Honda Civic – ninth-gen gets the Mugen treatment

honda-civic-mugen-h

Mugen has introduced a range of accessories for the ninth-gen Asian-market Honda Civic. On the menu is an aero kit comprising a front bumper with a carbon fibre lip spoiler, a front grille piece, side skirts, a rear bumper with integrated diffuser and a rear wing.

Also offered are lowered sports suspension, a sports exhaust system and an assortment of 17-inch alloy wheel designs. Completing the package are Mugen-branded wheel nuts, locks, door visors and carpet mats.

Prices have yet to be released, but the products are expected to go on sale in each Asian market outside of Japan after dealers have been briefed.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam Loo on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:55 am

1st!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 44
    • Kalimaca Chan on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Ugly crap car for ah bengs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 52
    • Actually this car is quite good looking, i saw few few units with the body kit and it looks ok… some of them think this car if for ah beng or ugly but seriously they own a ugly car but they think it looks ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
      • Does it come with turbo engine? If no, just wasting time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
      • Labulabi on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:52 pm

You Ah Beng ah? How can you say this car is good looking? You take a 1980’s car and use bodykit also will look like this. Where got good looking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
  • Finally..what took them so long?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • seancorr on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:11 pm

The US quick face lift after a year was a good looker on the inside and outside so…when is that coming over here? Our current Civic looks so cheap comparing to theirs!

• hondaman on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:11 pm

hellooo, it is already available at Honda showroom. Saw an unregistered civic with those ridiclous mugen spolier last monday at glenmarie showroom. SA says it was fitted by them upon request by the owner.

• Alpha on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:12 pm

And now, all we need is a K24 from the US Civic Si. Or any high revving K20 engine.

Btw, is that Mugen GP rims among the options?

• Steve on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:29 pm

For this new gen civic, its not d matter of exterior design, its all about d cheap interior as compare to other C-segment cars which r more solid and better quality. I dislike Altis all these while but i rather choose Altis rather than civic becoz honda cut cost till d cheap sket interior no better than proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
    • Which Civic u refer?? Asian Civic fb? USA Civic? Or Europe Civic…. and u go check and see it Asian Civic and Usa pre-facelift Civic totally different ~USA Civic doesn’t have HID lamp, push start button, 17 sport rim, black interior, paddle shifter, front and rear bumper design not same, rear lamp different, USA. With plastic interior include door panel ~but Asia Civic not!!mostly with leather, oh kia forte, kia cerato. Proton saga, proton preVe with leather on their centre console? Sorry worse than Civic in fact. Don’t keep brain washing ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
  • Ppl drive Honda bcoz power la..u dun c those Honda ppl look more power than those altis meh..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
    • Honda power weak compare to force induction. VTEC no more, TTEC the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • kelos on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:12 pm

civic only 190nm, for pick up preve is much better with 205nm lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
  • skyfall on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Honda days r long gone…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
  • carlies on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:12 pm

This looks less attractive than the newly posted Mazda 3. No more Honda please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
  • mamamia on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:10 pm

ugly la weyh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
  • gOOsh on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:23 pm

i prefer 8th gen more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:43 pm

FD Civic, best civic in Honda Malaysia history. FD2R is best type R in Honda line up too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • I’ll wait for Honda news in 2015, they’re going back F1(only as an engine supplier thou), there’s a new NSX, new Euro Civic Type-R , new compact (smaller than the CRV) crossover and I think the piece of news that I’am glad to hear is Honda putting their DI earth dream engine in the Civic. But for now, nothing seems to be right with Honda. The weirdest thing about the car above Is the lack of foglight inside that oh-so-obvious place.

Says the person typing this in a Honda showroom

• saint on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Omitting the fog lamps is the sign of power of dream, kah kah kah

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • lalok_stylo on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:16 pm

gerenti kne tambah lg 3k-5k r….

• ahkau on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:29 pm

They should provide yellow hair styling too with this facelift honda.

Suits the image of the buyer. Vtec tek tek kecik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • wan83 on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:08 pm

This car may look ugly, with cheap interior, and even lower power than its predecessor. Yet it carries the best safety ratings based on NTHSA tests, even better than the C200. I didn’t say that, NTHSA did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • ah beng design.. vios TRD looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Jun 27, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Not gonna be surprised I’m gonna see this everywhere on the road soon. Even the so-called Type-R’s are everywhere on the road. hahah

• rekso on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Yes, some people put led on below part of headlight, feel insulted from factory-fitted led position lamp of preve LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Wakawaka on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:19 pm

8th gen civic still the best looking civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Instafamous on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:05 pm

wow! awesome car! Wish to have it one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • PauKaya on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:31 pm

honda really pls do something to save the marque. otherwise my children are not going to believe me when i told them honda’s used to be the most wanted car by every teenager

• Proton Preve on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:52 pm

I can’t afford it now but i will sure aim for it so i have to say its an ugly car for now my preve is still top of its class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • dugong on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:44 pm

Meh!!!
    Civic Murugen is crappy like vios TRD. All overrated expensive junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
  • Simon Hoh on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:06 am

I assume its suppose to make owners feel that they are going faster? I’d rather spend on after market performance upgrades :p

• jinjangman on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:45 am

preve better laa.. cheaper also.. can tapao this mugen anytime..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
    • aninimous on Mar 21, 2014 at 4:15 pm

really??u have prove??i oredi tapau preve polis kaw2 at LPT highway…

• audiorganic on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:44 am

U sure preve can tapau this civic meh? Sure or not?
    Quite interested with this civic but with the news that perdana gonna use accord’s body… urgghh .. turn off for me
    They might as well use this civic’s body for their C segment car. No??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • rcpro on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:22 pm

If put racechip pro it’ll be like eating peanut, very very easy, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • audiorganic on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:49 am

Same case like lancer gt and inspira…

• ben yap on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:56 am

Now you see Mugen bodykit, next round you’ll see Modulo and later Type R.

So many types and all out to deco the car for higher price.

• audiorganic on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Need to change the chip first then onli can tapau this civic? Hmmm that means cannot la. Becoz it’s considered modi already. Im sure honda also got their performance chip. What if they do the same? Still can tapau? No?
    Actually not many ppls want to mody chip maybe that’s where the problem starts. Failure this & that, problem here & there. Haiya too much hassle, no time for all this.
    Owning a car to make life more easier my friend, not the other way around.

• altiz on Jun 29, 2013 at 12:32 pm

At jalan lobang2 or main cilok2 with heavy traffic maybe boleh la preve tapau civic hehehe . If like that, kancil also can tapau.
    Come on la be more sensible. Eheh

• wearear on Jun 30, 2013 at 9:48 pm

haha kid, unless you have big balls to drive a “flying” civic at 230km/h constantly don’t ever imagine to tapau preve LOL

True story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Civic_FD on Jun 30, 2013 at 8:25 pm

To me this fb civic looks better than my civic fd. Nice one!
    I likeeee..

• aiyah no need to tok bout 200kmh la. drag race till 160kmh also preve couldnt catch up how to go till 200++kmh?? nonsense!!

• aiyah no need to tok bout 200kmh la. drag race till 160kmh also preve couldn catch up, then how to go up to 200++kmh?? nonsense!!

• Kevin chan on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:22 am

I tried my civic fb 1.8 top speed. It was 210kmph highway.. I still can feel the car got potential to go higher speed. I don’t think preve can do that fast la.. For pick up yes, maybe preve is faster becoz It has got turbo but civic is just na. Civic good in top speed but lack of pick up !!!

• Hendrik on Jul 08, 2013 at 5:25 pm

woah rims looks like rota grid cutting

• sure r preve can tapau this fb? try to go full throttle with it, if preve really can do, it must be a really good car and i will gladly switch my fb to it.. but at 100km/h it even can beat a kawasaki z800 in term of torque & acceleration, i have to wait at least about 2 – 3 secs before the biker overtook me (i have to be real anyway) & that’ not even in the sports mode.. but i do the agree that civic is an ah beng’s car due to all the various aftermarket mods & bodykits, but not the ah beng who ‘cakap kosong’ one, it really comes with power, anyone who’s really considering to buy this car, just go for it, u will grow to love it more than u think, cause i also do really hate it at first

• ExLooserss on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:45 am

I luv my FB so much.. hehe