BMW 3 Series Gran Turismo debuts: 328i GT, RM349k

BMW-3GT 3

It was certainly an eventful day yesterday, with three car launches taking place. You’ve read about the first two, and this one sweeps up things. The afternoon saw the introduction of the BMW 3 Series Gran Turismo in Malaysia, with a sole model – the 328i GT in Sport Line trim – giving the car its debut here.

Its arrival here has been accomplished in quick fashion. The wraps came off in February, ahead of a Geneva debut, and the international media drive for the car was just a couple of months back.

The 328i GT wasn’t one of the variants available during the drive in Sicily, but BMW Malaysia has opted for the middle ground with this one; word is that somewhere down the line, the diesel is set to join the range, but until then, it’s left to the 245 hp and 350 Nm 2.0 litre variant to fly the 3 GT flag here.

We’ve covered the car in great detail in our drive report, so you can read it to get what the design’s philosophy and approach is all about, but a quick overview of the novelties. Sitting on an extended wheelbase 3 Series sedan platform, it’s the biggest car in the 3er family, being 200 mm longer and 81 mm than the Touring.

The biggest draw of choosing one over a F30 sedan is the increased levels of interior space it offers – 70 mm of additional rear legroom over its sedan and touring siblings, with 520 litres of boot space with rear seats up and 1,600 with them folded are the primary numbers.

On to the bits relevant to the particular variant – going the Sport Line route brings a high-gloss black exterior along with it, and the 328i GT wears 18-inch alloys and 225/50 series tyres. Performance figures for the model are a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 6.1 seconds and an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed.

Six exterior colours are available for the 328i GT Sport Line, and the palette is made up of Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Melbourne Red, Glacier Silver, Midnight Blue and Mineral Grey.The interior, meanwhile, is dressed up in Dakota Black leather upholstery with Sport Line-associated red highlights, though if you go with the Alpine White variant, a Dakota Coral Red leather scheme with black highlights is available.

As for pricing, the 3 Series Gran Turismo 328i goes for RM348,800, on-the-road, without insurance, with BMW Service + Repair Inclusive (BS+RI).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why would I pay an extra Rm60k just for a bigger boot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 38
  • jeremy on Jun 07, 2013 at 4:36 am

No 320d GT? At that price, it won’t sell so well…better angkat 5 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Because people who buy this think that 5Series is too big, and they just want a car with nimble chassis but big enough boot.

• seancorr on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:06 pm

I’m also waiting for the 320d GT and best part is its a CBU so no quality issues there.

Which leads us to the price…looking at the 328i GT price the 320d GT will around the RM280k price.

Our government needs to push for the efficient engine status so that green diesel car prices can be cheaper…

• dugong on Jun 08, 2013 at 1:07 pm

i think this 3-GT got more rear legroom than a 5 sedan while still being smaller overall.

• I’ll take this beast anytime. Its even cheaper than 520i and also faster. 5 series may let ppl have the perception of being rich. But by the end if the day, 520i is still entry level. Where as this, u can be perceived as rich, cool, sporty and also not entry level car at all. Good package. With also bigger boot than a 5 series. What a complete set of luxury and practical.

• syazwan on Jun 07, 2013 at 5:58 am

That frameless door is a turn on while the handbrake lever is a turn down..

• Kalun on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:45 am

Looks like an upgrade from persona to gen 2 with bigger boot.

It carries a GT badge and supposably it should be faster the mid line 3 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • batumudo on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:50 am

4 door fastback

• vwowner on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:49 am

BMW Msia only target 50 units to be sold this year….that is a realistic target ..good for not being over ambitious.

• They har successfully destroyed a good looking car by chopping te back off and replacing it with a hideous back that looks like it doesn’t want to be fitted there… The front isn’t being complimented with that back… Why would BMW think the 5GT was a success in design that they would do the same for the 3? It just looks horrible! A good front end destroyed with a poor designed back end…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • venven81 on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:26 am

BMW GT series is hideous. Exactly like you said. Why do they wanna make the 3GT when the 5GT sales is disappointing?

• Alpha on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:38 am

Because they wanna say “Heck, we’ve so much money that we can make all the ugly cars we want!”.

• Look like a sedan car with x6 rear or aeroback.

• Gavin on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:21 am

for that price, i take a 320d, spec it with a power kit upgrade, full M bodykit and M alcantara steering wheel

• No matter how, 320d is still entry level. N d street is full of 320i and 320d. So by buying this, u can even get more head turning compared undrive a 520i or 528i.

• sudonano on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:26 am

Somehow this only looks nice in silver imo. The red looks a bit odd….

The price was rather unexpected, cause this is a CBU. Considering the F30 Sedan CBU in 328i was 310k, this one at 349k is not THAT big of a jump. I think it can sell, cause it doesn’t have the awkwardness of the 5GT and actually younger buyers will like this cause it is a practical sports car that is something different. If it ever gets SKD-ed expect it to be around 320-330k. Like the F30 sedan SKD price drop.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/04/bmw-328i-and-320d-locally-assembled-f30-launched/

• shawal on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:34 am

The msport rear bumper with the black plastic manage to hide the visual bulk of thr rear , only whenu opt for 19 inch wheels and dual exhaust tips on each side then it’ll look the business, like merc sells c class coupe wit amg trim as standard , bmw needs to sell this with m sport trim as well, cuz its difficult to get pass its bland bread van looks

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:40 am

Thats a pretty narrow band of demographics BMW is aiming for.

The sedan will be more popular, and those that want a big boot will choose the Touring. For those that need a little rear legroom, should be able to pony up some extra and get a 5er. And in all honestly, its looks horrible compared to the 3 sedana nd touring and 5er sedan.

I’m surprised BMW is still sticking to the GT series. The 5GT didn’t do very well and sold at big discounts overseas. That was on odd one. Big legroom but little headroom, I’m 5’6″ and feel cramped at the back….it would however fit 4 golf bags….

• Just Another Dude.. on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:39 pm

GT stands for Ginormous Trunk

• azrai on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:36 pm

What? Gen 2 in BMW emblem?

• Clement on Jun 07, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Still after reading through, additional ++50K for a larger boot is not tempting at all.
    Unless they have the same spec as the US, such as
    1) harman kordon speaker
    2) head up display
    3) Back camera
    4) lane departure and change warning
    Then might seriously consider it.

• Abg Long on Jun 07, 2013 at 4:58 pm

ya la, proton gen.2!!!

• It’s really hefty considering the fact that it cost vaguely the same as the 5-er. But then the 5-er is in it’s entry spec engine. Larger car with lower power or smaller car with higher power ?

• Fahmi on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:47 pm

I dont want the bulk and heft of the 5 series (though driving 5 series is light enough) But I prefer smaller car with nimbler chassis… Besides 5 series is more suited to older people…

• PauKaya on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:20 pm

i rather have the handsome and more practical touring

• protonkia on Jun 08, 2013 at 9:34 pm

its a beautiful car!!look forward for the CKD version.

• Ugh! Back looks like the x6 which makes the car styling down rating better buy the 5 serie for this kind of money..

• Sohai. 5 series is still 10k more and its so normal in Malaysia. I think 5 series GT is dam sexy. Hope this will maintain as CBU so that it will be problem free. Currently still loving my F10 528i.

• It does look alot like the X6 from up front doesn’t it? The 5 series is too bulky, 3 series size is just nice.

• vwowner on Jun 10, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Some love it..some hate it. I just checked it out at the showroom…n gonna buy it!! Why? Cos i love it!

• Shawn on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Are you people seriously complaining about the price? You are either
    a) unable to afford
    or
    b) aren’t that good with cars

You are comparing entry level F10 with a mid level F34 (it’s not even an F30. It’s a 3 series but it’s not a normal 3 series). It’s longer, it’s bigger and yes I own an F10 and an E46. I’ve driven the F30 and the F34. The difference is noticeable. 50K noticeable? Yeah definitely.

Sure it’s not that much fun to drive in compared to an F30 but who’s gonna expect proper handling from a touring when compared to a sedan?

Personally, I’ll pick the 3 Sedan over this simply because I rather have driving pleasure than a slightly wilder rear. But then again I’m waiting for the 435i. Doesn’t mean that this car sucks. It just means you’re paying more for the space and material.

• KiddChow on Jun 18, 2013 at 12:58 am

My proton wira with GT pack will smoke this subpar car.Do like me if you feel my patriotic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8