Isuzu D-Max price and specs announced ahead of UK launch

Click to enlarge.

In the UK at least, the new Isuzu D-Max will be available with four specification levels. Also, for the first time for Isuzu in the UK, the extended cab body configuration that features rear-opening side-access panels will join the usual single and double cab variants.

The entry-level D-Max is priced from £14,999 for the single cab 4×2 version where the air-conditioning, daytime running lights, electric windows, and side and curtain airbags.

The ‘Eiger’ double-cab comes in at a price of £18.499. This variant comes added with projector headlamps, Bluetooth and iPod connectivity, 16” alloys and body-coloured bumpers. The ‘Yukon’ double cab (£18,999) adds to the list with leather steering wheel with cruise control, six-speaker sound system, chrome detailing and 17” alloys.

The top spec ‘Utah’ offers leather upholstery, heated front seats and auto climate control. It also gets roof bars and rear parking sensors. This variant is priced at £21,499.

Click to enlarge.

The D-Max is powered by a 2.5 litre twin-turbo common rail diesel engine that produces 163 PS and 400Nm at 1,400 rpm. The engine is mated to either a six-speed manual or a five-speed automatic. Its new shift-on-the-fly system lets the driver go from 2WD to 4WD at speeds up to 60 mph (or 97 km/h).

The D-Max will go on sale in the UK in June 2012. Yes, it is the same one that was launched in Thailand last year, which are not the ones that we currently have. No news of when the new D-Max will be arriving in our shores as yet.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Waaaaaa… 14 thousand only.. so cheap ehh ??

• hway de Cruz on Mar 20, 2012 at 2:25 pm

here in bolehland, u dun get world product prices… totally insane taxes and excise duties lor, gomen special treatment to the rakyat. love u all so much, keep on sucking ur dry

• sxtrail on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Pickups are taxed differently in Malaysia.Check out prices in Labuan and Langkawi. U’ll know what i mean.

• TOYota on Mar 20, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Seems like car makers such as Nissan, Mitsubishi & Ford has upgraded their engine in term of HP and Torque for their pick-up trucks. Now where’s your turn TOYOTA? The Hilux and 2.5G Fortuner still equipped with underpower engines. Please do some improvement.

• 2KD-FTV is not really underpowered. put a piggyback n u can easily get 180hp 350++ torque on dyno…. extra mod n u can get even 250++ hp… no joke ive seen with my own eyes, dyno almost 300hp…no black smoke, FC didnt suffer that much…

• In order to upgrade, the commonrail system of Toyota has to be upgrade as well.
      The fact is that, toyota’s kd engines uses non piezo injector so combustion will be less complete compare to others. Therefore to saves fuel, hp and torque has to be lower to prevent black smoke. Look at Toyota 1AD-FHV = 2.2L 177PS 400Nm.

But here are the fact as well for acceleration. Even Ford Ranger 3.2 200ps, the 0-100km/h time are actually almost the same with 3.0L Hilux. 11 seconds.

• isuzu pls pls sell this below RM90k im sure it will give ranger, triton and navara salesman a very hard time.

• albag on Mar 20, 2012 at 2:15 pm

isuzu pick ups always give the impression of having a very small door for the rear passengers… unlike those of Hilux or Triton…

• Plus+ on Mar 20, 2012 at 6:25 pm

The D-Max is powered by a 2.5 litre “twin-turbo” common rail diesel engine that produces 163 PS and 400Nm at 1,400 rpm.

Is that real or typo

• Plus+ on Mar 20, 2012 at 6:26 pm

The D-Max is powered by a 2.5 litre “twin-turbo” common rail diesel engine that produces 163 PS and 400Nm at 1,400 rpm.

Twin turbo? is that real or typo error

• Chris Ng (Member) on Mar 20, 2012 at 6:31 pm

nope. it’s no typo. that’s what it says on the press release actually. twin-turbo.

• iLikewheels on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:22 am

later we can see more mother trucker in BolehLand, and get prepare to give them a right lane in highway….

• isuzuki on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:46 am

Mr Isuzu Malaysia,

1) when will the new truck arrive in Malaysia?
    2) will there be a 2.5AT version for city truck lovers (and lower road tax for semenanjung)?

TQVM.

• the_fighter on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:55 am

saw few units this new d-max in thailand road during last 2 week visit

• the_fighter on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:56 am

saw few units this new d-max in thailand road during last 2 week visit, really nice

• HChan on Mar 21, 2012 at 9:48 am

It launched at Thailand last year.

UK spec is always diffferent compare with Asian spec. I believe malaysia will launch this equipped with two engines 2.5 136hp and 3.0 170hp with new 5 speed auto tranny.

And yet, it uses a new suspension system at the front which is coil spring same as other pick ups instead of using torsion.

• Pickup_chicken on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:45 pm

no offend… but Isuzu-san, can u explain this??
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/Cars/forums/forumsearch.aspx?forumid=194&threadid=1273901
    Apparently, ppl can get killed just by driving D-max!!