Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil is Proton’s new Chairman

And it’s official – Proton has announced to Bursa Malaysia that DRB-HICOM’s Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil has been freshly appointed to the Proton board of directors, and he is now the chairman of Proton Holdings Berhad, succeeding Khazanah’s Dato Sri Mohd Nadzmi Salleh, who resigned three days ago.

Khamil Jamil’s appointment follows DRB-HICOM taking up a majority stake in Proton after its shareholders gave the transaction the green light on March 16; DRB-HICOM now owns 50.01% of Proton shares.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn on Mar 20, 2012 at 5:18 am

Hopefully proton can continue to thrive with the appointment :)

• anti-vios on Mar 20, 2012 at 6:36 am

hahahahahahaahaha.. speechless.. =)

• hjramle on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:57 am

apa dah jadi dengan begasi pos tidak sampai saperti di janjikan

• biggie on Mar 20, 2012 at 7:40 am

I was hoping for tengku mahalel as he is more of a motorhead, good as achairman with passion on cars rather then bean counters who will churn out dugong lookalike

• En Jedi on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:00 am

Motorhead with his head as hard as stock piston. People is not keen with absolute monarchy in an organisation.

TQ

• nazgul on Mar 20, 2012 at 4:08 pm

i was hoping for Paul Tan…

• gattaca on Mar 21, 2012 at 3:37 pm

yeah.. me too.. and Danny of their BOD… Theo is Head of Design,….

• Vj the Rat on Mar 20, 2012 at 7:57 am

What’s the difference? Doesn’t change the fact that proton should simply be closed down as a loss making entity, the sooner Khamil recognises this the better.

• First thing for Datuk Khamil to do is send all Protongkat designers for study/re-education at Chris Bangle University, Bavaria, Germany….

Brainwash their outdated brain that still stuck at year 2001 design…then send them further to Peter Schreyer College, Stuggart, Germany for more design study…

That’s the first step to become truly a Global car firm…

If still cannot change their brain then thrash them all to Modenas lah their standard only for kapcai design…at least they’re not jobless lah…

• Why waste money send them there.. just hire Chris Bangle or Peter Schreyer la..
      But even without them, there are still talented ppl in Msia, just that P1 don’t want to hire only.

• VoidDance on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:57 am

To think that P3-21A was designed in collaboration with Giugiaro Design studio, you would expect to get pretty looking car you’re hoping for.

Not.

• Yeah, some local touch has indeed made the otherwise Italian beauty, uglier.

• VoidDance on Mar 20, 2012 at 4:26 pm

I believe the original Tuah design was by Proton designers, not the other way around. It was mentioned on the other popular Malaysian car blog.

• spyshotX on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:04 pm

there is a video uploaded in a blog featuring interview with proton styling boss azlano on the p3 design.. he did mention both proton and idg came up with their own design proposal but the mgmt decided to pick idg one as final design since it’s more feasible to mass produce with the cost constraint that they had at that time..

also some source said the tuah concept was actually based on the rejected proton design..

• sleepwalkerz on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:32 am

syok sendiri

• sean ZX10 on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:47 am

who is this guy with syed mokhtar? seems like he is the real owner

• keletakui on Mar 20, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Syed mokhtar was originally a rice wholesaler……i think this guy used to angkat guni beras for him

• Take a good look at the botak. This is the botak who is going to cause us a lot of sorrow in the years ahead.

• clutch basah on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:11 am

Anyone remember BMF Hong Kong story? This guy was there.

• keletakui on Mar 20, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Interesting………….what’s his role? Was he on the murdered guy’s side or Carrian group side or Lorrain Esme Osman’s side.
      Funny….. I thought he had the face of a serial killer.

• Mohd Hafiz Yusof (@_hafiz) on Mar 21, 2012 at 9:08 am

that was Kamil Ariffin?

• Garfield on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:15 am

Congratulation to paultan.org readers, DRB-Hicom heard all that you said about Mahaleel and do not appoint him as chairman.

But as MD? It’s not over yet…..

• GTR 2.0 on Mar 20, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Hope they can retain DSZ as MD. At least he acknowledged proton got some issues with power window. He also admit that juara and savy not selling well. Not just some people that don’t want to admit and ‘buat bodoh’ je bila customer complain.

• say no to mahaleel on Mar 20, 2012 at 5:09 pm

don’t you ever dare to replace DSZ! he is the best so far!

• alldisc on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:31 am

non-controversial as it is.

• cupin on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:38 am

new management new vision… hopefully it is a better vision… :)

• BADboy on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:51 am

Good luck….

• MoFaz on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:51 am

he is also director in several other companies: Pos Malaysia Bhd, Bank Mualamat Malaysia Bhd, Edaran Otomobil Nasional Bhd (EON) and Horsedale Development Bhd.
    better give Proton to me la.. i can put 100% focus on it. haha

• En Jedi on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:53 am

I hope he will be able to clean up the company from

1. Corrupt Decision Makers (Purchasing esp.
    2. Non-qualified vendors
    3. Local vendors which do nothing but outsourcing

Meanwhile he can improve on this :

1. Improve R&D
    2. Reduce wastage
    – 5 DAYS POWER OF 1……..event with no climax…3 days OK laaa.
    – staff overseas assignment which yield no significant result
    3. Improve process – manufacturing
    4. Improve logistics – cost saving
    5. impose 100% requirement for LOCAL MADE PRODUCT for non critical components.

and Proton shall be more competitive.

But most importantly ; INTEGRITY….company which emphasize importance on integrity never fails.

• There is 1 corrupted decision maker that disagrees with you. :)

• Transformer on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:56 pm

corrupt decision maker I agreed on this point. Nowadays CHINA MADE non critical component also can be a supplier. While many local supplier who is very much support to Proton end up with nothing! Good advices by global player standard also been ignored. Many things end up want free of charge.

Rather being a supplier better go to become Proton staff, up till down can “eat”. You talk about Proton’s integrity, SIGH!!! where to look for it?

• En Jedi on Mar 20, 2012 at 5:41 pm

“You talk about Proton’s integrity, SIGH!!! where to look for it?”

That is why there is a great need for a major overhaul. And we hope this guy delivers. Let’s switch the famous Syed Albukhary’s “peti sejuk” on!

• BadBET on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:56 am

good luck

• Docno on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:21 am

He looks fierce..contra to Nadzmi

• dzulx on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:35 am

hehe no wonder he talked so loud…

• Peter on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:10 am

Back to square one … Aren’t this guy the one who lay in proton for >10 yrs and claimed he know where Proton should head to? Selling to DRB is a ‘public show’ b’cse gov won let Proton fail. Anytime proton can’t sustain itself, there’s always lousy excuse to take back from DRB.

• Peter on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:40 am

I apologize for my mistake where I mistaken Dato Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil for someone else. But my latter statement hold true. BN gov won ‘privatize’ Proton and prepare to bail it up anytime it’s in trouble. They don treat it as business entity but a national pet project.

• That ur assumption….give proof la..then talk or write..dont simply write n said its true. I oso can said that….

• Too many proofs already (especially proton case, even Kazanah want to get rid of it ~ LOL) Among grown ups, only blind supporters & brain retarded ppl can’t see.

• kerambitlaut on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:26 am

Proton. Das Auto

Translation: Proton. Kereta Itu :)

Good luck for days ahead.

• ismail saad on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:02 pm

‘i believe’..

• The next step is to pull out the politics in the now private company. That means cutting off mahathir and the cronies.

• mastermind on Mar 20, 2012 at 2:12 pm

This guy is nephew of Robert Kuok…hakhak hak???Ops wrong….
    not related to other tycoons…
    But he hold degree on LAW from Briton…what the hell….Take Lawyer means….more
    talk…more talk mean more blame…more blames mean more politic more politics mean more money need…more money need mean more corruption…more corruptions mean….more mismanagement….more mismanagement mean more failures………..So
    To New Chairman we watch we monitor what ur do in Proton………

• Some interesting facts (for those interested):
    PROTON:
    Chairman (qualification)- Barrister-at-law
    Advisor (qualification)- Medical doctor
    MD (qualification)- Civil engineering

VW:
    Chairman (qualification)- Mech Engineer, MA in F1; grandson of Porche.
    CEO (qualification)- PHD Metal Physics.

BMW:
    CEO (qualification)- PHD, Prod Engineering/BA
    Chairman (Qualification)- Professor, Mech Engineering.

• VoidDance on Mar 20, 2012 at 4:33 pm

This I have to agree. Winterkorn of VW really know what automotive industry is all about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztTvZpRXJl4

• whocare on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:23 pm

no necessary Relate Qualification, They Just neeD Relation XP

• It’s OK lah if Protongkat fail again big time later…Uncle EPF kan ada…boleh tolong derma takeover sikit…tak banyak RM6-7 billion saja…

After Uncle EPF still failed, no problem it’s Uncle Petronas turn tolong derma…

Finally if Uncle Petronas also failed, go back again to Uncle Khazanah lah…

Apa susah Protongkat ada banyak Uncle tolong…

• makeitmine on Mar 20, 2012 at 5:25 pm

I hope that he can expand the DRB-HiCOM board to include talents from Lotus.

Lotus is not manufacturing enough cars and I think the talents in Lotus can be put to better use by contributing to DRB-HiCOM other automotive businesses.

• makeitmine on Mar 20, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Mahaleel can come in as Proton adversary in the board. He got wild ideas that are beneficial to the industry. Without him, I think Proton board will just go on as it was.

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 20, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil is capable bringing Proton to new level.Dont prove me wrong ok Datuk Seri.When i said Proton needs a man like Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil ,never cross my mind that he himself will be chairman.Congratulations n pls get the job done this time ya.

• hjramle on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:00 am

apa dah jadi perhidmatan pos bagasi.20 hari tidak sampai lagi