New Ford Focus 1.0 – first petrol family car to duck under 100 g/km CO2 mark, capable of 23.9 km/l

focus-eco-01

Ford has announced a new ultra-efficient version of the Focus 1.0 litre EcoBoost that will be the first petrol-powered family car in Europe to duck under the 100 g/km CO2 emissions mark. The 99 g/km variant is also capable of 67.5 mpg (23.9 km/l) fuel economy, which means that it will be Ford’s most fuel-efficient family petrol car ever when it goes on sale early next year.

The eco-friendly Focus uses a specially calibrated 100 PS version of Ford’s award-winning 1.0 litre Ecoboost engine. There are two other Focus models in the UK offered with the 1.0L unit – the standard 100 PS version with 109 g/km CO2 emissions, and the 125 PS unit with 114 g/km. It’s not the greenest Focus on sale though – that title belongs to the diesel Focus ECOnetic with 88 g/km. The Focus Electric has just started production.

Ford’s 1.0 litre three-cylinder EcoBoost uses a low inertia turbocharger, split cooling system and direct fuel injection to deliver surprising levels of performance on top of those eco credentials.

focus-eco-03

This new variant uses a range of fuel-efficient Ford ECOnetic tech including Auto-Start-Stop, Smart Regenerative Charging, Active Grille Shutter and Ford EcoMode. Also contributing are ultra-low rolling resistance tyres, unique underbody aerodynamics and revised gearing.

The International Engine of the Year makes the new model more powerful than a Mk1 Focus with a 1.6 litre engine from less than 10 years ago, while producing 47% less CO2, showing how far we’ve come.

Introduced to the Fiesta, B-Max, C-Max and seven-seat Grand C-Max last year in Europe, the 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine will be extended to the EcoSport SUV, Transit van, Tourneo Connect MPV, and later the all-new Mondeo. Yes, even a big D-segment sedan will be powered by the tiny triple.

Closer to home, we’ll be getting a taste of the 1.0 Ecoboost via the soon to be launched Fiesta facelift – click here to read more on that. Our review of the local 2.0 litre Ford Focus can be read here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• What gearbox does this car use? Manual or powder shift?

• Probably dual-clutch for maximum efficiency.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Dual-clutch gearbox mostly optional in Europe. The best fuel economy and lowest possible emission will be conventional manual transmission.

• Agreed that the dual-clutch is optional in Europe and the European still prefers to opt for conventional manual. But the dual-clutch is proven to have a smoother gearchange and better fuel economy than conventional manual. It’s just that the dual-clutch means more weight, more complicated and costs more to maintain.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:11 am

Indded gear changing is smooth but fuel economy remains on conventional manual transmission (can be seen on the fuel economy figure from official brochures). If dual-clutch transmission to beat conventional manual transmission, it must have at least one extra gear more than conventional manual and higher gear ratio than conventional manual.

For instance, 6MT vs 7-speed dual-clutch and the gear ratio for 7th speed must be very high, less than 0.700 (6MT’s 6th gear mostly around 0.7xx~0.8xx). With that dual-clutch transmission can have better fuel economy than conventional manual.

Therefore, in Ford’s case, unless Ford has developed 7-speed Powershift gearbox, conventional manual still has better fuel economy (slightly better, in both NA and EcoBoost engines)

However, such configuration is suitable for petrol engines, diesel engines still best mated with conventional manual for better fuel economy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
          • @lonelyobserve, the reason why conventional auto uses more fuel is because they are using the torque converter (fluid coupling). Dual clutch eliminates the slipping issue by employing computerize clutching. It doesn’t need to have different set of gear ratio compared to the manual. And the reason why dual clutch can outperform manual box in FC is because it eliminated the man factor of over revving. Unless you’re superman and can perform perfect shifts, you’ll be able to match the perfect shifting of a dual clutch. The dumb side of dual clutch is that it can be indecisive on which gear to use.

• kadajawa on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:58 am

Doesn’t matter at all.

This car fuel efficient still slapped with same 75% excise duty rate with fuel guzzling Proton cars.

Bravo NAP bravo!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
      • bossy on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Proton cars are not fuel guzzlers, it’s balanced between city and highway driving. If you say so try dugong 130km/h full load and full boot, 500km journey. You will curse it like no tomorrow coz it has no power and sips fuel like bawse

• TO PROTECT PROTON on Aug 13, 2013 at 5:25 pm

The big question here is why the government won’t allow this car into Malaysia? It can halve all our petrol bills. But the government won’t allow this car in, despite in Europe, the Focus 1.0 is the main and best seller for the Focus range, but here, we are given a super duper thirsty 2.0. I drive a 2013 Focus and I can assure you, it is super thirsty.

This car will never be allowed in Malaysia because, for a 1.0, the tax will be much lower. This car might be sold for RM70,000. So, no one will buy Proton. Just to protect Proton, we all have to pay hefty fuel bills using inefficient engines. Isn’t it time to close Proton down if Proton does not know how to compete? 20 years in the market also, Proton don’t know how to compete. Now, all of us have to suffer. All 30 million people, must spend so much on petrol every month, just to support Proton. My Petrol bill alone is RM1000 per month. If I use this car, my bill will be RM500 and below. See how each one of us are wasting money just to protect Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 246 Thumb down 27
    • r there any rules that u state above?…all car below 1.8L have same tax value…u know that rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 107
      • Cheaper Road tax on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Not only you save on minyak, you save also on
        1) Cheaper Road tax – can save RM360 annually
        2) Cheaper Loan Repayment (lower loan taken)
        3) Cheaper Insurance (lower price insured)

So, if you are saving RM500 in minyak per month, I think you will save another RM500 per month just on the three points above. So, you can save RM1000 per month, which is, savings of RM12,000 per annum.

Keep the car for 10 years, you can save RM120,000.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
        • 1. I paid my road tax yearly not monthly..1.3L road tax low already.
          2. You pay high downpayment sure low repayment monthly…
          3. I paid my insurance yrly oso not monthly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 100
          • Kampung Brain on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Kampung boy, everybody pays their insurance,road tax and yearly. Read in the context. This what happens when the kampong boy comes to Bandar and tries to think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • kambinganas on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Jangan salahkan govt buta-buta la. We can only get the Focus models available from Thai. So buat masa sekarang it is Ford punya fault. Takkan the Ecoboost 1.6 Focus they cannot bring to Thai and sell here also.

If Thai got and we don’t have then it is SD punya fault. SD is a govt kroni/GLC, sama pihak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 57
      • not true. SDAC is now able to get any model Ford from anywhere in the world, the reason most models are still from thailand is because of the lower AFTA tax rate

Example, WILDTRAK, Kuga, SMAX, Focus ST are all not available in Thailand, but available here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • i go work from puncak alam to pulau indah not even touch RM500/month..n i drive saga campro with people said it is fuel guzzler..wat u drive a lorry or wat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 76
    • unread on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:38 pm

you read or not? fiesta FL will be powered by ecoboost

• tak habis2 salahkan proton.
      so beli la myvi.. “jimat” la sikit kononnya..
      kalau launch ford ni pun tak semestinya u mampu.. L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • BlueV12 on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Bro, i’m also driving a 2013 ford focus, and i disagree as you mentioned that it is super duper thirsty. My previous toyota rush used to drink more petrol even though it was only 1.5L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:20 am

If I’m not mistaken that means you do 5000 km a month? That is quite a bit, and not that common I believe.

Ford is free to sell this car in Malaysia, and they may do it. The problem is a C segment buyer wants a minimum of lets say 140 hp. That means this engine is out. Bring it with an 1.0 and people will laugh at it and say it is underpowered. There is a market for “underpowered” cars in Europe, but in Malaysia B segment cars need a minimum of 110 hp for example (which would already be mid to high level engines in Europe).

Also, keep in mind the 1.0 was just launched. That again gives Malaysians concerns about reliability (the best selling cars are using engines that have been used for the past 10-15 years). That also means there simply wasn’t an update yet, which could come at any time (but more likely it will come with the facelifted Focus).

Personally I think the diesel engines make more sense in cars above the B segment, if fuel consumption is the main issue and the car still needs to have good performance. But of course that would require better diesel quality and 24/7 availability of diesel.

• FreakOBoost on Aug 13, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Not sure abt the Focus with 1.0 Ecoboost, but the Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost coming soon – early 2014

• dugong on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:55 pm

“makes the new model more powerful than a Mk1 Focus with a 1.6 litre engine from less than 10 years ago, while producing 47% less CO2, showing how far we’ve come.” – hats of to ford.

while a new shitty vios after 10 yrs makes no difference in engine n gearbox from 10 yrs ago.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:52 pm

Stop complaining about Vios! You just make it more famous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • jengga on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:04 am

vios drivers are bullies, think its so good ar? dugong like design, gear box, everything. luckily your badge is famous. tipu all the new buyers.

• Henry on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:32 pm

There is even a Mondeo variant using this same 1.0L Ecoboost engine.

• Polo Saga on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:51 pm

If following our corrupted government policy, this model will NEVER reach to our shore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Please google around the ecoboost engine problem. Bag an award but quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • shut up! you must be jap cars fan don’t you?
      (Both suck) kekekeke

• lonelyobserve on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Using search engine to find Ford EcoBoost engine problems returned hit on bigger displacement engines, mostly on 3.5L V6 EcoBoost engines. 1.6L EcoBoost engines also have problems.

• jengga on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:05 am

jap fan definitely! feel the heat already this fella, thats why need to defend. lol, poor thing kena tipu

• Hey respected readers. Off topic. I need some opinions here. I want to buy a new car and I am considering the new Ford Focus Sport. Any thoughts on this car? Pros and cons?

• Norman on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:50 am

Question is there’s doubt of the engine long term reliability.1.0 twin turbo yes but do remember the car itself its huge and weight around 1150 kg above which is comparable with most 1.5/1.6 sedan.Maintenance wise?This is what happen when marvel engineering try to maximize their ideas.Logic things you win some you lose some and you can’t have both all the time.I vividly remember one incident when one of my cousin’s VW touran mpv 1.4 TSI have a faulty turbo and supercharge and the car struggle to haul the loads with just normal aspirated engine

• buyer on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:36 am

I’ve just decided to replace my 9yrs old car with Focus 2.0 but after seeing this I’m a bit skeptical. Should I proceed or wait for the Ecoboost 1.0. haiyaaayaaaaaa…….

• voucher codes on Sep 14, 2017 at 6:02 am

Thanks for finally talking about >New Ford Focus
    1.0 ducks below 100 g/km CO2 mark <Liked it!