New Datsun logo revealed, no more red rising sun

This is the new logo of the reborn Datsun brand. If you haven’t already heard, go on and read our earlier post, which details the relaunch of the brand by Nissan. Out goes the red rising sun in the background, and that’s logical, since today’s Datsun is not going to be sold in Japan, or developed markets, but high-growth emerging ones.

“Datsun will provide sustainable motoring experience to optimistic up-and-coming customers in high-growth markets. Datsun represents 80 years of accumulated Japanese carmaking expertise and is a important part of Nissan’s DNA. Datsun vehicles will start sales in India, Indonesia, and Russia from 2014,” Nissan boss Carlos Ghosn said.

Indonesia is a major part of Datsun’s plans. “Nissan is bringing new jobs and new vehicles to Indonesia. We are going to expand our production capability and offer a new and exciting product line here,” Ghosn added in a statement.

Click here for more on Datsun, a brand that brings back fond memories for many.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Mar 21, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Nice Logo LOVE it !

• Jeremy Clarkson on Mar 21, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Nice logo though,

MR N Y U NO ALLOW IMPORT CHEAP CARS?

• gegala on Mar 21, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Teringt salah 1 model datsun yg terkenal dgn pggilan ‘Datsun Buah Kana’

• it looks like some powerangers logo. hahha.

• armandd on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Dear newly reborn Datsun,

Please bring back the 240Z…

• Slump Dog Billionaire on Mar 21, 2012 at 9:54 pm

This brings back sweet memories. My dad used to own a Datsun 120Y 25 years back. It was a awesome car. Nice bright orange color. I have a seen couple of 120Y in PJ recently
    I drove this car during my first date and lost my virginity. Now off course I’m a billionaire, I drive a Mercz…..:-)

• cool story

• Sorry anyway… Nice story though.. however, my finger to itchy to thumbs down on ur post…haha

• kamaji on Mar 22, 2012 at 12:32 pm

In this blog nobody bother bout your virginity but anyway sad to hear that you got bang up from behind by a black guy.

• Ash Menon on Mar 22, 2012 at 12:39 am

It’s a little more upmarket than I expected, but oh well.

• welcome on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:16 am

welcome back DATSUN…still in memory my legendary 120Y

• quottro on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:49 am

B310 was my 1st ride…*reminiscence*

so good news with the revival..but i still prefer the old rising sun logo… :(

• quottro on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:09 am

btw, Datsun DNA….can we assume RWD?..haha

• kuriang on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:37 am

datsun! the car that i have seat the first time in my life.. my past fathers 120y famous red colour on those day.. a sweet memory when the name is come back.. now my brother get the same model and well keep at my hometown. I beg him to get the car but he’s really love it.. damm!!

• samsam on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:33 am

bit envy indonesia.

• Hmm, would love to see more red…

• mydats on Mar 24, 2012 at 9:00 pm

good!!! my car will reborn!!…I have 120y original until now…