Proton Prevé to be launched tonight – check back here later at night for the full details about the P3-21A!

The Proton Prevé is set to be officially launched by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, later tonight. We’ll be there to cover the event, and will be bringing you all the details about the car when it’s formally introduced, so do check back tonight.

We’ve already previewed the Prevé in both its 1.6 litre turbocharged CFE and normally-aspirated IAFM+ forms through a test drive session a couple of weeks ago, but you’ll finally get to know everything about the car tonight, from price to the entire features and kit to be found on it. Stay tuned for more!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jamal on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:12 am

Orait Anthony, we’ll waiting for it..:-)

• Christophe on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:20 pm

what a joke..trying to use a french word for a car and then spelling it in such way that it actually doesn’t mean anything, neither does this word exist whatsoever…haha, Proton goes global!!!

• What is it with the French being so stuck up about their language? They always get angry when people speak to them in English (which many, many more people understand and use), and now this fella gets all excited about a name that has nothing to do with his little language.

FYI Cristophe, the name is not taken from privé. It is taken from the English word preve which means to prove. Preve (pronounced preev) doesn’t sound very appealing so they added the accent to the last e, so it becomes Prevé, which happens to mean foresee in Portuguese.

• Hammerclaw69 on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Are u sure it doesn mean anything? and u saying it doesn even exist… Dude.. go read previous post about this car and dun juz come and bash without any solid info!

• got 2 things that make high maintenance:
      1. Timing belt (RM500 above)
      2. CVT gear oil (RM280 above)

Japanese & Korea cars didn’t use the no 1.
      Hopefully proton will change/upgrade it to timing chain soon.

• Vader on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:14 am

Some places showroom already have these car for display..
    overall seem a lot of improvements compare to previous P1 models, but no offense, there is still a “distance” to achieve so call global car.

• Cloudye on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:37 am

Somehow proton start somewhere.

• alpha999 on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:35 pm

give them some time

• anjez on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:26 pm

how long tome some more?
        already 25 years of conning the rakyat.bloody mahathir took all the malaysian for jolly good ride and made many bumi rich,fuck you you still want more time to see proton improve….better name it proton pantat…

• vincent tan, ananda krishnan, lim goh tong etc also benefited from their strong affiliation with mahathir, not just bumis. get your facts correct first before showing off your bloody stupidity in the name of racism. such a useless chap. pathetic.

• TAILIEW on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:16 pm

As if Vincent Tan, Ananda force us to buy 7-Eleven, McD or Maxis by forcing tax of other imported goods. (in proton case, imported cars are taxed heavily to protect Proton).
            Vios is sold at RM 45 – 50k in Taiwan, Thailand (we can’t get a Persona though)
            Innova is sold at RM 60k in Bali~ (we can’t even get a Vios)

• hadjihalef on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Don’t make yourself look stupid. Proton also got tax same like import here in malaysia. That info can be found on the MAA website.

• Gabla on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:30 pm

I don’t want to subscribe to astro when people in other countries can get satellite tv for free using their own dish.

• Statistician on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Hadjihalef

You really looked stupid !

• Long Dong Zong on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:58 pm

I know Vellu samy, ManiamSubra, Singh Jaspal, Krishnan Anand, a host of other cronies have made their pot of gold. I think you can Fcuk them first. Long live Hinderough.

• yeahh..agree with u…lots of bumis have become rich and gizilion more non bumis have become richer…go f**k urself or get a proton car as it has pantat…no ladies would want to mate with u poor, racist who only knows to bash without facts..

• leornardo on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:27 pm

well said Anjez! agreed with u!
          Jeff dont be so called A**Hole!no need to cover up more!damn fool!

• anonym on Apr 16, 2012 at 8:39 pm

anjez = anjing??

• awg1031 on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:53 pm

quit with your analysis already..it’s freaking boring..they are improving and we know it ain’t merc or bmw level yet..

• preve? on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:35 pm

i expect the car improves the interior materials but i see some videos from forum, most of the parts are still very plasticky…will see the real car then.

• buncit on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:32 pm

vios,civic,city,forte, also are still very plasticky.. so what???

• If Proton manage to break the barrier to enter the US market, then Proton can be called global car. Because the US simply has the tightest and highest standard and regulation of automobiles in the world.

• that may be so, but they still makes shit.
        want good cars? go European.
        want good planes? go American.

• I didn’t say about American cars. I’m talking about their standard and regulation of automobile. If Proton can reach the standard and sell their cars in the US, means Proton can sell anywhere in the world too, in terms of standard.
          Even German and Italian automakers has to consider US regulation in designing their cars, for example US requires every car to have side indicator.

• russiaguy on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:15 am

Can’t wait to see and test drive the car!

• Chow 1 on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:15 am

This is the final hope of Malaysian to be able to pay a ‘reasonable’ price for a superb car. Proton please don’t disappoint us!.

• lame duck on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:16 am

launch it and make me believe it!!! wohoe!!!!
    hope with this success they can transfer it to the next gen Exora!

• Ekspresi Ruang on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:18 am

can’t wait to test drive this car tomorrow.

• Victor on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:18 am

Turbocharged CPS? -.-

• Mirror on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:20 am

Hoping that this PREVE model, doing / selling good.

• Ilikeproton on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:21 am

Finally, after so many teaser,sneakpeak & spyshot.

• swoosh3553 on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:22 am

What time is the launch?

• Time & Venue for the launching of Preve? What time would it be available in Proton Showroom nationwide

• 1st.. Excited to watch it at nite..

• familiman on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:30 am

will there a be a full review soon?

especially interested in the NVH properties for this preve’

• chidori on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:32 am

Cant wait

• What do you mean can’t wait? You had waited months, delay after delay already.

• Bay MH on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:38 am

Ahh…finally, lets get it over with…

• zaidS on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:38 am

finally huhuhhu…

• Darien on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:48 am

It should be turbocharged CFE…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:50 am

Yes, it is. Hadn’t had my coffee yet … :D It’s okay, I just slapped myself awake.

• samlyn on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:53 am

Proton too slow to launch it.
    Bought an used Japanese car instead :)

Hope this model could tapau Elantra,Forte,Vios and City.

• of course la, 1.6=2.0

• to bias compare NA 2.0. please compare apple to apple e.g. with 406 1.6 156hp, or 1.4 TSI VW …look P1 still behind.

• apple on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:33 pm

compare apple with apple? 1.6 CFE turbo with a tsi engine? 1 is turbo, 1 more is turbo+supercharger. how on earth is that apple to apple? lol..

• sonyman on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:41 pm

no lah, he compare wolfgang epple with wolfgang apple. haha. the heck, comparing price one heaven one earth

• harris murad on Apr 16, 2012 at 1:44 pm

aiiyoooo why you no wait bro????
      hope you enjoy the purchase anyway.
      Come on PROTON, yeahhhh!!!

• I hope the car is successful locally and globally, kita kena sokong. our only Malaysian brand

• mamamiya on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:10 am

Launch the damn car now!!!

• Please support this great car!!

As this car company is the reason why other in our country car prices are so high.

This car company is the reason why we need 9 years loan for our first car.

This car company is the reason why entry level japanese cars are considered luxury

This car company is the reason why we pay 30% to 220% over-inflated car prices

Cmon guys! lets buy Proton cars!

• ngentan on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:04 pm

i think its not about car.. proton carries social responsibility also.. maybe u also benefit from it..

• vertigo on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:18 am

with all the pics in the net, don’t feel excited at all. but let’s just hope all the pics worth the reality.

• MoFaz on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:01 pm

bro, seeing picture of a beautiful girl and actually hug the girl will give you totally different feeeling.
      you only see the pic of the car… go test drive then you’ll know.

• Henry on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:21 am

Possible 2.0 little turbo in the near future? the car look nice for me in from the photos… I have bad experience from Waja

• MoFaz on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:03 pm

even peugeot and VW downsizing their engine to 1.4 and 1.6… so i don’t think proton would turn to the opposite direction

• GTR 2.0 on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Why not? I do believe they should have at least 2.0 and then can be upgrade the output with the turbo in the future for efficiency.

• Rulered on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:23 am

I can see a trend here, praises mostly morning post and bashers comes a bit late, early evening perhaps. Why is that?

• critic_A on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:52 am

i’m waiting for the 1st basher to comment! :D

• Amriji on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Coz “bashers” are most likely non-Proton Salesmen who got work to do in the office early in the morning. And they do not spend office time doing non-office things. Coz “Bashers” got to work hard for a living… the real majority of Malaysians.

While praises… may be Proton salesperson who is doing their job in the morning (which includes praises for every blog that showcases Proton products)….

Just my two cents.

• MoFaz on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:04 pm

two cents just doesn’t exist anymore in Malaysia. it get rounded down to 0 cent.

• MrChocoHazelnut on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:20 pm

No la.. Coz all bashers gone to school.. probably waiting for school bus now.. Hv to finished their homework before granted permission by their parent to online..

• slimershine on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:10 pm

cari point maa.. ^^

• Protong on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:26 am

Another piece of lousy Protong metal to cheat Malaysians.

• Looking at the initial preve interior photos taken at the showrooms, the quality is still doubtful.

Saw the Elantra at Sutera mall yesterday. The panel gaps on the dash are virtually non-existent.

• David on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:40 am

Finally, the launch….hope it proves to the nation that it is a continental Car….Last swing for PROTON, give your best shot….dun let MALAYSIANS down again.!!!

• yehh… 9pm serbu Proton Edar Jalan Ampang …..

• ben yap on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:45 am

i used to drive a 2008 Proton Gen2 CPS. I bought it for bout RM60K+. When i sold it, it’s bout RM35K, over 40% depreciation after only 4 years.

I hope Proton Preve will hold more have more resale value.

• Proton car no value….nowaday,people prefer import car

• MoFaz on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:07 pm

yup, proton cars resale value varies depending on model. Waja could still hold 50% value after 5 years. Persona and Saga has better 2nd hand value. the worst is Tiara and Juara, and i hope the worst is over.

• kevin on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:55 pm

buying a car is never an investment… it will depreciate… is just that the depreciation is vary from model to model…

• ss427 on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:46 am

Paul Tan, you may wish to check with the web host and have them delegate extra bandwidth to this board before 2nite..

Because….. I can see it will be the ‘ultimate’ showdown between die hard Proton supporters and the rest of the audience who have been weaned on PROPER Japs, Koreans and Euro products since day 1.. :)

Korean and western car fans, standing by our weapons… LOL :) Irs going to be a long ‘battle’ tonight LOL :D

• azrigon on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:31 pm

hahahahah..might be true. I had a chance to see Elantra at the curve on friday. looks good inside out. but my heart is still pounding hard for Preve. might not wins against elentra externally, but the performance and price might be better. AAAUUUMMMMMM……….can’t wait for the launching tonite..

• harris murad on Apr 16, 2012 at 1:48 pm

went to the curve last weekend as well, totally agree with you azrigon bro!!
        again, come on PROTON!!!

• ss427 on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Well like said bro, you’re asking too much from Potong…. :) If they can do better they’ve done so already… and not to come up with this Forte look alike Preve and then proclaim that they’ve got a ‘global’ car…

The styling is already looking abit dated even b4 the launched… partly no thanks to the tall profile and tiny wheels.. yes 16″ is not exactly tiny, but with such slabsided profile, even 18″ will look small in the fenders… And I dont even want to talk about the rear end and that incoherent tailights design.

I’d say Proton should instead pride themselves for coming up with a product that the Japs and Europeans have done approx 10 yrs ago… with, unfortunately, the fit and finish that’s still Proton. :)

Putting 4G, GPS, auto everything doesnt mean anything if these gadgets keeps breaking down on you…

And I’ve yet to see any auto manufactuers out there that proudly claim that CVT box is the wave of the future and that their ‘hottest’ cars will use CVT boxes as their SOLE gearbox choice…

• hadjihalef on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Apparently, Honda will be using CVT for future cars. LOL.

• ss427 on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:22 pm

In case you’re not aware, Honda and most Japs manufacturers do use CVT boxes… but IN JAPAN only, and they’re JDM cars.

When the models are being modified for export market duties, the CVT box will be the 1st one to go… cos Honda knows CVT can’t take the heavy duty use nor the possible lack of TLC in overseas markets.

Eg, for the Honda Freed, it has a CVT box in JDM, but when the cars are modified for export duties (and built in Indonesia), a conventional 5AT is used. That applies to the Jazz and Or Dai See too.

You mean the engineers are that free to do all these?

• familiman on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:51 am

dude… my honda city vtec 1.5 bought in 2005 – sold 2009 got CVT (7speed) already…

the CVT was pulled out from the next current gen of city bcoz msia marker specially in online forums keep on complaining CVT is expensive to maintain/repair/replace..

i also had the whole CVT replaced on 2nd year of owning the car.. lucky it was still under warranty..

however, current JDM honda city (fit aria) is using CVT..

and japanese only use the best for their JDM..

• boleh tgok siaran langsung kt tv1 ari ni…

• finally……

• carnoisseur on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:07 pm

hopefully it wont disappoint and will be a premium product with a reasonable price

• Superman on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Good luck to PROTON and PREVE. make us proud

• andyxxx on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:15 pm

is a gd car

• andyxxx on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:16 pm

is a gd car, book one :0

• DewaSemut on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Went to Proton dealer to see the Preve yesterday…

from my short observation… It is a handsome good looking car. Clean design. I like :)…

rear passenger space is awesome and getting in and out is easy. Despite claiming its wider than Waja, I feel that the driver’s cockpit area is not as spacious, eventhough driving position is better than Waja. Material on the side panel where you land your hand is plasticky and rough.. The panel above the front speaker is damn soft you can easily push it in with a mere tap of your knee… Hehehe… And why laa u don’t put metal door scuff plates?? This is not entry level model… If you can put it at Waja more than 10 years back, why not this Preve? It should my iluminated somemore with Preve’s name engraved… Haishhh… :(

However, despite much improvement of the interior’s desing and ergonomics, the Proton’s lack of quality bits and pieces, attention to details and the usual gaps are still prevalent and not up the mark , dissappointing a bit on that area :( … Need to work more on these Proton… what ppl touch and see inside the car is extremely important ton invoke the sense of premiumness and perceived overall quality of the car.. After all we ride inside the car not outside!

Bootspace spacious but still using traditional swing arm which will restrict loading capacity, not hidraulic like Persona.. And needed to be pushed hard to close it down… Even Saga is easier on this part, not nice… Btw spare tyre is not full size, only emergency ones.

The ICE is nice, the sound is pretty good considering it only comes with 4 speakers if I’m not mistaken, the screen displaying GPS maps is bright with with crisp image in broad daylight. The LED is not DRL, but still can be turned on individually without turning on the main beam… But looks like is not bright enough thus not so useful in broad daylight like the one you we saw in Audi etc… So it is position lamp like the leaked spec sheet revealed earlier.

centre storage compatment underneat armrest a bit too small me think, can put only a few cd case , eventhough the glove box size is quite generous.

nonetheless, i think it is going to sell well…. CFE will be sold at RM72,xxx cheaper than indicative price of RM75K… Wonder when the SE version will be out hopefully with leather seats with real DRL

• Highwaystar82 on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Exactly what i was thinking.

Exterior is ok except for the metal piece that shows when the side mirrors are folded and also the rough plastic on side of the side mirrors. The rest are no issues.

Interior is spacious and great. like you said the attention to detail are a smile stealer. The carpet trimmings, the whole edge of the door panels are not refined. the steering tilt handle looks filmsy and so are the boot and hood openers located on the bottom right from the front seat. very scary.

Its almost like everything was done in a hurry. although saga and persona uses alot of hard plastic but at least it trimmed better than this.

The interior kinda “potong stim” for me. I’ve been following the car’s development since last year. went to proton 1 show in bkt jalil and was excited to see Proton finally stepped up with a worthy car.

The weird things is, none of the first impression review i’ve read mentioned all this. Well, anyway will consider again after a month or so.

• titanic on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Wow!, this website is full of salesmen trying to prop up preve-tanic. This shit is bound to sink. No way malaysians will buy car built solely by syed mokhtar at rm70k. Akio Toyoda has trouble selling Toyotas at this range.

Try selling at 30k, maybe get few orders. People who buy will live to regret, as soon as the next birthday, when it drops 20k in resale value.

• crude on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm

yes master..your prediction is well beyond imagination master.pffftttt~

• Why Proton on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Engineering is not like selling Nasi lemak.
    You really need good R&D background to support,the back bone of top R&D usually from universities and Institute technology.
    All car fans here, please tell me,which local universities are capable of producing this high level graduates.
    With so much bias in policy making and chaotic racism in place leading to severe brain drain-i only see bangla and indon will join proton R&D Department…hence proton preve.
    Cross all human history,there is not a single case where you can be well known and succeed with narrow minded vision and short-cut effort.NOT A CASE.
    with our bolehland people running the show,either they are suffering from stg IV terminal stupidity syndrome or trying to keep wasting tax-payer money to create miracle where, high tech engineering work can be build without real talented and hard core workers working day and night.
    Give a guess, for any young German or Japanese high school student to get in their reasonable local university, in order to fulfill their dream as automotive engineer, they need to compete with how many students and score how many distinctions?
    During their college days how many papers they have to published and awards to be won before they can secure jobs in BMW,MERCS,TOYOTA or even Korean Hundyai?
    These group of people were selected from best gradutes from the first world country-who really work damn hard,trust me,they act like vampire-never live to see SUN(work before sun rise,home long after sunset).
    With our bolehland working mentality and engineering standard, we want to create ?world class car,shame on you man!
    If a person can do the same job by:
    1.no need good result to enter college.
    2.no need wide reading,no extensive research works with articles published,with on/off mamak tea tarik,some psp or ps3,girl friend dating.
    3.pass the degree course because you pray together with your boss under same roof and hence questions leaked and secured a honors…
    4.working time with frequent makan,late come early go,friday long hour missing….
    With all this unique,fantastic, unbelievable terms and conditions-god knows what products will come out from bolehland.
    Folks, be realistic-facts are facts.
    No success will tagged with effortless.
    So, why proton!

• regardless of wth you are talking about. Proton have churned out cars and it proved that we are capable of going world class. don’t underestimate our own countrymen dude. Do you even knew that Proton also produced parts for other world car makers?

• Expirate VN on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Poor writing. .Shame on u.no point.

• ILoveMalaysia on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:11 pm

I strongly agree with Why Proton. PERIOD.
      Graduated and worked in Germany, I came back with the intention to contribute to my beloved country. I really am surprised how most local graduates especially in engineering are very incompetant. Strong reasons why so are privatisation of universities and achieving target based more on quantity not quality. I am surprised of how lenient education local universities can be. In Malaysia there is no room for R&D. Too much Politics, too many accountants and law makers not to forget TOO MUCH banking taking advantage of low incomers – people are being lead around and around the bush. Too much talking and very minimal results. Sadly these people can get away easily. But like others who are experienced, worked hard and ACTUALLY concern, we keep paying premium for untoleratable quality.

Back to the main topic Proton has no room at all to make mistakes this time. People’s perception of Proton has been tarnished. Sadly even the local’s are complaining on an international level. I believe DSZ has worked hard to turn Proton around. This is our country’s image. I am excited for the launch. So please PREVE I am begging on my knees to prove to us. PERIOD!! I could not imagine you slacking off anymore.

• OPPRESSED MALAYSIAN on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:26 pm

I viewed and explored Preve in Ipoh showroom. I got the brochure as well. Surely an improvement from all Waja, Saga, Persona etc.

Yes plasticky but softer to touch. But same over at VW Polo. Also rather hard and plasticky.
    Door closing real improvement. Not less quality than City & Vios.

With ABS, Brake Assist, EBD Electronic Brake Force Distribution ESC with traction control.4 Airbags, WHIPLASH, GPS, Push Start,DayLight, Rain Sensor, Auto Headlight, Follow Me home light, Anti Trap Power Window, Side Mirror with Auto Folding, Paddle Shifter, Auto Climate, Auto Cruise, Trunk Remote Release, Bluetooth!! These specs are even better than soon to be launched more expensive CKD Malaysia’s Camry 2012! Driving & handling shall be put aside cause different car segment. But price of Camry RM 180k. You decide!

Closest rival is Forte 1.6 (RM 79k) with fewer specs.

Vios TRD Sportivo 1.5 RM 92k vs Preve RM 72k = RM 20k savings for brand image & so called 2nd hand value!
    4 speed vs 7 speed
    1.5L vs 1.6L
    106 hp vs 138hp
    141Nm (4.2rpm) vs 205Nm (2-4 rpm)
    Rear Torsion Beam vs Multilink with stabiliser bar. Do read up all abour cars – torsion beam lower cost & not so good for ride & handling.
    185/60R15 vs 205/55R16
    Vios without the following:
    ESC with traction control, 2 vs 4 Airbags, GPS, Push Start, DayLight, Rain Sensor, Auto Headlight, Follow Me home light, Paddle Shifter, Auto Climate, Auto Cruise, Trunk Remote Release, Bluetooth!!

Exora as discussion – cause same turbo engine CFE.
    Based on Singapore custom’s import value of Exora, Exora’s Original Market Value is SGD 13k or RM 31k. Exora Selling Price RM 80k full specs. Preve should be cheaper cause sedan. Maybe export value less than RM 30k. Likely selling in UK at Sterling Pound 10k.

For this RM 72k full specs quite a good buy.

• michael lee on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Which ipoh showroom can see the car?

• brian on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:33 pm

DO NOT COMPARE WITH VIOS. IT IS DIFFERENT SEGMENT!

• DEPRESSED MALAYSIAN on Apr 16, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Car segment classification – Brian there are a few classification under Euro Ncap, US EPA etc. Under Euro car segment both Vios & Preve fall under Small Family Car.

Why can’t compare VIOS? Same C segment.

VIOS 1.5E spec in Singapore OMV (by Singapore customs) SGD 11k or RM 27k. If CKD from Thailand, after Excise & Sales Tax = RM 52k Mark Up RM 30k. Selling Price in Malaysia RM 82k. UMW makes RM 30k or 58% Mark Up.

Preve (Based on Exora OMV RM 31k) Let’s assume Preve same selling price for export RM 31k cause not MPV.
        Cost RM 31k +
        Excise Duty RM 31k x 75% x (1/2 discount for “Kereta Nasional” if still applicable) = RM 12k +
        Sales Tax 10% x (RM 31k + 12k) = RM 4.3k
        Total Cost = RM 47k Selling Price RM 72k = Profit RM 25k. Mark Up 53%.

Toyota Vios 1.5E is a base model. Drum rear brake and without ALL the above as compared with its highest Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo.

Simply put Proton has more features & specs BUT NO NAMElah after so much quality issues etc. But Preve packs ALL in, so comparing to VIOS TRD Sportivo is quite right but cheaper by RM 20k + EXTRA features that you can’t find in Vios.

RM Sales Tax

• FireBird on Apr 16, 2012 at 8:45 pm

some people so branded-minded that cant even accept fact comparison.
        What a shame.

• wankhalil on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:57 pm

dia compare price range. OK what? tu yang kita concern bro… kalau duit banyak jgn tengok preve. pegi naza tengok ferrarri ke, lambo ke..

kan?

• foolproof on Apr 16, 2012 at 8:54 pm

How about some reliability data instead of specs comparison, since the Preve was throughly tested?
      The turbo enjin can tahan ah? The proton servis know how to fix ah? Any data from the Exora turbo enjin reliability, since same enjin?

• 1Preve on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Yawnnnn….

• Bad experience with my waja. Lasted only 4 months. Finally bought a sentry which lasted 10 years till today

• protonsucks on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:50 pm

lousy car.. scrapped metal

• kadal on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Dear Anthony, we want no less than a hard test drive.. see what this car has to show..

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 16, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Hard to achieve that tonight. :) But we’ve requested for a test mule, which we hope will be soon.

• Please review with fair comment / judgement. If it is OK, then say it. If it is NO GOOD, then say it. Do not protect PROTON by writing ambiguous comments. Compare it within it’s class vs Japanese, Korean and Continental cars.

• mystvearn on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Hopefully can review all three cars at once :)

• Me Again on Apr 16, 2012 at 1:01 pm

i think the inspira 2.0 manual if priced nicely…wd be a hit too!

• BeijingFan on Apr 16, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Hahaha.. “GLOBAL CAR” launch in bolehland,..others global car now lepak at Beijing Motor show daaa…

• Went to Proton dealer and car will be unveil tonight at 8pm at Melaka.
    Test drive only tomorrow…
    Got the brochure for the Premium version:
    Penisular Malaysia:
    Solid: RM72,540 with insurance
    Metallic: RM72,990 with insurance

• guys, already look at the car.. it is not very ‘pretty’ car but i’m very satisfied with the exterior..
    Performance wise should be ok since got praise by many professional driver.. looking forward for the launch tonite

• junjun on Apr 16, 2012 at 1:30 pm

YESSSSSSSSSS MENJUAL JUGA IANYA AKHIRNYA INI PLODON PRIGAY

• Bro,

we’ve seen ‘a carpet’ in menara maybank. Usually, when put a carpet in our office, new car will be launch next day. Probably, you can all check in menara maybank tomorrow. And normally, they’ll bring in the car late at night. Most probably after 8pm

• anjez on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:24 pm

finally the most anticipated car of year going to arrive.all the best to all the idiotic malaysian who continue to support MAHATHIR and his fucking PROTON.

• Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Hey Anjez , just look out your window, an ambulance will be arriving soon to take you to Tanjung Rambutan for behaving in psychotic manner without any reason or provocation. Neighbours suspect that you may act stupid like taking paraquart and endangering yourself. They also mention that your mother always hang up your sponge mattress to dry as you normally wet your bed whenever a new Proton model is launched . We all wish you well Anjez , and please behave when you are in there ..

• John Lim on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:34 pm

What the hell are you trying to prove Anjez? Trying to prove that you are one psycho person who can afford a much better car? If you dont like the car, fine. No need to provoke other people who actually interested with the car with your racist slurs.

• Proton Prevé (P3-21A) akhirnya sudah tiba di beberapa bilik pameran Proton Edar, dimana pelancaran rasmi Proton Prevé akan dilaksanakan pada 16 April 2012 oleh Perdana Menteri, Dato’ Sri Haji Mohammad Najib bin Tun Haji Abdul Razak. Proton Prevé bakal dijual dalam anggaran harga RM65,000 – RM75,000 bergantung pada spesifikasi model.

Prevé (disebut Prae-vae) adalah pinjaman perkataan Sepanyol yang bermaksud Proof / to Prove ( bukti/ untuk membuktikan). Proton ingin menyatakan mesej bahawa Proton Prevé ini adalah bukti hasil komitmen mereka dalam memartabatkan industri kereta nasional sepanjang 27 tahun dan menghasilkan produk bertaraf global.

Anda boleh tonton siaran langsung pelancaran Proton Prevé pada hari Isnin, 16 April ini di RTM TV1 jam 9.30 malam.

• clemenza on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:35 pm

banyak gambar penuh preve dah keluar di internet..siap dgn harga lagi..kalu rajin cari, mmg dapat pnye

• Hiii,…guys heard on the radio during lunch tht DSZ might not want to continue working with Proton when DRB take full control….!!!

• DSZ has done a lot for Proton in gaining Malaysian into trusting and believing in Proton…………………………you work is not done yet Bro DSZ……. It is hope that the news is not true……

• funniman on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Agree absolutely. The plans are all there for the future of Proton. Bold and ambitious marketing for the next few years but now have to keep quiet due to new owners. What a waste….if it is really true that DSZ is leaving.

• titanic on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Titanic sank on April 15 1912.
    Tonight April 16 2012, Proton Preve will start sinking

Global car should have global prices, not rigged, mafia, loan-shark price. Global 1.6litre cars only selling at around rm40k. Who are trying to con?
    The prime minister should not attend this function and soil his hands.

• leornardo on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:24 pm

well said! they trying to fool us! even KIA forte is selling at 75K aft add the so called stupid tax calculation, but why the hell proton cars can bo beyond 75K too?

• for d sake of accuracy, kia forte starts at 78k. proton preve starts frm 62k and fetches up to 75k for the high-line. also, d low end forte lacks other perks featured in d high-line preve. look it up urself. GPS, paddle shifters, to list some. why don’t you just compare preve to P2’s myvi?

• MoFaz on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:37 pm

bodo.. cheapest preve is RM60k and most expensive now at RM75k. cheapest Forte is almost RM80k and have much lower performance / fewer spec than Preve RM75k.

• Trazom on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:24 pm

Please consider the “original” price of Forte before being heavily taxed a’ight? If the after-taxed Forte’s price is still lower than the new Preve, then who is going to buy the RM75k local car? RM75k for a non taxed M’sian metal don’t you think it’s a little hefty, hey?

• titanic on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:25 am

This MoFaz guy a hardcore idiot. He is regular here and he thinks everybody is as stupid as him. Ignore him, he’s just a salesman anyway.

• sirseriuse on Apr 20, 2012 at 5:24 pm

kia forte or optima in england cost about 19,595.00 GBP or RM96,788.13 otr. dont listen to people. go to their websites and search for the truth.

• NajibConMan on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:26 pm

why PM shouldn’t attent this function? He is the biggest con man…

• bryan on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Mamakthir also should not attend. He is the master of conman and cronyism. I support proton but not wid the mamak as adviser.

• Taksukaproton pun on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Are kidding me dude, how much golf tsi let say in uk! Why not you tell us?

• good product will sell by itself… please wait and see

• The prices are listed below :

1.6 Executive
    Manual – RM 59,540 (S) RM 59,990 (M)
    CVT – RM 62,540 (S) RM 62,990 (M)

1.6 Premium
    CVT – RM 72,540 (S) RM 72,990 (M)

*Note- S:Solid colour / M:Metallic colour

• I like KFC on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:44 pm

well, good luck for the 1st batch buyers, hope your preve will be functioning in one piece after 1 month. =)

• takNakP1 on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:06 pm

lets see if the power windows ever improved…

• JeremyNg on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Bro before you use the power window, did u actually read the user manual ??!! I read Saga user manual, it said that you only can control 1 window per time and try not to use 2 window at the same time if not the power window motor will spoil….. I not kidding about it.

Btw Perodua power window also gt problem what , now complain ?? Problem ??

• autojohndoe on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:08 pm

mesti kau xpnah naik myvi kan?

myvi punya PW pun kantoi la…

apa daaa…

• i bet you got that from mere hearsay right? i personally hv experience with p1 cars – iswara n blm. none of them got d infamous power window-gate. but im not saying p1 cars r all tht good, but to stereotype p1 cars is way too much for being ‘critical’.

• i bet you got that from mere hearsay right? i personally hv experience with p1 cars – iswara n blm. none of them got d infamous power window-gate. but im not saying p1 cars r all tht good, still to stereotype p1 cars is way too much for being ‘critical’.

• gedebe sokmo on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:47 pm

Looks like er all proton haters never drove a proton b4? do u know proton has life time warranty 4 power windows. Check with proton. ooh i forgot. u don’t drive proton. u ride a bike. huhu

• karulann on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:28 am

:) There’s a probability that he/she is driving a proton car… Some people just like to bash intelligently and immaturely, cause the reason ‘they just want to’

• I have the privillege to witness the launching at MIECC tonite.. :-)

• Clever on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Proton always the best on PAPER… only….
    Space, power, speed… all on paper only
    Funny how it doesn’t hold its claimed durability and quality very long.
    Patriotic to pay for some mismanagement of suppliers? I don’t think so.
    Even the sales ppl in Proton centre don’t have keys to the test drive cars, but instead ask me “why you need to test drive? all ppl also just buy like that?”.
    Bravo proton for the Preve. Prove yourself. Don’t just win on paper.

• Car Driver on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:26 pm

If the Preve CFE is that good with that price for a Turbo then all VW turbo cars can forget about selling in Malaysia.
    Well all the interest is in the Turbo Campro engine.
    All 1st batch buyers be the 1st “Guinea Pigs” for us later buyers.

• Hebat Proton, Hebat Proton,
    Hebat Proton, Hebat Proton,

I don’t seem to be able to find the TV ads in youtube.

• niceone on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:09 pm

i thot u hate proton so much, why bother with searching for the ads on youtube? i’ve seen u on almost every paultan’s post about proton, u with ur bashing comments. u could use ur time and energy to do more meaningful things in life rather than bashing needlessly. why waste your life dude?

• Highwaystar82 on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:43 pm

I think the car is kinda overpriced after actually sitting in it. I urge ppl not to make any rash decisions of buying just yet. Interior pictures vary from the real thing. This is from “my” observation in the showroom.

Please sit in it, feel it and drive it. If you’re happy with the feel and ride then you can make your purchase.

• prevecrazy on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:17 pm

I kinda agree wit u la.. Interior kinda not satisfying. Please check it out for yourselves.

• JeremyNg on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:57 pm

I saw 2 of this car at Melaka Proton show room , but they covered it with “blanket” !!! The car at the showroom for days d ………

• Gitu-gitu on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:04 pm

the best and most affordable car in Malaysia..
    surely gonna be top seller..
    its a Proton :)

• Absolute Rider on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Should support DSZ, under his leadership to bring Proton of Today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

DSZ, you are the best. You should remain as MD of Proton. Thanks to you and those under your leadership.

• Maherzean on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:31 pm

PREVE – Proton Ready Enough Very Efficient Car to sale – that is all about

• paul ogawa on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:53 pm

anjez says:
    16/4/2012 at 2:26 pm

Your remarks shows that how racist are you and it reflect on yourself and what kind of person you are. People from all over the world are laughing at you..

• Really not a bad car from the looks of it. Would go for this rather than any Toyota (and I have driven a few Toyotas; last 2 generations of the Vios and the Camry and last 3 generations of the Altis). Toyota is just milking the cash cow now; take a look at the soon to be launched Camry, RM160 000 for a 4 speed auto in 2012?! dafuq’s this shyt?!! But I digress.
    I’ve sat in it briefly at a showroom yesterday and I’m happy to report the driving position is quite all right. And if Proton’s past few cars are of any indication (Inspira, Persona, Saga), this car is going to be the leader in terms of R&H. I’ve driven the Inspira and I just love how the car rides like a continental car. Firm, pliant and really comfortable at the same time. NO Japanese car at this price bracket or maybe even a few brackets above can compare to the Inspira. It makes the car that it’s based on feels like its shocks are being welded together.
    Now Proton please please round up your QA/QC people and make sure that they do their damnest. Don’t you bloody disappoint us all (again!!).

• no no on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:24 pm

better buy Japan @ korean cars.. wait for Nissan Sunny Almera…! very save in term of service and petrol consumption

• vwfan on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:56 pm

congrat to all preve buyer..your bad nightmare will come.

• asadi on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:59 pm

Hey all,
    I admit i don’t have much info before bashing but here is one fact.

I tried to sell my 3 year old Persona Hi-Line. Bought it for a cool 56k.
    After numerous problems and ignorant P1 service centre staffs i decided to sell the car off. Seriously, no second hand car dealer wants to give u a good price. i won’t call it coincident that each second hand car dealer said the same thing, “abang jangan la lain kali beli proton, harga ini macam jugak dapat” or something in the veins of that.

A friend sold a Honda after 3 years and the price depreciated very little. My point here is why don’t our own pride and joy give us back a better resale value? hmm.

• I think proton make improvement about design at this time….support malaysian product

• 40 mins only speech speech speech…. Just launch the car already…

• urdad on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:14 pm

malaysian cars n korean got a very big similarities ..
    they’re fckin good in plagiarism.
    nuff said.

• ngentan on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:38 pm

i really don understand y proton change from 6 airbags to 4 airbags 4 malaysian market… if affordability is the question, i think its not an issue. people with 4k income start buying imported cars even tough just an entry level. come on la.. its not like 10 years ago.. people got more buying powers today.
    what they want if a good car that comes with quality. even you sell them cheap, give longer warranties, people are fedup to go to SC many times.. (thanks to your SC that always make people come back like we dont have any other jobs to do).
    now if people wanna buy proton they wait first for period of time say 2 years… visit forums.. see what the issues..
    frankly, i like this cars… hope quality not like my 5 yrs old car.. trims ar suck! nget ngot here and there, crying headlamp…. bulp not last longer… poor qoality of seat’s fabric… goyang dangdut side mirror… but hey my power window are still working.. and your campro is really awesome!

• titanic on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:11 am

Very good….so many negative comments about Preve.

One more thing, Mustapha Mohamad the MITI minister has hinted that imported cars will get cheaper in 2 months when he unveils the NAP……..so the Preve buyers, get ready to ” Pegang Bendera” .Your buying price will be the highest EVER. This car will be a lot worse than Inspira, Launch high, later give 10k discount because tak laku (for preve, maybe have to give 20k discount because lousy)

• fahmie on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:18 am

wow..nk tergelak dgr ah pek cakap ‘plevai ‘..wat malu ja..apa2 pn gua ttp bli kereta yg harga bwh 90k n 5 years warranty unlimited millage…forte!!!!!!!

• fahmie on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:23 am

forte the best!!!!!!!

• very disappointing ….the test drive showed that despite being the top of the range, power was lacking and build quality was poor.

• those having forte and other korean cars will cry in 4 years time when they look at their resale value…and can’t even dispose their cars as they still owe the bank….then let’s see if you forte owners can say the same as you are right now.
    Having test driven the preve and inspira….i would only say this…proton did a poor job overall!
    looks like will have to wait longer for a good car to come by!