New W1A number plate series to begin next month

W1A

The new Wilayah Persekutuan vehicle number plate series beginning ‘W1A’ is expected to be introduced in the third week of next month, according to a report by The Malay Mail.

KL Road Transport Department (JPJ) director Mohd Nadzri Osman told the daily that the current series is ‘WYU’. The final series beginning ‘WYY’ is set to be issued in the first week of September.

The new number sequence is as follows – after the ‘WYY’ series ends, the ‘W1A’ to ‘W9999A’ series begins (then ‘W1B’ to ‘W9999B’, ‘W1C’ to ‘W9999C’ and so on until W9999Y). Then the ‘WA1A’ to ‘WA9999A’ series begins, ending at ‘WY9999Y’. Then the ‘WAA1A’ to ‘WAA9999A’ series begins.

So far, there have been 1,400 ‘WYY’ applicants and more than 5,000 ‘W1A’ applicants, Nadzri said. ‘WYY’ bidding ended last Wednesday; ‘W1A’ bidding is set to end this Monday.

The KL JPJ director added that three types of numbers were up for bidding – popular numbers (four digits), fancy numbers (two digits) and golden numbers (one digit).

“The bidding price for the popular numbers starts from RM300, fancy numbers from RM2,000 and golden numbers from RM10,000,” The Malay Mail quoted Nadzri as saying.

Read our previous post for more information on the new Wilayah Persekutuan number plate series.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Hasan on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:17 pm

What happened to customisable plate after jpjupgraded their system?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • all the millions RM kept in the pocket, for RAYA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
      • U have proof for that? Jgn main ckp ker…igt org lain sume corrupt n xde agame mcm u ker?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 46
        • Kampung Brain on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:36 am

Kzm, balik kampung lah. Come to bandar, don’t know anything. You think everything like kampung ah? Pluck rambutan, eat durian, pancing ikan kat sungai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
          • Perasan Bandar? on Aug 19, 2013 at 10:44 am

Kampung Brain, think u r so educated from the city? Then show your proof la sir, don’t just talk rubbish.

• Dik, ko ingat sokmo oghe duk kapong mace kat bando? kat bando sokmo pegawai negeri make suap rasuah banyok.

• Kalun on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:49 pm

It has been done in Sabah and Sarawak.
    Same goes to Singapore.

• AJ HARTE on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Kalun,

For SG, theirs are completely different! For instance, SJJ1234A, next will be SJJ1235B. At least, their alphabet moves accordingly, ours don’t!

W1A followed W2A… …

SG format is still the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
      • downsys on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Why is the SG format better in any way? Why should the alphabets move accordingly?

• _xXx_ on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:25 am

obviously u didnt do ur homework…

• hantu on Aug 17, 2013 at 2:33 am

I want knew from Singapore plate is there are using calculate the three alphabet and 4 number to get the suffix on the back..

• Obviously u have nvr done research on SG plates. In Singapore, their num plates are goin according to system. It means that they are using formulation on the front prefix and alphabet adding up together. Then comp will automatically generate the last suffix at the end of the number sequence.

• downsys on Aug 17, 2013 at 4:17 pm

So why is it superior? Yes, obviously I have never done research on SG plates as I really couldn’t care less about SG cars. I’m from JB and I hate it when I see SG drivers in JB buying ron 95 fuel, diesel, and cooking oil, veges, whatever else from our shores.

• Dude, i diao u due to ur knowlegde based on Sg plate. I didnt say anything superior about their plates and certainly i dont admire them. They should admire ppl from KL. as we have better lifestyle and have more richer ppl then them. Are u daft?

• _xXx_ on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:59 am

Do you hate Bolehans buying fuel in Brunei as well?

• bolehans can only buy crappy fuel in brunei. they do restrict the sale of fuel to malaysians. do your research please.

• I hope I am one of the owner of W****A and can register by end of September…

• sudonano on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Kinda sad to see the WY* series to end, marking the end of the old format. I think so far, the most sought after plate in Malaysian history has to be the WW* and the WY*. Probably beat JJJ which was some time back.

• hantu on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:27 pm

JPJ should start with WA1A to avoid confusion with trade plate which resembled W1234A for instance.

• a.dot on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:39 am

I’ve seen a chrome wrapped r35 gtr running around with WxxxA since few months back. Didnt know those were trade plates

• Those tade plate cars are owned by owners who dunnit to pay roadtax. those who have connection..

• WWW 1 bid for 500k ,W1A GUARANTEE 800k- 1 Million
    if not i CUT !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • if I am correct, when there’s WxxxxA xxxx, 10 digits on ur no plate. how to fit and how ugly is ur plate no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Sup Harimau on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Why can’t they just go for WAAA

WYY 9999
    WAAA 1111

I guess someone wants to make money out of

W 1 A
    W 1 B

etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • _xXx_ on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:33 pm

gila betul Mesia ni…so many vehicles registered each month in KL. Traffic jam, noise/air pollution, parking problem mcm2. Kesian btul owg2 KL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • All want to show how kaya they are…other reason no public transport…if have public trans do wan to be sardin (especially not enough cloth girl n yellowman) n oso bus don stop in front of house n do not stop in front of workplace main door.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • eh, u dari bandar atau kampung? if u life thru everyday with our worsen condition of public transport. u will noe why KLITES dont wanna take public transport. besides, its dangerous nowadays with alots of crime. When u see a bunch of youngster gathering arounf the station parameter. instantly u will noe its not a right thing to walk-pass them. i think u stil carry on with ur kampung thinking. No wonder Malaysia will not go forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Especially brown kids gathering around the station.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Kereta Man on Aug 19, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Hahaha.. Brown, yellow or black.. there are bad hats everywhere.. Gov needs to tackle crime immaterial of colour..

• Just A Nobody on Aug 17, 2013 at 7:51 pm

The ”W1N” will certainly be the sought after ones by those richy rich people, I wouldn’t be surprise if the bid easily reaches more than 1mil. If I was one of em, I would definately bid for it. In case I won, instead of using it on a fancy ride, I’ll use it for an EX5 or a Kancil for some ”IN YOUR FACE PEOPLE, I JUST BROKE THE NORM” effect.

• alldisc on Aug 17, 2013 at 8:58 pm

if JPJ is smart enough, they should use the chance to standardise number plate nationwide.

in those days when there was no computer whatsoever and neither internet connection, the easy way to vehicle registrations were by each states respectively.

UK system of vehicle registration is actually pretty interesting in that ppl can immediately recognise a car registration date.

it is never important that a car was registered in England, Scotland or Wales. same goes to us – does it really matter where the car comes from? i mean we have ppl coming from every places to work in KL. or penang.

govt should also use this opportunity to introduce a change in material, example is Taiwan (if not mistaken) where only govt supplies the plate number instead of accesories shop. this step is useful in curbing crime (theft, robbery, kidnapping) which many will agree with me is increasingly on the worrying side lately.

• paparadzi on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Government-issued license plates are used in the majority of countries in the world. Accessory-shop-made plates like we use in Malaysia is a small minority, with all the disadvantages that comes with it.

• but then they say, gov mahu untung pulak

• azermalak on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Follow example used in Oz where only Road Transport Authority approved contractor supplies the plate thus drivers have the option to buy novelties plates white various colour schemes but camera readable.