!

• you’re very american type of person…only focus in engine capacity….i think you never had experience driving turbo driven cars…

• hayden on Mar 05, 2012 at 11:36 pm

just only yesterday I had a tail to tail chase with one white Polo at PLUS highway.. I was driving a Civic 1.8 FD2… he let me overtake him and at a speed of 205km/h, he still able to tail me.. salute to German Tech! :))

• Estimosis on Mar 08, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Its not 1.2 which can generate 55-65hp. With turbo it can go 90-105 hp. Great FC. myvi 1.3 only generate around 60hp. Then when talking about torque it much higher than the equivalent NA engine.

• VoidDance on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:05 pm

badge. Sorry.

• Malaysian on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Yes, it would seem that what VoidDance wants is a 1.4 TSI Polo with DSG, sun roof, leather seats, eight airbags, GPS, alloy wheels, sports suspension package, for RM55k. Or even better, RM50k.

Do you dream in colour, or black-and-white? LOL!

• VoidDance on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Haiya, ada cheaper option la. I don’t ask for that. You yang memandai assume. :P

Polo Vento,
          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Polo#Polo_Mark_V_.28Typ_6R.2C_2009.E2.80.93present.29

• Thava on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Ofcoz we can get a cheaper polo, cheapest we can get is at 38K ma….if we minus all the taxes we gonna pay to the government for buying the RM70k Polo. You think government is that generous meh??

• Very good move…

• azizee on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:14 pm

wahhhhhh, very good news :)

• sukasuki on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:16 pm

have a lot of pro and cons. i would like to see it first.

• Mr Hukaka on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:17 pm

finally dream come true.
    if proton close up the factory,just open a special division to concentrate bagged
    others cars too.but please sell it at affordable price like saga.
    i will give a like.

• VoidDance on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:23 pm

What do you mean close up the factory? How on earth they going to rebadge any car if their factory is close? Heh…

• IDIOT!!

• “finally dream come true”?? that is your dream? seriously? messed up dream u have

• Proton Lover on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:18 pm

I really don’t care who assemble Polo HB or Polo Sedan. The main point that we as a consumer will consider when buying a car is reliability. So, if Proton really can offer VW quality at lower price….. this for sure will be a win-win situation for Proton and VW because what both company can get for this collaboration will be brand exposure and increase in brand image! ^_^

• And i almost bought the POLO!! Pls don’t touch my GOLF!!

• vroom on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:33 pm

when they touch POLO..the name change to BOLA
      when they touch GOLF..the change it to HOKI…hahaha
      Later they call sports sedan…bcoz the name represents sports with lower stds.

• I think the POLO-BOLA rebadge won’t get the 1.2 TSI with DSG la. More likely the 1.6 normal aspirated lump!

Proton pls don’t go near my GOLF. TQVM!

• nmo worries bro, msian are known more of a sedan market…jetta & passat make more economic sense than the Golf…my guess, first re-badge will be the Polo sedan (hatch won’t sell much here)

• halo uncle city,
            your statement “msian are known more of a sedan market…” does not apply in this world today, before 2005, yes because myvi and lagi best not yet launch. now every 10 cars that pass you 9 is myvi!!!!!!!!

• Huiyoo on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Yesterday none of the myvi pass me

• mspfaz on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Who knows… They might use the body of polo but campro iafm+ engine. Hopefully not.

• midgetBIL on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:24 pm

this is what you get for taking the back door to own a german car.
      you have the “i can’t afford GTI sticker” on your wind screen? send you one for free.

• Niki-Z on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:18 pm

It would benefit many parties for having a rebadged VW just like when Malaysia first launched its Saga.

• VWfan on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:19 pm

wow…great news form VW fan like me!

• facepalm on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:07 pm

if you are a VW fan, you would buy a VW, not Proton. *facepalm*

• VWfan on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:58 pm

im only a fan, not an owner…huhuhu…so cheaper VW is a great news for me.

• VWfan on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:19 pm

great great great!

• Wiralution on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:22 pm

YESS!!!

• Ahmad on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:23 pm

this is one good development :)

• otobott on Mar 06, 2012 at 7:34 pm

delevepment ke? kakakka.. if develepment, it would be like KIA & Hyundai ..not like Seat & Skoda like what proton going to be now …

• kolejeon on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:23 pm

So sad if this is the direction of DRB for Proton. Eventually we end up like Thailand, champion of automobile assembler.

• rally_fan on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:42 pm

if the polo is rebadged as a proton, it doesnt make proton an assembler, and i still foresee current proton models like the exora, and upcoming p3 for sale for the next few years at least. but if proton just assembles VW’s badged as VW’s.. yes.. then they are just an assembler.

But if its true that Proton will head down the path of Skoda, and Seat.. eventually.. Proton will be able to produce its own cars by reskinning VW platforms, and using VW powertrains.. just like how skoda and seat has done.

If and when that happens, it is definitely not assembling.

• Gabla on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Thailand has a lot more capable automotive vendors than Malaysia. They managed to build their automotive industry better than us even without having their own national brand.

In the end, their people got the knowledge, technology, job opportunities and they even get affordable cars with global quality standard. Those are much more important than the pride of having a national automotive brand.

• thailand selalu banjir…carmaker in thailand is thinking to move elsewhere now

• I an just a Malaysian on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:33 am

Will they come to Malaysia? Think not, Malaysia got Lynas!!!

• Only being an assembler, and they hv the knowledge & technologies? Think again dude. They hv the knowledge & technologies to assemble cars (production wise only), but not to the standard of making cars from zero..which is what Proton is currently doing. Yes, P1 has many flaws, but try to compare their people with P2 people, or those who works at NAZA, DRB. I tell u, P1 people are good. Such a shame if their knowledge is to be wasted by doing re-badging only.

• Vincent Ang on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Thailand has gone beyond just being an assembly centre. They are probably the largest OEM center in the world ad they play an active role in the R&D of multinational car makers in Proton. Proton meanwhile took 25 years to come up with a pathetic bolt-on turbocharged engine.

• Proton has to be treated like a business and like any business, decisions on it going forward have to be business decisions.

Skoda and SEAT are sucessful. Romanian Dacia, with another manufacturer, is also moving up. The formula works. Why shouldn’t it be with Proton?

• VoidDance on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Agree. Rebadging VW’s cars does not make Skoda any less Czech, or Dacia any less Romanian. People still know and acknowledge Skoda is from Czech and Seat from Spain. Proton will always be know as a Malaysian car manufacturer unless some India company come and buy Proton and bring everything from Proton back home.

• Dear Proton,

Please do not surrender to the dark side (VW). Say no to modern capitalist imperialism. We did not wait 30 years only to witness the dissolution of the brand name into a global conglomerate.

Sincerely,
    Your loyal supporters.

• spyshotX on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:26 pm

I think you should address it to DRB istead of proton since the decision is in their hands now..

• Proton story like Tamil movie…….but in the end the hero, Protonsamy A/L Mahathirkumar will commit suicide!

• I don’t watch Tamil movies so I don’t know what you’re talking about. VW favours quantity over quality. Why would they bother with small fry like Proton in the first place ? The well- being of Proton is not of their concern.

• proton can stop producing cars and instead venturing into maybe tourism or service sector.. get the hell out of car sector please… We are driving outdated shit tech thanks to incompetency of Proton due to Govt supports.

• You’re living in the past. When is the last time you’ve sat in a Proton ? 1996 ? 2003 ? Outdated ? You must be joking. Have you seen the spyshots of new P3-21’s interior ? Get your facts straight please.

However, I agree with the government part though. That’s all.

• You my friend , are a genius.

• sy8_j on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:26 pm

well its a good news to me as VW show some interest in proton, but rebadge is like taking to steps backwards. Instead of rebadging Polo, why not VW helps to share knowledge and experience on how to build a good compact car to proton, so that there are some originality in the car produced. Before this, proton handling by lotus, let this time, proton technology by VW

• Why would VW want to share knowledge n experience with proton? No free meal in this world. Proton handling was done by Lotus as they owned Lotus.

• Gabla on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:26 pm

It is not hard to build a good or a great car but the hard part is to build it within the cost limitations. One can build a great car but if the cost are not competitive, nobody will buy it. If VW allows Proton to take the Polo, they are actually sharing the knowledge and experience on how to build a good car manage cost effectively since there is no better way to manage cost than having a larger production scale.

• Since VW also owned Lamborghini, perhaps we could see Gallardo with Proton badge?

• shut up and take my money

http://i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/newsfeed/000/181/813/1726009-shut_up_and_take_my_money_super.jpg?1317708806

• gunigugu on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:28 pm

I believe it could be beneficial for Proton, Volkswagen, and Malaysians. Proton would benefit from increased revenue as well as technology transfers which could make their way to newer Proton models. Volkswagen would benefit from a percentage of the sales that they would be entitled to as well as a stronger brand presence in the country. We Malaysians would benefit with a wider range of vehicles to choose from and an increased quality in product our Ringgit would be able to buy. I believe Proton should not merely be a national car maker but should branch out into product assembling as well. As I’ve mentioned earlier, it not only makes sense revenue wise, but also the technology and knowledge gained would be invaluable in developing future models and in the running of the company in general.

I lived in Australia for almost 2 years a couple of years back. I noticed that Holden, which is a large car company back there, not only produce their own cars, but also assemble some of the Chevrolet models, such as the Cruze and a few other models. I see this as a way for the company to reach out to a wider customer base, catering to the different needs of the consumers who have various preferences when it comes to vehicles of choice.

I think Proton should seriously consider the offer as it could really transform the company. Proton is a growing company and offer such as this doesn’t present itself that often. Proton should be prepared to take a leap of faith and who knows, we could be one of the largest company in the Asian region and in the world in a few years time

• ANANDA on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:30 pm

PROTON CAN MAKE MONEY IF IT OPERATE AS NON GLC. MANY VENDORS WHO ARE POLITICAL PLAYERS RUIN THE COMPANY. LOW QUALITY PARTS AND SERVICES ACCEPTED TO CATER THIS PEOPLE. ITS A ANOTHER “MAS” WHO CANT STAND BY OWN FEET.

• carnoisseur on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:10 pm

totally agree ! get people who are passoinate about the industry to carry out the task , not political ali babas who only know how to use lip service and nothing else !

• DAFAQ on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:48 pm

DAFAQ COULDN’T AGREE MORE. OUTDATED AND ARROGANT MANAGEMENT OF MOST OF THE GLCs IN MALAYSIA ARE THE OLD SHIT TO BE BRUSHED OFF.

• kivatt0024 on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:31 pm

ade pro dan cons dlm kes nie:

pro’s:
    > dapat model baru tnpa kos r&d yg tinggi.
    > quality kereta setanding eropah.
    > xperlu nk develop enjin baru.
    > kilang PTGM akn fully utilized.
    > new technology will be introduced.

con’s:
    > status proton as national car maker akn tercalar.
    > campro engine family akn jd kenangan.
    > proton ride n handling akn jd kenangan.
    > rmi staff tmptn akn kne sepak keluar.
    > rmi engineer tmpatan akn d;gntikn dgn engineer luar (development professional engineer among malaysian akn berkurang)
    > kete jd mahal.
    > r & d proton x mustahil akn pupus. (kesian team r & d)
    > supporters akn jd basher dan basher akn jd super basher.
    > kita sbg rakyat akn pening kepala.

just my sposen dua…hrap2 DRB dah pk msk2 ttg kes nie..

• Jufri on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:14 pm

can’t you write properly please? im sure you can differentiate between typing SMS and writing in an online forum.

• Bahasa Malaysia F9?

• mentolated on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:34 pm

pntg btl aku bl tgk org tls short form cmni, ssh sgt ker nk tls in full?

smda p1 x ckp bg training atau budaya staff p1 ni pmlas nk mmps klu nk tls in full.

pmlas!

• drMpower on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:31 pm

vw is very eager for tanjung malim dont they.
    i am okay with trade offs but not to a mere rebadge exercise
    simply because i want bigger portion of the cake
    dont keep doing the same mistakes about singapore, nationality, etc.

if i may, i wud like extensive involvement in developing the next Polo
    and perhaps a collaboration model in the end of the project
    then only they can use tanjung malim for a renewable tenure of maximum 15 years which means 2 generations of assembly of any model

i want drb to drive hard bargain. not only for proton n malaysians, but for engineering aspects as well

• So what is Potong willing to give up for a bigger portion of the cake? Nothing is for free.

• encik boss on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Polo vs P3-21a war!

• albag on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:32 pm

proton polo GTi… sounds good…

• quottro on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:33 pm

The car may be in Proton’s price and guise, but would the parts be in Proton price as well? or would it still be a Proton Car but Continental Parts price?

• When you said about Proton car with continental price, suddenly I remember my own Proton Savvy.

Now I’m no longer servicing it at Proton Edar SC as the parts produced by Proton are slightly more expensive than the same parts made by Renault which can be easily available from Tan Chong. Surprised, isn’t it?

Hopefully spare parts taxes can be reduced further to enhance competition between continental cars and Japanese/Korean made cars.

• quottro on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Yup, similar to the Tiara, cars were sold at a mere <40k, but the maintenance are priced of those of Citroen cars… though yes, we all know where Tiara came from..

Which makes the P/Polo rebadging doubtful…. what's the point of the car costs 70k, but replacement parts are priced in proportionate to that of a VW Polo at 102k onwards…

And yes, P might say they will include more local parts to solve the maintenance cost, but again, quality could be another issue…

Dun get us wrong, we luv the whole national car idea since 1985, but P has really got to study, and mature itself to stay competitive and make us proud…

• quottro on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:29 pm

oops i meant 112k VW Polo*

• Voyager1980 on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Same built Same Quality!?!? I doubt that if the price as low or lower RM70K…

• also same engine? i bet only use campro 1.3

• dont think the rebadge going to use campro 1.3..inspira using mivec, so perhaps rebadge polo also use vw’s engine

• rapidshifter on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:26 pm

vw’s engine with proton dashboard with proton(lotus) handling…and err proton QC??

• staycool on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:05 pm

polo price in india, RM27,725 -RM43,477

• taboogen on Mar 05, 2012 at 4:46 pm

then go and live in India lah

• Orang India selamba je bawak susu lembu dan roti prata dalam VW Polo. Apa tidak, rm27k aje. Apake jadah kau kena bayar RM70,000 untuk benda yang India beli RM27k? Apa kau terlebih duit ke? Dah kutip ke duit Bantuan Rakyat 1 Malaysia kau. Cepat, nanti orang lain kebas!

• i bet u can get that price in india…but with no a/c, no radio, scroll down window and much more “nothing” inside….

• orang minyak on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:50 pm

..but Fuel @ RM3.90 / ltr….

• donadoni on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:35 pm

keep talking. as proton? sure one day they’ll break your heart.

• BADboy on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Usual lah… Proton always breaking people heart……
      Currently breaking all Lancer owners’ heart….
      Later breaking all VW owners’ heart….

• Vader on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:37 pm

For the business stand point, remodeling the Polo may increase the utilization of the proton assembly plant. If the prize is right, it may sell well and gain profit too.

From the other angle, is a shame for proton..
    Nearly 30 years of protection, how many money from us been pump into it, how many investment from foreign investor been ‘transfer” to Thailand and Indonesia.. at the end still not able to increase its competitiveness so car the nation pride car maker?

A clear direction from the Proton management is needed!!!
    A car maker? Then get the right person do the right job and stop hide under the protection umbrella.
    A car assembler? Then remove those protective policy, attract back automobile investor from our neighbors.

• Teacher on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:42 pm

I have no idea what you’re typing. That is not Malay language I learnt in school.

• ProtonVW on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Proton should just face the reality…we are not competitive enough to compete with the giants out there even with more than 30 years of govt. support, what a shame ! IF we are more open and run Proton like a real business just like the koreans we might have a chance but sadly it came to this an asembler for VW ! If we had known this earlier we should just be like the Thais, at least we can drive cheaper cars with higher quality than Proton ! 30 years of nightmare !

• angry malaysian on Mar 05, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Well said protonvw. especially 25 years of nightmare, well said.

Malaysian were driving VW before Proton came along. We are back to square one.

Every Malaysian could have been driving real quality VW for the last 25 years. Proton you consumed every Malaysian, force us to buy expensive low quality and low safety car. I could have been a more happy man. Everyone could have been.

What good have you done Proton?
      Lot of lives were taken away in the accidents because malaysian were suppose to be able to afford better car with better safety.

• mfahd_88 on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:46 pm

nobody will buy this car if it comes with proton quality

• crazee on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Welcome PROLO

Proton + Polo

• Springtide on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Hope this is a once off thing, If proton goes back to rebage engineering, this is truly a sad loss for all the hard work done for the last 15 years – i agree its not perfect but i was kinda excited when proton actually made their own cars starting from the Waja, one must understand the development efforts required to produce a car from ground up to appreciate it.

Proton’s are starting to build its name on its class leading handling and we’re gonna throw it all away?

• It’s for the survivability of P1. You know they can’t survive with just plain msia marketshare. And if they did go the skoda way, we might see an unique individual exterior and interior for P1 cars (that will need the help of current engineering team). It’s not rebadging down until the same aircon knobs and etc. This is how any car makers gonna survive the future, cut cost or face the wraith of china cars a few years down the road.

P1 can still hav good handling as long as the suspension is tuned by lotus. Actually, they just need the badge of tune by lotus and that settles it. I very doubt your last sentence, when it comes to class leading handling, never did 1 will think about P1. Those are things that sells high performance cars, not daily usage cars.

• Another pea-brained scam by Proton which is not going to work. Haven’t they learnt anything? They tried rebadging the RM135k Mitsu into the RM90K Inspira,….TAK LAKU! People don’t want to be associated with proven loser/”sial” car like Proton. If you drive a rebadged VW, people are gonna think that you are just as “fake” as Proton. Better buy a real sial car like the saga , at least you save 30k and people don’t look at you like “not only “sial” but also stupid and fake”.

A better idea would be to close down Proton, bring down the so called “protective taxes” and we can all buy the Passat at RM60k.

• MoFaz on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Lancer is not sold like ‘hotcakes’ compared to Civic and Corolla Altis anywhere else. for example in US, it doesn’t even make to the top 20 list…
      Inspira give Proton and Mitsu more market share & profit, win-win for both companies. the proof?.. Proton sold more Inspira than Civic and Altis in Malaysia in 2011

• You mean they intentionally made the Inspira to make less money? Or to lose money?……how shallow.

• MoFaz on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:04 pm

haiyaa.. people with shallow mind like you always think that they have the ‘MAX’ capacity of their brain in the skull. but you can’t even understand about this simple issue…need me to explain kah?
          Lancer sales was not so good before this, in US, they only sold less than 20k unit last year compared to Civic and Corolla more than 200k unit each! similar situation in Malaysia. then, Proton also need to get more revenue quickly for their development plan. they think they should rebadge to grab some potential buyers from Honda City, Civic,T.Corolla and Vios.. their plan works.. they get to sell more Inspira than Civic & Corolla, just 1k less than Honda City sales last year. if Mitsu sell Lancer at RM130+k, they will never beat Civic or Corolla here.
          sudah paham ka MAX? or should i call you MIN??

• Paham Bang! Kalau nak untung cepat , buat kereta yang paling tak laku!
            Is that what you trying to say. You probably went to the same school as the Proton bosses.
            If we put you as the Proton CEO…….we’ii probably get the same results. So you better stay where you are and talk cock. That is your niche.

• Lol tak laku apanyer jualan lebih dari civic and altis. Cheaper price lagik..

• agak b*d*h..poor ignorant.

• asahiyakuza on Mar 06, 2012 at 4:00 am

Wow this guy is dumb… if the figure state that it sell more… it mean that the car is selling liao.. what is ‘tak laku’ about that?… aihhh… agreed with Mofaz.. better change your name to MIN.. or MAX (level of dumbness).

• ceowannabe on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:18 am

poor MAX…

if this is a job interview situation…i can see potential employee like mofaz or potential unemployed like MAX…

IF YOU CAN MAKE PROFIT OUT OF LOOSE THINGS THAN YOU’RE CEO MINDED…

IF YOU JUST BASHING FOR NOTHING…YOU’RE just like MAX!

• Statisticisn on Mar 05, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Eh you again ah Mofaz the proton cyber trooper,

Are you comparing inspiration with B segment or C segment ? You call inspira a success ? The car is priced at the Vios and City range and still loose the market share miles away. If you want to compare Inspira with Civic priced at 130k, why not you compare with Inspira with the BMW F 10 ?. Inspira definitely beat the F10 in sales volume trust me.

Pakai otak bukan otot

• MoFaz on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:37 am

ni lagi sorang…
            of course Lancer, Civic and Corolla is in the same size segment. Lancer and Subaru have the same problem, they didn’t carry T or H badge and they target more towards ‘sporty’ rather than family sedan. all over the world, more people buying family cars than sport cars.
            so the question is how to make Lancer more competitive? Mitsu can’t drop their price in all market, their cost is high because they don’t have volume like T & H. but Proton provide a solution for Malaysian market. let Proton rebadge, build the car locally and skip AP! this reduced the price a lot!
            in my opinion, Inspira is to compete with Civic and Corolla here, not City and Vios. but Proton is preparing P3-21A to compete with all the above model soon… the car is a bit bigger than Civic but price lower than Inspira.

• statistician on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Mofaz oh Mofaz,

I am very free today and you know what, I went through EVERY single comment here and I can sense the end of the Proton saga is near. 90% of the comment here is against Proton.

I can sense that you are getting more and more lonely here when the end of days is near…….

• You’ve been following my advice. You have been talking cock. Good dog! Sit ! Sit ! Good Dog.

• Jufri on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:18 pm

A lengthy write-up from a pea-brained writer.

• Why don’t you write something lengthy as well. Then maybe we can judge your otak kampung ok or not. Hope comment not too long, bodo (sory ,rong speling).

• sy8_j on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:08 pm

people like u are the reason why proton cant go further. U want a good quality car, but at a lower price, nothing comes cheap in life. dont blame proton engineers who cant make a good car, blame Malaysians as they expect everything came out from Malaysia must be cheap. take a look at korea, at first their car were lousy, but the koreans keep supporting the industry and look where they are now.

• Wrong! Proton is a failure because it refuses to compete in an open market. They rather run to big brother (Mahathir) everytime they hit a snag.
        If you see all the brands that are available today, be it japanese, european, american or korean, NONE of their goverments imposed high taxes on their competitors. So their venture paid off, they learnt to innovate and compete. Proton is the beggar and perempuan sundal of the auto world. Anybody can go to bed wth her a for a few lousy bucks. But the saddest part is we the average citizen have to foot the bill.

• Victor Hoh on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:50 pm

No one has ever thought of the problem of rising car price? Saga is supposed to be the baseline model for Proton. At the moment, the cheapest Sage can be had with less than RM40K.

So what will happen if Proton decides to simply rebadge VW Polo as Proton Saga? That means the baseline model for Proton will now cost around RM60K! At the moment, consumers still have the choice to buy local cars at cheap price, or foreign cars at higher price. But if the rebadge is confirmed, then everyone has to fork out at least RM60K for any decent car.

Of course, unless they can price it at a starting price of RM50K, then it will still be ok, where people looking for cheaper car can still get a Viva. But I doubt that will happen.

• don’t forget what material car made from…higher global oil price effected the global price in plastic and steel too…

• PakAbu on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:47 am

If I’m Proton owner…. (only if)… looking at how much Proton had to spend to make own cars (Saga, Persona, Gen2, “Tuah” etc)… and how little sales it generated …. compared to Perodua, who is basically rebadging, rebadging, rebadging.. and manage to outsell Proton….. I would say rebadging is the way to go.

It’s a business entity after all.

• Garfield on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:54 pm

The pro: we would be getting the Euro designed car. Proton should learn the steps in higher QC in all product development if the should be ramped up for fully CKD production. Maybe then we could one day be proud of the Proton quality (or more proud, in supporter’s case). Maybe VW can even choose Proton as the developer for the VW group low-cost cars (can they tap to the R&D grant?).

The con: Proton would be tagged as an assembler, and there are already the sounding boards we can already hear. Proton must continue to develop low-priced car for rakyat, or else Malaysians will be trapped in between higher priced Toyota (Perodua) and Volkswagen if one day Proton ceased to develop cars like Sagas and Exoras for the local market.

We need a win and win situation. Which is truly quality cars at affordable price. Pray for one day the AP situation can be solved once and for all that we get to buy quality Proton cars because we want to, not just because we have to.

• ibex7 on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:56 pm

im somewhat agree on product development collaboration but not on rebadging…pls proton,u can do it!! U got the talent & capacity to do it. I trust u Proton.

• Should stock up more double sided tape (among others)… :-)

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:29 pm

I know what u mean…ha ha ha ….

• Dear VW, please dont let them deal with the power windows and.. wish i could attach an excel file here.. Not a basher, but a ‘thinning-out-loyalty’ proton owner. Proud if VW entrust Proton on the development. Lets not waste another 3 decades.

• paultan.org, please review the car once launch. yeahh~!

• kowreck on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:08 pm

rebadge? for me a definite no no. I’m not looking forward to another Inspira.
    Sharing tech knowledge is the way to go. Then we can see Proton moving forward globally.

• joe march on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Bad idea, especially for Polo Owners.

DRB_Hicom should just allow Proton to sell its new model.

As for VW, just assemble its car in Proton’s Tanjung Malim Plant for this

a. Fair for all Polo owners
    b. creat more jobs,
    c. utilised the under use TM plant

Anyhow the labour is cheap compare to EURO labour and VW mechanics can earn Malaysian CEO salary whilst working in Malaysia.

• quottro on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Remember the Tiara? :)

Cheaper labour so what? Parts prices would kill the owners literally not forgetting the after sale value…

So unless, parts are confirmed cheaper (with decent quality) in proportionate to the car’s selling price…it’ll still be the same history repeating itself…

• watchman on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:15 pm

what’s the essential difference between Proton with partnering with Mitsubishi and Volkswagen ? is there something that VW can and willing to do with Proton that Mitsu refuse before ? if there isn’t, what make you think partnering with VW and assembling and rebadging entry-level models will suddenly make Proton more profitable and better able to increase market share overseas ? the fundamental problem lies in Proton work culture and management. just when Proton is beginning to show some improvement in that dept, they took away the management and bring back Mahaleel, the guy that repeatedly refuse to accept and acknowledge the fact that Proton in the 90s is full of technical faults. along with Mahathir, they even dare to claim that the Proton is not appealing in overseas market due to Western conspiracy. as usual, instead of acknowledging there are genuine internal issues, they chose to blame others for their own shortcomings. it is the entire mindset of the management and work culture that is the problem.

Skoda achieved its turnaround because it is willing to learn, change and adapt. Proton is the brainchild of Mahathir and now, with him and his pet, Mahaleeel regaining control of Proton, it is only going to be downhill from here.

• kurakura on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:22 pm

When rebadging a car, I think the new rebadged car couldn’t have many mods, just some minor touch in the exterior. Unlike SAAB that rebadged GM cars, they did many modification to it that people couldn’t recognize it as a GM anymore. It should be like a Chevrolet Spark from Daewoo Matiz. Or Opel Astra from Vauxhall Astra or the other way around. Ok all I want to say is, that if Proton decided to rebadge a VW, thay can make some minor mods, but definitely not going to put the Campro into it. That’s awful and I believe against the contract. Plus, I have some doubt whether if Proton managed to maintain the VW feel and quality after rebadged. Because that’s what VW is known for. Quality. Overall, I support the idea.

• nawawi on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Ha! Ha! All that arrogance and self pride FINALLY caved in.
    Proton should have done this during Tun Badawi’s tenure
    and would have progressed by leap and bounce ages ago.
    Good job DRB we motorist are fed up putting up with the same recycled
    Campro crap !!

• ezracopters on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:27 pm

well.

1. I think this is good news for both of em’, VW get to use the plant & proton get the polo. – in Proton family, Polo might be the new Savvy..

2. and some stupid said, Inspira “tak laku”, people prefer the ori “overheating” one..hahaha, that’s what u wish to come true.. Proton still had it’s owns product..but why not, certain segment are still empty (1.3 n below), (1.8 & above) (4wd, truck, suv) … before they make one, rebadge can teach u a lot.. it’s not like Proton rebadge TATA @ Hyundai.. Proton rebadge VW!!!

3. VW loves to conquered. no doubt about it. they used to have their hands in Asia, disguise in name of Suzuki.. and now they lost it, Proton could be it’s potential asian-kin.

4. i used to defend proton a lot. and today, i dont consider proton as national pride anymore..coz it’s belong to some private firm. but as a fellow Malaysian, Made In Malaysia still means something..and as long as they produce high q & durable product.. i’ll support it over Made in Japan, German, UK etc…

• Amirul on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Mungkin VW Polo akan dijadikan sbgai based model utk Proton Savvy replacement pula.

• gula hacks on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Like what happened to Mitsu Lancer owners,
    VW owners will now be cursing VW for allowing Proton to rebadge the Polo.
    I just hope Proton will not come up with another “smart guys get it” slogan
    when they were rebadging the no brainer Mitsu and yet calling it their own !!!

• Hope to full specs VW Polo selling at about RM65k.. Afterall, it’s just a mini car. RM65k! take away perodua 50% sale. maybe proton 50% sale as well.

• mk91077 on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:20 pm

who cares… as long as VW can penetrate into Malaysia market and increase their market-share here..

i’m happy to see this rebadge but hopefully they maintain the legend ‘Saga’ name but still giving the same Polo quality.. that may keep the current Polo owner happy.. hahaha..

• vansgoh on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:22 pm

yeah… if it’s true, i will curse VW…. D:

• Kuchi Tiau on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Proton Apolo

• homer on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:38 pm

only here Polo is a luxury car, rest of the world Polo is just a student car..

• kk5255 on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Skoda/SEAT way is the way to go.

Proton Vendor Association (PVA) fellas better buck up, or else, be shown the door!!

TM factory must go through same audit as the factory in Wolfsburg, Germany.

Proton is an Asian brand and ultimately, should go head to head with Hyundai/Kia in the years to come.

If the above is not done, can close shop. No need to waste anymore tax payer’s money.

• hassan on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:47 pm

no wonder until now still havent launched polo sedan… now who is going to buy VW – who knows what model will be rebadged next…

• VW has no problem if Malaysian did’t buy their cars…cos they can sell millions of car annually.. haha

• OilChange on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:51 pm

i’m about to place my booking over polo with mr roni in tiguan auto kuantan….
    after reading this, mr roni will not get my order la….

bye bye polo……

• Caruser on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Maybe the rebadging exercise is a short term plan to help Proton improves its sales and for VW to check out the efficiency of Proton’s plant and management before it makes any substantial long term investment in this country. Anyway the report says its a remodelled Polo meaning a lot of feature could be trimmed out, hence the cheaper price.
    But I would like to see real collaboration between the two parties on the longer run. VW can bring in its expertise in building reliable and top performance cars to Proton. For eg, I believe the TSI engines are way ahead of Campro in terms of performance. And with a VW stamp of approval on Proton cars, I am sure they will gain more acceptance locally and within this region.

• nabill on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:55 pm

it will probably come with a NA 1.4 or 1.6 and not the TSI

• JeremyNg on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Nowadays, I know that when Proton re-badge , they wan to boost sales BUT Proton now capable to create a proper car what …………. they just need to work harder in every details and their car can actually sell well !!!

But i don mind buy a POLO with Proton infamous lotus handling , that will be bloody fun car to drive =)

• Yes finally VW is screwing up their own brand

• staycool on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:01 pm

polo RM70k?
    polo price in india, RM27,725 -RM43,477
    proton,thinking bout rebadge??,u shouldnt existed at the 1st place
    who is ur advisor? owh..the “great” dr m

• Pathetic malaysian on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:03 pm

dude, that is 1.2 TSi engine, the best of the word, can u tell me what kind of engine in 1.2cc can hit 105hp on wheel, no rite? beside, vw is rich man toy, but now they sell the affordable price for it, for some customer who always “dream” of, but now u expected 1.2cc sell in 70k, wakakaka, pathetic betul. TSi Engine is around 60k & DSG Gear box is around 30k, can u tell me what kind of price u expected.

• As a matter a fact, Ford 1.0 Ecoboost fits 120hp and 170nm. LOL.. Anyway it’s good, i hope the facelifted fiesta carries this. Eitherway WIN for us!

• want to rocco at about inspira price…

• mspfaz on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:51 pm

Yea…. They should rebadge vw sirocco as well to replace satria neo at less than RM100k. Then it would be really awesome.

• isuzuki on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:06 pm

VW Polo please dun cry :(

• tokmoh on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Msians 2007: “OMG Proton so stupid, otherwise can get Golf gti for rm100k oni!”

Msians 2012: “OMG Proton so stupid, habislah my polo 2nd hand value gg like this! DO NOT rebadge golf”

My take: hohoho, careful with what u ask, u might just get it… And it did!

Proton: “they see me rebadging, they hating”

• We’ve heard this type of collabos many times before. Ho hum. I won’t get excited until I see it happen la.
    On another note, if PROTON keeps to its lower quality interiors (as a cost saving measure) its unlikely that VW would go for it. Export markets too won’t be taking to a rebadged VWs like duck to water. Not when the real deal is available. Maybe it’ll work in Malaysia (not because of anything but we can’t afford real VWs because we’re protecting PROTON, ironically).
    PROTON needs to go the Skoda way in its entirety. That means control goes to VW. As long as Mahathir Mohamad is alive, we can safely assume that’s not going to happen.

• Pathetic malaysian on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:10 pm

finally a dream comes true for those who dream of vw car but cant afford it, but y not, they can buy a proton quality in vw logo, sure a lots of dreamer wont mind about it, as long when ppl ask what car that u are driving then they can tell: I’m driving a VW car, cool huh! pity for those who driving REAL VW car feller, they will thought: OMG, DO I HAVE TO COMPARE WITH THEM, DAMN! pity for those selling VW salesman: DAMN! NOW WE ARE LIKE PROTON SALEMAN, SHI……!

• eggman01 on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:13 pm

BARE PROTON POLO FOR 70K?No thanks!

• kayu 3 on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Don’t consider this as a coup Proton.
    You will now have to offer VW an equity stake,
    in order to share their expertise or go fly kites !!
    Revenge is sweet isn’t it. :)

• Annonymus on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Proton only knws “rebadging technology”? Shouldn’t spend so muc money on this technology, instead other field..What a joke..

• stupidproton on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:18 pm

good job proton.. thats y i like proton very much.. after this please rebadge ferrari, Lamborghini and veyron….

• kamaji on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Good move..great news for the rakyat but bad news for P2.First the polo then the passat.Hurry up pls.

• Wonder whether Proton would rebadge other VW product such as Jetta, Golf, Passat, etc.

It will be nighmare to existing VW car owners if they do so.

• Yeah.poloton saga sudah mari..

• Hong Aun on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:43 pm

I hope that Proton will rebadge the hatch version instead of the sedan. Most of their cars are already sedan type, having hatch will enable them to compete directly with the Myvi.

• Gavin on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:46 pm

It is doomed to fail, because Malaysians are very very allergic to rebadging cars, the inspira has to be the most hated car by far.

VW should have seen this.

Otherwise it’s very unlikely that Malaysians are all mouth

• shawal on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:48 pm

let proton looks and feel like a proton, with d solidity, frugality, and durability of a vw

• Jonathan Lee on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Yes, you could argue that after 27 years in the business, Proton should not go back to making rebadged models, but Skoda was nearly a century old when Volkswagen took over.

Also, Skoda doesn’t really do rebadging (save for the Citigo, but then it would probably be really expensive to build another supermini on the Up’s platform). They share platforms, engines and a significant amount of parts with other brands in the VW Group, yes, but they have their own team of engineers and designers, so their end product is essentially different.

More worrying is the issue of where this Proton Polo will sit in the range. Proton’s product range is already crowded and, at under RM70,000, the new car will slot into a space that will also be occupied by the new Persona. And, no matter how good the new Persona will be, wouldn’t you prefer the product of mighty German engineering (albeit one built by Malaysians)?

Also, does this signal an incoming takeover by Volkswagen? I am all for a VW-owned Proton, just as long as it continues to have its own product development team. However, I don’t know where Proton is going to fit in the VW Group, because Skoda already has the cheap and simple thing all to itself, while Seat has the sporty side covered. And if you ask me, Seat is already lost in the sea of brands.

• The Asian Skoda?

If that’s it, not bad wei!

P/S: Typical Msian cannot differentiate Rebadge and Platform Sharing. Thumbs up if you know the difference. :D

• Botak on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:56 pm

No No No… please dun touch my Polo which just newly drove for a week!

To VW, please think twice x 10,000 times! never destroy your reputation!

• SparC on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:56 pm

At last, the VW strategy works. No matter how Proton resists, these guys will still step in and eyeing on Proton Factory.

Seriously, as a Consumer – We need quality, reliability, easy to maintained and value of money car. So we don’t really care who will assemble the car.

As Proton has been given ample time to develop its brand, technology and own engineering.

Due to unforeseen economical situation, most of the big company form alliance with other car manufacturer. You won’t surprise to see Citroen sharing the same platform from Mitsubishi, or you won’t feel surprise to see VW sharing same platform with Scoda or you also won’t feel surprise to see Volvo is using Ford developed engine.

So the question is, how well VW involvement will bring up Proton to a profitable car manufacturer.

Of course at the end, business come first and there is no free lunch in this world.

As long as it is benefited the nation and buyer, why not?

• please re-badge Scirocco to be a next Satria… MANTAP!!

• Justice on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:03 pm

aiseh..why not golf GTi?..@ RM 90k..sure got lots of buyer..including me

• pusing here pusing there, car still too expensive…

• silver on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:03 pm

we are going backwards. i dont mind sharing tech or platform but just rebadging it .. what is the point of having proton in the first place if we are not improving after being in the business for over 20 years. its like back to 1st generation saga all over again

• Annonymus1 on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Proton only knws “rebadging technology”? Shouldn’t spend so muc money on this technology, instead other field..What a joke.. =)

• Unforgiven on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Why is it so hard to move away from Proton?

• ApaSaJa on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Thinks it will be the same for all Inspira owners, once the car is out of the showroom, take the car straight to Brothers to change the Proton badge back to VW badge.

• go naza on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:42 am

it is illegal to change the logo, road block you will kena fine. not a joke.

• Buy that rebadged (or reassembled VW whatever) Proton and i bet 95% of owners will modify it to look like VW Polo sedan.

• same like what they do with the inspira.

• BADboy on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Proton doesn’t care of its image!!!! They just want to make money!!! What kind of car maker is this???? Malu lah!!!

• I think it is a legitimate desire to make money in a business and I suppose in Proton’s case, to make money is at this point in time, more important than image. Regardless of whether they build their own cars or re-badge, the people will still buy them.

• so betul la ader komen kat atas tu ckp proton like a cheap whore, dont mind anything as long duit masyuk :D

• Nissan on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:21 pm

what engine & gear box will be equipped? at < 60K, dont think they will offer latest technology.

• proton SHOULD come up with a new car that uses VW technology instead of doing the imitation of VW Polo. STOP WITH ALL THE IMITATION. PROTON FAKE FAGGOTS! U ALREADY TARNISHED THE ICONIC MITSUBISHI EVO BY DEGRADING IT TO PROTON INSPIRA AND NOW VW POLO. PLEASE BE ALIL BIT ORIGINAL. STOP WITH THE IMIATION& FAKE OTHERS DESINGNS.

• abdul123 on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:43 pm

By the time Proton roll out this car, it will be out of date. Not suitable for export.

• I hate VW on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Proton !!! ha bislah Proton!!! kene tipu sama VW… We want homegrown vehicles not some rebadged VW POLO !!!

• No way Proton should embark on existing Polo model as a basis of “21st century Saga”. I really afraid we’re forced to live with it for another two decades at least. Developing next Polo (B-segment) with other brand like Skoda, SEAT and Audi maybe more appropriate. Otherwise Proton creating another Tiara of 21 century. Learn from p2, Myvi developing along the Passo-Boon.

Selling cheaper Polo less than RM110k is a penalty to existing buyers that support very VW product. Backfire

• VWGolfer on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Neutral for now … BUT just stay far far away from rebadging the golf.

• oki0180 on Mar 05, 2012 at 4:02 pm

I’m not too greedy…Just want a Golf rebadge to Satria GTI with 1.4 160HP and selling under 100K. haha

• IMHO Inspira is good (I’ve done my test drive, should be sufficient), but the problem is the crowd thinks a Proton should be cheap. For me a 2.0 Inspira at RM90k is sensible enough, but people expected it to cost only RM60k. So that’s why there are not many Inspira on the road.

Priced the rebadged Polo at RM70 and it will suffer the same fate as Inspira – the hoi polloi will think it should be priced at RM45k.

• you could get the old polo sedan if you really want it cheap… don’t dream of class leading tech though. even the current polo sedan sold in india and china is no leader in its technology. just selling on its brand name.

• Im totally not agree. Even there are several pro’s & con’s to this:

1. I think the con’s have the most effect to the future ability of Proton to produce quality
    car with its own image.
    2. Other producer only interested to use Tanjung Malims plant n selling their car at
    competetive price.
    3. I dont think Proton need them as for techno area. Only hire some better designer,
    overcome quality issue & better market strategy, they can go world already.
    4. Badging other car just bringing them back to point zero. They have variety of product
    to offer now (with variety engine size now), not like last time.

• GoProton :) on Mar 05, 2012 at 4:23 pm

WV u gonna b freaking f**king kidding me if this happens.

anyway before anyone start flaming me m not a polo owner

• Just me on Mar 05, 2012 at 4:23 pm

I don’t understand why VW bother to partner with proton to rebadged POLO because this car probably sell in malaysia market only. Market share is still small compare to rest of the world volume. They probably get more volume if to go to China. Furhtermore, the quality potential spoilt the good name of VW.

• Learn and use your brain more my friend than you will understand.

It is not just Malaysia market but Asean too.

It is Proton, Malaysia because it is too crowded in Thailand and Proton has world class assembly plan ready at Proton city.

Also because of our car tax structure, high advantages if re-badge it as Proton.

VW has built up and invested a lot on VW brand in Msia, proven with the stupid exhibition at Bukit Jalil last year.

Good for VW and us. Why not.

FYI, They are plenty of VW cars made in China for so many years already.

• gomen just stop supporting proton la..seriously WTF. cant Protong just create their own in-house design???? next thing i noe the goina re-badge merc or bmw.. thats a no go..

• For msian mkt, rebadging the Polo sedan make more sense….our market are very much into big booted sedan instead of hatchback….pls,put the same 1.2TSI instead of an NA engine yah!!

• I want Proton Polo!

• mystvearn on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Believe it when I see it :)

• Mohammed Osman on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:03 pm

I think they should accept such offer if any, make profits for future R&D AND DON’T QUIT MAKING THEIR OWN CARS

• Car Driver on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:03 pm

After unsuccessfully rebadging ‘Lancer’ to ‘Inspira’ now Proton wants to rebadge ‘polo’ for survival.
    Please do not rabadged a hatchback like Polo. Please rebadge the sedan ‘Jetta’ with the same 1.4 TSI & DSG and sell @ 70k. This will sell like crazy.

If rebadge please just change the badge only. Do not touch any drivetrains and even the handling and ride alone.
    Leave everything intact and we can have a best seller.

• taboogen on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:06 pm

clearly you dont read the news correctly and i know your are the person who did not excel in school well… its clearly said that other way round… this is what malaysian call BODOH SOMBONG…

• go naza1 on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:15 am

inspira has everything intact, change the suspension from rm500 full set to lancer rm2000 full set, then you get a real lancer. except the badge.

wake up boy, and yes, i know your iswara is worse, but dont blame proton, blame yourself.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Hold on…How do you replace a RM30-40K vehicle with a RM70K vehicle? Simple maths will tell you that it is not a replacement. Now, if launched at RM70+, then it would probably go against the soon-to-be-launched P3, which would mean Proton will have four sedans under RM100K: 1) Saga, 2) Persona, 3) Polo and 4) Inspira. If this isn’t a rojak line up, I don’t know what is.

• sy8_j on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Why malaysian still like a rebadge car?? There is no ORIGINALITY when it comes to rebadge. once its rebadge it will become as a proton, and some stupid idiots will rebadge it back to VW or Mitsubishi. Dafuq is wrong with u guys. If u cant afford to buy a Mitsubishi/VW buy a proton, dont buy a proton and go to kedai aksesori to change back to its original manufacturer and brag that u have bought one.

• they’ve been doing that for years. remember the saga, the wira… so many people (but i can’t say the majority lah) have rebadged it back to mitsubishi. it is a fact of life these days that everybody rebadges. you just need to accept and live with it. otherwise, just buy another car. originality is not the matter for most of the buyers. affordability reigns first. that’s why they aspire to own a lancer but buy an inspira instead and to make their dream closer to reality, they rebadge their cars.

• Abidal on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:32 pm

aiyooo Proton,, promote me as your designerlah!! asyik rebadge je….

• Gavin on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Btw, proton Bashers, if you read properly it’s VW who wants to make the polo a proton, not the other way round like inspira where proton wanted it.

• sy8_j on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:19 pm

totally agree with u, why proton basher keeps on thinking that proton who terhegeh-hegeh wants polo to be rebadge to proton, its the other way around, VW knows that malaysian wont buy a compact car with that price tag, and they see proton a a company that can bring down the price and sell more polo compared to them, so think with ur brain to all proton basher, not with ur nonsense

• Georgina on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:02 am

Sometimes I wonder about the level of reading comprehension in here. Too eager to bash, perhaps?

• ApaSaJa on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Sell Proton only la. Proton is not a car manufacturer anymore, Proton is a car assembler instead.

• izzat on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:42 pm

if its really happen, what is different between Proton. NAZA and Inokom? same lor..assembler =)

• I think Proton is going to launch its global car 14th march 2012 ……there are adverts around indicating ….New Power 1

• Spunky Brewster on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:48 pm

I really don;t care, as long as it makes Proton competitive but just lower the god damn car duties or abolish it all together already !!! No rakyat wants to buy a car but pays for it like buying a goddamn house !! Our “capable” leaders are reducing our subsidies, that should go hand in hand with duties and other things which associates to cost of owning a car.

Proton by right, is to benefit the rakyat, not just a handful of govt croonies.

• Brazbuz on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:49 pm

TO EVERYBODY THIS IS VW PROPOSAL. THIS MEANS PROTON HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THIS IDEA. THIS DISCUSSION IS BETWEEN VW N DRB. AND TO THOSE STUPID ARROGANT IDIOT WHO BLAME PROTON FOR THIS SITUATION PLEASE READ THE ARTICLE AT BUSSINESS TIMES CLEARLY!!!!!!! STOP MAKING A NONSENSE JUDGEMENT AND PLEASE SHOW THAT YOU ARE NOT A TYPE OF PERSON THAT TALK LIKE A SHIT WITHOUT KNOWING WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT. LOOKS LIKE THERE SO MANY 3rd CLASS MINDED CITIZEN IN MALAYSIA WHEN WE TALK ABOUT AUTOMOTIVE….

• you know what makes significant people over the causeway piss off (and of course some lancer owner over here)? when proton inspira came out. and the same things gonna happen again. hehehe…

• Pro-sumer. on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Finally a quality produ… err.. wait. is the materials going to be the same quality as the VW?
    Or it’s going to be different “to better suit weather conditions”? hmmm

• NoParking on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:13 pm

I Love..Malaysia.

• ahhhhh. we had japanese wearing batik shirt and now it’s a german wearing one! lol.

• Abuya on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Bendalah basher ni dok bising2 fasal rebadge kereta.

Back to hot issue now, susah nak buat loan. Even keranda viva pun paling murah pun sudah 25k. Selain keluarkan Proton Polo, Proton perlu ada inisiatif keluarkan kereta mampu milik…. below 18k ker. I’m sure semua happy termasuk hardcore basher (ala, menyalak2 kat paultan je, hakikatnya diorang pun beli jugak)

• ok gaks idea ni….nanti spare parts Polo murah sikit….but resale value hancuslah…what to do….(I am a Polo owner)

• Love ur honestly positive outlook :).. a breath of fresh air compared to the much hate circling around these days, even over the weather.

Constantly complaining apparantly has become a past time.. while being pragmatic seems to be other people’s job..

• DArkerMarker on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Proton, please dont sweet-sweet talk……action please…..

• sharing platforms and powertrains should be the right way..bcoz those area the area which requires alot of investment and has a short life bcoz of ever evolving technology…and its clear powertrain package is what clearly lacks in proton cars, probably due to investment and knowledge constraints..proton shud make it to their advantage with the existing relationship btw drb and vw..rebadging, well vw just want to sell more cars..i don’t tink it has any significant profit to proton…

• I would consider to sell off my polo by then..

• Najib on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:38 pm

Waiting for the day Proton rebadges the polo cc and sell it below 100k….but relating back to rebadging the polo…i think VW Malaysia should stop selling their VW Polo now otherwise it would be unfair to the buyers. Pity those who have bought the polo…the resale value is going to be horendous.

• It’s all started with Kia Carnival cloned in Naza Ria, from almost RM200k down to RM90k plus… then the Inspira… changing the Mitsubishi Lancer into Proton. Sadly, at RM80k, the Vios & City sell much more compared to the Inspira.

And today, is history going to repeat itself again? Cloning the Polo to a Proton? If this really going happen, my prayers to the existing and to be VW owner…. hahaha…

Also, looking at the Inspira sales, what makes one think that Msian would accept a “rebadged” VW Polo??

• Excellent, Superb VW and DRB-Hicom. Please make it come true.

However please make sure it is Polo with turbo direct injection engine, DSG transmission and dynamic suspension/steering/engine set up.

Without this Polo is worst than Satria.

You can conquer Asean market from the Japanese and even enter Japanese market via Msia free trade agreement.

• driver on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:17 pm

VW should offer a Passat at least. Proton’s line is already full with other variants (saga, persona, inspira). Or maybe a bigger MPV to compete with Innova.

Polo for 70K? It’s a bad business move for Proton in the long run, so I believe.

• Gebang on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Korang bermimpi la dgn berita mengarut ni….strategi nak jatuhkan sale VW

• Fixensys on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Pathetic Proton, lost its identity.

Y not name it Proton Kuda, change the grill to Wau shape. Even that wont stop ppl to change the logo to VW, just like what some did to their Inspira to become a Mits.

• Jaybee on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Proton is the name, rebadge is the game

• policeman on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:38 pm

Pathetic saps.

No way the rebadged Polo can be priced at RM70K. It will be at RM85K at least.

Proton will be making a mistake if the rebadge this car. There is not much demand for a car like this. Everybody (on the internet) were so excited when news of a rebadged Lancer was announced. “Yay finally I can afford MIVEC” After a few months the number of Inspira sold were below Proton’s target, and there is now surplus of Inspira.

Point to note here is that, those who generate all this hype and excitement over the Lancer and now the Polo are youngsters – teenagers, college students, fresh graduates. It’s not like they can afford the car. An RM80K vehicle is not what people want from Proton.

Proton should focus on producing affordable cars. Not to fulfill some fanboy’s dream of a cheaper “higher class” car.

A rebadged Polo will have bad sales, just like the Inspira now.

• go-no-where on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:00 pm

what a disaster…

• LikasboyDickybird on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Max exposed your illogic, then you resort to calling him names, just like proton, all these years trolling here and you have never improved. With this news, proton fanboys will no longer be so smug about rebadging cars or even the alleged ability to make their cars, they will be just like perodua, now what could be a worse nightmare. Lol

• No hal on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Hahaha…thanks DRB HICOM – make TSI and DSG technology more cheap and afford to buy by malaysian..please make it true la..Dont care about VW owner la..they dont know how to invest in buying car then want to blame Proton….please la…you have more money you can buy Polo with CBU price while we dont have money and waiting to Proton to rebadge by VW..hahaha..thnaks again Proton , DRB Hicom..u r smart..kah kah..pleas mke it true..

• kenari on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:18 pm

Don’t know why people get all Gung-Ho and emotional about this kind of news. Should have been immune by now. It’s all about selling more cars, increase profit and have more market share. Purely business orientated. This is just a JV or partnership between DRB and VW. People already starting to speculate and say that PROTON should follow SKODA or SEAT’s business path so that PROTON can benefit from VW’s latest technology. Many already started fantasizing that their PROTON cars having TSI engine and DSG gearbox. Sorry to disappoint people that’s not going to happen. Why? Because VW doesn’t own PROTON. Unlike SKODA and SEAT, VW owns them totally. So from this JV and a pricing of RM70K, you may get the Polo chassis minus all the high tech gizmos like TSI and DSG. You’ll probably get a 1.6L 4 cylinder engine, 6 speed auto gearbox, trailing arm rear suspension, drum rear brakes, hydraulic power steering, 2 airbags. Come to think of it that’s not too bad for RM70K.

• lauyiachia on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Probably body of VW Polo but engine of Campro 1.3 CVT. :-P

• kaiser on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:25 pm

The fact is that Proton will not be able to afford the development costs of new drivetrains and multiple models. A tie up with a bigger manufacturer is needed to survive without the subsidy that the rakyat is forking right now.

Building a car on volkswagen’s platform using their drivetrain is not the worse idea Proton could have. Its a better idea in my book than gambling billions of dollars on the hope that people would choose the Lotus badge over a Ferrari or Lamborghini or Aston Martin for the same amount of money.

• It will be like another renault based proton. All spares expensive and ppl will junk it before finish paying loan! Look, no one wants a Renault based proton waja!

• Mofaz supporter on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Proton please rebadge the C class. Can’t wait to see the facial expression of the c class owner !

• Statisticisn on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:55 pm

VW is not going to betray his Polo supporters by doing this. The German is always very gentleman. Not like the Cunning Mitsubishi Japanase. If they really do so. Percaya lah, they are burning their own bridge in Malaysia. Nobody will buy VW product anymore

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 05, 2012 at 11:27 pm

hahahaha,,,,kenak potong lagi

• Costwise on Mar 05, 2012 at 11:30 pm

I would look for a great deal on second hand original VW Polo.

• i think the very 1st thing P1 need to move forward is fire drM.

a JV with the likes of VW looks promising. as a start maybe P1 will just rebadging 1-2 VW model which is fine by today’s trend. or maybe purely assemble VW car in TM to generate fund. in the future why not P1 use VW’s engine+gb in P1’s own chasis.

• for long, VW is very keen to work with proton.maybe they see something in the Tanjung Malim plant that they can utilize which make them so eager, while the proton team doesnt realize the potential of the plant..hmm..wonder what actually inside the plant that is so interesting

• tegak dan lasak on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:18 am

Not a done deal yet as VW would definately want
    an equity stake in Proton. VW is the No.1 world powerhouse
    and Proton will have to kow-tow to the needs and demands
    of VW. That is the very reason why VW and P1 failed to JV twice.
    No equity stake then no JV !! DSZ ,will have no say this time
    as there are plans on the drawing board to bring in a new succesor
    & to path a new direction for P1.
    Last time sombong, now suddenly everyone is supporting VW.
    Proton cybertroopers and DSZ b*ll carriers are like lalangs!!

• The first thing i’ll do if i get this car is to swap the badge!

• RedBeanBun on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:29 am

Looking at all the above, most does not know what is the value of manufacture, and rebadge and what is the damage out of it. It only shows, take NAP off and let Protong do whatever they want. They dont deserved a single funding from G now (who knows DRB still geting so called R&D fund, etc)

Its a failed industries for the country for going rebadge. It the start of the ending…

• hway de Cruz on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:47 am

looks like eveyone got something to bash n compliment… but guys, let’s open our options here. be it a business collaboration or new entity, let those guys work out the details. if it is gonna be beneficial for the ppl, those with bdgt can support n buy, otherwise, keep ur options open. my guess is maybe there is something that can come up with the EV concept plus some VW existing tech. If nothing comes by next 24 months, i will be moving on to other makes…. that is when my target of next car change.

• kenny_lim on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:08 am

i still believe that what u pay is what u get. just take the inspira for example, the body strength is the best one……..

• skoda on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:22 am

so i guess skoda will be banned now?

• pookleichowkai on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:35 am

Proton should just focus and target the foreign labour market in malaysia

Proton Persona = for the Indon working in malaysia

Proton Saga = for the bangla working in malaysia

Protonn Sawi = for the runaway maids in malaysia

These ppl are cash rich, they don’t need loans, they can purchase with cash.

• Johnny on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:54 am

Waugghhhhh!! I’m hyperventilating! If it’s RM70K, why not? But many will have their speculations.
    But can it be cheaper than a Forte / Vios / City?

• pookleichowkai on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:00 am

Proton should focus and target the foreign labour market in malaysia

Proton persona = for the indons working in malaysia

proton saga = for the banglas working in malaysia

proton sawi = for the runaway maids in malaysia

they don’t need any loan to buy car, they are cash rich…can buy with cash upfront.

• Leonardo on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:02 am

Looking forward to an affordable VW Polo. Hope the spare parts and maintenence costs don’t cost a bomb!

• autobizz on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:33 am

let see how DRB hicom play the show.. Let have another copy version of ” National Car “

• ahmadfaris93 on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:37 am

Great competition against the Honda City and Toyota Vios ? Yes !

• Nicky on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:48 am

Volkwagen will cause the previous customer angry , there will be no more loyal customer now . Proton better don’t make car anymore instead why not just change to rebadge specialist company . Proton just a money eating company. Why not just telling the truth to malaysian ppl that actually VW saving Proton as# by sold their idea to Proton. since Proton didn’t able to design their own local vehicle .

• please rebadge passat cc…

• j_polo on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:08 pm

here we go..VM POLO become PROTON POLONG…more scary tahn the original Polo..hihihi

• is it okay (legally) merging the logos together?
    IMHO it may spark a conflict of interest tho

• I think a few forgotten that the re-badging, while a valid tactic in an open market doesn’t realise that we’re not open. The heavy taxation and protectionist practices by the powers that be is why we have to pay such huge sums in the first place.

In such an environment, the national carmaker already has an edge pricing wise. Only thing they need to do is to make use of that to produce competitive offerings and using that advantage to offset R&D costs.

Re-badging only brings down cost for development of a car. Nothing more. But in our case, it’s more of a lose-lose situation since your tax dollars are being used to fund this disparity (through various aspects) by keeping afloat a non-functioning carmaker.

You want a 70k Polo? Why not just remove the tax barriers? You get the REAL DEAL for much closer to that price without levying the middle-man that Proton seems to have become.

• notify on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:49 pm

vw wouldn’t let any auto maker re-badge their cars.

• anwar on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:28 pm

it just a polo sedan with a normal engine same like mazda 2 , vios n etc , no turbo charge like real vw polo :)

• Yep doubt that they can throw in the TSI & DSG tech for as little as 70k!!

• if so wat would be the engine? Campro cfe? Or polo 1.2 or 1.4. so worry it happen like tiara, savvy, n waja 1.8. Good engine techno but dunno how to solve problem for owner. End up became junk every where

• Lunch Up on Mar 06, 2012 at 7:55 pm

What the…??? After years of development, billions invested, the sufferings Malaysians had to endure, the best Proton can come up with is a rebadge car? All the R&D seems pointless isn’t it? I am vindicated… Proton is a SAMPAH company producing SAMPAH! Except for the politicians, cronies, fanboys and cybertroopers la!

• persatuan jurujual polo patut saman btimes kalau cerita ni tak betul, sebab sekarang dah tak ada org nak beli polo lagi. dah takde classss.

kepada anak anak dato dan tan sri yg spoil dapat polo bawak pergi kolej tu, cepat mintak kereta baru dgn bapak korang semua, sebab tak lama lagi kereta korang is proton saga!!!

• Sekarang orng muda semua dah boleh pakai polo. Bukan setakat anak datuk dan tan sri je. Tu anak2 spoil brat datuk dan tan sri semua pakai kereta mcm bmw atau audi la. Tak tau langsung betapa susah nak cari makan skrg.

• Park On on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Rebadge and sell it about 1/3 of the original price. Impossible? No…The Gov should consider tax incentive to proton, this tax incentive would translate into lower car price. Sales volume would increase and so does revenue and profits. My 2 cents…

• U are Proton sales man? Without proton, ppl can enjoy european car at cheaper price. Even poor malay riding bike oso can afford at least a japs car.

• leomessi on Mar 08, 2012 at 10:55 pm

this story makes me:
    Excited (313) Think (45) Angry (124) Happy (25) Sad (84) Meh (61)

• leomessi on Mar 08, 2012 at 10:56 pm

this story makes me:

Excited (313) Think (45) Angry (124) Happy (25) Sad (84) Meh (61)

• paultan-reader on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:51 pm

If Proton acquisition by DRB-Hicom is not bring in new ideas on how to strategies Malaysian low market share (total malaysian car market range between 200k – 300k per year), for me even they re-badge VW, Merc, BMW or you name it = USELESS.
    This is just another bottomless problem for Proton.

• Mike Dude on Jul 06, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Haiyaaa! Kasi rebadge Golf R32 terus la…I gerenti beli.

• TaroPearl on Aug 17, 2012 at 9:07 pm

is this linked to the Polo Sedan launched so meaning this article is not true or they are two different things?