Audi RS Q3 concept to break cover in Beijing Motor Show

‘Thrilling dynamic performance’… that’s the theme Audi is going with to the Beijing Motor Show. And to headline the event, Audi has glued together the Audi RS Q3. Essentially, it is a Q3 with all bits and bobs from the RS bag of tricks.

For starters, the RS Q3 sits 25 mm closer to the tarmac and widened with visual details. The black honeycombed grille now gives off a 3D effect by its offset placement and framed by a brushed and polished aluminium trim. The headlights are slightly tinted and certain chrome parts are either finished in dark tones or covered by carbon fibre-reinforced polymer (CFRP) panels. More CFRP are found in the redesigned bumper with the honeycomb inserts and front spoiler, the wing mirror housings and the diffuser. The colour you see in the pictures is called Ordos Blue, which Audi says is a matt blue with a slight yellow tint.

The RS Q3 is fitted with a glass sunroof that lets light into the cool black interior. What are not inked in black are painted in blue with CFRP highlights. Three kinds of leather are featured in here – seats get Fine Nappa, steering wheel gets black Velvet leather that repels dirt well and the door trim panels are covered in blue Alcantara. In the tacho, the usual Arabic numerals are replaced with Chinese characters, no doubt to appeal to the Chinese market.

Style is also what you get when you pop the hood. The engine compartment features a layered-carbon trim panel that covers the area around the five-cylinder engine with a red valve cover. There are two laterally arranged ventilation screens that feed air into the engine. Cylinder numbers are marked on the spark plug covers – a racing trait. Rounding up is the aluminium housing that holds the open sports air filter while the air tube is made of stainless steel.

Which brings me to the engine; it’s a powerful one. The RS Q3 will have the 2.5 litre, gasoline direct injection, turbocharged TFSI engine. It generates 360 hp, no word on its torque. It is capable of accomplishing the century sprints in 5.2 seconds and has a top speed of 265 km/h.

Paired with the engine is a seven-speed S tronic (Audi’s dual clutch, in case you didn’t know) and it sends power to all four extremities. Yes, it has quattro. The RS Q3 will wear 8.5 J x 20 alloy wheels. The front surfaces are high-gloss; the sides are sandblasted. The 255/30 rubbers will be shoehorned onto the wheels.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Wow! Very nice!
    Hopefully it is below RM500k

• Dickson Liew on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:36 pm

dont be silly la, bro… if no money then bawa motor lar…

• Vodka on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Audi’s Q3 looks much better than BMW’s X1. This RS Q3 is really badass looking!

• This is what we’re talkin bout baby…smokin hot!

Long live the 4 rings!

• andros on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm

elegant to the car

• droll on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:50 pm

wow, this is the same RS3 engine 2.5L 5 pot! a sweet engine! yummy yummy.

btw, is the q3 ever launching in m’sia??

• Wahh damn nice car..

• Dickson Liew on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Opps, Preve is better than this monster…

• off course la preve better. even jeremy clarkson would agree with that

• Just me on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:14 am

After watching how he make fun of savvy, proton not even dare to ask him to review preve.

• that wheel makes it looks like a big hatchback rather than an suv

• Just Another Dude.. on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:37 pm

this thing just screwing with your mind. From the front, it looks like a small hatcback car; then you look inside the car, the seat looks small and not proportionate.. then, you look at the back, it reverts back to look like a hatch back.

it is mind f**k.

• nitro motor on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:43 pm

is this we call concept car??? concept car should be like space ship…

• is it me or the wheels made the car look cartoonish. maybe it is just me. oh i need a new job

• looks like a hot wheels toy car with those really huge wheels

• UberHoliday on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:10 am

Nice, the audi SUV looks really futuristic, whatever that even means nowadays.
    Don’t like the rear plasticky butt guard though, makes it look like a VW.

• orange on Apr 19, 2012 at 7:13 am

this car just a CG image it isnt even real ! it must be look ugly in real life

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:02 am

I really don’t get the Q3 or Q5.

What is the matter of a proper A4 and A6 Avant?

I do see wagons around so there are people buying them, and VAG makes some of the better ones. I had some time in a b5 Passat wagon and it drove much better than any of these soft roaders and with more cargo room.

and BTW, I think its more fitting (pun intended) to say the wheels are shoehorned into the rubbers…….

• DavidChai on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:53 am

I think is same like TT-RS engine…340hp, 450nm…nice…..

• I know i will get alot of thumbs down for this,but audi design has become redundant just like VW.this one ugly audi.

• orange on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Well VW group OWNED Audi,that’s might be why..

• yeah thats why i feel VW applies the same formula with Audi.Once a design is well accepted,stick with it and make minor changes every now and then in order to retain sales figures.same thing applied by Toyota.

• yanes on Apr 19, 2012 at 6:01 pm

overal nice. especially under the hood. but the fail thing is the front. audi should put spotlights instead of big air ducts. because offroad.