Proton Prevé Turbo CVT and IAFM Manual tested

I’ve had a go at the Proton Prevé, finally. After hearing so much about it from my colleagues (raves and rants, but more of the former) who attended the preview drive, and seeing the latest Proton in the metal at the launch, a drive event to Cherating in THE car of the moment was not to be missed!

The media drive was divided into two groups, and I drove the Prevé on the return leg from the East Coast to KL. Two variants out of three were brought to the event – the range-topping Preve 1.6 CFE (turbo engine and CVT gearbox) and the entry level 1.6 Manual, powered by the Campro IAFM+ engine.

No need to go all technical – after months of teasing, a detailed launch report and drive impressions from two testers, I believe you already know what you need to know, technically.

To briefly recap, the C-segment Prevé is available in three variants – the 1.6 CVT Premium, the 1.6 Executive CVT and 1.6 Executive Manual. The Premium CVT is powered by a turbocharged CFE engine with 138 hp and 205 Nm, while the Executive models come with the naturally-aspirated CamPro IAFM+ engine with 107 hp and 150 Nm.

The turbocharged range-topper does 0-100 km/h in 9.6 seconds and has a top speed of 190 km/h. The cheapest manual variant manages 0-100 in 12 seconds and 180 km/h. The IAFM+ CVT combo is the slowest with 12.5 seconds and 170 km/h.

The most-booked variant so far is the Premium, by a huge margin. In contrast, the stick-shift Prevé is stuck in single digits, percentage wise.

We started the day driving the 1.6 Manual on twisty trunk roads, before upgrading to the Turbo CVT, a good sequence. The base stick-shift Prevé is slow as expected, with acceleration found wanting. This is evident when pulling off from low speeds and when momentum is broken.

Maintaining momentum is key in this variant, and the peaky engine needs to be worked hard in any case. More low to mid-end torque would definitely be welcome.

That said, bear in mind that media drives often involve all-out driving and fast convoys. We were also “chasing” the lead group in the Turbo (and even managed to hang on to some poorly driven examples), so the lack of grunt, especially at the low end, was amplified. The M/T Prevé is slow in context, but is usable in normal driving.

A car is so much more than “power” though, and the Prevé fares very well in other driving aspects. Especially nice is the balance between ride comfort and handling, as well as subjective things such as the feel of the controls.

What stands out the most for me is ride comfort and damping, which is unrivaled in the Asian C-segment sedan class. Many will say “Continental feel,” but I can think of some Euro hatches that could do with this level of composure. It makes bad roads feel good, the Prevé.

This unflappable feel extends to the road holding. Hit a dip or bump mid corner and you’ll know what we mean. The Proton sticks to its line, doesn’t gets thrown off course and the rear end doesn’t hop across horizontal obstacles.

This, combined with the natural feel of the steering and brake pedal, means that Prevé is a car that inspires confidence when driven fast – you always know what the car is doing, and can gauge how much it has in reserve. Not easy to measure, or explain for that matter, but I rather this than plenty of cold hard grip without the confidence.

Since this is a family car, the suspension is on the soft side of the scale, so there’s some roll in tighter bends, but nothing off-putting or too dramatic. The observations above were gleaned from fast country road driving – short customer test drives around the block will reveal a “comfortable” and “easy to drive” car, which is accurate.

What didn’t I like? The instrument panel. The fonts are too flat and stylised for me – difficult to read at a glance. If Proton was trying to achieve a “sporty” feel, they should note that Audi dials, and even those in the Lancer/Inspira, look good and are very legible. Jogging through the multi-info display, I noticed that the “TRIP A” font size is larger than the km reading, when it should be the other way round.

More on the interior. The Turbo comes with a head unit complete with sat-nav, and while this is a good addition, it’s could be better designed. It’s not efficient use of space when the border is so wide, and the screen so small. They could have easily put a bigger screen and just two vertical strips of buttons/dials, VW style, but I’m told that this is an off-the-shelf head unit, and not a clean sheet design.

I’m also not too keen on the gold-ish trim colour in the M/T, preferring the dark wood of the Turbo. No complaints on the ergonomics, though. Everything is on hand and the driving position is good.

Moving on, the 1.6 CVT Premium is a much faster car, obviously. But fast is not the first impression I get, and it’s most probably due to the stepless gearbox. I may not be a fan of CVT, but I recognise that this type of transmission – chosen here for both cost and fuel economy – can be painless and relaxing when done right. Nissan does CVTs well, and the Sylphy is a great example of how the ‘box can add to the driving experience.

Acceleration in the Turbo feels labourious. The key word here is “feels,” because a glance at the speedo needle shows that we’re making good progress. Initial lag, a low-rpm drone and a faint whine throughout means that the Punch CVT isn’t the most “regular automatic-like” CVT in the market. The manual mode feels artificial as well, and the steering paddles work with toy-like tactility.

The 1.6 CFE could be a great engine, but we’ll only get to know it better with a proper manual gearbox or a regular torque converter automatic. The latter is unlikely, because a five- or six-speed unit is costly, and Proton has already gone well down the CVT route.

I reached KL with mixed feelings. The Prevé is a good car to drive and live with (decent looks, lots of space, good NVH), and it has a great package of comfort, handling and feel. Many will be well served by Proton’s latest, I’m sure, but there’s not one variant that’s “just nice” for Mr. Picky here.

The CFE has the kit list, nicer cabin and pace, but its CVT isn’t on par with the best out there. The entry-level manual, on the other hand, has the correct gearbox (I own two manual cars) but lacks pace. I didn’t get to try the CVT/IAFM+ combo, but Anthony and Chris told me not to bother!

So my ideal Prevé doesn’t exist yet – as you can probably guess by now, it’s a 1.6 CFE Manual!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• How about the quality of the parts, exterior and interior? How does it fair against other competitor (in the price range, Vios, City, Forte) in terms of interior quality? Did you do a press test on the hood or bumper?

Sorry, so many questions but it’s good for readers to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
    • Danny Tan (Member) on May 15, 2012 at 10:56 am

Press test on hood and bumper? Seriously?

Interior materials are good, soft plastics not found in City/Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
      • yknow on May 15, 2012 at 11:08 am

Danny, you’d be surprised at how many people think soft bumpers and hood = bad quality.

I’ve seen people walk up to a car, press on the bumper, shake their heads, and walk away.

Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
        • so don’t buy lah…..no body force you then….WTF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 42
          • ProTips on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:08 am

Comprehension fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
          • Ah Moui on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:19 am

clever to find money, stupid in school well known in bukit bintang loyal customer of green elephant brothel. attitude

• Obama on May 15, 2012 at 11:43 am

Im so sorry to say that…Preve soft plastic is too hard, hard plastic is too soft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • Wisdom on May 16, 2012 at 3:21 pm

The door sheet metal is harder than the one on Inspira. Press the door & test it yourself at the showroom.

I was surprised with that.

• hewhew on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:22 am

the bumper is not soft..its just elastic..
          the elastic properties of the plastic will give longer time impact when collision occur..it is a safety for pedestrian..the longer time impact when accident will decrease the momentum and hence,give less injuries than hard plastic without elastic properties..
          also,the hood is also taken into consideration about the pedestrians..it all related to safety of the pedestrian..the safety for the driver & passenger is at the chassis..
          this is just what i know..:)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
      • fazron80 on May 15, 2012 at 11:14 am

maybe also can do rollover test. A safe review. I’m eagerly waiting for the manual cfe preve. No replacement for a proper stick shift.

• wolfsburg on May 15, 2012 at 11:16 am

How come the feeling of Preve soft plastic is so different from those found on Elantra and Sylphy? The Preve feels a bit weird to touch.

• Proton_preve on May 15, 2012 at 11:21 am

it may just a soft PVC covering the hard plastic inside… I can feel the weird feeling too..

• It is just a layer of foam covering a hard plastic, just like the Waja, only this time the soft layer is thicker.

• hewhew on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:26 am

the PP material for the plastic in the interior has been improved from Exora model..indeed it has the weird touch,because the texture of the soft-plastic is to reduce the ‘high-peak’ of the surface..this so-called ‘high peak’ surface will cause the scratch can be seen very clearly..in Exora,the quality is 3/5..but Preve has improved the plasticky issue to a better grade, 5/5..:)

• Yes, serious danny. So do you have other methods to judge exterior? I am open to it.

TBH, your review focused on what Proton is strong on: ride/handling. You’ve also touch on the engine’s drivability. But you did not mention much (I’ve read once, and ctrl-f for quality/interior/exterior) about the interior/exterior parts/build quality, which has always been Proton’s “weakness”.

That’s the only flaw in this review imo. Albeit the criticism, keep up the good work. My words might have been harsh so sorry about that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • Danny Tan (Member) on May 15, 2012 at 1:26 pm

No problem Name. Each of us are entitled to our own views.

For me, the interior fit and finish is good. For the exterior, one can look at shut lines, body panel gaps and paint finish – none of these are abnormal on the Preve.

“Harder” panels are not an indication of better quality, vice versa. The new F30 3-Series has a rather “soft” roof panel, as we recently found out. So, is that 5-star Euro NCAP Made-in-Germany BMW using substandard materials, and is unsafe in a crash? No.

“Harder is better” is how people judged quality and safety 30 years ago – the world has moved on since (crumple zones were an alien concept back then, for instance) and we should, too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
          • Im agree with you danny….

• jalan54 on May 15, 2012 at 1:58 pm

“For me, the interior fit and finish is good. For the exterior, one can look at shut lines, body panel gaps and paint finish – none of these are abnormal on the Preve.”

It is true that the panel gaps have improve, but still not up to my standard yet. As compare to forte, there is still a lot of improvement needs to be done. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not bashing, just hope that they can improve all this minor things in the future.

Interior wise, sorry to say, the aircon control and the dashboard are really ugly, even uglier than satria neo, other than that, all seems nice to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
          • wlighter on May 15, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Dafuq.. satria neo has one of the ugliest interior i have ever seen. How can you even use it as a comparison is beyond me….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
          • Flannel on May 16, 2012 at 11:46 am

yeah satria neo is one of the ugliest interior i’ve ever seen, sorry to say this, but its true. and preve too:(

• coinstar on May 16, 2012 at 7:37 pm

agreed, how come neo interior better looking than preve? really puzzle me, what kind of person would think neo interior better looking

• Chung on May 19, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Have not seen it in the metal but i do agree with coinstar… for a car with so much promise… global car… the interior can be summed up with one word… bland. Its practically heaven & earth when comparing the exterior design with the interior… such a let down when they can design such sporty interior for Neo & even Persona.

• no wonder i saw som30 years ago? No wonder I saw some people still ketuk2 Preve body at show room, most of them are old school guy, also slam the door like 5 times. Seriously please stop this kind of test.

• Apprently, the doors on the Gen-2 and persona has some mechanical issues. Its common for x-proton drivers to do that. If u notice the persona, its got a plastic tube around the latch and it has to be replaced once broken. Without it, its take much force to close the doors.

• Josh Ling on May 15, 2012 at 5:09 pm

i think you are probably one of my favorite writers here so far, danny. i just like the direct-ness (if there’s such a word) and simplicity of your article. keep it up!

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 15, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Thanks for your support Josh!

• pauline on May 15, 2012 at 12:34 pm

danny paultan, would you do a comparison on

Preve VS Inspira?

both top spec?

at 73k vs 84k.

which is the winner

• well, in this case, the winner is proton, and the loser is mitsubishi: mitsubishi was reluctant to allow proton to convert the lancer to inspira at first, but eventually proton managed to persuade them. Poor Mitsubishi lost a big part of their lancer sales after that. In my opinion, proton was just using the inspira/lancer to temporary
        boost up their sales. And now that the Preve will attract potential Inspira buyers….Mitsubishi must be thinking right now: I gave you my bread and butter, I hoped you will do well, then at least I would be glad with it. But now you kill it with your new bread and butter…this is a big let down…

I bet mitbisushi will never lend/allow proton to use their models again…

• pacifictuna on May 16, 2012 at 1:54 pm

you think malaysia is a big market for lancer? lancer is a global car, inspira isn’t.

• Well, it’s the accumulation of sales in every country that make the car a global car, big or small. If mitsubishi doesn’t care about their sales, they wouldn’t have opened in Malaysia, in small countries like Singapore etc. You can also noticed that as soon as proton launched the inspira, Mitsubishi Malaysia quickly launched the lancer sport back to so called counter their loss sales of the lancer.

Now , what willl proton say if u go tell proton don’t sell their global car Preve, in Singapore or other countries, bcoz their proton sales volume has been small all this while…

• JeremyNg on May 15, 2012 at 1:04 pm

bumper should not be too hard and too soft ……. moderate is good enough because bumper is design to absorb impact !!! if it’s bloody extremely hard , you will be so dead when u involve in collision bcs ntg actually absorb the energy !!! this is simple physic law leh

• Stanley on May 15, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Jeremy, you got the point.

• jl@ipl on May 23, 2012 at 11:02 am

Agree with you.

The bumper should not the one absorb the impact. The impact bar underneath the bumper should do the job.

Malaysian don’t bother to learn. Even worst, when some one spoon feed them with knowledge, they still refuse. Why? Bodoh sombong ????

• sabun sales man on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:00 am

i have Honda Accord year 2007.I have Civic 1997 and now i have PREVE 2012 CFE. for me its OK. thanks PROTON ..i like PREVE..really berubah. very nice and all of my friend mrelative and neighbuor give their words..THIS PREVE VERY NICE. so for me ok lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • luqae on May 15, 2012 at 9:13 am

Why proton didnt come up with a 1.6 turbo with a manual gearbox! surely lots of youngster would buy.

• YeapyEvo on May 15, 2012 at 11:24 am

Youngsters are waiting for Satria Neo R3 CFE Turbo with 200hp

• luqae on May 15, 2012 at 12:21 pm

but u have to remember not all youngster want a 2 door car, some prefer a 4 door sports car, and given the option i bet a lot of youngster would buy this car, over vios or city.

• maybe they can wait for the hatchback version..rumors said manual tranny for cfe is available

• Proton RnD on May 15, 2012 at 11:14 pm

YeapyEvo…

u r very confident of the Satria Neo R3 CFE. are you an insider? or just a guessing? 200hp some more… wow… rumors.. just like the song sang by Adele…

• 1 leh kickin on May 16, 2012 at 10:22 am

There will be Neo R3 CFE supercharged!…not 200bhp bt more like 180BHP and about the 200NM torque..the word ‘Driveability’ has taken importance here…its a car not for power junkies but for DRIVERS….

there will be another car comin early next year…with a 6 speed tranny!!….wait for that!!..u’ll be pleasantly surprised!!

• niceone on May 16, 2012 at 1:08 pm

how about the yellow neo APRC road-legal edition? DSZ mentioned that few months before, but haven’t heard any news up until now..

• luffykewl on May 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm

is there any possibilities that proton is saving the CFE manual for the hatchback version of Preve?

• WingDestiny on Jan 13, 2014 at 5:02 pm

do you think youngster loan can be approve by bank??

• serious on May 15, 2012 at 9:20 am

buy the 1.6 manual and slap an aftermarket turbo :D

• If you slap an after mart turbo and increase torque by just say 10%, the toque will increase to 225 nm. However, the Max torque that the CVT gearbox can take is only abt 220 nm of torque.

So, say Good-Bye to your CVT Gearbox.

• MANUAL bro. which part of 1.6 MANUAL and TURBO did you not understand? what does it have to do with CVT? duhh..

• I tot he talk bout 1.6manual then u talk about cvt.. U know what is cvt and wat is manual?

and how to put an after mart turbo when u already got a turbo.. twin turbo meh? think la bro…

• MoFaz on May 15, 2012 at 11:12 am

he said 1.6 MANUAL… since when manual is using CVT..???

• oops my mistake. did not see the manual. However, a “turbo engine” is not as simple as putting an after-mart turbo and matting it to a NA engine.

Else, you can just put an after-mart turbo into a Persona manual. Cost you much less.

• when u buy turbo from aftermart i’m sure they will tune ur ECU or whats not. They dont just use cellotape to stick the turbo rite? :D

• Turbo guy on May 15, 2012 at 3:23 pm

What CFA said is true. You most likely have to change piston rings and a few other things. Remapping the ecu is just part of it. If the car is a higher performance car then the NA engine would be able to take the torque.

• the guy above mentions about manual, not CVT. read carefully what that guy wrote at the comment.

• underskinned on May 15, 2012 at 9:24 am

Sigh. My understanding of the review is that CVT gearbox is terrible.

• MoFaz on May 15, 2012 at 11:13 am

i find that CFE-CVT match in Exora Bold is better than Preve.. maybe just need re-tuning.. i’m just guessing.

• NONICKNAME on May 15, 2012 at 9:27 am

Good car. Afraid of CFE fragility. After thoroughly dig the exora club forum, found out that CFE still got many prob such as overheating, one way valve and engine died during reverse. So, i will dig the forum after a year and if the prob gone then i will book one for my family.

• tokmoh on May 15, 2012 at 11:31 am

Dig around forums, you can see many people complaint about delays and inconsistencies. There’s even a leaked notice to Proton SA saying white and silver can take 2 months to deliver, and the SA shouldn’t overpromise customers. Some booked since power of 1 event in March still don’t know when they can receive their cars. Some booked later already received theirs. Early birds rage at Proton’s unfair treatment.

I don’t get how Tanjung Malim plant is running at pathetic 51% production capacity, but still unable to deliver local markets efficiently. How to meet international demand la like this? Wait 1 year after pay downpayment?

Kudos to DSZ and engineering team for putting together a good product, but marketing and aftersales just lets them down. RM73k is a huge commitment for most Malaysians, product alone is not the only determinant.

• pauline on May 15, 2012 at 12:40 pm

they cannot deliver cos they are busying fixing turbo and cvt issue.

make sense?

• NONICKNAME on May 15, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Yeah. I was thinking of getting one, but afraid end up wasting my time kelaur masuk SC. Maybe after a year, Proton has solved all the prob and the engine already matured i can get one. Btw, Exora Bold valued for money.

• Nofaz on May 16, 2012 at 12:52 am

Exora & Inspira is assemble in Proton Shah Alam (MVF).. not in Tg.Malim plant.

• rosdi on May 15, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Mana link.. kasi link la to the exora club that says the engine got problem..

• NONICKNAME on May 15, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Just google proton exora club. Pls dig the thread, and u will think twice b4 buying it. I dont want to be Proton’s lab rats

• rosdi on May 15, 2012 at 5:39 pm

As expected…, I hear from my fren fren fren fren uncle sister brother father aunty’s punya cerita… cakap kosong no proof…

You don’t even dare to put your real name in here, haha… that says something.

• Hilmi on May 16, 2012 at 8:35 am

I’m owner of Exora Bold Turbo and also following the exora club thread. Exora bold now clear from problem:

1) Engine easier die in reverse
          – Exora bold turbo actually have better low RPM torque and higher reverse gear ratio than old Exora. I suspect the complainer may be bluffing or engine not optimum or didn’t press enough throttle (any mpv will have this problem, since its heavy). Personally i never have this problem,.

2) Overheating
          – Never have this problem, nor i can find anyone serious complaint about that for exora bold, 1st batch of old exora indeed need the replacement of radiator host due to possible leaking. Are you sure you read Exora forum and not Alza forum (http://ezany-kun.com/perodua-alza-terbakar-hangus-dan-rentung-di-saujana-utama-3-gambar/)? Maybe radiator fan activated even after turn off the engine make that bad perception but watercooled turbo like Exora can save your petrol compared with installing turbo timer that force the whole engine to run/idle 2-3 minutes.

3) One way valve
          – Genuine problem for small amount of 1st batch (jan/feb) of Exora bold user. Some one overtightened it and make it broke, but its not the design issue.

• NONICKNAME on May 16, 2012 at 11:40 am

@Hilmi. Thank for ur comment with fact. Pls enjoy ur Bold, it is a good MPV.

1. http://protonexora.com.my/forum/index.php?topic=7564.0
            http://protonexora.com.my/forum/index.php?topic=8675.0
            -here they talk about overheating. I read from here for overheating.

2. One way valve. Its a common prob for VVTI but affected 4 1-2000 earlier production only. Now i think Proton already solved the prob. I think Toyota used to have this prob during their 1st batch of Innova.

3. Engine died during reverse
            http://protonexora.com.my/forum/index.php?topic=8803.0
            U can read here. It is because Oil Control Valve (OCV)

Im not saying that CFE are not good, but it is still immatured and development phase. Maybe after 1 year, all the prob solved and the engine has entered a matured phase.

@rosdi. Ur comment are #bul&s(*t. Are u a Proton Salesman? I talk with fact from their official club forum, because i do not owned one. B4 that, it is on my toplist. End up with decision that i will wait until CFE enter the matured phase. Are ur nickname real? Pls count for me, how many commentator who use their real name in this forum. I think, the only who use real name here is Paul and Danny.

• Wisdom on May 16, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Dig, surf, and you’ll find all cars got problems. Some were inherent problem and even neglected by world class manufacturers. If you’re based on online information, my experience surfing since 1995, only corolla SEG have very less problem and robust (still the too soft rear suspension setup got complaints by owners).

Just name the car, Altis; whinning gearbox, Civic; gaps, knocking sounds, Sylphy; creacking dash, CVT, Forte; Swerve to the left, dash, aircond, Elantra; horn by itself, Vios; noisy engine sound, squeaky chassis, bearing, City; wind noise, Accord; brakes problem, Camry; also brake problems…. and the list goes on.

Proton is doing good. Need to push a bit more on those ‘rough edges’. At the end on the day, any car u choose will have problems. What matters is whether its acceptable & never jeopardized safety.

• rosdi on May 17, 2012 at 12:52 pm

I am using my real name lah… good you are doing homework before making the commitment.. as every buyer should… I went to that forum you said.. the problem does not seems major though.. seems solved already.

Anyway it is good to be playing safe as you did..

• Just a fan on May 20, 2012 at 10:28 am

Exora bold at first was top on my list. Went to the show room, guess what, the unit has malfunctioned side mirror. Dont really bother bout that, but the most irritating part is the body is easily dented if you press it too hard when opening the door. U will notice it under the door handle after some time if u open the door using that method, auntie2 and uncle2 use to open the door that way. Im very particular about this issue. Despite the hood and bumper, im still rigid on the fact tha side body must have harder metal sheet.-end up buying Stream.

• Firdaus on May 22, 2012 at 12:21 am

How da heck did you open the door??? Using the thumb method?? I never used that. Besides, thumb can dent it?

• daamz on May 15, 2012 at 9:31 am

Hope P1 will change the rear design. The rest look good. Front design is so so sexy..

• Chow 1 on May 15, 2012 at 3:39 pm

The Exterior design does not really matter. VW looks plain but it feels good when driving.

• test drove this the other day (1 full day)

good:

– soft seats
    – quiet cabin
    – feature-packed

bad:
    – noisy engine when accelerating. stretched chicken?
    – fuel consumption. around 9km/l (mixed drive)
    – blind spots. aplenty

• wolfsburg on May 15, 2012 at 11:20 am

The engine refinement is quite a letdown in this car. The noise can always be heard.

• “The engine refinement is quite a letdown” compare to what? 138hp & 205Nm of course got noise, no noise go buy Prius

• wolfsburg on May 15, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Peugeot 308 oso turbo right? Altis, ELantra, Forte, Sylphy all quieter than Preve also and they are all the same segment

• ayamas on May 16, 2012 at 12:38 am

then, go and buy Peugeot 308, why bother about Preve anymore

• MrDDR on May 18, 2012 at 12:12 am

So you means proton cannot improve after this?

• datum on May 19, 2012 at 2:48 am

You guys spoke like the engine noise penetration is noticeably bad but Danny said in the review Preve has good NVH.

Does the NVH level varies from one unit to another? That would be a worrying production/QC inconsistency if true.

• afraid that test car is pre-production car
          the preve owners claimed it does have good nvh,
          and also that after 1000km service there is no initial lag like before

• kensomuse on May 15, 2012 at 9:39 am

Nice review, Danny. In reviewing the Prevé, I noticed a few kinds of buyers:

1) Proton supporters who have owned and continue to own a Proton. These buyers will praise the Prevé to no end and they’re right. This is, by far one of the best Proton models released in the past decade
    2) Non-national car supporter. These are the drove-Proton-never-going-back buyers who die die will never go back to Proton and takes every opportunity to bash Proton. These are the ones who would post and repost any bad image/news about the model, even if there is no verification of its truths.
    3) Automotive connoisseurs (such as yourself) who have tested/own multiple cars and draws upon their more wider experience in evaluating the car.

In the end, it all depends on from what angle they’re are coming from. Everything is relative and depends on the buyer’s priorities and needs. For the family man, they may likely be price-for-size buyer. Rear legroom and rear passenger comfort ranks higher than performance, ride & handling and design. In this respect, the Prevé fits them well. It may not have the best fit and finish, nor a German make’s driving dynamics but at the asking price, the Prevé is an excellent choice for the budget buyer who wants a new car.

• 2) will not be buyers. :)

• Agreed bro!! Im on the 2) of your list. Wira is very ok for me until I changed to Gen2, nightmares started and i swear no more Proton in my life. Trade in for City E specs now, so far so good, not the perfect one but no headache for me either.

• Fukuoka on May 15, 2012 at 12:43 pm

Don’t get too excited Mr. VTEC.

Your beloved City is not good enough to be sold here in Japan, although it’s a Honda. It is meant for third world countries and for those who have the buy-a-car-for-its-brand mentality. Strategic marketing by Honda.

Sorry if I’ve offended you.

• I’m no 2 also…..never ever buy Proton anymore..esp this Prevent….hail to Korean cars…!! hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Stanley on May 15, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Nowadays korean car is so stylish and the spec also quite good. Sad to say that malaysian dont know how to appreciate it

• Flannel on May 16, 2012 at 12:00 pm

bullshit! korean car has no ‘art”, its uglier than proton honestly….only ppl dunno bout car love korean cars….pffft

• (Your beloved City is not good enough “to be sold here in Japan”, although it’s a Honda. It is meant for third world countries and for those who have the buy-a-car-for-its-brand mentality. Strategic marketing by Honda.)

Do you mean you are from Japan? If you are then you will not even bother bout Preve existance. If no, get a Proton & Honda and test it out yourself. Don’t just be a blind supporter by listening to what the salesperson said or blindly looking at the specs of the car. Owned both brand to get what I mean else just STFU. I used to be a blind Proton supporter and that is when my nightmare begin by purchasing a Gen2.

• brownies on May 15, 2012 at 3:32 pm

he’s dreaming as if he’s from Japan. even use the words “sold HERE in japan”. fagking wannabe. blurghh..

• He from malaysia but work/study in japan. Get it?

• Bersih 4.0 on May 15, 2012 at 2:20 pm

to Mr.Fukuoka, if proton & perodua cars are allowed to be sell in msia, why not H.City or even T.Vios? Our G tax those car to be so high price, else City or Vios will be around 40k-50k. And when City or Vios are priced at that range, proton & perodua can shut down completely. Like you said if City is 3rd world country car, then Proton & Perodua doesn’t deserved to be called a ‘car’! Since you are from Jpn (1st world country), don’t come to 3rd world country forum to comment anything cause you dont know anything bout automotive policy in msia!

• Wisdom on May 16, 2012 at 10:39 pm

So u choose.
            Expensive car but cheaper fuel (now) or cheap car but expensive fuel like most of other countries.

Russia fuel RM2.80 and they are 2nd largest oil producing country. Yes their car is cheaper.

Buy car to be kept home. Nice idea.

• alldisc on May 15, 2012 at 4:21 pm

how come H.city is not from japan, when it is actually based on Fit/Jazz which once the most popular car sold there?

• the fake japanese wannabe is dreaming that he is from jpn…

• tsunami on May 15, 2012 at 4:58 pm

bro…
          u just haf to embarassed urself rite?

btw proton still sucks no matter what…pls go dai…im not blindly bashing…but the darkness proton brought upon automotive industry in malaysia is enaf..

• whatsoever on May 16, 2012 at 11:25 pm

If u ask proton go die.. u’ll be eating roti canai n stuck v putu mayam for lunch.. economy of malaysia sources are from proton too.. u tak belajar ar? Otak u mmg tak guna

Think before u comment.. tengok tajuk baru comment.. im not a fans of proton.. but as a car enthusiast, one good refine comment makes changes.. u bikin negative negative comment buat saya pikir you macam budak sekolah..

So.. pls be matured.. if not you can die lo.. haiyo

• sub_zero on May 17, 2012 at 12:40 am

“btw proton still sucks no matter what…pls go dai…im not blindly bashing…but the darkness proton brought upon automotive industry in malaysia is enaf..”

my, my what a condescending words, hate proton to the core but not blindly bashing? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

to tell you young snobbish spoil brat, if it weren’t the crony like tengku mahaleel mess up proton so bad, proton should be already become of the world automotive major player

but since we living in malaysia, well that dream is in ruin, but now finely repiece one by one from a guy who live with heavy burden and insult thrown, name Datuk Syed Zainal who one single purpose is to make sure proton goes back to it’s feet.

but now since proton got bought by DRB-Hicom, well i dread to see again proton will turn up like the old days once they, if those big people in DRB decide to kick DSZ for good, really.

and so you young ones, learn not shoot blindly, even your hypocritically saying the otherwise

• Chung on May 19, 2012 at 12:56 pm

If DRB-Hicom decides to kick DSZ out, it’ll be a sad day for Proton. I like what he did to Proton. Really listened to what most consumer wants & comes out with a good product to cater to them… Unlike Tengku Mahaleel.
            I own a Persona Elegance btw & before that Proton Iswara which I use for full 7yrs and also have tried many other cars… Forte, City & even Honda Insight. I’d say DSZ has done a fantastic job

• Proton RnD on May 15, 2012 at 11:25 pm

mr VTEC is just an asshole. who just got slap in the face for buying a stupid car. felt offended due to the fact that he’s an ass. hahahahahahahaha

• Persona_IAFM on May 16, 2012 at 1:08 am

underage kid’s comment spotted.. hmm.. wonder if you had owned a car yet..

• Danny on May 19, 2012 at 11:10 am

The day when Proton can compete on a level ground internationally, I will agree with you. But for now if Proton still can’t stand on its own 2 feet…. I dare not say any other car manafacturer in the world is stupid nor the buyers of imported marques are stupid people.

Abolish the car taxes on international makes. – Honda City / Vios / Swift can be sold for 40-50K. And we must be using non – subsidized fuel @ RON97 @ RM2.80. Proton can sell the Preve at 75K and Proton user can continue using RON95 @ RM1.80. No more arguments. Proton user pay more for car and pay less for fuel. Other user pay less for car and more for fuel. Government can save more on fuel subsidy. Since only subsidized for Proton users.

We can gauge which is the more popular choice by the rakyat and abolish the less popular one.

• if you want to abolish tax for foreign makes, why not abolish the tax for proton too? where got vios 50k? at least 55k i believe, and preve cfe before tax is of course much cheaper than 70k

sub-standard foreign cars still cannot beat proton in term of price even if the tax removed

• I have Gen2 for 6 years no problem always 200 km/h on highway honda city 160 km/h already shaking so what so expensive so slow driving and with expensive spark plug no value for many and look like an overtune Sampan but still proud about Honda. look at all Honda model none of them look interesting only Name. Honda technology good for the last 20 years but not anymore please be up to date. During you father time it good but not know. You don’t understand car that why your car got problem. Wrong time wrong place.

• bobob on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:23 pm

VTEC.. u can just ride your honda and move away from this thread =)

• I agree with you. The Preve CFE has the potential to be best car in the segment, only to be let down by the gearbox. The lag in initial acceleration and constant whining is really a turn off for me. Other than that, it’s quite a good car.

• Assclown on May 15, 2012 at 11:15 am

MASSIVE lack of initial acceleration!
      Makes me feel like I’m moving backwards. Even my passengers who were with me in the test drive could feel the lack of acceleration. It’s like getting out of bed in the morning. Or government workers coming back from lunch break.
      Interior wise is cheaply built with design in the range of poverty.

I drive a Neo and I really like that car.

• Proton should have used the CPS engine for the Base Manual model. In fact, proton should use the CPS engine for the Persona. I have not driven the IAFM model before but I was given a courtesy Gen-2 sans-Campro model when my CPS model was being repaired and the difference between the low-end torque is very BIG. Like MASSIVE.

• wolfsburg on May 15, 2012 at 11:24 am

Best car in the segment? Check out VW Jetta, Focus sedan, Pug 408, Elantra, Cruze etc…

• ….and DO Check out the prices of those cars u mentioned and then deduct it with the Preve price…lots of balances for retirement plans ; )

• pauline on May 15, 2012 at 12:43 pm

inspira??

• haha, only in Bolehland can be good la, go other country, Preve kena pawn kao kao.

• gagakhitam on May 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm

thgh
            preve already can pawn civic2.0 in max torque,as civic2.0 max torque only stand less than 200Nm,while preve is at 205Nm

of course,civic.2.0(8th-gen) can tapau preve at top speed,which recorded at 200km/h(?) while preve at 210kmh(youtube)

then in-term of cornering also,preve can easily pawn civic2.0 at average140km/h,,due to its excellent proton-made suspension(bear in mind this is the suspension used in inspira that managed to pawn ori mitsu lancer2.0 that got lost its stability at 200km/h recently at uneven terrain at LPT,while inspira still maintained then already scoot free after cucuk the lancer)…have u even owned any of them?

• Vincent Ang on May 16, 2012 at 10:30 pm

The Civic 2.0s does 0-100 in 8.8 seconds brother.

• Based on test drive, I found the engine extremely unrefined with a horrible whine from the gearbox. Bad insulation etc. It certainly did not feel like it can do 0-100 in 9.6 s as claimed. The civic and forte felt faster. Something isn’t right in the Preve.

• fatihablack on May 17, 2012 at 11:24 am

yup cucuk2…after that it cost 2 life …and almost an innocent baby…it’s no point to drive like maniac and cucuk2 if it makes other people suffer…i feel pity for the baby becoming orphan rite now.. damn idiot driver in both inspira and lancer….

• waja renault on May 25, 2012 at 5:47 pm

also tapau baik punya pakai waja renault dengan honda 2.0 ..memang tak boleh kejar… buat malu honda je..

• wolfsburg on May 15, 2012 at 9:54 pm

People are talking about segment not about price range.

• Firdaus on May 22, 2012 at 12:30 am

HE said has potential….

• How fast you drive and what car you drive before? If you drive BMW or mercedes with the same cc it would be worse. You don’t understand car or dont want to understand? Why you don’t talk about low power alphard or the 170 km/h Wish this is all stupid car please understand

• booked one.nice review btw

• Hear, hear! I second the motion for a CFE manual variant.

• Lorat on May 15, 2012 at 9:46 am

Proton’s non turbo engine has same power output as other 1.6 engine, but why after 10 year, it still lacking low end and mid end power? Wrong dimension of bore and stroke? Wrong engine management configurations?

• alldisc on May 15, 2012 at 4:27 pm

piston stroke for campro too long… doesnt match and balance DOHC characteristics.

in the CFE engine, the stroke was slightly reduced.

• mizzuddin on May 15, 2012 at 10:05 am

why laa no manual tranny…?

• wendy on May 15, 2012 at 10:09 am

superb!

• Agree with you…
    CFE Turbo Manual! Oyeh…

• meteorx on May 15, 2012 at 10:16 am

Thank you sir!. This is what I’ve been waiting for. The manual version test drive review

• NORIKO on May 15, 2012 at 10:21 am

FUGLY

• proton should make a 6speed manual on a cfe

• rapidshifter on May 15, 2012 at 10:23 am

nice…. manual CFE … will it be a reality?

• MoFaz on May 15, 2012 at 11:18 am

probably yes… but proton also mentioned that they will produce Inspira 2.0 Manual…

• Seriously on May 15, 2012 at 10:33 am

Is it me or does this review seem a bit all just “on the surface”?

• MoFaz on May 15, 2012 at 11:20 am

because previous reviews already talk so much about this car.. and thousands of comments by supporters and bashers about this car as well.

• Johnny on May 15, 2012 at 10:35 am

I dropped by a Proton showroom yesterday and left with a sigh..

• What a blow to Proton …………….techinically there is a lot of improvements to be made. Well…..you cannot satisfy everybody…..Malaysian want a cheap car……but they want all the blows and whisle…….I think DSZ had sleepless night on deciding what to put in or what not…..Its difficult decision one must realise that.

I am not a Proton employee nor am I a proton fan. I drive a Honda. Even Honda designers & Toyota Engineers kena hantam…..Why the new civic design is not as stylish as Hyundai or Kia and Why toyota still use 4 speed gb and old VVTi and not Dual vvti.

If you look at VW, BMW & Audi dash board its the same design but no body complain

We should BMW, Merc & Audi are premium Brand and different market segment than Proton.

Someoone told me that they got riped off. Bought Proton Wira in 90’s at RM 60K and now Preve is around RM 70K…..we should think Proton Wira is mitsu design we have to pay royalty to Mitsu. Preve is our own design …..think la bro….kalau mau jadi pembangkang pun jangan la bangkang buta x2

Just my 1 dime opinion la….

• why you dragging politics into paultan site?please lh bro stop ur non sense…no one need your stupid dime opinion, keep it to u and drive ur honda happily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • mrworldwide on May 15, 2012 at 9:58 pm

i thk the one who drag politics to here is u…even ur nickname also sounds anti gov..

• i think the BANGKANG he/she mentions refer to BASHER lah. you sound sensitive to politics………..

• like ifag la

outdated phone so expensive no complaint

y do u stil believe in proton?

• mamat on May 15, 2012 at 10:40 am

i don dare to buy this car!

• As expected from proton. Yet to get simple things right ever since post-Mitsubishi era. Neither i have high hopes with the current DRB. Just take a look at modenas. Assembling, yes. Manufacturing, no.

• sound soo P2

• gagakhitam on May 16, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Tom,ust becoz DRB assemble modenas & u view as poorly-made
      why dont compare to mercedes?DRB assemble mercedes too

• inderaloka on May 15, 2012 at 10:56 am

Boring interior.

• iWant

• ProtonLoverForever on May 15, 2012 at 11:01 am

Yes, as i told you all before, the instrument panel on most recent proton car is not so good or even so bad. small and ugly font, lazy to design the colour and bla2….

still i dont understand why proton cannot do this properly, even the later wira or saga is better design instrument panel. who is the current designer? shame on you la

• you should compare an apple with apple.

but than again to me honda city panel is also bland and that is a 90k E variant mind you. extra 30k from a premium preve.

• ong chin aun on May 15, 2012 at 11:02 am

Tq. finally for the test drive report. It is a candid, and well informed . Cheer. To me there should be rooms to improve or steps to be taken to make Pre`ve in par with other
    class. 1.6L. with CFE is perhaps should be added on as another variant. or at least, the CPS enjin.

• AlexLHthis on May 15, 2012 at 11:09 am

As a proton, it is a massive improvement. As what proton puts it “a world car”, best imvest a few more cash and buy yourself a Fird Fiesta

• yeah,

add another 30k and bank loan plus interest for a liability. Good choice. But I prefer save and travel the world ;-)

• William on May 15, 2012 at 11:09 am

Paul Tan crew had beaten Proton record by driving the manual preve to 190km/h LOL
    just look at the photo >.<

• sorry to inform you Paultan crew will never proudly say like you do.
      reason:
      Many cars outhere when u speeding at 120km/h.. it’s actually at 110km/h. Cars like Vios, etc.
      I believe Paultan’s crew believed this proton is tuned such way. so 190km/h is actually 180km/h..
      At least proton give you correct information on the max speed= 180km/h.

Speedometer is above the actual speed for safety purpose. Done by lots of Carmaker.

Easy way to test it out: Use a Garmin GPS. there are cars out there that able to travel same at actual speed at speedometer.

• Yknow on May 16, 2012 at 12:23 pm

For what it’s worth, I noticed in the workshop software that some cars have different speedo settings for different tyre/wheel combinations. So it could just be that they come stock configured for one type of tyre/wheel combination, and when you slap on different spec tyres/wheels, the readings go off.

My Mazda 6 2.0 with 16in wheels are exactly correct on the speedo compared to GPS (SiRF5 compared to OBDII speedo readings). Tapping up/down on the cruise control changes teh speed by exactly 1km/h. Quite amazing how accurate these things are these days. I wonder what the 2.5 spec with 18in wheels will read…

• Cerberus on May 15, 2012 at 11:33 am

Finally got the chance to see the car.

It has….MASSIVE lack of initial acceleration!
    Makes me feel like I’m moving backwards. Even my passengers who were with me in the test drive could feel the lack of acceleration. It’s like getting out of bed in the morning. Or government workers coming back from lunch break.

Interior wise is cheaply built with design in the range of poverty. Looking at the dashboard makes me feel like I’m driving a old car.

I am driving a 6 year old Proton. I like it. But after 6 years, I see little improvement.

Honestly, to all those who bought this car, my sympathy goes out to you. To those whom are planning to buy this car. Think twice and look for alternatives.

• proton fan on May 16, 2012 at 1:08 am

To be fair, proton is still best bang for your buck… if you are fine with imperfections that is. Try getting a new proton and and send to the s/c for complaints (i presume there will be)… i bet you would have to go there a few times, spend the whole day… and probably never have the issue resolved…. well thats what happened to my waja and persona… don’t take my word for it tho ;).

• oh really,

you tested the premium version with turbo or the normal variant?

This is not a sports car mind you. Its a 70k car (turbo version). I tested it and im fine with it.

At least my charity to the bank in terms of interest is lower compared with buying more expensive cars and I can save more for holidays, buy things that i wanted etc.

• ong chin aun on May 15, 2012 at 11:36 am

I support Pre`ve 1.6 L. CFE with 6-speed manual. Also, the interior be improved as eg. : the GPS Panel be redesign. plus the some indicators.

Wait and see .

New Elentra , and Forte is also in consideration. However Gemany Polo Sedan definately out of my budget. although is a good car. Peugout 207 about like Vios. but maintenance wise maybe higher. same as Chervolet, CRUTZ a great car.
    Well. perhap waiting for new model form Nissan, Mazda, Chery or other make.

• I test drove the car on the day it was launched…

What i like:

– The power of the engine
    – Interior
    – Comfort
    – quiet even at high speed
    – space and features..
    – Interior quality is very good!! MUCH MUCH better than the new Myvi..
    – The car feels solid even when you slam the door… No “phong” sound like what you get in Viva and Myvi…

What i dislike:

– The rear design
    – Noisy engine when accelerate
    – kinda sluggish when pick up, like as if the car so lazy like that… Just like CRV!!
    – Lower spec version dashboard should be improved!!! Cos without the glossy finish, it looks kinda cheap…
    – No turbo manual variant…

• hway de Cruz on May 15, 2012 at 11:55 am

compare apple to apple… u cant judge a 1.6 sedan against a suv 2.0, if u compare like that why not compare to a 250,000,000 tons warship from the balkan straits? or better, compare to nitmitz nuclear aircraft carrier… that’s even better. i am not a fan of proton but u still hv to compare within the c-segment class, that’s how it shud b done.

• MoFaz on May 15, 2012 at 12:54 pm

i agree with BW that the car is sluggish when it start moving. i was hoping for it to perform like Exora CFE which in contrast have superb acceleration. in this case, i think BW is not making a comparison but only refering it to something which he has experience of. and why the hell should he compare or refer to aircraft carrier when nobody here ever ‘drive’ it..???

• come on la brader.. he is not comparing sedan against suv 2.0, he try to relate the feeling at initial. i feel him too, really sluggish at the initial.. perhaps u never drove a crv before? haish, warship nuclear aircraft carrier blablabla wtf man??

• I believe BW has yet to find any c-segment car with massive lack of initial acceleration. thats why he compared it with CRV because he knew that there are a plethora of die hard Japanese car fanboys here who could easily relate to his comparison. and trying to compare a car with a battleship is only putting yourself out of your own league.

• theanswer on May 15, 2012 at 5:14 pm

lol..thats what Bw trying to say. a sedan accelerate like a suv! means it’s slow bro. nway, i see a strut bar as a standard there..nice. ;)

• vivegan siva on Sep 01, 2015 at 9:34 pm

i agree with all the facts that you provided over here

-they should need to to do some improvements like fully leather interior,backup reverse camera,soundproofing,in dash dvd player,electronic climate control,tilt and telescopic steering wheel,front and rear sensors should need to be increase,quality branded speakers,rear eletrical sunblind,keyless entry and keyless start/stop and many more

• jalan54 on May 15, 2012 at 11:44 am

Just want to give some opinion of mine. I went to the proton showrooomS last saturday. Yes, as you can see, I put a capital letter S at the end of showroom, meaning I went to few of them.

Reason why I went to few is because I can’t get a test drive on any of those showroomS. First, I went to showroom in old klang road. When I first walked in, the sales rep was sitting down there and the impression he gave me is like he is asking me to leave the showroom, but I never bother. After walking around the preve and getting in and out for several times, he still stand there like a tree not saying anything. I then approach him ask for a test drive, he replied, “test drive ah… have to arrange woh…” and standing there quietly again. Then I said, “ok, thanks.” and left the showroom. You know what, he never even get my name and my phone number.

Then I went to showroom at Jalan Puchong. When I first went inside, there were 3 sales rep sitting at the counter there, 2 male and 1 female. They all saw me and no one is approaching and I saw that lady sales rep was pushing one of the guy to come and that fellow refused and she has no choice but to come to serve, oh, sorry, not to come to serve, to come to give the brochure and stand like a tree like the guy in the showroom in old klang road. I did the same thing again, walking around the car, getting in and out for few times and then I approached her, yes again I approach the sales rep and ask for test drive and she answered, “Test drive ah… Oh, you’ve the passed the time for test drive…” . I said, “huh??? What is the time for test drive?”. She replied, “Monday to Friday, 10am to 6pm”. My experience told me there is a always a test drive on saturday and sunday and this is my very first time that I can’t test drive a car on saturday and sunday, my question is that, why bother open on Saturday and Sunday? Why not just follow Alfa Romeo Sime Darby, close at 12.30pm on Saturday and Sunday?

But I never give up and travel all the way to proton showroom in Serdang. Well, this time, the sales rep is better than the other 2 showrooms I went. At least he started explaining to me the features of the cars. But when I asked for test drive, he said there is only 1 car in the showroom which is the test unit, therefore, they have to use the test unit as the show unit and no test drive allowed, but at least he told me if I wanted to test drive the car, I can come back again by 8pm.

And finally, I went to showroom in Jalan Sungai Besi and met an Indian guy Ramadhas Sivarajoo, he is the most professional sales rep from all those showrooms that I went to. He offered me a test drive (finally, the sales rep from proton offered me a test drive).

Proton… You guys better start retrain your sales rep or you are going to fail again. If you are talking about going global with this kind of attitude, you guys will fail miserably. I’ve never been a big fan of Proton, but I can say, this is so far the best car ever produce by Proton and I really happy for you guys, but I really hate the way I’m being treated from those showrooms that I went to. If I have no interest to the car, I will not go to these many showrooms and this is me, what if for those hot temper fellows out there, you guys are losing a lot of potential customers and create a very bad image for Proton. Yes Preve is by far the cheapest C segment car in Malaysia, but please don’t provide cheap quality sales rep.

• well atleast ur sales rep said that… I went to a Proton showroom at Giant Batu Caves..The guy said have to BOOK the car then can test… Like WHAAAAATTTT????

• ameng on May 15, 2012 at 12:36 pm

x tau niaga la proton punya sales…macam dulu jugak..haiyaa..

• sonyman on May 15, 2012 at 12:47 pm

dont worry bro, those sales ppl, they have got their target already, that is why they not serving anymore. BTW, u can always look at the test drive cars as they will be parked outside the shops. otherwise there are plenty of proton shops around.

good luck. and get the CFE

• farghmee on May 15, 2012 at 1:50 pm

mmg bagus pun u named those few shorum.

jln puchong..that ring a bell..

• the SA at section 7 shah alam showroom offered me to test drove the car when i approached the showroom.. its depends to SA lah i think..

• jalan54 on May 15, 2012 at 2:55 pm

I really hope that they improve the quality of the SA so that most of them can serve people is a professional manner and in order to build their reputation, this is what they must do.

• I dropped by at Chevrolet Ampang showroom on a Saturday evening at 7 pm to get a closer view of the Chevy Cruze. Normally they close the showroom at 8 pm on Saturdays. I spent a good one hour going in and out of the show car to get a feel of it. At 8 pm, I asked for a test drive. The SA happily led me to a test unit (there were more than one test units) and I took it to the DUKE highway for 45 minutes, even though it was already time for the SA to go home. Satisfied with the service rendered to me, I booked the Cruze on the next day. (I drove a Kancil and a Gen2 before. But stressful experience with Gen2 made me switch to a foreign brand). My point is, a good SA is the one that can make a difference.

• Sepot Reem on May 15, 2012 at 5:11 pm

guess what? I bought a manual Inspira a month ago. Since the day I booked, pay the booking fee, pay the down payment, and then I got the car after two weeks. Ironically, I never went to any Proton showroom. I did go the showroom but you know what? the showroom closed on Saturday!!!

• icecube on May 15, 2012 at 8:03 pm

jalan54,I truly believe your story….and ameng,your words are truly deeply correct.

OK,I’m an ex-PESB.I leave PESB for quite sometimes ago , but most of my friends are still with P1 and PESB.Once a while , during teh tarik time , the same old story keep on repeating , and for that , I really believe what happened today still same during that old day…..

The problem is , there’s a lot of monkey inside PESB especially at their HQ.Remember guys , P1 and PESB are 2 different things.Believe me.Once there’s an improvement by P1 , PESB may not know what they’re doing.Even discount given between each Sales Branch and Sales Dealer are not solved until now.Not to say their sales office location and cars allocation.After Sales? hmmmm, much more worst and so sad to say , up until today , SA (Sales Advisor) only want to let the car fast , and another SA (Service Advisor) are keep on blaming Sales side for letting go a so called a rubbish to the customer.

Do you guys think PDI (Pre-Delivery Inspection) are done properly? It’s just a matter of Pandang , Dengar dan Intai.That’s it , a PDI according to PESB standard.Do you guys really think all the sub-contractor at Sijangkang stockyard really do care about the cars?
      Not to say about where the workers come from.Like Nabil always say , “Lu pikir la sendiri”…

This is just simple examples.There’s a lot more actually which is “tersirat….”.And the victim , the customer for sure and the rakyat in general view.

DSZ is good , no doubt about that.But like I mentioned , there’s a lot of monkey who just think about their seats and how to get above the rest faster and faster.Cannot blame DSZ too much ,as there’s a lot of monkey that actually need to be thrown out thru the window!! Now that DRB is coming.Not sure if the history during USPD time will repeat.Just look at it.I wish all the best as current DRB is totally different during that time (Air Asia belongs to DRB at that period)

I have nothing to gain from what I mentioned.I’m really comfortable now.Only that,pity to P1 and those who work hard to improve the P1 standard.Pity also to all Malaysian who hope for the best from P1!

And for those from PESB who think what I said is not true , or simply said , I’m lying , please reply me.And please reply with a fact!! and not as simple as your media released about the Preve accident.Do not show the stupidity here.
      I’m known with a tag “walaupun kita tak berapa pandai ,tapi jangan le jadi bodoh sangat”
      Guess….

Adios amigos

• anak malaysia on May 16, 2012 at 10:03 am

I agree with all of the comments, last 2 weeks i when to showroom with my wife at Seremban for test drive but when we arrived, at front of the show room their is about 3 SA where smoking & lepak2 there. They stare at us and make us not comfortable & also they dont approach us instead i have to ask them that we come for a test drive. And then one of the guys said go inside and ask people inside for a test drive. inside of the show room we have to ask for test drive instead of they come an approach us 1st. we got the test drive but what i want to mention here is the PROTON SA are look like they already got enough target & dont have a proper marketing & sales skills. We intent to do a booking on that day but we have to things about it again…. It where totally different situation that we had when we go to KIA & HONDA show room.. what a shame…

• yes bro I totally agree with you.The SA knowledge is not good and none of them know anything about cars.But who cares…i heard PDRM is buying at least 300K units of preve to replace their aging waja.wira and in some places kancil…what a insult police officers driving kancil…how the heck going to catch the criminal….but the home minister who talk cock about the PDRM drives posh car..bloody jokers…basically proton is a shit company invented by MAHATHIR who prifitted over the years by making his cronies rich…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on May 16, 2012 at 10:49 am

If jalan54’s shopping experience at Proton is so bad, just imagine the ‘wonderful’ experience when you service the car or claim warranty. I have had two Protons in my lifetime (last one in 1999), looks like nothing has changed. People refrain from buying Proton not only because of the quality is questionable, but because of the level of service received is below par. Why would anyone want to pay so much for a Proton and suffer sub-standard service. That’s why some people do not mind paying more for other brands, at least they know that they will receive an acceptable level of service.

• mythbuster on May 27, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Even proton improved the quality of car, but the quality of Proton showrooms are still lacking staff communication skill with customers. I went for testdrive at Port Dickson Proton showroom. The same excuses given to me, that testdrive only available from monday to friday. its that making any sense? Normally people going out on weekends with family. Why proton cannot arrange testdrive on saturday and sunday ( halfday until 12.30pm). Are they become so arrogant or over-confident with their cars?

• Brahim on May 15, 2012 at 11:45 am

nice review though..btw this is just the beginning by proton.

• Matkota on May 15, 2012 at 11:56 am

Is there such thing as a perfect car with reasonable price?..i think proton should make only one line such as premium line first..then after a year produce manual or basic line..

• Vyseus on May 15, 2012 at 11:56 am

As you said Danny, I my self like the CFE. Still lot of improvement can be done. Will second the motion for Manual Tranny for CFE.

1 thing I need to know is the Suspension set up that soft? or its good for cornering?

Than again. It’s a good start for Proton. Hope the cars to come will have more improvement.

• F Fiesta on May 15, 2012 at 11:57 am

Preve is for poor choices person. Even City, Vios and Forte also lacks one of the things that Danny has mention.

You guys wanna best pick up, good handling, awesomeness design and top speed could reach 190km buy FIESTA! 8)

• farghmee on May 15, 2012 at 1:46 pm

muak already la ngn lu punya komen.

lu rasa lu punya fiesta bes, tp u sudah test drive itu preve belum?

talk is cheap, petik langit is even cheaper.period.

• awesomness design ? I dont think so

• Alson P on Dec 05, 2012 at 8:39 am

Sorry to say…
      my gen2 cps tapau ford fiesta…
      we run over 190kmh (both fiesta and my gen2 cps)on PLUS highway…

p/s: I admitted my gen2 cps not the best design but I love my car

• Everyday on May 15, 2012 at 12:14 pm

When proton appears, people would say.. “copycat mitsu” or “kereta potong”
    When proton makes new cars.. “why not make like T or H..?”
    When proton makes improvement.. “power window! power window!”
    When proton features CFE, CVT, etc. .. “proton will die soon”

Typical bashers.. “proton is proton”.. sigh.

I have driven old saga, iswara, wira and waja. NONE of them ever let me down.

• old saga, iswara, wira = Mitsubishi (if you never knew)

• Everyday on May 15, 2012 at 2:12 pm

Not 100% Mitsu (if you know what i mean) and that’s what makes proton today..
        Every car manufacturers will rebatch on others in order to make improvements or to meet local demands, etc.

• NoName on May 15, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Alright, you can keep on with your Proton, it’s proud to say that you love Proton so much, so stick with em’ k?

We will want to move forward and upwards, I wouldn’t wanna stuck with Proton for my entire life. We shall move on.

• Everyday on May 15, 2012 at 4:58 pm

I didn’t said i love proton. That was my past. Do you know how to own a proton from the starting point of Proton? Just buy the 2nd batch of the newly released model, get it?

Btw, my current car is Inspira and Nissan Sylphy for my beloved wife. Up to you to buy or not to buy. Simple.

• Close up on fifth picture showing u’re driving at around 190kmh… Does it feel safe/comfortable? How bout engine noise? Wind/road noise?

• cheku77 on May 15, 2012 at 12:51 pm

about the interior design… premium for age above 40s. Who has good test for wood panel and color.

lower spec… interior design, young guy who can afford only lower spec and dislike wood panel. If they can afford more expensive car they will buy city/vios. First investment, so have take low risk and plus ada good brand.

• infinity on May 15, 2012 at 12:58 pm

nice review..I’ve posted the same thing before..jz want to remind paultan.org team (yes Danny, including u)…

The general public (including me) are not familiar with turbo-charged engine..some are even not familiar with cvt. So, it would be great if u guys can do a review about the maintenance cost for the Preve Premium (CFE) and the Preve Executive (IAFM+), so that we can compare the difference between the maintenance of a turbo-charged engine and an N/A engine.

Really looking forward!

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 15, 2012 at 1:05 pm

To “do a review about the maintenance cost” we will have to own one. Are you willing to be the kind sponsor? :)

• infinity on May 15, 2012 at 1:18 pm

i sure hope i can..haha..anyway, if u guys can come out with something like this http://paultan.org/2007/05/14/perodua-viva-and-perodua-myvi-loan-comparison/ ,
        then it will be great.

But that is only the loan and the fuel consumption. if u guys can add in the maintenance cost as in the service intervals, and the cost of each service, how different is the service interval of the cfe and iafm+, what are the extras of the premium vs executive variant during the periodic service, etc…i think proton should be able to provide u guys with such info rite? i don’t think that the salespersons will able to answer these questions.

• Black Dog on May 15, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Danny, can u please conclude what Proton’s objective for the Preve – Can it compete on the world market? What is it’s standing compared to other cars in it’s class internationally? Truthfully please, thank you.

• alldisc on May 16, 2012 at 9:22 am

1st it cannot compete in america as americans like big cars.. at least camry size and above. even though now they are affected by world oil price and the fact that in some cities you can only drive either an LEV, ULEV or ZEV but stiil, proton is not establshed yet there.

2nd, europeans love hatchbacks and diesel+manual combo. this was main reason gen2 appeared first before persona. the preve didnt tick the right boxes here.

3rd, india – highly protected market. PLUS the fact that petrol price is sky high there. the cars that appeal to buyers are 1300cc and below. either that or a motorcycle.

or a tata nano in that sense.

4th – japan – proton can never be able to compete there. super high tech and modern JDM cars. all kind of corollas and accords.

5th – china. this makes some sense. in 2010, 11 mil new cars were sold. in 2011, 18 mil new cars sold there. proton is lucky if they can sell 100,000 cars a year… that wil give them the economic of scale to reduce cost of production. but china is not an easy market when everybody trying to get that piece of cake for themselves. even the company youngman struggles against Great Wall and Cherry.

6th – middle east. some hope there but not in saudi arabia where fuel is cheap and the arabians like to toyotas and hyundais very much, not to mention the american brands they highly adore and the fact that is they love big capacity engined cars

• Johnny on May 16, 2012 at 12:19 pm

A VW in China is friggin cheap! VW’s everywhere..
            After conversion, a Polo is only RM20K there.. O.O

• 2) just wait for p322a – preve hot hatch

• proton preve’? Lame jokes.

• JeremyNg on May 15, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Danny ,

Last question to ask, how’s the FC during the test drive ??!! I not really trust Proton official Fc bcs non of it actually accurate.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 15, 2012 at 1:31 pm

We were driving fast and had little care about fuel consumption, as is always the case in media test drive events. We’ll need to drive the car over a few days to measure FC

• Proven on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:12 am

I’m a Preve owner; and I think I can help with some ideas on this.

For the first month, I only managed to do 420-450 km for every full tank (which makes me go like “hey Proton.. u sure aaa it’s 1.6??).

But after 2nd service recently, it’s now boosted up to a remarkable 500km! I fact, I just did an awesome 510, just today!

For other issues – check out my other comment. Peace…

• /ngeTaRD on May 15, 2012 at 1:20 pm

can’t they just put in the same CFE turbo into the manual gearbox? i mean how hard can it be? ah beng can do it, why can you proton? or got reliability issue to match the 5 year warranty?

• MoFaz on May 15, 2012 at 2:17 pm

problem is the market size. very very few people want to buy manual cars nowadays. if you check Mercedes website, they didn’t offer manual for C, E, & S-Class. in fact, no manual for all other class as well unless you choose AMG which costs a lot more….
      what options do proton have?.. let’s say if you could only make 1 manual variant, would you put it into Premium or Executive range?.. if they put it into Premium range, manual CFE would costs about RM70k and guess how many people would buy it? i believe the booking number for manual would be even smaller than current one.
      so, even if Proton want to produce manual CFE, maybe they will do it much later when they already get profits from Preve and could spend some for development of new variant.

• ong chin aun on May 15, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Mercedes and other expensive cars with high Capacity cc (2.0L n <<), Automatic Transmission is preferred. Can`t compare to MER,,BMW, JAGUAR . No the same class.

• MoFaz on May 15, 2012 at 3:12 pm

so what class? Honda City, Civic, Accord also no manual. Vios only lowest spec 1.5J has manual, Altis and Camry also no manual… worst, still 4 speed auto.

• malaysia only no manual..if u see video arab crazy drifting,they use accord and camry and it is manual..

• MoFaz on May 15, 2012 at 4:27 pm

ya lahh.. we’re talking about malaysian market. why suddenly went to arab drifting pulak…?

• alldisc on May 15, 2012 at 4:57 pm

90% or cars below 2300cc in UK are sold as manual. even those staying in london buy manual transmission cars. dont know why. they are just more popular there.

honda CRV 2.2 turbodiesel manual, jaguar s type manual, alfa romeo 159 manual, mercedez benz B class manual, ford mondeo manual…

almost everything.

• Vincent Ang on May 16, 2012 at 10:46 pm

The 4AT box is superior to most CVTs at low speeds. The CVT is a modern box but not always superior to the 4AT.

• Brahimnyior on May 15, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Thanks Paultan.

I’m already book this Preve…

• Proton fan on May 16, 2012 at 1:34 am

Set your expectations right and you would be fine bro. Enjoy your new ride and keep us posted.

• Danny Tan says:
    To “do a review about the maintenance cost” we will have to own one. Are you willing to be the kind sponsor?

———————-

Well in most global markets, auto review folks are given test unit for long-term review by car firms and accept all the honest review done. After few months and 10,000km later well the proof is in the pudding.

That’s what global car firms do lah, unless Protongkat thought otherwise got nothing to prove at all.

Anyway can’t wait for Top Gear to bash it kaw-kaw in front 300 million global viewers having simultenous laugh…easily a guiness world record for biggest laugh at same time HA HA HA!

p/s. the best song to describe this PREVE is Michael Bolton – Said I love you (But I lied) and The Stylistics – You’ll never go to heaven(If you break my heart).

• MoFaz on May 15, 2012 at 2:43 pm

300mil simultenous laugh?? you think Top Gear is LIVE show and they all watch at the same time?…
      stop watching TV too much, go get a life dude!

• Statistician on May 15, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Eh you should get yourself a life instead, replying every single message even at working hour. Stupid cybertrooper !

• “That’s what global car firms do lah, unless Protongkat thought otherwise got nothing to prove at all.”

In case you are ignorant, your Protongkat is not a global car firm YET. but they are aspiring to be one. so your Protongkat is not YET compelled to give out test cars for months, or even years. Stupid.

• And the last photo shows a JCB ready to thrash the PREVE in front of workshop?? Another way to warn us kah HE HE HE!

• salleh johan on May 15, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Well said Danny,
    Don’t bother !!
    Looks like this is DSZ’s last hurrah
    judging from the poor review and low booking numbers.
    Thanks for not mincing your words and giving a frank assessment.
    I bet the fuel consumption numbers were shocking too !!

• Kambing Gurun on May 15, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Got my manual iafm preve already. I would agree with danny’s comment. In addition, don’t you think it’s quite difficult to get into gear? I’m driving manual car most of the time but i kept having that difficulty with preve. It’s still day one though, and the other aspects of preve are simply excellent.

• same with me..4 days driving my manual preve..every part of the car is acceptable 4 me. today done 1000km service.now i will try put the pedal to the max..c what it can do…

• Kambing Gurun on May 15, 2012 at 8:01 pm

Great. Time to unleash its hidden power :-) Keenly waiting for that 1000km for the 1st service.

• normal_user on May 16, 2012 at 4:44 pm

I’m very disappointed with the dashboard for the non-CFE versions (manual included). Why cant just Proton use the same as the CFE (glossy dark wood)? And I hope they put in leather steering as well.

Tell me hows the Fuel Consumption? Anyone has ever input data into fuelly.com database? (website which compiles car fuel consumption data; social networking style).

• Kambing Gurun on May 16, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Judging from the pics of executive versions on the net, most of the pics of the dashboard for the version were horribly taken i.e. not really representative of the real color. Should have done white balance though. I once queried my SA, almost cancelled my booking just because of that. Luckily I didn’t as the real thing looks good, at least for me.

As for the fuel consumption, no comment yet, not enough data. But if I set to real time consumption display, I can easily achieve the quoted 6.2L/100km, even less.

• TopGear on May 15, 2012 at 2:42 pm

This car is not worth the money, just go buy a second hand Vios save your money and headache. This car is nothing to shout about.

• Car lovers would not do that , maybe uncles will ….

• TopGear on May 15, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Well you miss my point here – A second hand Vios is much better than this car so that what my opinion of this Proton ! That is how far behind Proton compares to others ! Wake up ppl !

• Missing the point really, go drive a second hand vios and the preve back to back. The preve wins hands down! Seriously, I find that the vios is quieter but just lacks the essence of car to provide driving confidence. Proton still lacks confidence compared to brands like VW. but the vios is far far behind. I was overseas and rented an altis for a week. i was glad to return home to my proton after a week. Driving the altis put me to sleep! not so good lah and I was driving on country roads. Highway means I think I will not be here to write this now.

• Everyday on May 15, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Another dugong fan… sigh. Tell me, why must V and not other models? Real Top Gear will not even look at Japan models.. Cos those people only proud of their own brands.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8Jn6IGzNfE OMG! It’s a T!

• so real top gear will look at preve???hahaha another protong fanboy that so mad with vios..

• Everyday on May 15, 2012 at 5:14 pm

You’re missing my point here. Perhaps you are also a V fan? No doubt. I have driven a Vios (M) and it lacks accelaration compare to my old Waja. Period.

• 1.5 u want to compare with 1.6 engine??ur comment just shown u just a busuk hati person that got busuk hati sama vios ..lol

• der.. on May 15, 2012 at 5:22 pm

so, top gear guys from m’sia..?? try again.haha

• C15H20ClN3O on May 15, 2012 at 3:43 pm

And why would I want to buy a second hand car over a new car? Moreover a vios? Save money & headache? Which spec? What mileage? Did you hit your head somewhere? oh wait..you did. TopGear my a55.

• guest on May 15, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Referring to kensomuse post, I would be in the second category. My first and last proton is a year 2000 waja 1.6 manual. Problems:

-Fuel hose dislodged. Quite dangerous, as the fuel were all under the car. Lucky we notice it.
    -Multifunction steering’s buttons falloff for infinite times. The proton SA has the balls to tell me just dont use the buttons if dont want repeating problems.
    -Power windows that never fail to fail.
    -The spare tyre well becomes a fish tank, and the SA just say small issue rubber lining loose.
    -Side mirrors paint start to chip off during 2nd year of ownership.
    -By the 5th year, the interior starts to disintegrate itself from the aircond vents, the radio, dashboard, gearknob.

Build-quality issues aside, the car has been problem free mechanically. Engine and gearbox still good. Can still go from A to B without breaking down for once since 2000 to 2009.

We’ve since sold off the old waja and been buying japanese and conti’s. Will I buy another proton? Probably not, because the bad impression the waja left behind was already beyond repair. But then everytime proton launches a new car, I will definitely go have a look, just to see how much proton has improved :)

• Everyday on May 15, 2012 at 4:22 pm

I used to own a waja.. and i’ve experienced the first problem.

I was at a hypermarket parking lot in Penang. Went to buy some groceries, and when i came back, found out the petrol was all over the floor under the car.

Heard someone is calling from a distance. The guard from the hypermarket has come to me and said that do not start the engine and they have caught someone trying to dismantle the fuel pump from my car and another 2 waja. And he encourage me to do a report. As i was late to go home, i said i will do the report tomorrow (which i forgot).

It appears that the person who did this DO know the weakness of Waja (i sold it for a Perdana V6).

– Disintegration of the aircond vent (or any other dashboard items) is normal EVEN for a T (i have Unser), this is due to high exposure to heat.

– Multifunction buttons working fine.
      – Power windows are fine (can DIY myself to clear some carbon inside the switch and this is easy to do) and no fish tank. Guess i was lucky? Maybe.

So this means, not ALL Waja (or Proton for that matter) are problematic. You might get a perfect car, but in the end you will sold it for whatever reasons.

Thanks a bunch good ol’ Waja!

• silwen on May 15, 2012 at 4:38 pm

I had the 2002 Export model Waja, the 1.6X. Paid the extra for the airbags. My experience mirrors yours with a few extras.
      – opened the door, the handle came off instead
      – the shock absorbers were replaced every two years
      – back pocket attached to the front seat kept dislodging itself (I was told by the mechanic that this was exclusive to export models due to the leather seats being thicker)
      – the air conditioning control panel broke down twice, each time requiring replacement of the whole panel

I ditto the engine and gearbox reliability. The mitsubishi tech was reliable, the proton bits, not quite.
      It was the little imperfections and faults that drove me up the wall at the end.
      I have since decided that Japanese cars do not give that headache.

• driverfortheboss on May 15, 2012 at 9:53 pm

now i am driving Waja SE 1.6AT year 2001 maybe (because bought as second hand in 2010)… still driving it smoothly after several changes (change fuel pump, fuel hose, cam relay) and now reaching mileage of 350000km… hope it can reach that mileage… minor probs: Power window (solved). Door handle (solved) that’s all minor problem for my waja… but the engine and transmission still in tiptop condition… i love waja body… but price to upgrade waja still expensive… so, forget about upgrading the engine and etc…
      fyi, i am still using this waja to travel about 5000km per month…

• frank on May 15, 2012 at 10:34 pm

I am still driving my 7yrs old waja 1.6 with dual air bag.(2005 batch)
      problem 1 : fuel hose dislodge – didn’t happen so far. perhaps some improvement done
      problem 2 : multifunction buttons keep falling off – didnt happen so far.
      problem 3 : powr windows failure – yes! switch failure still happens
      problem 4 : fish tank in spare tyre well – checked. no sign of water retention.
      problem 5 : Side mirror paint chip off – yes! and i observe another car in our apartment also same case
      problem 6 : interior disintegrate – yes! one of the air con vane partially damaged. perhaps due to long exposure under direct sun without shade.
      Enginer and gearbox still good at 110,000km.
      This batch is before DSZ came in and clean up the mess. I agree with Everyday, not all Waja is bad.
      I was hoping Waja would have improved over the year but seems that the sales volume have tail off hence i doubt proton can afford to continue with improvement.
      Perhaps starting Preve is a good idea.
      Still curious about the built quality and will make time to visit showroom… perhaps a test drive

cheers

• kenot on May 16, 2012 at 10:16 am

Now i’m driving proton waja CPS. Maybe it was last batch .Until 3rd years ownership, the car still good, if not perfect. the paint at side mirror still intact..btw, i only wash my car every 2-3 weeks and park my car under sunlight everyday.

The only issue i notice is my car performance is not consistent. sometimes, the car feel very smooth, but at other times, the CPS engine feel heavy. the best feeling to drive my car is early morning when go to the office. After park under sunlight or hot weather, i can feel my car is not smooth.

Last week, when i parked my waja cps side by side with preve, i just realized, waja look very old..:-(

• Went to to Hyundai showroom in plentong jb n tested the 1.8l new elantra . Then went to see preve but too bad no test drive . Summary is I prefer preve design inside out , the rear legroom is the best part ,reminds me of the spaciousness of Toyota crown taxi in Singapore .will be stress free for long journey .

• tiadaid on May 15, 2012 at 3:03 pm

I’m currently driving an FLX SE and for fun I went for a test drive the CFE Premium version of the car.

I think Danny hit the nail on the head with his review – for the CFE that’s what I felt like too. So for the next facelift Proton should really take heed of the comments & rectify the issues.

Now, I don’t regret buying the FLX instead of the Preve.

• Chow 1 on May 15, 2012 at 3:35 pm

I need to check the dictionary to read this review.

• Statistician on May 15, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Haha me too, Danny England is really powderful la. Just treat it as a English tuition session no harm :)

• Get a Twin clutch six speed gearbox from getrag!!(if I don’t spell it wrong,great)

• says says on May 15, 2012 at 3:46 pm

How about a vote on Preve interior?

the old WIRA dashboard is better designed..and softer too…

…thumbs up if u agree ..and thumbs down if you dont..

then I will paste the results to uncle DSZ.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on May 15, 2012 at 3:50 pm

The interior looks cheap, like it was designed by students. The choice of fonts, colours and materials…really amateurish. Since an owner will spend most time looking and touching the interior, I pity them…

• Proton shud face the reality. No matter how hard it try to prove , preve or whatever , it wont be accepted. People just want cheap japs car or now cheap vw.

• to all of preve owner here.if your car got any problem.dont feel down. dont think when u buy brand new car. u can say bye2 to workshop or SC. some people said proton less quality. bla.bla.bla.
    before i choose this car,i study all preve cmpetitor. i register honda city forum,forte,swift,fiesta,vios,lancergt forum. every forum i joined have at least 2 owner complain about thier car.lancer gt only 2week.got problem n need to wait 2 month for mitsu japan tech support respond.
    i have my friend work as mechanic at peugeot SC.also got many new model 207 n 308 problem.especially 308 turbo.

i wrote this panjang lebar post to motivate u all n make u know BUKAN PROTON SAHAJA BERMASALAH.OTHER BRAND PUN SAMA JUGAK!
    TAPI SAPE NAK HEBOH? SAPE NAK AMIK PEDULI?

Copy from http://www.preveclub.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=41&sid=b06cfd7ee276428a10430fea871f122f

• So what are you trying to say? That just because other cars have problems we should be happy and accept problems on the preve as well?

It is because of these mentality that we are still a 3rd world country.

• Everyday on May 16, 2012 at 11:39 am

You have problem with Preve? Let DSZ know then. Pity you to live in your own 3rd world. THIS IS MALAYSIAAA~ (THIS IS SPARTAA~)

• I wouldn’t know it is a turbo engine if they dint tell me. for me it is underpower. the interior materials are cheap. and the assemble quality is so so…

• Proton fan on May 16, 2012 at 1:29 am

Care to share the car you drive bro?

• he has lambo, veyron, ferrari, mclaren, lotus etc
        he doesn’t know what proton is
        *sarcasm*

• InBetween on Oct 10, 2012 at 12:34 am

Well, the Preve ‘D’ mode is meant for fuel saving, and the ‘S’ mode which has more Acceleration….so people will say it is sluggish and underpower….Vios, City or CRZ can be smoked by Preve anytime…why? Because i did it before…..one only complain for Proton is their bad service and not up to standard quality… so far Preve is worth the bucks…

• Testdriver on May 15, 2012 at 4:48 pm

what a joke from proton. This car is even worse than proton wira.

1.With turbocharged engine, the pick up is as sluggish as proton persona. Come on, turbo supposed ro mean the compression of air by exhaust and increase the air intake in engine. Yet, the turbo version of preve still lacking of power and bad fuel consumption.

2. What a silly design dashboard, every part of the board are too vertical, it is like driving a van. The aircond control button is awfully ugly.

3. Come on, this proton preve is selling at premium price but with providing third grade quality.

• Kambing Gurun on May 15, 2012 at 8:04 pm

You said: “2. What a silly design dashboard, every part of the board are too vertical, it is like driving a van. The aircond control button is awfully ugly.”

Sounds like you were talking about Vios J dashboard and aircond dials of Polo sedan…

• its like S O _ Y tv….no improvement …just change here and there a bit but sell expensive…but ppl will think and compare ….other brand will improve and be innovative…so pls dun just close your eyes and assume T and H good even though at heart you know its otherwise…..open your eyes my frend….

• I don’t see much wrong with the dashboard design, TBH. Simple, understated with clean lines.

I’m guessing you’re the type that prefers the bling bling Ultraman design of Korean cars with all the unnecessary curves and fake metal. You probably love the super colourful Myvi Optitron displays too.

• tourist on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:27 pm

I think you are a bit confused about turbo-charging and super-charging. For what you wanted, you need the super-charging that works at lower rpm aka, moving from standstill.

• InBetween on Oct 10, 2012 at 12:37 am

Well, the Preve ‘D’ mode is meant for fuel saving, and the ‘S’ mode which has more Acceleration….so people will say it is sluggish and underpower….my fuel consumption is good….11,000km+ mileage and full tank pump could last me about 520km to 550km in town and 650km in highway….is that bad? Do you own a Preve? if not don’t talk….Dash board and design is very subjective….everyone has different thinking/licking….

• maggimee on May 15, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Now i’m not here to bash Proton, but i think they need to learn a thing or two about boot/ trunk design from the front to the side it looks great but the back onwards … leaves something to be desired.. similar to Gen2/Persona/waja/

the best boot design would have to be the Satria Neo.

• It shouldn’t be Executive & Premium version. It should be Lousy and El Cheapo version.

Like “Aisehman, you bought Proton Preve wo … El Cheapo version somemore.”

• Everyday on May 16, 2012 at 11:56 am

And yet still value for money (cheaper, if you don’t understand) than T or H or K or HY.

• Same quality at lower price is indeed cheaper. Inferior quality with spot welding, uneven gaps with lower price is not cheap.
        Not to mention the taxes imposed on other manufacturers in order to save this parasite.

• SquarePetrolHead on May 15, 2012 at 7:01 pm

YES, Danny… a 6 speed manual please and leather seats…

• Leong YL on May 15, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Thanks Paultan, originally planned to buy City, but after test drive both of them i changed my mind and cancelled my city booking. Now already booked this PREVE CFE and now waiting for the car. Test drive was exciting, good job for proton! Just need few area of improvement and never give up. I have own VIOS before but as good and value for money as Preve. THUMBS UP!

• prebet on May 15, 2012 at 9:50 pm

seriously?preve over city?

• your honda city loan kenak rejected? so go for Preve? Pity you… else, if your bank loan get approved for city yet u get Preve, good luck to you..

• LMing on May 21, 2012 at 10:36 am

haha.. nice one!! sure salary too low to get city end up a preve.. hahaha!

• Omega Red on Jun 02, 2012 at 8:29 pm

did u guys read that he owns a Vios, so how come his loan kena reject or salary not enough? Kalau nak kutuk pun let be realistic la ppl.

• meteorx on May 15, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Yup, Preve is so much better

• Statistician on May 15, 2012 at 11:47 pm

Proton SA is so desperate in getting more booking. Come on la, Proton over Toyota and Honda ? Toyota has more than 60 models and more than 200 variant in sales in US today. Preve is just like a dust la compared to the big boys. Do some ciplak turbocharge to gain some cheap horse power for a 1.3 tonne besi karat. Wait for 3 months for the problem to surface

• Proton fan on May 16, 2012 at 1:26 am

Which makes me think. Why can’t they develope a proper quality car with so little models to manage. Don’t they learn or they just too arrogant to listen to the people.

• Best buy on May 16, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Why? Can’t take the heat?
        Toyota have made the highest number of recalls (read here: http://tinyurl.com/bnut8d4)
        Honda did too : http://www.szdaily.com/content/2012-03/16/content_6562731.htm and here: http://blog.al.com/montgomery/2012/02/honda_issues_recall_for_alabam.html

If you experienced problem with your Preve, just send it to SC. It’s a small problem rather than a recall.

• recall is better rather than giving stupid excuses and refuses to apologize for what done.

• Gloam on May 16, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Recall only better for toyota not proton. Proton do anything also no good.

• is it toyota or protong that give stupid excuses??????

• Sakar on May 16, 2012 at 1:00 pm

preve salesman detected…

• typical malaysian on May 18, 2012 at 11:51 am

Sakar, later try to detect t & h salesman k..then u’ll be suprise how many of them..r u one of them? (”,)

• danedz on May 15, 2012 at 9:51 pm

I’m looking forward for an Exora model with paddle shift and built in GPS inside the HU same as preve….

• rosdi on May 16, 2012 at 8:26 am

MPV with paddle shift? You serious?

• Black Dog on May 16, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Paddle shifters to roam Felda schemes with a family of dozen inside.

• says says on May 17, 2012 at 8:51 am

paddle shift on MPV?..Malaysia Boleh!

• Vincent Ang on May 18, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Honda Stream sudah lama ada paddle shift lah.

• honda stream no turbo, not sporty enough, got paddle shift also no use
            exora much livelier with powerful turbocharged engine that gives 205nm torque all the way from 2,000 to 4,000 RPM
            more enjoyable

• Alson P on Dec 05, 2012 at 9:08 am

I drove Honda stream with paddle shift 2 years ago…
            not bad…
            and good looking…

• danedz on May 18, 2012 at 10:40 pm

The technology is there….just copy and paste…why not??

• Mega/Liverpool on May 15, 2012 at 10:44 pm

good effort from Proton, needs Diesel & Hatch for Euro sales…..
    Mike/Liverpool UK

• devil on May 15, 2012 at 11:08 pm

I went to the BIG Glenmarie showroom, and NO ONE attended me! NO ONE! Not even one standing as a tree as mentioned by one of the commentor above. They’re just looking at me from afar, sitting down on the sofa etc. and I was the only customer at the time. As if I don’t have money to buy a freaking preve. I drive a beemer for god’s sake. I can buy three if I want to. Proton, wake up! you want to sell or not? It’s really a big turn off.

• proton fan on May 16, 2012 at 1:17 am

I dont think you want to buy a Preve la if you are already driving an expensive beemer… maybe they could tell …hehe. jkjk. But anyway, those salesperson shouldn’t act like that la. Does not reflect good on Proton.

• Black Dog on May 16, 2012 at 1:07 pm

I went to BMW Sg Besi and no one attended to to me too! And the way they dress, no one knows if they are salesman or not. But at VW showroom not far away, super good service, with snacks, drinks, test drive…

These are typical malay-sian tidak apa attitude lah!

• Now here’s a crazy idea – Did you try asking them for assistance?

Many people, myself included, prefer to be left alone instead of having a nosy salesman hovering over them all the time.

• Vincent Ang on May 18, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Only lousy sales people make themselves nosy. A good salesperson knows how to approach a potential client without appearing nosy.

• Statistician on May 15, 2012 at 11:09 pm

‘Acceleration in the Turbo feels labourious. The key word here is “feels,” because a glance at the speedo needle shows that we’re making good progress. Initial lag, a low-rpm drone and a faint whine throughout means that the Punch CVT isn’t the most “regular automatic-like” CVT in the market. The manual mode feels artificial as well, and the steering paddles work with toy-like tactility.’

A very honest review. That’s the reason I like Paultan.org and stop buying all other apple polishing car magazines !

• RM70K for a Proton is….killing all rakyat…thats why Bank negara tighten he loan policy…too many people bankrupt due to car loan..

• Proton fan on May 16, 2012 at 1:22 am

Ic case you didn’t know. They still sell the saga ????

• whitesmileman on May 16, 2012 at 12:27 am

I’m not here to bash proton. But proton keeps bashing their customer. Crap car, come on, look at the 1.6 turbo output – some normally aspirated cars can get that kind of output. Look at the spec – Only 4 airbags, compare to overseas competitors. Price, customers also kena bash. Pay RM 60K ++ and get this car. In Korea, can get K5 at this price. Very crap.

• Kambing Gurun on May 16, 2012 at 9:16 am

If you minus the tax imposed on ALL cars built in Malaysia and ASEAN countries (75% +10%), Preve’ is only around 40K so to speak. In this case Proton has no control over the additional tax, government does.

• Ruben on May 16, 2012 at 12:31 am

I’m abit annoyed that Proton has developed a trend of not offering a manual gearbox with its highspec and more powerful engine cars. Then again, they are a business, and I’m one of the few Malaysians who would pick a manual over an auto any day. Still, the pertrol head in me is crying. CFE with manual would be a really nice combination. hope there’s one in the pipeline.

• Proton Salesman on May 16, 2012 at 1:55 am

This car is too expansive for it’s cheap @$$ quality. Malaysians are not stupid, only idiots buy this car. The supporters who support this car are only supporting proton to produce more craps. For the future of our children, please stop buying proton. VW cars have better handling and performance, more frugal on fuel, produces less CO2 and most importantly, much better quality. Anyone agrees to let VW replace proton as our national car maker? Let us have our true people’s car.

• yeahh.. it is easy to say if you are not involve directly in these industry , you must only type of person who drive car from point A to point B..

• Best buy on May 16, 2012 at 12:50 pm

VW replaces Proton? More crap.. cekik darah.. where to go service these cars? Sure costs $$$ just to service. Our country has been so many years supporting asian cars. If this european maker bumps in, it only hit the cost of life.

That’s why cars from UK in the British era didn’t survive but instead Japanese cars took place. Why? Because low maintenance, cheaper and easy to understand.

VW also got problems: http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/vw_issues.html

• bagi duit la nak amik VW.cakap siang pandang-pandang.mu banyak duit sedap cakapla.

• not true malaysian brand suporters

• Malaysian on May 19, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Even Proton does not support their own brand, they rebadge Mitsu as one of their cars. P2 uses Toyota as Myvi. So, why should we support them? Even support also need to support the right thing, if they produce craps, do we have to support them to produce more craps?

• kjryth on May 16, 2012 at 1:56 am

best car inw orld

• Cant believe there are so many keyboard warriors here. Proton haters, T n H bashers and the list goes on. That car suck, this car overpriced, the car emblem makes me sick bla bla bla. To those bashers, i wonder what car you drive anyway? Hoping Proton to close shop so you can buy cheap Tn H? I bet you dont know how the tax system works here. Comparing the price of car here and korea? Keep ranting here will not change the facts. Vote for a change in the next GE then. Talk so much but on the polling day stay at home. You want to drive VW then work harder and earn more so you can afford one. Anyway it is fun reading all the comments from the bashers and the troopers. Have a nice day lads!

• Statistician on May 16, 2012 at 8:42 am

I find it fun to read your comment also. You are truly a Proton basher’s basher and…………….. The Mother of All Keyboard Warriors.

• izack04 on May 16, 2012 at 11:11 am

Nothing to do with government…. both side are corrupted
      any side i believe just wanna suck the peoples money…
      they will do anything… this is just the from tax scheme….
      If they want to have money, they gonna tax export car higher since
      people that buy export car have lot of money to buy all duties and fares
      to get the car on Malaysia……
      From what i know, both car are taxed locally but import car have to pay import tax
      But for more open local market, they can reduce the import tax from 300% to maybe 100%

• Faizul on May 18, 2012 at 8:26 am

agree with you. car price will never change no matter which side of political divide win the next GE becoz car tax is government revenue.. proton has gone along way and this car is epitome of what proton can achieve in the future.. the only thing disappoint me is that fit and finish still lacking.. hopefully under DRB things will get better for proton.

• tiadaid on May 27, 2012 at 7:39 pm

They did reduce the taxes lah – maximum tax for even the most luxurious cars is 145%

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• Chow 1 on May 16, 2012 at 12:55 pm

There is no such things as Proton haters. If your product is not well liked, that’s your problem, not the consumers’ problem. Just face the fact and look within yourself, don’t blame anyone else.

• no, you’re wrong! think again, the bashers are the ones who bashed the car even before seeing or test driving it! even if a company was bad before, it should be given a chance to prove itself.

typical mentality..

• zainal abidin on May 16, 2012 at 8:44 am

If I were PROTON :

1. CFE engine should give around 150bhp.
    2. Install the under utilized CPS engine into both the Executive variant.

Maintain the same pricing of course.

• normal_user on May 16, 2012 at 5:09 pm

The newer IAFM+ is better tuned for city traffic lights ‘stop & go’ drive compared to the older CPS engine. Despite having low horsepower, u can see that the torque is increased to 150Nm (from 140Nm). The low-end torque of the IAFM+ is better in city driving conditions, whereas the CPS performs better when u’re speeding on highways.

• zainal abidin on May 17, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Have you driven both IAFM+ and CFE variant? CFE OK lah. VERY GOOD !! But IAFM+ ?!?!?! I have driven both…. I tell you,the IAFM+ 107BHP in a PREVE? IAFM+ most suited for SAGA FLX 1.6. By the time the IAFM+ driver keep pressing all the way down on the accelerator pedal, very soon it’ll be “kenapa kereta saya kuat petrol?” And I have driven both the NEO CPS and WAJA CPS, it performs as 125bhp horsepower should perform,VERY GOOD! Why PROTON didn’t install the CPS into both the entry level PREVE is a great mystery…..

Sorry folks I’m not bashing (I own a new SAGA FL) but it is just real facts…

• rosdi on May 19, 2012 at 1:49 am

I have saga fl too… i know its low end torque is just that.. low…

Anyway, CPS is euro 4 only, IAFM+ is euro 5.. that is among the reason proton use cps in preve.

• Alson P on Dec 05, 2012 at 9:16 am

IAFM+107bhp in a PREVE with 1400kg sure underpower…
          some will say “itu sebab kereta saya kuat makan/minum minyak”…

• If i were proton, i would close shop.

• Statistician on May 16, 2012 at 10:20 am

I read this very funny statement from the Preve owners club:

Question from A: ‘Does your dashboard rattled when you on your speaker louder (not the loudest)? Mine do.’
    Answer from B:’No it doesn’t, try adjust your bass’

HAHAHA need to reduce the bass baru kereta tak berbunyi HAHAHAHA

• wan merah on May 16, 2012 at 11:55 am

I’ve owned ‘ taxi genting’ and upgrade to civic EG series till now.. guess what?

both serve me well. both never giving headache.. both never did rattle.. both more or less good family & young at heart car ( of course with few tune up )

anyway.. i still believe PREVE IS SITTING IN A CONFUSE CATEGORY.. i believe PROTON SAGA can be better bet is winning young at heart.. turbo CPS or CFE (+-160hp + manual + semi track spec suspension..

OR JUST WAIT FOR VW TO SPICE UP EVERYTHING ~ DRIVETRAIN wise..

• Flannel on May 16, 2012 at 12:04 pm

rofl, “da bomb”

• says says on May 18, 2012 at 10:26 am

nasib dia tak jawap..turn off the radio..then the rattles stop..lagi hah hah hah!

• From design flaws to jerky noisy engine, transmission this PREVE simply full of school boy errors.

Even with half price RM35K none of Saudi Arabia folks would buy it, just like the Gen2, Waja, Persona there with low price free service etc still poor or almost zero sales. Looks like the Saudi Arabians prefer riding on Camel over any Protongkat cars anytime!

• Gloam on May 16, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Hah ha ha ha ha……bashers feel that Danny give not enough comment here because he did not mention much about the abnormality as previously found in proton model.

Sorry basher no good news to you anymore.

• normal_user on May 16, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Danny, congrats for the honest and ‘no holds barred’ review. I really like it.

According to the previous review, the non-CFE variants emits loud engine noise when driven past the speed limit. How did the manual perform this time around? Did the Proton engineers improved the sound insulation?

About the ‘lack’ of feel when accelerating in the CFE variant, I believe the market segment that Proton wants to target is customers who value comfort & ease in daily home-to-work commuting with that extra bite in performance. When pressing the gas pedal, some people value the element of calm serenity while others value the ‘need for speed’ kind of arousal.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 16, 2012 at 11:55 pm

When you have to work the engine hard, there’s bound to be noise. No surprises, all within my expectations. I can’t compare with the preview drive units because I wasn’t there.

• mentari-o-korea on May 16, 2012 at 6:09 pm

..u guys watching the sinking Titanic? Good, because Proton history will be similar like that, and faster with this new addition, Preve kunun!!

• Stark on May 16, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Wait for MK7 golf to pawn this not effective nor efficient machine.

• Bongcs on May 16, 2012 at 8:45 pm

WAH LAU WEH, 7 SPEED SHIFTER. MY HAND PRESS UNTILL BENGKAK MAN

• Bongcs on May 16, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Absorber is good

• Quattro on May 16, 2012 at 9:23 pm

My comment after test drive cfe type>
    1) engine is good and responsive but still noisy compare to vios and city. Note that if you start vios> sometime u will start again kerana x dengar engine dah hidup.
    2) penutup minyak jenis plastic> wonder why??? Not a steel one.
    3) touch n go card pocket very poor compare to vios n city> u test it yourself> very loose one> longgor
    4) dashboard tray very poor> too much gap n longgor> persona n exora is better
    5) arm rest too very poor design compared to persona> why nobody bother this finishing quality.

Hope u all can explain to me.

• langit hitam on May 16, 2012 at 10:46 pm

If Proton maintain its price bracket to more affordable for CFE variants, then I’ll glad to introduce this Preve to my niece, nephew, and siblings.

But, this Preve pricing is a way beyond the affordable price range for fresh graduate, middle income work horse that will be getting their loan under normal rates, except for the gomen staff.

We do know that this Preve come with new features, but heck, our Petrol price is among the highest to compare with the Oil producing country, our car tax even for the local made also higher compare to other country, our housing price among the highest to compare with KDNK. Our cost of living also the highest to compare with neighboring country(but got some higher then us, but please compare what their currency can buy at own country).

So, at the end, we the citizens of Malaysia still need to fork out many Ringgit to own a comfortable and safety car for our family.

What a mess from the 80s era goverment…

• really ka? rattling dashboard and inconsistent interior trim gaps and poor quality still? dissapointing lah camni, ko cakap betul ke main reka cerita ni? They hired BMW quality director or somebody to revamp quality kan, takkan jadi camni gak? That ex-BMW guy not good enough or simply could not get Proton old timers to cooperate? Frust lah. Anyway, my BM car is 7 years old now hehe, but no rattling whatsoever, just need polishing spray once in 3-4 months to keep the leather and rubber parts shiny.

• Alamak on May 17, 2012 at 1:12 am

If making money is proton’s only interest, hiring a BMW guy would not change a thing. They simply lack passion in making cars, all they after is the rakyat’s money. Talk about rakyat didahulukan, should be duit rakyat dicekikan.

• Thorrelli on May 16, 2012 at 11:22 pm

With regard to the softplastic used in Preve, it really feels good when you put your arm on the on it (at the door side or the middle box)… I drove Preve back and forth from Alor Setar to KL, it was such a comfortable drive…

• Quattro on May 17, 2012 at 8:22 am

But the soft plastik inly for front passanger saje> yang duduk kat belakang>Pintu dia masih plastik keras> proton nak menipu lg ker… Dok profesional langsung> bagilah soft plastik feel kat depan dan belakng mcm c segment yg lain> still cheating the rakyat…

• Sunny on May 19, 2012 at 11:20 pm

When you put your butt on the seat, you’ll butthurt because the seats are hard like rock.

• I do not agree with the test drive report. I drove E90 for six years, and to my surprise,when I stepped into Proton Preve, the feel was very continental. Road handling was good, acceleration was initial sluggish but when pressed, it reach 160-170km/h easily. So it can rival most of the 2.0 litre car

• Losantara on May 17, 2012 at 9:36 am

lets do some analysis here. This guy is saying that:

‘I am driving a E90’ and thinking that he therefore is more superior that paultan and members.

The word ‘I’ is not impressing anyone because ‘you’ can only afford the lowest entry level of the series with a 5 to 7 years loan. I can buy a F30 with cash but I prefer to blend with others in my WIRA (manual).

The word ‘E90’ is not impressing as well because the car is cheap where more than 100k of your money goes to the tax. Paultan is driving a F10 by the way.

I am going to keep this tread as the reference in the future, showing others how 3 series owners are perceiving themselves…….. Shallow :)

• why so butthurt? preve does have conti feel already

• Don’t think there was anything wrong with what the guy said. He’s merely saying the preve has a conti feel which is similar to his E90. He can only make reference to the conti car he has been driving all this while. That’s it..no need to analyze further. Perhaps youre frustrated for not being able to afford a ‘cheap’ E90 , thats why you’re so uptight. Grow up man. Don’t be so shallow.

• B4 paultan drives Beemer, he drove Nissan Sunny 130y ha ha

• InBetween on Oct 10, 2012 at 12:57 am

Talk only la you…buy F30 with cash…show off, then don’t need buy proton at all la…don’t even need to see the review of proton….

• InBetween on Oct 10, 2012 at 12:54 am

Yeah i agree with you man….haha…and i owned one after comparing all the cars like vios, city, fiesta, forte, elantra. RM73k for all the specs in, it is good and worth it…..i tried chasing a Audi A4 the other day….to my surprise…i was able to trail and follow A4 and i feel i could overtake him…was driving 205kmh

• Mcfly on May 17, 2012 at 1:21 am

Even a deloren from the 80’s looks better than this.

• Statistician on May 17, 2012 at 9:04 am

you have driven a E90 ? Danny has driven tens of different makes of cars.

And trust me, you are suffering from some form of inferiority complex. Most 3 Series owners suffer too. A psychiatrist is one of the option to cure that. I have a friend whose 3 series broke down for a month and he dare not drive the wife MyVi to work. This is called inferiority complex, get it ?

http://www.canada.com/city+vehicles+help+inferiority+complex/6401619/story.html

• nazgul on May 17, 2012 at 10:26 am

my test drive impression…bergerak dari showroom ‘apahal lembab je ni…oh dah laju sikit…ada kereta kat depan slow sikit…ok dah boleh potong…apahal lem – oh dah laju sikit…taffik light merah kat depan berhenti *then ada viva datang berhenti jugak belah kanan*…hehe saje tekan minyak sikit cari penyakit, sa kat sebelah jeling semacam je…lampu hijau ok saksikanlah kehebatan cfe turbo yang…*facepalm* viva dah makin jauh ke depan…takpelah try top speed lak…sa tunjuk ada satu jalan lurus baru…pecut lagi dan rasa macam dah cecah 80kmj baru mencanak nak pergi…memang laju tapi 150kmj je sebab habis jalan…memang best la…cuma mengenangkan best tu datang sekali dengan perasaan cemas kena saman ekor tak, jadi macam tak best lak…untuk yang selalu ke highway and banyak duit nak derma kat trafik ok la kut kereta ni…balik ke showroom ‘ok juga tapi nanti saya tanya orang rumah dulu ya’*cabut*

pengajaran…kereta ni memang best main top speed…tapi kalo main pickup sengsara sikit, lambat nak terbenam dalam seat…sorry review speed je sebab bab lain ramai yang dah cover kut…

• main pickup mana syok, balik-balik ada traffic light, jumpa balik
      sampai highway siap la kena tinggal bertiang…
      *cabut*

• mars901120 on May 17, 2012 at 12:48 pm

yes..totally agree v u…the most suitable for 1.6 cfe engine should be manual.!!

• Helmut on May 17, 2012 at 11:38 pm

How does this car compare with the Polo Sedan? I know the price is not the same. But obviously Volkswagen launched the Polo Sedan to compete with the Preve’?

• Rimaz on May 18, 2012 at 11:02 pm

the package is great, can compete with all other rivals..

but the main downside for me is the exterior.. how come the design didn’t make it look gorgeous?? didn’t attract much like its rival..? it didn’t win my heart.. :(

new elantra looks great, forte, city even the dugong with bodykit looks better than preve..

then again, some of the panel in the preve looks cheap.
    overall, still not a global car by its standard..

any comment about the exterior design?

• not a global car by YOUR standard, just look at the orders, very promising

• guan eng on May 20, 2012 at 11:32 pm

Quantity not equal to quality.

• kit siang on May 21, 2012 at 11:33 pm

By kampung standard may be, but by global standard? Let the world figure out. More complaints than orders? Now that’s promising!

• the exterior is the worst I have ever seen,can you name another car looks bad as preve? the designer who design this preve should be given award for most pathetic car design of the century.Wonder why proton still exist with this kind of rip off bad taste design.
      Dei! Syed Zainal are you hearing this? and mahathir are you still sober to read this? ops! who eat chilli they feed the spice…I am proton basher…
      Useless design,useless taste,useless management and most top is the useless invention and inventor.
      TIPU RAKYAT!!!! KALAU TAK PANDAI BUAT KERETA BUAT SAMPAN LA LAGI BAIK BOLEH PERGI TANGKAP IKAN KAT LAUT…

• johnsteele on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:42 pm

u r good isn’t it? u design la..kehkehkehkeh

• johnsteele

i tak pandai design because I never study for it…but at least design pun design la dengan cantik bukan seperti kotak sambal belacan
        this shows the designer in proton have no brains and lack of ideas…sack the idiot hire some whiteman with inovative ideas not some crappy UPM grad

• Proven on Jul 03, 2012 at 10:57 am

Yupp, pretty much agreed.

But I think they already have somethin in mind. Try dig in the net for PREVE SAPHIRE. Coolio!

• Read the comments before buying:

http://www.topgear.com/uk/proton

• shooter on May 20, 2012 at 6:55 pm

yeah and i remember the days when the blokes said the same things about the koreans….

• britstpdo on May 20, 2012 at 7:57 pm

sorry sir here we are watching that shitty programme only for laughing,
      we don’t believe it at all because they are jokers and giving bias comments

• Omega Red on Jun 03, 2012 at 5:21 am

yeah right, those fellas even condemned the german made porsche panamera.
      They are more into giving good verdicts on Brit makes which is now mostly owned by non brits.
      they are not fans of asian mades except for some of the sports versions like Nissan GTR, Toyota 86. they are more into euro mades and also supercars.
      You cant take their reviews seriously.
      I read some comments by malaysians on how good is chev cruze compared to proton. it gets 4/10 while gen2 and sat-neo gets 5/10. even a better designed honda accord than malaysian version gets a 5/10. And the worst is BMW X3 gets a 4/10. But this are maybe due to their comparisons with its each class. but seriously would u all rate a X3 at 4/10.

http://www.topgear.com/uk/honda/accord/verdict

http://www.topgear.com/uk/chevrolet/cruze/verdict

http://www.topgear.com/uk/bmw/x6/verdict

u guys wanna take serious these blokes comments on cars?

• fraz006 on May 21, 2012 at 2:18 pm

changed my booking to inspira 2.0 E. cannot tahan the lembapness

• Changed my booking to F30, cannot tahan the quality.

• fraz006 on May 21, 2012 at 9:17 pm

other than the low rpm massive turbo lag and cvt whine, this isthe best u can get with 73K, no doubt. ignore resale value, use this car till 7 years finished, then give it to ur daughter.

• Medic on May 22, 2012 at 1:13 pm

The fact is i don’t think the engine or transmission will lasts 7 years..stressed by the turbo.Seriously,if simple power window can plague Proton in the past,what more using a new turbo.Looking at hefty repair bills once warranty expires!

• From Top Gear’s review of preve’s predecessor:

A budget five-door hatchback intended to make you think twice about buying a Focus. Frankly, we think a medium-size cabbage makes a more sensible alternative.

• Singaporean on May 22, 2012 at 2:22 am

Seriously, what’s nice about this car? Why do Malaysians buy it? No taste!

• Singaporean on May 22, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Seriously, what’s nice about this car? Why do Malaysians buy this? No taste!

• Tiger on May 25, 2012 at 8:29 am

Dun like it and dun have confident in it…just look at the welding works…and the power window MAY breakdown…open your doors and pay toll…wakakaka…

• willy on May 25, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Hows noise and soundproof of this car? engine, outside and surrounding buzz?

• Proven on Jul 03, 2012 at 11:02 am

Sound proof.. hurm.. not so much. Not if you’re ‘boom boom pow’ kinda listener. Hehe. But as for now, I’m still safe from that weird look from other traffic users, whenever I put on some heavy band; half max volume.

• The jokers at Autocar Asean gave the Preve a glowing review and the editor ( they keep changing the editors especially the one with bad English) EVEN asked the readers to forgiveotong and to go BUy the Preve in its PREview in the May copy i remembered…imagine somebody asking you to dump your hard earned RM60-70k hard earned money WITHOUt even reading a review but just a preview

• And How to be a global car, i only seen one Preve on the road since its launch…they cant even get simple things like the ” trip” font bigger than the figure itself, simply ridiculous

• after 3 months the noise starts to creap in and after 6 months awaiting warranty claim after 1 year the car is rip off buy after 5 years the car fails in many areas especially the comfort part after 9 years preve is scraped and sold as low as RM 25k like the wajas’s…this is the ultimate dream of the EX PRIME MINISTER MAHATHIR to con the rakyat so that his UMNO son can drive posh cars.

• Neutral on May 27, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Jump to conclusion already? Just wait a year or two to see if quality of Preve is in the same league as Toyotas or Hyundai.

• My question is…have you ever owned a proton? Any varient for instance.I owned 3 in the past since 1992 (ISWARA) 1996 (SATRIA) & in 2009 (PERSONA SE).Well all 3 are total waste of money.You may ask then why I buy,well I was student part time,worked through my ranks over the years now I own a OPTIMA K5 and a BMW 325i
        With my pay those days I can only afford this damm proton to move around well its not cheap to maintain it either.
        I just sold off the damm PERSONA SE and bought a new OPTIMA K5.
        I know PROTON more than any one.YOu can support this damm piece of crap.Thanks to mahathir who came up with such an briliant idea of malaysia being an automotive player.Well BN & UMNO got rich while many people got deprive of owning quality luxury cars.

• InBetween on Oct 10, 2012 at 1:10 am

Stupid la…compare with BMW and K5…different class…furthermore…it is a totally different segment and different market….you shouldnt be here anyway…go to other forum la..

• Its not by choice many malaysian buy this rotten car made by proton…basically they have no choice,because other quality cars are far too expensive and this BN GOV protect proton and thanks to mahathir…for inventing crap company like proton and producing rip off cars for over 25 years from saga to the so called global car preve..this preve has left a bad taste by its pathetic look and cheapo design.

• this “rotten car” is much better than your pug 207,vios & city in term of

1)cvt 7speed
      2)overall size
      3)pickup & top-end speed
      4)stability during cornering

oh dont so obvious shows tht u are toyota/honda salesman

• Hello my dear friend…no hurt feeling on you
        i know by your comments you love proton or you love mahathir.My question is have you owned a proton before? If you as me..I owned 3 mode iswara 1992…
        satria 1996,persona SE 2009 to tell you all the 3 cars were rotten even though I bought it new after just 3 months all rattling away buy I am glad I am done with proton I sold the latest persona year 2009 gave me nothing buy countless problems,warranty claims takes years,with lame excuses,if you can compare japan technology and eura technology with this lame/stupid proton I guess you are not fond of automobile yet.BASICALLY MAHATHIR invented proton not only to feed his cronies but to con the rakyat of their hard earn money by selling quality cars at higher price…I mean everone knows this but yet many can still say good things about proton.sorry la bro…proton is not my cup of tea..dulu i student and part timer earner so no choice to by proton because our nation public transport system is so great but NOW I AM SUCCESSFUL I will spit on any proton cars…rubbish and rotten is the name…if you terasa…very sorry you need to be in the shoe to make such heavy comments…proton is not cheap either…neither is maintenance…

• What to do, Potong’s definition of ” lifetime warranty” is an amazing 10 years…if they make these kinda of misleading statements in the US they will besued for billions

• Neutral on May 27, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Agree, after 10 year a car is basically a junk car.
      They probably give out 10 year warranty provided the car must be service at their service centers and must be insured by their insurance company bla,bla,bla…

• spyshotX on May 29, 2012 at 10:56 am

does anyone know how many years other global oem offer for this so-called “lifetime” warranty??

• pedobear88 on May 27, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Doubt the Fuel Consumption will
    match what proton claims as 6.2l / 100km

• andynsr1 on May 28, 2012 at 10:33 am

not a bad car if compare to persona and even some jap

• The Titan on May 29, 2012 at 11:43 am

hayya…after make tested drive with Persona Elegance h-line, exora bold CFE, Inspira 1.8 AT and Preve CFE the conclution is if u have money of course inspira is the best to choose but if u need more space better get the Exora bold both of this are good in handling, for budget better choose Persona Elegance especially white colour. Proton Preve for me it’s lack of torque feels no pick-up and simple interior if compare to Kia forte.

After a few tested and read comments from internet finally my choose for P. Elegance (coz of budget) but salesman told me no more stock rite now, so i booked for EB with high d/payment.

But now i’m feel little disappointed after waiting the loan approving, wahseyy manyak susah mau approve larr…

• The Titan on May 29, 2012 at 12:10 pm

To Proton company and design department:
    i really appreciate with the Persona Elegance design,good in handling, spacious, comfort and eco.

Many of the M’sian really fall in love with the Proton Tuah design and everybody waiting untill it’s launch but disappoint for the Preve design look 90% not same with the Tuah

After i make a tested drive this Preve i do like:
    -spacious, handling, steering solid feel and technologies.

what i don’t like:
    -interior and exterior design look cheap, lack of torque feel(if mine i’ll make some modification with the turbo unit)

• zainal abidin on May 30, 2012 at 9:41 am

I believe many were expecting the so nice looking TUAH. Then this thing came out. No wonder DSZ left. Sorry,pardon the pun.

• Soon Huat on May 30, 2012 at 6:00 pm

NVH IS GOOD? ARE YOU KIDDING?

I WENT TWICE TO TEST 2 PREVE PREMIUM, ONE AT GLENMARIE AND THE OTHER AT KLANG.

EVERYONE WHO CAME WITH ME WAS UPSET AT HOW NOISY IT WAS FOR PASSENGERS SITTING AT THE REAR! BOTH CARS WERE VERY NOISY.

• Totally agree with u, however I don’t really agree with this review. I test drove the CFE version. I was with a friend and the salesman sat at the back. After all the hype, I was surprised with the overall experience..and it wasn’t positive. The ride wasn’t that great and there was a lot of noise in the cabin, firstly the irritating whine from the cvt and then wind noise. Lots of it, to our surprise, the salesman was lost for words when we questioned him about it and told us that in fact there are lots of complaints already on the car. Sound insulation is definitely an issue. Apart from this, the turbo is a bolt on kit, hence there is a possibility of hoses coming loose etc as it’s proton’s first attempt. He advised me to go for the Inspira instead as it will take at least a year for them to sort out all this issues with the car. I pity those who have already booked this car…they probably never tested the competition, hence they don’t realize how unrefined this car actually is…right from the power train. Even the DRLs are not right. Have you tried looking at a Preve in the day? Can u actually see the LEDs lit? Most likely you won’t be able to see whethr it is lit or not. My cousin who works in Proton discouraged me from buying this car as complaints are already piling up. This is the truth…no lies here..

• no lies are you sure?
        the turbo is NOT a bolt-on turbo type, it’s the real turbocharged engine, and the rest, the readers should know then what it’s lol

• tourist on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Hi CVs.
        All turbo charger are “bolt on”, including those from Audi to Ford to Isuzu to Toyota. “Bolt on” means these car manufacturers do not manufacturer their own turbo but instead, will buy them from 3rd party that specialize in turbo charger and fit it to their respective car engines. Proton no difference. The big name turbo charger includes Borg Warner (Proton’s), Garrett, IHI etc.

• No lah. my car ok what.

• chiew on May 31, 2012 at 12:15 am

Hi Danny, nice review.
    I have test drive the Preve yesterday, but never notice the noise from the gearbox (which claimed to be normal for CVT) and engine. After some reading about the CVT, still not very confident in this new so called “gearbox”.
    What type of CVT is Preve using?
    is it durable?
    will the maintenance (oil change? etc) for this CVT is high?
    Would you able to advise on the choice between Preve and Peugot 207, despite of the segment different?

• hi chiew,

speaking from experience using honda city’s CVT…the only thing you need to spend extra is on the CVT oil change every 20k km… otherwise, i don’t think there’s any other problems…

• zainal abidin on May 31, 2012 at 8:37 am

Hi Chiew,
    Sorry to intrude,it really depends on your budget,the Peugeot 207 is a good and dependable model except for the (rear) styling. If I were you,I’d buy the Preve just because of the 5 years or 150,000km warranty.
    But then again,I might even get the new Peugeot 408. it all boils downs to your budget.

• chiew on May 31, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Hi Zainal, thanks for your view. Just to share with you, I went to Peugot showroom as well. The Car price for 207 is almost same as Preve (just few hundred different), and also the buyer entitled for 5 years manufacturer warranty and maintenance (yeah, you can have a peugot maintenance service for 5 years / 100,000km [if not mistaken]).

• I’m so excited about getting this car after I came back from Texas, I never have Proton car before~ the previous car I got is Perodua MyVi and second hand Ford Mustang that I brought back here. I love auto show during my 5 years oversea and I dun see any difference between Malaysia and the cars over there (except they got heater during winter) The reason I wanna buy Preve because of the specification of the car matched with standard car in US right now, minus the camera at the back of the car to make reverse parking much easier~ :) already did the testdrive on Preve too and I’m not too fussy about what’s inside the car when I heard this car is provided with it’s own wifi connection.. :D

• beetaverry on Jun 07, 2012 at 3:35 am

not needed, delete this 22

• when you stop buying proton cars,this company will close shop and by this mahathir’s cronies will close shop as well.

• I don’t think you need to change gear oil that often with CVT compared to the old 4 gear box.

• Hotel on Jun 11, 2012 at 11:25 am

Is there any major reliability issues with Preve so far? Really interested with the car but you’ve got to be cautious..

First impression is good looks, solid performance and excellent price at face value.

• when is proton going to come up with PREVE SPECIAL EDITION? with WAJA sports rims? Same like the PERSONA SPECIAL EDITION with WAJA sports rims?
    Leather seats,portable useless GPS,MAHATHIR”S type of skirting wow!!! can wait for the edition to be launched.After 25 years still cant come up with qually chalanging car means…. PROTON must close shop and MAHATHIR should be investigated by Corruption Agency…oh no!!! THE ACA is UMNO owned…so no evidence of corruption….same like sharizat…the cow can fly…same like PROTON CAN FLY…RUBBISH CARS DESIGN FOR STUPID PEOPLE “BERMAGAH DENGAN KERETA NASIONAL SAMBIL BALIK KAMPUNG”

• johnpussy on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:49 pm

phuck off with your politics , A-hole!!!

• DIANA on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:12 am

THANKS JOHNPUSSY.I AGREE WITH YOU. I THINK THIS FELLOW ARE MAD BECAUSE HE CANNOT BUY IT.

• peladang on Jun 11, 2012 at 4:03 pm

then gen2 very bad but gen2 have renew back and named persona it can save your money then you said toyota and honda is good but last week i do a rivision to other car RUSH by toyota when got a problem and accident the car will burn also honda city seriously ! and if you don’t belive proton choose perodua myvi i just refill 5 dollar only i can go to Penang (our country) and go back home it very safe and cost haha but proton not safe fuel

• The red colour Preve looks sporty. Test drove the car, excellent ride and handling.

• elizabeth ngan ee huey on Jun 12, 2012 at 12:38 pm

I test drive the proton preve cvt premium version and fall in love with it. definitely the best proton car at present. I book it immediately. waiting for it to arrive.

elizabeth ngan ee huey
    taman tun dr ismail

• BLUE LAGOON PREVE on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:09 am

I received my cfe-cvt blue lagoon preve on 16th May 2012 with these problems:-
    1) My Front Brake Disk and Pad, burnt after driving 50km.(already replaced)
    2) Driver’s Door sound empty when closed.(Already repaired)
    3) No pickup to accelerate from idle point. (Wrong ECU & BCM Setting-up)
    4) Dashboard produces Vibration during acceleration (Still not resolve until now)
    5) Internal Cabin -lack of soundproof insulation (WAJA is Better).
    6) Driving in gear 1 and 2 during traffic jam really uncomfortable , the car seems like jerking.
    ??
    7) The instantaneous Fuel consumption indicator doesn’t look right reading… sometime its show the car consumes 45liter/100km and many other weird reading.

I wrote to proton few times, but they don’t seriously take into account.

Danny maybe has experienced on some problem I’ve mentioned. Please Comment.

TQ

• vtecroar on Jun 14, 2012 at 6:13 pm

kesian juga. but not expecting such above. wainting for FL, then all bugs fixed.

good luck new preve owner.

• cuorekid on Jul 29, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Proton sux

• Mint Berry Crunch on Feb 02, 2013 at 12:41 am

That’s normal for the instantaneous readout. I’ve hit 60+ litres/100km in a Golf GTI when hovering slowly in heavy crawling traffic up a small incline.

Cars are efficient at around 70-80km/h, below that, especially on an incline (or while accelerating), expect the l/100km figure to be terrible. FC drops when you cruise at a fixed speed.

• vtecroar on Jun 14, 2012 at 6:10 pm

alahai, cakap la kete apa pun. masing-masing ada kelebihan dan kekurangan. aku pakai honda civic es3 pon ada masalah tersendiri. air cond x sejuk. compressor jem. biasa la tu. kalau banyak duit beli la kereta mahal. korang pilih la. kereta mahal pon banyak yang bermasalah juga. nasihat aku. korang beli kereta dan buat pinjaman mengikut tempoh warranty sesebuah kereta. macam VW, warranty dia 5 tahun, jadi buat la pinjaman selama 5 tahun sahaja. at the end of day, pinjaman abes, warranty abes ko jual la kete tu. amek lagi kereta baru. ini untuk kes banyak duit dan banyak mulot. kalau korang jenis x banyak duit dan x banyak mulot, beli je yang termampu. perlahan2 kayuh. ada rosak sikit2 baiki sikit2. by the way aku tengah mencari replacement for my es3. ada cadangan?(aku dari golongan duit kurang banyak, mulot kurang banyak)

• setuju lah sangat. briliant idea.ini macam baru betul bagi komen.teruskan.

• BLUE LAGOON PREVE on Jun 16, 2012 at 11:53 pm

normally for all new car, all complaints shall be entertained. But not to proton.

• silver preve on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:47 am

you wrong. with place in malaysia u live? very funny statement. Are u others car agent.

• Amin XProtonXperodua on Jun 17, 2012 at 3:32 am

REAR view ok. Front view not so garang as inspira. LAmpu need to look garang ? Side Ok. Seat in inspira better than Preve ? Seat body conntour inspira and seat -height clearance to ground better. For man 40’s and long distance will feel backache. Pls IMPROVE

• commonsense on Jun 18, 2012 at 12:20 pm

All cars have their own problems BUT i would not buy PROTON if i have a choice….i do not want to be a victim of poor quality, inflated prices and subsidy (for overseas sales)…..

Although it’s considered affodable at around RM 70k range BUT i feel it’s more like RM 50k + quality…
    Some more what locals pay will be used to subsidised for overseas sales where they will probably pay around %M 50k + or less price range….

PROTON simply have to compete based on prices, value and quality and NOT rely on protectionism policy….

• BLUE LAGOON PREVE on Jun 18, 2012 at 8:50 pm

yes don’t buy. since Proton Says. “Committed to be better”, but yet worse!!

We pay as what been offered, so proton shall fix whatever problems arise to all the cars they sold.

Jangan lepas tangan.

• Enginehead on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:24 am

Your design is good. but Proton is still using timing belt (which is not durable, you have to change every 80K km.) The Koreans, Japanese and Continental brands are using timing chains for their engine now.Timing chain are more durable and lasting, they are use in auto engines before 1980s. After that engines started to use timing belt. In Malaysia if I am not mistaken Nissan cars are the ones switching back to engine using timing chain because of durability. Durability means you spent less on maintenance. Nowadays timing chain engine are the trend.Timing chain are lubricated by engine oil. Timing belt is fix outside on the pulleys. Which do you want, engine using timing chain or timing belt. Wake up Proton. You can’t be fooling the motoring with the Campro.

• tourist on Jul 09, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Hi Enginehead.
      Timing Belt, Timing Chain and Timing Gear. You can’t say one is better because they all have their pros and cons. The oldest would probably be Timing Gear (often found in heavy duty diesel) which is for life, never need to change but cons is, very noisy. The most quiet is Timing Belt but need more frequent change. I think Timing Chain is in the middle in terms of noise and durability.

• Muhammad on Jun 20, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Feel sad for my fren i kepochi ask him to try out preve … He already wanted to buy peug 207 . After test drive preve he was impressed and book and got delivery pretty within 3 wks. He was quite happy for a while but less den 3 mths he just told me already go workshop gear problems not sure exactly . I apologise for opening my big mouth in the first place feel very guilty ask him to cek out preve … I really tot proton change but alas … Anyway he told me the proton ppl are very concern and trying very hard to find the source. Car aleady few days at proton service they r still investigating. My fren initial is lcw. Why la this can happen

• BLUE LAGOON PREVE on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Proton guarantee for 5 years for preve. I’m worrying that it may spend more years in the workshop rather than on the road.

• maxxlr8 on Jul 02, 2012 at 11:02 pm

the annoying thing about the preve premium is the auto folding side mirror. It folds automatically upon locking but does not unfold until you move the car.

This is annoying because when pulling out of a side park (for example), i would like to see what is coming behind me using all mirrors. With the mirror folded, i can only use the centre mirror, which does not provide much information.

It would help if the side mirrors unfolds immeadietly after unlocking or after the engine starts. I would like to use the side mirrors right away.

Other than that, i think the car is great for everyday use.

• nazis on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:30 pm

u r correct. but i sure proton already consider this before they decide. what im trying to say is, what if u park your car at tight parking area. When u came back and want to drive your car out from that parking spot, there is obstacle from other park car/vehicle/lorry/motocycle/object which is too near to ur car (passenger side). then until that happen only u will agree with what proton did. this situation can happen dude.

• I taught the car is fuel consumption low with Rm 0.12/km as mention by Proton but actually Proton declare that the car speed with 90km/h than could get 6.6L/100km as low petrol consumption.This is for high way drive only,city drive you may get Rm0.25/Km.Rm50 for 200km – 210km at city.
    It is very high consumption car, Malaysian need save petrol vehicle and not this car. Toyota Vios or Honda City is the right choice for daily city drive used.

• zainal abidin on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:16 am

Dear Sir, how most car manufacturers quote the SFC? What they never tell you is they get the SFC by driving the car with the aircond off all the time(a/c control taped over) and driving with the most minimal pressing on the accelerator pedal at 90km/h. Do we want to drive like that?

On the other hand,both VIOS and CITY have low SFC. Also depends on how you drive. Buy them when you can afford them.

• HING HONG on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:21 am

HELLO BRO. 1.6 WITH 1.5 CC ..WHICH ONE ARE BIG.dont compare with those small 1.5 cc. Compare with 1.8 and 2.0 la. So,u can get the figure.
      ok .i compare 1.5.city with my viva. how about it? whose are the JIMAT one.

• yackoeb on Jul 22, 2012 at 7:15 pm

ini semua budak2 punya comment esp anti-proton – dah ‘mind-set’semua yang bagus with proton cars mereka kata tak bagus. tell me any perfect..i mean real perfect car around that you know yg tak ada defect???? any one:::

• maajeeedaaa on Jul 28, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Stupid bashers….you buy it you drive it la…apa complain complain

• hi,there.1st of all,without prejudice,i would like to say Proton had made some safety mistaken in their design. The brake light at Preve is mounted at the boot on the rear side of the car.I never see the brake light is mounted on the boot as if one day or carelessly the boot is opened so although the brake light is working but the people behind will not see any braking signal as the brake light is facing to the sky.Furthermore 3rd brake light is blocked by the opened boot resulting no brake light signalling at all.Sorry to comment about this but i hope someone can feedback for everyone safety consern.thanks

• No limit on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:32 am

u are definetly wrong. ok. do you ever foollow Audi car..the new one. thats all i want u to compare.Whats are you loking is from your own perspective but from my view,and my friends also agree…its clear. thats nothing wronfg with it. i like new PREVE

• No limit on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:28 am

Personally,for 25 yeara i not believe with proton product..but now i salute what proton have done ..PREVE u the best proton.Why i choose PREVE
    1. from outside..its look stlish and new brand
    2.Interior..marvelous.Different.Looks trendy
    3.Consupmtion..its benefit
    4.Warranty..thats a good news
    5.price…its valuable from other car .Compare c.c
    after all of this caracter..i choose to buy it.
    Now ..PREVE is mine.
    Friends,can i give all of you one tips to know who are the stupid one who are not want to buy when they going at the showroom.
    1.Open the door and slam it
    2.knocked the body twice
    3.Bring their child and give them food inside car
    4.always said ..my car here..my car there
    5.sit and press the paddle
    thats what i really know who are the real buyer.
    are u all agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Woa……still so many replies on a Proton related topics,…I am surprised.
    Normally, the interest will be high at the beginning, and then after awhile, all the complains starts.
    People forget very fast it seems

• david on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:14 pm

after so many yrs and tis is the best they can offer?

• car no power.

its powerful if you are upgrading from old proton cars though.

• ahmad hamdan on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:34 pm

proton preve nme pye bgus tp kualiti x memuaskn,,,,
    kte aq model cfe break problem brek,beteri,enjin bunyi ksar….
    bru 2 bln aq pkai dh mcm 2 pye problem…
    1 tahun g x tau pe akn jd….

• didit on Sep 10, 2012 at 11:25 am

tak baik mngakal…keta tu waranti 5 tahun..bwk le ke pusat servis..

• mandan on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Saya pakai waja 2001 manual dari dulu sampai la ni,dari kedah ke kl 1 tahun 2/3 kali,lari 130km-150 km, tak pernah lagi la buka bonet tengah jalan,servis dproton edar(tak lari ke lain lagi),pun tak ada masaalah,tak kan preve teruk sampai macam tu,saya tengok banyak komen teruk,tayar dan keadaan jalan tu buat bising,padanlah kereta proton dibuat untuk rakyat malaysia yang tak banyak duit tapi boleh pakai kereta baru,kalau honda dan toyota dah sama harga dengan proton,mana ada standard,tuan-tuan.

• City or vios better la

• mandan on Sep 16, 2012 at 1:05 pm

toyota sama honda sudah lama terkenal,harga pun tinggi,injin preve 1.6,city sama vios baru 1.5.

• hazwan ho on Sep 19, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Saya tidak berpuas hati tentang kereta ini..kerana baru seminggu saya memakainya sudah terdapat masalah pada ‘one valve’ pada kawasan enjin mengikut penerangan dari mekanik di proton edar kolombong sabah…saya sudah hantar sebanyak 2 kali tetapi masih maslah yang sama..padahal pihak proton edar kolombong sabah sudah menukar pada barang gantian yang baru..dan baru ini pada tarikh 18hb 09 2012 selasa lepas..saya sudah menghantar untuk pihak proton edar kolombong mengesan maslah itu tetapi masih masalah yang sama..tolong bantu saya dalam hal ini..

• hazwan ho on Sep 19, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Pembetulan one way valve…

• mandan on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:06 pm

Apa yang nak ditakutkan,kereta tuan dalam jaminan,kalau timbul masaalah sehingga tiada kesudahan ,pihak proton biasa tukar seketul injin baru,tapi jangan lari pergi baiki ditempat lain sehingga masa jaminan tamat.

• Janxz on Sep 22, 2012 at 11:02 am

Mr.Danny,bagi lah review mengenai Preve IAFM/CVT pula,saya benar2 nak tahu kemampuannya,memecut,mendaki bukit dsb.Loan sudah lulus,cuma blum pegi sain dokumen jak,hati tgh berbelah-bagi ni.Please….

• motokar on Oct 23, 2012 at 1:23 am

Proton syok sendiri, pusat servis teruk. Say no to proton. Proton WA a kereta pertama Dan terakhir my proton car. Tq.p

• Alson P on Oct 23, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Well…

Preve 1.6 CFE manual would be great for me also

p/s 1325kg Preve without CFE underpowered

• Alson P on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:26 pm

When comes to proton…
    still so many replies on a Proton related topics….
    not surprised….
    even though some of them bashing proton models….
    This is evidence Proton still popular among them…
    obviously…

• kingkong on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:52 pm

oh proton…. kereta cincai, pusat servis tak profesional. say no to proton lah…

• Mat Global on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:17 pm

I ve owned Proton Preve cfe for 5 mths.In terms of driving comfort and handling no other Japan or Korea makes btn 1600-1800 c.c. can match.And with its turbo speed assist i can outrun all 2000 c.c conventional engines.The only thing i want is for Proton to upgrade fit and fittings of the interior/cabin which i find lacking.Still a happy and satisfied buyer considering its overall performance.

• Kee Lim on Jan 25, 2013 at 12:27 am

I am driving a Waja now. Thinking of a replacement, I have tested the preve 2 days back. My simple conclusion is Proton has moved backwards. Waja is still yet the best car they have built.

Tested model is CFE Preve
    Major issues found
    1. Lag from accelerator to engine response which is a big let down.
    2. Super rough engine at a unit which is meant for test drive and already running at 8k km.
    3. Poor and flimsy paddle shift.
    4. Unacceptable power mirror which pushes the inner door panel when closing
    5. Useless touch screen function which you practically need to knock on the screen before it accept the press.
    6. Poor design in button mounting, huge gap between glove box and the dashboard.
    Etc etc etc ….

I can go on and on. My conclusion is to ask proton NOT to export this national shame out of the country. After more than 20 years in the industry, you are still not learning. If possible, fire the whole engineering team.

I am furious because my expectation is so high on this car after reading Paul’s review. But it is a disappointment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Mint Berry Crunch on Feb 02, 2013 at 12:46 am

Are you used to driving a turbo car? It’s not uncommon, even with the continentals, to have a very noticeable turbo lag.

• Samlok on Apr 20, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Preve is quite good in handling, but the steering is very tight, power is good but does not perform like a turbo car, interior quality is a bit let down。

• Luqman_HKM on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:20 pm

I hope next proton hatches uses Petronas engines

• TopGear72 on Oct 19, 2013 at 4:04 pm

One word: Crap.

Proton is a crap brand only for stupid buyers looking for cheap cars in Malaysia. In the end, they accept “good” things for this bargain which they got at this price tag.

• Top Car on Oct 29, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Masalah proton ada pada persepsi rakyat terutamanya pada hasil kualiti kerja.
    1. Adakah hasil kerja yang dikeluarkan dari kilang proton berkualiti?
    2. Adakah servis lepas jualan juga berkualiti?

Bagi saya bermula dari peringkat pengeluaran hingga ke peringkat servis selepas jualan adalah tidak berkualiti. Boleh lihat pelbagai masalah dan aduan dalam FB preve yang kebanyakkan melihatkan kualiti

• Horatio on Jul 24, 2016 at 12:39 am

i been using cvt executive preve since dec2012 my review,

-Engine is very underpower and unresponsive type even -after update the ECU. but is ok still can push but slow
    -Seats are horrible banyak berbulu and noisy,
    -Built quality of the interior and drive side button is totally crap. all is lose and feel very cheap quality.
    -after 3 years got noisy sound inside the cabin while
    driving..
    what i can say overall performance wise and driving is ok and have never let me down for past 3 1/2 years.. Proton need to look into this i just commented
    going to sell this car very soon…

• Lawrence on May 31, 2017 at 5:24 pm

I own a preve CFE 2012

Very spacious but almost everything crap, thumbs up for CFE engine, they are well made and so powerful compared to those expensive car. Chasis was sporty, handles corner well, VSC works all the time when car going sideways at Genting. Always make drive with smile. No problem to compare to those 2.0 japanese brand at highway. Will throw them away when uphill when pull to S mode.

They make car in good driving experience but you dont have to expect comfort on it. Bad NVH, Bad FC (i tried with steady foot all the time, it still give me around 9.8/100km in city driving)